Trina Turk

Portrait of Elegance Shift

$90 to buy
$328 retail
Stylist Notes

Looking for the ultimate date night dress? This Trina Turk lace shift will look amazing on you as you sip champagne and fall love with that new fling!

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Synthetic Floral Lace. Three quarter length sleeves. Boat Neckline. Hidden back zipper. Straight skirt. Lined. 35” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
1072 reviews
Fit
Large
(406)
True to Size
(568)
Small
(35)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
November 25, 2012
The color&lace are beautful! Felt sexy but yet sophisticated in this dress! Wish I could've kept it.
The fit ran a tad big which makes a girl feel good, right?!;) The only thing I didn't like about this dress is the fact that it "felt worn in." It was my 1st time RTR so I will try again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 123lbs
November 25, 2012
This was my first Rent the Runway experience and I can't wait to rent again!
Loved this dress and the color is perfect. I would say that the dress runs a little large as I am usually a 2. I would definitely rent this dress again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 25, 2012
Great color, great fit! This dress was elegant, unique, and even comfortable!
The dress ran a bit large, so I recommend ordering smaller than you normally would. Other than that, it was comfortable, but still figure flattering. Great length for a petite frame. Sleeves were gorgeous and not constricting at all on the dance floor! I would rent again in a heartbeat!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 25, 2012
Too big!
The dress was very large and baggy, even in a 2. Ended up not wearing the dress.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 26, 2012
I can't believe I didn't know about RTR before! I will absolutely use this website and dress again!
I loved this dress! I normally wear a size 4 but the 2 fit perfectly. The 4 was too loose in the stomach and I wanted it to be a little more form fitting (so the 2 was perfect.. thank goodness for two sizes!). The purple is a really pretty color, pretty true to picture. It is such a classy dress and was conservative enough for a wedding but also very flattering. I wore it with rose gold jewelry and nude heels for a November wedding. Great Dress :) Rent it! I will absolutely use this website again, they make the process so easy!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 26, 2012
This dress was great for Thanksgiving; demure yet stylish!
The dress was a bit big on me; I probably could have gone a size down, as suggested in the style notes. But, I was given many compliments from my in-laws and my husband loved it too! The color was also fantastic, perfect for autumn.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
November 27, 2012
Not that happy though it looked great.
The dress smelled like body ordor and i could tell it had not been well cleaned at the arm pits. The dress was larger than previous size 4's I had ordered and wish I had rented a 2.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
November 28, 2012
One of my favorite dresses of all time!
I rented a dress for a friend's wedding and this was the $25 extra dress for the weekend. I ended up wearing it for the rehearsal dinner. This has to be one of my favorite dresses that I have ever worn. The length came just above the knee. I listened to the advice of the other reviewers and ordered down. I usually wear a 4, but the size 0 in this dress fit perfectly. I was concerned that the sleeves might be uncomfortable but they were just the opposite. I was probably the most comfortable girl there. The color is true to the photo and beautiful in person. I knew that I was turning heads when the bride (who was stunning herself) complimented me twice on the dress! If I could buy this dress, I would. Great service and great dress, RTR!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
November 28, 2012
Great dress.
I really loved the look and the color of this dress, however, at 5'2, it was a little too long for my taste. I also think that I could've gone down a size because it was baggy throughout. Luckily I had ordered a back-up dress and ended up going with the navy Shoshonna 'LIz Love Dot Dress'. Overall, great service and I have already put in another order for another event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
November 29, 2012
Run's very large. If you are a petite person or typically wear a size zero, not worth it.
This dress has potential to be very cute but unfortunately the fit is just not flattering for a smaller person. I typically wear a zero and this dress was too large to wear. I tried belting it but overall everything from the sleeves, to the length were off. It is more of a shift style than a fitted look which I didn't not find to be flattering for this long sleeve dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 29, 2012
Pretty color and lace - poor fit.
This dress is pretty and I wanted to rent it forever ~ when I finally did, I was disappointed. The color and lace are pretty - but the fit was unflattering. I normally wear a 4, and I had to wear the 2, and the dress was still baggy in the midsection. I also don't think it photographed very well. Sad because I wanted to love it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
November 30, 2012
Perfect for a family affair!
I wore this dress to a family wedding. It was perfect for the occasion. The dress was a little baggy around the middle and arms, and I found the neckline to be a little higher than I hoped, but overall I felt great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
December 1, 2012
Great dress. Very festive. Received lots of compliments.
This dress fits well and is extremely flattering. Looks good on and photographs well. Perfect for parties. Comfortable and classy. Would highly recommend and even wear again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 3, 2012
Several strangers complimented me on my dress, and my boyfriend wanted me to wear it again
This dress runs fairly large--I am usually a 6-8 in dresses, and had to go with the 6 here. The 8 was so large it looked dumpy. The 6 was more fitted in the chest, which I thought might be a problem since I have a larger bust (the lining of the dress is a bit shiny so it was noticeable where the dress was tighter). The arms of the dress were also very large, and in my opinion made me look bigger than I really am. That said, it is a very versatile dress and got a good response. Conservative enough to be appropriate for daytime, and can be dressed up enough for a black tie optional wedding. Wore it with nude bow pumps, diamond drops and a crystal & resin necklace.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
December 5, 2012
Great for a conservative wedding, but order a size smaller than you normally wear.
I wore this to a 4pm winter family wedding. It suited the conservative occasion. Great color and perfect length. After reading some of the reviews, I went with a size 2 with a backup size 0. I normally wear a 2 or 4. I wore the 0 because it was a better fit and I never fit into size 0. I am naturally thin, but after having 3 kids, my stomach is not as flat as it used to be. I did feel like I had to suck in my belly the entire night so that no one would think a was newly pregnant...again! :) Other than that, I felt good in this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
December 7, 2012
Wish it was delivered in my size.
Due to the person before me not returning the dress on time (shame on her) RTR could only send my second size. Knowing that this dress runs large, I knew I would need the 4, but they sent the 6 since that's the best they had. Kudos to them for trying. The 6 was HUGE, made me look 6 months pregnant or just fat. It gave me no shape what so ever. It's a shame too, because knowing I was renting this dress, I had an entire outfit picked out to go with it. This dress runs large, order your true size and a size down just in case.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
December 9, 2012
Great For My Event
Dress ran large (even the 0 was too big), but I just put a belt on so it wasn't too baggy. Otherwise, it looked fantastic. Loved the deep plum color and got lots of compliments all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
December 10, 2012
Pretty but too big.
The dress looked beautiful but was unfortunately too big and much longer on me than in appeared in the pictures. I think the 6 would have been a much better fit but was not available and I usually don't have a problem sizing up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 68
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 136lbs
December 10, 2012
I loved this dress!
Be sure to order at least 2 sizes smaller. I wore the size 4 and usually wear a size 8. It fit like a glove. Very rich color and the lace was gorgeous. I chaired a charity event and people kept telling me all night at the Gala dinner they loved the dress and how fabulous I looked. I would definitely recommend this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
December 11, 2012
By far my FAV RTR dress! It was comfortable enough to dance all night, and fit like a glove!
It ran a little large.. I'm usually a size 12, and with RTR I am always worried that the dresses will run small- thank goodness I ordered the size smaller too! This dress was perfect for a holiday cocktail party! I wore the dress with black tights and mini-bootie heels, and it was awesome! I got so many compliments, and didn't feel uncomfortable at all! the lace is just the right touch for a classy cocktail look!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
December 12, 2012
This dress is beautiful and I received numerous compliments.
It definitely runs large-- the 0 was even a little big. I wore it with a belt because otherwise my waist was lost.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
December 12, 2012
This was a stunner!
I usually wear a 6 and the 4 fit perfectly. I was worried about it being too short but it hit about an inch above the knee which was fine. I was the hostess for a large party at my home and was bustling all night. I was comfortable all night! Tons of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
December 13, 2012
Killer Dress!
A couple of girls in my office and I decided to do RTR for our company's Christmas party and couldn't have been happier with the result! The dress did run a little on the loose side, so I would suggest ordering a size down for your back up. The 12 wasn't terribly large, but the sleeves were a little loose and I felt like the body fit of the 10 was just a little more flattering. I was worried about the length, being 6' tall it's a constant issue, and while it felt a little short when I sat down, it wasn't a deal breaker. I never felt uncomfortable. It also looks good with tights, so that's always an option if you're concerned about the length. There were so many different ways I thought about accessorizing this dress! I had a mint green clutch that looked great with the purple color, but in the end I went with gold jewelry & belt and black shoes & clutch. Overall this was such a great experience! I can't wait to rent again!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
December 14, 2012
This dress what the perfect for my husband's company holiday party!
This dress fit perfectly and was extremely comfortable to wear all night at my husband's company holiday party. I received compliments all night and it was the perfect mix of sexy and appropriate for a company party. As a cury girl I wore the 12 as I felt more comfortable in it, but was pleased that the 10 fit as well. I often struggle to find dresses to accomdate my 36DD chest that aren't too big on the rest of my frame. This dress is a go to for any event!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
December 14, 2012
Pretty Fabric, A Bit Frumpy
The fabric of this dress is a beautiful eggplant color and the details in the lace are just gorgeous. The length of the dress is just right, trendy but not too short. I should have ordered a size smaller, though. The dress ran large and looked shapeless on me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 14, 2012
Loved the modest neckline and sleeves for homecoming!
Definitely runs large, so I belted it. Had a lot of room in the chest area, but still looked fine. Hits just above the knee for me. The sleeves were a little itchy but not too much of a bother. Great dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 16, 2012
Gorgeous dress - and comfortable too!
Runs a little large. The dress is gorgeous - beautiful color - and comfortable. I am 5'5" and the length (mid-thigh) was perfect. I love the boatneck and 3/4 sleeves. I got a lot of compliments on it and would love to wear this dress again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
December 17, 2012
Loved it!!!! Could not have been more appropriate for the wedding!
It did run large! However, I did not mind feeling like a size 2 for the day! This was a very comfortable and flattering dress! I paired it with a nude colored belt and heels! Loved it! The only downfall was the zipper did not work very well. I was a nervous wreck i was going to break the zipper when I had to put it on, but it all worked out!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
December 18, 2012
Cute dress - not too formal, great color for the holiday season.
I wore this dress for a office holiday party. It was perfect for the occasion - dressy, comfortable, and conservative yet fun. To be honest, I don't know that I would order it again, but only because it is too similar to something I would buy. I know that sounds silly, but I love RTR because it's where I can go to get a dress I would normally never own - a place to get to try something totally new and different. This dress, while beautiful, was almost too "me" :) Many people recommend a size down, and I agree. I would normally have gotten a 10 in this dress, but I got the 8 and it fit perfect. I bet even the 6 would have been ok. The sleeves are not too tight, and the lenght was perfect on me. Just a few inches above my knee. I added black tights, black shoes, and gold accessories. Sorry, I forgot to take a picture!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
December 19, 2012
Great dress for a holiday party!
Great for a formal work holiday party. Conservative enough for a work event, but still fun. Not too short.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
December 21, 2012
This dress was beyond perfect! Felt like a million bucks!
I was absolutely thrilled with this dress! Rented it for a date night out to a fancy dinner and to the ballet with my husband. I originally intended to order the size 8 and size 6 as a back up, but the 8 wasn't available for my date. I got the 6 and 10, and ended up wearing the 6, which was perfect! Generally, I wear an 8 or 10, so it does run a little large, depending on how you want it to fit. The lace was in perfect shape, and the whole process couldn't have been easier.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 21, 2012
Nice, basic dress
I rented this dress for a holiday dinner with friends and needed something I could wear from the office to the dinner. This dress fit the bill! It is classy and pretty and the color is great. The fit was flattering, but conservative. I would have ranked the dress with 5 stars, but it was just missing that something special. It was great, but not amazing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
December 26, 2012
Beautiful dress, easy to rent and return. Love the two sizes!
This dress is beautiful and sophisticated and in great shape. I rented it for a Christmas Eve party and Mass. The shape of the dress is great, I didn't feel that it needed any sort of enhancement. The detailing on the lace is interesting without being overwhelming. The sleeves are perfect for any event in cooler temperatures and adds a little warmth without having to have a wrap or a cardigan. I would absolutely rent this dress again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
December 26, 2012
Lots of compliments!
I wore this to the office holiday party and it was a huge hit. I usually wear a size 6, but after reading the other reviews, I ordered a size 4 and it fit perfectly. It's also incredible comfortable which is key for me. I will definitely be renting this dress again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150lbs
December 26, 2012
Pretty dress, but runs SO big.
The color and fabric were super gorgeous, but the dress was just way too large for me to wear. I normally wear a 4/6 and the 4 made me look like I was wearing a sack. If only I had gotten a size 2! Ended up not wearing the dress-- would have been perfect for my office holiday party otherwise. The length was great, not super conservative, but not super short which was important for someone as tall as me
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
December 31, 2012
Loved this dress! So versatile and comfortable.
As other reviews suggest, this dress definitely runs big. I ordered the 0 and 2 and wore the 0. Usually my bust won't fit into a 0 dress but this left me with plenty of room. I wore it two nights in a row--once to a family dinner and another to a Christmas party--and tried it both belted and un-belted. Loved it both ways. Such a fun dress!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 2, 2013
Beautiful color for the winter
I wore this for our rehearsal dinner. I'm usually between a 6 and an 8 in dresses and the 6 was even a little big through the waist, so sizing down is a good idea. The dress was very comfortable and the color is a rich, gorgeous burgundy - perfect for fall and winter. Definitely one of my favorite rentals!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 3, 2013
Gorgeous, rich looking color and flattering cut.
I ordered a 6 and a 4, but like many of the other reviewers, I wore the 4 to a holiday dinner. Lots of compliments. Another FTW from RTR!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
January 9, 2013
Too big.
This dress is very pretty, but for something conservative. I rented it for a NYE wedding and ended up not wearing either size because both were loose. I normally wear a 6 and could maybe even have worn a 0 or 2 in this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Body type: Athletic
January 10, 2013
Gorgeous eggplant color and an absolutely comfortable dress
I wore this dress to a wedding in Savannah, GA and loved it. I found that the size 6 was just a bit big on me, but it was not too much wear it looked like I was wearing a potato sack. I paired the dress with gold jewelry and mustard yellow heels. My husband loved the color and I felt so comfortable in this dress. I would totally buy this one and add it to my wardrobe.
See more reviews:
4 / 27

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×