Rent the Runway

Yumi Kim

Do the Twist Dress

$65 rental
$238 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Get ready for that much needed beach vacation and look fab while dipping your toes in the sand wearing this flirty Yumi Kim dress. Pair with the Chamak by Priya Kakkar's Silver Wave Bangles and you're set for cocktails on the beach.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at midsection with elastic band and sash
HIPS: Not fitted - fuller skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch at waist
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at midsection with elastic band and sash
HIPS: Not fitted - fuller skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch at waist
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Color blocked silk(100% silk). V neckline. Tie waist. 41'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

44 reviews

Fit
Small 1
True to Size 38
Large 5
Photos 15
Alyssa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122 lbs
Jun 18, 2012

Taking the dress out of the garment bag; it was like unwrapping a wearable present!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I rented this dress for a date night. The dress was wonderful, and ran fairly true to size. I am athletic so it was a bit snug around my arms, but other than that I had no issues with fit. The length was just at my knee, and I was wearing 3" wedges. I would wear a strapless bra due to the small straps. I had so much fun with the flowing skirt and bright colors, I highly recommend!
Laura Lu
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 22, 2012

I was told "You look like a princess!"

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
... is what I was told by my boss! I wore this dress to emcee a football game. A couple of considerations: 1) The white part of the dress is relatively see through. I went bra-less with a petal cover and it was fine, but I was a little self conscious. 2) The material wrinkles easily, so if you are wearing this right after arrival leave time for steaming / ironing. The material is so comfortable and flowy. I love this dress!
Kinsi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
Jul 5, 2012

The excitement of receiving designer goodies at my doorstep!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Let me address some of the practicals first. This dress is a pull-over style, with no zipper or clasps. Straps are non-adjustable and the waistlineis elasticized. It has an attached slip, which I loved. Once on, I found that the hemline dips slightly lower in the front/back than it did on the sides. It's a very flowy/romantic gown in shape, picks up beautifully with a spin or a breeze. The colors are gorgeous; very vibrant and complimentary to a variety of skintones. I wore this over a swimsuit, but I tried it on with a nude strapless bra and had no problems with that either. Overall, I'd say while this dress is lovely, it's may not be the best choice for shorter gals. The length is fine depending on preference (tea length on me) but the torso/straps were simply too long for me- not unwearably so, but just not fitted to my liking. Really, this dress fit me much more like the photo of the Yumi Kim "Leon" dress: blouson at the waist. Also, in spite of the item description, this dress did NOT come with a belt: Sort of a bummer since that tassel-y little thang looks pretty cute.
Danielle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 5, 2012

4th of July!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I got this dress for the 4th of july- Ordered a small and medium, tried on the small and didnt even take the medium out of the bag- it fit perfectly! Only downside was that this fabric was very easily wrinkled. Otherwise- it was really comfortable and I got a ton of compliments! Definitely recommended
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134 lbs
Jul 20, 2012

My guy friend looked at me and said "I think this is the prettiest dress you've ever worn." I wear a lot of dresses.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was so pretty. It was perfect. Hides a plethora of flaws. I want to buy it and own it forever. I've rented it twice now.
PearlStyle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 24, 2012

All my friends loved the dress, you can def tell it was an expensive designer dress.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Rented this dress as backup to a dress I was expecting to come in the mail sooner, but ended up wearing the RTR dress instead. I am happy I did, it fit like a glove. I have a short torso, so there was some issue with the straps falling, but nothing too dramatic. I wore the dress out on the town in NYC, and no one wearing anything like it. I paired it with patent thick strap nude wedges, statement earrings and a bracelet. the belt was a little awkward at times, but I made it work.
Marisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Aug 2, 2012

Flirty yet Classy!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was perfect for a night out in Boston with friends. The fit was comfortable and flattering. The flowy skirt and cut of the top were a perfect balance of flirty and classy. I paired it with brown leather stripy wedges to give it a casual vibe. I got a lot of compliments from not only my friends but people at our hotel, the restaurant and walking on the street! The length and fit of the skirt was welcome change to always having to awkwardly pull on my tighter skirts because of it riding up and due to my height. Only complaint was that is was a little tight up top, so suggest go a size up for more room if you need it (no worry about the rest of the fit, the sinched waist will still give you a great shape!) Would recommend this to everyone!
Alli
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Aug 2, 2012

Gorgeous on a summer night!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress just for a summer night party and it was perfect! The dress was very light and flowy and the bright colors stood out. I am taller so it was nice that the dress was a little bit longer/classy length. The only thing is that it wrinkled very easily, but other than that I had no problems with it, I wore it with a nude bra and it worked out just great. I got compliments from people over and over, and the guy I wanted to win over that night....well, this dress did the trick! Couldn't have been happier =)
Bailey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 136 lbs
Aug 10, 2012

wedding shower dress

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
loved the fit and the color... probably best for tall people
Carrie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 13, 2012

Getting complimented on the dress by a celeb at my event!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this breezy, silky dress for a summer party. The colors are beautiful and like all Yumi Kim dresses I've worn, it's super comfortable. If I'm being honest, the length is probably better suited to a tall person, but I felt great anyway!
Andrea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Aug 14, 2012

Fun, summer party dress

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress. It was so comfortable and so cute! I received a lot of compliments.
Kerry
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 119 lbs
Aug 20, 2012

Perfect for a bridal shower!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The only reason I gave this dress 4 stars instead of 5, is because RTR sent a size XS when I ordered a Small (without letting me know), and the dress came without the self belt. Luckily, the XS fit (although a bit tight around the bust). Regardless, I absolutely fell in love with this dress and want to buy it! I was a bit nervous about how it would look on me, as I'm a bit shorter and have a bigger chest, but the dress fit like a glove and honestly was not too short. I received so many compliments, and even overheard a bride on her bachelorette party rave about how much she loved my dress as I passed their group. I rented the dress for a bridal shower and then out wine tasting after, and loved loved loved it. It was perfect! I will rent again, and go for the size small this time.
Shannon
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107 lbs
Aug 20, 2012

In Love!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I am in love with this dress! It is so comfortable and easy to wear with kids. I wore it all day, just a fantastic dress!
chefdani
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 21, 2012

Fabulous 4th!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a semi-formal 4th of July party and felt amazing! The fit was perfect, I love the way it flows, and the light material is perfect for any summer occasion. I loved this dress so much that I ended up buying it from the Yumi Kim store in NYC a few weeks later.
Kassie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 22, 2012

The cusomer service was exceptional.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a rehearsal dinner and absolutely loved it! It was perfect for the occassion. I was comfortable the whole night and received many compliments.
samantha
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Aug 28, 2012

The dress was free and it hid my flaws well.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I was a little hesitant to rent the dress because I was unsure of how the material would look on my body type. When the dress arrived I loved it, the way it flares and hangs at the bottom was perfect. I wore it to a work party and everyone loved it.
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Aug 31, 2012

Light and simple.

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
I think this dress would be better for someone taller (I'm a bit too short). The straps were a bit long for me. Other than that, the dress is really comfortable and flow-y. The waistband is elastic, which is nice - though I didn't get the belt the model is wearing in the picture.
Kathryn
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Sep 10, 2012

Beautiful Dress

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for my grandparents anniversary party. I usually wear a 4 and the XS was the best fit and still had some room. The belt came with it. The dress does wrinkle very easily. Make sure you take it out of the box immediately. It will need to be steamed prior to the event. Was my first rental and was very happy!
Victoria
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 17, 2012

Great dress. Very versatile and comfortable.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
Fit's relatively true to size. Wore a small - and usually would've ordered a medium as my back-up, but small was just perfect. Great for smaller bust sizes and larger waist sizes. Worked perfectly for a beach vacation. Dress is kneww-length on a 5'7 - 5'8 person.
kristin
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

I love this dress because it is so classy! Perfect for a day or night event! I paired it with heels.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress fits true to size. It hits mid calf. You must have sticky boobs or nipple pedals in order to wear this dres
Liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

You can't help but twirl!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I had the opportunity to try this on at the RTR Showroom and was immediately obsessed. It fit like it was made for me and made up any excuse to rent it! I wore it to a house party and received a lot of compliments on it. One said that it looked vintage, but with a modern twist. I'm 5'7" and it hit me right below the knee - anyone shorter may want to rethink this because it may cut off at an awkward length.
KPL
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 114 lbs
Sep 20, 2012

what a great dress. wore it for daytime event and it was perfect.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
great fit, very comfortable and flattering.
Val
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Sep 25, 2012

Wore this dress to a friends bridal shower, it was perfect for the classy affair!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Fits well, tie around the waist flatters figure, only downfall was the stitching from the blue section was under the fabric of the white section and you could see it which made it look a little dirty from far away.
LLiz
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 112 lbs
Sep 25, 2012

So feminine and flowy!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I got this dress from RTR as a "rent one get one free" for going to a showroom event. I already had a dress picked for the wedding I was attending, so one of the RTR girls suggested this more casual dress as my extra. It was a great recommend! I was hesitant when she recommended I get the XS, because I am on the busty side (34C/D), and waver between smalls and extra smalls. But it worked fine - a little tight across the chest, but perfect everywhere else. Also good to note is that I am short - only 5' 0" - and the dress didn't look awkwardly long. It was perfect!
Bethany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Sep 25, 2012

Such a cute dress, looked very cute and received compliments all night!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The colors were beautiful, very comfortable. I wore it for a three hour flight-was long enough to sit in yet comfortable to lounge in and of course cute enough to Arrive in :-)
iopsychgirl
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 27, 2012

Perfit

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress makes anyone look good because of the side cut. Make sure you have a nude bra because the top portion is fairly see through. Would wear again
Patti
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 1, 2012

This is a very cute, floaty dress to wear. It definitely stands out at outdoor events.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It's a bit big in the bust, and the straps are longer. Definitely better for taller girls. Must wear a bra underneath, and the belt is not included. I wore it without, and it worked just fine.
Maria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 29, 2012

I wore this dress for my bridal shower and loved it!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress fit perfectly and I loved the material of the dress- it felt silkier than I expected it to. The dress fell below my knee so if you are on the shorter side like me, keep that in mind.
Katie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 9, 2012

Elegant and fun

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I'm about 5"5" and 135. The small fit perfect, but hit just below my knees (not a good length on me). But overall, this dress is flowy, fun and soooo comfortable. The colors were absolutely beautiful and the belt a wonderful accent. I wore it with silver sandals and my hair up in a bun like the model's to give it a more formal look on an anniversary date with my boyfriend.
Laurie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 152 lbs
Nov 10, 2012

Very cute dress

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
It's a more casual dress, but cute. I'm pear shaped and the dress helped balance me out. Very cute.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Nov 11, 2012

It was very comfortable and easy to wear throughout the night!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
A bit loose if you have a smaller chest.
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Nov 19, 2012

Elegant and fun!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress fit perfectly for a summer birthday party, it is very comfortable and easy to dance in!! The blue made my blue eyes pop and received compliments all night!
Nina
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 2, 2012

Loved it!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore to a rehearsal dinner. Very flattering. Comfortable. Lots of compliments.
Alexis
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 3, 2013

Great dress

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was my backup dress and I had a hard time deciding between the two but went with my other choice since it was a little bit more formal. Great fit, fabric and colors and the swing skirt is so fun. Will definitely rent this again.
Susannah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 13, 2013

Beautiful and comfortable dress

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Vacation
This fun and flattering dress was perfect for dinner at the resort during my vacation. The colors are very vibrant and perfect for the beach. The top is very thin and see through and didn't work with my nude strapless bra - I would recommend petals so you don't peek through. If you don't want your bra to show but are not comfortable without a bra, you may want to consider a different dress.
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 28, 2013

Great stylist help!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
fit well and flows beautifully
Suzanne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jul 18, 2013

Loved it! Wore it for my 30th bday!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit great, a little tight on the bust but that could have been due to my bra.
Lysandra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 22, 2013

It was the perfect dress for a wedding guest. I was definitely *paid to wear this. read full review

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
* Paid meaning that if I were paid by the number of compliments I received while wearing this dress, I was definitely paid to wear it. I actually made money wearing this!
Allison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 9, 2014

Stunning in person

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress links simple in the picture but the fabric and the way it moves in person is stunning! I wore this to a friends birthday dinner in the summer and it was a huge hit. It is so comfortable. I would definitely rent another Yumi Kim dress in the future.
Morgan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 1, 2014

Cute and flowy

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I like this dress. Also I am only 5"3" and I was afraid it would be a little long on me but the lenght was great- even for a shorter girl
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×