Vera Wang

Sun Goddess Sheath

$40 rental
$1195 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Be the center of attention when you walk into the room wearing this gold Vera Wang embroidered dress! Pair with the Whiting & Davis' Black Mesh Glam Clutch and Cara Accessories' Dress Me Up Bracelet.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - skirt runs slightly narrow
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust but may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen and hips
HIPS: Fitted - skirt runs slightly narrow
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Golden rod embroidered jacquard (74% polyester, 20% silk, 6% Acrylic). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. 41” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

85 reviews

Fit
Small 3
True to Size 57
Large 22
Photos 36
Caroline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 13, 2013

Gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous. Showstopping dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is drop dead gorgeous in person. It is a darker gold color (not yellow) with a beautiful sheen and luminous quality in the fabric. I wore this dress to a black tie sit-down dinner for my work. It was perfect for the event because it is a more conservative dress (no low neckline or bra straps showing and it hit right at/below my knee...I'm about 5'6). It was fitted through the hips and looser in the waist, a standard sheath dress. I can't stop raving about the color and the fit and feel...it was just to die for. I've rented 4 dresses from RTR now and have loved all of them, but this was by the far the hardest one to send back. I ordered a 2 and a 4 and wore the 2 (my usual size). People still haven't stopped complimenting me about the dress and it's a week later!
girlygirl
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 3, 2013

Beautiful dress, fit right in at an Indian wedding.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wanted to wear something bright and a bit fancy for an Indian wedding that I was attending, and this fit in beautifully with all of the colorful saris/beading. I got a ton of compliments and felt like a million bucks. The brocade is beautiful and very forgiving on the figure. The lines of the dress are amazing, and it fit to a T, although I could see this being a bit long on shorter individuals.
Kirsten
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 18, 2013

Beautiful fabric and color

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is beautiful in person! I ordered a size 2 and 0 but the 0 was unavailable so I wasn't able to wear this dress. The bust is fitted but the waist and hips are more forgiving so I would have needed to size down. Will definitely try to rent this again!
Suzanna
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122 lbs
Apr 3, 2013

n/a

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Beautiful dress however runs large bottom half. Surprising as Vera usually is cut small. Would rent again in a smaller size.
Celena
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 4, 2013

Detailed dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
The detail was beautiful but I didn't like the feel of the fabric, the dress wasn't comfortable to me perhaps because it's not lined...which was surprising. I wanted to love it. It was also a bit too tight around my enormous hips.
Diane
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138 lbs
Apr 16, 2013

Love this dress! Lots of compliments.Color is amazing! Can't wait to rent again!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress fit like a glove. Not a lot of stretch in the dress but didn't mind. The detailing in the dress is fantastic.
Elaine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 137 lbs
May 8, 2013

Stunning color!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am usually a 4-6 and the 4 fit me, so I would say it runs a little large for designer sizes. The color is amazing and it really stands out. One caution: this is an embroidered dress, so don't wear anything that could potentially snag the embroidery. It is somewhat fragile and probably won't have a long life with RTR. I loved it, however, and it was REALLY fun to wear.
caroline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
May 13, 2013

perfect rehearsal dinner dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
comfortable and easily dressed up or down depending on the event. Its not lined so plan to wear a slip or spanx since its not the smoothest fabric.
Christiane
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
May 20, 2013

Great pattern but...

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The pattern really makes the hips look blocky. The color is fun. It fit ok -- not my favorite however. I chose a different dress. This was the backup. Even though I read the reviews that said it wasn't lined, that still somehow surprised me. The lack of lining made it feel a bit cheap. Glad I saw it up close, though.
Liz
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160 lbs
Jun 4, 2013

Loved this dress. Classy, glamorous. Tons of compliments. Wish I owned it!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Looks slightly darker in person. LET'S GET DRESSED Size TOP SEARCHES Prom Dresses Black-tie Dresses Cocktail Attire Short Dresses Hervé Léger Bachelorette Party Liz, recommended for you based on styles you've recently viewed Badgley Mischka Badgley Mischka Badgley Mischka Badgley Mischka Badgley Mischka David Meister Badgley Mischka Nicole Miller Badgley Mischka Nicole Miller Diane von Furstenberg Badgley Mischka Issa Nicole Miller ML Monique Lhuillier Nicole Miller Carmen Marc Valvo David Meister Badgley Mischka Badgley Mischka Badgley Mischka David Meister Carmen Marc Valvo Nicole Miller Badgley Mischka Nicole Miller Halston Heritage Carmen Marc Valvo Badgley Mischka Badgley Mischka Badgley Mischka Carlos Miele Rent the Runway revolutionizes fashion for the way you live TAKE BACK YOUR WEEKENDS Spend your time living instead of shopping thanks to door-to-door delivery, a free second size and easy returns. PLAY DESIGNER DRESS-UP Our closet boasts over 50,000 dresses and accessories. Play up your personal style or try out a new trend--who do you want to be today? SPEND SMART, STAY STYLISH Feel confident in an of-the-moment dress that's designer, not disposable. At 90% off retail, you can rent a new look for every occasion! What we're loving now... RENT THE DRESS. OWN YOUR STYLE. Get inspired by customer photos on Our Runway Get her look » Get her look » Get her look » Get her look » Get her look » Get her look » Get her look » Get her look » Get her look » Get her look » Get her look » Get her look » Get her look » Get her look » Get her look » Get her look » Get her look » Get her look » ABOUT CAREERS CONTACT US GIFT CARDS PRESS BLOG FAQS HOW RTR WORKS NYC SHOWROOMAFFILIATES Designers | Designer Rentals | Accessory Rentals | Jewelry Rentals | Rent dresses for any occasion Privacy | Rental Agreement | Terms & Conditions | Made in NYC | ©2013 RENT THE RUNWAY. All Rights Reserved Overall Rating I
Misha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 147 lbs
Jul 2, 2013

The dress was perfect for my grandmother's surprised 90th birthday!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
My bust is smaller than my hips so the dress was a little snug around my mid section and a little loose at the bust, even with a padded bra. The only other negative was that there was a lining so it felt a little weird.
mirlina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 201 lbs
Jul 6, 2013

30th birthday at work. Work appropriate and gorgeous fit.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Simply amazing!
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 3, 2013

Gorgeous eye catching color

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress is just as described. Hugged around the waist to give a nice shape but moved enough in the legs to move and dance comfortably. The color is unique and will definitely get you compliments. The only drawback for me was that my bracelets kept getting caught on the threaded embroidery. Because of this I would recommend to wear with statement earrings and let your wrists go bare...the dress is simple in fabric so you won't feel overdressed but stunning in detail so the jewelry is unnecessary anyway. Enjoy.
Virginia
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 53
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 158 lbs
Sep 6, 2013

Every review I read prior to my rental was correct.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
It is a little tight in the bust. The hips are a little wide. I had both a 10 and a 12 delivered and both fit different ways. I went with the 12. I was comfortable and could sit during the wedding and dinner that followed without being concerned I would split a seam. I wore a slip because it's not lined. the color is amazing and I was complimented all evening and wished I actually owned the dress!
Beth
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 57
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170 lbs
Sep 8, 2013

Dress did not fit well.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit great through the hips and waist but smashed my chest and did not look good on me. I was disappointed because the dress was beautiful and I could not zipper the top of the dress without it flattening my chest. I would not recommend this dress for fuller breast sizes.
Debbie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 123 lbs
Sep 9, 2013

I didn't wear it. It didn't fit.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Unfortunately, it was a tad snug, and I just couldn't wear it.
Brit
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 105 lbs
Sep 9, 2013

The smallest size available is a 2, and it was massively too big. Beautiful dress, though.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I'm very very petite and typically wear a 0 or 00, so it's my own fault for taking a chance on the size 2 (the smallest size available for this dress). It's a gorgeous dress, though- brilliant, rich color and exquisite embroidery. Wish I could've worn it :(
Monica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 66
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 7, 2013

Most popular with the crowd

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
This dress is absolutely gorgeous. Random strangers complimented me on it! It's also extremely comfortable - so gorgeous and comfortable that I wore it two days in a row, once to a casual dinner (with flats and colorful jewelry) and once to a fancy dinner (with heels and diamond earrings). BUT I did not feel gorgeous in it because, as others have said, the fit is strange (hence the 4 stars). I agree that it is designed for someone taller - or at least longer-waisted - and maybe for a pear shape. It fit me in the bust, but was way too big in the hips. And I just swam in the 12, the "size up" recommended for back-up. I had a complicated relationship with this dress!
SRM
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 22, 2013

Very pretty!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The detail on the dress is really striking! I rented this dress and one other (a gorgeous black dress) figuring one of them would fit me for my event. I chose the black one only because this color is really attention-grabbing. I wasn't sure that with being on stage presenting AND wearing a bright "LOOK AT ME!!" color was the road to happiness for me personally. The dress fits beautifully, true to size. It isn't lined, though, which was a little weird (lack of lining was what cost it a star).
Melissa
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Nov 8, 2013

Great dress! Beautiful color and detailing.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Got compliments all night long. Dress fits pretty true to size. I am 5'7" and 155 lbs, I think I could have worn the 6, the 8 was loose around the waist and hips but still showed off my hourglass figure. This was my second dress and only got one size. This is a dress I would consider buying it stood out from all the same old little black dresses everyone else was wearing.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 22, 2013

Stand out holiday dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this to my husband's holiday party and it was a knock out. I stood out in a room of red and black dresses but looked the part. The golden color is great for blondes and the sheath shape will accentuate an hour glass figure in the right way. This is not super bump friendly but spanx can solve that!
Kbadler
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128 lbs
Feb 7, 2014

Beautiful dress

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is stunning in person. It's a bit pricey to rent, but the dress I had picked out was damaged and I went with this as a backup. I am thrilled I did. The color and pattern are just stunning. I got so many compliments. It's very lux looking. The only weird thing about the dress is that there isn't a lining, but the fabric is soft and not stiff so it looked fine. It is also a bit larger on the bottom, but I am a little top heavy so that happens with most dresses. I was sad to have to send it back since it was so pretty!
Molly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 160 lbs
Feb 9, 2014

Wonderfully luxe

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this to a work holiday party and it was a huge hit. I felt very comfortable in it, fit was great, the detail and richness of the fabric really made it special, while still being an appropriate dress for a work function. I got a ton of compliments and I would seriously consider renting again in the future.
Jessica
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Feb 14, 2014

Different type of dress and no one else wore it.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Different!
Carol
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 60
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Mar 3, 2014

GORGEOUS DRESS

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Black Tie Birthday Party, rented two dresses and picked the Gold to wear to the event. What a hit! The dress was a standout in a crowd of black dresses. Compliments all night, long.
Carolyn
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 23, 2014

Gorgeous detail with a very flattering fit.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This is a beautiful dress, even more than the photos convey! The detail is slightly embossed and has a dual tone quality that goes well with black pumps. The dress is unlined, which I was surprised by, however when I put it on it was extremely comfortable. The fabric is quite soft and hangs with just the right amount of structure. My only disappointment was that the size 2 was more worn than expected. My husband had to use scissors and trim all the fuzzy threads. The 4 was in better shape but too large.
Lo
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 30, 2014

This is my mom! Gorgeous

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
My mom is 5'7". Pear shaped. Wore it to my brothers wedding. Looked incredible on her. She could have had it taken in up top but still looked amazing and received so many compliments. Someone who is proportionate top and bottom(more hourglass) would look amazing in this. It does have some stretch.
Amina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Apr 1, 2014

Gorgeous dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Didn't think I would like it, it's not in a color I usually get but it is a stunning dress. I wish I owned this one.
Rosanne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Apr 6, 2014

The dress!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress is beautiful. Wore it to the officer's tea at our boat club. The dress was classic - elegant and the color amazing. The fit comfortable. This is my first selection from RTR. This is a wonderful service. Looking forward to dressing up for my next event thanks to RTR!
Paris
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 53
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 10, 2014

Really, really beautiful

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Pretty and classic. I don't think it would work if you were super curvy.
jp
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 15, 2014

Great color

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Good fit
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 17, 2014

Beautiful dress but not meant for anyone with a long torso.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
This dress is beautiful. The color is gorgeous and fabric is very elegant. I could not wear it because it was humungous in my waist and hips. I usually wear a 0 or 2 in dresses, depending on the designer, and they did not have the 0 available. I rented the 2 and because my torso is so long, it did not fit properly at all. I was swimming in it. If you have a long torso you can not rent this dress. It is cut for a very standard length torso and if yours is long (like mine) the "hips" of the dress will align with your waist which will make it huge in both your waist and hips. If you have a ong torso then you have probably had this problem with dresses before. If you have never had this problem before, you should be fine with renting this dress. It is simply gorgeous and I wish it would have fit me properly.
viv
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128 lbs
May 3, 2014

Jackpot!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
You have to put this dress on to truly appreciate its beauty. When it came to of the box, it looks like a piece of tapestry. Once I put it on, I felt like a million bucks. I loved it! It runs a bit large but it is absolutely GORGEOUS!
alice
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Jun 23, 2014

Dress color was so unique.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was stunning. The color had a gold/copper color that could be worn all year long. I rented a bold necklace from RTR but did not wear it b/c it took away from the beautiful front of the dress. I wore black pumps and gold earnings/bracelet. It ran true to size, maybe a little on the large size. This dress was not like the typical dress you would find at a nice department store. One of my favs ever!
Klo
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 30, 2014

Classy and different

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
gorgeous marigold color - I received tons of compliments. It's cut a bit big and isn't very body con, so it's good for a work event.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 6, 2014

Beautiful dress but too baggy at the waist

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I probably could have tried a size 2 in order to get a better fit but, the bust was the perfect size and the length was just what I was looking for. The only issue was it didn't hug me at the waist. The color was great and the detail is lovely, I would just suggest renting a smaller size as well to try.
Janay
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 20, 2014

I felt very beautiful in this dress. Against my dark skin tone it was beautiful.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful dress. I received lots of compliments. The only Con was the top runs a little big. It fit perfectly int the hips but a bit loose on the top. It may just be my body shape. However, it was definitely a beautiful dress to wear.
Jess
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180 lbs
Oct 29, 2014

LOVE THIS SO MUCH!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Great birthday dress - I absolutely loved the fit. Made me feel regal!
Anna
Age: 30
Nov 3, 2014

Standout in all that black!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fabric has a little flex to it, gorgeous gorgeous dress! Got lots of compliments!
Rachel
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 10, 2014

I received so many complements on this dress. It was easy to stand out!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The dress runs a bit large but even in the smaller size it is incredibly comfortable. I was able to run around and set up a wedding for three hours without any discomfort. The only drawback is that the material snags easily.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×