Trina Turk

Santa Cruz Sun Dress

$84 to buy
$278 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Rock this cobalt blue Trina Turk party dress out for that bachelorette bash at the beach. An easy fit and perfect to take over the dance floor in. Dress it up with accessories like the Whiting & Davis' Silver Mesh Glam Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down in this dress (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection with adjustable waistband
HIPS: Not fitted - skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Blue crepe de chine with embroidery at shoulder. One shoulder neckline. Draped sleeve. Bloussant body with tie waist. 37'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
139 reviews
Fit
Large
(69)
True to Size
(67)
Small
(5)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
December 16, 2013
Fun dress!

I rented this as a back up for my work holiday party and went with the 1st choice. The dress fit nicely (runs large, so size down) and the length was fine (i'm 5'10 - may be long on anyone short). The detail on the shoulder was nice but overall thought it wasn't dressy enough for the party. Would be a great dress for a bridal shower or lunch though.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
May 7, 2013
Hassle Free Experience!

As many others have said, this dress runs big. I ordered and wore the M but could probably gotten away with the S if it had been available. The drawstring waist helped, in that I was able to tighten it quite a bit. This dress is super comfortable and the color is very flattering. I had the dress sent to my hotel so I didn't have to worry about traveling with it. Love RTR!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
February 23, 2014
Vegas Wedding

Perfect for a day time wedding in Vegas. The fit is so comfortable. I think it runs a bit big but you can adjust the waist. LOVE this dress and definitely stood out and had many compliments. Will rent again.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
July 28, 2014
Obsessed with this dress!

I am obsessing over this dress and currently try to find it online to buy! I loved it! it ran very large - I wore the 2 and I am not normally a 2. It fit perfectly though - not too snug in the hips or big/small on top. I dressed it up with nude heels and wore it in Vegas and but it would look cute with flats too. The color was so pretty too - overall a great and comfy dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 62
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
August 7, 2014
Gorgeous color!

This dress is a beautiful bright blue silk with embroidered detail on the shoulder that is even prettier than photos show. I ordered size 4 with the 2 as a backup and ended up wearing the 2 because it fit the shoulderless underarm area more snugly. This dress is very pretty and comfortable and the drawstring waist allowed me to eat as much as I wanted. The bottom is a little snug making the dress ride up while sitting and getting down on the dance floor. Even so, it was perfect for a fun summer outdoor party night.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
August 25, 2014
Great, easy to wear dress!

I got this to wear for a dinner out in Vegas. My husband loved it and I felt great in it. It was easy to wear and very comfortable. The sleeve did seem a bit shorter than what is pictured, but it wasn't an issue for me. Great experience overall. I would rent this one again!

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Weight: 145lbs
August 30, 2014
Love the one shoulder detail on the dress

Great dress for a wedding

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 21, 2014
My favorite rental so far!

This is the prettiest, most comfortable, perfect-for-any-occasion dress. The bright blue is beautiful! It could be dressy or casual, depending on the accessories. It does run a tad big, so size down for your back up - but the drawstring waist makes it easy to adjust the fit. This was my free birthday rental and I just loved, loved, loved it.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 21, 2014
My favorite rental so far!

This is the prettiest, most comfortable, perfect-for-any-occasion dress. The bright blue is beautiful! It could be dressy or casual, depending on the accessories. It does run a tad big, so size down for your back up - but the drawstring waist makes it easy to adjust the fit. This was my free birthday rental and I just loved, loved, loved it.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 1, 2015
One shoulder style is a signature look

I LOVE the one shoulder style, I wore this out in NY for my bachelorette. I wore the 0, there was little difference between the 2 and 0, but the 0 seemed to fall just a little nicer. The length was perfect, not too short. The color is to die for.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
May 11, 2015
Fun dress for bachelorette night

I usually wear a size 6, but the 6 was not available and based on the other reviewers saying the dress ran large- I ended up ordering and wearing a size 4. The dress was a bit snug in the leg area (but I am bottom heavy) and was a bit loose in the armpit area. I should have brought some fashion tape with me to use- as that would have solved the problem. I am 5'8" and the dress was a bit shorter than I would have liked, but it worked just fine,

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
July 16, 2012
My boyfriend told me I looked "super hot." Good enough for me!

Wore this to a more casual wedding. Great color and overall look. It runs a little big, but this could also be because its a baggier fit so I'd go down a size if you get a backup. I ended up wearing my normal size because I just felt slightly more comfortable.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
January 9, 2013
Gorgeous color and comfortable fit! This dress got lots of compliments!

This dress was such a fun, flirty, pretty, vibrant, and COMFORTABLE dress! I wore this dress for a dressy engagement party, but this dress would be great for lots of different occasions (you can dress it up with different accessories... I chose to pair it with diamond gold tear drop earrings, a gold bracelet and a gold sequined purse). I typically wear a size 8 but after reading previous reviews (which stated the dress ran big), I decided to get a size 6 and it fit perfectly (I didn't even bother trying the 8 on). The detail on the shoulder was neat as well and I received lots of compliments on this dress. I'd definitely rent it again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
April 22, 2013
Beautiful and effortless, thanks RTR!

I love this dress! It is unique without screaming for attention, and pretty without sweet ruffly, lacy details. Strong and feminine are good descriptors. Definitely recommended. The sleeve was shorter than shown on the model, but it wasn't a problem to me. I didn't even try on the 6, the 4 was roomy enough over my hips (and the 6 would've been way too big in the bust). The fabric didn't wrinkle from sitting during the ceremony or reception, and it was very comfortable. I paired it with nude heels and a silver bag from my own closet.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
June 15, 2013
Perfect dress for my 30th birthday! :)

This dress did run a little big. I ordered the 4 and 2, wore the 2 and could have gotten away with a 0. The color was perfect... bright and vibrant! I paired it with flat gold shoes and simple stud earrings. I received so many compliments and just felt perfect in it! I highly recommend this dress.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 131lbs
July 6, 2013
Comfortable and beautiful!

This was a great dress for a summer event. The silk is beautiful and bright, and the fit is very comfortable. I got the 4 and the 2 but ended up wearing the 2 because it fit better on the strapless side. This dress is forgiving around the belly.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 21, 2014
Bright, FUN dress

Sorry for the terrible picture, didn't take any full body pics the whole night. Wanted to show off the dress and earring though. As many others have said, the dress runs a tad big. I ordered the 4 and the 6, and I went with the 4. I also ordered the BADGLEY MISCHKA Showstopper Earrings... and I wish I could've kept them too. Loved my entire outfit! Would definitely order this again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
September 2, 2014
Great color, super comfortable, pretty casual though.

The blue color is amazing and rich. Super comfortable and easy to wear. Took a lotta jewelry and heels to dress it up. Would definitely recommend for more casual events. Longer than I thought it would be, especially since I'm 5'11 but looked less frumpy with heels.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
August 16, 2012
Great dress!

This dress was a great dress to rent for multiple events in one weekend. I attended a summer cocktail party and baby shower and I got tons of compliments at both parties.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 120lbs
September 17, 2012
The dress was beautiful but it just didn't look right once I put it on.

I think I am too short for this dress to work out--it just looked messy.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
September 23, 2012
BEAUTIFUL!

Such a comfortable and stylish dress that I wore to a casual wedding. I'm 5'1 and about 105 lbs and had a size 2, prob. could have used a 0 but the 2 still worked well! Really wanted to keep this dress!

Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
September 24, 2012
I loved this dress and got so many complements (color, fit, etc.).

The top was a little big, so I had to tape the sleeveless side from sliding down.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
October 28, 2012
great dress!

i rented this dress for a wedding and couldn't have been happier with it. it definitely runs large. i normally wear a 6, which is the size i wore, but only because i had gotten some deodorant on the 4 and was in a time crunch. the good thing about this dress is even if you order it a little too big, you can tie the belt tighter and it drapes nicely. got lots of complements!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 17, 2012
This dress was huge, I couldn't even wear it!

I usually wear a 4 or a 6, but I would say I am more safely a 6. I ordered the dress in those 2 sizes, and the 4 was huge. I couldn't even wear it! I understand that it has a draped look - a style that I usually prefer - but this turned out to be quite unflattering on me.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 127lbs
March 27, 2013
LOVED this dress!!

Wore it for a girl's weekend and it was perfect! Does run big, so order a size down. Would definitely rent again!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
April 7, 2013
RTR was prompt and totally easy.

A great dress! Easy and comfortable.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
July 1, 2013
failed experiment

The smaller size fit okay but the dress wasn't formal enough, mainly due to the drawstring. Thankfully, after my last experience I made sure to have a backup dress on hand.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
July 15, 2014
Nice color!

Very nice dress...I received compliments all night

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 21, 2014
Great color and fun dress

Fit a little large (wore the 0 but tried the 2 also), but it fit better when I made the belt tight.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
August 13, 2012
nice dress, no zipper

this dress looked beautiful, would have fit perfect if the dress had a zipper. the fabric has no stretch, i could get the dress all the way up, but could not get the sleeve on because there is no zipper and the fabric does not stretch at all, but i can tell if there had been a zipper the dress would have fit no problem and been beautiful. i ended up returning and had to run out a few hours before the wedding i was attending to buy something to wear.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
March 26, 2013
I wore this dress to my sorority spring formal and received TONS of compliments

I'm normally a size 6, but I found it to be slightly tight in the bust area and not as loose as it appeared to be. I made it work bu an 8 would've been better.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 27, 2014
Wore this dress for NYE. My BF loved it!

Loved the top, it fit perfectly. but the bottom was a longer than I hoped. The skirt on it is also a bit straighter than I expected.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
May 7, 2014
Great for straight bodied ladies

Gorgeous color. This has an overall wierd fit. If you are pear shaped it is not for you! It ended up just not being very flattering.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
September 19, 2012
Cute!

Perfect for summer, a little short on me.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
May 21, 2012
The pretty dress, awesome earrings, and the ease of the process! Totally stress-free!

I loved wearing this dress to an evening wedding this weekend! The color is so vibrant and the dress is very comfortable! It looked great with the Kate Spade chandelier earrings that were my Mystery Bling :) I felt like a million bucks! I was worried at first that it wouldn't be formal enough for the event, but the color and fabric is super classy. Great first experience!

KaleyMay 21, 2012
What kind of bra would you wear with this?
RTRMay 21, 2012
Hi Kaley, this style can be worn with a standard strapless bra.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 165lbs
May 21, 2012
PERFECT

Dress was a perfect "semi-dressy" outfit!! Loved it, very rich in color and received many compliments. Would definitely rent again! :-) Thanks RTR!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 18, 2012
Every dress that I've rented from RTR has always gotten multiple compliments. Love their selection and service!

This dress was perfect for the outdoor wedding that I attended. It fit great and got so many compliments. The detailing on the shoulder added a perfect amount of colorful pop. Great dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
June 25, 2012
Standout Dress

I got soooo many compliments on this dress. Fit very well and the color was great!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
July 19, 2012
So cute and fun to wear

I wore this dress with cowboy boots for a wedding at a ranch. It was perfect! So cute and comfortable. Looked great with heals and with the boots. I got tons of compliments and felt great in the dress. I would definitely recommend!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
July 24, 2012
Nice dress

I liked this dress but it didn't fit me perfectly. I ordered the size 2 and 4 and even though you'd think the larger size would be better, it was too loose in the waist. So I wore the size 2. It was a little more snug in the hips than I thought it would be which changed the way it looked. But I would recommend it for girls without as curvy of hips. :) Other than that, the embroidery was beautiful.

See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×