Trina Turk

Seashell Bateau Shift

$30 rental
$338 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Have a bridal shower to attend? Or going on that casual date night out? Rent this easy and stylish dress by Trina Turk.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection with adjustable sash
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Coral silk with embroidery. Bateau neckline. Three quarter sleeves. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
395 reviews
Fit
Large
(99)
True to Size
(269)
Small
(23)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
August 14, 2012
Perfect for Bridal Shower
I rented this dress in a 4 and a 6. The 4 fit perfectly so I didn't even try on the 6. I wore it to a friend's bridal shower and got TONS of compliments. My only complaint is that I wish I could've kept it. Although, sitting it was kind of short for me but other than that it was perfect. I paired it with a nude heel and a cute statement necklace and did an updo. LOVED it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
August 14, 2012
Great Bridal Shower dress!
I rented this dress for my Bridal Shower and was a little nervous because it was my first RTR. I am so happy with this dress! Everyone LOVED it! It does run large like the other reviews state, so I was very glad I ordered a size smaller then the size I normally wear! I will definitely be renting this dress again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
August 14, 2012
The color was FABULOUS to wear at an outdoor party, it popped brightly against the landscape!
I wish I didn't have to return this dress! It was so much fun to wear however I do wish i had gotten a 2nd size down because the 12 was a tad big on me. However- this dress is ridiculously short; it might be from all the drycleaning etc but I am 5'5" and i could not lean or bend over at all. When sitting, even on the edge of a chair, my lady bits were not covered which made the bridal shower I was attending very interesting... Overall I would rent this again even though it was short.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
August 14, 2012
Everyone loved it!
I recieved SO many compliments on it all night! The necklace was the perfect addition!
BreAugust 31, 2012
Could you tell me if you got the necklace in the green or black color? I can't really tell in your picture. You looked fabulous, and the necklace solidified my decision to rent this dress!
RTRAugust 31, 2012
Hi Bre! It looks like Casey got the necklace in the green color! It looks great with this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
August 14, 2012
Really cute! Bridal shower
The fit was larger like the other reviews say. Everyone loved it. The lining is a bit short, but considering the cut of the hem it is understandable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
August 14, 2012
Pretty and professional.
Loved this dress and got a lot of compliments but admit that it wasn't the most comfortable dress to wear because it was narrower than expected. Beautiful fabric and design, though. If you are straight and narrow you can't go wrong with it, but curvier girls who note the fit is a bit restrictive.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Apple
August 15, 2012
Very Cute Dress
I wanted to purchase this dress several months ago, but while I was waiting for it to go on sale, it sold out! Other reviewers mentioned that the dress did not come with the sash as pictured, and I thought that the sash did not come as well...however, I realized AFTERWARDS that the sash came in a separate pouch and I didn't realize it. However, even without the sash, I felt that the dress was still very cute. I wore this dress to a wedding and felt that the color and fit were beautiful. Overall, worth the rental!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 16, 2012
Too large, RTR forgot the belt
Knowing the dress runs large, I tried to rent the 2 but settled for a 4 because the 2 wasn't available. RTR sent it without a belt, which is critical for a sheath dress, especially one that runs large. When I called to let them know about the oversight, I got voice mail, so I left a message and all necessary info, but they never returned my call to apologize and rectify the situation. I bought a belt at H&M to go with the dress, but unfortunately the dress ran so large that it even looked a bit awkward with a belt to cinch the waist. The dress looked decent, and I was running late, so I just wore it anyway.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
August 17, 2012
Fun, vintage-looking dress
I was going to wear this to my bridal shower, but after trying on a few other dresses, I settled on another. This dress was lovely, but I have hips and a butt, so I needed something that cinched my waist a bit more than the belt offered. I did end up wearing it to my birthday dinner instead. Definitely order a size smaller than you normally wear as this runs large.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 17, 2012
So many compliments
Fit great, beautiful color - made my legs look fantastic! Perfect!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 18, 2012
Loved it!
I usually wear a 6 -- if you have a choice to get another size -- I feel this dress runs big so I pick a smaller size. Loved the color
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
August 18, 2012
Great party dress/comfortable!
Really, really pretty. Great length, just above the knee for us short gals. The scalloped sleeves add a bit of interest and the color is lovely - not too bright, more of a muted coral. The embroidered detailing is really well done. Super classy look with a no-hassle neckline that wears easily. I wore with nude wedges and turqoise colored chandelier earrings and matching bracelet. Tons of compliments. Love Trina Turk!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 118lbs
August 19, 2012
Soooo many compliments!
I loved this dress, so fashion forward and classy. I was complimented left and right all night!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137lbs
August 19, 2012
This was definitely a dress that I am sad to return after only 2 days!
I had my eye on this dress for a long time so I finally ordered it to wear to a bridal shower and it was just as perfect as it looked in the photo. The coral color is beautiful and it fits true to size - I wore it with the belt it comes with but would also look cute with a nude belt.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 60
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
August 20, 2012
PERFECT DRESS
I wore this to Confirmation for my daughter and got so many compliments! It was the perfect dress that would work for so many other events too.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95lbs
August 20, 2012
Trina Turk long sleeved dress
Wore this to a bridal luncheon. Got lots of compliments, but the sleeves were a bit tight, while the rest of the dress seemed big for a size 0. Loved the look of the dress, but the sleeves made it a bit constricting, while the rest was loose.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 158lbs
August 22, 2012
My gorgeous girlfriend was married!
I wore this dress for a wedding on 08/11/12 and it was amazing. Unfortunately, RTR did not have the belt for this dress but I took it any way and I'm glad I did. It was so comfortable and it looked great! (well...I thought so lol). Without the belt, I totally should have taken a 4 because with the belt on the 6 it totally would have been 10 times better. I am going to rent this dress again and this time, I hope I get the belt! I included a picture I took of myself in the dress. (much lol's to the self picture taking in mirrors!)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
August 27, 2012
Perfect for a summer wedding.
Ordered this for a summer wedding at a vineyard in CA and received a ton of compliments. Really happy with this dress, but I probably wouldn't recommend this if you're busty or really tall!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Body type: Petite
August 28, 2012
Foxy!
I rented this dress to wear to an outdoor wedding and it was perfect for day into evening. Many of us who were present are Stanford Band alumni and I rocked this dress while playing the sax during an impromptu reunion.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
August 30, 2012
The Perfect Dress
I already have seperation anxiety over having to return this amazing dress! I attending a wedding in San Diego that was outside. Before getting on my flight to the wedding I was told the vendor did not have the belt to go with my dress. I was able to pick another dress last minute just in case but was sent this one as well, and it worked great without the belt! I was told all night that I was the best dressed, and everyone wanted to know where I got the dress from. It was super light weight, comfy, and truly the best dress ever.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
August 30, 2012
The Perfect Dress
I already have seperation anxiety over having to return this amazing dress! I attending a wedding in San Diego that was outside. Before getting on my flight to the wedding I was told the vendor did not have the belt to go with my dress. I was able to pick another dress last minute just in case but was sent this one as well, and it worked great without the belt! I was told all night that I was the best dressed, and everyone wanted to know where I got the dress from. It was super light weight, comfy, and truly the best dress ever.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
September 8, 2012
Just don't bend over...
Cute dress, with a few caveats. I'm a tall girl and I'm used to short dresses but the scalloped hem was very short. It was also a little see-through in the butt--definitely wear nude underwear. Both sizes shipped without the belt and I wore it anyway because I had nothing else to wear at my out-of-town wedding, but there are belt loops on the side that look a little silly without a belt there.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 57
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134lbs
September 9, 2012
wedding guest
Loved the dress and received lots of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
September 9, 2012
Very pretty.
this dress was very pretty. Although, it was my 2nd dress so it didn’t come with the complimentary 2nd size. I ordered a size 6 and should have ordered a size 4. The 6 was entirely too big and looked frumpy on me. My dress didn’t include the belt pictured with the model, so I couldn’t get that waist cinched in. I think with the belt I could have made it work. Oh well, it was for a rehearsal dinner. Maybe next time. I’m very glad that it wasn’t the dress I got for the actual wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118lbs
September 9, 2012
Thinner Material Than Expected
I was looking for a dress that would keep it shape a little better. Pretty dress just not my style -- was looking for something a little more fun for a date with my husband. This might be better for a Sunday brunch or bridal shower.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
August 9, 2012
When the bride's grandmother told me she'd been eyeing the dress all afternoon!
I loved this dress the moment I saw it on RTR. As I had several weddings to attend, I thought it would be the perfect dress for a summer wedding -- and it was! I got so many compliments throughout the night and even from the bride's grandmother. Definitely worth it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
September 10, 2012
Cute & Summery
This was a cute little dress - the details are adorable & the color is great. I wore it out to dinner in Miami and ended up wearing the larger size for a looser fit in very humid weather, and for the extra length - I'm almost 5'10" so most mid-thigh dresses end up being mini on me!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
September 11, 2012
Easy to wear
I liked this dress...really easy to wear, and flattering. Perfect for a casual party or a special dinner. Ideal for vacation.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
September 12, 2012
Stand out for all the right reasons
I wore this for a 'Royal Wedding' themed bridal shower where all the guests doned fascinators. I got a ton of compliments on the color and style of the dress. It fit perfectly and hit about mid-thigh. The fabric was light (not hot) and the belt did a nice job adding shape. The only downside was how it wrinkled after sitting in it for a while, but it wasn't too bad.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 12, 2012
I loved this dress!! I got so many compliments at the bridal shower I wore it to. I want to buy it.
Fit perfect!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
September 12, 2012
I wore this to a friend's wedding and it was so unique and comfortable too.
I thought it fit well, but the belt twisted up easily. Overall, I really enjoyed wearing it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
September 14, 2012
Cute but Smoky
I had my eye on this one for a while - I just thought it was such a fun summer dress. I wore it for a rehearsal dinner for a summer wedding. I will say, it smelled a lot like smoke when I got it. Luckily I had enough time to let it bathe in febrezze before I wore it and that did the trick.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 14, 2012
TONS of compliments. Very classy. Wore in my engagement pics.
Fit great - definitely not a tight piece, but the color is gorgeous. Definitely needs some kind of statement necklace.
AmandaJanuary 20, 2013
what color shoes did you wear with this dress?? Out of all the pictures, yours was the best put together outfit from hair down to shoes! i am going to rent this dress for a wedding and love your shoes!
JamieJanuary 24, 2013
Thanks so much! I got champagne colored shoes and it worked fine. I actually loved the shoes so much, I re-bought them and used them for my wedding day. Enjoy!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
September 17, 2012
Ill-fitting, arrived horribly wrinkled and with no belt
This dress is very long in the torso so you need to be at least 5'4" and evenly proportioned to make it work. It also seemed disproportionately larger in the bust than around the hips. I was very disappointed with its condition - it arrived very wrinkled and did not come with the belt.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
September 19, 2012
Amazing rental experience for a wedding rehearsal. The dress was the hit of the night!
I have never received so many compliments on a dress I've worn before. People loved it and kept asking me where I got it. I even had friends ask if they could borrow it. The dress fit wonderfully, but it does get a bit short when you sit down! Overall, the entire rental experience was better than expected...and I now wish that I owned this dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
September 19, 2012
Pretty Dress!
Loved wearing this dress! It was very comfortable and the belt gives great definition. I wore to a bridal shower and will rent this dress again in the future!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
September 19, 2012
Perfect!
I normally wear a 6 or 8, I eneded up wearing a 4. I recieved so many compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
September 19, 2012
Loved this dress...and so did everyone else!
Fit was true to size, the material was a little different than I anticipated but was okay with it. Overall I LOVED wearing this dress, I wore it to a rehearsal dinner and it was very comfortable and I kept getting compliments on it all night and on Facebook afterward! I definitely recommend it!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 20, 2012
When my boyfriend I was on a date with told me I looked beautiful.
I liked the look of this dress, but it fit kind of strange. What other people have said was true, it was restrictive in the arms. If I lifted my arms up too high, it pulled the dress up uncomfortably. Great color, but kind of thin material. It was fine, I just wasn't blown away by it like I was with some of the other dresses I've gotten from RTR.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 20, 2012
wore the dress for save the date pics and received tons of compliments!
i love this dress! it is great for all occasions - it can be dressed up or down. even though it is not form fitting, it still gives you a nice figure. i received 2 sizes of this dress: 0 and 2. i listened to the other reviewers and ordered 1 size down and that one fit like a glove. the only con is that neither of the dress came with the coral belt shown in the picture. i added a white and silver skinny belt and it looked great!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 10

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×