Trina Turk

Zig Zag Sequin Shift

$55 to buy
$440 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Time to party in this sequin shift by Trina Turk. An easy fit and style for a night of fun. Great when paired with a statement necklace!

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted with comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Multi color zig zag sequins(100% polyester). Boat neckline. Short sleeves. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
93 reviews
Fit
Large
(58)
True to Size
(32)
Small
(1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 163lbs
July 23, 2014
Great dress. Great service.
I did not actually choose this dress. RtR sent it to me because my first choice was unavailable in the back up size. I ended up not wearing it, but I love that RtR gave me more options!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
July 31, 2014
Fun Girls Night
I ordered a 4 and a 6 (I'm constantly going between these two sizes) and found the 4 to be too big. The dress was a bit heavy, but it was very comfortable and I would probably wear it again!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 10, 2011
This dress is awesome! It does run a little baggy, but is supposed to fit like that. I wore it to a rehearsal dinner. This dress is super fun!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
December 12, 2011
the simplicity of it all!
this was my first RTR purchase and i was sooo happy i did it. a coworker of mine told me about it and i'm so happy she did. i wore this to my company's christmas party and it was a huge hit. since it is a shift dress, it was very forgiving.. which was nice for a change.. so i could eat and drink without worry - HA. i wore a 4, although most of my trina turk dresses are a 6.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 3, 2013
Beautiful dress!!!
I wore this dress for my friends 30th birthday in NYC. Beautiful dress. i ordered 6 as my backup size but wished i ordered a 2.
missyApril 16, 2014
I'm 5'2" as well and wondering if this is the length or did you "hem" it somehow? Looks great!\
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 173lbs
March 27, 2013
Perfect dress for my 30th birthday!
The dress definitely ran large like all of the other reviews read so the smaller size worked out perfectly. I thought it was really comfy - though it was a bit weird sitting on the sequins and I understand what other reviewers said about the sequins scratching up their arms a bit. But I really did love the dress and received a ton of compliments on it all night. Also, I felt like you could really wear any type of accessory or shoes with it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 9, 2014
I LOVED this dress! Comfy and looked great with my boots :)
I wore this to the Academy of Country Music Awards and it fit in great. It was a little big which it's supposed to fit bigger because it's a shift, but it was just a bit too big...and the weight of the sequins kept pulling it down in the back, so I would've gotten a 2 if it was available. I rented this dress from the store in the Cosmo in Vegas and it was SO convenient! If you're in Vegas and needing a dress, I highly recommend making an appointment here.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
September 15, 2014
Such a fun dress!
This dress was so much fun to wear. I dressed it down for a birthday picnic but it could very easily be dolled up for a night out on the town. I have wide hips but this dress hugged my curves in all the right places. The cut was also flattering to my mid-section...I even went a size smaller. So fun and flirty!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
February 13, 2012
Bummed it didn't fit right
Rented this in a 6 and a 4 because reviews said it ran large. I'm usually a 6 but am still thick in the middle after having a baby 3 months ago--so was looking for something that might be forgiving around the mid-section. Loved this dress but it made me look too boxy and the lining was a bit tight for me. Big boobs, short torso, thick waist and no hips-this was not a flattering fit for me at all. Think this would look great on someone with a longer torso and longer legs.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 15, 2012
Not so much...
I felt as though this dress swallowed me up. I had rented it for date with my BF and when I put it on it did nothing for me. It was sad because the print was beautiful.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
August 20, 2012
Eh
This Dress was like wearing a really heavy bag. There was no shape and it was extremly heavy and itchy. Sadly, it did not look nearly as great as I had hoped and I did not wear this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 25, 2012
Glam -- But Runs Large and Long
After seeing reviews that the dress runs large, I rented a 0 and 2 instead of my usual 2 and 4. The lining in the size 0 unfortunately was too tight through the hips and thighs, and bunched up in the back (likely due to my short torso). The 2 fit much more loosely through the hips and thighs (almost too much), and was a big long (knee-length on a 5'2" frame) and shapeless. Also, the description does not mention that the sleeves are a bit "Dolmain" and fit very loosely, making the top rather baggy. I happened to have a black metallic skinny belt to wear with it that gave the dress more shape, but I would have preferred a sleeker/flattering shift shape that I was expecting. The print and fabric of the dress were rather glamorous, however and I was pleased with the quality of the dress. It was perfect for the event (a cocktail attire indoor/outdoor engagement party), although not the most flattering. One other warning: for women with long hair, an up-do is a must! Trying the dress on my long hair immediately became tangled in the sequins and would have been uncomfortable to deal with had I worn it down all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 7, 2012
Loved this dress for a fancy NYE dinner!!
runs a bit big, but paired with a pewter belt it was perfect!! Would love to rent this dress again!!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 2, 2012
I actually didn't wear this dress.
Boxy fit ... not very flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
December 4, 2012
Received so many compliments!!
Great dress, need to wear your hair up because it gets caught on the sequins very easily!! runs large b
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
January 3, 2013
Beautiful dress
The colors and sequins on this dress were gorgeous...but the overall shape of the dress was too boxy for me to feel feminine. I felt linebacker-ish with the high neck and the broad shoulders. Size 4 was too short but the size 6 swallowed me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
January 3, 2014
I did not wear it:(
Did not like this dress at all. For my body type, 5'3" and 120lbs, it fit like a potato sack. Did not wear it, sent it day I received it, before event. Customer service was fabulous!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
January 9, 2014
Great pattern and comfortable fit.
Beautiful dress but very much a tunic-fit. The dress was too loose on my petite frame. I ended up not wearing it and probably wouldn't re-order it based on my body type.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 5, 2014
Pretty correct when it came to the other reviews. Colors do not look as similar as in the photo.
The grey- is actually a hunter green. So that was slightly a fail on my accessories part. Some of the sequins were bunched when I got the dress, but you couldn't really notice unless you looked from far away. I did think the dress bunched at the crease in between your stomach and thighs, but overall for the price and convenience, great dress! Lastly, the dress photographs REALLY well! I am having a hard time for whatever reason uploading my photo, but trust me great photo op!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 26, 2013
I love this dress!
Dress fit big, I ordered a size 8 instead of the 10. I should have ordered the size 6, that's how loose this dress is. Still the dress was beautiful! People loved it! It was very comfortable and classic. Thank you RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
March 4, 2014
Great dress! Wears well!
Sequins rubbed under arm but very flattering dress!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
September 21, 2011
Dress was great, wore it to a contemporary art opening. I'm very petite with not much for curves and this actually looked nice on me. Could have been a little tighter and slightly shorter (I wore a 0). Wore a regular bra and had to watch the straps all night- dress could easily slink off the shoulder. All-around very comfortable and fun!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
October 5, 2011
Great dress! Good length for a taller person! I ordered a 6 and 8 but I wish I would have ordered a 6 and and 4. It runs a little big. Really flattering!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 168lbs
January 30, 2012
Loved this dress!
This dress surprised me I thought it might be shapeless from some of the reviews I read but that was far from reality. The dress was comfortable to wear I paired it with black stilettos and it was a hit! I received many compliments all night long. My only gripe would be that the sequins on the dress can lift up or look out of place other than that this dress was great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
October 3, 2012
LOVE IT!!! Comfortable and Sexy
This dress was so much fun to wear. I got so many compliments on it! I would recommend this dress for anyone. For this wedding i needed something that covered up a little more and i felt this dress was perfect!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Body type: Pear
October 12, 2012
Great for wedding or rehearsal dinner. Not as light in person so ok for wedding.
I got 2 sizes and wore the smaller with some little underarmer type shorts for additional support. The colors are fine for a wedding, I was worried the lighter color was a light cream and did not want to upstage the bride, but it was a bit darker in person, so I was happy about that. I paired mine with a camel tan fitted leather coat for a more casual look. The sleeves are great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
October 15, 2012
Perfect for my first anniversary celebration
This dress hit right above the knee (I'm 5'3"). It was super comfortable and my husband was amazed at how great it looked on me. He even asked if we could buy it! Some of the sequins were bent from shipping, but you could only tell if you were up close. The shoulders were a little big as I don't have broad shoulders, I could have worn the 6, but I wanted some wiggle room.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 5, 2012
Vegas!
I wore this dress in Vegas one evening during a bachelorette party. Everyone commented on how amazing it was and how I should just buy it. It was very comfortable to dance in, appropriate for dinner and wearing well into the wee hours of the morning. I really liked where it fell - just mid thigh. It wasn't too short and very classy - I'm sad I had to return it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150lbs
August 11, 2012
LOVE THIS DRESS
Fits true to size. Wore it for my birthday!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
March 18, 2013
Love it and perfect for a petite figure!
I wore this dress on NYE. It was fun and sparkly plus super comfortable. Only complaint is that it was a bit tight on my hips (i've curvy) and almost on the large size everyone else.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127lbs
July 3, 2013
Ended up not wearing this one.
I originally rented this for a wedding - however the wedding was canceled, so it was never worn. I thought the dress was really great, a little snug in the hips, but I usually have that issue with dresses in this style. The only thing I didn't like about the fit of the dress was how large the arm holes were.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
August 12, 2013
pretty dress
the 12 was too big ... look like it ran big... should have probably ordered in a 8 or a 10
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
August 17, 2013
Perfect wow factor
Great for people with non-standard/curvy figures in a rush for a dress. No worries about it not fitting correctly. Tunic style is a perfect fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
September 26, 2013
Comfortable Glam
This dress is great dressed up or down. The fit is very comfortable and loose in the right places. Great for curvy women, too. It still shows your figure without hugging your body. The sleeves are also very flattering and the lining keeps the sequins from getting too itchy. I ended up wearing this dress twice - as a teacher to my "Back to School Night" and then to dinner for a date - it worked great for both occasions!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
November 18, 2013
Avoided a LBD and shimmered at Friends Wedding!
The dress photographs beautifully and was extremely comfortable. I was able to dance the night away while receiving multiple compliments. Would definitely recommend.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
November 11, 2011
Great dress for e frigh
Amazing sexy and unique!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
January 17, 2014
great dress - perfect for NYE fun!
The sequins were a lot of fun and received many compliments! Perfect with tights!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
April 16, 2014
Perfect Engagement Party Eye-catcher
I was a first-timer to Rent the Runway, but was pleasantly surprised. The size 10 wasn't available for my date, so I ordered the size 8 and the size 12. The size 12 felt a little big, but it fell nicely and I got a lot of compliments. Looked great with gold peep toe heels. Great dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 9, 2014
I got this dress for a girls trip to Vegas and it was perfect! I got a lot of compliments
Fit great. Even though I have long legs, it wasn't too short when sitting down. Perfect dress for Vegas or any night out!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 17, 2014
Comfortable & Chic!
Love this dress! Despite it being 100% sequins, the beachy colors and comfortable over the head design make it a perfect party for a spring or summer special event. It is the perfect balance of formal and casual. The dress runs true to size, and easy to wear.
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×