Grand Entrance Gown

$232 to buy
$1495 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Be red carpet ready in this statuesque Vera Wang gown. A stunning style that you will make you feel you are on top of the world!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Very fitted - very fitted at hips so curvier women should size up
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6''). Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6'' and above).

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Model's height is 5'10''.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Very fitted - very fitted at hips so curvier women should size up
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6''). Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6'' and above).

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Model's height is 5'10''.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black silk charmeuse(100% silk). Asymmetric neckline. Cap sleeves. Scoop back. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
60 reviews
Fit
Large
(11)
True to Size
(43)
Small
(3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
December 21, 2012
Classy
Beautifull, slimming fit and drape. Did tend to stretch as the evening progressed.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 57
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 122lbs
December 16, 2012
LOVED this dress!
I wore this as Mother of the Groom and I loved the dress and got tons of compliments. I had ordered the 4R and the 4L and tried the R on first. It felt and looked great so I never even tried the L which I sort of regret now. At different times throughout the night I felt my dress should be a little longer. But the dress is fabulous!
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 46
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142lbs
November 15, 2012
Great Dress. Perfect for the occasion-Marine Corps Birthday Ball
This dress was selected for me by a RTR stylist because my original back-up dress was not available due to Hurricane Sandy. This dress fit great and made me look great. Comfortable, stylish and would highly recommend it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
November 12, 2012
Elegant and classy - fits great curves
I rented this as a back up - although i did not wear it, I really loved this dress. It was my original choice up until 5 minutes before the event ( my boyfriend liked the other color...it was such a hard decision to make!!) I'm curvy, thin waist with 36DD and size 10/curvy butt/hips. It's always hard to find dresses that accentuate my waist and curves the right way: this dress did JUST that! drapes perfectly, a little movement so hugs when necessary the right places (always wear spanx). Great GREAT dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
November 11, 2012
a bit snug everywhere and hard to move in
material is beautiful and luxurious and the arms wouldn't stay in place.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 128lbs
October 21, 2012
I thought this dress was great..!!!I felt confident and beautiful in it!
I thought this dress had a great fit. It hid my trouble area..my stomach! I wore a 95' inch heal with it and it was perfect. The dress has a touch of lycra in it do it was able to stretch with my body. I would order it again
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
October 13, 2012
I felt stunning all night. This dress should be called Grand Elegance.
Had to steam the wrinkles out of it, but the length was perfect with 4 1/2" heels. The dress tended to turn on me, so I recommend some double-sided tape to keep it in place. Other than that, the fit runs very true to size, and the draping is placed in all the right places (in case you are trying to hide anything). Fabric gives just enough to accommodate and showcase curves. All in all, I couldn't have been prouder to spend my evening in this beautiful gown. I love it, and will definitely utilize RTR in the future.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
October 3, 2012
Dress was too big :(
I went with the 10R since on the designer's site, that's what I should have been. I truly believe even an 8R would have been too big though, and I would have gotten that just in case, but they were out of that size for my 2nd size. So I would have been out of luck anyway. The material is kind of trashy and it just hangs...weird. It looks adorable on some of the people in the photos online, though, so it MUST work out for some of you! I probably should have ordered a dress with a shorter length too since I wanted to be lazy and hide some flats underneath, but the dress was waaaaaay too long for that, even at my height.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 2, 2012
gorgeous!
i ended up going with my backup option instead of wearing this dress for several reasons. 1) it was pouring rain and i didn't want to fight the bottom of the dress and puddles. 2) it is mermaid-style and i could only take half steps in it, not good for wedding dancing. 3) it was pretty roomy in the stomach which is going for hiding your "food baby" after gorging on wedding food and cake, but i sorta felt 2 mos pregnant in it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 28, 2012
Gorgeous, well-made, fits perfectly!
The first thing my boyfriend said was, "how much would it cost to keep it forever?" I wore it to a black tie evening fall wedding in Boston. Runs pretty true to size - I am a 6 usually in designer brands and a 4 at places like J Crew. This fit really well and is fitted but also has some give so it is super comfortable to sit down and move around! So gorgeous, I wish I could keep it! Don't be scared by how fitted it looks - the fabric is super high quality and has some give to it.
AnneAugust 16, 2014
Hi Hope! Did you wear heels? If so, how tall were your heels? Thanks!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
September 5, 2012
Beautiful fit!
This was a replacement dress after there were problems with my original order! It fit great and was beautiful and elongating. The only complaint I had was that in the picture where the model's right forearm is, the draping creates a little poof. If you're hippy it's extremely noticeable. Other than that, the dress was great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
July 20, 2012
Love rent the runway! Will for sure use it again and tell all my friends!
My boyfriend and I had a black tie event to attend and he helped me pick this dress out. I love the simplicity and elegance of the dress.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 160lbs
February 14, 2012
Nice Dress - Worked perfectly!
I rented this dress for a black tie affair in Los Angeles last weekend. I am tall so was worred about length, but I got the 10L and it was long enough with short (1") heels. The fit is nice, the silk has a little "hug" to it, so it fit and moved nicely. Glad I wore a strapless bra as recommended, but wish I'd remembered the fabric tape to keep the sleeves on my shoulders! Overrall a gorgeous dress and nice fit!
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 14, 2012
Standing next to my husband in his tux! We definitely made a GRAND ENTRANCE! Thanks Rent the Runway!
I rented this dress for a black tie event. I'm 5'7 and 140 pounds. I picked the 6L with an 8L as a back up. The 6L fit great. The dress looks more black (when you get it) than a midnight blue (as it does in the picture). Overall, I was very pleased and will be renting again in the near future!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Body type: Hourglass
January 25, 2012
Simple, elegant, dream to wear
I loved this dress! I'm a 4 in chain stores, but sometimes a 6 in designer dresses. I went with the 6 because the 4 was not available. I wish I had the 4 because the 6 was definitely big, but with the gathers it was still very flattering. The fabric is wonderful and the lining makes it glide beautifully when you walk. Very comfortable as well. It has more gathers than are apparent with this picture. Which is great because it will not show a stomach pooch! At all! Definitely black.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Body type: Athletic
January 21, 2012
Beautiful Gown
I rented this gown for a black tie charity event that I attended with clients. I wanted something that was sophisticated and stunning. This dress fit the bill. The silk fabric feels luxurious on and it drapes beautifully. I waited too long to rent and the 6L was not available so I went with the regular. I probably could have used an extra inch, but given all of the walking we did it worked out fine, hitting just above the tops of my shoes. I did think that the draping of the fabric around the hip may have been a little stretched out from wear, and there were some snags in that area from other renters wearing bracelets, but nothing big enough to impact the overall beauty of the dress. I highly recommend!!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
January 16, 2012
Baggy in the hip area
I usually wear a 6, but it was recommended to go up a size for bustier/bigger hipped women. My bust is 32D and I conisder myself extremely curvy. I ordered a 6L and 8L. I only tried on the 6L because it was so baggy in the hips that it made me look bigger and wider. I only recommend renting this dress if you are tall (or plan on wearing tall heels) and if you have very big hips. Thankfully I had ordered a back up dress and it worked perfectly.
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 66
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 28, 2011
Amazing!
The most amazing dress I have EVER put on my body. I never wanted to take it off. It fit perfectly in all the rights places. Oh so comfortable, I could have danced all night in it. I suggest wearing chandelier earrings – nothing else. Certain bracelets and purses will snag and/or pull the fabric so be mindful. Also, the description doesn’t tell you this but the dress is black, not dark blue (as it looks in the photo). I will definitely rent this dress again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 15, 2011
Everything! Truly perfect. So hassle free, only problem was I didn't want to return it!
This was my first time trying rent the runway. I bought this dress in an 6 and a backup 8, but didn't need it. It fit my body perfectly. I am an hourglass figure and it was so elegant. I used it for my first officer's ball with my boyfriend and got endless compliments. I was so happy to make him proud and meet his fellow officer's in style! A true night to remember. Thanks for making me feel like a princess RTR!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 71
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 14, 2011
Vera Wang Grand Entrance
I am only 5"1. the dress was perfect with heels. Just skimming the floor. Loved the fit and look.
ThereseSeptember 13, 2012
Hi Mary...How high were the heels you wore?
RTR CustomerSeptember 19, 2012
Hi Therese! I would suggest getting the size regular dress and wearing 3-4' inch heels!
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×