Trina Turk

Seashell Bateau Shift

$30 rental
$338 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Have a bridal shower to attend? Or going on that casual date night out? Rent this easy and stylish dress by Trina Turk.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection with adjustable sash
HIPS: Fitted - comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Coral silk with embroidery. Bateau neckline. Three quarter sleeves. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
395 reviews
Fit
Large
(99)
True to Size
(270)
Small
(23)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 20, 2012
wore the dress for save the date pics and received tons of compliments!
i love this dress! it is great for all occasions - it can be dressed up or down. even though it is not form fitting, it still gives you a nice figure. i received 2 sizes of this dress: 0 and 2. i listened to the other reviewers and ordered 1 size down and that one fit like a glove. the only con is that neither of the dress came with the coral belt shown in the picture. i added a white and silver skinny belt and it looked great!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
September 23, 2012
I had nothing but good things to share with my friends about my first Rent the Runway experience!
Very beautiful pattern and color. I received several compliments from both men and women of all ages. Definitely order a size down. I didn't wear the belt because my boyfriend actually preferred the dress without it, so my look was not as form fitting...still reaped the compliments though.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
October 1, 2012
Very flattering, so many compliments
This dress was so comfortable and flattering. They forgot to send the belt that goes with the dress, but it didn't matter, it looked great on and I received an unbelievable amount of compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 8, 2012
Amazing color, pops in photos
I wore this dress to my engagement party and it was a big hit. The coral color is amazing and it stands out in pictures. Fit-wise, the dress generally runs a bit bigger so I would size down for the second size (I'm usually a four and wound up wearing the two). One issue was that they forgot to add the belt that went with the dress so I definitely had to size down to make it fit properly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
October 15, 2012
I LOVED this dress! I will definitely rent this dress again!
The dress did fit large. I went with the 8. I also rented the necklace in the picture and it went perfectly with the dress. Wear nude heels, they match the best.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
October 22, 2012
Lovely color & pattern
Rented this dress for a semi-formal event (parents' lunch) leading up to my wedding. Loved the pinkish-coral color, seashell pattern, and unique sleeve length, and received lots of compliments on it. Overall, though, the dress was a bit boxy, even with the belt, and felt a bit short. Liked it well enough, but probably would not rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
October 24, 2012
It runs a little large, but looked great on!
It was comfortable and loose fitting, and I got tons of compliments. The only issue was it felt a lilttle worn. All in all, it was a great choice for a rehearsal dinner party!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34DDD/E
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
November 4, 2012
Fantastic customer service!
This was a really comfortable dress to wear for a casual party or baby shower. I will agree with some of the other reviews about it feeling a little short when I sat down, but other than that, it was a really classy dress that I could see wearing to lots of different events! I normally wear a 12, but wore a 10 in this dress, so I think this dress runs a little big. This is a great dress I would wear again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
November 28, 2012
Beautiful!!
I wore this dress to my bridal shower. It is so unbelievably gorgeous. I got so many compliments. I wish I could buy it - trust me, it's no longer available anywhere for purchase. I've scoured the internet. If I owned this dress, it would be my go to dress - weddings, showers, parties, whatever! The color is gorgeous! It's well made. I love it. I just can't say enough about it. One thing though, is it is quite a bit shorter than I expected. I am short - 5'4" and this was mid thigh on me. Still, this dress is amazing. I want this... note to site mods, if there is any way I can purchase this dress once ya'll retire it from the rotation, I will. (I considered keeping it and paying full price. I love it that much!)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 1, 2012
Never received so man compliments on anything...Gorgeous dress.
This dress is incredible. If you are even CONSIDERING renting this dress, do it. You will not be disappointed. So classy, comfortable, and gorgeous. I always wear a size 2 and/or Small...I got the 0 and 2 in this dress and both fit well, but I ended up going with the 0. I wore this to my fiance's cousins wedding and I had people commenting on how gorgeous my dress was all evening. Towards the end of the night one of his other cousins came over and was like "Okay, I have to ask. Where did you get your dress. I wasn't going to say anything, but I've been watching you ALL night...where is this from." I was so thrilled to get to share my RTR secret with her and will be sending her an invite tonight! :)
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Body type: Full Bust
December 7, 2012
The color was stunning and I received so many compliments!
This was an amazing rent the runway experience. The dress ran a little large so I sized down to a six. The only down side was that it did not come with the belt shown in the picture but luckily I had something that would work with the dress. A little short when sitting but overall the dress was perfect.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 24, 2012
This dress made my night out with my best guy in Santa Cruz, California perfect. Thank You!
I ended up wearing the smaller of the two sizes that I got and it still was a little big; but, I might have just ordered a size that was too big to start with, so it was probably my mistake.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 8, 2013
Love the color!
I wore the size 4 for my engagement party and it was a hit! Very comfortable, sleeves were not too tight so I could move easily
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
January 28, 2013
I felt pretty in this dress even though it was only 6 weeks after having a baby.
I wore this dress 6 weeks after I delivered a baby. I liked it because it hid my arms and was not real fitted. I obviously runs big because I was in a size four 6 weeks after having a baby. I normally wear a size four when I'm not pregnant. So I would order a size down, possibly 2 sizes down. Pretty color and cute fit.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
February 10, 2013
Not what I hoped for
This dress was to big and just wasn't very figure flattering for my shape. I am normally a size 2, but even the size 0 felt too big. The fabric didn't look as nice in person as I thought it would.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124lbs
February 18, 2013
Cute dress for Valentine's Dinner
I rented this dress for Valentine's day and was concerned it would not work because it looks more like a spring/summer dress. It ended up being perfect and I received tons of compliments. The dress is a little shorter than I expected but it was still an appropriate length. I ended up wearing the 2 and it fit perfectly.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130lbs
February 21, 2013
Great color!
I wore this dress for my wedding shower a couple weeks ago. I definitely felt like I stood out, and received many compliments. The dress was very comfortable to move in. My only suggestion would be to wear a size down.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 27, 2013
Dress was beautiful! Would definitely rent it again!!
Received tons of compliments!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
March 5, 2013
Wore this for my bridal shower!
This dress runs a bit large, I usually wear a size 4 and I ordered the 4 and the 2 but ended up wearing the 2. It was the perfect dress for my bridal shower. A little on the short side for taller girls but overall, a great dress. The dress came with a belt that didn't look great on me so I just decided not to use it.
saraMarch 30, 2013
I am the same build as you, was it fitted or more of a roomy feel to it? I was also worried about the length. It looks great on you!
SarahApril 2, 2013
Thank you! I would say it was just right - not super fitted but definitely not loose either. The material doesn't have any stretch to it so I wouldn't have wanted it to be any more fitted. If you wear flats I don't think the length will be a problem. I hope that helps!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
March 11, 2013
Good, not great.
I rented this for a wedding rehearsal dinner and loved the brightness of this dress. RTR didn't have my backup size so I was only able to rent the 4 which ended up being a bit too big but I just went with it. The dress also came without the belt which I would of liked to help cinch in the waist since it was too big but oh well! The dress was also a bit worn at the hem and the end of the sleeves from normal wear and tear. That didn't really bother me but I know it would bother others. Although this rental experience wasn't the best it won't deter me from renting again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
November 29, 2012
Such a great dress!
Loved wearing this dress for a friend's wedding! It was really fun and cute and I definitely got alot of compliments :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
March 29, 2013
Birthday Triple Date Stunner
I wore this dress for a pre-birthday night out with my husband and close friends. I noticed in reviews that the dress ran large, so I went with the 6. I'm curvy in the hip/butt area, so it was a teeny bit snug, but I think the 8 would have been too big. I didn't wear the dress with the belt, I didn't like how it broke me up. The color looked great and I was comfortable all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
April 2, 2013
Baggy
I ordered the size 2 and the 4. The 2 fit my body better as this dress runs large and loose, but the 2 was much too short. The 4 gave me more length, but was so loose that it looked sloppy. This dress was just not flattering on my body. The color was beautiful, though and the dress was in good condition.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 117lbs
April 15, 2013
Beautiful dress! A little too big.
I rented this dress for one of my bridal showers. I'm usually between a size 2 or 4. I rented the size 4 and probably needed the size 2, but it was already rented. It was pretty wrinkled by the end of the party, but overall I loved the color and it was very comfortable!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 2, 2013
Perfect fit, beautiful pattern. LOVED this dress!!
I wore this for my Master's graduation ceremony and lunch. It was classic and I felt so comfortable in it. It runs large, so I ended up wearing the 2 instead of the 4 and was very comfortable. The length is not too long and the neck is a perfect high boat cut which was perfect for a strand of pearls. I paired the dress with nude heels and got lots of compliments throughout the day. I was sad to see this one go!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
May 7, 2013
fit well!
this dress hit closer to just above the knee on my petite frame. dress was in great condition. only complaint was dress ran large so was not as fitted as I hoped.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 184lbs
May 10, 2013
Beautiful dress, but slightly awkward fit; worn look.
This was my first rental from RTR. I was concerned renting because my body shape is so hard to fit (short, large bust & hips, bit of a belly). I unfortunately waited too long and couldn't get my first-choice rental, but I found this dress and by the reviews I felt confident I would be ok w/ the dress. It does run a little large, but I was banking on it since I usually wear a 14. It is also a bit short; ladies, beware! I wore it to my sis-in-law's baby shower at a yacht club w/ a pair of nude flats and my own pearls. I got a lot of compliments on the dress, even though I thought it wasn't the most flattering shape in the world (I was, however, happy it fit and the sleeves made me feel more comfortable). My biggest gripe is that it was pretty damaged when I received it: lots of fraying and picked stiches all over the sleeves and hem. The color seemed faded and the dress was downright limp. I think I'll use RTR in the future, but I wouldn't rent this dress again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
May 20, 2013
Very cute:)
I've been eyeing this dress for some time now. I ended up wearing it to my girlfriend's wedding shower. Very comfortable dress. I usually wear a 4; however, I wore a 2 in this particular style. So, I wouldn't say it runs super large as I am not busty. If you're busty, it may be true to size for you. I received several compliments on the dress as well. Perfect for a shower or day party. It was hot outside when I wore it, so I was roasting a little bit. Make sure you won't be outside in 80 degree weather while wearing it :)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
June 15, 2013
Unusual, stunning design
Wore this dress for my engagement photos. I was in love with it online and even more when it arrived! The design is beautiful and the color was flattering on my pasty skin. I wish I had ordered a size 2 because the 4 was on the larger side for a 4, although having the belt made it somewhat adjustable. Would be good for an outdoor function when the weather is a little cooler.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 25, 2013
So pretty! But runs big.
I thought I had the sizing for this one figured out so I only rented one size, and it was just too big. It gapped in the back and bunched weirdly when I tried to sinch it with the belt. Too bad, it's a beautiful dress and my husband loved it. I may rent it for another wedding later this summer -- but in smaller size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
June 27, 2013
Fun & different
I wore this for an engagement party. It runs a little big, but the belt helped hold it all in. It can be worn with our without the belt, but I preferred to wear it since I wanted it to be more fitted at my waist. I loved the details on the dress, and it was really comfortable!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 4, 2013
This dress was so comfortable, it felt like a sundress but was perfectly dressy for the party!
I loved this dress and would absolutely wear it again! I usually wear an 8, but the 6 ended up fitting just a bit better as I found the larger size to be a bit too big/boxy through the middle. Moving to the 6 was great though. It looks very short on the model, so I was a bit nervous but it was just the right length to be fun and "young" feeling for the end of summer rehearsal dinner we attended. It is shown with a ribbon belt in all of the pictures but unfortunately mine arrived without it so that made me a bit nervous but it worked out great to wear a simple gold-ish belt I had at home.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 11, 2013
My favorite of the bunch
Very pretty and the material is breezy. Perfect for a summer day . Runs a little large. Didn't use the belt as it didnt match, it looked like it was from a different dress. Looks good with out it as well but if you want to accent your waist you can always switch it out with another one. Looks best with nude heels.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 18, 2013
Great dress for summer weddings or events!
Wore this for a philanthropy garden tea in August. I had so many women ask me about the dress and I'm sure I explained RTR a dozen times at least! Dress was loose fitting and long on me, but I'm sure it'd look best on someone taller. Color is perfect! It doesn't breathe as well as I had expected, so places with humidity may be an issue.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
June 11, 2013
.
Wore this to a brunch on a wedding weekend. Very comfortable. Runs just a little big.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
November 23, 2013
it was great!
still pretty loose for a 0
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
April 23, 2014
Fun, comfortable and flattering.
Unique and eye-catching dress. Flattering.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
June 3, 2014
Flirty and Feminine
Although the dress was clearly a little worn, with slightly frayed edges and one small grease spot, it was nonetheless stunning. All it took was a little dab of my handy Tide To Go Pen, and this dress because perfectly suited for my high school graduation. The fit is fabulous throughout, the neckline keeps it classy, and the hemline (high-mid thigh) gave it a youthful, flirty quality. All in all, I was sad to send it back!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
June 8, 2014
Unique dress
The only thing that I was disappointed about was that the dress didn't come with the belt. I was so excited about it, too. The dress was so comfortable and it was the perfect length.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
June 14, 2014
Book Signing.
Sweet & Sassy.
See more reviews:
2 / 10

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×