Santa Cruz Sun Dress

$84 to buy
$278 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Rock this cobalt blue Trina Turk party dress out for that bachelorette bash at the beach. An easy fit and perfect to take over the dance floor in. Dress it up with accessories like the Whiting & Davis' Silver Mesh Glam Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down in this dress (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection with adjustable waistband
HIPS: Not fitted - skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down in this dress (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection with adjustable waistband
HIPS: Not fitted - skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Blue crepe de chine with embroidery at shoulder. One shoulder neckline. Draped sleeve. Bloussant body with tie waist. 37'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
139 reviews
Fit
Large69
True to Size65
Small5
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
May 23, 2013
I loved this dress! I rented it for a rehearsal dinner and received so many compliments.
This dress definitely runs true to size. I'm typically a 4 in dresses and the 4 fit perfectly.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
May 21, 2013
LOVE this dress!
I wore this dress to a formal event -- it's great for a party, night out, or summer wedding! Not only is the color gorgeous, but it's comfortable and elegant! The cinched waist is perfect for a curvier figure. Love it, would definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
May 15, 2013
This dress was perfect for a destination wedding to Aruba!
I wore this dress for a friends wedding in Aruba, it was perfect. light, airy and a pop of color. I had ordered the 12, but it was unavailable and RTR was fabulous and called me to help me decide on what to do. After speaking with a RTR stylist she assured me the 10 would fit and also sent me 2 other dresses complimentary to ensure I had options. The 10 fit perfectly and I received so many compliments. This dress also traveled fantastically and I didn't even have to iron it as I hung it up when I arrived and it was ready to go 2 days later!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Body type: Hourglass
May 13, 2013
The dress is gorgeous!! I received compliments all night!! FANTASTIC DRESS!!
Material is lightweight, and not clingy, and falls perfectly above the knee. I loved this dress!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130lbs
May 12, 2013
casual and comfortable!
It was a nice casual dress. it was very comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
May 7, 2013
Hassle Free Experience!
As many others have said, this dress runs big. I ordered and wore the M but could probably gotten away with the S if it had been available. The drawstring waist helped, in that I was able to tighten it quite a bit. This dress is super comfortable and the color is very flattering. I had the dress sent to my hotel so I didn't have to worry about traveling with it. Love RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 200lbs
May 6, 2013
Pretty blue color
The dress was a very pretty blue, but the design on the shoulder was a little faded. I ended up not being able to wear the dress because I gained weight since ordering and it was too snug around the hips (no stretch to fabric).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 143lbs
May 5, 2013
I loved this dress!!
Was comfortable and easy to dance in. Received so many compliments on this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 57
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
April 30, 2013
Did not wear. It was to big My back up size was not available
Overall big.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
April 27, 2013
So flattering!!!
I rented this for a banquet because we all had to wear royal blue. It was perfect! I got a 2 and a 4 but I never even tried on the 4 because the 2 fit perfectly. Not too tight and not too loose. The adjustable waistband makes it easy to fit any size. The embroidery at the sleeve is so pretty and a nice touch to make you stand out more. Loved this dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
April 24, 2013
Beautiful! Love this Dress!
The previous renter hadn't returned the 10 so I only recieved the 8 and a different style dress courtesy of RTR to give me an option. I was able to wear the 8, It was a little snug in the hips but it wasn't anything anyone would notice. The dress is a beautiful color and I received a lot of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 24, 2013
Loved this dress!
I usually wear a 4-6, but ended up changing my order to 2-4 because of the reviews saying it runs large. Yes, it does run large and I ended up wearing the 2. The 4 would have fit fine, but the 2 looked better because it was more fitted. Also, the size 4 dress was not in as good shape as the 2 - the embroidery on the shoulder looked raggedy due to some stray threads. I wore this dress to an outdoor wedding during the day and to a formal event that night. Needless to say, it is very versatile dress (I just changed my shoes for the formal event). The color is really bold and beautiful! I absolutely loved it. RTR made it easy for me to pick a dress that would work with both events. LOVE RTR!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
April 22, 2013
Beautiful and effortless, thanks RTR!
I love this dress! It is unique without screaming for attention, and pretty without sweet ruffly, lacy details. Strong and feminine are good descriptors. Definitely recommended. The sleeve was shorter than shown on the model, but it wasn't a problem to me. I didn't even try on the 6, the 4 was roomy enough over my hips (and the 6 would've been way too big in the bust). The fabric didn't wrinkle from sitting during the ceremony or reception, and it was very comfortable. I paired it with nude heels and a silver bag from my own closet.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
April 20, 2013
Great party dress, lots of room to dance and move around in.
This dress has a very bold color, it complemented my skin tone, which is dark, very well. It did run a little big, which kind of gave it a "boxy" look. I don't think I could have gone a size smaller because I am very hippy and curvy. Overall, this was a winner!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
April 18, 2013
Comfy and great color!
Wore this to an upstate NY wedding on a farm. Fit really well and was comfortable even in the 90 degree heat. Color looks great in photos
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 116lbs
April 17, 2013
It fit great! Beautiful dress. Much prettier in person than in pictures.
I was surprised by the detailing. It is very pretty.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
April 11, 2013
I wore this dress to three different parties in one night!
I absolutely loved this Trina Turk dress. I was recovering from surgery so my stomach was pretty bloated and I didn't want anything too fitted. The loose styling of the dress camouflaged my tummy and I still looked great. It was also so versatile. I bounced from a wine mixer to a BMW party to a late night happy hour at a chic bar.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 10, 2013
Great Color!!
I ordered this dress as my backup dress for a wedding and decided to go with the other one for the main event. However I wore this out on a date with my husband the night before. It is a little on the casual side (I wore it with sandals and did not feel overdressed at all), however I can imagine it could be dressed up a bit with heels and fancy jewelry. I thought the color was amazing, and loved the detail on the shoulder. I also felt it looked better hiked up a bit (with the string pulled tight enough to hold it up) - which kind of looks like how the model in the pic did it. My only complaint is the sleeve did not seem as flowy/long/pretty on me as it did on the picture. Not sure if my arm is longer than the model's, or if the dress I had somehow had a shorter sleeve - but it looked slightly off. Other than that I would definitely rent this dress again for a casual-type occasion.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
April 7, 2013
RTR was prompt and totally easy.
A great dress! Easy and comfortable.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
April 7, 2013
Colorful, eye-catching summer dress
This dress was fun for an August wedding - the right amount of coverage, yet easy to dance in. It was a touch shorter than I am comfortable with yet great in every other way. The colors were vibrant and photographed well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 127lbs
March 27, 2013
LOVED this dress!!
Wore it for a girl's weekend and it was perfect! Does run big, so order a size down. Would definitely rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
March 27, 2013
Great color, flattering fit, and numerous compliments!
I rented this for a friend's bachelorette weekend in Nashville, and I received a plethora of attention from both males and females. The color is brilliant (I'm a fair-skinned blonde), and the fit is perfect for dancing all night! I highly recommend this dress if you want to feel fabulous!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
March 26, 2013
I wore this dress to my sorority spring formal and received TONS of compliments
I'm normally a size 6, but I found it to be slightly tight in the bust area and not as loose as it appeared to be. I made it work bu an 8 would've been better.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
March 20, 2013
Very comfortable. I received a lot of compliments on it.
It fit great. Perfect color. only con was that it the material wrinkles easily.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
March 17, 2013
Great dress!
Fit is slightly large. Flattering on any body type. You can make the dress smaller with the tie.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 43
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
March 5, 2013
This was the most beautiful color dress I've ever worn!!! The detail on the shoulder is gorgeous too
This was a beautiful dress, the color was gorgeous. The waist line hit a little weird on me, so I felt like it wasn't as flattering as I would have liked. My boyfriend loved it though, and said I was silly to not feel sexy in it :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 2, 2013
Loved it! Very fun looking!
The reason this didn't get five stars is because the second dress had makeup all over the embroidery so I couldn't wear that even if I wanted to. The dress itself was beautiful, a lot heavier/thicker fabric than what I was expecting.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
March 1, 2013
Gorgeous - wish I had gotten the chance to wear it!
I rented this dress for a party which turned out to be super casual. The dress is a gorgeous blue color and fits well. The dress does run large, so I would size down if ordering again. I will definitely be renting this dress again this spring/summer due to the amazing fit and color. So flattering!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
February 19, 2013
Gorgeous in person and it photos.
It was a little less form fitting then I expected, otherwise, it fit great and I LOVE it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
February 5, 2013
I loved this dress, it was comfortable, yet really stylish and fun!
n/a
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
January 13, 2013
Easy dress to wear, show-stopping color!
I had this dress in a 0 and the 2, and they fit almost identically! The 0 was just a little bit shorter which I preferred being just 5'3". The color was great, the fit was loose, and I loved the tie at the waist to cinch in the dress. All this dress needed was a pair of gold earrings and a bangle to go with it! Thank you RTR! This was a great birthday dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
January 9, 2013
Gorgeous color and comfortable fit! This dress got lots of compliments!
This dress was such a fun, flirty, pretty, vibrant, and COMFORTABLE dress! I wore this dress for a dressy engagement party, but this dress would be great for lots of different occasions (you can dress it up with different accessories... I chose to pair it with diamond gold tear drop earrings, a gold bracelet and a gold sequined purse). I typically wear a size 8 but after reading previous reviews (which stated the dress ran big), I decided to get a size 6 and it fit perfectly (I didn't even bother trying the 8 on). The detail on the shoulder was neat as well and I received lots of compliments on this dress. I'd definitely rent it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 17, 2012
This dress was huge, I couldn't even wear it!
I usually wear a 4 or a 6, but I would say I am more safely a 6. I ordered the dress in those 2 sizes, and the 4 was huge. I couldn't even wear it! I understand that it has a draped look - a style that I usually prefer - but this turned out to be quite unflattering on me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
December 13, 2012
Love this dress!!!
I've rented this dress twice. It's a beautiful, stand out color but not too dressy. It was perfect for birthday bar hopping. I usually wear a size 6 or 8 and I wore a size 2 in this the second time around. If you are busty it might fit more true to size.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
December 11, 2012
Didn't like the synch at the waist. Wasn't a flattering dress
I tried on the dress once as it was my backup but it wasn't flattering around the waist. I think it's better suited for taller skinnier girls.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
December 3, 2012
Pretty Dress. But hugged in the wrong places.
I ordered this dress in a size 8 and 10. I have a pear shaped body, a very small waist & BIG hips. The size 8 fit nice on the top but was a little snug on by hips and the size 10 dress i was swimming in. I wound up not wearing the dress.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
November 29, 2012
Extremely comfortable, great color, and easy to dance in!
I am 5'5, 140lbs and wore a size 6. I liked that it was a bit looser, but if you want something fitted, I would order the second free size and go a size down. I would have liked it to be a couple inches shorter (almost came down to my knee) but with a high pair of heels, you can easily elongate your legs. Dress can also be dressed up or down easily depending on accessories. Experience with RTR was AWESOME! Just rented a few dresses for Vegas.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 18, 2012
Great with my blonde hair! Got many compliments on color/one armed styler.
The string on it can tighten the dress if needed!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
November 12, 2012
Fun party look
I rented this dress for a birthday party and felt great all night. It does run large. The 4 was WAY too big but luckily the 2 was just right.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
October 28, 2012
great dress!
i rented this dress for a wedding and couldn't have been happier with it. it definitely runs large. i normally wear a 6, which is the size i wore, but only because i had gotten some deodorant on the 4 and was in a time crunch. the good thing about this dress is even if you order it a little too big, you can tie the belt tighter and it drapes nicely. got lots of complements!
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×