Vie la V

Milky Way Dress

$30 rental
$795 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

This mini dress by V La Vie will make a major statement at your next cocktail event. Swirling sequins create a look that is out of this world! Simply pair with Badgley Mischka Jewelry’s Ocean Moon Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Not Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - comfortable room for hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Navy Sequins on Silk (100% Silk Georgette) Three- quarter sleeves. Boat neckline. Pencil skirt with blouson top. Slip on. Lined. 32” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
117 reviews
Fit
Large
(16)
True to Size
(90)
Small
(3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36D
June 14, 2014
Delivered to my hotel in NYC!

I didn't end up wearing this dress, but it fit true to size and is really lovely in person! I would rent again if I have an occasion!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
June 30, 2014
Liked it but didnt end up wearing it

runs true to size

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 10, 2014
So much sparkle !

My friend wore this for one of my nights out in Vegas for my bachelorette party. There's tons of sparkle and it ran true to size.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
July 10, 2014
This glitter dress made me looked slim and it was perfect for my bachelorette party in Vegas!

I actually went to the Rent The Runway store in Vegas to get this dress. I packed two backup dress for my bachelorette party and I knew I wanted to check out the store once I got there. The store actually didn't have a love of "sizes". it was pretty much whatever you see on the rack. So I tried on a bunch of dresses but most of them wasn't a good fit. I ended up wearing this dress because of the "glam" factor. It was very light and pretty for Vegas clubs. Super comfortable. My friends even said "you should buy this dress!"

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 121lbs
July 10, 2014
It was the best outfit for a 30th birthday dinner with my boyfriend!

It is super comfortable- a nice airy dress good for a summer evening or anytime in the winter!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 42
Body type: Apple
July 20, 2014
Comfortable and sparkly

I wore this for a philanthropic event. It basically fit true to size. It's a baggy/roomy cut so it feels a bit large but otherwise my size. I'm 5'9 and it was a great length. Sexy but not too short with heels. It's "brighter" or more sparkly than the pics show in my opinion. When I cam downstairs dressed my 5 year old said, "Mommy! You look shiny!" I'm a 38 mom with 3 kids. I'm not overweight but I'm not toned and don't have sculpted arms. This hid my midsection and my arms but was beautiful fun dress. I was able to eat and drink without feeling self conscious. At one point in the night a hip and fit young woman came up to me and complimented the dress! If you tend to alternate between 2 sizes, I would order one size down and your true size.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
July 24, 2014
The dress made my night! I felt so comfortable in it and everyone else loved it too! Thank you RTR

Dress fit great! I ordered both sizes, a 12 and a 10, received an email stating the size 12 was not available due to previous renter damaging it. No worries, the size 10 was perfect! If you normally would wear a 12 get the 10! The dress is loose and light weight, perfect party dress, the only con was the sequins got stuck on a lot of things and would fall off a bit other than that the dress was a 10 literally! ;)

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34DDD/E
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
August 1, 2014
Prefect amount of sparkle!

I wore this dress the Beyonce and Jay Z concert and it was absolutely perfect!! Loved the fit and the amount of sparkle. Definitely a favorite!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
April 13, 2014
Loved it!

So comfortable and I got many compliments from complete strangers. It was a little on the short side, but perfect for a night out!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
July 9, 2014
perfect dress

this dress was perfect...very comfortable. I ordered the 4 and 6 and wore the 4. Its short but was perfect for a night out.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
August 5, 2014
I got many complements on this dress.

The dress was much baggier and shorter than I was expecting and has little shape. But the glitter is beautiful.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
August 6, 2014
Such an easy piece to wear and a different take on sequins!

Comfortable though a little heavy (as expected). Was pretty short so made getting in and out of cabs and a dinner booth a bit challenging. I really liked the skirt portion but the top felt a little too boxy/roomy for my frame.

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
August 11, 2014
Loved this dress!

I wore this dress to a high school reunion. I'm 5'4'' and wearing the size 10 here but normally I wear a size 12. I also ordered the 12 but ended up wearing the 10. I honestly didn't see much difference between them after trying both on. This dress was incredibly comfortable and I loved wearing it. Wish I could keep it! It is pretty short though. I have a short torso and the dress came down to my fingertips. I wore spanx underneath but honestly I don't think I needed them with this dress. I'm wearing gold accessories but you could wear gold or silver with it. The dresses came in the mail on Friday like they were supposed to and I just put them both back in the envelope that came with them and dropped it in a UPS box. It was very simple. I was incredibly pleased with my experience and will definitely use it again!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
August 19, 2014
Great party dress!

Super comfortable, pretty, and flattering, just know that it's very short!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
August 25, 2014
Very short!

Beautiful dress, just way too short for my liking.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
September 1, 2014
Loves this dress! I liked that "mini" wasn't actually too mini. Perfect for a modest girl in Vegas!

I loved this dress! Fit was great but I would be curious as to how a size 4 would have fit. The 6 fit but was maybe a little too roomy in my mid section. Some sequins definitely came off but that's to be expected when many people wear and ship an item. As a short girl, I liked that even though it is a "mini dress" it wasn't too short for my tastes but still above my knee. Great dress for Vegas if you don't want to wear something too tight, revealing or skimpy. Loved this dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130lbs
September 7, 2014
So many sequins!

This dress wasn't super flattering on me, but the pattern was so eye catching it didn't matter. I wished I had ordered a size smaller, but it worked out fine. It is a short dress. The event I was at was all standing/dancing so it was perfect. Had I needed to sit - I would have been in trouble. It looked a little worn close up, a lot of strings and sequins hanging off. I felt great and got lots of compliments!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
September 17, 2014
Fun

I wasn't crazy about the dress, it was just ok for my taste. The sequence kept falling off and it was a bit annoying. The fit is true to size, but it is very short! As long as you are not planning on banding you'll be fine.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 20, 2014
Looks great in pictures!

Looks better in pictures than it did in person, but was still a lot of fun to wear, and I got compliments on it all night! A little short -- I wore a pair of spandex shorts under just in case, but I don't think I unwittingly flashed anyone.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 21, 2014
Perfect dress!

Fit very true to size! Was worried that it wouldn't photograph well, but ended up looking gorgeous. Got so many compliments! Please note that it was a little short, so don't plan on bending down at any time while wearing this dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
September 2, 2014
Everyone loved the dress!

Super comfy (I was worried about it being itchy with all the sequins).

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
June 26, 2014
Comfortable yet flashy

I wore this to a bachelorette party that stated we needed to absolutely wear sequins, so RTR was perfect! I probably could have gone down another size, but I didn't want it to be too too short. Perfect dress for dancing. Received lots of compliments!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
September 29, 2014
Perfect for a night out

I wore this dress for a bachelorette party. It was comfortable throughout the whole night and perfect for the occasion.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 3, 2014
Liked it but wore something else.

This dress was loose, flowy, yet flattering. I didn't wear it because it was very, very short and I wanted to wear leggings underneath but didn't have any that would match. Looked cute with nude heels. Would rent again though for another party.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
July 22, 2014
Sparkly and fun

This dress is great for a party, new year's eve or a night out. I wore it in Vegas and got lots of compliments! I also rented the earrings and clutch worn by the model, and they looked excellent together. The top half is blousy so I went with the size 2 because it felt more flattering, the skirt was then a little on the short side, but nothing I felt too uncomfortable with. Loved this dress and would definitely rent it again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 20, 2014
Very comfortable while feeling glamourous :)

I loved this dress. I was able to move and not feel self conscious. I knew it would be a little short, but it didn't cause any trouble! I liked how you could go with either silver or gold since it had both colors. It is more sparkly in person, as well. I didn't really see how the retail price was the amount listed, but I sure didn't mind renting it at the price it was! I would definitely rent this dress again.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 116lbs
October 21, 2014
Classy and fun!

I wore this to an October wedding. I ordered the 0 and the 2 but went with the size 2. I liked how the 2 was a bit more loose ... It gave it a more classy look. It was very comfortable and fun to wear. I received lots of compliments! Be prepared for when you take this dress out of the box ... Many of the sequins were stuck together. They were easy to get undone though.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
October 27, 2014
Fit the theme of my Sororities Formal perfectly!! So Many Compliments

This was the absolutely perfect dress for my sororities Fall Formal "Starry Night" Received many compliments, A little on the short side especially when sitting but it still worked well enough.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
October 19, 2014
Wish I could buy it!

Love, love, love this dress! I wore it to a rehearsal dinner and got a TON of compliments on it. It was fun, pretty comfortable, and cute/sexy at the same time. Felt like a rock star!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
November 2, 2014
Super comfortable and looked great in photos!

I rented this for a celestial themed party and it was really perfect and stunning. The only problem was the length. I'm 5'10" and 165 lbs, and I usually wear long dresses. But my husband thought the dress looked great and gave me a giant thumbs up. I was excited, and half an hour into our event, he said that he had changed his mind and it was too short! He was mostly kidding, but the fact of the matter is this: I needed something to cover my lap when I sat down. Over all: the length was SUPER INSANELY short, but still fun to wear.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
August 26, 2014
I wore it for my bachelorette party and love it. It was perfect for that kind of event.

It fit like a glove.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
November 6, 2014
Showstopper!

Photographs incredibly well! Lots of compliments. Super comfortable - the sequins won't scratch your skin at all!! The chest area may be a tad tight, so if you're large busted, it may be worth going up a size.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
November 11, 2014
LOVE this dress.

I was a little unsure about this dress when I rented it. I rented it for a girls trip to vegas, but ended up not wearing it. I only didn't wear it because we partied too hard the first night, ended up at a casual, local bar the second night, and had to return it before I could wear it the third night. This dress is so cute and comfy. I know that I would have felt totally comfortable in it, even after drinking and eating ridiculous amounts for 3 days in Vegas. Mine had a bit of wear on the sequins, but I didn't care since I was wearing it in Vegas. The length is great. Not too short, but definitely flirty. As others said, the top does run a little big. Overall, I would definitely rent this one again to actually be able to wear it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
November 19, 2014
Great dress.

True to size. The top is looser and the bottom is tighter. Super fun dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 23, 2014
Sparkly and comfy - two of my favorite things!

This dress was awesome! I got so many compliments on it, from both guys and girls. It fit like a t-shirt, both in comfort and length. Tall girls be warned - it is short. I'm 5'2" and it wasn't scandalous or anything, but if I had been any taller, I might not have been comfortable wearing it. I normally wear a 2, but RTR contacted me prior to sending it and let me know that their size 2 was damaged and they'd send a couple other dresses in its place. The 0 ended up fitting perfectly, though.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
November 23, 2014
Perfect Vegas Party Dress

I rented this for a weekend in Vegas with my girlfriends. It was super cute and really easy to wear-- no additional accessories necessary. It was a little short on me, but perfect for Vegas nightclubs. The 6 was true to size.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
December 3, 2014
Super Sparkle!

I rented the size down on this dress as my back up for my engagement party, as suggested by other reviewers. Even being 5 foot, this dress was short! As in, bend over and you might regret the picture outcome, short, even on me. I did however end up wearing this dress with tights as the original dress did not fit. The fit is far from snug, and I probably could have gotten away with a 2. I was comfortable in it all night, but do wish it was a little more flattering. This dress would probably look better on someone taller, however the skirt vs. torso of the dress looks much different in person than in the picture. Still a winner however, as I enjoyed wearing it for the party and got many compliments.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
December 8, 2014
Comfortable and easy to wear. It was shorter than I expected

Loved the dress and I got tons of compliments, but I am 5'8" and pretty leggy. It was very short. I could have worn the 8, the 10 was a little large but the 8 was at least an inch short than the 10 and that made it a shirt on me.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 18, 2014
Great dress! so much fun to wear!

the lining is longer on the bottom and the sequins stick together, but overall great. The dress also seemed to have been worn a lot so a replacement might be needed! Overall was wonderful!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
December 29, 2014
Lots of Sparkle

I wore this to a fashion show, it was super fun and comfortable! Got lots of compliments!

See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×