Purple Rain Contrast Dress

$102 to buy
$375 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Get a classic shape with a pop of intrigue! This jacquard inserts dress by Yoana Baraschi has just the right amount of edgy and sexy to make a splash at the cocktail party. Simply add Alexis Bittar’s Silver Lining Link Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Purple Jacquard (77% Polyester, 23% Cotton) . Short Sleeve. Crew neckline. Pencil body. Hidden back Zipper. 35.5” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
96 reviews
Fit
Large
(5)
True to Size
(78)
Small
(5)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
November 10, 2014
Just perfect!
Great fit, perfect for hourglass figure and so super flattering. Color and fabric were really great as well!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 163lbs
November 10, 2014
The cold
This dress was fabulous. Very well made & fit perfectly. Very slimming, especially in the tummy area. I would have loved to keep this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 146lbs
October 15, 2014
Perfect dress for a New Orleans wedding!
Very comfortable and hugged in the right places. Easy to dance in! The 10 was a bit big in the back, but not so much that the fit was compromised. The length and the sleeves were fine. I loved wearing it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
October 2, 2014
This dress was so lovely! The placement of the pattern against the black was sublime.
I loved that it had a little bit of stretch to it. Zipper was a little tough around the waist area but not after I ran it a couple times. I wore this to an interview and it was the perfect length. Will rent again from this designer!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 25, 2014
Everything
Fit perfectly, I'm either a 2-4 and the 2 fit perfectly without being too snug. Received many compliments at the wedding, would highly recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 58
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
September 21, 2014
It worked for a Fall baby shower.
It was a great dress though I wish I would have ordered the size 4 instead of the size 0 for comparison's sake. The size 2 fit well everywhere but the shoulders - it was pretty tight. The biggest problem was the zipper. It was almost impossible to get up or down by yourself. I had to enlist a friend to zip it up and a neighbor to pull it down! So make sure someone else is home! I liked this dress but I've LOVED others more.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
July 29, 2014
Flattering fit.
Sent to me as a back-up. Was a little longer than I usually like. The fit was perfect and the purple was very pretty.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 185lbs
July 22, 2014
A well made dress always makes me feel great!
I loved this dress and would consider renting it again. I wore it to a summer night wedding but its more of winter dress since the material is heavy and dark. Its very flattering and the accent lines hit in all the right places!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
July 10, 2014
Fits great and very flattering!
I sized down and ended up wearing the smaller size because I liked the tighter fit, but both the 2 and the 4 fit well. This was perfect for a work party!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
July 1, 2014
Felt very glamorous
Very fitted, but flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
June 29, 2014
Beautiful fit
This dress for like a glove and have that old time pin up feel. The only thing I would complain about it the hem on the bottom of the dress was falling which was kind of a pain. Other then that, it fit the affair well.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
June 22, 2014
great dress! would wear again!
Fantastic color and design. Great fit. Not too tight, just the right amount of give. The material is very stretchy, so it is very forgiving. Overall, I really recommend this dress. It's a great variation on the LBD.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
June 14, 2014
Fit perfect, I was able to wear a dress I couldn't otherwise afford!
Wore to dessert /champagne party the night before my friend's wedding. People loved the dress, I loved the dress. My only issue is the fabric is scratchy. Otherwise amazing :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 169lbs
May 29, 2014
Evening wedding in Downtown Chicago
What a great dress! I'm currently between a 10 and 12 dress size. This dress was actually my back up, but I loved it so much that I decided to wear it! The dress is fitted and it was very comfortable. It is not lined but I wore shape wear underneath. The design is very flattering the way the paneling of the purple meets the black. I would rent this dress again. Great first experience with Rent the Runway!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 139lbs
May 28, 2014
Loved it and was comfortable!
I'm usually an 8 but rented a 10 bc I had another dress from this designer run small. This was much more true to size and an 8 would have for perfectly. So comfortable and easy to move in. I had so many compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
May 23, 2014
This dress is classy and impressive
The dress is the perfect mix of comfortable and classy. The fabric is of high quality and looks pitch perfect--even better than the pictures. Because it is so stretchy, make your alternate size one down from what you normally wear. It actually stretches out relatively fast and lost its shape a little bit at the bottom hem (but wasn't noticeable from other people's vantage point, just from above). This is a little more conservative and although it has a little sheen, it's not the most daring piece. Nice for business events or for the more body con dresser.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112lbs
May 5, 2014
Such a great dress!
I received so many compliments on the dress. It was so comfortable to wear all night. I was really worried that I was going to need a size 4 since I didn't really know my new size since having a baby but the 2 fit perfect. I might have even been able to pull off a size 0 but the 2 fit great. The only con was the hem was already coming apart when it arrived. It was held in a few spots and I thought it would make it through the night but as soon as I got out of the car one stitch popped and a small section of hem came undone. Would have bugged me but the section that popped was the black part so I just took one bobby pin out of my hair and slid it over the loose hem. Worked like a charm. I would defiantly rent this dress again.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 132lbs
April 29, 2014
Beautifully, forgivingly form-fitting!
I loved the way this dress looked on me, and I received tons of compliments on it at my work event. The material is thick enough to communicate its quality and also skim over problem areas. I felt sexy in it but also professional. I *did* wear a Spanx with it, and that helped smooth things out a bit as well. The only thing I was a tiny bit disappointed in was that it wasn't lined. For this expensive of a dress, I would assume it would have some sort of lining. I had to wear a slip. Overall, a great wear!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
April 25, 2014
Perfect fit!
I wore this dress for a military graduation. It fit me and the event perfectly. The fabric is a good quality and it is well tailored. If you are looking for a reliable dress this one will work!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 164lbs
April 24, 2014
Very nice material
this was a very pretty dress in person and fit very nice but just wasn't the right fit. Which was a shame since its super cute.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
April 21, 2014
Would have been better on a taller person. The zipper in the back bumped out at just the wrong place
I'm 5'0" 135 lbs so its always challenging!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
March 22, 2014
"Let me guide u 2 the purple rain. Purple rain, purple rain..."
As a big Prince fan, this dress was calling out to me. I wore to a work holiday party. The 0 fit in almost every way and would've been fine if it were all I had, but it was skin tight in the backside area - too tight for this conservative affair - so I was more comfortable wearing my backup size, the 2. I also wore with a padded brassiere and control top tights. The model's picture doesn't do any justice to the beautiful black jacquard detail - I was complimented quite a bit on this. I would be happy to rent this dress again. R the R is such an innovative and helpful service. Dress shopping at the mall was once a huge drag, and an expensive ordeal, but I will probably only rarely buy dresses now that R the R is on the scene.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
March 18, 2014
Comfy, pretty, modest
I love this dress ! I had a religious wedding and I needed something modest so I chose this dress. I normally wear size 8 or 10 dresses. I wore the size 8 and it fit perfectly! It was super comfy and I loved the color. I was able to sit comfortably and dance around in this dress. I highly recommend! I got soo many compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
March 15, 2014
Flattering and Comfortable!
I rented this free birthday dress to wear to work. It fit our conservative dress code, not too short and was super comfortable and figure flattering. The material is on the thicker side, I wore it to an after work dinner and received many compliments at work and at dinner. There is a little bit of stretch, so it just fit like a glove.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
March 7, 2014
The dress is SO flattering. Sexy, but not trashy.
I was asked to give a keynote address for the Board of Directors of a medical school. I felt feminine, attractive, powerful, and confident. It was just right for standing out while still being dressed professionally.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
March 5, 2014
Perfect dress for a rehearsal dinner! Sexy, but not over the top :)
This dress was beautiful. Ran true to size but the bust area was a bit snug, as I would have imagined. The purple area had a beautiful sheen that really stood out and made the dress classy for a formal event! Great dress for someone that has a larger bust and wants to wear a sexy dress without showing cleavage. Will def rent again!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
February 28, 2014
The material and fit was fabulous, unfortunately the event had to be rescheduled due to weather :(
The color and design was very unique and professional
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
February 23, 2014
Great first RTR experience
Wore this for a wedding. I could have worn the 10, but chose to wear the 12 to be a little more comfy. Got lots of compliments. Unfortunately for me, someone was also wearing this dress at the wedding
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
February 10, 2014
Very flattering!
I wore this dress to a brunch for my Mardi Gras Krewe. I chose it because it was purple, and it looked daytime without being work-y or church-y, and it was dressy without being fancy. It was perfect for the occasion, and I got a lot of compliments. It was much more flattering than I expected it to be. The photo makes it look a-line and fairly loose, but it was close-fitting and really accentuated my waist and showed off my curves. My only complaint is that the brocade fabric panel feels a little more cheap than it looks. The fabric overall was not what I was expecting. It was definitely thinner and stretchier, which wasn't a bad thing...just something to be aware of.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
January 31, 2014
Classic with a subtle edge
I wore this dress to a company holiday party - the color, fit, and material made it the perfect dress for the occasion. There was a subtle hint of sparkle, but it was executed in a very tasteful way. It was formfitting, but still appropriate for wearing around my co-workers while still maintaining the attention of my date, and being super comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142lbs
January 28, 2014
Fun dress for work or play!
I rented this dress for my work holiday party. I ended up wearing my back up size of 8 to the party, but the 6 fit as well. I wore the 6 during the day with a blazer and black pumps to a conference and then later that night with boots and a jacket. I wore the 8 to the party with tights and dressier pumps (which I didn't get a picture of). It was a fun dress...kept it classy for a work party, but still added a little touch of shimmer. Classy is sexy too, and I felt great in this dress, got lots of compliments and had a very fun time in it :-).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
January 26, 2014
Scratchy Yet Absolutely Gorgeous
I only give it a 4 star rating instead of 5 because of the scratchiness of the dress. The purple fabric on the dress irritates your skin but other than that it's amazing. Fits true to size and holds everything together. Good length for a dinner and the sleeves are proportional to the dress instead of tight like some can get. I have a full bust and it was a bit snug but not uncomfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
January 13, 2014
Great dress!
Fit was perfect. True to size, hits right above the knee. I wore this to a school event so I wanted something conservative and this hit the mark. Plus the stretch and panels kept it sexy. Only drawback is it doesn't have a lining.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
January 13, 2014
Easy-peasy!
I had issues with the other dresses I had rented, one was a bit too snug (and I only received one size for some reason) and the other had an extremely sticky side zipper making it super hard to zip up at the waist and I was quite nervous it could break while trying to zip it before the wedding. I was in a bit of a panic but RTR offered me another dress and shipped it overnight to the hotel where we were staying for the wedding. It was there when we checked in and happy to say, the 10 fit me perfect, maybe could have gotten in the 8 since the black fabric stretches but overall, the 10 was very comfortable and easy to wear. I also loved the bit of a sleeve on a January evening in the NE. The jewelry I rented looked great, I didn't wear all the bangles because they were pretty noisy but the three I did wear was plenty. I added my own sheer black scarf and let it flow down the back of the dress for an extra bit of flair. RTR was super easy to deal with!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
January 1, 2014
This is an absolutely flattering, bombshell dress.
I rented this dress for NYE at the restaurant where I work as maître d', and the dress was perfect for the night. It is festive and shimmery, while also being conservative enough for work. The waist and the top fit just right, though the skirt was a little snug. Still, its length (it hit just above the knee) kept it classy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
December 31, 2013
Great dress! I wore it for a business presentation and it was cute along with being professional.
The fit was snug but it was exactly how it was supposed to fit. This dress is great and it saved me from having to buy an entire outfit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
December 24, 2013
LOVE this dress!!!
I cannot even begin to tell you how much I LOVE this dress! It was so flattering--especially for this 43 year old mom and the colors were so intense and rich....much more so than appeared online. I wore this for a political event at the Four Seasons...a dinner for the Speaker of the House. It was important to look classy and elegant and this dress allowed exactly that. I'm 5 '8 and feared this dress would be too short but it was perfect. I live in New England and this event was in December...so I wore SPANX tights to keep worm and keep everything where it needed to be! : ) This dress was ideal and I can't wait to rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
December 16, 2013
Perfect for a work holiday party
flattering cut and looked great on. Not too tight or too short; subtlety sexy. It works great for something a little more professional or a party where you don't want to be too flashy.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
December 14, 2013
Very happy with this rental! Felt great in it!
Very flattering overall, the black paneling is very slimming. Got a ton of compliments, would definitely consider renting this same style again in the future. Sleeve length was great--long enough to cover problem areas. Very comfortable!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
December 13, 2013
People kept complimenting me on the dress. It's beautiful and super comfortable!
It was beautiful and extremely comfortable. People kept complimenting me on how classy I looked. The top fit just fine, but the bottom was bit loose. It's okay though, it just gave me more room for food :)
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×