Portrait of Elegance Shift

$65 rental
$328 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Looking for the ultimate date night dress? This Trina Turk lace shift will look amazing on you as you sip champagne and fall love with that new fling!

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Synthetic Floral Lace. Three quarter length sleeves. Boat Neckline. Hidden back zipper. Straight skirt. Lined. 35” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
1039 reviews
Fit
Large405
True to Size550
Small35
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 167lbs
November 8, 2014
Loved how much you could move in the dress!
I usually wear a size 12 but the 12 was too roomy when I put it on. So I used the 10. I have a 38d bust and a belly so this dress gave me plenty of room to eat and dance but still feel sexy! Everyone loved the color and the lace. Dress was not too short either. Very comfortable and fun for a November wedding in Lake Geneva. Thanks RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
November 8, 2014
Great first experience, ordered Wednesday and had my dresses by Thursday afternoon!
I am usually a 6 but ordered a size down after reading the reviews, the 4 fit perfect
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
November 6, 2014
Flattering and classy!
My mother actually ended up borrowing this at the last minute; it was a bit large on me and I had rented two dresses for the wedding we attended. The dress was extremely flattering to her apple shape and she received many, many compliments all night long.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
November 5, 2014
Perfect dress for a wedding
This dress was awesome -- great color, great fit, dressy enough for a nicer wedding and really comfortable for a night of dancing. It looks better in person than in photos. I fluctuate between a 12 and a 14 depending on the designer, but the 12 fit perfectly, so I would agree with the other reviews that the dress runs on the bigger side. The color is great and the lace is in good shape. I think the length is perfect too --it is on the shorter side when seated but still an appropriate length for a formal affair. I would definitely rent this again in a heart beat - my boyfriend loved it too.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
November 5, 2014
Great dress! So comfortable and appropriate for a fall wedding. Color was beautiful. Loved it!
Runs big-I am usually a 6-8 and wore the 4. The shoulders were a little tight but the waist would have been too baggy otherwise
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 143lbs
November 4, 2014
Felt as beautiful as the bride. Good rental for fall wedding.
Classy look. Gorgeous color in person. True to size. Necklace is a must rental. Wish I could keep!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
November 3, 2014
I loved the color of this dress!
The dress was very comfortable to wear and can be easily dressed up or down with the right shoes and accessories. I ended up wearing the larger size because this type of dress is not supposed to be form fitting. The smaller size fit, but was more close fitting.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
November 3, 2014
Cute dress for a cocktail party!
I wore this to a rehearsal dinner and it was perfect! I had a tough time with this dress though and making it look perfect. The top was very large on me in both sizes, and the bottom fit well. I rented a 4 and a 6 and ended up wearing the 6 with a belt to make it look more form fitting. Although the 4 looked awesome on, it was tighter in my hips than I wanted it to be, so I wore the 6 to be comfortable.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
October 31, 2014
This dress could not have been more perfect!
I absolutely loved this dress. It fit perfectly and was super comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
October 30, 2014
Great dress, beautiful color!
I didn't end up wearing this one because it was my back up dress, but it was really beautiful. Its runs kinda large through the body, I was a little disappointed because it was gorgeous except the waist didn't really exist. More of a shift dress than anything fitted.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 30, 2014
RTR sent as back up when other dress damaged
This lovely dress was sent to make up for another that couldn't be shipped. Didn't wear it, but will keep in on my love list!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 146lbs
October 30, 2014
Great dress - fit perfectly!
This is a really beautiful and well made dress. The color is accurately represented in the photo. It's a very nice, comfortable fabric, the sleeves are easy to move in, and the lining stayed in place all night as well. I could wear both the size 6 and 8 (I'm usually in between the sizes in normal clothes), but I decided to go with the 8 because it was a little longer and gave me a little more room to make it easier to dance in! I would rent this dress again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 27
October 30, 2014
Too baggy
Beautiful dress. Beautiful color. The lace is beautiful! I took the advice to size up for the bust... But it was too big! I could not get the back up size because it was already rented out. I hope to rent this dress in the size 10 in the future.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
October 29, 2014
Love this dress! Wish I could buy it!
This was my first time using Rent the Runway and they did not disappoint with this dress. This was the exact type of dress I was looking for my friend's Fall wedding. I ended up wearing my normal dress size. I can see how the dress would run large (like most of the reviews say), but if you are tall and have larger breasts, I would suggest staying true to your size. I ordered my size and a size down and the larger size gave me the length I needed and extra room in the bust. I would have liked if it was a tad more fitted like the 6, but the 8 was very flattering given the occasion. The dress is a tad short when sitting, but I was on the dance floor most of the night any way. Very comfortable and I received a lot of compliments! Highly recommend!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
October 29, 2014
Perfect for a black tie optional wedding
This dress fit so well! It was so comfortable, just the right length and the color was gorgeous. Ordered the 2 and 0 and went with the 0 becuase the 2 was kind of of bunchy under the bust. you will not be disappointed!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
October 28, 2014
Great for a fall wedding
This was actually a replacement dress for the one I ordered. They didnt have a size 4 in the dress I wanted and they sent this one without even waiting for me to contact them. It was very similar to the one I ordered and I actually ended up liking this one better! Got so many compliments including when I was standing in line at the grocery store :) It was the perfect length for sitting and dancing and the sleeves made it appropriate for the chilly October New Jersey weather.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
October 27, 2014
Perfect dress
I originally ordered another dress, but it wasn't available at the time it was supposed to ship, so Rent the Runway sent me this one instead. Initially, I was SUPER disappointed to get a dress other than the one I ordered, but when I tried it on, it was absolutely perfect. I preferred this one to the other, and I got a lot of compliments. I had been a little afraid that it would be too short after seeing the picture of the model, but I'm short so it made it almost to my knees.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
October 27, 2014
Dressed to impressed!
Wonderful purple color and extremely comfortable. As other reviews have said, it does run large. I got the size 0 and 2 as I'm normally a 2 and wore the 0. It is not tight in the mid section but that didn't bother me especially when sitting as there was room to sit without the dress riding up. When I say it isn't tight, it isn't super loose either, at least for my waist measurements. A very classy look and dress. Highly recommend for any special fall events. I went to my high school reunion in it and felt awesome!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
October 26, 2014
I got so many compliments! LOVE LOVE LOVE this dress.
Fit is flawless! Hugs all the right places!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 25, 2014
Comfortable, classy fall dress
Very comfortable dress, though a teeny bit shorter than I would have preferred. No complaints. I would definitely rent again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 25, 2014
I got so many compliments!
This dress is very well made and very flattering. I do recommend going down a size when renting this dress. It was perfect for the wedding I attended!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
October 23, 2014
Pretty color
I rented this dress to wear to an anniversary dinner with my boyfriend. I wore the 0 and I had plenty of room, so if you're any smaller than me you are probably out of luck with this dress. I rented a necklace to go with it and then I also wore a silver belt to give me a waist (the dress is a shift style so it is straight up and down). I was most surprised by how comfortable the dress is - the lace was not itchy at all!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
October 23, 2014
This dress was so comfortable! Great dress for dancing.
Pro- comfortable and breathable. Cons- the waist could be more cinched in, it would look great with a belt, I just didn't have one that matched.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
October 22, 2014
A simple, yet elegant dress perfect for an autumn wedding.
Much like other reviewers have said, this dress does run large. My awkward to fit body (big boobs, smaller waist) usually wears a 12, but I wore a 10 in this dress, and still wish it nipped in at the waist a bit more. Overall it was a very comfortable and classy dress; the dark purple/maroon color and 3/4 sleeves made it perfect to wear to an autumn wedding. And I loved that I didn't need a strapless bra to wear with it. This was my first time using RtR and was very pleased with how easy the transaction was (from picking the dress, to receiving it, to returning it), so I'm bound to give them a go again the next time I have a formal event to attend.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
October 22, 2014
Easy to wear
This dress was easy to wear. The sleeves were a good length. However, I did feel it was a bit short for my taste. I felt like I was showing to much leg (I'm 5'7) and had one very high heels.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
October 20, 2014
Perfect for an autumn wedding!
I wish I owned this dress.. It was perfect for a fall wedding that I went to in Indiana! I usually wear a size 4 but the 2 fit like a glove. The 4 was very big on me. What I loved about this dress was how comfortable it was and the stunning plum color. I got tons of compliments!! Will definitely rent again. I paired the dress with a RTR necklace (Slate & Willow's On The Lily Pad).
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 116lbs
October 20, 2014
Renting and returning the dress was super easy!
I rented this dress for a Friday night wedding in early October. When I rented the dress I was concerned about the fit in the arms and the stomach (my problem area). I ordered a 2 (my size) and a 0 per the websites recommendation. The 0 fit but it was slightly too tight around my stomach and arms. I ended up with the 2 which fit very well. My problem area was concealed and I was able to move my arms around and dance. The color is one of my favorites to wear especially in the fall season. I was worried I would be too cold outside and too warm inside but I was comfortable in both. The only bad comment I can say about the dress is it looked slightly boxy on my frame. This my first Rent The Runway experience and I will 100% be renting again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
October 19, 2014
Love this dress! Got a ton of compliments!
I fell in love with this dress online and when it showed up and i saw it on the hanger, I was a little nervous. It kind of looked like a mother of the bride dress! But when I put it on and jazzed it up with a necklace, I absolutely loved it! It fit like a glove and I got a ton of compliments! I wore it to a fall wedding and it was perfect! This was my first Rent the Runway experience and I will def. be doing it again!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 143lbs
October 18, 2014
Dress was perfect for a fall wedding I attended - very classy! Got a ton of compliments!!
Thanks to all the reviews I ordered a size down and I'm glad I did. I love the quality of this dress and the beautiful lacework. I wore it with the Nicole Miller Teardrop Pearl Earrings and my own nude patent platform heels - perfect!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 101lbs
October 17, 2014
Unfortunately, I was unable to wear this dress for my event
Pro - the color is a nice plum Con - the dress was so big. The zero felt like a size 4. I couldn't even make it work with a belt, because the shoulders were way too wide and the waist/hip was like a sleeping bag, straight and not fitting for a slim dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 16, 2014
LOVED this dress!! Super comfortable, perfect for a fall wedding!
Runs big so size down
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
October 15, 2014
Beautiful color and fit, I got so many compliments!
Dress runs a bit large so the smaller size was perfect. The cut of the dress was very flattering, and the lace was soft and comfortable enough to wear all day. I would absolutely rent this dress again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
October 14, 2014
Beautiful color and perfect weight for a fall wedding
I'd echo what many of the other women said -- this dress runs pretty large. (I normally wear a size 4 or a 6, but I definitely could have fit into the size 2 in this one. Unfortunately, the size 2 wasn't available as a backup size for this particular weekend.) I added a belt to make the dress a little more figure-flattering. Otherwise, I was a fan of the dress!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
October 14, 2014
Love this dress!!
I was so happy with this dress! I am normally a 2 or 4, and I went for the 2 as the 4 was slightly large. I am 5'11 and it wasn't too short, but I think it would also look great on any height! It did not ride up at all, even with nylons, and was very comfortable. I don't think the picture does the dress justice - the lace details are so pretty. I would rent this dress again, or buy it!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
October 14, 2014
I got a lot of compliments on this dress and it's the perfect color for a fall wedding or event.
I'm a size 4 / 6 and went with the size 4 in this dress, which was perfect. It's very comfortable and lets you dance, eat and have a great time without worrying. I would recommend dressing it up with a really pretty statement necklace.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
October 12, 2014
Classy, comfortable, and eye-catching!
I wore this event for an event that I hosted, which required me to be able to move around all night and lift/carry things. The dress easily allowed me to move and was eye-catching (many compliments). The color is a great color, especially for a fun event. The dress is short enough to be a bit fun, but not so short that you can't wear it to a professional event. Would definitely want to rent again. I am sorry the picture is so dark, it was a busy night and this is the only picture that I have!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 10, 2014
Loved this dress! Perfect for a night time wedding that wasn't black tie! Length was perfect!
Great fit, great color! Not itchy, which is important!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
October 9, 2014
This dress had a little extra room in the midrif but other than that fit perfectly!
The color isn't as pictured on the model but it was still a beautiful color. Great dress for us girls with a large bust!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
October 9, 2014
Perfect color and style for an outdoor fall wedding
Wore this to an outdoor wedding in the mountains, and everything about it was perfect. The color and style are perfect for a fall wedding. I got several compliments on the dress (my husband even asked if I could buy it to keep)! The dress manages to be comfortable and flattering at the same time (a huge accomplishment when you're top-heavy and things tend to just hang off you like a potato sack). I liked that I could wear a regular bra with it, and that it gave me shape while still giving me room to breathe. The length was perfect. Proportionally, I have shorter legs and have always had trouble finding dresses that hit me right, and this dress hit me an inch or two above my knees. I would definitely recommend sizing down. I'm normally an 8 and ordered both a 6 and an 8. The 6 was much more flattering because it gave me more of a shape, without being too fitted. The only time I would not recommend this dress is if you're going somewhere warmer. The material is heavier, which was great for me, but in different circumstances, I could see getting warm in it pretty easily. I styled with the BEN-AMUN Crystal Cambon Pearl Bracelet and black pumps- it felt like the perfect combination!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
October 5, 2014
Beautiful autumn wedding in New England
I'm in love with this dress! The fit was perfect, it was comfortable and the length was shorter (mid-thigh) which made it a little sexy. I was able to chase my 3 & 5 year old and dance with them at a wedding while still feeling comfortable. I paired it with nude heels and big earrings. I'd buy this dress it was so gorgeous!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
5 / 26

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×