Rent the Runway

Vena Cava

Fit n Flare Dress

$84 to buy
$570 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This dress by Vena Cava is the perfect combo of sexy and sweet. Perfect for a cocktail party or just a night out.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4,6; Size M=8; Size L=10.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fabric is very sketchy
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout bodice - contrast waist band great for creating a waist
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at fullest part of hips then flares
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10' . )

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; Size S=4,6; Size M=8; Size L=10.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fabric is very sketchy
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout bodice - contrast waist band great for creating a waist
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at fullest part of hips then flares
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10' . )

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black heavy stretch knit. V-neckline with halter strap. Flared skirt body. Hidden back zip. 33" from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

75 reviews

Fit
Small 4
True to Size 52
Large 18
Photos 22
Brooke
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Sep 9, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
One of the best dresses I have ever worn. The bandage top is super flattering and fierce, but the skirt is flirty and feminine- especially for a pear.
Whitney
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Body type: Pear
Jan 31, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I loved this dress and was actually sad to send it back to RTR. I wore it to a Gran Opening and got so many compliments on the dress but mostly on my figure, which is what makes this dress so great! It's simple and chic, but what makes the sell is how thin you feel and look in it. Must rent!
deborah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 51
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107 lbs
Mar 28, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
LOVE THIS DRESS. it's the perfect combination of sexiness and elegance. The fit was amazing! I am going to rent this dress again.
Kaitlyn
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 25
Body type: Petite
Apr 15, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Beautiful dress and quality but since I'm so short i found the dress to be too long in the torso for my body. Best for someone a little taller i think so the proportions fit more properly.
Robin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 25, 2011

Overall fit: Small
Great form fitting dress. it was a little tight in the torso, but still looked great. one of the straps seemed to have been stretched out, so i had to readjust it throughout the night.
Mari
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128 lbs
Nov 2, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
The dress was a success by the amount of comments I got. The thick fabric made it look really nice with my body type. I had to use spanx as the product details recommended. I am 5'2'' and the small size fit me really well in lenght. I have small breast but the XS did not fit my breast area as good, so I used the Small and was really happy since it is a really comfortable fit, too.
Katy
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 10, 2011

Just right!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress! It was snug in all the right ways...It's very complimentary to a small waist. Also, the fact that the fabric is so thick makes it very forgiving even though it's snug. Will rent this one again!
Jillian
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 10, 2012

Great dress

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I worse this dress for a bachelorette party. I got tons of compliments from the other ladies and felt very confident in this dress. My photo does not do it justice. It was rainy and humid that night so, I wasn't looking my best. Anyhow, it is a very flattering, figure hugging dress. I ordered the XS and S, and wore the XS, as the strap on the S was a bit too loose.
Alexandra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 27, 2012

Makes you look SO skinny!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is absolutely fantastic! I'm 5'8 with an hourglass shape and the dress fit great. The only problem was that it was a little short for my height - I should have gone with the medium. Other than that, the construction of this dress is such that no matter your shape, you will have the tiniest waist! It is VERY flattering. One issue I had, however, is that the particular dress I was sent seemed to be worn out - there were three holes that prior customers had tried to sew up...I had to fix them. Overall, fantastic dress - definitely recommend!!
Katie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 9, 2012

Fits like an Herve Leger

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
I rented this dress for Vegas, and I was looking for an Herve Leger-like dress, but with a little more flare at the bottom. The fabric is heavy weight stretch knit, much like Herve fabrics, but without the banding. It really sucked me in, and lifted in the right places. I'm 5"1, and this dress was several inches above the knee, so it looked youthful, but age appropriate and very sexy. I was able to pin a regular bra into the garment, but it wasn't easy, I hate strapless bras. I will say that this dress is fitted over the hips, and really does flare until past the hip, so if you are trying to find something to disguise your hips, you might want to look at other options that have a true flare at the waist, because it could emphasize your hips. Overall, it was a super-hot dress and I got asked lots of questions on where I got it.
Keriann
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 13, 2012

The best dress I've ever worn!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This is the ultimate LBD! Loved it - honestly, I didn't want to send it back! :) A couple weekends ago, I was in a wedding & the bridesmaid dress was hideous. Thankfully, the other bridesmaids mentioned that they were planning on changing at the reception once all the pictures were done. I wanted something simple (yet awesome!), and this dress was p-e-r-f-e-c-t! It was super flattering and great for dancing the night away! I will definitely be renting this one again.
KC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 133 lbs
Aug 13, 2012

So flattering!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I love this dress. I have rented it twice now and it really looks spectacular on. I love that it has kindof a sporty, tennis shape. It's girly and flirty but sophisticated at the same time. Highly recommended for any occasion! I now order it as my back-up dress if I'm trying something new because I know it loos great.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 16, 2012

LOVE this dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for a birthday dinner and I LOVED it. It was a last minute replacement for another dress that I had ordered but was damaged in my size and I could not have been happier with this. It is very flattering, the material clings to your curves, but slims you a bit at the same time. I would definitely get this one again.
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 20, 2012

Not for me

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
To be honest, I knew I was taking a risk when I rented this dress. It's not really my style & the cut didn't look like it would be too flattering on me. And it wasn't. I'm pear-shaped and this dress made my small chest look smaller and wasn't doing a whole lot for my hips. Also, I'm 5'6" and the dress nearly hit my knees. If your chest & waist are one or two sizes smaller than your hips, like mine are, there are more flattering dresses for you to rent.
Paulina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Aug 21, 2012

One word: Perfect!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
My husband's comment when he saw this on me was "You are stunning." I didn't want to return it. It is SO flattering and just the perfect fit. The XS fit me as well, but was a bit too short to wear to a wedding. The top fit me well, but I have broad shoulders, so it may be a bit loose on the average woman. I absolutely LOVED this dress, got compliments all night, and felt sexy all evening. Thanks RTR.
Cari Ann
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138 lbs
Aug 25, 2012

Cute, but not for my figure

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was my second choice pick. It was very form fitting through the hips and didn't give me a very flattering shape! This dress would be best on someone with narrow hips it gave me WAY too many curves!
Alexandra
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
Aug 30, 2012

BEST DRESS EVER

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I highly recommend! I was a little concerned given how fitted the dress looks but it was so flattering!
Michele
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 17, 2012

Great for my Birthday!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Perfect dress for my birthday party! Thanks RTR!
Suz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 23, 2012

The look on my dates face when he saw me

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was so worried that this dress would be too short from the product description but because of the stretchy, heavy material it was much longer that I expected (to my relief). I only had a problem with the straps- either they have gotten a bit stretched out or are just too big but I taped them down and honestly didn't even notice them the rest of the night. The dress was so flattering and the skirt was great for dancing! I got compliments all night on it. Definitely would rent this one again.
Tera
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Oct 28, 2012

Amazing Dress

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I loved this dress. Super sexy and form fitting but still elegant without being showy. I am 5'5" 112 normal size. Small bust and short legs. i will say the torso was a bit long. I actually ended up rolling it under the empire seam once and you couldnt even tell. It shortened it just enough for my shorter legs :)
LL
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 11, 2012

killed it!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
dress fit great for hourglass and really highlighted. LOVED it
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 3, 2013

This dress really accentuated my curves and small waist. Added a glittery belt and it was perfect!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Amazing dress, loved the bandage fit and is great for girls with hourglass figures to help emphasize a small waist. Would have preferred a M, but that was out. The fit around the body was nice, but the neck and arm straps were LONG.
tanya
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 106 lbs
Jan 10, 2013

The dress was the perfect balance of sexy and sweet!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
The dress was so comfortable yet it felt great without a bra. (I'm a 32 full C) It's a perfect dress for a date or a party. I will definitely rent it again!
jenna
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 11, 2013

very flattering and almost spanx-y

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
the dress fit very well on the abdomen and bottom of the dress, but the top is definitely tight if you have a full bust. also, the strap that goes around the neck was pretty loose, but not too bad.
Kristin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Jan 28, 2013

Not right for me

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The dress didn't work for me. The straps were too long on top and the dress went down to my knees. It didn't flatter me. I think it'd work best for someone with a larger chest, curvier body and a little taller.
ramsay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 30, 2013

I couldn't wear it! Didn't fit- cut me up in all the wrong places!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The cut cut my long figure into weirdly proportioned sections!
Cheryl
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 8, 2013

Perfect fit!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I love this dress, it is so flattering on. I added a belt to it to add a little more definition to the waist and to break up the dress a little bit. Great length, definitely sucks you in, loved it!
Racheal
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 13, 2013

It mostly fit really nicely.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The straps were a bit long for me so the dress hung a bit low in the front.
J
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 26, 2013

"Best you've ever looked"

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I definitely don't normally wear dresses this fitted but I felt very comfortable and sexy in this one. I am an 8 in most dresses and wore the M in this, but the S also fit (the looser M was slightly more flattering in the stomach). I did not have a problem with the neck strap as some have, both sizes fit comfortable there (but I also have a fairly full bust). Great dress!
sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 10, 2013

rented to wear on vacation.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
fits true to size. definitely flares out at the bottom. nice dress, but nothing special really. easy to pack since it does not wrinkle.
Jen
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 22, 2013

Extremely flattering - got so many compliments.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
The dress was very flattering. The material has a little give in it. I'm usually a small/medium in dresses and the small fit perfectly.
Ali
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 105 lbs
May 1, 2013

My friends loved it so much that 1 of them wore it the next night!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
great fit, very comfortable, arrived in great shape (no fading, no stains)
Jenny
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
May 22, 2013

cute but not ideal

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I ordered this as a backup for my bachelorette party but ended up wearing a sequin Milly dress instead. This was cute, but the other reviewers were right -- the straps were way too long. There's also a look to it that makes it look like a mix between a LBD and a suburban mom's tennis dress. My boyfriend loved it because it was very tight fitting, but my friends thought it was too daytime. I wish I had ordered an XS instead of the S...maybe the straps on the XS would've fit better. And it's so stretchy, even more so than a Herve Leger, that I don't think I would've had a problem zipping the XS up. Maybe I'll get it again for another occasion, but it wasn't right for this party.
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Jun 21, 2013

I loved the dress, the material was thick, but sadly it was too big.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The straps were too big, they sorta hung there.
RM
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Jul 26, 2013

Perfect party dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The dress for sure runs big, but was super comfortable and very slimming! I got a ton of complements, and would highly recommend it!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×