Aztec Ruins Maxi

$45 to buy
$420 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Feel beautiful and comfortable in this chic Twelfth Street by Cynthia Vincent printed maxi. The perfect style for that beach vacation. Pair with Erickson Beamon's Confetti Cocktail Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size- elastic band at bodice allows for room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not fitted - Full length skirt conceals lower abdomen, hips, and backside
LENGTH: Available in one length - Measures 59'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'3''-5'7'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch- some stretch in bodice but no stretch in full length skirt
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Bump Friendly, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size- elastic band at bodice allows for room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not fitted - Full length skirt conceals lower abdomen, hips, and backside
LENGTH: Available in one length - Measures 59'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'3''-5'7'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch- some stretch in bodice but no stretch in full length skirt
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Bump Friendly, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Off-white printed silk. Strapless neckline. Ruched bodice. Pleated skirt. Padded cups. Inner boning. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. See size and fit notes for length. Model's height is 5'10''.

Share
78 reviews
Fit
Large5
True to Size67
Small4
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 16, 2013
i order the wrong date so i got the dress a hour before the event
the fit was perfect! i was in love with the dress. the cut was amazing and i really that it was simple with a unique pattern
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 111lbs
January 13, 2013
the dress!
very tight bust otherwise perfect! i wore it to homecoming and it was just formal enough but very cute :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Body type: Hourglass
January 5, 2013
Prom night!
This dress was so mod and simple, I got so many compliments. It fit perfectly, which was lucky because I only got the one size. I definitely recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
November 27, 2012
Best dress ever! Loved it and would certainly rent it again!!!
I'm 5'6 and the length was perfect on me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
November 25, 2012
perfect boho style
Loved this dress. Fit true to size I am 5'9 1/2 inches and 125 pounds, small chest and large rib cage. I wore it to a Labor day wedding with gunmetal colored flat sandals.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 127lbs
November 10, 2012
In love with this dress! Comfort meets style.
I'm so glad I chose this dress for the formal affair I attended. The size 2 fit me perfectly at 5'8"/32b. And, this dress is amazingly comfortable. I wish I could buy it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
October 14, 2012
Lots of compliments on this dress!
Gorgeous dress. I'm tall and it was just long enough. I think it could really be flattering on anyone. The boning hurt a bit around my ribs but overall I would wear this dress again. It was great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
October 10, 2012
More fitted in the skirt than it seems from the photo
I put that this runs true-to-size because normally I wouldn't fit into a 4 on the bottom but thought based on the dress style it would be more loose on the bottom. I ended up wearing a different Twelfth Street dress in the same cut but different print (Pastel Kaleidoscope), yet this dress seemed a lot tighter in the skirt and therefore didn't fit my pear-shape body as well (I normally wear a 4/6 on top and 6/8 on bottom). My only guess is that the Kaleidoscope has been worn more often and is perhaps stretched a little bit -- the outer chiffon-y print part is nice and flowy on the Aztec Ruin but it was the lining that was tight. That being said, the print is gorgeous in person and if it had fit, I had ordered the RTR-recommended Margaret Elizabeth Creamsicle Druzy Drop earrings to bring out the subtle orange in the print.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
October 10, 2012
This dress is gorgeous and perfectly casual yet classy for a summer garden wedding
I wore this in May and it was perfect. The wedding was in a botanical garden and this dress was idea. I am 5'8" and wore flats and it was a great length. It would have been too short for heels, just an FY for the taller girls out there.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 148lbs
October 7, 2012
Great dress!
It was beatiful, I received a ton of compliments. I am 5'9 1/2 and had to wear flats with this dress.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 27, 2012
perfect, easy to wear
wonderful, flattering fit. it was a bit difficult to zip but was not tight when it was on. Also, the hem is a bit uneven.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 21
Body type: Hourglass
September 19, 2012
the dress is beautiful. the dress was intended to wear to prom but was a bit too informal.
the material makes the dress informal. it's a sheer silky material. it's also somewhat see through. but the bust has some great boning for support. and the dress is so comfortable ! i think this dress is more intended for a beach wedding than a formal occasion. but it's gorgeous. oh and super flattering !
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
September 19, 2012
Stunning
I absolutely loved this dress! The detail in the bodice and the pattern is even more beautiful in person. I wore a size two and the fit was great. I'm 5'2" so had to wear some pretty high heels (about 5 in) so I wasn't tripping over the hem of the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 18, 2012
Loved this dress!
Beautiful print and the dress fit great and extremely comfortable, although I'm short so had to wear 4 inch heels. Definitely true to size. Received many compliments! Can't wait for another reason to rent it again!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
September 12, 2012
The dress arrived on time and fit perfectly.
The dress was beautiful and flowy. Although it could certainly be dressed up more, the event I attended required it to be dressed down with a simple belt and less flashy jewelry. The only con I thought the dress had was that after an entire evening of wearing it, the wiring inside the dress began to dig into my side a little. Many of my dresses have this, but they don't have that problem, so perhaps it was just that particular dress that needed to be adjusted. All in all, a gorgeous evening and a wonderful choice! Thanks RTR!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
September 11, 2012
Loved, but didn't wear...
I loved this dress, it is gorgeous but it was a bit uncomfortable. I got this in two sizes and I'd say it fits true to size. The thing I found uncomfortable were the sides of the top. They have flexible hard pieces on the side to keep the dress up and in shape, and it kept poking me. All in all it was gorgeous but I chose not to go with it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
September 4, 2012
One of my favorties!
Loved this dress! The zipper was a stuck a little so I had to zipper and then turn the dress around, but I loved it, great color. I was also able to wear without super high wedges. I could get away with wearing flats but it would drag a little! Loved this dress though, even better in person!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
August 30, 2012
Loved it
Dress came on time, fit perfect and was beautiful
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
August 30, 2012
LOVE this dress
This has been the only item so far that I've rented where I really considered purchasing it. Great pattern and fit. A little long for my height but what maxi isn't.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 118lbs
August 30, 2012
Outdoor Wedding Maxi
Loved this dress, I got a lot of compliments. I wore it to a friend's outdoor wedding. I only got one size (4) and it fit fine, although I may have been able to wear a size 2 - particularly for length. I was able to pull of the maxi with 4-in heels though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
August 21, 2012
Meh.
I wanted to love this dress, but it was just okay. I'm normally a size 8, but ordered a 10 based on reviews, since I have wider hips and didn't want the lining to be too tight - it was still a smidge tight, but the top was definitely large. I had to wear a bra to try to fill it out, and I felt like it added extra pounds to my waist with all the ruching. It was also a lot heavier than I would have liked - I felt a little "prom-y" at the summer wedding I attended, and it was a little warm in the Texas heat. Pretty dress, and I made it work, but I was more self-conscious than I would have liked to be. Probably better for someone with narrow hips and a larger bust.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
August 20, 2012
Loved it
Wore this dress for my boyfriend's graduation. May have been a little overdressed but I didn't care! It looked great. If you have bigger hips be careful because the silk lining is tight compared to the outer layer.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
August 16, 2012
It was fun to wear a dress i normally wouldn't splurge on and just drop it in the mail the next day
overall i really enjoyed my experience with rent the runway. I rented this dress for my cousins wedding. The dress fit very well and was a cute style. Very distinctive dress that i wouldn't want to wear over and over again so rent the runway was a great option. My only complaint was that the bottom of the dress was a little stained. Looked like it had drug the ground on the previous renter and the dirt stain didnt come out. It wasn't horrible and i was still able to wear it but a little disappointing it wasn't perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
August 13, 2012
Beautiful dress!
After visiting the showroom in NYC I decided to rent this dress for my bachelorette party, which was a wine tour of several vineyards. The dress fit perfectly and was really comfortable despite having to be outside in the sun for most of the day!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
July 25, 2012
winner!
I'm 5'8" 130lbs and I ordered this in a 4 & 6...and I wore the 6. There's a lining underneath all the flowiness which was very snug on my hips when I tried on the 4. The construction is wonderful, very silky and comfy. It just barely touched the floor, so I wore a low-heel sandal and it was fine. This was the perfect dress for a summer wedding!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
July 17, 2012
It was so easy, the dress got here 2 days before the event and shipping it back was a piece of cake! Hassle free
I wore this dress to my senior prom and I loved how different it was compared to everyone else's dresses. I wore flats and it was perfectly long enough, just grazing the floor so if you are taller than me (5'7") it's going to be too short, especially with heels. The colors are more visible than in the picture (coral, turquoise and a brownish color). The bust area fit perfectly on me so I didn't have to wear a bra and everything stayed put and was secure. Overall it was so cute and perfect for prom!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
July 9, 2012
My bridal shower was such a special day, and this dress was totally appropriate for the ladies only event on a sunny afternoon.
I wore this for my bridal shower and I couldn't have been happier. I got so many completments, I felt great, and I was extremely comfortable the entire afternoon. I'm 5'9" and this dress was the perfect length, even with really tall espadrilles on. I ordered and fit into both the 2 and the 4, but went with the smaller size so I wouldn't be playing with the top of the dress all day, as a result it stayed put and never slid down, rare for a strapless. I suggest ordering the smaller size as a back-up. I would order thsi dress again (wish I could own it actually!).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
June 13, 2012
Elegant yet Casual
I wore this dress to my godson's baptism. I received tons of compliments on it. The dress was perfect - I could wear flats (safer on the church floor when holding a baby), it fit like a dream, and was the perfect balance between being elegant but at the same time not too dressy. The dress was really comfortable and easy to walk in - many times a maxi can limit your stride which drives me crazy.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
June 5, 2012
On time and had everything i needed.
i rented this dress for my senior prom. i loved it and got many compliments. ran true to size and although its flowy, it has a tight fitting aspect. i LOVED it.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
May 21, 2012
No one else had my dress and it was a great way to save money on a dress that I am only every going to wear once.
The dress runs pretty short, I am 5'7 and i had to wear sandals and even then it was barely long enough. If your're taller than me this dress will probably be too short depending on the size. Other than that it fit perfect and i love the print. What you can't see in the picture is there is some teal and purple lining similar to the orange.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
May 15, 2012
Everyone told me, "that dress is so you!"
Didn't realize that this dress only came in one length, so it was very long and I had to hem it, even though I was wearing heels at least five inches tall. However besides the length the dress was true to size and I received several compliments! The print is even more intricate in person and I loved it a lot!
SophyApril 14, 2013
I just ordered this dress and I'm trying to figure out what to wear accessory-wise. Would you say the pink stripe is more orange or more like rose/peach colored? I can't tell from any of the pictures!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 27, 2012
Something different
I rented this for a black tie North Carolina country club wedding. I adore the print which had dove grey, turquoise, and rose stripes running through it. It fit my small check very well. I only tugged at it out of habit, but the bodice is made and fits very well. One thing to note: the dress is very sheer. Nude underthings are must with this!
michelleMay 3, 2012
I am about your size, but I am going to be 4 months pregnant for the event i am ordering for. Does the skirt part of the dress have room for a small baby bump? Does the material have any stretch to it?
RTRMay 3, 2012
Hi Michelle, the dress has boning in the top through the waist so it may be a bit too snug for a baby bump. The material is silk and it does not have stretch in the top.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
April 25, 2012
Tons of compliments, and I was comfortable all evening!
I rented this dress for a rehearsal dinner and it was so perfect! Because I am normally a size 0 up top and a 2 down below, I rented both sizes (love the free backup size!). I ended up wearing the 2 because the 0's lining was just a smidge too tight around my hips, but I didn't notice a significant difference in the bodice fit between the 0 and the 2. I wore 3.5" espadrille wedges and the length was perfect (I'm 5'5"), but I wouldn't have worn heels any higher than that. Taller ladies should probably go with a flat sandal. You can see from my photo that the pattern is really pretty and photographs well. I was a bit concerned that the dress would be too close to white to wear to a wedding event, but it is definitely grey from afar, with very pretty coral/orange accents when viewed up close. Had I planned ahead, I would have gotten a grey or coral manicure to go with! Above all, this dress was COMFORTABLE! Not at all restricting, and I didn't feel like I had to pass up dinner or "suck it in" all evening. That being said, it didn't look sloppy or too casual for a semi-formal event. The structured bodice also helped me avoid tugging it up all night long (not a good look).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
April 20, 2012
fit well, beautiful pattern!
This dress fit perfectly! however, I did not wear it...I ordered it as a backup and the other dress (BCBG feminine floral gown) was much more formal, flattering on me, and better length. I am 5'6" and with heels this dress was too short. Also, it flows from the waist so it was not as form fitting and flattering. Still beautiful but would not recommend for an extremely formal event! More casual!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
April 16, 2012
GREAT dress!
This dress is SO gorgeous in person! The color is not as white/cream as it looks, it's more of a khaki/taupe. It also has purple, coral, white, green and taupe stripes in it, so there's more color than there appears to be. For me, I usually wear a 0, and this fit perfectly but was a little bit large at the very top of the dress...the elastic may have been stretched out a bit, but it wasn't a major issue at all. The only real problem I had was the length. I am 5'6" and I wore 3"ish heels and it was barely long enough. If you're taller, you'll definitely have to wear flats. I would definitely rent this dress again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
January 18, 2012
Best rental yet!
I rented this dress for a Navy Ball and if it wasn't so $ in real life I would have bought it in a heartbeat. I'm usually a size 4 but got the 6 as backup and didn't even try it on. Only issue was having to pull up the top but that happens with strapless dresses. I'm 5"4 and wore 4 inch heels which were perfect, and everyone complimented me the entire night! Cute pattern and overall extremely flattering. Seriously recommend and would definitely rent again!
Amanda April 16, 2012
Did this fit in the bust area fine? did you have to keep pulling it up or did it stay put?
RTRApril 20, 2012
Hi Amanda! This style has boning in the top to keep the bust supported.
AmandaApril 20, 2013
I have a very large butt. Do you think it would look awkward in this loose dress?
AmandaApril 20, 2013
I have a very large butt. Do you think it would look awkward in this loose dress?
RTR CustomerMay 3, 2013
Hi Amanda, This dress is very flattering as it flows quite nicely! Highly recommend!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 15, 2011
Loved it!
Bust runs a little large, but besides that fit perfectly!
KateJanuary 12, 2012
Was this dress long enough on you? Did it touch the ground?
ErinMay 1, 2012
was it long enough? i'm your height and i just want to make sure it fits perfectly
RTRMay 2, 2012
Hi Erin and Kate, this dress measures 59'' from shoulder to hem and recommended for heights 5'3''-5'7'' - if you plan to wear flats it may work on a taller height!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
November 14, 2011
L.O.V.E., love, luv!!!
I rented this dress for my friend's wedding and from the moment I opened the bag I knew it would be a hit! Got so many compliments and the picture really shows you how amazing this dress is. The print is so fun and different. Runs true to size, I rented a 0 and a 2 as backup and wore the 0 at first but changed into the 2 for the receptio. There is a slip sewn right into the dress and the bust was a lil tight, but still fit great.
MeredithDecember 11, 2011
I'm thinking about renting this for my friend's wedding but I am nervous that it would look too white- was it more grey because of the black batik pattern?
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×