Trina Turk

Portrait of Elegance Shift

$90 to buy
$328 retail
Stylist Notes

Looking for the ultimate date night dress? This Trina Turk lace shift will look amazing on you as you sip champagne and fall love with that new fling!

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Synthetic Floral Lace. Three quarter length sleeves. Boat Neckline. Hidden back zipper. Straight skirt. Lined. 35” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
1071 reviews
Fit
Large
(406)
True to Size
(567)
Small
(35)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 3, 2013
Beautiful dress and everybody loved it!
I would rent this dress again. It was classy and beautiful, and I got several compliments on it. The length is classy, to an inch or two above the knee, and the lace is see-through on the sleeves only. The dress hugs the curves a little bit, enough to make it not shapeless.The 6 fit me okay, but bulged a little in the back, so I wore the 4 and it fit perfectly. I loved it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 6, 2013
Gorgeous dress! SO easy to order, came on time, great fit and quality!
I usually wear a 2 but after reading the reviews went with a 0 and I am so glad that I did! A 2 would have been way to big. The dress is flattering and I got a ton of compliments. I love the purple lace.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 6, 2013
Love this dress! Comfortable and very stylish. Great color. Perfect for a fall event.
It was slightly loose but it worked because I think a 2 would have been too tight and hard to sit down in for me. I loved this dress and got compliments on it all night. Highly recommend ordering Mystery Bling, too, because the necklace they sent was perfect!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
January 7, 2013
LOVED this Dress!!!
I am considering going out and buying this because I loved it so much! It runs true to size if not a little big, but is very flattering and the most beautiful plum color. Loved it!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 138lbs
January 7, 2013
The dress looked great and was perfect for a wedding in SoCal!
The lace is surprisingly not itchy like I thought it might be and the dress is a beautiful color.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 8, 2013
photographs beautifully
This dress is super comfortable and easy to wear. It's more beautiful in photos than it is on the body, so if you'll be in lots of photos this is great for you! I wore mine with opaque blk tights and little booties which helped make it a bit more casual. It's neckline is really simple showing off your neck and collar bones. you don't need a necklace if you wear great earrings. And I got tons of compliments on the color.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
January 9, 2013
Too big.
This dress is very pretty, but for something conservative. I rented it for a NYE wedding and ended up not wearing either size because both were loose. I normally wear a 6 and could maybe even have worn a 0 or 2 in this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Body type: Athletic
January 10, 2013
Gorgeous eggplant color and an absolutely comfortable dress
I wore this dress to a wedding in Savannah, GA and loved it. I found that the size 6 was just a bit big on me, but it was not too much wear it looked like I was wearing a potato sack. I paired the dress with gold jewelry and mustard yellow heels. My husband loved the color and I felt so comfortable in this dress. I would totally buy this one and add it to my wardrobe.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
January 10, 2013
Great dress for any occasion!
I wore this to my engagement luncheon! it was a perfect dress..it wasn't as short as it look on the picture on me.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
January 11, 2013
Perfect dress for a fancy date night!
This dress was perfect for a formal dinner date with my husband. I typically wear a 4 and the 4 was a little big on me. I felt I could have worn the 2 and it would have hugged by body a little better. Other than that, the color was great and I received a ton of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
January 12, 2013
Everyone at the wedding loved the dress!It was absolutely perfect for the occasion. My man liked it!
The dress was great, you should be careful with the zipper. Loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
January 13, 2013
This dress was amazing in person, well made, great fit, and I felt like a million bucks in it!!!
I usually wear a 2 and this dress was a 2... was slightly loose but I'm not into skin tight clothes, if you like it tight order a size smaller. Great color in person! The lace was gorgeous in person and I felt amazing!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
January 13, 2013
I see why this dress is so popular!
Such a pretty dress, modest - even though the length is on the shorter side. I wore this to a January wedding that was on a boat. The color was true to the picture (a red grape color). I loved the 3/4 length sleeve. The zipper was a little sensitive but never got caught on any of the lace. The size 10 fit my 36DD chest well but didn't fit around my waist as well as it looks on the model. The size 8 was too tight around my chest and was about 2 inches shorter, definitely wouldn't have worked for my height/age. The material stretched out throughout the evening, I noticed when I took the dress off that night that the backside was larger from sitting in the dress and was wider across the hips but not so baggy that it looked bad, just lost the "shift" shape. I can see why this dress is so popular!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
January 14, 2013
Loved trying something new!
Loved the color and the dress was beautiful in person. I did have a problem with the lining riding up on my legs and I kept having to pull it down under the lace while dancing. There was a faint smell of smoke in the garment bag but could never smell it on the actual dresses which was good. Pleasantly surprised the dress was not as short as expected.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 14, 2013
NYE chic!
Most people stated that the dress was a little bit larger, well coming from someone who has a booty and hips, it fit me just perfect. Sometimes it bunched up around the waste which made me look a little funny, but other than that it was perfect. I got so many compliments from everyone on the dress. The lace was very feminine, however be careful with what jewelry you wear! The lace is delicate, and you don't want to pull it. My first necklace from Kate Spade that I bought to wear with the dress pulled the lace while I was at home, so I changed it to something that wouldn't snug! Enjoy!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Body type: Straight & narrow
January 16, 2013
I wore this dress to an engagement party. I loved it, and so did my boyfriend!
The 2 fit me really well!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 58
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
January 16, 2013
Comfortable dress, beautiful color. I was very happy with it. The short length was fun.
As suggested, I opted for a size smaller than I usually wear as the additional dress size, and that was a good choice. The 6 fit me well, but the 4 also fit, so while I said that this dress was true to size, it is maybe a teeny bit forgiving. I wore the 6 because the 4 seemed a little too short for the black tie wedding we were attending. It was a little hard to work the zipper on both dresses, but that was not a huge problem. I love this necklace, and also rented it for a different function, with a different dress. It's so pretty and not heavy. I know I looked to see what color shoes others chose for this dress, so I'll say that my choice was nude heels and a pale beige clutch, and I thought that worked well. All in all, I felt ladylike but not stodgy, and the dress was very comfortable in that it skims the body, rather than clings. No need for Spanx, which was a blessing!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
January 18, 2013
didn't wear...
Cute dress but the fit is a little weird. My boyfriend told me it looked like a short, lacey bag.... dang. Definitely runs large. size down for sure.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
January 20, 2013
Way too large!
This was my first RTR dress, and so sorry to say it didn't fit! I got this dress for a friend's wedding, and I typically wear anywhere around a size 4, depending on the fit. The only size options they had for this were a 4 and 6, which is what I received. The 4 felt like a size 8. Length was great, modest but still fun, and it felt really comfortable, but you could tell it was too large by the extra fabric around the bust, arms and waist that no belt could help. So sad to return it for size issues. Go with a much smaller size than you usually would for this dress!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 21, 2013
Fit well
True to size. Fitted in arms, looser on body.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150lbs
January 21, 2013
Perfect for the holidays!
I needed a dress for my company xmas party. The sleeves were perfect for the weather and the fit was perfect!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
January 22, 2013
Elegance
Definitely get the size smaller than you normally wear. I'm normally a 2 but wore a 0 for this rental. The fit can be described as fits just so you look great but with enough room that you feel comfortable eating and dancing. I had read similar statements in other reviews and was like that's kinda odd but seriously it is true and awesome! The wedding we were at had amazing food and the dress left enough room that I could eat it all! More importantly, I felt great the whole day in the dress, got tons of compliments and had fun!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
January 22, 2013
Liked this but not obsessed
This dress was pretty enough. I wasn't obsessed with it but it fit pretty well (was a little tight in the butt though) and was good for a wedding. It was a good length on me and I paired it with black tights.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 22, 2013
Didn't fit
It was actually too snug in the hips for me, and I had to return
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
January 23, 2013
SOLD for my next occassion!!
I loved everything about this dress! Not only did it make a great fashion statement but I was so comfortable all night! A definite reason that I will be using RTR for many occassions to come!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 144lbs
January 23, 2013
Elegant, classy dress
I wore this dress for my husband and friend's birthday dinner. I love the neckline and the material. The zipper was hard to pull up and down so you will need assistance. Even if your arms are a little exposed by the material, it was very comfortable. I only wore tights because it was very cold outside. Had we been at a different place, I would definitely wear the dress without tights, since the hemline is at a perfect height. This dress also runs large. I usually wear a 6 because of my bust size, however I had some room to spare in the 4. The color is rich and gorgeous!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 173lbs
January 25, 2013
I didn't end up wearing it, but beautiful dress
I didn't end up wearing this dress. It was a lot tighter and shorter than I thought it was going to be. It was absolutely beautiful in person though, I'm sad it didn't work out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
January 27, 2013
It just felt great to wear a stylish, yet seasonable appropriate designer dress!
I have a small chest, so I had some room at the top but it still looked great and was comfortable. I can't wait to wear Trina Turk again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
January 27, 2013
Maroon lace
Super cute
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 27, 2013
Classy and a great fit!
This dress fit well and the dress looked classy and sophisticated. It wasn't tight and I could dance easily in the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 27, 2013
Beautiful! Runs large
I meant to order this dress in a 2 and a 4 because I usually wear a 4 but a lot of the reviews said it runs big. I accidentally ended up ordering a 0 and I'm glad I did because the 0 fit perfectly. I didn't end up getting any pictures because I just wore it on a date with my hubby.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
January 27, 2013
So chic
I loved everything about this dress. I wore it for a fall wedding so the color was perfect. T is more of a purple than maroon but it was still beautiful. I went two sizes down and it was still roomy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 27, 2013
I felt awesome in this dress! Loved it! I would rent from RTR again for sure!!
I got this dress for my grandparents 60th Wedding Anniversary party. I loved it. A lot of women commented and said it ran large. I would agree with that to an extent but I have a larger chest and hips so I for me it felt true to size. If you are less curvy, it would probably run larger. This dress also hit my leg much lower than the picture of the model. If you are under 5'6" it would NOT be a mini on you. It was super comfortable and I was thrilled!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 59
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 27, 2013
The 6 was baggy and longer than I expected. Wish it had been sexier looking- looks better in photos
The 6 was baggy and longer than I expected. Wish it had been sexier looking- looks better in photos. Quality good.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 28, 2013
Comfortable but not Flattering
Rented 0 & 2; wore the size 2. Lacy pattern is beautiful but has no stretch. My husband took one look and said, that his grandma wanted her dress back right after the wedding. I am sad to say that I did not get 1 compliment all night. The dress was comfortable enough to wear to an indoor January wedding. I’m 5’1; the dress was about 1 1/5 inches above my knees. The color is duller in person than on the model. Size is slightly larger, so order a size down. If you’re searching for a safe conservative dress this would be it. I also recommend wearing a belt. It loose and just hangs there. I will not rent this dress again but I hope my review will get published this time for others to see.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
January 29, 2013
Beautiful hem
This dress was comfortable. The zipper was high quality, large enough to support the fabric. The only problem was the inner slip kept sliding down past the hem, which is the most interesting detail on this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
January 29, 2013
Loved it! Perfect winter dress
Runs a bit large, but great length for petite girls. The lace makes the dress look very expensive and was perfect for a date night out!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
January 29, 2013
This dress was AMAZING! Such a classy dress for a fall wedding - I wanted to keep it!
It ran a little big - and look a bit baggy so I would say size down - I had to pin the insides to give me a little shape. I did get so many compliments though!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 30, 2013
Cute cute, but didn't quite fit my body right
I rented this dress for a birthday party on a party bus. When I received it, I thought my regular size 4 fit a little too loose, so I wore the size 2 instead which fit my body a little better. However, on the party bus, I had to keep re-adjusting the dress because it felt really short. My advice to anyone is that if they are going to an event where they will be sitting a lot in front of people, go a size up!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
February 1, 2013
Perfect!
I had a fashion emergency with the other RTR dress I rented. It arrived on a Thursday and did not fit! At 9pm on Thursday night Serena H from RTR helped me get this fabulous new rental by noon on Saturday. It fit perfectly! I am obsessed with the colored lace trend and this dress is gorgeous! After reading the reviews I was nervous that I had ordered the wrong sizes so I switched at the last minute and was so glad I did. I ended up wearing the 0 and it fit perfectly. Not too short at all. I cannot thank Serena and the rest of the RTR staff for helping me find a replacement dress at the last minute. Their customer service is amazing and I can't wait to rent from them again!
See more reviews:
5 / 27

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×