Trina Turk

Santa Cruz Sun Dress

$84 to buy
$278 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Rock this cobalt blue Trina Turk party dress out for that bachelorette bash at the beach. An easy fit and perfect to take over the dance floor in. Dress it up with accessories like the Whiting & Davis' Silver Mesh Glam Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down in this dress (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection with adjustable waistband
HIPS: Not fitted - skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Blue crepe de chine with embroidery at shoulder. One shoulder neckline. Draped sleeve. Bloussant body with tie waist. 37'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
139 reviews
Fit
Large
(69)
True to Size
(67)
Small
(5)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 16, 2012
I don't have a full body pic; i just took this one to document my lipstick color :)
I am usually a size 6, but that was quite big and the 4 fit perfectly. I wore it to dinner and to a nice latin club for salsa dancing and got compliments on it (from both guys and girls). The color is really rich and vibrant, it really stands out in a good way. It is a casual dress in that it's not super form fitting but the color makes it more formal somehow. It is very comfortable and worked well for dancing and I felt relaxed and pretty in it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 113lbs
June 11, 2012
perfect for dancing
I danced all night in this dress, ate a ton of food and it remained soooo comfortable. It's lightweight and fun! The color is actually very beautiful too, I don't think the website does it justice. I think it ran a little big for me. A little longer than I would've wanted and a little big in the top. Overall, i really enjoyed it. I would recommend renting it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
July 19, 2012
Not only felt beautiful wearing this dress, but had so much fun celebrating with my favorite girls in NYC! Receiving so many complements on your "last night out" makes you feel the the beautiful bride you've always wanted to be.
I absolutely love this dress! Everyone's reviews about this dress being on the slightly roomier side is right. I usually wear an 8, but wound up wearing the back-up size 6. It fit perfect and I felt beautiful!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Body type: Full Bust
July 26, 2012
Beautiful Embroidery
I probably should have gone down a size, like the reviews say--but my normal size worked fine. Fitting note: I've got a lot on top but small booty. On me, the dress looked fine. But on my friend with less up top and a lot booty, this dress looked AMAZING!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
July 29, 2012
The Trina Turk dress is the blue one! It went from a party to ladies hat day at the horse races and it worked in both situations.
I love this dress! It is really comfortable and turns heads. On that note, the material wrinkles fairly easily and both sizes came wrinkled. Be prepared to iron or steam the dress before you wear it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
July 30, 2012
Loved the dress
I loved this dress. I was sad that i had to return it. It fit great! i nomaly wear a size 2 but took the advice of the syslist and ordered a size down for my second size. the color is amazing on this dress. I recieved compliments all night long!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
August 7, 2012
Runs slightly large
Other members were correct in saying that it runs a bit large. I usually wear an 8 or 10, but for this one I ordered a 6 and an 8 and chose to wear the 8. Even though the 6 fit just fine, the 8 gave a little more room at the bust so that the lines of my strapless bra weren't visible. Overall, the dress fit very well and falls nicely, and what's great is that it could suit any body type. The color is bold and eye-catching and I wore it with a yellow bubble necklace to give it some even bolder contrast. The only thing I would've liked is for it to be a tiny bit shorter.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 8, 2012
Great Color!!!!
Loved this dress. It was so easy to wear and flattering for almost all body types. I wore the 2 and have to agree that it does run big, I typically order the 4's. There is plenty of room up top and in the hip area for all body types. What a great summer dress. It was perfect for the coastal wedding we attended and I received a ton of compliments. AGAIN... Thx RTR!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 10, 2012
Pleased
I loved this dress!! But I ordered my normal size and it was way too big! Very disappointing! the dress looked amazing though!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
August 15, 2012
Great first rental!
When I first got the dress I was really turned off by the flat tube like shape of it, but then when I put it on and tied the strings it was like magic. The dress fitted nicely and it hit in all the right stops. The color is really rich and the fabric feels really nice against the skin. Got tons of compliments from other wedding goers. I will definitly keep RENTTHERUNWAY in my aresonal of "WHAT TO WEAR!"-Thanks for a great first rent and easy return!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
August 20, 2012
Great color
I have mixed feelings about this dress. On one hand it was a great color and very comfortable. On the other the fabric wrinkled very easily, also it was rainy that day so when the back got a few rain drops on it the fabric stayed blotchy for the rest of the night even though it was dry. Also, not sure if this is the case for everyone, but if you have hips the belly area tend to pooch out (and I don't have anything close to a pooch). In some pics it looks great, others not so much. Didn't hate it, didn't love it.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 22, 2012
My husband telling me I looked beautiful, sexy AND skinny was the best compliment and its just so easy with RTR...Love it!
This was a beautiful dress, great blue color! Perfect for a outdoor/beach wedding, very light material and breathable. I am usually a 4 or 6 in dresses and wish I would have ordered the 2 like the other reviews warned, the dress does run large. I was worried it would be too small but a smaller size is def. the way to go, however, with the drawstring it is easy to make any size work. Very flattering dress I received lots of compliments all night and my husband loved it! Thanks RTR!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 22, 2012
My husband telling me I looked beautiful, sexy AND skinny was the best compliment and its just so easy with RTR...Love it!
This was a beautiful dress, great blue color! Perfect for a outdoor/beach wedding, very light material and breathable. I am usually a 4 or 6 in dresses and wish I would have ordered the 2 like the other reviews warned, the dress does run large. I was worried it would be too small but a smaller size is def. the way to go, however, with the drawstring it is easy to make any size work. Very flattering dress I received lots of compliments all night and my husband loved it! Thanks RTR!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
September 2, 2012
I was beginning to stress a little bit as the dress I ordered (purchased) online from a different site and when it arrived it was awful and I was left looking for a new dress at the last minute. I tried RTR for the first time and LOVE LOVE LOVED it. The dress arrived exactly when they said it would, was in perfect condition, contained an extra size for free, and the packaging was super cute. I cant wait to RTR again soon.
I was a little worried the dress may not be dressy enough for formal, evening wedding but the fabric of this dress really set it into a fun but classy style. The dress is flowy enough that it would work great for any body type. The drawstring waist it also really helpful allowing you to control how form it fits to your body.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
September 10, 2012
Loved it!
Received a ton of compliments on this dress...very forgiving.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
September 12, 2012
Great Color/Flattering Fit
I loved this dress! I wore it to a going-away party and received compliments all night. The blue is very vibrant and the fit is extremely flattering. Only issue was that the top runs a little large, so if you are pear shaped like me I would recommend going a size smaller. Would definitely recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 14, 2012
Fun and comfortable
I wore this for my friend's rehearsal dinner. It was super comfortable and I got a ton of compliments. It did run big though. I am normally an 8, I wore the 6, and it was still pretty roomy. But I loved it. It was my first time trying rent the runway. And while the dress I rented for the actual wedding did not work out, this was great. Actually rented a Halston for a wedding I'm attending this weekend, and it's perfect! Love rent the runway :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 17, 2012
Flirty and fun, but not too revealing!
I wore this to a rehearsal dinner and loved it! It was a hot night, but the dress was very comfortable. Definitely a sexy look without being too short or revealing. I loved the color and the material. I would definitely consider renting this dress again for a fun night out! It runs large though, I wore a 0, even though normally I would be a 2.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 47
Body type: Athletic
September 17, 2012
Loved the ease of rental and the two sizes made it so I couldn't go wrong. Color was awesome. Loved
Beautiful color and length was perfect. Not too short. Style was a little more casual, but super comfortable. Tons of compliments
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
September 19, 2012
Runs a little big...
Although it ran big it was easy to tie at the waist and make it work. It may be a little too long for shorter girls but it was fine on me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 21, 2012
Perfect for a summer evening event! Beautiful design and a flattering fit.
Loved this dress, wore it to an upscale wedding rehearsal & rehearsal dinner (wore long gown to actual wedding) and received lots of compliments! I'm normally around a 4 or a 6 but after reading the other reviews I ordered the 4 and the 2 - I'm so glad I did because I ended up wearing the 2 (which I was rather surprised about, so yes it definitely runs big!). Also, the other thing I hadn't expected was that the 4 and the 2 were actually different colors; the 2 was the brighter blue color in the photo but the 4 was a much darker navy - I was very happy that I fit into the 2 because I definitely preferred that color, doubt that the black heels I had brought would have gone with the darker blue. I also needed a silver purse to go with my bridesmaid dress and coincidentally happened to pick out (separately) the purse already pictured with the dress on the model, so it ended up working perfect for both nights.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
October 3, 2012
Color popped in pictures, perfect length, great dress. Full through hips. Loved it!
This dress was great for an outdoor wedding. The color looked AWESOME in pictures. The length is nice -- just an inch or two above the knee (on 5' 7"). I am usually a solid 8 at the bottom, and the 6 fit fine, so there is definitely room in the hips if you are pear shaped. I'm smaller at the top and it fit well. I would elaborate and say that it ran true to size at the top and large at the bottom. Really great dress and I got lots of compliments! Could wear with nude or black shoes, and I paired it with turquoise Kendra Scott Danielle Earrings to bring out the light blue in the shoulder design. Really fun dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
October 17, 2012
This dress was perfect for my 21st birthday. It wasn't too formal and everyone complemented me!
It was actually very loose; I normally wear an 8 and was EASILY able to wear a 6, and possibly could have gotten into a 4 if I wanted the skirt to be tight instead of comfortably roomy. I enjoyed the comfortable fit since I spent my night dancing, but if you want it for something more formal, I don't suggest it.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 26, 2012
I got to look cute for my husband's 30th birthday weekend
It was a really cute dress. I ordered a 4 and a 6 and the 4 fit better. Unfortunately, the 4 had some sort of barely noticeable sparkly stain on it. It was almost like someone had spilled nail polish or a makeup on it and it had been cleaned, but you could still see it in the right light.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
November 12, 2012
Fun party look
I rented this dress for a birthday party and felt great all night. It does run large. The 4 was WAY too big but luckily the 2 was just right.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
December 13, 2012
Love this dress!!!
I've rented this dress twice. It's a beautiful, stand out color but not too dressy. It was perfect for birthday bar hopping. I usually wear a size 6 or 8 and I wore a size 2 in this the second time around. If you are busty it might fit more true to size.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
March 1, 2013
Gorgeous - wish I had gotten the chance to wear it!
I rented this dress for a party which turned out to be super casual. The dress is a gorgeous blue color and fits well. The dress does run large, so I would size down if ordering again. I will definitely be renting this dress again this spring/summer due to the amazing fit and color. So flattering!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
March 17, 2013
Great dress!
Fit is slightly large. Flattering on any body type. You can make the dress smaller with the tie.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
March 27, 2013
Great color, flattering fit, and numerous compliments!
I rented this for a friend's bachelorette weekend in Nashville, and I received a plethora of attention from both males and females. The color is brilliant (I'm a fair-skinned blonde), and the fit is perfect for dancing all night! I highly recommend this dress if you want to feel fabulous!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
April 20, 2013
Great party dress, lots of room to dance and move around in.
This dress has a very bold color, it complemented my skin tone, which is dark, very well. It did run a little big, which kind of gave it a "boxy" look. I don't think I could have gone a size smaller because I am very hippy and curvy. Overall, this was a winner!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 24, 2013
Loved this dress!
I usually wear a 4-6, but ended up changing my order to 2-4 because of the reviews saying it runs large. Yes, it does run large and I ended up wearing the 2. The 4 would have fit fine, but the 2 looked better because it was more fitted. Also, the size 4 dress was not in as good shape as the 2 - the embroidery on the shoulder looked raggedy due to some stray threads. I wore this dress to an outdoor wedding during the day and to a formal event that night. Needless to say, it is very versatile dress (I just changed my shoes for the formal event). The color is really bold and beautiful! I absolutely loved it. RTR made it easy for me to pick a dress that would work with both events. LOVE RTR!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 59
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
April 30, 2013
Did not wear. It was to big My back up size was not available
Overall big.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130lbs
May 12, 2013
casual and comfortable!
It was a nice casual dress. it was very comfortable.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
June 6, 2013
LOVED this dress!! Runs a little big but the color and shape of the dress were amazing!!!!
I rented this dress for an out of town semi-formal wedding. This was my first time using RTR and the whole process was so much fun! I loved looking through all the dresses and seeing the pictures of "normal" people wearing them so I could get an idea what they might look like on me. I normally wear a size 6 but the reviews said it ran a little big so I got that and a size 4. Well the reviews were right and I went with the 4. I received so many compliments on the dress. It was dressy but fun and trendy also! Very comfortable. The rental process was so easy! The wedding was on a Saturday so I had it delivered Thursday. It gave me time to decide which size I liked best. I returned it to a UPS drop box on Sunday in the town we were at for the wedding. SUPER easy! I cannot wait to rent from RTR again!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 17, 2013
Amazing Dress!
i wanted something lovely to wear for my birthday and this really stood out. The fit, cut and color was amazing. It's fully lined, so you don't have to worry about underwear lines. The color is exactly the same as on the website.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 30, 2013
Beautiful!
I wore this dress to a June wedding and it was perfect. The color is amazing in person and I love the detail on the shoulder. I usually wear a 4 in dresses but the 2 fit perfect. Hit just above the knee.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
August 3, 2013
Stunning color, just too big
I don't have much of a figure, so this dress just hung on my body. I am a true size 0 and it was just too big, even with the drawstring waist. Beautiful color and detail. It came a bit wrinkled.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
September 17, 2013
Amazing dress for an outdoor wedding. Striking color.
Very comfortable dress. It fit perfectly after I tightened the drawstring around the waste. Got many compliments and the color is gorgeous. First experience with RTR was a success!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 5, 2013
My outfit made my night!
My boyfriend broke up with me two days before my friend's wedding. But I still went, and I felt like a million bucks! The dress runs a bit on the large side because of the drawstring waist. The embroidery details on the shoulder are amazing in person. I took a second photo of just the shoulder since the pics on the model just don't do it justice. The dress was in great shape as well. I paired it with the Kate Spade Crystal Kate Chandelier Earrings and Chamak by Priyar Kakkar Silver Wave Bangles, both available on RTR. Overall, it was a perfect look for an outdoor late spring wedding, and I would definitely rent this again for a similar occasion.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 105lbs
November 19, 2013
great color.
great alternative to a black dress. rented for a wedding and loved!
See more reviews:
1 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×