Yumi Kim

Tropical Sunset Maxi

$81 to buy
$385 retail
Stylist Notes

Get tropical getaway chic in this maxi by Yumi Kim. The color will make such a flattering statement at that beach wedding! Pair with standout jewels like kate spade new york accessories’ Green Hot Chip Statement Necklace.

Also available in white.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: XS - L.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress cinched at waist with belt
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Coral silk (55% Rayon, 45% Silk). Sleeveless. V-neckline with faux wrap. A-line skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
140 reviews
Fit
Large
(26)
True to Size
(93)
Small
(3)
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116lbs
April 30, 2015
Beautiful dress! I got lots of compliments.

The dress ran a little large--I'm usually a small, but this dress was a little baggy up top and a little too long. Luckily, the belt helped cinch it all together. If you're unsure about what backup size to pick, I'd pick the smaller one. The color and material are stunning!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 30, 2016
Easy going dress, lots of compliments!

I loved the fit of this dress. It might run a little large. Very forgiving for a bit of a tummy too. Length was perfect for me (5'5) and I wore 4 inch heels (I would have been perfect with shorter heels too, heels are necessary). Wore this to the rehearsal dinner party for a formal wedding. I'm rating a 4 since there was a little wear on this dress and it wrinkles VERY easily (you can see where it creased while I was sitting). The color is beautiful and the dress is very light and flowy. Not thick or very stretchy material. Considering how light the material was, it did retain some heat (at least for an August rehearsal dinner in NC). The tie was a little cheaper looking than I thought but that didn't bother me. I probably would rent this dress again. Added an additional picture of the full length of the dress (without heels)

View photos (2)
Size worn:
XSP
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
February 22, 2017
Beautiful summer Colorado wedding, this dress was great!

The SP was a little big, and I usually wear a S. The XSP was snug, but worked out great!! I wore this as a bridesmaid and the color, length, fit, and style were perfect!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSP
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
March 31, 2017
Great dress for a destination wedding in the Caribbean.

The color is a gorgeous pinky coral in person and very flattering for tan skin. I wore it to a beach wedding, so I was in flats and had to wear the petite size because the regular was too long (I'm 5'5). The skirt flows beautifully and kept me cool all night. Would highly recommend for a wedding in hot weather.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
LR
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
August 19, 2013
Feels rather cheap in person.

First of all, I've rented dresses from this designer in the past and had a great fit. This dress runs smaller in the waist. It didn't work on me. Also, the fabric looks so luxurious in the photograph, but falls short in person. The beautiful little leaf prints look shabby like they've been washed too many times. I had this dress in two sizes and they both looked that way to me. I love this dress design, but the execution falls short.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
LR
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
July 31, 2014
Unfortunately, I was unable to wear the dress since it didn't quite fit.

Dress fit everywhere but the bust. If you have a large chest, be prepared to show off a lot of decolletage and wear the dress without a bra.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
LR
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
May 20, 2013
Not for big busts!

Rented this as my alternate dress just in case the Derek dress didn't fit. Sadly couldn't even get the zipper up. :(

Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
May 8, 2013
I have never worn anything more beautiful!

The color and pattern of this dress are even more beautiful in person. I wore this to a fraternity formal event where most girls wore short dresses - although the material of this dress is silky, the maxi style fit made it beachy and casual enough to work perfectly for this type of event. I was expecting the XSR to be a little shorter, I was planning to wear flats but I ended up wearing 2.5 inch wedges which was fine. I didn't have to wear a bra because of the gathering in the front. Overall a very comfortable dress - I never wanted to have to take it off!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 13, 2013
Great color! Super comfortable and flattering!

I rented this maxi for a formal wedding on the water. I received tons of compliments on the color. It was so comfortable and was extremely flattering, covering up any post-baby flaws. When I was searching for a dress, I selected "petite" b/c I am only 5 feet tall. I realize that I am too short to be wearing a floor length dress, but this dress worked with the most enormous heels possible, so I was very happy. If you are very tall and want to wear heels, this dress probably won't work. The top does not bare anything and the belt cinches the waist in perfectly. I would highly recommend this dress... I felt beautiful and comfortable.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
LR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200lbs
May 21, 2013
For a hot Dallas wedding, this stayed nice and cool! A nice light, airy but styled maxi dress.

A bit tight in the bust, but the flowy fabric around the stomach/hips balances it out. A little long if you're not wearing heels.

GinaMay 21, 2013
Ok. You looked great, I'm renting it. Haha.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 22, 2013
The color was perfect!

Perfect fit, awesome color and feel! Even held the chest in tight, so I didn't need a bra. Runs a bit long, so the regular length was great on me.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
ML
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
May 31, 2013
I felt gorgeous!

I am 5 months pregnant, so I was worried about how the dress was going to fit over my growing bump. As soon as I put it on, all my concerns were put to rest. It fit so comfortably and was extremely flattering. People couldn't even tell that I was pregnant. I paired it with the Kate Spade necklace that is shown on the model and it definitely completed the look. Fantastic rental! I loved this dress so much that I rented it again for another wedding. I'm currently 8 months pregnant and it still fit great (granted I moved up 1 size from ML to LL). Got compliments all night long

AlexisMay 31, 2013
How is the fit in the bust? I am an A- on a good day
AmyMay 31, 2013
I think this dress is perfect for a small bust. The draping in the front actually makes it look like you have more than you do. It's deceiving in the pictures, but the top is actually quite fitted.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
June 17, 2013
I rented this dress for a prom and I couldn't have been happier with it!

I typically don't look great in maxi dresses, but this one was an exception. The fitted waist line definitely avoids that "pregnant" look that people are usually nervous about. At the same time though, this dress gives you all the benefits of a typically maxi dress; it's comfortable! I felt great without having to fuss with anything the entire night. I got the regular length and it was a little too long, but it wasn't really a huge burden. With proper heels, the length shouldn't be an issue, but if you want to take the shoes off (like I did ;)), you'll probably have to hold it up when you're walking. Nonetheless, I definitely recommend this dress to anyone.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
LR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
June 24, 2013
I wore this to a friend's wedding in North Carolina and felt so gorgeous the whole night!

This dress was so comfortable and lightweight, it was perfect for a summer wedding. I wore it with gold sandals, Kendra Scott earrings and a Kenneth Lane cuff bracelet, it needed no extra embellishment. The subtle pattern on the dress was stunning and really came out in the sun.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 26, 2013
Pictures do not do this dress justice!

This dress was absolutely amazing in person, the color is so bright and vibrant but not overpowering! i got this dress for my brothers beach wedding and it was perfect. I was worried about the size because I have a 5 month old son that I am still nursing, and I am not quite back to my pre-pregnancy size, so I have been having a hard time getting in the right size clothes. Pre baby I was a size 0-2 with a 32A bust, post baby I have been a size 6 with a 34C bust... after reading all the other reviews I decided to go with an XSR and a SR, the length and bust being my biggest worry. the XSR fit perfect in the length but looked tight around the chest so I wore the SR and took my tallest 4 inch wedges to wear. Once I got to the beach wedding I didn't want to mess with the wedges, sandals and my son at the beach so I just wore my flat sandals and dealt with the length. To be honest the length didn't bother me at all! This dress was my dream come true and it even hid my little tummy I have from the baby! For my first RTR experience it couldn't have gone better, I will definitely do this again!!!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
LL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
August 6, 2013
Amazing, super comfortable, awesome dress! Will definitely rent again!

I ordered both the ML and the LL. The ML fit great everywhere except was a bit tight in the chest area, so I opted to wear the LL (I don't like a lot of cleavage showing). I wore flat sandals and so the dress was a bit too long, but it would have been a perfect length with 2-3 inch heels.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 119lbs
August 9, 2013
Summer party fun

Rented this for a NYC summer wedding rehearsal dinner and it was great! Super comfortable, great fit and perfect mix of casual and dressy. I wore 4" heels and the length was just right. Loved it!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
August 12, 2013
Great color and style for a summer wedding!

I received so many compliments on the color and fit of this dress. It was extremely comfortable and easy to move around in, I highly recommend!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
ML
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
September 2, 2013
Perfect dress for a beachy wedding.

Perfect length and fit - very comfortable. Flowy fabric allows you to dance and stay cool. Did not wear the belt as I thought it dressed down the dress a bit. Overall great fit, would highly recommend.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36AA
Body type: Apple
Weight: 147lbs
September 12, 2013
nice

great color, I did not end up wearing it. I would not wear it to a formal event. love the color though.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
September 16, 2013
Pretty but Young

Rented for a wedding but ended up changing out of it - the color was beautiful and the dress was comfortable, however I felt like I was 18 going to prom (not 30 attending a formal wedding). An RTR experiment that didn't quite work out for me. I ordered an MR and ML but both dresses appeared to be the same length -- at 5'7" I would have had to wear flats with either size.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
September 16, 2013
Beautiful dress in a sea of black!

Fit true to size and very comfortable. I wore with 4 inch heels and it was the perfect length. I got a lot of compliments at my black tie optional event - it was fun being in something flowy and colorful in the sea of black cocktail dresses.

Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
October 1, 2013
Simple and elegant dress, easy to wear with flats and chase after three kids

The dress fit nicely, not too tight in the bust, and just skimming over the body, hiding any unsightly bulges. It was the perfect dress for an early fall wedding, with a champagne colored cardigan on top. The hem of the dress was a little ragged in some spots, but it was only noticeable if you picked up the dress and were inspecting it. I am 5'7 and it was just above my toes when I wore my flats, so if you want to wear heels, you will definitely need the Long version. Great and comfortable dress to wear! Got lots of compliments on the style and color of the dress!

Size worn:
SL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
October 14, 2013
GORGEOUS Dress! A must have for any special occasion!

I wore this dress to an October wedding in Connecticut. At first I was a little nervous that that color would be too summery, but the material and the design on the dress makes it absolutely perfect. I felt so amazing in this dress, and it fit perfectly! I am 5'9 so it is always a challenge to find a long dress that is long enough, and this one went perfectly to the floor, even with a little heel! I absolutely loved this dress and everything about it. I received numerous complements the entire night - even the wedding staff was asking me about it. I love RTR!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
August 24, 2013
Color of the dress was so vibrant -- made me feel like a princess!

Very flowy and was so comfortable, the fit was great!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
June 3, 2013
I actually didn't wear this one.

was beautiful.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
LR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36DDD/E
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
January 16, 2014
Gorgeous Color and Texture!

This dress was perfect for a night out in Miami! My only wish is that I had gotten the Medium instead of a Large. The bust also fits a little awkwardly because of how the fabric lays over itself. I think this may not have been an issue in the medium. Flowed when I walked and was thick enough not to show anything even after a sweaty night of dancing. Received tons of compliments.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 20, 2014
Comfortable, Bright, Fun Dress

I really enjoyed wearing this dress. It was my second Rent the Runway experience and I have to say, I've had nothing but great experiences. The dress fit true to size. I'm 5'9 and wore the regular length because I did not want to wear heels. I definitely recommend getting the long if you're tall and want heels! The dress is VERY comfortable and the color is vibrant. Those were my favorite things about it. It's not the best dress to show off your form, it isn't meant to be tight fighting or showy, but it was perfect for what I was going for on this occasion! Already looking forward to my next experience.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
January 30, 2014
Gorgeous color!

Wore this to a beach wedding and it was perfect. It runs long, I am 5'8 and I wore 4 inch wedges and it still hit the ground in the XSR.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
February 3, 2014
The Perfect Outfit

This dress was perfect for my photo-shoot.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSP
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
February 19, 2014
Such a pretty dress!

So I actually didn't get to wear this dress for my event due to weather and UPS issues. However, I did pull it out of the bag the next day and it was so perfect. Such good quality and the fit was perfect. Made me so sad that I didn't receive it in time for my date. I was a little reserved to rent a floor length dress because I am very short. I love that this dress had the petite option and the length was absolutely great with heels. RTR was more than happy to refund the rental which only encouraged me to log right back in and rent again for my birthday next month! Can't wait for my next package! Getting this package in the mail feels like Christmas all over again! :D

Top Contributor
Size worn:
LR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
February 24, 2014
Beautiful dress!

I wore this 3 weeks after giving birth to my son. It was perfect! it fit great, was easy to nurse in and super comfortable and still very elegant.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
March 26, 2014
Beautiful dress!

Loved this dress. Great fit. Great color. The neckline was perfect for someone with a larger bust.

Size worn:
SL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
March 27, 2014
Simply stunning! Perfect Maxi for Spring/Summer!

Always a great experience with RTR! This dress I was able to wear a small comfortable with no bra and a size medium with a bra. Both fit well. Super comfortable maxi and got tons of compliments! Such a gorgeous coral color and goes great with turquoise accessories. Highly recommend this for spring/summer events :)

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
April 10, 2014
Beautiful dress for a summer wedding!

This dress was perfectly lightweight for a hot summer day. I got complements all night! The dress fit perfectly and there was no slipping or sliding of the straps! Loved it and loved the whole RTR experience!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
April 13, 2014
This dress was nice and flowy and i got a lot of compliments on it

Rented this for prom and it fit perfect. The only thing is it was a tad long so i would suggest heels. But i really did love it!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
April 28, 2014
Great for dancing on a warm spring night.

Dress fit great thanks to the adjustable straps. I am 5'4", and the regular almost skimmed the ground with 3 inch heels. The petite didn't hit the floor in bare feet. Wore for an evening garden wedding. Empire waist and flowing skirt made it super comfortable for dancing and enjoying the great cake, lol. I probably could have used some tape at the top bust: not very fitted on top, so you could see down it if I leaned certain ways. Fabric isn't luxurious, but a pretty lightweight dress you can dress up or down.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 4, 2014
lightweight, comfy, gorgeous!

I loved this dress! I chose it for the color and unique pattern and texture, and I think blondes look great in coral. It was thinner than I expected it to be, but that turned out to be perfect!! My friends wore larger, ball gown type dresses and they got hot and a bit sweaty after dancing but this is just right! I would recommend pairing it with a necklace just to add something fun to the top!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
XSL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Bust size: 34B
May 7, 2014
Loved the dress! Fit perfectly! Didn't use the ribbon because it made it less formal looking.

Perfect! It was elegant yet fun, loved the shimmer! I bought my jewelry at Francesca's for only 20! All in all didn't spend too much on ball!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
XSP
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
May 11, 2014
Gorgeous dress for a destination wedding!

I absolutely loved the fit of this dress. I ordered both an XSP (petite) and an XSR (regular). The petite size fit perfectly. The color is gorgeous and photographs well. It was just the perfect flowy dress for a destination wedding in Miami!

View photos (2)
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×