Yumi Kim

Minya Dress

$40 rental
$258 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Rent this Yumi Kim one shoulder, cobalt blue dress. Easy fit and great for a casual date or beach party! Pair with light and colorful accessories like the AV Max's Gold Bangle Stack.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8. Size L=10.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist; some pleating conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9''. )

Product Details

Cobalt silk. One shoulder neckline with flower detail at shoulder. Front pockets. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. 33'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
88 reviews
Fit
Large
(3)
True to Size
(70)
Small
(15)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 28, 2011
Beyond disappointed
After much research, I selected this dress for my first (and only to date) RTR experience. I loved the color, have always found one shoulder necklines flattering, and was excited to try an out-of-the-box dress (I often find myself in a LBD rut, never venturing far from the likes of Shoshanna, BCBG, and Milly). I wear a size 2 or 4, so I ordered the XS and S. The XS was incredibly short and tight over my hips and derriere but comfortable on top. The fact that the size small was slightly too large on top could've been corrected with double-sided tape, but the incredibly cheap looking, poorly made lining made the dress impossible to wear. The lining was completely visible at the bottom, hanging out, completely visible beyond the silk of the dress. It would've required stitching to hide. Needless to say, I found myself in a last minute jam, scrambling to find a dress for the wedding. Even worse is that I had a red eye flight that night and thus wasn't able to return the dress in time to get a refund. So $40 gone and no cute outfit. I recommend renting a designer with whom you're already familiar so you know PRECISELY how the dress will fit and can gauge how high (or, in this case, low) its quality will be. That said, RTR shipping was excellent and on time. Had the dress fit, I'd be a fan!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 16, 2012
Great Color. Awful Cut.
The liner on this dress was awful! It was an inch too long all the way around and stuck out. I had to safety pin it under the dress. The color was beautiful, though the top was very loose fitting. I should have gotten the extra small and then maybe I wouldn't have had to pin it in around the arm holes to keep from flashing people!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 10, 2013
Perfect for a more casual summer wedding!
Perfect! Shoulder strap was a little loose but other than that it was perfect. Very easy to move and dance.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
September 6, 2011
If you are tall, beware of this dress. It runs really short and I couldn't even wear it as a dress. I was able to wear it as a top with white pants. The bottom half of it is much more form fitting than how it looks in the model photo. It is a very pretty color of blue.
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
September 19, 2011
Like many of the other reviewers, I found there was a very large discrepancy between size S and M. I rented both sizes hoping one would fit, but the S was way too short for someone my height to be considered acceptable for a wedding. The M was a more proper length, but I was swimming in it! I ended up wearing something else because I was not comfortable with the length of the better fitting S. It was a beautiful color though...I wish I could have worn it. It was my first rental with RTR so I was a little disappointed, but I was very impressed with the service and have since rented again ( a dress I actually wore) and was very pleased.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
December 7, 2011
The amount of compliments I got across the board!
The small fit perfectly at the top, waist, and hips, but was an inch too short to look good. The medium was a bit big and still a little short, but still looked beautiful! I'm about 5'9" with a tiny waist and big butt/hips, so I was surprised that it fit my body type fairly well. The color is absolutely STUNNING; I got so many compliments! Overall, it was definitely worth the rent.
LilyJuly 19, 2012
what color shoes did you wear?
RTRJuly 24, 2012
Hi Lily, Ashby is wearing silver shoes to dress this Yumi Kim style up a bit. It can also be worn with black or nude heels depending on your event!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 5, 2012
WAAAAAY too short for me
This dress is a stunning color. I was very excited about it but it was way too short for me. One of my friends who was 5'3 tried it on and said it was too short on her as well.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
July 29, 2012
Too short!
I rented this for a wedding and got both the small and the medium. The small was a little too big around my waist/back but I probably could have gotten away with it- if it wasn't so short! I didn't end up wearing it so that was a bummer! Otherwise, the color was beautiful and I'm sure it would look good on some people if the fit was correct.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 17, 2012
My first RTR disappointment :(
The dress was beautiful, the color and material were great, but unfortunately, the dress was totally un-wearable. The inner lining hung down about a half inch below the dress, in both sizes that I ordered (XS and S). I think maybe all the dry cleaning had shrunk the main dress material, but not the lining. But it looked bad and I couldn't wear it the wedding I had rented it for. RTR was great about letting me return the dress and giving me a credit for the rental cost, though. I think I will stick to the designers I know and the newer dresses to make sure this doesn't happen again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
October 23, 2012
SO cute but didn't work!
I did not end up wearing this dress after all. It was much shorter than expected. It almost perfect except for in the lower hips. Since this dress doesn't give, it awkwardly made a bulge in the front. Cute dress but not for those with wider hips.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
January 2, 2013
Didn't fit.
I rented the L, which is my usual size (and the size I ended up wearing in another dress), but this dress did not fit. The bottom was just too tight and unflattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
January 14, 2013
Very cute, great color!
I loved wearing it but the small was so short I wore the medium. Once problem then was teh top was way too big. I pinned it up and it was fine, but just a heads up that it runs pretty short!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135lbs
January 28, 2013
Loved it, very unique dress.
Runs small if you have large hips. Loved it otherwise.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
January 6, 2014
Perfect dress for when you want to stand out in photos!
First of all let me say I absolutely LOVED this dress! The color is absolutely beautiful and the fit is extremely flattering. The only issue I had with this was it was WAY too short for me to wear to the wedding, so I had to find something else last minute. I was really bummed because I loved it so much. Gorgeous dress, but better for shorter girls!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
September 12, 2011
I'm short- but this dress was TOO SHORT. It hugged in all the wrong places, and I had to return it. If you're on the shorter/thinner side, this dress is a pretty color, and would likely be a huge hit. Sadly for me, it did not work out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98lbs
June 21, 2012
Great for petite frames
I rented this dress for a wedding. It fit perfectly. I am petite and it was not too big or long. The dress hit about 3 inches above my knee. The color was very pretty and the fabric was formal enough for a nice occasion.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Body type: Full Bust
October 7, 2012
disappointing
Absolutely stunning color but I couldn't wear this. It was so tight around my hips! Not for hour glass shapes!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
December 20, 2012
Couldn't wear it...
This is not Curve Friendly! I have a 7 month old so I still have a bit of baby weight, this dress was VERY tight on my thighs but had room in the belly area making me look disproportionate. I wasn't able to wear the dress to the party.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
April 14, 2011
GORGEOUS! just got it in the mail. usually wear a size 4 so i got a small. first like a glove! a little short though for someone who is above 5'8.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
April 29, 2011
I received this dress in the mail last night. It is gorgeous! The fabric is light and form fitting and the color is bright and fun. I am thicker through the hips and thighs and usually wear about a 6. I ordered a medium and a small and the small actually fit better through the bust and had plenty of room through the hips. This is my second dress from RTR and i'm hooked!!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
May 16, 2011
This was my first time renting form RTRand I have to say I am impressed. Great dress! Usually I wear between a 4 and a size 6 and the small fit perfectly. From looking at the dress on the website I hadn't realized that the dress has pockets. The pockets were a really nice suprise.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 1, 2011
I loved this dress. It looks even better in person and fits great. The ruffle detail on the shoulder really makes it stand out, in addition to the vibrant bright blue hue. I wore an XS and the chest was a little hard to zip with my C cups in a strapless bra, but it looked great once on. It was the perfect lenght for me, but a tall girl may have an issue. It also has pockets, but they are slim and hidden so it doesn't look silly. The only complaint I have is that it was extremely staticy. If I had worn it straight out of the bag I would have gotten shocked all night.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 116lbs
June 6, 2011
Loved the color and the fabric (beware, do not travel long distances, will wrinkle). I am rather petit with a larger chest so the XS fit everywhere perfectly but the bust, fortunately the small being a little large from the chest down was barely noticeable. I received SO many compliments and may have recruited some new RTR fans!!!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
June 8, 2011
The color on this is just as gorgeous in person as the pictures, however I would definitely not recommend this for anyone who is tall! I usually wear a 6/8 and got the M & L and both were WAY too short. Not only were they too short, but they were huge in the waist. The dress looks structured in the picture, but really is not at all. I was overall very disappointed in the quality and fit of this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118lbs
June 13, 2011
All of the compliments!
I wore this dress to an outdoor wedding and it was perfect for the occasion. It was beautiful, comfortable, and I loved wearing it. However, I found the XS fit me around the chest and waist but was too small in the hips and thighs. I wore the S with the help of some fashion tape to hold the dress up on the left side, and plenty of room in the waist and hips to eat, drink and dance all night. Ideally, I would have preferred a size in between the XS and S but glad that I was able to get away with the S.
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Body type: Straight & narrow
June 19, 2011
I wore this dress to a wedding in Texas, and it fit very well/was appropriate for the occassion. I was expecting it to be tight in the hips/stomach from the picture, but it was actually forgiving in this area. The dress is a little bit short, but not scandalous! I loved the dress and would suggest the rental. The color of the dress is also much more vibrant/bold than it is shown in the picture.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 119lbs
July 7, 2011
Loved this dress! It's a tad more shinny in person, but a really pretty blue. I rented the S and M, thinking I would have to go with the M - but I was able to wear the S and it was still big! I am curvy through the hips, but it fit me perfectly!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
July 15, 2011
Beautiful dress. I wore this to my bridal shower and got so many compliments! The color is way more vibrant than the photo suggests. I usually wear a 4 and the small fit me nicely. The only thing I didn't love was the back poufs up a little and it is pretty short so just remember to cross your legs when you sit down, haha!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
July 18, 2011
This dress is very cute and easy to wear. I wore to a rehearsal dinner and it was perfect- guys were yelling "hey you in the blue dress" from across the bar later that night! The dress has pockets which I was worried would stick out and look akward but the material is so light it looked perfect. I LOVE RTR and definately got some new customers that night!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
July 18, 2011
This dress is super cute, however, the sizing was very frustrating. I rented both a small and a medium. The small was too tight in the hips and borderline too tight in the bust. Also, the small was VERY short - way shorter than what it looks in the picture. The medium, on the other hand, was way too loose all over. I almost returned both dresses for a refund, but I ended up being able to wear the medium with the help of a padded bra. Also, the medium is much longer than the small. I felt like the dresses should have been labeled a small and a large and that there was an intermediate size between the two that was missing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 28, 2011
Great dress!
This is the first dress I rented from RTR. I wore this to my wedding rehearsal dinner. I got the Small and XS to try and the small was a little baggy on me (I'm 5'0" & about 110 lbs.) So the XS worked perfectly. The dress is a little on the short side (to me & I'm not very tall), but it looked good.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Body type: Petite
November 30, 2011
It was so great to have 2 sizes of the same dress sent...it helped to take the guess work out of ordering a size.
I loved this dress for my high school homecoming dance! Best of all, no one else had a dress like it! The color is really pretty.
amyDecember 6, 2011
thank you!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
December 4, 2011
Beautiful Color
I wore this to a grad school prom. The top part fit great but the bottom was a little more fitted and shorter than I expected. Also, the under slip was a little longer than the actual dress. I used double stick tape to keep it hidden. Had I tried it on before I probably wouldn't have gotten it, but I got complements on it all night. The color is more of a jewel tone blue than the picture online; much prettier!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 13, 2012
Great color, funky fit
I rented this for a wedding and loved the color but the medium was really big and the small was just a little too small. Overall, it wasn't my favorite RTR pick but it was a nice dress-- actually the material is much nicer than it looks online.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
May 9, 2012
Loved it!
The dress was such a beautiful color, and rent the runway was perfect. Delivery was on time, dress was clean and ran true to size, and it was super easy to ship back! This was my first RTR experience, and I will definitely do it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
May 29, 2012
Very cute!
I wore this dress to a cocktail party in May and received so many compliments. The color is very pretty and I found the cut to be flattering. It fit well across my chest, waist, and hips. My only gripe about the dress is the lining of the skirt was almost hanging down below the hem of the dress itself and was visible at times.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 140lbs
July 23, 2012
This dress is the perfect Cobalt Blue! Received compliments all night!
Loved this dress! Wore to a summer wedding and got a ton of compliments. The size small fit perfectly and no need to rent a second size. Loved that they also included a sample of Hollywood tape, definitely helped the other side of the dress stay up all night long.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
August 20, 2012
This was my first RTR dress - I can't wait until I get to wear the next one!!
This was the first dress that I rented from RTR and I was very impressed. The only small problem I had with the dress was that the ruffles were not as "ruffley" as they appear in this picture; it could be due to the number of times that the dress has been mailed. Overall, it fit great and I would definitely recommend it!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 20
Body type: Pear
Weight: 101lbs
August 24, 2012
Great Dress!
I rented this dress for a wedding I was going to, it was my first rental from RTR. I got a XS and a S. The XS was too small for me, but the S fit perfectly! it was a simple little dress, thats dressy but not TOO dressy. I got several compliments on it! I was nervous that I was going to rent a dress that was too long on me, because im so short (5'1), but this dress was just the perfect length on me. It isnt too short or too long, it hits mid thighs. I definitley recommend this dress, its an appropiate dress for teens and young women as well. Thanks RTR for the great rental, will definitely rent again. :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
August 24, 2012
Thin dress, but very forgiving
Got this as a substitute dress when the other one I rented was too small. It's very thin--I wouldn't wear it unless it's very hot out--but not see-through. Very comfortable and cute, got lots of compliments. Good for girls who either have small busts or small ribcages.
See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×