Burgundy Bliss Gown

$44 to buy
$298 retail
Stylist Notes

Rent this classic plum colored Twelfth Street by Cynthia Vincent gown. A simplistic style for your formal event. Pair with a color contrasting accessory like the Erickson Beamon's Chrysler Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large but very short. We recommend going one size down for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS-L.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with tie sash
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs slightly short - available in 1 length: Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Model's height is 5'9''.

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large but very short. We recommend going one size down for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS-L.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with tie sash
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs slightly short - available in 1 length: Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Model's height is 5'9''.

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Burgundy silk. V neckline. Pleated body. Black grosgrain belt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. Imported. See size and fit notes for length.

Share
50 reviews
Fit
Large
(2)
True to Size
(37)
Small
(11)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
LR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
January 5, 2012
Wore to a wedding
Amazing!! The dress is so classy, it is a must to wear as a wedding guest! It fits amazing... I am curvy, with a large chest and it fit perfect. The LR was a little long, even with about 3 inch heels... I am around 5'6. Definitely highly recommend.
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
February 14, 2012
Classically elegant
I wore this dress to my husband's annual fire department gala. It was very pretty and comfortable. One does not need to wear a "special" bar with this dress. I would recommend a bit of heel with this as I had to be careful while walking. I am unable to wear a substantial heel due to an ankle surgery. The belt is a bit slippery and needed to be readjusted frequently. Another belt would be an easy substitution.
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
February 17, 2012
great dress for a formal event
The material of this dress is really high end and beautiful. The length was a little off for me, but I loved the way the overall dress fit. It was very Grecian and loose in the right places for me as a bigger busted gal. I am pregnant and was looking for something classy that would cover my bump well - this dress did the trick, plus you can wear a regular bra with it also.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
LR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175lbs
March 18, 2012
Beautiful!
Dress was true to size. I wore this to a formal charity auction and felt gorgeous! The color is rich and the dress is comfortable.
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
April 29, 2012
Prom night!
This dress is gorgeous and fun to wear. It is a little short and I was disappointed that they didn't offer long sizes. I ordered a medium hoping it would be a little longer than the small, but they are pretty much the same length. I wore it with a different belt because the belt it comes with isn't very fashionable. I did get a lot of compliments on the dress though. The dress is simple and elegant. It's not as edgy as I thought it would be.
Size worn:
LR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 65
Body type: Hourglass
May 7, 2012
Beautiful dress!
I rented the dress for a charity ball and I felt like the "Belle of the Ball". It's a beautiful burgundy color and the fabric floats around you. It is a bit long; but I'm only 5'1". Got several comments about how gorgeous the dress was.
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
August 22, 2012
Gorgeous!
I never wear dresses, never mind dressing formally, but this gown was so comfortable, I forgot I was wearing a dress! My size usually runs between small and medium so I tried both and decided on the medium. It was very light and fell nicely on my frame. I liked that the belt was a tie-on sash...it was nice to be able to loosen or tighten it to my liking. The dress was a little long for me...I had on a 3.5" heel and I stepped on the hem a couple of times. Other than that, I definitely adored this dress. I highly recommend it for anyone who likes to dress simply but elegantly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 2, 2012
Godess Gown
This is a pretty gown. I ordered a small, a medium would have worked better for me.The under lay was snug around my body but the overlay flowed perfectly. Snug around the chest.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
January 23, 2012
Tons of compliments from everyone!
I wear a 36C and it was a little tight in the bust but it just meant no push-up bra. :) It was a tad long (I'm 5' even) so I ended up wearing 5" heels. I also didn't much care for the ribbon that came with it, so last minute I wore a fitted jeweled belt which matched the earrings I rented perfectly!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 59
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 126lbs
September 11, 2012
Always a good experience with RTR!
Wore to opening night of the opera season. This was a really comfortable dress. Overall, the small fit me better, but the bust was too tight, so I went with the medium. A little looser in other areas, but still looked and felt wonderful. Length for me worked perfectly with my 3" heels. As others have noted, the belt seemed to have a tendency to slip, but I used some double-sided stylist tape and it held in place perfectly all night. I paired the dress with Badgley Mischka Falling Leaf Earrings and the Dress Me Up bracelet from Cara Accessories.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 157lbs
September 20, 2012
Gorgeous color and pleats.
I really liked this dress. The color - somewhere between maroon and plum - is beautiful, and I loved the pleats. When I first put it on, I thought it looked like a sack, but the sash brings it in at the waist and makes it very flattering. It was also super comfortable, and I could wear a regular bra with it, which is a huge plus for me. I wore it to back-to-back weddings, and I got tons of compliments! My only complaint was the sheer overlayer was pretty delicate, and I had to be very careful to keep it from snagging on my shoes.
Size worn:
LR
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
September 22, 2012
The rental and return process was so easy!
I rented this dress because I have a little tummy and I thought it might hide it well. Not so much! It's a beautiful dress and the color is so unique... but it doesn't look great if you have curves :)
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 9, 2012
Didn't wear it.
I couldn't get it on... Very small on top and no zipper or anything. Very disappointed.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
October 13, 2012
love this dress
such a pretty dress, it did graze the floor when i was wearing 4 inch heels but i didn't mind. maybe a little mature looking for my age, but i loved the way it fit so overall i was very pleased!
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
November 7, 2012
This dress was great! It fit perfectly!
The dress was a great length. I am 5'7" and it just touched the ground with me wearing flats so it was the perfect length. I didn't end up wearing the belt that came with the dress. I used a belt from my wardrobe that was a little tighter and didn't have anything hanging down. Everyone loved the dress and I got many compliments. Great for a fall wedding!
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
November 16, 2012
Not my favorite, but it worked
I have rented from RTR before, and although the dress was nice, I have rented better. I have decent sized boobs and I thought the dress hung weird, but my friends disagreed. Also, it looks a little old on.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
November 25, 2012
Classy, comfortable and elegant!
I wore this while working a formal gala and I was able to run around and work, while also feeling elegant and classy. Length was perfect for a short girl, and fits true to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 16, 2012
This was a back-up dress and I didn't end up wearing it but I wish I had had the chance!
Perfect fit, super comfortable and flattering. I rented it for a military ball and ended up wearing the other dress I ordered but it was a tough choice! I wish I had had another event to go to so I could wear this one. Length was perfect, and I loved the color.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
January 15, 2013
Fit was fine, but maybe a little short. I am not very tall. 5'6" and could not wear heels with dress
LOVE your site! The dress I was sent was a very pretty dress and of nice quality. I went to a Mardi Gras Ball and the requirement was the dress to be floor length.Since they are so strict I could not even wear flats to meet the requirement. Unfortunately, I was not able to wear the dress but I did not verify the length when I ordered so I feel this was my fault. I had a personal back up dress so it was not a problem. I will certainly order a dress again and be careful to check length. I did not wear the dress so I could not provide a picture. sorry
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 109lbs
January 28, 2013
I received compliments throughout the night on how beautiful the dress looked on me!
I thought the dress fit perfectly! I got so many compliments on how classy and timeless the dress looked! Would def recommend this dress! :)
Size worn:
XSL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 62
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128lbs
February 4, 2013
Perfect fit; perfect evening!
The fit was perfect; a bit long for my 5'2" height. The belt came missing a tassle. Very pretty overall.
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
February 25, 2013
Awesome
This dress was really flattering and very forgiving. Got so many compliments on the dress- highly recommended! The only thing- if you're taller than 5'2" DEFINITELY get the longer size. I got the XSR and wearing 2" heels touched the floor perfectly. Also- Normally I wear around a size 4- managed to fit myself into the XSR (I ordered last minute) the bust area was actually really tight. So just beware! But I still loved this dress
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
April 17, 2013
great for fall wedding
first size tried on fit very well. had to use double sided tape on the chest region though. very easy process. alot of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
April 19, 2013
Beautiful color, perfect for a winter black tie event.
Beautiful dress, albeit a little long. There was also some extra room in the size small for my pregnant belly. I wore it to a black tie charity function in December and received a ton of complements.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
May 1, 2013
Went with another dress
I rented this dress for a wedding but ended up wearing my backup dress instead. I liked this dress but the other one just flattered my curves a little bit better. I would recommend this dress but would be careful to look at the style notes as it is a little bit short.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
LR
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 61
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
May 3, 2013
Didn't fit, had to return it
The gown was lovely, but it was too tight across the hips and thighs (not my best feature, but I am not THAT big) so I could not wear it. I was afraid I would rip it when I danced or sat down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
October 20, 2013
Perfect dress for us petite ladies!
I rented this dress for my friend's black tie optional wedding. I wanted to wear a long dress - because why not? - but being super short, I have a tough time finding gowns that fit. This dress definitely runs small. I bloused the dress around the belt a little (as you can see in the photo) and wore 4 inch heels and it was the perfect length. So, on someone taller, I imagine you'd definitely need a Long size. The color is beautiful and the cut is very classy but still sexy. As other reviewers have noted, the bust area is a little snug, but I am small-chested so it wasn't an issue for me. Got lots of compliments all evening. Thanks RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
October 24, 2013
not for ladies who are small up top
I got this as my back-up and it was way too big. The skirt part is nice and flowy but the top was much too low. I am small chested but not disproportionately to the rest of me, I think the straps were just too long. The belt helps to give the dress some form but in the end it just hung off of me and kind of reminded me of a nighty. Also the photo shows a pattern around the bottom/back of the skirt but it was not on the actual dress, which I found odd. Could be a pretty dress on the right body.
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
December 27, 2013
Lots of compliments
I am pretty short so the dress was long on me but I used a belt (not the one provided) and wore heels and it mostly made up for it. Loved my first experience with RTR and plan on doing it again
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
February 24, 2014
The pictures do not do this dress justice.
The color is absolutely amazing, and really cannot adequately be gauged in pictures. It is incredibly comfortable and light. I got so many compliments on this dress, it may have outshone my performance.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
April 5, 2014
Gorgeous!
Was a little tight around the chest, but it was flowy enough that there wasn't an issue. I got compliments all night. It was beautiful and definitely will be renting from RTR again.
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
May 2, 2014
This dress was a hit at my Kappa Delta Formal!
Gorgeous color and great fit. Simple and elegant, exactly what I was looking for in a Formal dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 4, 2014
Very timeless, simple but elegant dress.
This was 1 of 2 option for my first black tie event. Since I've never been to a corporate black tie event I didn't know how fancy it would be so wanted something "safe", versatile, not too sexy or revealing that would be long and appropriate if it was pretty formal but also would work and not stand out too much if it was on casual side of black tie. I ended up going with another more dressy dress but I still like this one. The material was very flowly and had two layers. The chest area fit perfectly but is also forgiving if you are small chested. The pleats get a little stretched in the chest area but pleats in skirt were fine and looked "fresh". I was worried over time pleats would lose its folds. I don't like to wear tall heels but the XSR length was just an inch too long and I was stepping on the back of the skirt with 3 inch heels. I could had taller shoes and been ok but I think I would've prefer XSP length which wasn't available. I had hem tape but the hassle of trying to hem both layers of the skirt were a decision point in not choosing to wear the dress. My dress didn't come with the black sash for some reason but I was planning to use a RTR necklace as a belt to give it sparkle and it looked great.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
LR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
May 17, 2014
Military Formal perfect
The dress was long on my 5'2 figure and even with 3-4 in heels, the dress dragged. It was the perfect dress for the formal. Received so many compliments on the dress. It was comfortable and flattering.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 116lbs
May 21, 2014
I rented this dress for my high school prom, and I absolutely loved it!!
This dress was simple, yet elegant; exactly what I was looking for. The dress was very forgiving, so I could eat my fill during dinner. The dress was a little short, but it turned out okay because the dress did not drag on the ground during pictures and I didn't have to worry about holding it up. It was very easy to move around in, and extremely comfortable. The one complaint I have is that the sleeve kept slipping down my shoulder, but it did not make me change my opinion about the dress. I would highly recommend this dress to anybody.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
ML
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Body type: Pear
November 16, 2014
Elegant!
Loved the feel of the dress. I may have gotten a size too big as I felt it looked a little baggy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
November 20, 2011
Dancing the night away with my adoring husband.
This was the perfect dress for me! I am very petite, small-chested, and no shoulders. This dress fell nicely and gave me shape. The empire waist tassled ribbons were very elegant. I felt appropriately dressed and not overdone at a black-tie event. A couple tips--wear higher heels as the dress can drag (I wore kitten); and the ribbon should be tied tight, as it can start to sag throughout the night, you may have to retie a couple times. I also rented the suggested earrings--they looked great, but they were clip-ons, and my small earlobes were really hurting by the end of the night. Overall, well worth it, and it was really fun to dress up!
ericaJanuary 25, 2012
What a nice photo! I do hope you had this framed!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 116lbs
September 24, 2012
Got so many compliments from my sorority sisters on this classic looking dress!
Unlike the fit notes said, there did not seem to be a lot of room in the chest area. I'm a 32DD and pretty tiny all around, but the small didn't fit my bra in it without fashion tape. I LOVED the way the dress looked on me, although it was definitely a much different fit than expected. I thought the neckline was going to cut a little deeper. Overall I liked it, but felt a little "old" me for.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
January 12, 2014
One word, Classy!
I wore this to my boyfriend's dining out and got so many compliments! Everyone loved how classy it looked, especially my boyfriend. I ordinary wanted a small but unfortunately it wasn't available but the middle fit well! I loved how comfortable it was, I think that was the best part. I also wore 3 inch heels.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
April 16, 2014
Dancing all night in a gorgeous dress!
The only thing I would say is it ran a little tight in the bust area, (granted im a DD). I typically wear a small, but the girls definitely too tight.
See more reviews:
1 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×