Rent the Runway

Trina Turk

Portrait of Elegance Shift

$65 rental
$328 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Looking for the ultimate date night dress? This Trina Turk lace shift will look amazing on you as you sip champagne and fall love with that new fling!

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Synthetic Floral Lace. Three quarter length sleeves. Boat Neckline. Hidden back zipper. Straight skirt. Lined. 35” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

956 reviews

Fit
Small 32
True to Size 510
Large 388
Photos 473
Bethany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 18, 2013

My first RTR experience and it was perfect! LOVE this dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I didn't get a great picture of the dress, because I was having way to much fun in it! First, everything about renting the dress (and earrings) was so easy and perfect. I honestly had a hard time telling much of a difference between the 4 and the 6. I think I wore the 4, because the sleeves were a little smaller. Everyone loved the dress! I got so many compliments. I might rent it again!
Elle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 19, 2013

Great costumer service...neither of my two sizes fit so RTR sent me a new one!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I ordered the 8 and the 10 which were both super big on me. Luckily RTR sent me the 6 right away. It was still slightly boxy but that gave it kind of a more laid back vibe for my sister's bridal shower.
Karen
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 60
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 19, 2013

Dress fit amazing. Felt pretty! Got many compliments.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Dress fit well, glad I opted for the extra size. Needed the smaller size. Customer service was great. forgot to send the bracelet I rented. Came overnight. Would have given 5 stars if not for that! Loved the dress and the fit. Will do again!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 21, 2013

This dress was so great. The fit was perfect. I got so many compliments!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was nice, comfortable and not too short. The color is a really lovely plum shade that was so rich looking. Im so happy with my RTR experience!
Savannah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 24, 2013

Best Dressed at my Sorority Formal

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I cannot count the number of compliments I received wearing this dress!! The color was perfect for a fall formal event and the lace was beautiful. I was able to dance and be comfortable in it all night. I would definitely recommend renting this dress to a friend.
Anjoli
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 114 lbs
Nov 25, 2013

Perfect for an outdoor Fall wedding!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was my first RTR experience and I couldn't be happier! This dress was a bit roomy around thew wist, but it fit really well overall. There isn't much stretch to it, but the cut is very forgiving. I wore it with black pantyhose and flats for an outdoor wedding.
Kizzy
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Body type: Pear
Weight: 171 lbs
Nov 27, 2013

Great color!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
As many stated, the dress runs large. I ordered both a 10 and 12. The 10 fit well, but I wish it were tighter in the waist area.
Jenny
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 29, 2013

Great dress for fall engagement pictures!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Conservative, classic dress in a great color & lace texture! I really am not sure which size dress I wore (rented 0 & 2) because neither dress had a tag with a size in it! The sizing was very close between the two dresses so I'm just guessing I wore the 0 because it seemed slightly less boxy. Great dress though! Perfect for a classy, fall look!
nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 30, 2013

beautiful dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this dress in a size 4 and 2 based on the reviews of it running large. I ended up wearing the 2 and it fit just right! I wore this to a fall wedding and it was perfect for the setting. It was very cold that day also but the dress is heavy enough with all the lace to keep you warm. I would rent this again for sure!
Alison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 2, 2013

I loved this dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented two dresses this past weekend for a wedding. I decided to go with this one; it was a tough choice though! This dress was great- the color is amazing and fit great. It is a little heavier which was nice since it was a November wedding in Gettysburg, PA. I dressed it up with a necklace from J.Crew and did nude pumps. I received many compliments. I was overall very happy, felt great and danced the night away. I will say one thing- I wore a size 10 and got an 8 as a back up...towards the end of the night I felt it stretched out a bit in the mid-section. Maybe from sitting, standing and dancing. So I may have gone with the 8 instead. Otherwise I highly recommend this dress!
Emmie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 2, 2013

classic dress for a winter wedding

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Probably my favorite dress so far! I love the color and detail on this dress. I am a 4 on top and 6 on the bottom, and I wore the 4-- it is a shift so it ended up being loose enough to accommodate my larger bottom while fitting perfectly in the top half. The fabric does NOT stretch, but it is also not a very fitted dress, so it was only a small problem on the dance floor. =] Highly recommend!
tkhouston
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 2, 2013

Loved this!!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful material and color! One of my favorite dresses from rtr. I axes my own velvet black belt to cinch in my waist a little more. It's definitely comfortable and leaves room if you ear a huge meal!
Lori
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 2, 2013

Gorgeous dress that fits generously - so flattering and versatile.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This runs large - I was able to wear a size 4 and would normally be a six for a cut like this. Keep in mind the arms do not give much, so even though the dress runs large for the body (I have an ample behind) take your arms in to consideration because I found that to be true to size as well as the bust. I wore this to a rustic NH wedding in October so the weather was chilly and the sleeves were great so I didn't need a shrug. With the lace I toned down the accessories and kept it simple. This is so versatile though you can totally do it up for a more formal affair as well. I got so many compliments on this dress I didn't want to take it off! Love love love.
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 3, 2013

Perfect fall color

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Runs large, went with the 0 - which fit perfectly! I wore this to a November SEC football game. Lots of compliments on it and its super comfortable!
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Body type: Full Bust
Dec 4, 2013

A Fabulous Dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I'm a tried and true size 8 in dresses but from other reviewers and suggestions I saw to try one size down. The size 6 did fit me as well but I felt more comfortable spending all day in an 8 for a Thanksgiving party. I needed that extra bit of room for all the food! The dress was a really beautiful purple. I had enough room with the sleeves to move my arms and the dress didn't hike up when I sat down. I'd definitely consider renting this one again!
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158 lbs
Dec 5, 2013

A+ Dress for my Engagement Shoot

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Rented this dress for my engagement shoot for our upcoming wedding. This dress was a great fit. This dress does fit large, so I opted for the size 8 and it worked perfectly. I matched this dress with a belt I got from Ann Taylor in October. The dress shapes to your body so I wore spanx to get a slimmer look. I rented the earrings too - Peacock Pearl Earrings and I would rent this dress again. Thanks RTR for opportunity to wear it.
Simcha
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 6, 2013

This dress is perfection!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a wedding, and it was my first time using RTR. I was super nervous but it ended up being such a great experience. Most of the reviews said that this dress runs small, so I ordered a 4 and a 6. I could have worn either dress, but the 4 was a bit snug, so I ended up wearing the 6 just to make sure I was comfortable all night. This dress was beautiful and I felt wonderful in it. I wish I could keep it!! Highly, highly recommend.
Elle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 10, 2013

Tons of compliments on this dress. It fit perfect and looked great.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to my boyfriend's law firm's holiday party. I received tons of compliments on the dress. It was a little short, but short in a fun, flirty and not too slutty way. The reviews are helpful. I never wear a size 2. Typically a 4-6 and the size 2 worked. I'm glad I order one size down and it fit great. The quality was excellent. Wish I could have kept this dress. I'm looking forward to ordering my next dress from RTR.
Jami
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
Dec 12, 2013

LOVED THIS DRESS! I wore this dress for my fall engagement shoot. PERFECT!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
It runs big. I normally wear either a 2 or 4 in dresses and ended up wearing this in a size 0. GO SMALLER!
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117 lbs
Dec 13, 2013

Perfect mix of classy and flirty! LOVED this dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to my graduation. It runs a little big, but the next size down fit perfectly. I got so many compliments on this dress. The color is beautiful and the lace is very nice. I would definitely recommend this dress!
Kristin
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148 lbs
Dec 15, 2013

First RTR experience - LOVED IT!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
There was not much diff between the 10 & 12, the 12 was a little more boxy.I have fairly athletic arms and usually that is the problem spot for me. This dress worked. It also was not as short on my 5"6" as it shows on the model.Wore it for my companies Christmas cocktail party. Felt absolutely great. I got a ton of compliments. This dress actually showed up on another woman too at this event! We both said "RTR - Love it" It looked great on her too. Wish I had thought to get a pre-party picture. It felt super classy & sexy without being uncovered, important for winter events!
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 15, 2013

Beautiful and great quality!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress definitely runs large. I am normally in between a 4 and a 6 and the 2 fit perfectly! This dress was perfect for my work Christmas party and I got tons of compliments!
Cassandra
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 17, 2013

Elegant and modest but still felt sexy

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Like others said, it did run large. I normally am a 4-6 and wore a 2. I probably could have even worn a 0, but having it a little bigger made it easier for dancing and kept it more modest for the occasion. Could be dressed up or dressed down, worn with many different kinds of shoes, and for lots of different occasions as well. I have a curvy lower half and narrow waist, and often worry about dresses being too bootylicious, but this dress was definitely glamorous, elegant and beautiful. The woman next to me in this photo is in her 40s and a mother of 4 - she tried it on as well and looked great also, so definitely versatile as well! Highly recommended!!!
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 18, 2013

Comfortable and complimentary!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress feels fantastic, it was so comfortable. It can be hard to find a comfortable, lace, sleeved dress but this dress is all of those things. Definitely one I did not want to send back. The fit was true to size, I am almost always a 2 and wore the 2 in this dress as well. Good length for a formal affair, dinner party, or wedding.
Mary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 58
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 18, 2013

Very pretty and comfortable!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this dress to a beach wedding in Florida. It was very comfortable and not tight at all on the arms. The color was a pretty deep purple and I had several people tell me they loved my dress! I was afraid it might be a bit worn since it had lots of reviews, but it was in great shape. Love RTR!
Allison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
Dec 19, 2013

Wore this to a friends engagement party- LOVED this dress- would buy to own

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
fit was perfect- I was extremely comfortable all night!
Nina
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 101 lbs
Dec 27, 2013

Never go wrong with jewel tones!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I knew the fit would be a little looser around the waist as this was a shift and not a sheath dress. (Perfect for wedding eats). This dress is easy to wear even if not sized perfectly for petites (I own a different Trina Turk dress in a 2P), and I enjoyed getting compliments on it from the bride's very handsome and single! brother-in-law.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 159 lbs
Dec 29, 2013

Quintessential holiday dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress is the perfect dress that mixes fun and flirty with demure and sophisticated. I wore this on Christmas Eve and it was very comfortable! I think the dress is cut more for someone that is straight up and down. For me it was big in the waist and tight in the hips…so hourglass girls may want to size up. The best part of this dress is the minimal jewelry that needs to be worn…the lace detail is so beautiful it takes center stage.
Stacy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 30, 2013

So elegant, yet glamorous!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for Easter Sunday. I loved that it was long sleeved and didn't show too much, but it was still interesting and detailed beautifully. I loved the sophisticated look that came together with nude platform pumps.
Jill
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 31, 2013

Beautiful sheath in plum lace - perfect for winter wedding!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress runs large, so you may want to order two sizes down depending on your preferred fit. I am solidly a 4 and thought the 2 was a bit loose. The shorter skirt is perfectly balanced by the longer sleeve and durable lace (no annoying snags). Boat neck is perfect for a regular bra (and spanx, should you need them!). I am petite and thought the dress looked a bit 'heavy' with black tights and pumps, so I'd recommend nude shoes for shorter gals. Should be noted that RTR shipped this *early* in anticipation of the holidays, it was nice to know they were thinking ahead.
Jo
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 2, 2014

Beautiful!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered the dress in sizes 0 and 2 and the 0 fit perfectly. The lace detail is amazing so I kept my accessories pretty minimal and I wore nude strappy heels. Depending on the lighting, the dress can look black in pictures but i feel like this pic captures the beautiful color of the dress. I can't stress enough how much I LOVE renttherunway.com and I will continue to rent!!!
Carrie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 3, 2014

Favorite dress I've ever rented rom this site.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
It was a bit large; I'm often an 8 instead of a 6, and the 6 fit well. Not too short, even though I'm 5'9". The lace detailing was classy and nice-looking, not chintzy like some lace can be. Liked it so much I tried to find it on Ebay to purchase!
Amy
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 4, 2014

GORGEOUS Dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
During my recent trip to Vegas, we visited the new Rent the Runway store at the Cosmopolitan. What a WONDERFUL experience! The girls in the store (especially Brittany) were so friendly and accommodating. This dress was worn on a Friday night out on the strip, and I received so many compliments. (Honestly, I wish I could have purchased this dress!) Return was easy--I ended up dropping it off at the store the next day, but was provided a UPS bag in case I wanted to leave it with the hotel concierge. Based off of this experience, I will certainly rent from Rent the Runway again.
Jamie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
Jan 5, 2014

Perfect for any event!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this for my brother's wedding. I would say it definitely runs true to size. The dress was a little tight when I first put it on, but it loosened up throughout the night. The lace and color is beautiful and I would rent it again! Another great experience RTR!
Dena
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 7, 2014

I would rent this again!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress runs large. I didn't even try on my normal size after reading reviews. I'm happy I sized down! I would rent this again… IT WAS SOOOO COMFORTABLE AND GORGEOUS IN PERSON! I wore this for my birthday dinner!
Shannon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 7, 2014

It photographed very well, LOVE this dress!!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for our engagement pictures. This dress was absolutely stunning, the lace is gorgeous and a very pretty purple. The dress fits great through the hip, I'm very small on top and it wasn't very overwhelming large. I wore it with boots, because the day of the pictures was very cold and wet) and it taught it looked great. The length was perfect and this dress looks wonderful with a small silver belt. I would very much recommend this to anyone who is a lace dress lover.
Courtney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 124 lbs
Jan 13, 2014

Received so many compliments all night. Wish I could have kept it!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit me just like shift should! It gave me just enough room to dance in it all night, but was snug in all the right places. It was perfect for a winter wedding.
Lindsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 16, 2014

Beautiful & comfortable!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress was perfect for a winter anniversary date to see a Broadway show! It was a beautiful rich, plum color and the lace was gorgeous. My only complaint is minor- the sheath underneath the lace was very slightly longer than the lace & I would've liked the lace to be longer. But that's how it fit on me & I loved it anyways :)
Tina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Jan 20, 2014

Great dress for a great night!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
It fit really well and managed to be really comfortable while maintaining a good shape. It was a little shorter than I was expecting, but it ended up working out really well. It also photographed well.
SuZanne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Jan 21, 2014

GREAT color, comfortable, good fit, classic.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I read to get one size smaller than my normal size because it was supposed to fit snug. I ended up using my normal size. I would recommend going up a size.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×