Portrait of Elegance Shift

$45 rental
$328 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Looking for the ultimate date night dress? This Trina Turk lace shift will look amazing on you as you sip champagne and fall love with that new fling!

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Synthetic Floral Lace. Three quarter length sleeves. Boat Neckline. Hidden back zipper. Straight skirt. Lined. 35” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
1056 reviews
Fit
Large406
True to Size560
Small35
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
April 12, 2015
Color didn't do much for me
This was my emergency back up after original order didn't fit and was not available in another size. I was worried bc the other dress ran so small that I ordered two sizes up in this one and it was a mistake. Dress was too big and didn't do anything for me. It was comfortable at least. This was my fault not RTR's and customer service came through with this one for me in a pinch. I didn't love the color of this either but the lace was pretty.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 10, 2015
Beautiful dress! Tons of compliments!
Loved this dress! It was perfect for an evening wedding. I received a ton of compliments. I ordered the wrong back up size (opted for a size up to be safe, instead of a size down which I might have been able to wear), but it worked out okay! The dress runs true to size. The arms fit great - I was afraid they would be too tight but they weren't at all! LOVED the experience and can't wait to RTR again!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
April 7, 2015
Great dress, really comfortable. A little wide at shoulders.
I was very comfortable in this dress. My niece had rented same exact dress for the rehearsal dinner the night before. Looked great on her and she is much taller and younger than I am.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
March 28, 2015
great dress for a wedding
fit is true to size, does bunch up slightly when you walk but is easy to smooth out for photos
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
March 25, 2015
Loved this dress, but was too short.
I ordered this dress for a wedding, and although it would have been perfect it was simply too short.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 122lbs
March 18, 2015
The perfect dress!
I don't think I would have ever worn a '0', so this dress must run big. But the '0' fit perfectly. I was worried that the lace sleeves would be scratchy or tight, but they fit perfectly. The color was awesome and the length was enough that I didn't feel like I would flash anyone. It still showed a lot of leg and looked great with heels. I skipped a necklace (because of my president's badge) and wore some silver diamond earrings. It seriously was the best dress ever! Pardon the photos, after the banquet I realized I didn't get a "nice" photo of me and my family. Oh well! The ones I posted show off the beautiful lace hemline. Love it! I received so many compliments on this dress and how good I looked! It really made me feel fabulous.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
March 15, 2015
Perfect Dress!
This dress was exactly what I was looking for for my cousin's March Wedding. It was the right color. It had everything I was looking for. I loved the 3/4 sleeve for the chilly evening. I ordered a 4, which is what I thought I usually wear, but I went with the my extra size, the 2, for the wedding day. The 4 fit fine, but it was a little loose- more of a comfy look. The 2 was slimming and made me feel good, so I went with that one. The dress kept me warm on the hilly evening and wasn't hot at all! I was able to dance(and occasionally sit) for the whole evening! For my first RTR order, I'm in love! Can't wait for my next dress! :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
March 10, 2015
Great dress for a winter wedding!
Super comfortable, color was great, loved it! My brother's wedding was at a Catholic church at the end of February, so I was looking for something with sleeves, with a conservative neckline, and that would hide my postpartum belly that is sticking around 9 months after my 2nd was born. This worked perfectly. The 10 was more form fitting but was a little shorter than my mom would have appreciated and would have taken a little more effort to zip. In an ideal world, the 12 wouldn't have been quite so loose in the middle section, but I was so comfortable the whole night, I can't really complain.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
March 2, 2015
I couldn't have been happier with this dress! Very happy with my first Rent the Runway experience!!
This dress fit perfectly and was super comfortable all night, even on the dance floor! The color was stunning and the details on the lace were so pretty. I got so many compliments on this dress and the jewelry I rented as well. Can't wait to rent another dress!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
February 25, 2015
this dress would be great to wear to a wedding,
dress fits true to size, i would definitely recommend this dress
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 22, 2015
Loved the presentation and how easy it was to return!
This was my first rent the runway experience and it was fantastic! The dress does run a little large. I probably could have worn a zero, but I like the slightly looser feel of the size two...perfect for eating a multi-course dinner!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
February 5, 2015
Nice
This dress is nice; but nothing spectacular. It was sent to me because the dress I rented was not available due to damage by the previous renter. This dress was nice, but was not appropriate for the event I had rented the other dress for. I would have never selected a boat neck style for myself as it is not flattering for my broad shoulders.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
January 22, 2015
Loved the color
Great dress. Not too form fitting.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137lbs
January 21, 2015
Engagement Photos
I received SO many compliments on my Engagement Photos! I absolutely LOVE this dress and would rent it in a heartbeat. I thought the fit was maybe slightly larger than average. I am usually a size 6 but wore a size 4. It was absolutely beautiful!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
January 21, 2015
Lovely lace number, color is great
I wore this to a fall wedding and was pleased with this rental! The color is perfect - a very rich plum and was exactly as I expected. It's not the most special dress that I've rented, but very comfortable and looked great in photos.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
January 20, 2015
It worked perfectly for an evening event I had to go to.
For someone who is both pear-shaped and petite It was a little bit of a straighter fit than I usually go for. However, it was still flattering and not too tight on the hips. It was an appropriate length to stay somewhat conservative but not look frumpy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
January 20, 2015
Great for an early fall wedding!
The color,fabric, and style of the dress were perfect for a wedding in early september. The material is not very stretchy, so a second size is definitely recommended. The only issue I had was that when getting into the music on the dance floor, raising my arms up meant the dress shifted up as well to almost indecent heights.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
January 19, 2015
Great color and perfect fit!
Great deep purple color! I'm about 5'4" and it hit above my knees, so the length was great too. I was also really happy with the sleeves- usually long sleeves like this are snug or even impossible for me to wear, but I took a chance with this dress and they were perfect- not too tight but not baggy either. I ended up wearing spanx just to smooth everything out, but the material and lining were substantial enough that I probably didn't have to. Overall, another successful rental!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 16, 2015
Perfect for my law school graduation - color, lace and all!!
Loved the color - the lace is a little stretched out, you can tell it's been worn. It still fit fine and I just love the lace detail. I sadly didn't get many photos because I wore it under my graduation gown. I attached the only photo I have of it just so you can see the color.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 136lbs
January 13, 2015
Perfect. It was actually my second choice originally, but I liked it more than my first choice!
Runs large, as I usually wear a 6, and still had room in the 4. Very, very comfortable. Just the right length, not too short or too close to the knee.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
January 7, 2015
I wore this dress for a winter wedding that turned out to be in a blizzard!
The dress was very appropriate and flattering. I typically wear a 4, but ended up sizing down for the 2.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
January 5, 2015
Perfect for a winter wedding.
I wore this to an indoor winter wedding with black tights. Overall it fit well, but it was a little shapeless in the middle section. I wore a gold statement necklace with it similar to the model's, and it worked great.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 5, 2015
Really comfortable and cute
This was a great choice for my parents' 50th wedding anniversary. It's classy and covers everything, so you don't have to worry about any mishaps. If you're concerned about your tummy, I'd wear spanx. This one isn't very forgiving in that area.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
January 4, 2015
The dress was really nice and I received a lot of compliments!
Typically I wear a 4 but ended up wearing the 2. It ran a little big so I'm glad I got a size down, also. The fit ended up being great and the material was really nice for a winter wedding. It allowed moved for dancing, too! I will definitely be doing this again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 2, 2015
Elegant dress for any event
This dress fit great and covered all problem areas!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
December 29, 2014
Beautiful Lace Dress
This dress was great for a holiday part & my first RTR. Did run a little big as I had the 4 & 6 and wore the 4. Probably could have fit in the 2. I would rent this again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
December 23, 2014
Great color, flattering and forgiving fit. Great for winter wedding
Runs large and a straight fit, so great if you aren't comfortable filling up on apps and booze wearing a form-fitting dress. The customer service is fantastic - the dress I had originally ordered didn't fit, and this dress was selected by a stylist within 10 minutes of my call and was overnighted to me. Great experience!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137lbs
December 23, 2014
Cute dress
This dress ended up being a last minute dress that RTR sent me since my original choice came back damaged. I ended up using this dress for my engagement photos in New Orleans. The dress was very comfortable and I was pleased with the color. I do however wish that it was a bit more fitted around the waste as it did make me appear larger than I am (in certain shots my hips & bottom looked odd almost like saddlebags). I have an actual hourglass figure (36, 26, 36) and dresses that are not as fitted make me appear boxy. Overall, most pictures came out beautifully.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 17, 2014
This dress was great!
I rented this dress for a more conservative wedding, and it was a huge hit! It was really comfortable and so flattering.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
December 17, 2014
Looked great and so comfortable
I wore this dress to a winter wedding and it was phenomenal. First of all, I ended up wearing the smaller of the two sizes, so I would definitely recommend going down a size for your backup. It was so flattering and even had some stretch to it--very different from most other lace sleeve dresses. I got compliments on this dress all night long. It was the perfect combination of dressy and super comfortable. I would definitely rent this again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133lbs
December 14, 2014
4.5 stars - Great classy dress
This dress wasn't a head-turner, but was perfect for my husband's holiday party. No photos, but wore with cream 4" platforms. No big jewelry needed. Definitely runs bigger - Ordered 4 & 6 and went with a 4. Great experience with RTR! Ordered last minute and process was flawless.
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
December 13, 2014
Perfect holiday party dress!
I wore this to my husband's work holiday party and it was perfect! I liked the sleeves, especially for winter. The color was amazing and I loved that I could wear a normal bra. It did run a little big so I ended up going with my smaller alternate size. What a fun first RTR experience!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
December 12, 2014
Cute dress. On the shorter side for a tall girl
Comfortable, nothing too special! The sleeves are a nice touch. Something weird with the liner and lace in the neck bothered me, it wasn't laying and rolled slightly. Glad I was standing most of the night as it was on the short side, great color!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 133lbs
December 11, 2014
Nice color classy
Thanks to the patience and great customer service of RTR, I received two great choices by Trina Turk for my holiday party. I didn't wear this one because I liked the other choice better, but this is a very classy dress. Nice lace and a rich color. Does not fit tight through the midsection. Conservative. Great for an office holiday party.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
December 9, 2014
Gorgeous dress, well made, great coverage without being too modest. I was so confident wearing it!
I'm between an 8 and 10 usually, so I wasn't that surprised that the 10 was the best fit. But I will say that the 8 was really small on me, so I think that in general the dress tends toward small. But the 10 fit like a glove---you could tell it was cut expertly, falling on my curves perfectly. Nicely accommodating toward a large bust, sleeves just right. And the color was gorgeous with a nude heel and gold jewelry.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
December 3, 2014
Formal, but still fun
I went to a formal, conservative event. I thought the fit was perfect. It was more loose than tight, but it still gave my body shape. The length wasn't an issue for me, but it may be more on the shorter side for taller people. The color was beautiful and looks great with gold. I wore champagne colored heels, which worked well with the dress. The dress was in great condition. It didn't look completely new, but it definitely didn't look worn. There were no issues with fraying of the lace, etc. My only issue was with the material underneath riding up occasionally. Other than that, I was very pleased and received tons of compliments on the dress! It definitely was unique and stood out from the crowd!
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128lbs
December 3, 2014
Classy & comfortable... Got so many compliments !
Fit well in the bust & shoulders... Slightly loose in the waist despite being the smaller of the two sizes I chose; however this made sitting and dancing easy and comfortable. Length was perfect despite being 5'4, still showed enough leg without being too short.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
Weight: 160lbs
December 2, 2014
Loved it for first RTR rental!
I wore this for a fall wedding and it was great - does run large so I wish I ordered a smaller size but overall the dress was comfortable, great quality and the dress was even delivered early!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
November 30, 2014
Beautiful dress...
Looks great on and very comfortable. The color is so pretty. The only bad part was having to return it...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
November 30, 2014
Great fall/winter wedding guest dress!
True to size!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
4 / 27

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×