Rent the Runway

Vena Cava

The Wow Dress

$56 rental
$450 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Slip into this sexy stunner by Vena Cava for a hot night on the town. Finish the look with sky high heels and get ready to bring sexy back.

Size & Fit

This dress runs very small! We recommend sizing up one or two sizes (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - multi strap detail cannot be worn with a standard strapless bra
WAIST: Very fitted - most narrow at natural waist with very little give in fabric
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn without a bra
FABRIC: Fabric
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs very small! We recommend sizing up one or two sizes (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - multi strap detail cannot be worn with a standard strapless bra
WAIST: Very fitted - most narrow at natural waist with very little give in fabric
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn without a bra
FABRIC: Fabric
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black crepe. Deep V neckline with strap detail. Fitted body. Open back with multi strap detail with snap closure. Hidden back zip. 32" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'10".

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

75 reviews

Fit
Small 55
True to Size 20
Large 0
Photos 32
Ashelyn
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
Aug 12, 2010

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
I had to order a size up for a better fit through the hips. I used double sided taped in the bust area since I couldn't wear a bra and it was perfect.
F10
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Aug 29, 2010

Overall fit: Small
I ordered two sizes and they both fit well ended up wearing the smaller because I wanted it tighter since my bust is small. Thought it might be a boring dress but I actually loved it like all my other rtr rentals.
ohcassie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Apple
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 19, 2011

Overall fit: Small
The name of this dress is an understatement! This dress is tailored amazingly, just make sure you order a SIZE UP, or maybe even 2. You don't need any jewelry because the dress speaks for itself. Smokin' hot!
Sarah
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 16, 2011

Overall fit: Small
I loved this dress. I ordered a size up and it was perfect. I wore it to my senior winter formal and got a ton of compliments. Good for women with a small-medium bust. A great deal.
L
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118 lbs
Mar 28, 2011

Overall fit: Small
Fit perfectly up top but was a little tight around the middle. Plus, if you have long legs its REALLY short. But its one of the most unique dresses I've ever seen!
MD0815
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Apr 1, 2011

Overall fit: Small
LOVED this dress. I usually range from a 0-2 and ordered a 0 and 2 and the 2 fit perfectly. I'd say runs small/true to size. Great great dress.
NatalieL
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Body type: Athletic
May 3, 2011

Overall fit: Small
I thought this dress was gorgeous but the dress was much too small around the waist. I'm usually a four but I could just barely get the straps in the back too close and it did not look attractive. I would try renting again in a larger size
Anjali
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
May 18, 2011

Overall fit: Small
I ordered this and another dress right before a trip to Vegas. It was too small, so I never got a chance to wear it.
theplan3
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Body type: Petite
Jun 8, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I absolutely loved this dress. It did run a little small through the waist and hips, though.
susie
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 20, 2011

Overall fit: Small
I normally wear a 2 or a 4, but based on the reviews, I tried ordering a 4 and a 6, but the 4 was out. I tried 6 and the 8, but the 8 was out. I took a gamble and just got a size 6. The day before my Vegas departure, I got the dress and it fit perfectly. I wore fashion tape to keep it in place. My cup size is a B, and I felt a little hoochie b/c I normally do not show the little girls, but hey, it's Vegas. :)
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 19, 2011

Overall fit: Small
I've been in love with the dress and wanting to rent it for the longest time. I thought I'd finally found the perfect opportunity in a weekend trip to the city. Unfortunately, this dress is much better suited for someone with a smaller chest. While the rest of the dress fit true to size, I had so much spilling out of the top that it wouldn't have been appropriate to wear in public. However, the material and tailoring of the dress are wonderful, and it would look fantastic on someone with less of a chest.
N/A
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 22, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is the epitome of a perfect LBD! AH-mazing! I wish I had bought it! I got zillions of complements from both guys and girls! It fits perfectly. definitely order a back up size just in case bc you want it to fit snug to the body. it is not stretchy but the material is awesome and super flattering. if it fits you will not be disappointed. best dress everrrr.
Claire
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145 lbs
Aug 30, 2011

Overall fit: Small
Stunning dress, but please take seriously the fact that it runs small! I was unable to wear it, because it snaps in the back and the snaps were going to pop off if I breathed. Also you have to be careful because if the straps in the back are cutting into you, it'll make even non-existant fat pop out. Luckily, my smaller friend was able to fit it (2 sizes bigger than her normal).
JV
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Body type: Petite
Sep 28, 2011

Overall fit: Small
I am a 00 or size 12 kids and this dress fit snug around the rib cage but a little roomy in the waist.
KC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Oct 6, 2011

Overall fit: Small
Fitted in the hips but a little extra room in the bust area. Regularly a 0, needed the 2 in this. Definitely a deep-v in the front and revealing sides
sfish
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 20, 2011

just not right

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a sorority formal event. According to the previous reviews, it said it ran pretty true to size and was meant for a pretty petite person. Therefore, I rented my usual size and a size up just in case. Well my normal size was WAY too small and then the next size up was still a bit small in the waist but a little saggy in the bust region. The next size up would have been too large. I really loved the look of the dress, but it was just off size-wise. I guess in order to wear this dress you need to have an itty bitty waist and probably a c-cup size. I am very petite and it was just not working on me. Super sad considering I had the perfect accessories and everything for the occasion. Better luck next time I guess!
Shauna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 123 lbs
Dec 4, 2011

Too small :(

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Runs so small! Unfortunately i was unable to wear it to the wedding! I could of gotten away with it in Vegas but it was a bit too short/tight for a wedding. It was really pretty and sexy and would consider renting it again but in a bigger size.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 6, 2012

Run small

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress to wear to a bachelorette party and unfortunately they did not have my back up size in this dress... So I didn't not get to wear it... Its extremely sexy and fun though!
caitlin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 19, 2012

Perfect!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit perfectly, wore out to a party while on vacation and have never received so many compliments! Very simple dress with just the right amount of attitude.
Laurel
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118 lbs
May 30, 2012

Loved this dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
It ran small, I am usually a 4 but had to wear the 6. Probably needed "chicken cutlets" as well, but didn't think about it ahead of time! There is no stretch to the fabric, but it was still comfortable. It was perfect for a night out in Vegas!
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165 lbs
Jul 18, 2012

exactly as advertised

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress fit exactly like it was described... just didn't work for me. The straps in the back are snaps... not buttons. So if you have a wide rib cage, make sure you go up a size or risk coming unsnapped! It does run small... I wear a solid 8 but had to squeeze a little to fit into the 10. Oh! and the skirt is fitted! I was surprised by that too! Beautiful dress... just not right for me!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Aug 13, 2012

Too hot to trot

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This little black dress is hot! It came with me to Vegas for a bachelorette and was a hit! It does run small...I'm a 0 and the 2 was perfect. Would not rent this for a big dinner (getting full in this dress seems like a bad idea) - but great for drinks and dancing. Had a blast and everyone loved it!
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
Aug 26, 2012

AMAZING!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Honestly one of the sexiest dresses I've ever worn . . . wore this for a night out at a club, and I've never gotten so many compliments before! It runs a little tight in the rib cage and hips. However, running tight on top was a good thing, since it kept everything in place and I didn't have to wear a bra (though I was glad I'd used double-sided tape by the end of the night). I usually wear either a 0 or 2, and I was glad I sized up to a 2. It fit perfectly. I paired this with the Tiered Deco Earrings and some high, high black heels and a black clutch. I use RTR all the time, and this was probably the best dress I've ever rented. I wish I actually owned this dress!
Maggie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Sep 3, 2012

So many compliments!!!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was gorgeous and sexy!! I wore it in VEGAS and got so many compliments! My only issues was it was really short! and I had to keep pulling it down all night. But that didn't stop me from wearing it!
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 157 lbs
Oct 2, 2012

This dress is short, short, short!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Vacation
Rented this for Vegas. It's a perfect dress for Sin City, but if you're hippy and broad-ribbed like me, this baby might be a tight squeeze. The 10 was devilishly form-fitting, but one swing of the hips and a jiggle of the booty and woop! up went the skirt. Bust (cup area) fits well, but it's tight around the bust under the girls if your ribs tend to be broader. Definitely don't need a bra of any kind if you're a B cup or up. Wish to say I'd rent it again; it was fun to wear once, but just isn't perfect (almost!) for my body type.
manoela
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 10, 2012

beautiful, but runs too small

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
i was so excited it , but i tried the first size ( zero ) didnt even zip, tried the second size (two) it was a lil bit small, felt so ugly and fat :/ ended up wearing one of my regular dresses ... but the dress its BEAUTIFUL!!!
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Dec 3, 2012

Hot!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was super cute, I loved it! I ordered a 2 and it was a little tight and short for most occasions but would be perfect for a bachelorette party or something like that. It was pretty low cut so it's not ideal for girls with a large chest. Make sure you check the measurements before ordering!!
Laura
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Dec 28, 2012

One of the sexiest dresses I've ever put on.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress is SMOKING. Every detail is incredibly sexy yet elegant. I felt amazing in it. I'm very tall, so it was VERY short on me. I wore it with black tights. It does, as mentioned in the details, run VERY small. I sized up two sizes, and it was perfect. I have a large bust, but I can go braless fairly easily due to my shape. I think one could wear a stick-on bra if needed, but any other support isn't really possible. I don't think one needs to size up more for a large bust than a small one, however. Very recommended. I might well rent it again! It was my backup dress, and the other didn't work for me, but I was 100% happy with it.
Cassidy
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jan 7, 2013

Gorgeous dress, runs small!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This was a backup rental for a New Years Eve party. After reading other reviews and finding out the dress runs small, I pretty much assumed the size 2 would be too small for me, but the 4 was not available so I thought, "Oh well, i'll order it to try it on and see what, if any, size I might want to rent in the future". I'm glad I did, because I definitely want to rent this dress in a size 4! It's absolutely gorgeous! I don't think the model in the picture does it justice at all. The only reason it didn't fit me was the bust. If your wide around the bust, or have a larger chest, this dress might not be right for you. If I could have buttoned the buttons in the back, I would have worn it place of the original dress I ordered (which was also gorgeous). Can't wait to rent this dress again!
Jean
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95 lbs
Jan 10, 2013

Looks hot.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress definitely runs small. Since the 0 was out of stock at the time, I decided to try with a size 2 and was glad that I did. As a regular size 0, the size 2 still fit very tightly, and I knew that if I had tried to go with the size 0, I would have had trouble buckling the back of the dress. Throughout the night, I received several compliments about the dress. I would definitely recommend it or rent it again.
Mallory
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
Jan 20, 2013

Unbelievable!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
Hands down, my favorite dress from RTR and the only one I would consider buying for my own closet. Rented this one for a ladies weekend in Vegas and was so comfortable throughout the long night. The fit was perfect and the open back came in handy in a hot August night. A 100% recommend!
AStorm
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 30, 2013

While I was unable to wear because it was so small, it was well made and very cute for a night out

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The dress was very small on my athletic frame and I couldn't fit into either size; however a friend of mine (who is a 2) was able to fit into the 6 and it is very cute and well made for a night about town. No stretch and very short, it is meant to turn heads.
Nikki
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 100 lbs
Mar 6, 2013

Such a cute backside!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for my homecoming last year and I really liked it. The material is nice and thick and the back of the dress is gorgeous. Best when paired with a big necklace or fun shoes as well.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123 lbs
Mar 17, 2013

Super sexy!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The straps were too long for my torso and I felt as if I was allying out of the dress.
Yas
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 13, 2013

beautiful dress and tailored to perfection.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I did not end up wearing this dress because the size I ordered was too too small. This dress run TINY. I suggest ordering 2 sizes up and then it will be perfect.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×