Trina Turk

Seashell Bateau Shift

$30 rental
$338 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Have a bridal shower to attend? Or going on that casual date night out? Rent this easy and stylish dress by Trina Turk.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection with adjustable sash
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Coral silk with embroidery. Bateau neckline. Three quarter sleeves. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
395 reviews
Fit
Large
(99)
True to Size
(269)
Small
(23)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
July 25, 2014
This dress was perfect for my best friends wedding. I got many compliments on it. Very comfy
Fit great. Super comfy. Perfect for a wedding. Color was a beautiful coral pink.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
July 25, 2014
Great dress - can be casual or can glam it up with accessories, which I did.
I wore this dress to my friend's rehearsal dinner with a fabulous large and sparkly Kate Spade necklace from RTR (it's in my reviews). I love that this dress can be casual or you can glam it up a bit with accessories, which is what I did. The cut on the bottom and the sleeves really makes this dress unique and stand out. I'd definitely rent it again. True to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
July 31, 2014
Loved the color and the scalloped hem line!
Dress was awesome! The color and the hem lines are absolutely beautiful in person. The 2 fit much better than the 4. This dress definitely runs a bit big. I have a bigger chest area and unless I was standing straight up the material hung a little loose around my chest making me look a little bigger than I really am and didn't compliment my figure as much as another style may have. This was just the style of the dress though and I still really loved it. I'm 5'4" and the dress was a good length, not too short or too long. On someone taller it might be a little short. The material was a little worn and I could tell it had probably been rented many times as some of the seams were a bit frayed. However this wasn't too noticeable. Overall great rental! I was pleased.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 5, 2014
great dress!
I rented this dress for a baby shower. I do wish it came with the belt but I made out ok without it. RTR contacted me to let me know one of my sizes wasn't available but the dress they sent fit great so no problems there. The shape is nice and the color is really pretty. I wore the jewelry pictures but it would look just as nice with turquoise. it wasn't too short on me either. would rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
August 23, 2014
spring or summer stunner
rehearsal dinner hit! comfortable, great fit, gorgeous scallop design is flowy and perfect topped it off with some cute brown wedges and gold accessories and got all the complements. perfect for baby/bridal shower, rehearsal dinner or engagement party.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 5, 2014
I received several compliments on my dress at a friend's baby shower!
The dress ran a bit big. (I'm a true 8, but fit perfectly into the 6). The dress is very comfortable and unique. It is short--I'm 5'5" and it was certainly mid-thigh or above. I recommend it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
September 22, 2014
Fun for Night Before Beach Wedding Party
I rented this dress for a Welcome Party the night before a friend's Cancun beach wedding. I wasn't too sure if I liked it at first but once I removed the belt and added some colorful earrings, it ended up being a great choice! Dress can be worn with heels but I wore flat gold sandals and it worked just as well.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
September 23, 2014
Customer Service @ RTR is FANTASTIC!!
I was SO excited to wear this dress and my heart sank when I got an email from RTR customer service that BOTH my original and back up sizes were damaged by the previous renters. Unfortunately, I have friends who have had this happen to them before, so I packed a spare dress of my own - just in case. Well, to my surprise not only did RTR refund my purchase price for this rental but they also gave me a code for a Free Rental! I was blown away! Good customer service would've been to return my money but FANTASTIC customer service is the Free Rental. Thanks- I hope to use it for another formal event!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 6, 2014
I got SO many compliments on this dress! :)
FIT It's a semi-loose fitting dress. You have the option of wearing the provided belt to accentuate the waist, but I actually really liked the look of it without the belt. It fit me tighter in the bust area and much more loosely in the rest of the body (and it was actually a little funky fitting around the butt area - bunched up a tad). If I had smaller boobs, I would have been interested to see what the size 2 would have fit like (I ordered the 4 and 6 and wore the 4). I felt comfortable in it all night long and had no problem eating and drinking a lot at the wedding I was at since it was not tight fitting on my belly :) I got compliments all night long and am so glad I rented this dress!! PROS Beautiful pink/coral color, LOVE the scalloped edges, I got so many compliments and my husband loved it too! CONS It was a tad short, BUT since it was a bit chilly that evening, I ended up wearing black tights with it and the length wasn't an issue. But if I didn't have tights on, I may have been a little self conscious about the length (mostly while I was sitting down, it would ride up a bit too high). Also, it was a bit bunchy in the back, but I have a little junk in the trunk, so someone without much booty would have no problem and the dress would lay flat. The cons weren't enough for me to knock off a star from this dress's rating. LOVED IT OVERALL!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
October 10, 2014
Fit perfectly with a vintage, classy wedding!
I couldn't resist renting this for my friend's vintage themed wedding in a mod building! It was a fantastic fit with the patterning and details. I don't usually wear dresses with sleeves, but this one was very flattering. If I rented this again, I might want to accent it with a different or wider belt, to cinch in my waist in a more defined way and give the dress a bit more shape, but overall, it was truly a great dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 20, 2014
Gorgeous colour and feminine detail
This was a beautiful dress which garnered many compliments. The colour is flattering as is the scalloped detail. It was very feminine while being comfortable to wear. I wore it with turquoise jewelry, brown boots and leather jacket for a more casual look, however it can be worn as shown for a dressier event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 147lbs
October 30, 2014
Great color and style, just a bit snug.
This dress was very pretty. However it does run small. It was very tight in the bust area, so if you are busty or like to wear push up bras then size up. Also for being a "shift" dress it was snug in the hip area as well. I have a smaller upper waist and i have wider hips and legs so it was snug but I made it work. One other thing to note is the way the sleeves are made it was difficult to raise up my arms without the dress sliding up. Other than that, the color was great for the wedding and was very unique. I might not rent it again unless i went two sizes up from my normal dress size. (I am also doing this review 2 years later...but this is what i remember about it!).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
May 7, 2014
This dress got so many compliments!
I wore this dress to a March wedding and it was a smash hit! The dress fit well and ran true to size. I did not wear it with the belt that it comes with because it looked out of place. I wore this dress with nude pumps and minimal jewelry. The pattern was so cute and the scalloped bottom was great. My only complaint was that the dress seemed to be a little worn out, but the only person who could tell was me!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
December 4, 2014
Perfect dress
Loved the dress but it came with a hole in the armpit and without the belt. Since it arrived after 5pm the day before the event, it was too late for RTR to send me a new dress... My advice, have your dress delivered 2 days before your event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
January 14, 2015
I want to buy this and can't find it anywhere!
The dress is so great. It can be casual or dressed up for a bridal shower. I went with the 6 as a backup dress/to wear for brunch the next day and it fit pretty well--could have gone with a 4 if it was available though. The material and tie waist make it work out though even if you size up; I recall the arms being a little snug but was so obsessed with the dress it didn't bother me. RTR! LET ME BUY THIS ONE, PLEASE!!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 4, 2014
Beautiful, flattering and unique
I wore this to a wedding rehearsal and absolutely loved it. The dress fit perfectly and the belt did wonders to pull in the waist a bit. Overall the bit is a little shorter than I am used to, but I knew that when I ordered it, and it was perfectly fine. I wore it with black strappy heels, which were fine, but I didn't love them. I wish, instead, that I had worn a nude heel. I wore a black necklace and tan textured bag, and it brought the look together. I would definitely recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158lbs
February 8, 2015
Another RTR success!
This dress was so comfortable! I am 15 weeks preggo so I was a little worried about the sizing, but after checking the sizing chart and reading reviews I was comfortable that my measurements would be ok with the dress size - and they were! The color was very pretty for a day shower. The dress was a little frayed on the edges but it wasn't that big of a deal. I also recommend taking the dress out of the bag overnight before you wear it so the static is gone by the time you put it on.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 158lbs
March 4, 2015
It was a beach wedding in FL in Feb so I thought that the color and pattern were great!
It fit great. Really comfortable and normal bra was a bonus. I thought that it was going to be super short based on some of the pics, but I guess my legs aren't that long. It did NOT come with a belt which someone else pointed out so I bought a gold belt but didn't wear it. I'm not very skinny so my waist is not a highlight. The nice thing is that you can wear black, gold, silver or turquoise with this dress. The material was great, not too heavy.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
March 5, 2015
Love the customer service!
Loved this dress (worn without the belt) but there was a greasy spot on it when it arrived , so I ended up wearing a backup dress instead. With the belt, I ended up looking a little lumpy/sloppy. It was a teensy bit snug but easy to overlook because it's so cute otherwise!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
March 16, 2015
Being told I looked like a model in this dress.
I normally wear a size 6, and probably could've worn a size 4. Loose in the top, and not too short. My arms were a little tight, but overall I LOVED this dress. I got numerous compliments on it, including having a woman tell me I looked better than the bride!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
April 6, 2015
Wonderful dress with flattering fit, perfect for mimosa brunch!
The fit is true to size, at least for my curvy form. Just beware - it's short, especially when you sit! Sit cautiously!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Everyday
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
August 31, 2015
Perfect Dress for weekend brunch!
The dress fit perfectly, not too short. The silhouette is perfect for all body types and very flattering!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 148lbs
October 22, 2015
Runs a little big
Wore this to work dinner thing & it was great just a hair big on top.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
April 28, 2012
Great experience - I only got one dress since the other sizes weren't available, and it worked great. I got a number of compliments.
This dress was great, the fit is loose, so I'm glad I got a smaller size. I got lots of compliments. It's not a heavy material, so it worked great for an outdoor rehearsal dinner. The zipper was a little difficult, but otherwise it was fine.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
June 22, 2012
On time delivery and easy return - as always!
Loved this dress and got so many compliments on it all day long. I wore it to the Preakness Stakes in Baltimore - my tickets were in a VIP tent where dressing to impress was a must! I was in the dress for a total of 17 HOURS and was totally comfortable the entire time!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 24, 2012
Loved this dress so much I want to purchase it!!
I love love loved this dress!!! I ordered a size 2 and a size 4. I usually run about 4 to 6. I'm 5'9 140 lbs. It could have been a litttllleee longer, but I still felt great in it. My only complaint is that it didn't come with the belt pictured.
SSMAugust 31, 2012
I loved it so much I ended up buying it too! Trina Turk had a flash sale a couple weeks ago and it just happened to be on there :)
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 7, 2012
Great color, very comfortable
Great dress. Does run a little big in the waist, but because of the belt, it doesn't look frumpy. It's the perfect length for a girl my height but for a girl with super long legs, be wary.. it could be too short to move in :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 10, 2012
lots of compliments
the dress was terrific - got compliments all night. the only con was that neither of the sizes i ordered came with the belt, but you really didn't need it, it looked fine without it. i paired this with a turquoise bubble necklace and it looked great.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
September 17, 2012
Beautiful, comfortable and versatile dress!
I wore this dress to my friend's rehearsal dinner and got so many compliments! The color is beautiful and the pattern is simple but adds so much to make this dress stand out. My only complaint is it felt a little short when I sat down, but it wasn't a huge deal. It fits true to size and would really flatter any figure. I
KellyeNovember 20, 2012
what other dresses have you rented? we're exactly the same sizes (and age.. #creepy)
KatherineNovember 30, 2012
I've rented CAMILLA AND MARC Linen One Sleeve Romper, ML MONIQUE LHUILLIER Your Moment Sheath, MILLY Flutter Away Dress, and HELMUT LANG Torrent Gown. All have been great fits! Anything you've rented that you love? Always looking for new ideas...
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130lbs
October 2, 2012
Loved the dress, great color, lots of compliments!
The dress runs large. I usually wear an 8 but the 6 fit well. I wore a nude belt and nude heels. I wore it to a late summer wedding. I definitely recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 6, 2012
I LOVED this dress! I got so many compliments--wish I owned this one!
The dress fits true to size...the sleeves may be a little tight in some areas. It was perfect for a spring wedding since the dress has long sleeves. The color is beautiful and the details are gorgeous up close. I've seen a few other girls wear this dress and all of them have looked great! You really can't go wrong with this one.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
October 8, 2012
Perfect for Multiple Events!
I rented this dress for the day before my wedding. I wore it to a bridal luncheon, my wedding rehearsal and then rehearsal dinner. It was easy to wear throughout the day through many events. It was just the right amount of dressiness that I could wear during the day and then to a nice dinner. I wish I could keep this dress it was so comfortable!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
October 14, 2012
Delicate and feminine
I wore this dress for my 4 year anniversary with my boyfriend:) I paired it with the sapphire treasure chest necklace which actually worked beautifully. This dress's design is sewn on which makes it even cuter. I had several people (all women) stop me in stores, restaurants, a candy shop, and on the street. To tell me how beautiful the dress was! One gal stopped me in my tracks on my way to the bathroom and motioned with her hands from the top of my head to my feet saying "this is beautiful!" The dress runs large though. I might have even been able to size down..There was a little room in the shoulders but I did not mind. The length was flirty but classic cute as were the 3/4 length sleeves. Will rent again I am sure! :)
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
October 21, 2012
Fun color! Definitely stood out from all the black!
This dress was such a great color! I wore it to my 10 year high school reunion and received so many compliments! I ordered the 2 and the 4. The 2 fit, but I thought the 4 would be best for dancing :). I decided to do with out a statement necklace. I saw other pictures with such cute necklaces, and I had one already picked out to wear with the dress. When I tried the full outfit on, I decided to go with fun gold earrings instead. Very comfortable, but I had to pay attention to the length when I sat down.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
November 9, 2012
I wore this to a friend's bridal shower and received numerous compliments. It's a fantastic dress.
The dress fit beautifully. There were no areas where I would have wished for a better fit. Very flattering cut.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 11, 2012
The lace detail is stunning.
Again, not my favorite RTR rental. Would look better on someone with a smaller bust.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
November 20, 2012
LOVED this DRESS!
The dress was beautiful and the color was great. I'm pretty tall, but the dress was SHORT, had to be careful sitting down. BUT, loved the dress and wish it was still hanging in my closet. Wore it with nude peep toe platform shoes.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 16, 2012
The experience with RTR was great!
Dress was perfect! Wore it to a baby shower and received many compliments. The dress detail and material was beautiful and the fit perfect.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 28, 2012
Got me out of my LBD slump! I love RTR!
I was a little afriad this dress might be to springy for a December holiday party, but it totally worked! My friends all loved it and I loved wearing something unexpected beyond my usual LBD. I had some questions before my dress arrived and called customer service, the woman I spoke to was very helpful and had all the answers I needed. I already have a couple dresses lined up for my bday party in January.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
March 1, 2013
Great first rental!
I rented this dress for a fancy baby shower. I also rented the necklace the model wears in the picture. It fit great, it was comfortable, and I received tons of compliments! It was a winter shower so I paired it with black tights and black heels. I went back and forth between sash and no sash but ultimately kept it because I felt like it made my figure look a bit better. This was my first rent the runway experience and I will definitely be renting again!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
8 / 10

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×