Santa Cruz Sun Dress

$84 to buy
$278 retail
Stylist Notes

Rock this cobalt blue Trina Turk party dress out for that bachelorette bash at the beach. An easy fit and perfect to take over the dance floor in. Dress it up with accessories like the Whiting & Davis' Silver Mesh Glam Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down in this dress (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection with adjustable waistband
HIPS: Not fitted - skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down in this dress (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection with adjustable waistband
HIPS: Not fitted - skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Blue crepe de chine with embroidery at shoulder. One shoulder neckline. Draped sleeve. Bloussant body with tie waist. 37'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
139 reviews
Fit
Large
(69)
True to Size
(65)
Small
(5)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 5, 2013
My outfit made my night!
My boyfriend broke up with me two days before my friend's wedding. But I still went, and I felt like a million bucks! The dress runs a bit on the large side because of the drawstring waist. The embroidery details on the shoulder are amazing in person. I took a second photo of just the shoulder since the pics on the model just don't do it justice. The dress was in great shape as well. I paired it with the Kate Spade Crystal Kate Chandelier Earrings and Chamak by Priyar Kakkar Silver Wave Bangles, both available on RTR. Overall, it was a perfect look for an outdoor late spring wedding, and I would definitely rent this again for a similar occasion.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 105lbs
November 19, 2013
great color.
great alternative to a black dress. rented for a wedding and loved!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
December 16, 2013
Fun dress!
I rented this as a back up for my work holiday party and went with the 1st choice. The dress fit nicely (runs large, so size down) and the length was fine (i'm 5'10 - may be long on anyone short). The detail on the shoulder was nice but overall thought it wasn't dressy enough for the party. Would be a great dress for a bridal shower or lunch though.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
May 7, 2013
Hassle Free Experience!
As many others have said, this dress runs big. I ordered and wore the M but could probably gotten away with the S if it had been available. The drawstring waist helped, in that I was able to tighten it quite a bit. This dress is super comfortable and the color is very flattering. I had the dress sent to my hotel so I didn't have to worry about traveling with it. Love RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
August 10, 2013
The dress was fabulous, wore it for a trip to Vegas.
The fit was great, the size 4 was perfect fit. Would absolutely rent this dress again
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
February 23, 2014
Vegas Wedding
Perfect for a day time wedding in Vegas. The fit is so comfortable. I think it runs a bit big but you can adjust the waist. LOVE this dress and definitely stood out and had many compliments. Will rent again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 27, 2014
Wore this dress for NYE. My BF loved it!
Loved the top, it fit perfectly. but the bottom was a longer than I hoped. The skirt on it is also a bit straighter than I expected.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
April 20, 2014
Effortless showstopper!
Wore this to my brother's rehearsal dinner in June, a semi-outdoor event, and strangers were walking up to compliment me! One woman even stopped me and "gave me the award for best-dressed in the city." The material wasn't the most expensive-feeling, and it almost has a swimsuit coverup kind of feel, but the colors are so rich and vivid I'd say this is the perfect stunner for those semi-casual/semi-formal events. Great for all body types!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
May 7, 2014
Great for straight bodied ladies
Gorgeous color. This has an overall wierd fit. If you are pear shaped it is not for you! It ended up just not being very flattering.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
June 12, 2014
Great dress! I wore the coral at a wedding last year and the blue this year! Love this dress!
I wore the size 2. I'm 5'4, 120lbs and 32D. The dress is loose just enough so I can move around dance and most important eat and have a few drinks but doesn't look frumpy at all. I received lots of compliments and paired it with the Kate Spade Canary Statement Earrings.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
July 28, 2014
Obsessed with this dress!
I am obsessing over this dress and currently try to find it online to buy! I loved it! it ran very large - I wore the 2 and I am not normally a 2. It fit perfectly though - not too snug in the hips or big/small on top. I dressed it up with nude heels and wore it in Vegas and but it would look cute with flats too. The color was so pretty too - overall a great and comfy dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 61
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
August 7, 2014
Gorgeous color!
This dress is a beautiful bright blue silk with embroidered detail on the shoulder that is even prettier than photos show. I ordered size 4 with the 2 as a backup and ended up wearing the 2 because it fit the shoulderless underarm area more snugly. This dress is very pretty and comfortable and the drawstring waist allowed me to eat as much as I wanted. The bottom is a little snug making the dress ride up while sitting and getting down on the dance floor. Even so, it was perfect for a fun summer outdoor party night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
August 23, 2014
perfect fit, great color for summer
rehearsal dinner winner!! super comfortable , nice fit- fancy while casual.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
August 25, 2014
Great, easy to wear dress!
I got this to wear for a dinner out in Vegas. My husband loved it and I felt great in it. It was easy to wear and very comfortable. The sleeve did seem a bit shorter than what is pictured, but it wasn't an issue for me. Great experience overall. I would rent this one again!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Weight: 145lbs
August 30, 2014
Love the one shoulder detail on the dress
Great dress for a wedding
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
November 5, 2014
The color of this dress is beautiful. I received many compliments and felt extremely comfortable.
True to size, very comfortable, and can be dressed up or down.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 28
April 22, 2014
Great Dress
#great dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 21, 2014
My favorite rental so far!
This is the prettiest, most comfortable, perfect-for-any-occasion dress. The bright blue is beautiful! It could be dressy or casual, depending on the accessories. It does run a tad big, so size down for your back up - but the drawstring waist makes it easy to adjust the fit. This was my free birthday rental and I just loved, loved, loved it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 21, 2014
My favorite rental so far!
This is the prettiest, most comfortable, perfect-for-any-occasion dress. The bright blue is beautiful! It could be dressy or casual, depending on the accessories. It does run a tad big, so size down for your back up - but the drawstring waist makes it easy to adjust the fit. This was my free birthday rental and I just loved, loved, loved it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 1, 2015
One shoulder style is a signature look
I LOVE the one shoulder style, I wore this out in NY for my bachelorette. I wore the 0, there was little difference between the 2 and 0, but the 0 seemed to fall just a little nicer. The length was perfect, not too short. The color is to die for.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122lbs
May 6, 2015
Love the color, the embroidery detail and the style! I received a lot of compliments! Perfect!
RTR only had the size 2 available in this dress. Thankfully it fit perfectly. I'm pear shaped and loved the drawstring waist to help define my curves. The dress fit like a glove yet very forgiving. The color is a wonderful cobalt blue. I liked the one sleeve design, showed off some skin without being too revealing and no tugging at a dress that doesn't stay up. I would definitely rent this one again. I loved it!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
May 11, 2015
Fun dress for bachelorette night
I usually wear a size 6, but the 6 was not available and based on the other reviewers saying the dress ran large- I ended up ordering and wearing a size 4. The dress was a bit snug in the leg area (but I am bottom heavy) and was a bit loose in the armpit area. I should have brought some fashion tape with me to use- as that would have solved the problem. I am 5'8" and the dress was a bit shorter than I would have liked, but it worked just fine,
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
July 16, 2012
My boyfriend told me I looked "super hot." Good enough for me!
Wore this to a more casual wedding. Great color and overall look. It runs a little big, but this could also be because its a baggier fit so I'd go down a size if you get a backup. I ended up wearing my normal size because I just felt slightly more comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
September 10, 2012
My husband told me I looked beautiful and all of my friends loved the dress and the fit-- it was a home run!!!
I wear a size 10 in dresses and size 8 in pants and this was a perfect fit. It was such a beautiful color and I received a ton of compliments. The earrings were also to die for. I LOVED the packaging and how easy RTR made it to get a special occasion dress. Will be renting again!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
January 9, 2013
Gorgeous color and comfortable fit! This dress got lots of compliments!
This dress was such a fun, flirty, pretty, vibrant, and COMFORTABLE dress! I wore this dress for a dressy engagement party, but this dress would be great for lots of different occasions (you can dress it up with different accessories... I chose to pair it with diamond gold tear drop earrings, a gold bracelet and a gold sequined purse). I typically wear a size 8 but after reading previous reviews (which stated the dress ran big), I decided to get a size 6 and it fit perfectly (I didn't even bother trying the 8 on). The detail on the shoulder was neat as well and I received lots of compliments on this dress. I'd definitely rent it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
January 13, 2013
Easy dress to wear, show-stopping color!
I had this dress in a 0 and the 2, and they fit almost identically! The 0 was just a little bit shorter which I preferred being just 5'3". The color was great, the fit was loose, and I loved the tie at the waist to cinch in the dress. All this dress needed was a pair of gold earrings and a bangle to go with it! Thank you RTR! This was a great birthday dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 2, 2013
Loved it! Very fun looking!
The reason this didn't get five stars is because the second dress had makeup all over the embroidery so I couldn't wear that even if I wanted to. The dress itself was beautiful, a lot heavier/thicker fabric than what I was expecting.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
April 22, 2013
Beautiful and effortless, thanks RTR!
I love this dress! It is unique without screaming for attention, and pretty without sweet ruffly, lacy details. Strong and feminine are good descriptors. Definitely recommended. The sleeve was shorter than shown on the model, but it wasn't a problem to me. I didn't even try on the 6, the 4 was roomy enough over my hips (and the 6 would've been way too big in the bust). The fabric didn't wrinkle from sitting during the ceremony or reception, and it was very comfortable. I paired it with nude heels and a silver bag from my own closet.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
April 27, 2013
So flattering!!!
I rented this for a banquet because we all had to wear royal blue. It was perfect! I got a 2 and a 4 but I never even tried on the 4 because the 2 fit perfectly. Not too tight and not too loose. The adjustable waistband makes it easy to fit any size. The embroidery at the sleeve is so pretty and a nice touch to make you stand out more. Loved this dress!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
May 21, 2013
LOVE this dress!
I wore this dress to a formal event -- it's great for a party, night out, or summer wedding! Not only is the color gorgeous, but it's comfortable and elegant! The cinched waist is perfect for a curvier figure. Love it, would definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
June 15, 2013
Perfect dress for my 30th birthday! :)
This dress did run a little big. I ordered the 4 and 2, wore the 2 and could have gotten away with a 0. The color was perfect... bright and vibrant! I paired it with flat gold shoes and simple stud earrings. I received so many compliments and just felt perfect in it! I highly recommend this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 131lbs
July 6, 2013
Comfortable and beautiful!
This was a great dress for a summer event. The silk is beautiful and bright, and the fit is very comfortable. I got the 4 and the 2 but ended up wearing the 2 because it fit better on the strapless side. This dress is forgiving around the belly.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
September 30, 2013
comfortable, and such a beautiful color
i rented this dress for a nice night on the town, and received many compliments. it's comfortable and easy, and a beautiful, eye-catching color. highly recommend.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 21, 2014
Bright, FUN dress
Sorry for the terrible picture, didn't take any full body pics the whole night. Wanted to show off the dress and earring though. As many others have said, the dress runs a tad big. I ordered the 4 and the 6, and I went with the 4. I also ordered the BADGLEY MISCHKA Showstopper Earrings... and I wish I could've kept them too. Loved my entire outfit! Would definitely order this again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
September 2, 2014
Great color, super comfortable, pretty casual though.
The blue color is amazing and rich. Super comfortable and easy to wear. Took a lotta jewelry and heels to dress it up. Would definitely recommend for more casual events. Longer than I thought it would be, especially since I'm 5'11 but looked less frumpy with heels.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
September 19, 2014
Love this dress!
I rented this dress for a September wedding. Got a ton of compliments! I definitely had to tie the belt so it would be more form fitting but doing that made it fit and look great. I would rent this again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 11, 2012
Great color!
I wore this to a rehearsal dinner and sunset cruise in Newport, RI. While I got a TON of compliments on the color and detail on the shoulder it was a tad chilly for this dress. The silk is super luxurious, but also very thin. It was very cute. I wore it with some silver Jack Rogers sandals on the boat and it looked perfect. I would definitely recommend this dress.
LizAugust 17, 2012
I'm thinking of renting this for my sister's engagement party in October - will it be too thing for that? Thanks!
RTRAugust 29, 2012
Hi Liz! I think this dress will be perfect for an engagement party in October! It is certainly not too thin and is a great color for fall!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
August 16, 2012
Great dress!
This dress was a great dress to rent for multiple events in one weekend. I attended a summer cocktail party and baby shower and I got tons of compliments at both parties.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 12, 2012
Such a great dress that I have rented it twice now. Love the color and the detail.
The top is meant to be loose and that fit great but the skirt portion can be a little tight around the hips/butt. The fabric is rather simply made but also very lightweight in case you are going to be outside at all.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Body type: Pear
September 17, 2012
Came on time, perfectly pressed and got tons of compliments!
Fit perfectly, and great length for tall girls!
See more reviews:
3 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×