Selma Gown

$260 rental
$1495 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This Yigal Azrouel gown is red hot elegance. Perfect for showing off your chic style at a city wedding or black tie event.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust yet fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - dress is most fitted at the waist
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women; slit comes up to about mid thigh
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''). Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11).

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and SPANX due to the thin nature of the fabric
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Model's height is 5'10''.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust yet fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - dress is most fitted at the waist
HIPS: Fitted - skirt may be more fitted on curvier women; slit comes up to about mid thigh
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''). Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11).

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and SPANX due to the thin nature of the fabric
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Model's height is 5'10''.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Red and black silk crepe de chine(100% silk). One shoulder neckline. Ruched bodice. Front slit. Exposed black side zip. Made in USA. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
53 reviews
Fit
Large7
True to Size46
Small0
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
July 15, 2013
Way too long for a 5'3" frame
This dress looked absolutely stunning in the photos and I was super excited to wear it to a friend's wedding; however, the only size available on the date I needed was a 4R so I couldn't order a backup size. Unfortunately, it was WAY too long and I wouldn't have been able to get away with it even in 5-inch heels. I definitely think I could have gone down a size, maybe two, but had to wear a different RTR dress for this occasion.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
July 8, 2013
I did not end up wearing this one because it seemed to formal for a daytime wedding.
It would be great for a formal affair, with the high slit in the front it's dramatic in a great way.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
May 29, 2013
Great dress for a formal affair!
I loved this dress - it fit true to size and made me feel beautiful! The only problem I had with it was that there were slits running down the sides of the skirt that ran a little high - no problem unless you had to pick something up and was a little hard to maneuver in while dancing.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
May 18, 2013
Perfect dress!
The dress was easy to dance in. The slit is pretty high, when you sit down it can kind of open but whenever you're standing it is not noticeable at all. The dress is gorgeous! Everybody loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 7, 2013
This dress is so incredibly flattering-I felt like the most gorgeous girl at the event!
This dress was perfect for my boyfriend's formal work event. It was the first time he'd seen me really dressed up and his jaw dropped! My favorite parts of the dress were the one shoulder and the high slit. I will definitely be renting it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Body type: Hourglass
May 6, 2013
Great dress. Comfortable. Moves easy. Waist could be more flattering.
Great dress. Danced in it all night and it moves great. Very comfortable. The waist could be more clearly defined...it is a little high-waisted, but other than that it worked well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
May 5, 2013
Elegant gown that's both sexy and conservative!
The dress is beautiful. I wore a 4R and am curious if the size 2 would've been better for me, but the size 2 was unavailable, so I think the 4R was slightly big up top for me. I wore 4 inch heels and the dress skimmed the ground beautifully. Not ideal for windy weather as the dress will fly open at the hem.
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
April 20, 2013
This dress was very comfortable, but long. You need to wear high heels at least 2".
This dress is very light and moves very well. It was great for a black tie even with dancing.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 10, 2013
Great dress, super comfortable. I'll definitely rent it again.
I wore this to an innagural ball. I generally wear a 2 or 4 in dresses, and the 4 fit just a little more comfortably around the waist. Loved the dress - good amount of sexy and class. Dress was super comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
April 8, 2013
Didn't happen...but will rent again... and teal was way too long, short girls beware
Found out dress was unavailable the day before the event...then many mishaps...nothing ended up working out ( had to buy a dress) however still love the concept and company I will rent again and recommend to friends. However they sent this dress in the teal color...it didn't work but was gorgeous...the 4r is VERY long even with 4inch heels...even with fashion tape hem (couldn't even consider wearing) inches too long and fashion tape hard to do with the material and line of the dress...but looks gorgeous on, material and lines of dress stunning. I wish the color and length could have worked but no luck. Better luck next time.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 1, 2013
Dress was beautiful!!
Fabric was very comfortable & flattering. True to size. Length was slightly long but with very high heels it worked.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
March 26, 2013
Fund dress,
I just didn't like the black zipper
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
March 12, 2013
Beautiful dress, so elegant.
Perfect for an elegant wedding.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
March 12, 2013
Loved it!!!
Slit is much higher than it looks in the picture, but nothing that a little garment tape can't secure.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
March 4, 2013
Gorgeous and Sexy - Must Rent!
I would have given this dress 5 stars, but the 4R was too short. I don't think the long would have even been long enough for my 2.5" heels. I must have misread other reviews, because I was given the impression that regular would be better than long for someone that is 5'7". I usually wear a 6 and the 4 fit beautifully, so it does run large. I LOVED the slit - I felt so feminine and sexy. When I sat, I did have to be careful with placing the fabric over my lap so my the upper part of my legs didn't get exposed, but I never felt like I was showing too much. I received lots of compliments. RTR did not disappoint!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
February 25, 2013
The dress was beautiful but the bodice and torso were too big.
Due to an issue with my back-up dress in the smaller size (someone stepped through the hem I think), they couldn't send me the 2 dresses I ordered but RTR called and sent a totally separate back-up, which was a good thing because the 2nd choice fit much better. They also sent a necklace to make up for the inconvenience. While it didn't work out perfectly (both dresses were too large and the smaller size back-up would have been perfect), RTR handled the situation quite well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
February 21, 2013
This is a classic, gorgeous dress
I rented this for a formal affair. I found that it was slightly too flimsy for black tie. I also think the exposed zipper detailing down the side "dresses it down." I went really dramatic with makeup and hair to complete the look. On it's own, this dress is more formal/black tie optional than black tie. Great fit though, I needed spanx underneath it to hide my undergarments, yet the slit went right up there. And I mean WAY up there. I had to get creative to keep the slip from opening up and exposing it all.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
February 5, 2013
Perfect holiday gown!
Perfect combination of classy and edgy with the exposed zipper. Extremely flattering and comfortable
View photos (3)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
January 26, 2013
I wore this dress to the Golden Globes and it was definitely a show stopper. Love it!
The fit was great (and to size) and it was also very comfortable. The slit in the front made it sexy when you walked but it was very high- do not recommend wearing spanks with this one!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
January 21, 2013
Perfect elegant formal wear
I chose this dress out of the 6 that I rented for a big formal event. Elegant, classy. Slit in the front, so not good for windy occasions. Fabric flows. not silk though. Perfect length
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 10, 2013
Elegant...yet comfy enough to wear while head-banging (see photo)
This dress fits like a dream. I have a long torso, so I was a little worried that the high waist would not work for me...on the contrary, it was extremely flattering. I didn't even need to wear Spanx. At first I was a little worried that the high slit would be too revealing...but once I started moving around in it, I realized that the way the dress is constructed, it would be very difficult to flash the world - even though the slit goes up high, it doesn't actually show anything. After I realized that, I danced all night at our awards ceremony - including some headbanging! (see photo) I also wore this with the Tom Binns Neon Bracelet, though you can't see it in the photos.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
January 5, 2013
This dress looked fantastic!
I ordered this dress for a wedding in Miami and it was perfect. The 2L fit great and the length was perfect with my platform heels. I received several compliments and it looked great with a statement necklace.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Body type: Hourglass
January 4, 2013
I did not particularly like the skirt fabric.
High slit in the leg, which i loved!
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 168lbs
December 17, 2012
Did not end up wearing the dress.
Zipper on the side made the dress look cheap.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 28, 2012
I ended up not wearing this dress
I had 2 dresses for an event I was at and thank god I had the other one. This dress, while it ran true to size, was short. I'm 5'5, an average height, and I had a 0R and with heels on, the dress didn't cover the heels. I also was not a fan of the HUGE slit up the front. The front is basically 2 pieces of fabric overlapping and one wrong step and you'll end up with the slit opened up to your waist.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
November 19, 2012
Didn't look right...
It would have been nice, but the top part was too bunchy. It didn't fit right and the exposed zipper along the side was a little strange. I didn't end up wearing it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 58
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
November 11, 2012
Unique dress - easy to wear - very comfortable
The dress is very forgiving. The waistline sits above your normal waistline - making it look smaller than reality.. I saw other reviews where the front slit was a problem - it wasn't a big deal for me. I am 5'7" and wanted the tall size but it wasn't available for the date of my event.. The event was at the Art Museum with many steps. I had 3 inch heels and it was the perfect length, so regular was the way to go.. The side zipper is large and unflattering - but that was the ony downside.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Body type: Full Bust
October 16, 2012
This dress is PERFECT for weddings-- you can dress it up or dress it down really easily.
The fit of this dress is really flattering. I was worried about being overdressed, but the slit in the front makes the dress really versatile. Loved it and definitely recommend it for any occasion!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 15, 2012
Could not have been a more perfect dress for my cousin's wedding!
It ran a little big - I'm a traditional 27 Jeans/ usually Medium in everything - but the 4R fit just right!
PattyOctober 22, 2012
Fabulous Liv!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
October 12, 2012
Everyone was asking about my dress and I received so many compliments! The dress is unique!
I am 5'9 and also rented a 6R (L wasn't available). The R length was way too short and hit me mid ankle. Luckily, the 4L fit perfectly. The slit is VERY high, I highly reccommend wearing spanx or some kind of slip! If there is any wind at all you will discover how open the front can be. I wore a spanx nude skirt which worked perfectly, but could have used some fashion tape too. This dress is a show stopper, highly reccommend!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
October 12, 2012
Great Dress!
The 2L was the perfect length and I was still able to wear heels. I also rented the 4L but it was a little big in the top. The silt on the side of the dress helps to give the dress some extra excitement. I was in love with the dress all night long.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 10, 2012
Love everything about this dress!
This dress was amazing and worth the money. It fit great and was very flattering. It does have a very large slit in the front. I would suggest wearing a slip under.
MeredithNovember 28, 2012
Hey!! You both look great! MIght have to try this dress :)
AnnaApril 3, 2013
Are you wearing 4 inch heels? I am trying to figure out what length to get. :o)
Casey S.April 8, 2013
Yes! I am wearing 4 inch heels which made it a perfect length.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
September 14, 2012
really unique gorgeous dress :-)
the rental process couldn't have gone better.. I had originally ordered a nicole miller dress that didn't fit so they sent this as a backup to the hotel i was staying in. fit like a glove!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
September 11, 2012
easy process
The dress was beautiful but i found it ran a little large in the waist.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 61
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
September 9, 2012
Loved, loved, loved
This has been my most favorite rental ever. It is very flattering and fits true to size. Was perfect for a black tie wedding. Other reviewers mentioned the slit up the front being a problem, but I did not find that to be the case. It was easy to sit in as well as dance in -- no "flashing" The designed was unknown to me before, but now I am on the lookout for more dresses by him.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
August 11, 2012
Great dress with a surprise!
I loved this dress and the color was great but I didn't end up wearing it because it was a back up. I chose the other dress because it was slightly more conservative (the slit on the front of this dress goes all the way up to the waistline!) If I had worn this dress I probably would have used fashion tape to close the slit a little. Other than that it was a great dress and very beautiful!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 7, 2012
I felt like a million bucks!!
Such a great dress! I usually wear a 4, but it was a little too drapey. The 2R fit perfectly- I did not wear a bra (would probably have been a bit tight if I did wear a bra) and just wore a seamless thong. I didnt feel the material was too thin. The slit goes pretty high so you just need to keep on eye on your goods when you sit down. I was comfortable all night, dancing, drinking, walking around etc. Got tons of compliments on the dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 3, 2012
My favorite!!!!
loved the dress just wish the bottom was in better condition!! The customer service was amazing and the sent me other options immediately but nothing compared to this one! Slit was high but I put in a safety pin to be more comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
June 27, 2012
Perfect Dress for Charity Ball
I wore this to a charity function. It was fun yet still appropriate for the event, and comfortable to wear for a long evening. The dress fit true to size. The black zipper on the side was a little surprising, but I didn't notice it once I had the dress on. My only complaint is that it was a little wrinkled, but overall it was a great dress!
MelanieAugust 4, 2012
What heel height did you wear with this gown?
RTRAugust 7, 2012
Hi Melanie, Floor length - there are Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''). Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11). We recommend the Regular length for a height of 5'4 with a 2-3" heel!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106lbs
June 23, 2012
Even better in person!
I can't rave about this dress enough! I wore it to a fancy birthday dinner and got a million compliments. It is light weighted, very elegant feeling and the photos do not show it, but there is a very long slit that goes all the way up to your thigh. Beyond the thighs, actually. It's very fun, sexy and I need to say it again - elegant. I actually want to own this one. the length of the 0R fit me well w/ 3" heels - not floor grazing but almost. I'm usually a size 2 so this runs a bit big as the size 0 was still really comfortable/loose. In photos, w/o the right pose, it will look "bohemian" so make sure you practice your pose for a more formal affair.
JacquelynJuly 11, 2012
I'm debating renting this dress for a black tie wedding. It looks like we are the same size, but I'm nervous because you said it runs large. Would you mind posting pictures?
See more reviews:
1 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×