Yoana Baraschi

Oscar Wild Dinner Dress

$35 – $55 rental
$495 retail
Stylist Notes

Channel Victorian elegance in this jacquard style by Yoana Baraschi. A pretty and ultra flattering option for the rehearsal dinner.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Knee to tea length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Purple Jacquard (100% Polyester). Sleeveless. V-neckline. Full skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 39” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
403 reviews
Fit
Large
(155)
True to Size
(171)
Small
(9)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
September 24, 2013
It has pockets!
I rented this dress as my back up dress. I found the top and waste to be too large. I wish I had ordered a size 4. I would recommend going down one size if you have a smaller bust. But the dress is so pretty in person! I loved the pattern and the pleating. And it has pockets! So fun!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 5, 2013
Beautiful dress. A nice retro / modern combination.
I would recommend ordering a smaller size as a backup. Mostly true to size, but runs a bit large. Very flattering lines for hourglass and/or pear shapes. Classy with a great pop of color. Black shoes work well. Sexy and cute.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
October 7, 2013
Loved the color and the fit!!
I just absolutely loved this dress!!! And so did everyone else. People complimented me on it all night long. I was a little sad to return it. The color was great. A little more purple than the picture, but still great nonetheless. The pleat in the front made it look great with my belt (which I add purely for the sake of accessorizing). As for the fit...I'm a little top heavy, but have a small waist. It's always a challenge to find a dress that doesn't swallow me but still provides the coverage and room for my chest. I would absolutely recommend this dress for women with larger breasts. If you are a little on the smaller side chest wise, then I would suggest ordering a smaller size than your usual fit because it is roomy at the top. I cannot say enough about this dress. I highly recommend it!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
October 16, 2013
Loved the dress!
runs large, more purple than burgundy. Felt like I was on the set of Mad Men, loved the fifties look.
KCOctober 29, 2013
I love the necklace you paired with this dress. Did you rent it or is it your own?
KateNovember 1, 2013
thx, I rented the Kate Spade On the Town necklace :)
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 23, 2013
Beautiful and Comfortable
I wore this dress to a black tie optional wedding. It was extermely comfortable and fit me well through the chest. The pockets were an added bonus!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
October 24, 2013
Rich color and Pattern
Rent the Runway recommended this dress for me, and I had had it saved as a favorite. First off, the photos on the website make it look wine colored. It is SO NOT. It's almost magenta, which is not a color I would typically wear, ever. The cut of the dress is quite flattering, although the darts at the front of it make the middle poof out a bit like the prow of a ship. Or maybe that's my body. It's an interesting effect. I loved the slash pockets, I think the length is terrific for shorter girls like me and I love the deep neckline. I wore a 10 with a shaper underneath and a black silk pashmina. It's a wonderful altenative to the Little Black Dress and would be woderful for winter parties. The magenta and black pattern is beautiful, rich and detailed, and the fabric isn't terribly heavy and drapes fashionably.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
October 25, 2013
Beautiful, comfortable dress - runs very large
This dress is beautiful, elegant, and very easy to wear. Unfortunately, it runs very large. I ordered the 0, and while the dress was wearable, it was quite loose through the waist and hips. I would have preferred to pin the dress in at the middle to give a more well-defined waistline. Another word of note: this dress has an uneven hemline (with the back of the dress falling a few inches longer than the front). This meant that the back hem of the dress fell well below my knees (I'm 5' 2"). Ultimately, I chose to wear my backup dress to the event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 28, 2013
Pretty dress, a little tight if you are busty
I like the look of fit and flare dresses and this was no exception. This dress isn't a knock your socks off kind of dress, but it is pretty and professional, and I am glad I chose it for the gala that I wore it to. I am a little bit busty, and the 6 was a little tight in the bust. The 8 fit perfectly in the bust, but was loose in the torso and waist area, so I chose to wore the 6 instead. I think I was the only one who could tell that it was a little bit tight, though, and I think it looked very nice.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
November 2, 2013
Would give it 5 stars if I had worn it!
ADORE this dress. The cut is fabulous, the print is lovely, and the back cut out is perfection. Unfortunately, my backup size was not available, and the dress just did not fit how I wanted it too. Definitely give this guy a try though, its beautiful and I wish I could have worn it!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
November 3, 2013
Mad men style all night long!
I absolutely loved this dress. From the pockets, to the fit, it was perfect. I can't wait to order my next dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
November 22, 2013
very fun and flirty
Dress is adorable, picture doesn't show well that it has a bit of a high-low hemline. Pockets were great, back is fun but not too revealing. Tried the dress on at the showroom and decided on a 6 with backup 8. Event came and they sent me two size 8s! I wore one of the 8s because I didn't have time to go shopping or have something else sent. I wasn't' happy with the way the dress fit but I had a tuxedo jacket that hid some of it. I would wear it again
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
December 1, 2013
Mad Men Style with Pockets!
This was my first RTR rental. The dress was even more beautiful in person than I expected. I usually wear a 6 or an 8, so those are the sizes I ordered. However, I probably could have worn a 4. The 6 was a tad big for me, so I added a skinny black suede belt and it looked perfect. No one could tell that the belt was not part of the dress already, and even if I had the 4 I think I would have added the belt anyway just to further accentuate the flare of the dress. The pockets were awesome. Even though I was carrying around my phone and wallet in them you couldn't tell. I am 5'6' and the length was just about to my knees. It wasn't too short or too long- it looked great with 4" heels and didn't even look too bad with the flats I changed into for the reception. The dress did not appear in person to be quite as purple or have as much of a sheen as it did in photos, yet it still photographed very well. I wore it with black sheer pantyhose, pearls and black wrap - it was classic yet modern at the same time. I've never gotten so many compliments before!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
December 9, 2013
Many compliments on the dress, people loved the color
Fit was large on top, needed a smaller size than planned. Dress felt great, I loved the pockets!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
December 15, 2013
Tons of compliments!
This was my first RTR experience and I'm sold!! I rented this for a cocktail party and based on other reviews picked the size 4 with a 2 as my backup. I'm so glad I got the 2 because the 4 was way too big! I'm small busted with pretty wide hips and the 4 was just big everywhere. The 2 fit my hips and was a little large in the bust, but not really noticeable. I absolutely love the pockets and started receiving compliments on the dress the moment I walked in the door. I definitely will be renting again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
November 3, 2015
I rented this dress for formal pictures. This dress was beautiful and I received several compliments
great fit, flattering and beautiful color!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
October 13, 2013
Got a lot of compliments!
Really comfortable dress, with pockets!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Body type: Full Bust
December 20, 2013
I love this dress!
I'm 5'10" and it's hard to find a dress that is an appropriate length for a formal event. This dress hit right at the knee and actually is even a bit longer in the back. The fold in the front is very flattering and the texture and color of the dress is perfect for the holidays. I got a ton of complements all night. Another successful Rent the Runway experience!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 176lbs
December 22, 2013
The dress fit like a glove-I felt like a supermodel.
It is a little tight around the bustline, so after a long night of sitting and leaning in for conversation, I was ready to get out of it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
December 22, 2013
Awesome dress that made me feel beautiful.
I normally wear medium tops, 36A bras, and size 8 or 10s. I could have worn a size 6 in this dress because the top was quite loose even with my most padded bra. The waistline may have been a cinch tight in a 6 (the size 8 was loose), but it would have looked even better and fitted. The fabric is gorgeous & a great magenta color. No slip is necessary since there is one built in to the dress. I chose a statement necklace (rented Lee Angel Tie up in Crystal) and big bracelet (rented Gold Dress Me Up Bracelet) with simple stud earrings that worked great. This dress calls for a shorter necklace and this ribbon necklace was almost too long, but it worked out well. The bracelet was great. I got lots of complements on everything and the pockets were a huge hit. I was incredibly happy with my rental and experience. The dress was comfortable, beautiful and appropriate for an office holiday cocktail party.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 105lbs
December 31, 2013
I loved this dress and didn't want to part with it!
I wore it for a company holiday party and received so many compliments on it. I'm a typical apple shape and normally wear a size 4. I was so glad that I read the reviews and requested a size down as the 2 fit perfectly. Also since I'm so short, the dress came to an inch or 2 below my knee, which looked fine as a tea-length dress. The A-line silhouette was flattering, the fabric was dense and sturdy, the color was gorgeous, I would order this dress again! Also, this was my first RTR experience and I was impressed with the ease of the process.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 142lbs
January 22, 2014
Perfect dress for a formal winter wedding!
The dress fit great and was extremely comfortable all night! I would recommend going down a size than what you normally wear. The dress also has pockets which is always a winner in my book! I am tall (5'8") so the dress hit me right at the knees which was perfect. Definitely recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
February 5, 2014
Gorgeous dress!
I loved this dress. It is elegant and fun at the same time. Definitely runs large as I am usually a size 6. I could have worn the 4 easily and tried to call but was put on hold for over 25 minutes so I hung up and just kept the 6. The bust is large so I had to wear my good padded push up to fill it in. I loved the convenience of it and I will definitely rent this dress again. I love the PRO membership!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 7, 2014
I loved this dress! Perfect for running around, sitting, eating, everything!
I'm normally a 4 or a 2, typically a 4 but definitely ended up wearing the 2 in this, I didn't even try on the 4 that shipped as well! The dress fit perfectly through the bust, though it was a teeny bit big through my waist. It was perfect for the black tie preferred gala that I was both working and attending, since I couldn't handle a long dress and run around in it! Even though I'm 5'9'' the dress still went to right above my knee and was appropriate for work and I got a lot of compliments from guests at the event. The dress is definitely much more purple than it appears in the picture but the shade was very flattering, I just wish I had a picture!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
March 2, 2014
Stunning and rich looking dress
I wore this to a formal dinner party. The fabric was a rich brocade, heavy without being stiff. It has pockets, which I kind of think of as a negative since one shouldn't be at a formal party with your hands in your pockets, but it did not add any awkwardness to the dress. This is really the perfect cocktail dress for a winter event. It was very comfortable. It was definitely big. I normally wear a 2 or 4, but got a 4 and 6 because the last set of dresses I got (a 2 and 4), the 4 was too small. The 4 fit well enough. A 2 would have been better, but all in all, I was very satisfied.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
March 5, 2014
Couldn't wear the dress
This dress is beautiful, but beware, it runs very large. I normally wear a size 4 and ordered the size 2 for a back-up based on other reviews. The size 2 was so large I couldn't wear it, either. Luckily I had ordered a back-up dress. Very generous sizing on this dress...may order the 0 at a later date for another event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
March 12, 2014
Stunning color and pockets!
I found it to be true to size. The color is fabulous and I got tons of compliments on it! I also paried it with the necklace recommended and I loved the way they looked together.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
March 14, 2014
Subdued enough to not be too flashy at a wedding, but NOT your little black dress!
Loved the color. Loved that I didn't feel flashy, but wasn't wearing black (like most of the other wedding guests). The pleats in the middle accentuated my baby bump a little too much (since I haven't told anyone!) but would be perfect for someone who is 4-6months pregnant (or not pregnant- and not worried about a tummy). It has pockets, which was my favorite part. Will rent again!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Body type: Pear
March 24, 2014
I received so many compliments on this dress, and I could not stop talking about Rent the Runway.
It fit perfectly. It was completely true to size. I could wear a regular bra with it and everything. It was very flattering and I could sit and eat comfortably without having some tight hold on my stomach. Oh! And it has pockets! I could carry my phone and lipstick and it didn't ruin the lines of the dress in any way. I am about to rent this dress again, I love it so much.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
April 4, 2014
Beautiful color, fabric and fit.
Wore this dress for NYE. Loved it! Stood out from a sea of black.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
April 7, 2014
Perfect Dress
This dress is amazing. I'm actually debating buying it... that's how much I love it. The fabric is gorgeous- really rich-looking. I was at an Indian wedding and this dress actually held its own with the beautiful, colorful saris that most women were wearing. As for size, definitely only pay attention to the 'top'- the bottom part is flow-y enough that it hides hips. I am a 6 or 8 on top, but an 8 or 10 on the bottom, so I ordered an 8 and a 10. The 8 was okay, but I think the 6 would have been better. There is a little poofy-ness in the front (because of the pleat), but it's clear it's the dress and not your tummy. (So this would be a great dress for someone hiding a baby bump because you definitely wouldn't notice.) Highly, highly recommended!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
April 9, 2014
Dress was perfect to celebrate our rehearsal dinner!
Thought this ran true to size and was comfortable in the bust. I am shorter so the straps sat a little loose. Color is more purple than the picture shows on my different devices - which I knew from speaking with a style consultant. LOVE the pockets and lay of the dress! Would be cute with a belt too!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
April 13, 2014
Super Cute!
This dress was rushed to me after the one I ordered didn't fit. I called and talk to one of the reps and she was so helpful in helping me find another dress to rush. I felt great in this dress! Loved that it had pockets and it hid any imperfections I had. Over all I would recommend this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
April 20, 2014
Great color & comfortable
Overall really liked the dress. It was a pretty color and was comfortable. I belted to show more of a waistline and received a lot of compliments on the dress! Great for cocktail party & events!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 46
Body type: Hourglass
April 24, 2014
Great experience, fun to shop, arrived on time, and easy to ship back. Received many compliments.
Fit true to size and loved the pockets. Color is great but more purple than photo indicates.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
April 24, 2014
Fun, flattering unique dress!
I loved this dress! I have a large bust and a hourglass figure and this dress definitely flattered that. I'm 5'4 and the dress hit just below my knees in the front and was a bit longer in the back. I wish it were just a touch shorter, but as I'm short, this is a relatively common problem. The pockets were a fabulous addition. I felt old school glamorous all evening.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 4, 2014
Nice and easy
Comfortable and has pockets, I wore the 10 the 8 fit but I was more interested in being comfortable for this event. It was perfect and the color is different from everyone else at the party! Just my style!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
May 4, 2014
Runs very large
I ended up not wearing this because it was too large and unflattering. My measurements are about 37-28-40. I ordered the six with an eight back up size, and the six was awkwardly loose around my waist. The panels at the stomach also added some additional bulk so I felt the whole thing made me look like I could be 4 months pregnant (on a related note, I do think this could fit a small pregnant woman well the way the belly is structured). The fabric is beautiful and I really wanted to like it... the fit was just off.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 49
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
May 5, 2014
As mentioned by other posters, this dress runs very large!
It is a beautiful and well made dress, but I would recommend staying away if you are petite. I'm 5'2 and usually a size 0 or 2 in most designers, but the size 0 was swimming on me and made me look huge. Too much material for small frames. Next time I'll read the reviews for people of my size better!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 7, 2014
Beautiful dress & really comfortable for dancing!
Loved the pattern and structure of the dress. The color was definitely more purple than the image as other pictures show. I liked that you could wear a non-strapless bra with this dress. I recommend going one size down from what you normally wear as the dress runs large.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 132lbs
May 16, 2014
Great quality, and it has pockets!
I wore this to a "business formal" event at the Pierre Hotel in NY that I knew would lean more towards the "formal" than the "business." It was a wonderful conservative, classy dress that dipped a bit lower in the back. I fit easily into the 2 at 135 pounds with a little wiggle room, so make sure to order down for your second size. It'll go well with any crystal necklace!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 11

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×