Santa Cruz Sun Dress

$84 to buy
$278 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Rock this cobalt blue Trina Turk party dress out for that bachelorette bash at the beach. An easy fit and perfect to take over the dance floor in. Dress it up with accessories like the Whiting & Davis' Silver Mesh Glam Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down in this dress (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection with adjustable waistband
HIPS: Not fitted - skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down in this dress (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection with adjustable waistband
HIPS: Not fitted - skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Blue crepe de chine with embroidery at shoulder. One shoulder neckline. Draped sleeve. Bloussant body with tie waist. 37'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
139 reviews
Fit
Large
(69)
True to Size
(65)
Small
(5)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 26, 2012
I got to look cute for my husband's 30th birthday weekend
It was a really cute dress. I ordered a 4 and a 6 and the 4 fit better. Unfortunately, the 4 had some sort of barely noticeable sparkly stain on it. It was almost like someone had spilled nail polish or a makeup on it and it had been cleaned, but you could still see it in the right light.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 142lbs
October 24, 2012
This dress was fabulous...I got so many compliments on it!
I wore this dress to my Goddaughter's first communion. We had a big party after it, so I needed something that would work for both. The second I walked down the stairs the compliments started and they haven't stopped since! I usually wear a 6 in dresses, but I wore the 4 comfortably. I could have worn the 6, but the less flowy fit of the 4 worked better for me that day. I didn't want to have to worry about readjusting! The color is gorgeous and the material is comfortable. Not much more you could ask for!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
October 17, 2012
This dress was perfect for my 21st birthday. It wasn't too formal and everyone complemented me!
It was actually very loose; I normally wear an 8 and was EASILY able to wear a 6, and possibly could have gotten into a 4 if I wanted the skirt to be tight instead of comfortably roomy. I enjoyed the comfortable fit since I spent my night dancing, but if you want it for something more formal, I don't suggest it.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
October 3, 2012
Color popped in pictures, perfect length, great dress. Full through hips. Loved it!
This dress was great for an outdoor wedding. The color looked AWESOME in pictures. The length is nice -- just an inch or two above the knee (on 5' 7"). I am usually a solid 8 at the bottom, and the 6 fit fine, so there is definitely room in the hips if you are pear shaped. I'm smaller at the top and it fit well. I would elaborate and say that it ran true to size at the top and large at the bottom. Really great dress and I got lots of compliments! Could wear with nude or black shoes, and I paired it with turquoise Kendra Scott Danielle Earrings to bring out the light blue in the shoulder design. Really fun dress!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 147lbs
October 1, 2012
Beautiful dress and fit was very true to size
This dress was really comfortable and fit true to size. I did choose to go with my back up dress and not wear this one cause it fit the occasion better. The tie in the waist made it easy to adjust to fit each body type. The material did seem to easily wrinkle so that was another reason I chose not to wear it to the wedding. The color is beautiful and the detail on the shoulder is very nice. I have longer legs and the dress was a perfect length. I definitely would consider renting this dress for another event.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 1, 2012
Loved the dress & the renting process couldn't have been easier!
I loved this dress, It fit perfectly. The drawstring waste allowed me to tighten/loosen as much as I needed. I could not have been more happy with the entire renting process. My dress arrived on Friday and the wedding I attended was on Saturday. I got tons of compliments on the dress. I definitely recommend RTR and this dress to anyone!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
September 24, 2012
Beautiful but temperamental
The dress is beautiful! Vivid colors and a great fit...but the material gets wrinkled so easily I ended up using BOTH dresses. Thank goodness for the back up size.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
September 24, 2012
I loved this dress and got so many complements (color, fit, etc.).
The top was a little big, so I had to tape the sleeveless side from sliding down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
September 23, 2012
BEAUTIFUL!
Such a comfortable and stylish dress that I wore to a casual wedding. I'm 5'1 and about 105 lbs and had a size 2, prob. could have used a 0 but the 2 still worked well! Really wanted to keep this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 21, 2012
Perfect for a summer evening event! Beautiful design and a flattering fit.
Loved this dress, wore it to an upscale wedding rehearsal & rehearsal dinner (wore long gown to actual wedding) and received lots of compliments! I'm normally around a 4 or a 6 but after reading the other reviews I ordered the 4 and the 2 - I'm so glad I did because I ended up wearing the 2 (which I was rather surprised about, so yes it definitely runs big!). Also, the other thing I hadn't expected was that the 4 and the 2 were actually different colors; the 2 was the brighter blue color in the photo but the 4 was a much darker navy - I was very happy that I fit into the 2 because I definitely preferred that color, doubt that the black heels I had brought would have gone with the darker blue. I also needed a silver purse to go with my bridesmaid dress and coincidentally happened to pick out (separately) the purse already pictured with the dress on the model, so it ended up working perfect for both nights.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
September 20, 2012
Wearing a fabulous "new-to-me" dress at a fraction of the cost
I wore this dress to a mountain wedding in Estes Park, Colorado, in June--it was perfect! It was dressy enough without being too over-the-top for the mountains. I paired it with a light lime clutch and nude heels and wore my hair up to show off the neckline. I got lots of compliments! I rated that it ran true to size; a 4 would have worked up top, but would have been too snug through the hips, so keep that in mind if you're curvy. The sleeve and the skirt were both shorter on me than shown on the model.
DanaMay 3, 2013
Omg I love your shoes!! Where did you find them?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
September 19, 2012
Runs a little big...
Although it ran big it was easy to tie at the waist and make it work. It may be a little too long for shorter girls but it was fine on me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
September 19, 2012
LOve love love!!!!!
Beautiful silky fabric with gorgeous detail on shoulder. I got tons of compliments. Perfect for everything excepts a formal affair. Another fabulous rental! thanks RTR
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
September 19, 2012
I loved how flattering the dress was.
Got this for a friend's wedding and I LOVED IT. I found it be true to size. I usually wear a medium or size 10 in tops and an 8/10 in jeans. I ended up wearing the size 10 dress and it fit perfectly (however, I have a fuller bust so the top portion was a bit tight). It's really flattering and I'd, for sure, recommend it! I got many compliments.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
September 19, 2012
Cute!
Perfect for summer, a little short on me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 120lbs
September 17, 2012
The dress was beautiful but it just didn't look right once I put it on.
I think I am too short for this dress to work out--it just looked messy.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 46
Body type: Athletic
September 17, 2012
Loved the ease of rental and the two sizes made it so I couldn't go wrong. Color was awesome. Loved
Beautiful color and length was perfect. Not too short. Style was a little more casual, but super comfortable. Tons of compliments
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Body type: Pear
September 17, 2012
Came on time, perfectly pressed and got tons of compliments!
Fit perfectly, and great length for tall girls!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 17, 2012
Flirty and fun, but not too revealing!
I wore this to a rehearsal dinner and loved it! It was a hot night, but the dress was very comfortable. Definitely a sexy look without being too short or revealing. I loved the color and the material. I would definitely consider renting this dress again for a fun night out! It runs large though, I wore a 0, even though normally I would be a 2.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
September 16, 2012
Comfortable, classy, and just overall perfect
Wore this dress for a wedding rehearsal dinner. Got a ton of complements on the dress and color. Very comfortable to wear.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 14, 2012
Fun and comfortable
I wore this for my friend's rehearsal dinner. It was super comfortable and I got a ton of compliments. It did run big though. I am normally an 8, I wore the 6, and it was still pretty roomy. But I loved it. It was my first time trying rent the runway. And while the dress I rented for the actual wedding did not work out, this was great. Actually rented a Halston for a wedding I'm attending this weekend, and it's perfect! Love rent the runway :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
September 12, 2012
This dress was perfect!
I ordered this dress to wear to an awards dinner during my husband's company trip to Cabo. It was perfect! Light enough not be hot and the perfect amount of dressy. I got numerous compliments on it from the other ladies attending the dinner. The color was gorgeous! I wore it with nude sandels to really let the dress stand out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 12, 2012
Such a great dress that I have rented it twice now. Love the color and the detail.
The top is meant to be loose and that fit great but the skirt portion can be a little tight around the hips/butt. The fabric is rather simply made but also very lightweight in case you are going to be outside at all.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
September 12, 2012
Great Color/Flattering Fit
I loved this dress! I wore it to a going-away party and received compliments all night. The blue is very vibrant and the fit is extremely flattering. Only issue was that the top runs a little large, so if you are pear shaped like me I would recommend going a size smaller. Would definitely recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
September 10, 2012
My husband told me I looked beautiful and all of my friends loved the dress and the fit-- it was a home run!!!
I wear a size 10 in dresses and size 8 in pants and this was a perfect fit. It was such a beautiful color and I received a ton of compliments. The earrings were also to die for. I LOVED the packaging and how easy RTR made it to get a special occasion dress. Will be renting again!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
September 10, 2012
Loved it!
Received a ton of compliments on this dress...very forgiving.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
September 9, 2012
My boyfriend couldn't take his eyes off me the whole night!
I rented this dress for my 30th birthday dinner with my boyfriend. I loved it and he did too! I would definitely rent this dress again!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
September 7, 2012
the ease of ordering! I am hooked!
I received lots of compliments in this dress! very comfortable, loved the sleeve and the bright color. It created a shape with the sinched waist as well. My Mother in Law and I happened to have the same color on :-)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
September 2, 2012
I was beginning to stress a little bit as the dress I ordered (purchased) online from a different site and when it arrived it was awful and I was left looking for a new dress at the last minute. I tried RTR for the first time and LOVE LOVE LOVED it. The dress arrived exactly when they said it would, was in perfect condition, contained an extra size for free, and the packaging was super cute. I cant wait to RTR again soon.
I was a little worried the dress may not be dressy enough for formal, evening wedding but the fabric of this dress really set it into a fun but classy style. The dress is flowy enough that it would work great for any body type. The drawstring waist it also really helpful allowing you to control how form it fits to your body.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
August 23, 2012
Perfect Summer Dress!
I loved this dress! I wore it for a summer wedding I attended and it was the perfect choice. I got so many compliments on it. I ordered an 6 and 8 and ended up wearing the 8 (which is my normal size). It was silk so it was hard to keep from staying unwrinkled, but it was very forgiving and didn't hug places where it shouldn't.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 22, 2012
My husband telling me I looked beautiful, sexy AND skinny was the best compliment and its just so easy with RTR...Love it!
This was a beautiful dress, great blue color! Perfect for a outdoor/beach wedding, very light material and breathable. I am usually a 4 or 6 in dresses and wish I would have ordered the 2 like the other reviews warned, the dress does run large. I was worried it would be too small but a smaller size is def. the way to go, however, with the drawstring it is easy to make any size work. Very flattering dress I received lots of compliments all night and my husband loved it! Thanks RTR!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 22, 2012
My husband telling me I looked beautiful, sexy AND skinny was the best compliment and its just so easy with RTR...Love it!
This was a beautiful dress, great blue color! Perfect for a outdoor/beach wedding, very light material and breathable. I am usually a 4 or 6 in dresses and wish I would have ordered the 2 like the other reviews warned, the dress does run large. I was worried it would be too small but a smaller size is def. the way to go, however, with the drawstring it is easy to make any size work. Very flattering dress I received lots of compliments all night and my husband loved it! Thanks RTR!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
August 20, 2012
Happy
I received many compliments! Dress was a good fit & I was happy I liked it just as much in person as i did the picture online.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
August 20, 2012
Great color
I have mixed feelings about this dress. On one hand it was a great color and very comfortable. On the other the fabric wrinkled very easily, also it was rainy that day so when the back got a few rain drops on it the fabric stayed blotchy for the rest of the night even though it was dry. Also, not sure if this is the case for everyone, but if you have hips the belly area tend to pooch out (and I don't have anything close to a pooch). In some pics it looks great, others not so much. Didn't hate it, didn't love it.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
August 20, 2012
love.
i loved the color and the fit. it was a great dress for a summer wedding. everyone loved it and i got lots of complements
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 16, 2012
Beautiful and comfortable
I wore this dress for a wedding after-party. It is a beautiful, bold royal blue. The style is somewhat casual because of the tie belt, but the material keeps it just formal enough for a semi-formal event. It fit perfectly. Loved it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
August 16, 2012
Great dress!
This dress was a great dress to rent for multiple events in one weekend. I attended a summer cocktail party and baby shower and I got tons of compliments at both parties.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
August 15, 2012
Great first rental!
When I first got the dress I was really turned off by the flat tube like shape of it, but then when I put it on and tied the strings it was like magic. The dress fitted nicely and it hit in all the right stops. The color is really rich and the fabric feels really nice against the skin. Got tons of compliments from other wedding goers. I will definitly keep RENTTHERUNWAY in my aresonal of "WHAT TO WEAR!"-Thanks for a great first rent and easy return!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
August 14, 2012
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE
This dress is just adorable! I can't say enough about it. Rent this today!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
August 14, 2012
Perfect!
I loved this dress and had tons of compliments on it... super comfy and fit great :)
See more reviews:
3 / 4
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×