Portrait of Elegance Shift

$45 rental
$328 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Looking for the ultimate date night dress? This Trina Turk lace shift will look amazing on you as you sip champagne and fall love with that new fling!

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Synthetic Floral Lace. Three quarter length sleeves. Boat Neckline. Hidden back zipper. Straight skirt. Lined. 35” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
1053 reviews
Fit
Large406
True to Size560
Small35
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
November 24, 2014
Beautiful dress!
This was a very classy, pretty dress. I received a lot of compliments and would rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
November 23, 2014
Great dress!
Wore to a fall wedding. Loved the color and the fit. Felt comfortable and great all night
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
November 21, 2014
Beautiful color!
I am 3.5 months post-baby, so parts of my body aren't where they used to be! I really liked this dress, but it was either too tight in the chest/loose in the waist or vice versa... If my bust were its normal size (34B), the size 8 would have been perfect.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
November 21, 2014
Lovely in lace!
Loved this dress! Wore it to a rehearsal dinner with black tights, got lots of compliments on it!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
November 21, 2014
Fall wedding
Very comfortable dress and a great fall color!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Body type: Pear
November 17, 2014
Perfect!
Dress fit perfectly and was comfortable - so many compliments given!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
November 14, 2014
Beautiful color, great fit, tons of compliments
I attended an outdoor November wedding where the nighttime temps dipped into the 50s, so I needed a dress with which I could wear tights. This one fit the bill. I loved it with tights and black booties (although I love all of the pictures of other women wearing it with nude pumps). It was short, but not too short, and I could move around the dance floor in it. As previous reviewers have said, you will likely size down. I'm normally a 2 and wore a 0.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
November 14, 2014
Elegant fall wedding dress!!
I loved this dress. The color was wonderful for a fall wedding. The sleeves added warmth, without weight. I read a lot of the previous reviews and lots stated the dress ran large. I in turn, ordered a 0 and a 2. The dress fits normal and I would have ordered a 4 and 2, if I had known. I wore the 2 and was comfortable. The only turn off was the lining would get stuck to my nylons and ride up a bit. The lining is purple/maroon, not black like on the model.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 13, 2014
Great dress!!
Loved this dress - perfect for a fall wedding. I had no issues with fit, the sleeves weren't too tight, and the length was just right. I didn't want to send this one back!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 12, 2014
Beautiful Color
The color of this dress is so beautiful! The lace is so delicate but stayed in place all night long. Was able to hit the dance floor without worrying that my dressing was going to ride up. Would rent again!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Age: 34
November 12, 2014
Great dress! Many compliments and perfect for fall/winter with the covered sleeves!
The fit was very flattering, but did run a bit large and so I went with the smaller size. It was very comfortable even though I have a larger bust. I am 5'8 and did not feel the length was too short.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
November 12, 2014
Great mother of the bride dress.
Rented for my mom. She looked absolutely gorgeous in this. Perfect for the situation.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
November 11, 2014
Pretty Date Dress, Lovely Color
This dress was sent to me when my original reservation was not available in time. The 4 fit well all over except it was a little loose in the waist. Arms are quite tight if you have any muscle. Quite a short dress. Material was nice, heavy lace with no flaws. No stretch to the fabric either. Beautiful deep purple color.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
November 10, 2014
Loved everything about this dress
From the fit to the style this dress was perfect for a fall wedding. It was a very classy dress that didn't require any additional accessories. The fit was perfect, the length was a tiny bit short for me but I'm tall and it was fine. It was extremely comfortable and I wish I had bought this because I'd definitely wear it again. This was my first rental with RTR and I can't wait until my next wedding so I can rent from them again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 178lbs
November 8, 2014
Loved how much you could move in the dress!
I usually wear a size 12 but the 12 was too roomy when I put it on. So I used the 10. I have a 38d bust and a belly so this dress gave me plenty of room to eat and dance but still feel sexy! Everyone loved the color and the lace. Dress was not too short either. Very comfortable and fun for a November wedding in Lake Geneva. Thanks RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
November 8, 2014
Great first experience, ordered Wednesday and had my dresses by Thursday afternoon!
I am usually a 6 but ordered a size down after reading the reviews, the 4 fit perfect
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
November 6, 2014
Flattering and classy!
My mother actually ended up borrowing this at the last minute; it was a bit large on me and I had rented two dresses for the wedding we attended. The dress was extremely flattering to her apple shape and she received many, many compliments all night long.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
November 5, 2014
Perfect dress for a wedding
This dress was awesome -- great color, great fit, dressy enough for a nicer wedding and really comfortable for a night of dancing. It looks better in person than in photos. I fluctuate between a 12 and a 14 depending on the designer, but the 12 fit perfectly, so I would agree with the other reviews that the dress runs on the bigger side. The color is great and the lace is in good shape. I think the length is perfect too --it is on the shorter side when seated but still an appropriate length for a formal affair. I would definitely rent this again in a heart beat - my boyfriend loved it too.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
November 5, 2014
Great dress! So comfortable and appropriate for a fall wedding. Color was beautiful. Loved it!
Runs big-I am usually a 6-8 and wore the 4. The shoulders were a little tight but the waist would have been too baggy otherwise
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 143lbs
November 4, 2014
Felt as beautiful as the bride. Good rental for fall wedding.
Classy look. Gorgeous color in person. True to size. Necklace is a must rental. Wish I could keep!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
November 3, 2014
I loved the color of this dress!
The dress was very comfortable to wear and can be easily dressed up or down with the right shoes and accessories. I ended up wearing the larger size because this type of dress is not supposed to be form fitting. The smaller size fit, but was more close fitting.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
November 3, 2014
Cute dress for a cocktail party!
I wore this to a rehearsal dinner and it was perfect! I had a tough time with this dress though and making it look perfect. The top was very large on me in both sizes, and the bottom fit well. I rented a 4 and a 6 and ended up wearing the 6 with a belt to make it look more form fitting. Although the 4 looked awesome on, it was tighter in my hips than I wanted it to be, so I wore the 6 to be comfortable.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
October 31, 2014
This dress could not have been more perfect!
I absolutely loved this dress. It fit perfectly and was super comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
October 30, 2014
Great dress, beautiful color!
I didn't end up wearing this one because it was my back up dress, but it was really beautiful. Its runs kinda large through the body, I was a little disappointed because it was gorgeous except the waist didn't really exist. More of a shift dress than anything fitted.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 30, 2014
RTR sent as back up when other dress damaged
This lovely dress was sent to make up for another that couldn't be shipped. Didn't wear it, but will keep in on my love list!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 146lbs
October 30, 2014
Great dress - fit perfectly!
This is a really beautiful and well made dress. The color is accurately represented in the photo. It's a very nice, comfortable fabric, the sleeves are easy to move in, and the lining stayed in place all night as well. I could wear both the size 6 and 8 (I'm usually in between the sizes in normal clothes), but I decided to go with the 8 because it was a little longer and gave me a little more room to make it easier to dance in! I would rent this dress again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 27
October 30, 2014
Too baggy
Beautiful dress. Beautiful color. The lace is beautiful! I took the advice to size up for the bust... But it was too big! I could not get the back up size because it was already rented out. I hope to rent this dress in the size 10 in the future.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
October 29, 2014
Love this dress! Wish I could buy it!
This was my first time using Rent the Runway and they did not disappoint with this dress. This was the exact type of dress I was looking for my friend's Fall wedding. I ended up wearing my normal dress size. I can see how the dress would run large (like most of the reviews say), but if you are tall and have larger breasts, I would suggest staying true to your size. I ordered my size and a size down and the larger size gave me the length I needed and extra room in the bust. I would have liked if it was a tad more fitted like the 6, but the 8 was very flattering given the occasion. The dress is a tad short when sitting, but I was on the dance floor most of the night any way. Very comfortable and I received a lot of compliments! Highly recommend!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
October 29, 2014
Perfect for a black tie optional wedding
This dress fit so well! It was so comfortable, just the right length and the color was gorgeous. Ordered the 2 and 0 and went with the 0 becuase the 2 was kind of of bunchy under the bust. you will not be disappointed!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
October 28, 2014
Great for a fall wedding
This was actually a replacement dress for the one I ordered. They didnt have a size 4 in the dress I wanted and they sent this one without even waiting for me to contact them. It was very similar to the one I ordered and I actually ended up liking this one better! Got so many compliments including when I was standing in line at the grocery store :) It was the perfect length for sitting and dancing and the sleeves made it appropriate for the chilly October New Jersey weather.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
October 27, 2014
Perfect dress
I originally ordered another dress, but it wasn't available at the time it was supposed to ship, so Rent the Runway sent me this one instead. Initially, I was SUPER disappointed to get a dress other than the one I ordered, but when I tried it on, it was absolutely perfect. I preferred this one to the other, and I got a lot of compliments. I had been a little afraid that it would be too short after seeing the picture of the model, but I'm short so it made it almost to my knees.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
October 27, 2014
Dressed to impressed!
Wonderful purple color and extremely comfortable. As other reviews have said, it does run large. I got the size 0 and 2 as I'm normally a 2 and wore the 0. It is not tight in the mid section but that didn't bother me especially when sitting as there was room to sit without the dress riding up. When I say it isn't tight, it isn't super loose either, at least for my waist measurements. A very classy look and dress. Highly recommend for any special fall events. I went to my high school reunion in it and felt awesome!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
October 26, 2014
I got so many compliments! LOVE LOVE LOVE this dress.
Fit is flawless! Hugs all the right places!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 25, 2014
Comfortable, classy fall dress
Very comfortable dress, though a teeny bit shorter than I would have preferred. No complaints. I would definitely rent again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 25, 2014
I got so many compliments!
This dress is very well made and very flattering. I do recommend going down a size when renting this dress. It was perfect for the wedding I attended!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
October 23, 2014
Pretty color
I rented this dress to wear to an anniversary dinner with my boyfriend. I wore the 0 and I had plenty of room, so if you're any smaller than me you are probably out of luck with this dress. I rented a necklace to go with it and then I also wore a silver belt to give me a waist (the dress is a shift style so it is straight up and down). I was most surprised by how comfortable the dress is - the lace was not itchy at all!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
October 23, 2014
This dress was so comfortable! Great dress for dancing.
Pro- comfortable and breathable. Cons- the waist could be more cinched in, it would look great with a belt, I just didn't have one that matched.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
October 22, 2014
A simple, yet elegant dress perfect for an autumn wedding.
Much like other reviewers have said, this dress does run large. My awkward to fit body (big boobs, smaller waist) usually wears a 12, but I wore a 10 in this dress, and still wish it nipped in at the waist a bit more. Overall it was a very comfortable and classy dress; the dark purple/maroon color and 3/4 sleeves made it perfect to wear to an autumn wedding. And I loved that I didn't need a strapless bra to wear with it. This was my first time using RtR and was very pleased with how easy the transaction was (from picking the dress, to receiving it, to returning it), so I'm bound to give them a go again the next time I have a formal event to attend.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
October 22, 2014
Easy to wear
This dress was easy to wear. The sleeves were a good length. However, I did feel it was a bit short for my taste. I felt like I was showing to much leg (I'm 5'7) and had one very high heels.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
October 20, 2014
Perfect for an autumn wedding!
I wish I owned this dress.. It was perfect for a fall wedding that I went to in Indiana! I usually wear a size 4 but the 2 fit like a glove. The 4 was very big on me. What I loved about this dress was how comfortable it was and the stunning plum color. I got tons of compliments!! Will definitely rent again. I paired the dress with a RTR necklace (Slate & Willow's On The Lily Pad).
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
5 / 27

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×