Vena Cava

Fit n Flare Dress

$84 to buy
$570 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This dress by Vena Cava is the perfect combo of sexy and sweet. Perfect for a cocktail party or just a night out.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4,6; Size M=8; Size L=10.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fabric is very sketchy
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout bodice - contrast waist band great for creating a waist
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at fullest part of hips then flares
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10' . )

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4,6; Size M=8; Size L=10.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fabric is very sketchy
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout bodice - contrast waist band great for creating a waist
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at fullest part of hips then flares
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10' . )

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black heavy stretch knit. V-neckline with halter strap. Flared skirt body. Hidden back zip. 33" from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

74 reviews

Fit
Small 4
True to Size 52
Large 18
Photos 22
Vanessa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Feb 1, 2012

I am so happy that there is finally a company out there like RTR! It isn't often that I get to wear the same dress more than once...so the idea of this company is a great option for the woman that never wants to be caught wearing the same thing twice.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is fantastic! It fit like a glove, yet was comfortable to wear. The quality looks and feels expensive. I wore it for my birthday party and got several compliments. My two favorite things about this dress are that it accentuates the waist (yet hides the hips) and the fun and flirty skirt.
Marie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117 lbs
Jul 31, 2012

When I called about the hold in the seam, they refunded me and promised it would be fixed for my next occasion. I received it this time in perfect condition. Best customer service!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This was a back up dress that I fell in love with. I went for the XS after reading the reviews. It's so forgiving and flattering. It hugs you in all of the right places. There were a few holes in the seams so I had to return it. I would buy this dress to have has a staple LBD in my closet. UPDATE: I rented this again for a wedding and received many compliments. Flattering, flirty and super sexy! I
Allison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 118 lbs
Aug 20, 2012

Loved It!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a bachelorette party and loved it. The fabric has some stretch to it and provides a flattering fit. Highly recommend.
Jennifer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Sep 14, 2012

Dress fit amazing! Super comfortable also!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Dress fits true to size....very comfortable also! Wore it to a bachelorette party!
Liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 20, 2012

Simple but impressive!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was my #2 pick but ended up wearing it for a friend's wedding. The skirt hits a little longer for short girls like me. Also, I have a short torso so the halter strap was a couple inches too big, wish it was adjustable but it wasn't anything a few safety pins and fashion tape couldn't fix. There was a small hole in the side seam when I received it but I stitched it up easily. I thought it was pretty simple but I got TONS of compliments at the wedding. It really emphasizes the curves of an hourglass figure. The fabric is quite stretchy but also thick so it holds you in while still offering a little give. Great LBD!
Angela
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 144 lbs
Sep 24, 2012

Really flattering and comfortable too!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was great! I wore a medium, and it fit for the most part, but the halter strap was a little too loose. RTR was out of smalls, so I wasn't able to order a backup size, although I don't think a S would've fit me in the bust even if the S was a better fit around the neck. Still, I'd definitely recommend getting this dress!
Jess
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 5, 2012

Classic, comfortable LBD!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress is very comfortable. It's a heavy, stretchy material, so factor that in if you plan on wearing it to an outdoor event on a hot day. It was great for a rehearsal dinner. It is definitely low cut so make sure to try it on prior to the event with several bra options! I ordered the M and the L and ended up wearing the L since I didn't want to feel like I couldn't eat dinner. The dress is very forgiving material, though so either would have worked.
Cara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138 lbs
Nov 9, 2012

I loved it!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress was perfect for my reunion. I ordered both the medium and small based on reviews. I would have preferred to wear the medium for a little extra length and room, but the straps were way too long. It may work for someone larger chested. The small was comfortable and fit fine. I felt great and would love to own this LBD!
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 3, 2013

Sexy Dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
A little short, I would have prefered knee length, overall the dress was a hit and perfect for my Vegas work trip.
ekim
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 12, 2013

Dress fit great, awesome customer service

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Experience Pro: dress arrived on time, packaged up, easy process for returning the dress. Customer service was responsive and sent out a replacement dress once I called about the damaged dress. New dresses were fedex overnighted and arrived next day, 2 hours before I left for my party. Experience Con: The XS size i received had two big holes in it at the seam. One of the previous reviewers mentioned the same thing. Not sure if this is the same issue or another two holes appeared on another dress. The dress: The dress is very stretch so I fit into both the XS and S however, the S was a little longer and was more appropriate for a work holiday party. The XS was considerably shorter (shorter than my finger tips when my hands were down on my legs). Loved the dress, like other reviewers said the neck strap was long, probably stretched from previous use. I used a safety pin to shorten it up and it was good to go. The first set of XS, S dresses seemed more worn than the second sets of dresses that got sent out due to damage noticed on the first set. The second set of dresses were like night and day compared to the first set. Even though it was the exactly same dress, the fit was much better. My boss loved the dress. She said I should just keep it and not return it... was tempted but alas sent all 4 dresses back. Quick drive and drop off at the post office and I was done. I will definitely rent from here again!
BrazenJess
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142 lbs
Apr 8, 2013

Hot dress

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress to be a judge for some exhibition boxing matches, and I loved it. It was incredibly comfortable, and I got the ultimate boyfriend seal of approval: "It looks hot, but like you're not trying." The halter strap at the neck was a little bit loose, but not bad at all, and it was actually probably more comfortable that way. The skirt was short, but not so short it made me nervous. I was very happy with this dress.
RM
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Jul 26, 2013

Perfect party dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The dress for sure runs big, but was super comfortable and very slimming! I got a ton of complements, and would highly recommend it!
Julia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Aug 23, 2013

Very faltering but weird straps

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Great dress but the straps were really weird. They were about 4 inches too long which made it imposable to ware with out a hair-thing to shorten them... which means a sweater to cover the back. I wore it anyway it was very comfortable- minus the straps.
caroline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 25, 2013

HOT

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved this. Super hot dress. Ran large for me--I usually never wear an XS.
Annie
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 18, 2013

Super sexy dress.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a "Sinatra Soiree" event in Washington DC in the summer of 2011. It was super sexy, body-con but with the drop waist skirt. Unfortunately the shoulder straps were just too long for me- as I was petite on top. But I would highly recommend to anyone- it would just be dependent on getting the right size. It does run large so make sure to size down.
Jenna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105 lbs
Jan 12, 2014

Perfect for my New Year's Eve Party!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Wore this dress for a New Year's Eve Party! I got so many compliments all night; the dress is form fitting through the waist and flared right at my hips…super flirty and sexy! I recommend ordering a size up if you have doubts; the material is stretchy but still runs pretty tight.
Sierra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 26, 2014

Flirty Black Number

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this little black number for a rehearsal dinner for a Charleston wedding. The thick fabric is forgiving and I was able to wear a strapless bra with the dress. The strap that goes around the neck is a little loose and awkward, but overall, I loved the dress. Small fit perfectly.
sarah
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 30, 2014

extremely flattering

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
very stretchy and runs a little on the large size. i ordered a M and it fit perfectly i am usually a size 6-8
Maggie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 3, 2014

Wore this to two different holiday events in December and I received so many compliments on it!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Looks like a simple black dress but the details and fabric add a lot of character. It's very fitted in the waist, so definitely take that into consideration before renting. It's a great LBD!
Kristy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 31, 2014

Hott LBD!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
Cute little black dress. Had some head turns and girls walking by saying they loved the dress. Rent this for a LBD girls night!!!
Natalie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 8, 2014

This dress is so flattering! It made me feel beautiful and confident!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is definitely a figure flattering dress. I loved it because it accentuated my waist but hid my problem areas (butt and thighs). The flare at the bottom is flirty (not "little girl-ish") and the double straps keeps it interesting. Overall, a very beautiful, classy, and fun dress appropriate for any occasion!
Jennifer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124 lbs
Apr 27, 2014

Amazing dress that makes you feel like a million bucks!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved this dress. Can not say enough about how this dress makes you look and feel. Fabric sucks you in but the straps are super long like other reviews say but easily fixed with safety pins.
C
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
May 14, 2014

Great for a bachelorette party!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Rented this for a bachelorette party with a dress code - aka "black dress night" It is a great dress, very form fitting though! I thought the flared skirt was super fun, and was a great dress for dancing all night. I didn't have the same problem that others had with the straps, but I did wear the XS instead of the S to avoid that problem. Didn't need spanx, as the dress was its own version! Would rent again!
B
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 136 lbs
Jun 11, 2014

Figure flattering LBD

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
So many compliments! I didn't find the neck strap to be loose like some of the other reviewers mentioned. Loved it!
Alex
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 19, 2014

Free birthday dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The only reason I rented a dress on my birthday was because it was free with my pro membership (highly recommend investing in this!!!)! I didn't have any big plans so I thought this dress would be fun just for a relaxed night out. It was a little more formal than I thought but I dressed it down by wearing sandals and minimal jewelry. It was super sexy though, and I loved the heavy material! The straps were a little long like other reviewers said, but I didn't mind the low neckline that it created. My bf was pretty upset when he learned that I didn't actually own it :( great rental!
Miss Fern
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 25, 2014

Not great

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fits weird, heavy fabric, not flattering.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 30, 2014

So cute but huge!!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I usually rent the small with an xs as my back up but almost never wear the xs. I'm 5'3, 125, 34DD. When this dress was sent the back up size apparently came back in bad shape so they sent another dress instead. Sadly, the small was HUGE. Like down to my knees, too much fabric, straps way too long. Maybe if I was like 5'6 it would have been better to pull off but even in 6 inch heels it looked ridiculous, definitely too big for a night out in vegas :( the xs i'm sure would fit so i'll definitely try to rent again but if you're renting, size downnnn!!
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Jul 1, 2014

Comfortable but it was long.

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
I'm 5'9 and no hoochie, but felt like this was long for a typical party dress, it was close to my knees! Most dresses I've rented from here have actually been close to too short so I guess that was refreshing. I wore it for a night out in Vegas, it was extremely comfortable and felt really secure. I read other reviews that it felt like an Herve Leger / French Connection dress they way they suck you in like spanx, I did not feel that way, but wasn't unhappy either.
C. Taylor
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Jul 3, 2014

One of my favorite RTR rentals - EVER!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress is so underrated, it is AMAZING! I have already ordered it again for later in the summer. I was worried about it being short (I'm 5'11") but it was fine for a date night of dinner and dancing. The fabric is stretchy but flattering - it really holds you in! Think Herve Leger-esque banding. The flare is a flattering, slimming, and fun touch!
Abbie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 16
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 5, 2014

Walking in and feeling great in my dress like everyone was watching me

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The dress was form fitting in the torso which I liked, and was a very sassy dress. It was chic and it made a statement without being too bold.
andrea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165 lbs
Jul 12, 2014

Meh

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress is just okay. It is a little long and a bit matronly really...it's not the best for a date night or birthday which is what I wore it for.
Sarah
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123 lbs
Jul 28, 2014

Bachelorette Party

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this for a friends bachelorette party. We were all told to wear little black dresses. This was extremely flattering, comfortable, and cute. It would definitely be hard to wear a bra so I didn't wear one. Also, it is very snug around the stomach area so if you are self conscious about that it may not be the dress for you. I would rent this dress again.
Bethany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 4, 2014

Loved loved loved this dress!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I actually intended to wear a different dress to my cousin's wedding, with this as my second choice. However, I am so happy that I ended up with this one! I got so many compliments. It was true to size and very flattering!
Esther
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118 lbs
Aug 13, 2014

Fits like a glove

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Great fitting dress with a fluted hem - really flattering if you want to show off your figure! I usually wear XS and I ordered the XS - it was skin-tight, like a bandage dress. Loved this dress!
Risa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106 lbs
Aug 14, 2014

Super cute for a night out!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I'm short so the small was way too long in the straps and chest. Very fitted through the midsection. I ordered the small and xsmall and ended up wearing the xsmall because the straps were a smidge smaller. I did have to use safety pins for help. Spanx were needed to smooth everything out but the dress does cover the "chicken cutlets" (armpit fat) which was a huge plus. Comfortable dress and didn't ride up!
Gwen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 14, 2014

The customer service is great!

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It was a snug fit but the band around the neck seemed stretched out which made the dress hang below my chest. I did not wear this dress for my event.
Paige
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Sep 14, 2014

Very flattering shape

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Stretchy material made the dress super comfortable to be in for the entire night, straps were slightly loose, but not annoyingly so. Material is very thick so I wouldn't wear if it's going to be really hot, but perfect for fall/winter. Very flattering, got lots of compliments, highly recommend!
erika
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
Oct 20, 2014

Really pretty if you are not worried about a pooch

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I renting this for my free birthday rental for being a pro member. I was hoping it would hide my pooch but it did not, Even with Spanx I felt like I had a gut. Fabric is stretchy but you need confidence to wear it.
Megan
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 24, 2014

Awesome dress. Awkward fit

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I tried this on at an RTR shop and loved it. However when I arrived today the straps were way too long. I'm 5'9" and don't think of my torso as short so I'm not sure what the issue was. The shoulder straps just sort of gapped and flipped over. Strange. The fit of the dress is very flattering, even for someone with big hips and a little baby belly. I'm wondering if it's just a bit stretched out in the shoulders?? Too bad I can't wear this but luckily Id purchased another dress. C'est la vie
Ellie
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 17
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 31, 2014

Super flattering and comfy!!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my first RTR rental, so I was worried about how it would work. I loved it!! It came right on time which was my main concern, as my school post office often takes a long time with packages. The dress was heavier than I expected but the weight was not noticeable while I was wearing it. The straps were long so I fixed that with some safety pins, but other than that the dress was perfect- the tight waist with a flared skirt is super flattering, I didn't have to pull the dress up all night, and it was long enough to feel comfortable dancing/bowling but it was definitely not too long (especially with heels). Highly recommend this dress!!!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×