Milky Way Dress

$30 rental
$795 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This mini dress by V La Vie will make a major statement at your next cocktail event. Swirling sequins create a look that is out of this world! Simply pair with Badgley Mischka Jewelry’s Ocean Moon Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Not Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Not Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Navy Sequins on Silk (100% Silk Georgette) Three- quarter sleeves. Boat neckline. Pencil skirt with blouson top. Slip on. Lined. 32” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
115 reviews
Fit
Large16
True to Size89
Small3
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 20, 2014
Looks great in pictures!
Looks better in pictures than it did in person, but was still a lot of fun to wear, and I got compliments on it all night! A little short -- I wore a pair of spandex shorts under just in case, but I don't think I unwittingly flashed anyone.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
September 17, 2014
Fun
I wasn't crazy about the dress, it was just ok for my taste. The sequence kept falling off and it was a bit annoying. The fit is true to size, but it is very short! As long as you are not planning on banding you'll be fine.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
September 11, 2014
I wore this dress for a sparkle themed Bachelorette party.
It really is a pretty dress that is comfortable enough to dance in all night. Like some other reviewers, I went down a size because the 8 it fit better overall than my normal size 10. It's flattering from the front, though I can't say it did much for me from the side. Overall, I like the dress a lot and was glad I rented it instead of buying something else. The 8 was definitely shorter than the 10. The length was good for a night on the town, though I wouldn't recommend it for a business event or something where you'd want to be more a little more conservative.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130lbs
September 7, 2014
So many sequins!
This dress wasn't super flattering on me, but the pattern was so eye catching it didn't matter. I wished I had ordered a size smaller, but it worked out fine. It is a short dress. The event I was at was all standing/dancing so it was perfect. Had I needed to sit - I would have been in trouble. It looked a little worn close up, a lot of strings and sequins hanging off. I felt great and got lots of compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
September 2, 2014
Everyone loved the dress!
Super comfy (I was worried about it being itchy with all the sequins).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
September 1, 2014
Loves this dress! I liked that "mini" wasn't actually too mini. Perfect for a modest girl in Vegas!
I loved this dress! Fit was great but I would be curious as to how a size 4 would have fit. The 6 fit but was maybe a little too roomy in my mid section. Some sequins definitely came off but that's to be expected when many people wear and ship an item. As a short girl, I liked that even though it is a "mini dress" it wasn't too short for my tastes but still above my knee. Great dress for Vegas if you don't want to wear something too tight, revealing or skimpy. Loved this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
August 26, 2014
This dress was so perfect for my bachelorette party! Made me feel special and pretty!
This dress was so comfortable and fits a tad big. I am usually a size 12 and got the 10 and it fit great! The sparkle and sequins were so pretty in pictures and I got tons of compliments on it. The perfect bachelorette party dress! I would recommend to anyone! I felt super pretty and special!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
August 26, 2014
I wore it for my bachelorette party and love it. It was perfect for that kind of event.
It fit like a glove.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
August 25, 2014
Very short!
Beautiful dress, just way too short for my liking.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
August 19, 2014
Great party dress!
Super comfortable, pretty, and flattering, just know that it's very short!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
August 11, 2014
Loved this dress!
I wore this dress to a high school reunion. I'm 5'4'' and wearing the size 10 here but normally I wear a size 12. I also ordered the 12 but ended up wearing the 10. I honestly didn't see much difference between them after trying both on. This dress was incredibly comfortable and I loved wearing it. Wish I could keep it! It is pretty short though. I have a short torso and the dress came down to my fingertips. I wore spanx underneath but honestly I don't think I needed them with this dress. I'm wearing gold accessories but you could wear gold or silver with it. The dresses came in the mail on Friday like they were supposed to and I just put them both back in the envelope that came with them and dropped it in a UPS box. It was very simple. I was incredibly pleased with my experience and will definitely use it again!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
August 10, 2014
Loved this dress!
A little short in the back & sequins fall off frequently.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
August 6, 2014
Such an easy piece to wear and a different take on sequins!
Comfortable though a little heavy (as expected). Was pretty short so made getting in and out of cabs and a dinner booth a bit challenging. I really liked the skirt portion but the top felt a little too boxy/roomy for my frame.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
August 5, 2014
I got many complements on this dress.
The dress was much baggier and shorter than I was expecting and has little shape. But the glitter is beautiful.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
August 1, 2014
Prefect amount of sparkle!
I wore this dress the Beyonce and Jay Z concert and it was absolutely perfect!! Loved the fit and the amount of sparkle. Definitely a favorite!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
July 31, 2014
Didn't realize that this had sequins on it!
Runs slightly small.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
July 24, 2014
So comfortable!
I ordered this for a wedding, both sizes came in, awesome! the size 6 fit great, only thing is that it was a weeee bit short, the 8 was longer but it fit me more like a bag! I did leave a sequin trail anywhere I went but thats typical! I usually wear lose dresses and this was just what I wanted but yet dressy enough!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
July 24, 2014
The dress made my night! I felt so comfortable in it and everyone else loved it too! Thank you RTR
Dress fit great! I ordered both sizes, a 12 and a 10, received an email stating the size 12 was not available due to previous renter damaging it. No worries, the size 10 was perfect! If you normally would wear a 12 get the 10! The dress is loose and light weight, perfect party dress, the only con was the sequins got stuck on a lot of things and would fall off a bit other than that the dress was a 10 literally! ;)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98lbs
July 23, 2014
It had so much sparkle!
Everything about this dress was amazing
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
July 22, 2014
Sparkly and fun
This dress is great for a party, new year's eve or a night out. I wore it in Vegas and got lots of compliments! I also rented the earrings and clutch worn by the model, and they looked excellent together. The top half is blousy so I went with the size 2 because it felt more flattering, the skirt was then a little on the short side, but nothing I felt too uncomfortable with. Loved this dress and would definitely rent it again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Body type: Apple
July 20, 2014
Comfortable and sparkly
I wore this for a philanthropic event. It basically fit true to size. It's a baggy/roomy cut so it feels a bit large but otherwise my size. I'm 5'9 and it was a great length. Sexy but not too short with heels. It's "brighter" or more sparkly than the pics show in my opinion. When I cam downstairs dressed my 5 year old said, "Mommy! You look shiny!" I'm a 38 mom with 3 kids. I'm not overweight but I'm not toned and don't have sculpted arms. This hid my midsection and my arms but was beautiful fun dress. I was able to eat and drink without feeling self conscious. At one point in the night a hip and fit young woman came up to me and complimented the dress! If you tend to alternate between 2 sizes, I would order one size down and your true size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
July 14, 2014
Unflattering
This dress was my free birthday dress that I had planned on wearing to my friend's bachelorette weekend in Austin, TX. I did not bring the dress with me because it was completely unflattering on my figure -- the cut of the top portion made me look big. Also, the fabric is extremely heavy so it wouldn't be good to wear in a warm place. I think if you're tall and thin this would be a cute dress, or possibly short and thin, but definitely not if you have an athletic body or any curves at all.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 121lbs
July 10, 2014
It was the best outfit for a 30th birthday dinner with my boyfriend!
It is super comfortable- a nice airy dress good for a summer evening or anytime in the winter!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
July 10, 2014
This glitter dress made me looked slim and it was perfect for my bachelorette party in Vegas!
I actually went to the Rent The Runway store in Vegas to get this dress. I packed two backup dress for my bachelorette party and I knew I wanted to check out the store once I got there. The store actually didn't have a love of "sizes". it was pretty much whatever you see on the rack. So I tried on a bunch of dresses but most of them wasn't a good fit. I ended up wearing this dress because of the "glam" factor. It was very light and pretty for Vegas clubs. Super comfortable. My friends even said "you should buy this dress!"
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 10, 2014
So much sparkle !
My friend wore this for one of my nights out in Vegas for my bachelorette party. There's tons of sparkle and it ran true to size.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
July 9, 2014
perfect dress
this dress was perfect...very comfortable. I ordered the 4 and 6 and wore the 4. Its short but was perfect for a night out.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
July 8, 2014
Such a fun dress
I wore this in Vegas for my friends bachelorette party and loved how it fit. It was comfortable and I was able to dance all night long in it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
July 2, 2014
Comfortable & great for Vegas!
The dress looks way better on than I thought with just seeing it on the hanger. It is a one-piece dress. I was short but remained classy, comfortable and just enough sparkle for Vegas (or a wedding/party). For those of you with a bumble rump or have longer legs than torso like myself, it tends to make the dress a bit shorter so you might want to get the next size up just in case to compare. Although, I felt with sizing up the top part of the dress got to big for my pear body so I chose short of over big. My advice is to not wear any bracelets with rough edges because things will get caught in the design and stitching of the dress. Other than that, I loved it. Photographs well.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142lbs
June 30, 2014
Liked it but didnt end up wearing it
runs true to size
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 148lbs
June 26, 2014
Comfortable yet flashy
I wore this to a bachelorette party that stated we needed to absolutely wear sequins, so RTR was perfect! I probably could have gone down another size, but I didn't want it to be too too short. Perfect dress for dancing. Received lots of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
June 14, 2014
Delivered to my hotel in NYC!
I didn't end up wearing this dress, but it fit true to size and is really lovely in person! I would rent again if I have an occasion!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 14, 2014
bachelorette party perfection
I wore this for a friend's bachelorette party. At first I thought it might be too much, but it was just right. Incredibly comfortable and it made me feel amazing. I was having so much fun, I forgot to take photos!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 10, 2014
Sparkly and Fun
I wore this to a ballet for GNO, and then we hit the town. This dress ran short...so definitely don't bend over. I tried on the 6, but it seemed too baggy so as long as you don't drop anything...you'll be fine! It was loose up top and then fitted from the waist down. I had a blast in this dress, and received tons of compliments. The sparkle added the perfect touch to really make it pop. Not sure that I would rent it again, but it was fun
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 144lbs
June 10, 2014
Great dress, would definitely rent again.
This was my backup dress and I'm so glad to have had it. The top is not fitted but the bottom is short and if you have a nice bum, this is a great choice. Note to tall girls - I'm 5'2 and this was as short as I would go. The gems seemed top be falling off a bit as I found some on my fl;oor but all in all, fantastic dress and I can't wai to wear it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
June 9, 2014
Not for shorties!
The material is gorgeous and with gold shoes this would look fabulous - on a very tall person. Since I'm only 5'3", with the relatively loose elastic of the waist, it wasn't too flattering...it just looked like a dumpy sack. At the very least, I would get one size down. This would be a super comfortable dress that would look at home at any night club, for you ladies who are sick of binding uncomfortable dresses!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
June 8, 2014
The dress photographs beautifully!
I think the best part of the dress was how it photographs. It looks amazing in pictures...I definitely do not think this dress quality wise is worth $800 but for the $30 I paid to rent it, it was well worth it. The sequins kept getting attached together so I had to use scissors a few times to cut the strings but aside from that this was a great dress. I rented a size 4 and 6 and although I usually wear a 4, I chose to go with the 6 because it was not as short and just felt more comfortable. I'd recommend when renting to definitely size up. I also ordered this dress to have it delivered on a thursday, and I actually got it 2 days early which was nice! It could be because I live close to RTR's warehouse, but it was still great getting it early and not having to pay any extra.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
May 21, 2014
I received quite a few compliments on how great this dress looked! Awesome rental!
This dress was so much fun to wear. It's not my typical style or something I would buy for myself, but I had a blast wearing it and received wonderful compliments and felt great wearing it. The skirt is short, but not too short! It was a great dress to dance in and it definitely stood out in the crowd with all the sparkles! The blue, gold and silver colors were perfect for the event I attended and gave me plenty of options for shoes! I felt good in this dress and it went great with a pair of silver wedge sandals that I had. The dress was missing quite a few sequins, but I expected that since I wasn't the first one to wear it! As the night went on I too was losing sequins (I'm still finding them in my house and car), but it certainly did not take away any of the sparkle! It was just fun to wear and I would recommend it to anyone looking to have a good time!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 20, 2014
Fun and full of Sparkle
I thought the 4 might be too tight, but it was very roomy and actually pretty long on my 5'5 frame. There are some fraying pieces where the sequins are falling off, but no one will notice but you. This was a great dress and very forgiving as it's a loose fit. I definitely had a great time wearing it and got lots of compliments.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 18, 2014
An amazing and comfortable dress!
Fits true to size. I'm about 5'2'', and it was an appropriate dress for the bachelorette party I attended. If you wear it with tights it would definitely be appropriate for a wedding or other event. It is extremely comfortable! I received many compliments on it while I was out.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
May 13, 2014
Totally appropriate as a wedding guest!
I was surprised that i fit into the 0, as I usually wear a 2/4. The 0 fit perfectly, I felt sexy and feminine. The dress looked awesome in the mood lighting on the dance floor. My only complaint, is that the dress I wore was a bit "worn," (if that makes sense). There were a couple of tiny holes and some loose strings, all could be easily hid, but it made me worry that someone may notice (no one did). And for about a week after I sent the dress back, I found sequins around my house... no biggie. This dress was a perfect choice for the wedding and I got a ton of compliments.
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×