Vie la V

Milky Way Dress

$30 rental
$795 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This mini dress by V La Vie will make a major statement at your next cocktail event. Swirling sequins create a look that is out of this world! Simply pair with Badgley Mischka Jewelry’s Ocean Moon Earrings and Serpui Marie’s Fireuze Crystal Minaudière.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Not Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Not Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Navy Sequins on Silk (100% Silk Georgette) Three- quarter sleeves. Boat neckline. Pencil skirt with blouson top. Slip on. Lined. 32” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

105 reviews

Fit
Small 2
True to Size 85
Large 16
Photos 67
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126 lbs
Dec 2, 2013

Cute!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Comfortable hem length, not too short and not too long
Ann
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 17, 2013

Loved this comfortable and fun dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Overall fit was relatively true to size...I'm normally a 4 and also ordered a 2 as a backup. The 2 definitely fit me better, but was so extremely short that I could not even bend at the waist at all. I ended up going with the 4 and it still looked amazing! The dress was extremely comfortable and the lining underneath kept the sequins from being too itchy and also filled in the sides of the dress where the sleeves are so loose (so you can't see into the dress from the side even though the sleeves are big, since the lining seals up that space).
Callie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136 lbs
Jan 16, 2014

A red carpet worthy dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Not super short- shows just enough leg. I'm 5'7 and it was perfect so if you're on the short side- know that the dress will be a bit more conservative. I wore my normal size 4 but probably could have worn a 2 in this because the waist is elastic. There is plenty give in this dress so order your size and one down! This dress photographs really well and I got compliments all night. I spent all night in the dress and still couldn't decipher if the sequins were gold or silver but I went with silver accessories and it worked for me!
Erika
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 9, 2014

wore this for NYE and it was GREAT! Compliments ALL night!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
perfect fit, perfect length. paired with black leggings. LOVED the dress!
Heather
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104 lbs
Feb 10, 2014

Sparkly Sequins!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The dress was simply fabulous! The party was at the Georgia Aquarium's Ocean Ballroom, and the sequins reflected all the lights, the colors, the water, etc, in dazzling fashion. It is a short dress - I am only 5'0", so it wasn't too short on me, but if you're much taller, be aware that it IS a mini-dress! A very comfortable dress to wear for the evening, but the sequins do catch on pretty much everything. I'm glad I didn't wear a necklace, and I ended up carrying my clutch, rather than using the chained shoulder strap, which kept getting tangled in the sequins. The details indicate that you ought to get the "one-size-up" option, which was not an option for me (no size 8 available). That said, although the size 6 did fit, a size 4 would probably have fit even a bit better.
Jenna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Feb 10, 2014

Western fun!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Rented this for a kick off party that was "trendy western" themed. Sparkles are always safe, but I wanted something a tad more fun than plain old western. This dress was super cute and the sequins were not annoying at all. I paired it with brown ankle boots for the theme, probably wouldn't have normally, but they didn't look so bad. Didn't remember it being as short as it looks in my photos and the off the shoulder wasn't as off as it might be on someone else. The dress fit true to size and I would recommend it for Vegas or GNO!
Alexandra
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 22, 2014

Convenience!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit perfectly. It was very comfortable, which is the most important thing. I got a ton of compliments. Would not change a thing about this dress.
Lauren
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 24, 2014

Super easy process. I loved this dress! Wish I could keep it!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit perfectly. Loved the color!
Cari
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 24, 2014

This dress has a beautiful sparkle, pretty colors, and will make you feel special-yet comfortable!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a bachelorette party in AC. The sequins were beautiful and I love the way the different colors flowed in the outfit- gold, silver, blue. However, the dress was a little short. I didn't mind that, but I would have preferred it a little longer. I loved the flowy sleeves and cinch at the waist. I wore a normal bra with it and didn't mind when the black straps showed;it kinda looked cute. I think I would have preferred the dress a tiny bit bigger, although the 6 fit. I wasn't absolutely crazy about this dress, but it was pretty and comfortable.
Erica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 10, 2014

Awesome dress for girl's night out!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for a friend - 5'3, 135lbs, wears size 4. This dress ran a little large. She could have easily worn the 2 and it would have fit perfectly. Overall a fun dress that is easy to dance in.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Mar 23, 2014

Shine bright like a diamond

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Love this dress. It was super fun. I don't have a better picture of me in it, but I felt comfortable all night and everyone loved it.
Julia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 26, 2014

Gorgeous dress that stands out in a crowd

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a party before a political convention and got so many compliments on it, including from a candidate's wife who told me "that dress is killing it!" It is quite short (and I'm not tall) so I paired it with navy tights and high heeled booties. Didn't need any accessories, the dress does it all! I wore a regular bra without issues and liked that the dress was so comfortable and forgiving around the midsection. Great party dress, I wished I could have kept it.
Christen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Mar 27, 2014

Super fun dress & very comfortable to wear!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
Loved this dress ! Elegant & classy yet still sexy.
Janna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 30, 2014

Renting is way better then re-wearing a dress or buying another one.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit great it was just really short. I am 5'9" and the model shown is 5'10" so I figured I was fine, but I had to wear tights b/c it was so short. My booty literally was showing. Also a little hard to get over the head, it could use a zipper. But I got lots of compliments and loved the look. The dress is very comfortable.
Heather
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Mar 31, 2014

Sparkly!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Very pretty dress! I wore it to an evening "sparkly attire" bridal shower. It was a hit! It's not the most figure-flattering, but very comfortable if you don't want to worry about sucking it in or arm flab. I liked the way the 6 fit better, except it was super short! Like if I moved, I would flash the world.
Heather
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 5, 2014

I wore this to a bachelorette party and it was perfect. I got SO many compliments on the dress.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The fit was a bit slouchier than I would have liked, because I am so short I probably should have worn a size six. Otherwise, though, it was perfect. I wouldn't normally wear something so sparkly, but because it was an NYC bachelorette party, it worked. I loved that for RTR you can try out wearing styles you wouldn't normally keep in your closet. I was in the bathroom at an improv show, and there was a line of girls waiting, and I had just come out and washed my hands and was looking for the trash can. I inquired as to where the trash can was and a girl replied and moved to the side --"Sorry. It's behind me. I was so distracted by the beauty of your dress." Best compliment of the night. Some of the sequins are disappearing from the dress, and you can tell it's been worn a few times, but it is still in very good shape. I definitely recommend.
Rebecca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Apr 13, 2014

Comfortable and flattering! Loved everything about it!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Rented this dress for my brother-in-law's restaurant opening and couldn't be happier with my choice!! Not only did it stand out, it was the most comfortable dress I've ever worn! I paired it with gold strappy heels and gold bracelets and received millions of compliments. Just make sure to order a size down! It runs a tad big
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 13, 2014

Loved it!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
So comfortable and I got many compliments from complete strangers. It was a little on the short side, but perfect for a night out!
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138 lbs
Aug 5, 2014

I got many complements on this dress.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was much baggier and shorter than I was expecting and has little shape. But the glitter is beautiful.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Aug 6, 2014

Such an easy piece to wear and a different take on sequins!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
Comfortable though a little heavy (as expected). Was pretty short so made getting in and out of cabs and a dinner booth a bit challenging. I really liked the skirt portion but the top felt a little too boxy/roomy for my frame.
Sara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Aug 19, 2014

Great party dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Super comfortable, pretty, and flattering, just know that it's very short!
JL
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 25, 2014

Very short!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Beautiful dress, just way too short for my liking.
Liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 17
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 21, 2014

Perfect dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit very true to size! Was worried that it wouldn't photograph well, but ended up looking gorgeous. Got so many compliments! Please note that it was a little short, so don't plan on bending down at any time while wearing this dress!
Mave
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
Oct 3, 2014

Bachelorette party LOVE!!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Omg, I'd rent this dress again for 100 parties!! Super sexy but comfy. Short but perfect for a ladies night out, the sequins were so fun! At first I was worried about looking like a disco ball, but everyone was jealous of my dress, the photos were great, and it was perfect for Vegas!!
Crystal
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 3, 2014

Liked it but wore something else.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was loose, flowy, yet flattering. I didn't wear it because it was very, very short and I wanted to wear leggings underneath but didn't have any that would match. Looked cute with nude heels. Would rent again though for another party.
Jamie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 20, 2014

Very comfortable while feeling glamourous :)

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress. I was able to move and not feel self conscious. I knew it would be a little short, but it didn't cause any trouble! I liked how you could go with either silver or gold since it had both colors. It is more sparkly in person, as well. I didn't really see how the retail price was the amount listed, but I sure didn't mind renting it at the price it was! I would definitely rent this dress again.
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 116 lbs
Oct 21, 2014

Classy and fun!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to an October wedding. I ordered the 0 and the 2 but went with the size 2. I liked how the 2 was a bit more loose ... It gave it a more classy look. It was very comfortable and fun to wear. I received lots of compliments! Be prepared for when you take this dress out of the box ... Many of the sequins were stuck together. They were easy to get undone though.
Abby
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Oct 24, 2014

Gorgeous!!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit is so flattering and versatile!! So many compliments!
SAM
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Oct 28, 2014

Wore it to a birthday party and it fit well!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It fits true to size, I usually wear a 2 or 4 and wore the 4 just because it ran a little short.
RTR Customer
Oct 29, 2014

Perfect dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit great, looked beautiful
hollywoodmom
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165 lbs
Nov 2, 2014

Super comfortable and looked great in photos!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this for a celestial themed party and it was really perfect and stunning. The only problem was the length. I'm 5'10" and 165 lbs, and I usually wear long dresses. But my husband thought the dress looked great and gave me a giant thumbs up. I was excited, and half an hour into our event, he said that he had changed his mind and it was too short! He was mostly kidding, but the fact of the matter is this: I needed something to cover my lap when I sat down. Over all: the length was SUPER INSANELY short, but still fun to wear.
Lynn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 6, 2014

Showstopper!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Photographs incredibly well! Lots of compliments. Super comfortable - the sequins won't scratch your skin at all!! The chest area may be a tad tight, so if you're large busted, it may be worth going up a size.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Nov 11, 2014

LOVE this dress.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I was a little unsure about this dress when I rented it. I rented it for a girls trip to vegas, but ended up not wearing it. I only didn't wear it because we partied too hard the first night, ended up at a casual, local bar the second night, and had to return it before I could wear it the third night. This dress is so cute and comfy. I know that I would have felt totally comfortable in it, even after drinking and eating ridiculous amounts for 3 days in Vegas. Mine had a bit of wear on the sequins, but I didn't care since I was wearing it in Vegas. The length is great. Not too short, but definitely flirty. As others said, the top does run a little big. Overall, I would definitely rent this one again to actually be able to wear it!
amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
Nov 19, 2014

Great dress.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
True to size. The top is looser and the bottom is tighter. Super fun dress.
Jessica
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Dec 3, 2014

Super Sparkle!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I rented the size down on this dress as my back up for my engagement party, as suggested by other reviewers. Even being 5 foot, this dress was short! As in, bend over and you might regret the picture outcome, short, even on me. I did however end up wearing this dress with tights as the original dress did not fit. The fit is far from snug, and I probably could have gotten away with a 2. I was comfortable in it all night, but do wish it was a little more flattering. This dress would probably look better on someone taller, however the skirt vs. torso of the dress looks much different in person than in the picture. Still a winner however, as I enjoyed wearing it for the party and got many compliments.
Liz
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 18, 2014

Great dress! so much fun to wear!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
the lining is longer on the bottom and the sequins stick together, but overall great. The dress also seemed to have been worn a lot so a replacement might be needed! Overall was wonderful!
Catherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 29, 2014

Lots of Sparkle

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I wore this to a fashion show, it was super fun and comfortable! Got lots of compliments!
Jacqueline
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 22, 2015

Adorable, eye-catching dress.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was super comfortable and cute. I wore it to a holiday party for work and it was perfect. It is quite short, but I wore it with opaque black tights and black wedges so I wasn't concerned about showing too much.
Jaime
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
Mar 3, 2015

Cute/fun dress, though short!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore this for a friend's 30th bday in New Orleans. Was very sparkly, comfortable and size was right. However, it ran very short! I wore opaque black tights. I was going to have the size 10 as my backup but it wasn't available. I wonder if it had been longer, but I think the top would've been too big - and I would've worn the 8 anyways.
Jenny
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Apr 9, 2015

Very comfy and easy to wear!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Party
True to size
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×