Yoana Baraschi

Purple Rain Contrast Dress

$102 to buy
$375 retail
Stylist Notes

Get a classic shape with a pop of intrigue! This jacquard inserts dress by Yoana Baraschi has just the right amount of edgy and sexy to make a splash at the cocktail party.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Purple Jacquard (77% Polyester, 23% Cotton) . Short Sleeve. Crew neckline. Pencil body. Hidden back Zipper. 35.5” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
97 reviews
Fit
Large
(5)
True to Size
(78)
Small
(5)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
January 28, 2014
Fun dress for work or play!

I rented this dress for my work holiday party. I ended up wearing my back up size of 8 to the party, but the 6 fit as well. I wore the 6 during the day with a blazer and black pumps to a conference and then later that night with boots and a jacket. I wore the 8 to the party with tights and dressier pumps (which I didn't get a picture of). It was a fun dress...kept it classy for a work party, but still added a little touch of shimmer. Classy is sexy too, and I felt great in this dress, got lots of compliments and had a very fun time in it :-).

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
January 31, 2014
Classic with a subtle edge

I wore this dress to a company holiday party - the color, fit, and material made it the perfect dress for the occasion. There was a subtle hint of sparkle, but it was executed in a very tasteful way. It was formfitting, but still appropriate for wearing around my co-workers while still maintaining the attention of my date, and being super comfortable.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
February 10, 2014
Very flattering!

I wore this dress to a brunch for my Mardi Gras Krewe. I chose it because it was purple, and it looked daytime without being work-y or church-y, and it was dressy without being fancy. It was perfect for the occasion, and I got a lot of compliments. It was much more flattering than I expected it to be. The photo makes it look a-line and fairly loose, but it was close-fitting and really accentuated my waist and showed off my curves. My only complaint is that the brocade fabric panel feels a little more cheap than it looks. The fabric overall was not what I was expecting. It was definitely thinner and stretchier, which wasn't a bad thing...just something to be aware of.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
February 23, 2014
Great first RTR experience

Wore this for a wedding. I could have worn the 10, but chose to wear the 12 to be a little more comfy. Got lots of compliments. Unfortunately for me, someone was also wearing this dress at the wedding

View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
February 28, 2014
The material and fit was fabulous, unfortunately the event had to be rescheduled due to weather :(

The color and design was very unique and professional

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
March 5, 2014
Perfect dress for a rehearsal dinner! Sexy, but not over the top :)

This dress was beautiful. Ran true to size but the bust area was a bit snug, as I would have imagined. The purple area had a beautiful sheen that really stood out and made the dress classy for a formal event! Great dress for someone that has a larger bust and wants to wear a sexy dress without showing cleavage. Will def rent again!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
March 7, 2014
The dress is SO flattering. Sexy, but not trashy.

I was asked to give a keynote address for the Board of Directors of a medical school. I felt feminine, attractive, powerful, and confident. It was just right for standing out while still being dressed professionally.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 15, 2014
Flattering and Comfortable!

I rented this free birthday dress to wear to work. It fit our conservative dress code, not too short and was super comfortable and figure flattering. The material is on the thicker side, I wore it to an after work dinner and received many compliments at work and at dinner. There is a little bit of stretch, so it just fit like a glove.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
March 18, 2014
Comfy, pretty, modest

I love this dress ! I had a religious wedding and I needed something modest so I chose this dress. I normally wear size 8 or 10 dresses. I wore the size 8 and it fit perfectly! It was super comfy and I loved the color. I was able to sit comfortably and dance around in this dress. I highly recommend! I got soo many compliments!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
April 21, 2014
Would have been better on a taller person. The zipper in the back bumped out at just the wrong place

I'm 5'0" 135 lbs so its always challenging!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 164lbs
April 24, 2014
Very nice material

this was a very pretty dress in person and fit very nice but just wasn't the right fit. Which was a shame since its super cute.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
May 5, 2014
Such a great dress!

I received so many compliments on the dress. It was so comfortable to wear all night. I was really worried that I was going to need a size 4 since I didn't really know my new size since having a baby but the 2 fit perfect. I might have even been able to pull off a size 0 but the 2 fit great. The only con was the hem was already coming apart when it arrived. It was held in a few spots and I thought it would make it through the night but as soon as I got out of the car one stitch popped and a small section of hem came undone. Would have bugged me but the section that popped was the black part so I just took one bobby pin out of my hair and slid it over the loose hem. Worked like a charm. I would defiantly rent this dress again.

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
May 23, 2014
This dress is classy and impressive

The dress is the perfect mix of comfortable and classy. The fabric is of high quality and looks pitch perfect--even better than the pictures. Because it is so stretchy, make your alternate size one down from what you normally wear. It actually stretches out relatively fast and lost its shape a little bit at the bottom hem (but wasn't noticeable from other people's vantage point, just from above). This is a little more conservative and although it has a little sheen, it's not the most daring piece. Nice for business events or for the more body con dresser.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 139lbs
May 28, 2014
Loved it and was comfortable!

I'm usually an 8 but rented a 10 bc I had another dress from this designer run small. This was much more true to size and an 8 would have for perfectly. So comfortable and easy to move in. I had so many compliments!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
June 29, 2014
Beautiful fit

This dress for like a glove and have that old time pin up feel. The only thing I would complain about it the hem on the bottom of the dress was falling which was kind of a pain. Other then that, it fit the affair well.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
July 1, 2014
Felt very glamorous

Very fitted, but flattering.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
July 10, 2014
Fits great and very flattering!

I sized down and ended up wearing the smaller size because I liked the tighter fit, but both the 2 and the 4 fit well. This was perfect for a work party!

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 25, 2014
Everything

Fit perfectly, I'm either a 2-4 and the 2 fit perfectly without being too snug. Received many compliments at the wedding, would highly recommend!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
April 25, 2014
Perfect fit!

I wore this dress for a military graduation. It fit me and the event perfectly. The fabric is a good quality and it is well tailored. If you are looking for a reliable dress this one will work!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 146lbs
October 15, 2014
Perfect dress for a New Orleans wedding!

Very comfortable and hugged in the right places. Easy to dance in! The 10 was a bit big in the back, but not so much that the fit was compromised. The length and the sleeves were fine. I loved wearing it!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 163lbs
November 10, 2014
The cold

This dress was fabulous. Very well made & fit perfectly. Very slimming, especially in the tummy area. I would have loved to keep this dress.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
November 10, 2014
Just perfect!

Great fit, perfect for hourglass figure and so super flattering. Color and fabric were really great as well!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
November 20, 2014
Great fit, gorgeous dress

I rented this for a work event, and I loved it. The dress was perfect for a nighttime function -- work appropriate without being too boring. The dress was really well made too, and I loved wearing it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
July 29, 2014
Flattering fit.

Sent to me as a back-up. Was a little longer than I usually like. The fit was perfect and the purple was very pretty.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 8, 2014
Flattering and conservative

This dress is on the snug side - runs true to size, but definitely size up if you're uncomfortable with something extremely form fitting. Even though it was snug, the fabric was thick enough that it didn't cling to the wrong spots so I felt comfortable, even at a more conservative event. I also found the inside to be a little bit itchy but not unbearable.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 12, 2014
Perfect fit - Super Slimming & Sophisticated!

I've gained some weight over the Holiday Season and needed a dress for a Holiday Card Photoshoot and company party so I decided to rent this dress. It did not disappoint! It fit well, and the paneling gave a slimming illusion! Would highly recommend this dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
December 19, 2014
very flattering

Really flattering fit and very comfortable - there is a lot of stretch since the black panels are a heavy jersey material, I probably should have worn the 10 but was feeling a little lazy and sized up. I wore with tights, so other renter's complaints about the purple fabric being itchy wasn't an issue for me. I wouldn't spend almost $400 to buy this dress (it's not lined) but for a rental, it's a steal. I imagine it looks great on all body types - a really safe bet (and not too short for us in our mid/late 30s.)

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
December 31, 2014
Comfortable, Flattering and Unique

I rented this for Christmas Day with the family, and it was perfect. The material has some give and either the 6 or 8 would have worked, I went with the 8 so I would be more comfortable (the slight stretch was excellent for the eating and drinking that took place during the day.) The pattern was really unique. It's hard to tell in the picture but the black swirls on the purple panels have a slight sparkle to them. I dressed down a bit with flat boots and black tights. Silver jewelery worked great. Would like to own this dress.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 5, 2015
Rented this for NYE - it was perfect! Fun & formal, but more coverage for the cold!

Fits true to size, but the fabric is very forgiving. I'm usually a 4 or 6, and I got this in a 6 since I wanted a more comfortable fit. It fit perfectly. I could've probably gone with a 4 if I wanted it tighter, but the 6's cut was classy and still sexy without being painted on. I also thought the fabric was super comfortable - not itchy or irritating, and plenty of stretch to get your dance on. :)

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
January 7, 2015
Great fit, kinda ho-hum look

I'm a size 10 and this size 10 fit me perfectly. I needed something rather conservative to wear to a very nice dinner and then a small NYE party with friends afterward, and this was conservative. Was nice to have a touch of color and not just black but this look is pretty ho-hum. Looked great with black tights and black heels.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 12, 2015
Dress arrived at my door on time. It was a nice, conservative dress.

The dress looked good but not great. The stomach fit large while the dress was tight around the legs.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
January 20, 2015
This was the perfect dress for our first Thanksgiving as husband and wife with my family.

I rented both the 6 and the 8 for this past Thanksgiving. Both fit, but I have wider hips and long legs, so I went with the 8 for the length! It was the perfect dress for my conservative Aunt and Uncle's country club! I got tons of compliments on it and wish I could keep it! The purple is a little itchy, but you get used to it, or forget about it. I was worried about the sleeve hitting at an awkward length, but they were great! I only gave it 4 stars because it was a little itchy.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 146lbs
February 9, 2015
I wore this to an awards banquet and it was perfect for the occasion.

Great dress! Very comfortable and fit perfectly. The zipper did stick a wee bit so I had to get help from my husband. When it arrived the black detail had a shiny look to it. Unexpected but looked great.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
April 6, 2015
Pretty Date Night Dress

This dress was cute and fit true to size. The purple fabric was very itchy. I have fairly sensitive skin, so maybe it wouldn't bother everyone, but I had to wear a shirt under the dress and tights to keep the fabric off my skin. The black panels have a nice bit of stretch, but not too much that you need to size down or that it's too body hugging. It fits very nicely and isn't too short.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
May 1, 2015
I wore this to my bridal shower

This dress fit me perfectly and I received a lot of compliments on it. It was also comfortable to wear.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
June 19, 2015
Loved the design.. classy look

Great fit.... Nothing wrong with this piece of clothing

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 57
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
July 12, 2015
Comfortable with perfect fit!

I rented this dress to speak at a conference and it was so comfortable I didn't want to take it off! Is is classy and professional but still shows off your figure. The purple inset material is shiny/sparkle type material and is very pretty.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 49
October 4, 2015
Perfect sleeve length

Wore this dress to a Fall late afternoon wedding. It's hard to find a dress with sleeves and these were soft, not too tight and a great length. The color of the dress is a brighter purple in natural light. Fabric was form fitting but not too tight. Black silhouette added nice shape illusion. Fabric pattern made it easy to wear spanx without it being noticeable at the waist. I'm between a 6 and an 8, the 6 was too tight in hips and 8 fit great - very glad able to order two sizes without additional cost!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 57
October 14, 2015
It was my daughters wedding rehearsal dinner.

It fit like a glove. I got so many compliments on the dress the whole evening.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 69
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
October 14, 2015
Absolutely perfect

This may be the best dress I've ever rented from RTR in terms of fit and comfort. It fit like a glove, yet it was still extremely comfortable. Must be the stretchy fabric! It's also quite beautiful, though not in the "formal event" category, and very distinctive, making it perfect for a rental rather than a dress to own.

See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×