Rent the Runway

Vera Wang

Grand Entrance Gown

$125 rental
$1495 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Be red carpet ready in this statuesque Vera Wang gown. A stunning style that you will make you feel you are on top of the world!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Very fitted - very fitted at hips so curvier women should size up
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6''). Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6'' and above).

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Model's height is 5'10''.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Very fitted - very fitted at hips so curvier women should size up
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6''). Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'6'' and above).

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Model's height is 5'10''.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black silk charmeuse(100% silk). Asymmetric neckline. Cap sleeves. Scoop back. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden side zip. See size and fit tab for length.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

53 reviews

Fit
Small 2
True to Size 38
Large 11
Photos 21
Chelsea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 15, 2011

Everything! Truly perfect. So hassle free, only problem was I didn't want to return it!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my first time trying rent the runway. I bought this dress in an 6 and a backup 8, but didn't need it. It fit my body perfectly. I am an hourglass figure and it was so elegant. I used it for my first officer's ball with my boyfriend and got endless compliments. I was so happy to make him proud and meet his fellow officer's in style! A true night to remember. Thanks for making me feel like a princess RTR!
Ebony
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 14, 2012

Standing next to my husband in his tux! We definitely made a GRAND ENTRANCE! Thanks Rent the Runway!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a black tie event. I'm 5'7 and 140 pounds. I picked the 6L with an 8L as a back up. The 6L fit great. The dress looks more black (when you get it) than a midnight blue (as it does in the picture). Overall, I was very pleased and will be renting again in the near future!
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Jul 20, 2012

Love rent the runway! Will for sure use it again and tell all my friends!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
My boyfriend and I had a black tie event to attend and he helped me pick this dress out. I love the simplicity and elegance of the dress.
Meg
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Nov 12, 2012

Elegant and classy - fits great curves

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this as a back up - although i did not wear it, I really loved this dress. It was my original choice up until 5 minutes before the event ( my boyfriend liked the other color...it was such a hard decision to make!!) I'm curvy, thin waist with 36DD and size 10/curvy butt/hips. It's always hard to find dresses that accentuate my waist and curves the right way: this dress did JUST that! drapes perfectly, a little movement so hugs when necessary the right places (always wear spanx). Great GREAT dress!
Carol
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142 lbs
Nov 15, 2012

Great Dress. Perfect for the occasion-Marine Corps Birthday Ball

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was selected for me by a RTR stylist because my original back-up dress was not available due to Hurricane Sandy. This dress fit great and made me look great. Comfortable, stylish and would highly recommend it.
Sherry
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 122 lbs
Dec 16, 2012

LOVED this dress!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this as Mother of the Groom and I loved the dress and got tons of compliments. I had ordered the 4R and the 4L and tried the R on first. It felt and looked great so I never even tried the L which I sort of regret now. At different times throughout the night I felt my dress should be a little longer. But the dress is fabulous!
Ksyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Dec 21, 2012

Classy

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Beautifull, slimming fit and drape. Did tend to stretch as the evening progressed.
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Dec 29, 2012

Loved how it fit, but the "staticy" bottom would've been too much maintenance all night long.

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was between this dress and the Badgley Mischka "Palais De Louvre" sequin gown for the Air Force holiday ball my husband and I attended. I put pictures of both on Facebook and asked my friends to help me decide and they overwhemingly choose this one, but I decided on the Badgley dress because I felt more comfortable in it. I took this dress to Macy's and tried on LOTS of shapewear to find the perfect combo- ended up with a highwaisted short and my wedding corset with a strapless bra attached to it. I felt goregous in the dress, but I like dresses to skim the ground when I wear them. I'm 5'9", wore 2.75" heels, and the 10L size was about 1" off the floor, which I know isn't much, but I prefer not to see my shoes when standing in a dress. Also, the bottom of the dress is ridiculously staticy/clingy. I tried static guard on my panyhose (didn't put directly on dress cause I didn't want to harm the fabric), dryer sheets, etc and the cling kept coming back. I did not want to put up with that all night long. Plus, I didn't like the large arm holes (see pic) and I'm self conscious about my "big" arms, so the Badgley was the natural choice for my evening. This dress was stunning (with just the right shapewear), but overall I was just more comfortable in the Badgley.
DJS
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 2, 2013

Stunning

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was amazingly stunning. I revived tons of compliments. Its very sexy but in a classy way showing off your curves but is not super tight.. You could wear this to any affair and be the talk of the room. The pictures do it no justice.
lisa
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132 lbs
Jan 22, 2013

This just did not work on me.... the 6 was too tight in the chest and the bottom too loose.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The 8 fit in the bust but was way too big on the bottom. I think you need a full bottom for this one for the draping to work. I was disappointed as this is such a nice gown. Be also aware that the fabric is very thin -- like a satin.
Tiffany
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 23, 2013

This dress is perfect. You do need to work out for it to look nice but it is very pretty

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit is close form. I recommend wearing nice shiny earrings and matching necklace because it compliments the dress well.
Kris
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134 lbs
Feb 10, 2013

The dress gave me confidence.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented the 4 & 6 R. the 4 fit better up top,but was a little snug in hips it was a little shorter than what I wanted. the 6 had the lenght I wanted but the top 1 shoulder was loose would slide down a little. I loved the material& I thought The dress looked a lot nicer than the ones at the event.
pa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122 lbs
Feb 18, 2013

This was very short.

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress is nice but REALLY SHORT. I have small shoulders and I'm hippy and it fit everywhere else perfectly.
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Mar 15, 2013

Movie star-esque!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The silhouette on this dress is stunning. The fabric was also incredible to touch. Unfortunately -- and I can't believe I'm going to say this -- but I wish the dress was a little bit more fitted overall. The little sleeves wouldn't stay up on my shoulders and some of the ruching just wouldn't stay in the right place.
Sefra
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 8, 2013

Fit like a glove and a little stretchy so it was super comfortable. I was overall super please.

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The length was great before I put my heels on. This dress got a little short on me once I put on heels. But overall I loved it.
Jocelyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 30, 2013

I have an hourglass figure and can be self-conscious of my hips. This dress made me feel amazing :)

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress can be short - I'm 5'7'' and wore 4'' heels. I used the 4L and it fell to the floor perfectly. Just barely showed my toes. The design across the front is very flattering to your stomach and chest. The fabric is a really beauty silk. The price was totally worth it. I went to a military ball and by far had the most beautiful dress. I regret not having a full-length picture.
vanessa
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Oct 17, 2013

Everybody loved the dress. It is simple but very chic. I love the shine and the fabric!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The dress runs a bit larger than the actual size but it makes it comfortable to wear. When ordering you should consider ordering a size down (as the extra dress they send you). The length was perfect. The right strap/sleeve fell a few times but it was not too painful to deal with. It only happened when I was dancing.
Vivian
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 18, 2013

Elegant, understated, and classic.

Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was actually my back up to the back up dress, as two of the dresses I had originally ordered were damaged. However, Chelsea with RTR was FABULOUS and suggested this dress as a back up. Thankfully, I took her advice and was actually happier with this dress than my original selection. The dress is beautiful! Fit like a glove. It is definitely form fitting, so not a dress to rent if you are planning to dance. The length is a bit shorter than I had expected from a OL. I wear a 32D and still had room in the bust area, which was wonderful! The right sleeve kept falling down, but still worth the rental!!
Victoria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 4, 2014

Gorgeous

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I chose this dress as a back up after my original choice was damaged and although it wasn't what I wanted, I loved it none the less. This dress was simple yet elegant and perfect for a New Years Eve wedding. It was comfortable enough to wear all night & the 6L was the perfect length for my 5'4" self to wear with 3" heels.
Hannah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 28, 2014

Amazing silk fabric, elegant

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
RTR sent me this dress as an emergency backup when my first choice dress was not returned. I LOVED the fabric and draping in this dress, but unfortunately the 6R was MUCH too short. I am 5'6" and even with my shortest heels this dress showed the tops of my feet. I was worried about the fabric not having any stretch because I have a small waist and thick legs and bum, but the size 6 fit me perfectly. I would definitely recommend 5'6" and taller women order a L in their normal size! Beautiful dress!
Janice
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 147 lbs
Feb 26, 2014

VERY DISAPPOINTED!!!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This could have been a gorgeous dress if it wasn't for the extra fabric across the tummy and hip area. Why did she put that there!!! ;(
Scrappy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104 lbs
Mar 9, 2014

Lovely dress, just not what I was looking for

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I did not wear this dress but rather tried it in place of an initial order that was ultimately not available. This dress was different thanks to the asymmetric neck line and capped sleeves - the fabric is great - lightweight, soft but very clingy. While it is slightly mermaid style, I don't think it would have been difficult to dance in at all. Because I am petite I probably would have been pulling the sleeves up a bit as they definitely wouldn't stay up on their own without some double sided tape.
elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 3, 2014

Nice fabric. Ok cut. Looks a little like the mother of the bride.

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Sent to me as a replacement for something I ordered that was not available. This wasn't flattering and fit oddly over the shoulders. I have a muscular upper body, this was loose on the shoulders and unflattering about the bust. It made me look wider in the hips than I actually am. Would not suggest this dress.
Meg
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 19, 2014

Wonderful! Fits like a glove!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
.
Bree
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 114 lbs
Jun 19, 2014

Super understated, glam, sophisticated, and chic!

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit like it was made for me! Couldn't have asked for a better dress. Wish I owned it! I started out with another dress from RTR. When the first dress arrived I was horrified. I had limited mobility in it, and even though it was a small size and I am slender, I looked like a sausage in it. The day of my event I ran to the RTR showroom in Henri Bendel in a panic (thank goodness my event was in NYC, where there is a brick and mortar location!). The showroom doesn't stock all of their dresses, and they only have one size in each dress, so it really was luck of the draw. Miraculously, they had this one, which didn't look like much on the hanger, but once I put it on, I radiated. Other customers marveled at the dress and the fit and I knew I had found a winner. I felt so statuesque and beautiful! The wedding was strict Black Tie and I was dressed perfectly; neither underdressed nor overdressed. This dress looked expensive and tasteful - all I could ask for. Yay for a RTR success story!
Cecilia
Age: 38
Jun 23, 2014

Disappointing dress

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I hated this dress and did not wear it to the event I rented it for. It does some weird bunching up stuff in the belly area - the pleats don't lay flat and it doesn't look like it does on the model. I should've paid closer to attention to the real folks' photos. I would've returned it for credit but didn't know that was an option as I received the dress on Wednesday & received the email on Friday informing me that I could return it for credit if I did so within 24 hours of receipt. Faulty logistics. Big waste of money for me with this dress...
Janelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105 lbs
Jun 23, 2014

Did not wear.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was incredibly lightweight. Overall, the fit was too large. My measurements are 32D-24-35 and I am 5'4"
Cay Maria
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Jul 7, 2014

The dress I chose for the event, as well as the company, entertainment and food!!!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I did not wear this dress, which was sent as a substitute for the dress I wanted (which was damaged). This dress is well made, just not for me. I did not fit in the right places and was short (I am 5' 10"). i did not like the fabric as it was too light for my taste.
olympia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Sep 15, 2014

You feel like you're wearing a designer dress. It's sumptous

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I love this dress. It's amazing and fits beautifully particularly on curvy figures. AMAZING
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 25, 2014

A little large

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Didn't end up wearing this because the 6L was a little too big -- I was thinking it would be designer sizing, but I was swimming in the ruching around the waist. It's too bad, because the material was absolutely gorgeous, and the rest of the dress was beautiful. I'm an hourglass -- might be good for apples, or those with more of a straight up and down figure.
Lindsay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 155 lbs
Oct 4, 2014

Great gown! Beautiful neckline and silhouette. Received many compliments at the formal wedding.

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was a wonderful option for a formal wedding. At 5'10" the long length hit the ground when barefoot, so I ended up removing my shoes at the reception. Neckline sits beautifully--I would rent again!
Kristen
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142 lbs
Oct 19, 2014

It truly was a show stopping dress. I would for sure rent this again, it was so comfortable.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The layer underneath is great, it smooths everything out and helps the outer layer lay perfectly.
Holly
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 5, 2014

It was a wedding... weddings are always a moment to remember. :-)

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit amazingly! All of the bridesmaids wore a black dress of their choice and this dress was VERY forgiving! If you are busty, this might not be the best overall cut/style for you. I am an athletic build, 32DD and it was borderline snug along the chest, but overall I absolutely loved the dress - I go the 6R and should have gotten the 6L as I was not able to wear heals.
marlo
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Nov 12, 2014

A vey sexy evening.

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit perfectly .
Katey Realtor
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127 lbs
Nov 13, 2014

Great dress, buy my second choice.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Super sexy feeling dress, true to size, kind of loose at the top on my shoulders, very long gown. Did not wear, was my second choice. Shows no forgiveness on curves.
Becky
Age: 34
Dec 15, 2014

So easy!

Size worn: 6L
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was extremely comfortable. I rented the 4R and 6L. I would have worn the 4 but it was too short other than that the fit was perfect. I went with the 6 L. I wore 4 inch heels and the dress just brushed the ground. My only complaint would be that the sleeves kept falling off my shoulders which I'm thinking would not have been a problem if I would have worn the size 4. Otherwise it was perfect. The process was so easy, I will definitely be renting again.
Sylvie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Mar 23, 2015

Very simple yet elegant gown that was fitting for the occasion. Extremely comfortable as well!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was the most comfortable, soft, silky dress and the gathering around the waist was perfect to hide any imperfections or a full belly. I normally wear a size 4 in a dress but was a little bloated this week so the 6 was perfect. Absolutely loved it.
Maddy
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 9, 2015

Everyone complimented me! Very comfortable!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Amazing dress!
Rosalie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 21, 2015

I am a size 4 but only the 6P was available. It fit on the hips but it was too short.

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Formal Affair
Too short
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142 lbs
Apr 27, 2015

I didn't wear but it was absolutely beautiful and comfortable on.

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
A little to long, should have gotten 8R I think. If you have large chest, size up. I don't and I could have worn no bra as it is stretchy and supportive.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×