Want And Wonder Gown

$89 to buy
$595 retail
Stylist Notes

Let the music take over the room and work this Vera Wang Lavender dark teal gown at the gala! Wear earrings like the Kenneth Jay Lane's Emerald Drop Earrings and Elizabeth Cole’s Crystal Navette Bloom Ring to get the ultimate glam goddess look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size –comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – women curvy around their midsection should consider sizing up
HIPS: Not Fitted – full skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'2'' to 5'7''). Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7'' to 5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size –comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted – women curvy around their midsection should consider sizing up
HIPS: Not Fitted – full skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'2'' to 5'7''). Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7'' to 5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Charcoal silk chiffon (100% silk). Sleeveless. V neckline. A-line skirt with front slit and beaded belt. Hidden side zipper. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
70 reviews
Fit
Large
(7)
True to Size
(60)
Small
(3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
April 5, 2013
A little much up top.
I love a great v neck but this one was a little much for my chest. I used the tape to feel a little more comfortable with the slit and deep v and received compliments on the dress all night. It was a great dress for dancing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
April 7, 2013
Bond Girl
I rented this gown for an auction event where I had to dress as a Bond Girl for the evening. It was perfect. The length was ideal; the color is exquisite. The front drops low, but I never felt scandalous. I used fashion tape to secure the gown to my bra so I could still wear a bra and the dress wouldn't flop open and reveal it. The tape held secure the entire evening. I wore a VS multiway bra using the clear straps and used them in a halter style. The best part of the dress is how it moves--you just feel sexy and elegant as it flows around you. The slit is high, but again, never felt scandalous. When I sat down, I just made sure to fold over the dress so I didn't flash anyone. There's plenty of material do to this. Perfect dress--absolutely loved it! Would have liked to try to 0L, but it wasn't available, so wore the 2L
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 8, 2013
The skirt is very flowy, the slit is high. Be cautious of a stray breeze.
The belt is not included.
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
April 24, 2013
Had to do a last minute exchange
AVOID! First, I'm a 32 B or C and this dress swarmed over my chest. It was so low that my cleavage was out. Tried to tape or pin it, but nothing would do. Also, the slit went so high right up to the middle of my crotch. You could literally see my crotch whenever I walked or sat down. I'm thoroughly disappointed with Vera on this one.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
April 24, 2013
Looked gorgeous at prom!
The slit goes ALL THE WAY UP. When I walked, the dress would open up and I had to be very careful. That said, it was still beautiful, don't let that dissuade you from ordering it. The bust was a little loose and low on me, so I had to secure it with fashion tape. It also didn't come with the belt pictured so I improvised.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
April 30, 2013
Beautiful dress!
I ordered a 2R because normally my bust is too big for smaller dresses, and the 4R as my back up size. Unfortunately, the 2R was too big for my chest, and I was pretty much falling out of the dress. So I would highly recommend tape or something similar. (But, the regular size was great for my height- I wore three inch heels with the dress, and it fit my height perfectly) Also, the slit is very high. I ended up having to tape the front together too in order to prevent any disasters. But- positive note: I was able to wear a racerback bra with the dress, which made it much more comfortable. Got compliments all night, and I loved the dress! First time RTR user, can't wait to rent again (although maybe next time discuss with the fit stylists)!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 1, 2013
The split comes up much higher than in the picture!
This was a dress i was dying to wear, but when I tried it on I couldn't wear it because the split came up way too high -- it wouldn't have been hard to see my underwear! The stylists at RTR were fantastic & Helped me pick another dress & got it to me same day in NYC. I love RTR!
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 17, 2013
Unbelievable dress- you will not be sorry!
Fantastic dress- flowy, sexy, formal with a gorgeous deep, dark teal. I felt amazing in this dress for a super fancy wedding. The pictures turned out so well, and I received compliments all night long. The zipper was a huge pain, but I always have that problem. The top is cut low and a bit loose, and the front split goes ALL the way up,so be prepared with some fashion tape and you are good to go. Rent it! It's a show-stopper!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 19, 2013
Was so relieved that both of the dresses I ordered FIT! The process was incredibly easy!
I chose this dress because I was so paranoid about getting a dress and it not fitting and I felt like the style of this dress would be forgiving. However, that was not the case. Both of the dresses I ordered fit great. I chose to wear this one and it was super comfortable. The best part was I could wear a normal bra! I did use a small safety pin on the front to insure there weren't any "wardrobe malfunctions", though. The slit on the leg can offer some tricky moments, just need to be aware when you are sitting down, getting up, etc. You can quite easily flash someone your Brittany if you aren't careful.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
May 21, 2013
soft and sexy
I would have loved to have worn this dress to the wedding I was attending, but it came in damaged (the overlay was shrunken) and the belt was missing. (I was overnighted an alternate dress - customer service was fantastic, but I did really like this dress more.) The material was so silky and the color was rich, but muted enough for a black tie wedding. I am a few months post pregnancy and the 0 was just too revealing in the chest to wear. The 2 I still would have had to pin, but it made the fabric in the back settle a little better. I would definitly take the advice of other reviewers and wear a black slip under the dress. It fits the style and looks like part of the dress while allowing you to walk down the stairs.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
June 2, 2013
Stunning dress! Perfect for a summer evening!
This dress is stunning! It runs true to size although the regular is a bit long if you are 5'5" or under. I ended up wearing 5" heels so that the dress would not drag on the floor. The dress has a high slit and a low front, but with some dress tape (conveniently sent by RTR) it works perfectly. The color is navy and it pairs well with any metallic accessory (shoes, jewelry, belt) and black. The dress did not arrive with the belt (no belt was included) so I added a beaded sash that worked perfectly. The silk is flowy and light, perfect for a warm summer evening. I received many compliments on the dress from the other guests. RTR has, once again, made the evening perfect!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
June 13, 2013
This dress was incredible! I wish I owned it!
It was a little too long
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
September 16, 2013
This is not for short-torso women!
It was a good dress, but I had to use fashion tape to keep from my bust falling out. I have very long legs and a short torso, so I don't think this is a dress that I would try again. The style was not like the picture at all and I think I got a severely worn one cause the belt was falling apart.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Body type: Pear
September 25, 2013
Not for girls with hips
Rented it for a black tie wedding in Chicago. Yes, the windy city. A bad dress choice for a place with such a ... ahem... draft! I stupidly wore it anyways but was constantly fussing to make sure my dress wasn't blowing open. The dress was truly stunning but I shouldn't have tried to make it work on my body. I got many compliments but I was truly uncomfortable for most of the night. Lesson learned.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
October 30, 2013
Flowing Beauty
I worn this dress to a formal wedding. It is a long flowing gown of deep teal. Simply elegant! The only size available was a 2L and I usually wear a 4R, since I am smaller in the bust and it has an empire waist it worked fine. My only compliant was the slit, it was way too high for me. I wear a short/thin black skirt underneath.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
July 15, 2014
Beautiful dress
The dress makes you feel totally glamorous which was super fun. What I didn't realize was how low the front dipped and how high the slit went up the front. Not ideal when you want to dance or if there is a breeze. Even sitting down at dinner was dicy. Pro's: glamorous Con's: front slit makes everything beyond standing a challenge
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 128lbs
August 28, 2014
Service!
Thought I could handle the low cut, I was wrong....the slit was awesome too great dress for standing and walking. I just didn't have enough flash tape or experience using it to be comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 3, 2014
Not great fit
Didn't wear this to wedding. Runs very big and slit is very high. Would not recommend.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 53
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
February 14, 2013
Perfect amount of sexy glamour!
I usually wear a 4 or 6 in formal and could have gone either way with this dress. It's very forgiving and incredibly sexy. I got tons of compliments at my black tie affair and felt very comfortable all night.
RachelJune 17, 2013
is that hank green by any chance??
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
May 14, 2013
Sexy, Sophisticated and COMFORTABLE!!
This dress was beautiful. I needed a formal dress that I could run around in all night, as it was for night of work at a Gala. I ordered both a 10 and 12 and ended up wearing the 12. I wore 4 inch heels and it was still too long, but not a big deal because with the slit in the front, it just looks like a slight train. The zipper sticks - beware - I could tell others had the same issue. I also had to pin the neckline because it is very low/open but probably could have done with double-stick tape if I were not at work and self-conscious about showing too much skin. Everyone complimented the flattering cut and I loved that I didn't have to struggle with pulling up a strapless dress all night. (My friend wore my second rental - the Green Halston Heritage to my right - and we both LOVED it. Unfortunately, the 12 was more of a 10 and not meant for a fuller bust, so she had the privilege of wearing that beauty.)
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
November 7, 2013
Wonderful customer service. Glad I rented the dress!
I accidentally forgot to include my apt # because the shipping address box is just one box and so I only put my address. However, the customer service allowed me a couple of extra days to make up for the shipping delay. (I ended up receiving the package on the day before I was supposed to return the dress). When the dress first came, I had to steam iron it as it was a little wrinkled. The dress fit my waist and the width of my body but ran extremely long on me. I am petite and 5'2". I wore extremely high platform heels and the dress still dragged on the floor. However I was able to manage and lifted it up whenever I needed during the event. The dress also flows so nicely so it doesn't get in the way when you walk. However, the slit will easily open so I pinned it shut as far down as I could (which wasn't very far without being noticeable) and was very aware whenever I sat. The chest did bare open as the other reviews already say. I pinned that shut as well. My dress did not come with a belt so I put a sparkly jeweled broach instead as I did not have time to go buy a belt before my event. Overall the dress was perfect and I felt as wonderful and elegant as I wanted.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 10, 2014
Once in a Lifetime Event, Once in a Lifetime Dress
I wore this to the 2012 Inaugural Staff Ball. This dress was in perfect condition, beautifully made...I took one star off because the lighting in the photo with the model makes the dress's color look a bit brighter and more dynamic than it really is in real life. The true color is kind of a drab, straight-up navy. While I love the deisgn overall, this dress would have had much more dramatic impact in a shade like aqua. Really needs strong accessories like silver shoes, sparkly pendant earrings, etc to perk up the overall look. Runs long so wear heels especially if you're under 5'5" and plan to put a little safety pin in the bust to keep the top part from dropping apart and giving everyone a "show". LOL. Sorry my photo is so blurry----They had no pro photographer there so you basically had to hand your iPhone to the previous person waiting in line and snap a quick one.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 58
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
October 22, 2012
Did not wear this dress - too big on top. Wound up buying a Sue Wong dress at Neiman Outlet.
Too long & but was too big. I am a 36 B & it was still really loose on top- the shoulders straps were also too long. Not happy. The belt was kind of cheap looking.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 21, 2012
Gorgeous, flowy dress
Very low cut in the bust, very high slit -- nothing a few skillfully-placed safety pins can't fix!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 136lbs
November 26, 2012
beautiful gown for a formal event
I wore this dress recently for a holiday formal event. The size 6 fit better, but because of how high the front slit is and being a pear shape, I ended up wearing the 8 because I felt like it gave more coverage in the legs. The 6 fit better on top but both the 6 and 8 are very low cut (more so than it seems on the model) and I needed to use fashion tape to keep my bra from showing. That all being said, this gown is lovely and I got so many compliments all night. It was comfortable and the length worked well with 3.5 inch heels.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 4, 2012
Beautiful but too low cut and high cut to be comfortable.
The material and dress are beautiful. Unfortunately the dress would have required a lot of fashion tape to keep the top in place, and I would have been worried about the high slight the entire evening. I ended up going with my backup dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
December 12, 2012
Sexy, classy, unique - all at the same time!
I ordered this dress for a wedding and it was a hit! I received tons of compliments on it and it was super fun to wear. The dress ties like a wrap dress. I loved the slit in the front, except it was slit really high and I needed to pin it closed so that there were no big reveals. It was a perfect solution and remained hidden. Amazing dress!
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 11, 2013
Dress was beautiful and flowy. Very elegant.
True to size. The slits were deep, but you can pin the top. Kind of fun to stalk around with a deep bottom split that showed some leg! Regular is long in length. Compliments from both men and women.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Body type: Straight & narrow
March 27, 2013
Great dress, works well for an early baby bump!
This was an elegant dress that flowed beautifully. I was 19 weeks pregnant when I rented it and the high waist was very forgiving for an early baby bump. I do agree with the others that the neckline is LOW and the slit is HIGH, so a bit of double-sided tape and a few safety pins are certainly helpful in avoiding a wardrobe malfunction.
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
December 10, 2013
Nothing but Compliments!
I feel in love with this dress the moment I saw it on RTR and then even more when it arrived. I read all the reviews and new what to expect with the slit. However the slit caught me by surprise when I realized that it was because the dress just overlaps itself and is only sewn at the waist. Fashion tape did the trick in keeping it in place. I also placed a small stitch in the chest area because it was wide open. Overall I got nothing but complements on this dress and I loved it.
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×