Yigal Azrouël

Royal Court Gown

$241 to buy
$1,490 retail
Stylist Notes

Get a classic gown to hug your every curve in this lace beauty by Yigal Azrouël. For star-quality glam that will make your evening extra special!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 10.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Burgundy lace (70% cotton, 30% nylon) Long sleeves. Crew neckline with illusion sweetheart detail. Open back with closure at neckline. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
92 reviews
Fit
Large
(35)
True to Size
(42)
Small
(6)
Size worn:
0L
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 23
November 21, 2014
Dress fit perfect!!!!

This dress was an awesome hit!!!! The dress was a little big. I am 5'2' 115 lbs and normally a size 2 in dresses but I ordered the 0 L. I got many compliments on the dress. I'm very happy that I rented this dress for my friends wedding!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
April 30, 2015
I felt stunning all night!

The original size I wanted to order was a 0L, but I procrastinated and that size was unavailable. I was worried about the fit of the larger size, but it worked extremely well! The dress was very comfortable and stretchy, I felt like I could take normal steps. I was worried that with the low back my underwear would show, but it actually was not a problem at all- even with the little bit of gapping in the back. The lining of the dress does run a little below the lace on the 2L, and you can see it if you look closely at my picture. However, this did not effect the overall look of this dress. I received compliments all night! It is a little bit of a more purple color than it appears, but once again it was still gorgeous! If you're worried about matching colors: my date wore a black tux with a white vest and bow tie. All of my accessories were gold and my shoes were black and they matched wonderfully. I didn't want to return this dress! Also, shout out to RTR: included with my dress was a garment bag I got to keep, some fashion tape, and a complementary lotion. I will rent again!!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 3, 2015
Nice, but could be better

The dress was definitely a plum color, not maroon at all. But I had expected that. I am normally between a 2 and. 4 but I could have fit into the 0 in this dress. The biggest con for me was the fact that you can see that the lace has shrunk because a string is connecting the bottom of the slip to the lace. I pinned up the slip with safety pins because there was about 6 inches of excess materials that fell beneath the lace. Overall, loved wearing this dress though

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 17, 2015
Great customer service!

A little big, but overall it was a great fit. The back was gorgeous!!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 20
Body type: Apple
June 2, 2015
Everyone said i looked very elegant

The color looks darker in person than what it looks like on the model.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 111lbs
September 21, 2015
Loved this dress! Great for black tie wedding

Fit was perfect hugged all the right areas. It is a little more purple that it looks on the model and the underwater was longer than the lace part. I got a ton of compliments when I wore this and overall felt great in it! Would definitely rent again

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 37
November 2, 2015
The back of this dress is incredible! Loved it!

Pros: beautiful lace detail and comfortable. Cons: length was a tad short and bottom of gown had slight wear and was uneven with underlay. Overall it was beautiful.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
January 14, 2015
When it arrived the dress was clean and in good condition.

It was basically a perfect fit, going in I had no idea what my dress size really was but it ended up being the perfect size , I wanted a long fit so that it wouldn't show my ankles and that's why I went with the 6L and not the 6R but it did run a little too long as I had to hold the dress up while on the dance floor to prevent stepping on it, overall a beautiful dress and got lots of complements from the other ladies.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
November 3, 2015
Feeling like a princess

I felt so beautiful in this dress. I received compliments all night. The dress was true to size. However my only negative with the dress is that is was short. I am 5'8 and ordered at 4LONG and it was short on me I only wore 2 inch heels and it was completely off the ground as you can see in the photo.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
October 16, 2013
Made me look like a million bucks!

This dress was one of the most comfortable and flattering dresses I have ever worn. It hugged my body in all the right places! Loved it so much. The customer service was also amazing as I had originally ordered an 8 and 10. I called right away when I realized they were going to be too big and customer service overnighted me a 6L. Love RENT THE RUNWAY! You all are amazing. I always suggest you to anyone who asks for suggestions in places to get formal dresses.

AnnOctober 16, 2013
Oh my gosh!!! I know this girl!!!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
December 15, 2013
Pretty dress, but too casual for my black tie event and not a great fit for me

The color of this dress is a gorgeous burgundy, but it was a lot less formal than I thought it would be. I tried it on for several people and they all said the same thing - it just didn't fit well and didn't do anything for me. It was very comfortable because the lace was a stretchy material, but I think that's what made it more casual. This would be a better for perhaps a winter wedding, not a formal black tie affair. The back was beautiful and low, but the fit was too loose on me. I normally wear a 2L, should have gone with a 0L. I like to wear 5" heels, so I usually end up getting the long length, even though I am only 5'5". This dress would be best on someone with curves and a larger bust. Otherwise, it just sort of hangs. I called RTR that night to ask for a 0L, but they were out. I looked online with the customer service rep and we found another dress that was more formal. The next day, a new dress, which was perfect, was at my front door. Customer Service at RTR is amazing!

Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 25, 2014
Needed a gown for a masquerade gala, and this was perfect!

The dress fit perfect except that it was a tad bit short. I'm 5'2" and without heels on the dress just touched my toes. I decided to wear 4 inch heels, even thought the dress was short with the heels on, it didn't look terrible, so I went with it, but definitely wish the Long size was avaiable. Other than it being too short, it was a beautiful dress. I got tons of compliments and would defintely recommend this rental to anyone.

Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
December 18, 2013
The dress fits like a glove! It is classy and sexy!

This dress runs large. I am usually a 4-6 and the 2R fit (and could have been a little more form fitting). Definitely order your size and a size down. It photographs well and I got a ton of compliments! It looks great on a curvy/athletic shape.

BriannaDecember 18, 2013
what size shoe did you wear? and how did it fit length wise?
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
December 27, 2013
Both friends and strangers were floored by this dress! I've never received so many compliments.

I wore this dress to a formal holiday party with over one-thousand attendees. Friends and strangers alike approached me to with how absolutely special this gown is. Everyone I met said how beautiful it is, and then were floored when seeing the back. I felt amazing in this dress and hard a difficult time parting with it the next morning! Overall the fit runs large. I am 5'8", about 115 lbs, and usually wear a 0 or 2. This dress was just a tad too big for me even in the 0L, but no one could notice. I wore black T-strap heels and the bottom of the dress grazed the floor perfectly. I highly recommend this dress (and remember to take photos of how gorgeous you look and feel!). My partner's coworkers were still talking about my look the next day.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 6, 2014
Shows off all your curves!

This is a great dress that I wore to a black tie wedding. I got TONS of compliments on it. I read the previous reviews which stated that the dress runs large, which I found to be true. I am 5"6 and normally wear a size 2 in dresses, and was planning on wearing 31/2 - 4" heels. I ordered the 0L & 2L, and wore the 0 - the 2 would have been baggy. Also, if you plan on wearing high heels, I definitely suggest ordering the long - with my 4" heels, the dress barely skimmed the floor. Overall though, great dress - the back is incredible!

AlexFebruary 6, 2014
What did you do about a bra?
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
February 18, 2014
My boyfriend's jaw was on the floor....A.K.A. he liked it a lot.

Fit: It ran a tiny bit big. I'm normally a 2 & 4 when I RTR, but this time I feel like I should have gotten a 0 & 2. 2R was the perfect length for reasonable heels. Sleeves fit fine. I wore a stick-on bra with no back and it worked great. Amazingly easy process - RTR was able to get everything to me right before I left for my trip and I returned it the next day after the event. I also rented the earrings - they sparkled and I'm so happy I got them to go with the dress. I'm so happy I went with this dress - definitely am going to RTR again soon!

Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
March 24, 2014
the amount of compliments i received were unreal! everyone loved it and said how special i looked.

I am 5 foot 3 AND A HALF. I would've never included this half except for the purpose of this dress. I have never considered myself to be a tall person, if anything I am on the shorter side, so I ordered this in a 0R and 2R, since depending on the brand I range. The 2 was falling off of me in this case, but was the exact same length as the 0. It fell perfectly to the floor..without shoes. I tried to have rent the runway overnight me the 0L, because it was a bit too short, but unfortunately that size wasn't available. I would suggest rather than ordering 2 sizes, ordering 2 of the same size in R and L, for I had to last minute go and find the shortest heels I could that were still cute enough to be seen. No one ended up noticing, and I was receiving compliments all night, so luckily it all worked out!!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 23
March 30, 2014
The lace detail on my dress!

This dress for amazingly! I received so many compliments and I was the center of attention the ENTIRE night. I wore a 2L and I am 5'4. The dress was a little baggy. I am usually a size 4 and I could've sized down to a 0L. Overall I loved this dress! I will definitely be renting from RTR again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 6, 2014
Didn't fit right...

The back (the part I was most worried about) actually looked good. It was the upper part of the dress that was much baggier/ill-fitting than I had expected. I'm glad I ordered this dress a few weeks prior to my schools prom (just to try it on), so that I could decide NOT to order it again for the actual event.

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123lbs
April 7, 2014
This dress runs large in the hip area.

This dress runs large in the hips. I usually wear a 2R or a 4R so that's what I ordered. The dress was short in both sizes and very large and loose in the hips. If you have small hips I would not suggest renting this dress. I was unable to wear it to my event because it fit so poorly. I have a larger bust and it fit great up top, just not on the bottom.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 8, 2014
The dress was incredible, though ran a little large. But any gaps were easily fixed with tape

Loved the dress so much. It's very elegant but with a fun back as well. The fabric is stretchy, comfortable, and flattering. The dress runs a little big and there were a couple baggy spots around the waist/hips but a little fashion tape fixed that easily. The color is much more purple than it looks on the model but is just as pretty. I got lots of complements and would highly recommend this dress!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 28, 2014
I wore this dress to my Junior Banquet, and I loved it! The dress is very unique.

The dress was a little large in some areas, but it fit me pretty well overall. My only complaint that i found that it rode up frequently so i had to pull it down often.

View photos (2)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
April 29, 2014
Love this dress!!

This dress was simply amazing. I wore this to my spring formal for my sorority. I got compliments on it allll night! I'm only 5'2 so the long length was perfect with my heels. The only thing I can say is that the dress runs a little big. I normally wear a 12 in dresses but I could've gotten an 8 in this one so I would take advantage of the free second size option. But in conclusion I loved this dress and recommend it for anyone trying to steal the spotlight!

View photos (2)
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
May 5, 2014
Very Unique!

I wore this dress to prom. I loved the color for it was purple too with burgundy. The open back was low and an eye grabber, loved it! I received a ton of compliments. It was a perfect length even wearing 6 in heels. Okay the only concerns I did have was the second layer of fabric under the lace because it was too long compared to the lace layer. It wasn't super noticeable when I moved though (you can see in second pic). Also it was loose in the waist. I would suggest a size lower if you want a snug fit. Dress wasn't ridiculously large though. I would recommend this dress, and using RTR! I'll be ordering again.

View photos (2)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
May 6, 2014
Love it

Runs very large but very pretty and comfortable

Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 21
June 16, 2014
The dress was so flattering and unique, and I got so many compliments!

I am usually between a size 6 and 8, but all they had was the 6, so I took the risk and just got the one size and it fit perfectly! I didn't have to worry about wearing spanx or anything because it was so flattering as it was. The only accessory I had was a corsage and I think it was perfect that way... The dress speaks for itself! I'm so glad I used Rent the Runway and will absolutely use it again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 24, 2014
This was a back-up dress.

I did not choose to wear this dress to my event. I put it on and it felt a little matronly. The color is much more purple than it shows in the photo on the website. Also, the under-slip is longer than the lace and I felt it look very odd. Overall, I would not recommend this dress for many women.

Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
June 30, 2014
The dress is a 3/5 star and the customer service is a 5/5. So average 4.

The dress was WAY too large, frayed at the bottom, washed out and completely ruined by the bad laundering jobs. The inner lining of the dress was stretched out longer than the main part. The skirt, instead of looking like the picture, wasn't sharp and looked like an old, hapless nylon skirt your mom threw out. However, it IS a beautiful dress - probably got stretched out because previous customers who wore it wore should have worn a bigger size, and then tried to wash it in their machine. Please, if I'm going to pay so much for a designer dress, I don't want it to be in tatters! But their customer service is one of the best! Prompt and very courteous. So advice, I'd go in person to see any of these dresses before putting an order. (BTW, go one and two dress sizes down for this particular dress)

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114lbs
September 28, 2014
Overall great dress, received many compliments at the gala. Love the backless aspect of the dress.

Wasn't as snug as I thought and the regular length is short of wearing a very high heel. Also more eggplant purple than burgundy.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
September 22, 2014
Beautiful

Very beautiful and elegant. Runs Very large. I ordered a 2 and a 0, and could have worn the 0, but it was a bit tight on my neck so I wore the bigger size. Definitely go one size down for your backup. Beautiful lace detail, and the dress was a lot more light weight than it looked. You'll love it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
February 3, 2014
Effortlessly stunning

I loved this dress! I knew from the moment I saw it that I wanted to wear this for my event. I would say the dress runs a little big because I tried a different dress on in a 6L and it was extremely tight in the hips, unlike this dress. This dress does have more give and stretch than a typical formal gown since most gowns have a silk lining. This dress accented my figure perfectly and I got so many compliments on the style and fit! The only thing to be aware of is the fact that you cannot wear Spanx due to the low cut back, but I felt comfortable without them! The only negative comment I have is that I rented this dress last week for $250 and as I sat down to type my review I noticed it is now only $80 to rent. I wish I could have gotten the dress for the cheaper price, but it was totally worth it!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
October 14, 2014
Perfect for a wedding

I wore this to a black tie optional wedding in October. The dress fits a bit large, however I am 5'5 and the long was necessary. I have a larger chest but was able to get away without any type of bra/tape etc. The dress was very comfortable and I received tons of compliments.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 14, 2014
I wore this for a friend's wedding and received lots of compliments!

As other reviewers have said, it runs slightly large but it's not overwhelming. The dress is more purple than the stock picture shows and the 2L has a small hole in the upper back region, but it isn't too noticeable since the dress has that look to it already. The dress had quite a few snags that I had to cut off, but I guess it comes with the territory of a used dress that is shipped all over. Since I'm short the 2L was still too long with 4" heels but I made it work. This was my first time using RTR and it was an 'ok' experience overall.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 13, 2014
November Wedding in Maryland, needs a long, Fall colored dress!

I have a small frame, so it was a little baggy along the sides and back. Tons of compliments all night :)

View photos (3)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 56
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
February 9, 2015
Another person had the same dress on.

The dress was a little bit loose and the back felt too low for me.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 15, 2015
Beautiful color, felt very fancy in the dress!

I would not typically wear a dress like this due to the lack of support, but I was able to buy a backless stick-on bra which was the only way I was able to wear this dress. You could just barely see the sides of the sticky part as they wrapped around, but everyone else said they couldn't see it at all. This dress would be perfect for someone that feels comfortable going braless. The color is very pretty and the fabric is very stretchy and you can move well in it. I had no problem dancing all night with everything staying in place. It was a tad short and the under layer of lining definitely hangs below the outside layer. I went with the 4R as 4L wasn't available and the 6L was definitely too big. Overall a really striking and unusual dress, I got lots of compliments and felt great wearing it!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 16, 2014
Runs large and Short

I was so excited to wear this dress but I was disappointed with the length of the dress. I'm only 5'7" and I would have liked for the dress to at least cover my shoes. The color is purple not a red burgundy. I really like the shape though, it showed of my small waist and curves.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180lbs
June 3, 2015
I felt really beautiful and comfortable.

I would have never chosen this dress. The stylist was extremely helpful. I have never been so comfortable both with the way my body looked, and with the way the dress felt. The dress was great I am not a picky person the style and fit trumped the fact that the lining was about two inches longer than the lace and the dress looked a bit wash worn in the hem and leather collar. If you have had four kids, never work out, but still want to look and feel great, this dress is a must. I loved it!

Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
May 4, 2014
I felt like a movie star! :)

This material is super stretchy which makes it amazingly comfortable. This is awesome if you have bigger hips and a small waist like me. I could have even worn a 2, as it was a little loose around my waist, but overall the fit was comfortable and flattering.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Weight: 125lbs
June 1, 2014
Awesome dress, customer service is great!!

I wore this dress to my senior prom and it was just perfect. I was anxious and nervous considering that I was to get it the night before prom but it all worked out. Everywhere I went people stared and I got stopped by strangers asking where I had gotten if from and saying I looked so elegant. The only cons I can say is that the layer underneath the lace would stick out at the bottom a few times and even though I'm a 4 and I wore a 2L it was still a little bit big in certain areas especially around my back and waist. But other than that it was great. The length was also perfect I am 5'3" and wore 3 in heels so I emailed RTR a week before getting the dress and they were able to get me the 2L instead of a 2R. Customer service is amazing. Truly an unforgettable dress.

View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×