Trina Turk

Santa Cruz Sun Dress

$84 to buy
$278 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Rock this cobalt blue Trina Turk party dress out for that bachelorette bash at the beach. An easy fit and perfect to take over the dance floor in. Dress it up with accessories like the Whiting & Davis' Silver Mesh Glam Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down in this dress (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection with adjustable waistband
HIPS: Not fitted - skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Blue crepe de chine with embroidery at shoulder. One shoulder neckline. Draped sleeve. Bloussant body with tie waist. 37'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
139 reviews
Fit
Large
(69)
True to Size
(65)
Small
(5)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 21, 2012
Perfect for a summer evening event! Beautiful design and a flattering fit.
Loved this dress, wore it to an upscale wedding rehearsal & rehearsal dinner (wore long gown to actual wedding) and received lots of compliments! I'm normally around a 4 or a 6 but after reading the other reviews I ordered the 4 and the 2 - I'm so glad I did because I ended up wearing the 2 (which I was rather surprised about, so yes it definitely runs big!). Also, the other thing I hadn't expected was that the 4 and the 2 were actually different colors; the 2 was the brighter blue color in the photo but the 4 was a much darker navy - I was very happy that I fit into the 2 because I definitely preferred that color, doubt that the black heels I had brought would have gone with the darker blue. I also needed a silver purse to go with my bridesmaid dress and coincidentally happened to pick out (separately) the purse already pictured with the dress on the model, so it ended up working perfect for both nights.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
September 24, 2012
Beautiful but temperamental
The dress is beautiful! Vivid colors and a great fit...but the material gets wrinkled so easily I ended up using BOTH dresses. Thank goodness for the back up size.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 1, 2012
Loved the dress & the renting process couldn't have been easier!
I loved this dress, It fit perfectly. The drawstring waste allowed me to tighten/loosen as much as I needed. I could not have been more happy with the entire renting process. My dress arrived on Friday and the wedding I attended was on Saturday. I got tons of compliments on the dress. I definitely recommend RTR and this dress to anyone!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 147lbs
October 1, 2012
Beautiful dress and fit was very true to size
This dress was really comfortable and fit true to size. I did choose to go with my back up dress and not wear this one cause it fit the occasion better. The tie in the waist made it easy to adjust to fit each body type. The material did seem to easily wrinkle so that was another reason I chose not to wear it to the wedding. The color is beautiful and the detail on the shoulder is very nice. I have longer legs and the dress was a perfect length. I definitely would consider renting this dress for another event.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
October 3, 2012
Color popped in pictures, perfect length, great dress. Full through hips. Loved it!
This dress was great for an outdoor wedding. The color looked AWESOME in pictures. The length is nice -- just an inch or two above the knee (on 5' 7"). I am usually a solid 8 at the bottom, and the 6 fit fine, so there is definitely room in the hips if you are pear shaped. I'm smaller at the top and it fit well. I would elaborate and say that it ran true to size at the top and large at the bottom. Really great dress and I got lots of compliments! Could wear with nude or black shoes, and I paired it with turquoise Kendra Scott Danielle Earrings to bring out the light blue in the shoulder design. Really fun dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
October 17, 2012
This dress was perfect for my 21st birthday. It wasn't too formal and everyone complemented me!
It was actually very loose; I normally wear an 8 and was EASILY able to wear a 6, and possibly could have gotten into a 4 if I wanted the skirt to be tight instead of comfortably roomy. I enjoyed the comfortable fit since I spent my night dancing, but if you want it for something more formal, I don't suggest it.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 142lbs
October 24, 2012
This dress was fabulous...I got so many compliments on it!
I wore this dress to my Goddaughter's first communion. We had a big party after it, so I needed something that would work for both. The second I walked down the stairs the compliments started and they haven't stopped since! I usually wear a 6 in dresses, but I wore the 4 comfortably. I could have worn the 6, but the less flowy fit of the 4 worked better for me that day. I didn't want to have to worry about readjusting! The color is gorgeous and the material is comfortable. Not much more you could ask for!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 26, 2012
I got to look cute for my husband's 30th birthday weekend
It was a really cute dress. I ordered a 4 and a 6 and the 4 fit better. Unfortunately, the 4 had some sort of barely noticeable sparkly stain on it. It was almost like someone had spilled nail polish or a makeup on it and it had been cleaned, but you could still see it in the right light.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
November 12, 2012
Fun party look
I rented this dress for a birthday party and felt great all night. It does run large. The 4 was WAY too big but luckily the 2 was just right.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 18, 2012
Great with my blonde hair! Got many compliments on color/one armed styler.
The string on it can tighten the dress if needed!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
November 29, 2012
Extremely comfortable, great color, and easy to dance in!
I am 5'5, 140lbs and wore a size 6. I liked that it was a bit looser, but if you want something fitted, I would order the second free size and go a size down. I would have liked it to be a couple inches shorter (almost came down to my knee) but with a high pair of heels, you can easily elongate your legs. Dress can also be dressed up or down easily depending on accessories. Experience with RTR was AWESOME! Just rented a few dresses for Vegas.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
December 3, 2012
Pretty Dress. But hugged in the wrong places.
I ordered this dress in a size 8 and 10. I have a pear shaped body, a very small waist & BIG hips. The size 8 fit nice on the top but was a little snug on by hips and the size 10 dress i was swimming in. I wound up not wearing the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
December 11, 2012
Didn't like the synch at the waist. Wasn't a flattering dress
I tried on the dress once as it was my backup but it wasn't flattering around the waist. I think it's better suited for taller skinnier girls.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
December 13, 2012
Love this dress!!!
I've rented this dress twice. It's a beautiful, stand out color but not too dressy. It was perfect for birthday bar hopping. I usually wear a size 6 or 8 and I wore a size 2 in this the second time around. If you are busty it might fit more true to size.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
August 10, 2012
FUN!
Loved this dress, comfy and flattering :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
February 5, 2013
I loved this dress, it was comfortable, yet really stylish and fun!
n/a
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
March 1, 2013
Gorgeous - wish I had gotten the chance to wear it!
I rented this dress for a party which turned out to be super casual. The dress is a gorgeous blue color and fits well. The dress does run large, so I would size down if ordering again. I will definitely be renting this dress again this spring/summer due to the amazing fit and color. So flattering!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 44
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
March 5, 2013
This was the most beautiful color dress I've ever worn!!! The detail on the shoulder is gorgeous too
This was a beautiful dress, the color was gorgeous. The waist line hit a little weird on me, so I felt like it wasn't as flattering as I would have liked. My boyfriend loved it though, and said I was silly to not feel sexy in it :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
March 17, 2013
Great dress!
Fit is slightly large. Flattering on any body type. You can make the dress smaller with the tie.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
March 20, 2013
Very comfortable. I received a lot of compliments on it.
It fit great. Perfect color. only con was that it the material wrinkles easily.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
March 26, 2013
I wore this dress to my sorority spring formal and received TONS of compliments
I'm normally a size 6, but I found it to be slightly tight in the bust area and not as loose as it appeared to be. I made it work bu an 8 would've been better.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
March 27, 2013
Great color, flattering fit, and numerous compliments!
I rented this for a friend's bachelorette weekend in Nashville, and I received a plethora of attention from both males and females. The color is brilliant (I'm a fair-skinned blonde), and the fit is perfect for dancing all night! I highly recommend this dress if you want to feel fabulous!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 10, 2013
Great Color!!
I ordered this dress as my backup dress for a wedding and decided to go with the other one for the main event. However I wore this out on a date with my husband the night before. It is a little on the casual side (I wore it with sandals and did not feel overdressed at all), however I can imagine it could be dressed up a bit with heels and fancy jewelry. I thought the color was amazing, and loved the detail on the shoulder. I also felt it looked better hiked up a bit (with the string pulled tight enough to hold it up) - which kind of looks like how the model in the pic did it. My only complaint is the sleeve did not seem as flowy/long/pretty on me as it did on the picture. Not sure if my arm is longer than the model's, or if the dress I had somehow had a shorter sleeve - but it looked slightly off. Other than that I would definitely rent this dress again for a casual-type occasion.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
April 11, 2013
I wore this dress to three different parties in one night!
I absolutely loved this Trina Turk dress. I was recovering from surgery so my stomach was pretty bloated and I didn't want anything too fitted. The loose styling of the dress camouflaged my tummy and I still looked great. It was also so versatile. I bounced from a wine mixer to a BMW party to a late night happy hour at a chic bar.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
April 18, 2013
Comfy and great color!
Wore this to an upstate NY wedding on a farm. Fit really well and was comfortable even in the 90 degree heat. Color looks great in photos
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
April 20, 2013
Great party dress, lots of room to dance and move around in.
This dress has a very bold color, it complemented my skin tone, which is dark, very well. It did run a little big, which kind of gave it a "boxy" look. I don't think I could have gone a size smaller because I am very hippy and curvy. Overall, this was a winner!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 24, 2013
Loved this dress!
I usually wear a 4-6, but ended up changing my order to 2-4 because of the reviews saying it runs large. Yes, it does run large and I ended up wearing the 2. The 4 would have fit fine, but the 2 looked better because it was more fitted. Also, the size 4 dress was not in as good shape as the 2 - the embroidery on the shoulder looked raggedy due to some stray threads. I wore this dress to an outdoor wedding during the day and to a formal event that night. Needless to say, it is very versatile dress (I just changed my shoes for the formal event). The color is really bold and beautiful! I absolutely loved it. RTR made it easy for me to pick a dress that would work with both events. LOVE RTR!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
April 24, 2013
Beautiful! Love this Dress!
The previous renter hadn't returned the 10 so I only recieved the 8 and a different style dress courtesy of RTR to give me an option. I was able to wear the 8, It was a little snug in the hips but it wasn't anything anyone would notice. The dress is a beautiful color and I received a lot of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 58
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
April 30, 2013
Did not wear. It was to big My back up size was not available
Overall big.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 143lbs
May 5, 2013
I loved this dress!!
Was comfortable and easy to dance in. Received so many compliments on this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 200lbs
May 6, 2013
Pretty blue color
The dress was a very pretty blue, but the design on the shoulder was a little faded. I ended up not being able to wear the dress because I gained weight since ordering and it was too snug around the hips (no stretch to fabric).
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130lbs
May 12, 2013
casual and comfortable!
It was a nice casual dress. it was very comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
May 15, 2013
This dress was perfect for a destination wedding to Aruba!
I wore this dress for a friends wedding in Aruba, it was perfect. light, airy and a pop of color. I had ordered the 12, but it was unavailable and RTR was fabulous and called me to help me decide on what to do. After speaking with a RTR stylist she assured me the 10 would fit and also sent me 2 other dresses complimentary to ensure I had options. The 10 fit perfectly and I received so many compliments. This dress also traveled fantastically and I didn't even have to iron it as I hung it up when I arrived and it was ready to go 2 days later!!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
June 6, 2013
LOVED this dress!! Runs a little big but the color and shape of the dress were amazing!!!!
I rented this dress for an out of town semi-formal wedding. This was my first time using RTR and the whole process was so much fun! I loved looking through all the dresses and seeing the pictures of "normal" people wearing them so I could get an idea what they might look like on me. I normally wear a size 6 but the reviews said it ran a little big so I got that and a size 4. Well the reviews were right and I went with the 4. I received so many compliments on the dress. It was dressy but fun and trendy also! Very comfortable. The rental process was so easy! The wedding was on a Saturday so I had it delivered Thursday. It gave me time to decide which size I liked best. I returned it to a UPS drop box on Sunday in the town we were at for the wedding. SUPER easy! I cannot wait to rent from RTR again!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 17, 2013
Amazing Dress!
i wanted something lovely to wear for my birthday and this really stood out. The fit, cut and color was amazing. It's fully lined, so you don't have to worry about underwear lines. The color is exactly the same as on the website.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124lbs
July 8, 2013
Awesome dress!
I wore this for my friends wedding over memorial day. Great dress! Wore with nude pumps and accented it with lime green jewelry. Perfect!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 30, 2013
Beautiful!
I wore this dress to a June wedding and it was perfect. The color is amazing in person and I love the detail on the shoulder. I usually wear a 4 in dresses but the 2 fit perfect. Hit just above the knee.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
August 3, 2013
Stunning color, just too big
I don't have much of a figure, so this dress just hung on my body. I am a true size 0 and it was just too big, even with the drawstring waist. Beautiful color and detail. It came a bit wrinkled.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
September 17, 2013
Amazing dress for an outdoor wedding. Striking color.
Very comfortable dress. It fit perfectly after I tightened the drawstring around the waste. Got many compliments and the color is gorgeous. First experience with RTR was a success!!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 19, 2013
The dress fit perfectly, was very flattering and completely original!
The dress fit true to size and was a very comfortable style. The sleeve was not as long as it appears on the model, but I think it looked better that way. It was easy to dance in and numerous people came up to me to complement the dress and talk about how gorgeous the color was. It was the perfect dress for a perfect night!
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×