Trina Turk

Portrait of Elegance Shift

$90 to buy
$328 retail
Stylist Notes

Looking for the ultimate date night dress? This Trina Turk lace shift will look amazing on you as you sip champagne and fall love with that new fling!

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Synthetic Floral Lace. Three quarter length sleeves. Boat Neckline. Hidden back zipper. Straight skirt. Lined. 35” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
1071 reviews
Fit
Large
(406)
True to Size
(567)
Small
(35)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 26, 2012
This dress was great for Thanksgiving; demure yet stylish!
The dress was a bit big on me; I probably could have gone a size down, as suggested in the style notes. But, I was given many compliments from my in-laws and my husband loved it too! The color was also fantastic, perfect for autumn.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
November 27, 2012
Love this dress!
This dress was absolutely beautiful. It fit great and the color is beautiful. I am tall so I always keep an eye out for dresses that MIGHT be long enough. This dress was the perfect length and I wore it to Thanksgiving dinner. It even gave me a little room for all of the delicious food!
McKennaOctober 14, 2013
What a surprise to see you here! Great look, Tracy!
McKennaOctober 14, 2013
Weird. It didn't post my name. This is McKenna. :)
TracyOctober 17, 2013
Too funny! :) Thanks McKenna! Love RTR!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 27, 2012
Perfect Dinner Party dress!
Fit perfectly. I cooked Thanksgiving dinner, then slipped on this dress right before everyone came over. Love the color- perfect for the holidays. Love the length- great for a dinner party. Love the details on the sleeve- see-through and sophisticated.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
November 27, 2012
Not that happy though it looked great.
The dress smelled like body ordor and i could tell it had not been well cleaned at the arm pits. The dress was larger than previous size 4's I had ordered and wish I had rented a 2.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
November 28, 2012
One of my favorite dresses of all time!
I rented a dress for a friend's wedding and this was the $25 extra dress for the weekend. I ended up wearing it for the rehearsal dinner. This has to be one of my favorite dresses that I have ever worn. The length came just above the knee. I listened to the advice of the other reviewers and ordered down. I usually wear a 4, but the size 0 in this dress fit perfectly. I was concerned that the sleeves might be uncomfortable but they were just the opposite. I was probably the most comfortable girl there. The color is true to the photo and beautiful in person. I knew that I was turning heads when the bride (who was stunning herself) complimented me twice on the dress! If I could buy this dress, I would. Great service and great dress, RTR!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
November 28, 2012
Great dress.
I really loved the look and the color of this dress, however, at 5'2, it was a little too long for my taste. I also think that I could've gone down a size because it was baggy throughout. Luckily I had ordered a back-up dress and ended up going with the navy Shoshonna 'LIz Love Dot Dress'. Overall, great service and I have already put in another order for another event.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
November 28, 2012
Perfect dress!
I loved the flattering fit- slightly loose but still great style. I was worried it would be a little short but I was pleasantly surprised.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
November 29, 2012
Run's very large. If you are a petite person or typically wear a size zero, not worth it.
This dress has potential to be very cute but unfortunately the fit is just not flattering for a smaller person. I typically wear a zero and this dress was too large to wear. I tried belting it but overall everything from the sleeves, to the length were off. It is more of a shift style than a fitted look which I didn't not find to be flattering for this long sleeve dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 29, 2012
Pretty color and lace - poor fit.
This dress is pretty and I wanted to rent it forever ~ when I finally did, I was disappointed. The color and lace are pretty - but the fit was unflattering. I normally wear a 4, and I had to wear the 2, and the dress was still baggy in the midsection. I also don't think it photographed very well. Sad because I wanted to love it.
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 55
Body type: Apple
Weight: 157lbs
November 29, 2012
Flattering to my figure and age appropriate
Wore this to a black tie affair, but it was plenty fancy, fit well, and felt right for my age (50).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
November 30, 2012
LOTS of compliments
I wore this to Thanksgiving dinner and got so many compliments- from cousins and grandparents alike! I ended up explaining RTR to several people. The color and fit are really great-- it could have been dressed up but I was okay to wear it to a pretty casual dinner also. LOVED it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
November 30, 2012
Perfect for a family affair!
I wore this dress to a family wedding. It was perfect for the occasion. The dress was a little baggy around the middle and arms, and I found the neckline to be a little higher than I hoped, but overall I felt great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 58
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 1, 2012
Perfect party dress
I vary between a size 6 & 8 depending on the designer- this one, I liked how the 8 fit better than the 6. I received many compliments on this dress. I was a little worried that the dress might show some wear since I have tried to rent this one a few times and it was never available when I wanted it. It looked great- no wear and tear visible at all.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
December 1, 2012
Great dress. Very festive. Received lots of compliments.
This dress fits well and is extremely flattering. Looks good on and photographs well. Perfect for parties. Comfortable and classy. Would highly recommend and even wear again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 3, 2012
Several strangers complimented me on my dress, and my boyfriend wanted me to wear it again
This dress runs fairly large--I am usually a 6-8 in dresses, and had to go with the 6 here. The 8 was so large it looked dumpy. The 6 was more fitted in the chest, which I thought might be a problem since I have a larger bust (the lining of the dress is a bit shiny so it was noticeable where the dress was tighter). The arms of the dress were also very large, and in my opinion made me look bigger than I really am. That said, it is a very versatile dress and got a good response. Conservative enough to be appropriate for daytime, and can be dressed up enough for a black tie optional wedding. Wore it with nude bow pumps, diamond drops and a crystal & resin necklace.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
December 3, 2012
I felt Classy & Sexy!
I Loved this dress! I wore it for my Birthday in Savannah. It fit very well - although I added a black belt to it which I think made it look perfect. It fits true to size. I wore it with flats since we were walking a lot that night, and it still looked incredible. I would highly recommend this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Full Bust
December 4, 2012
Perfect!
perfect length and great color
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
December 5, 2012
Great for a conservative wedding, but order a size smaller than you normally wear.
I wore this to a 4pm winter family wedding. It suited the conservative occasion. Great color and perfect length. After reading some of the reviews, I went with a size 2 with a backup size 0. I normally wear a 2 or 4. I wore the 0 because it was a better fit and I never fit into size 0. I am naturally thin, but after having 3 kids, my stomach is not as flat as it used to be. I did feel like I had to suck in my belly the entire night so that no one would think a was newly pregnant...again! :) Other than that, I felt good in this dress.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Body type: Petite
December 7, 2012
Great dress, lots of complements.
Loose fitting making it very comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
December 7, 2012
Wish it was delivered in my size.
Due to the person before me not returning the dress on time (shame on her) RTR could only send my second size. Knowing that this dress runs large, I knew I would need the 4, but they sent the 6 since that's the best they had. Kudos to them for trying. The 6 was HUGE, made me look 6 months pregnant or just fat. It gave me no shape what so ever. It's a shame too, because knowing I was renting this dress, I had an entire outfit picked out to go with it. This dress runs large, order your true size and a size down just in case.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 131lbs
December 7, 2012
Elegant, flattering
I wore this for a Thanksgiving dinner party and got many compliments. It's simple, but elegant.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 9, 2012
I absolutely loved this dress
I usually wear a 8, but after reading all the reviews i ordered a 6 and a 4 as the back up and actually ended up wearing the 4. DEFINITELY order a smaller back up. Other than that, it was a beautiful dress, an amazing color and i wish i could keep it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
December 9, 2012
Great combination of class and comfort!
Once again I was happy with my Rent the Runway experience. The dress fit and looked as expected and was perfect for the fundraising event I attended. I received many compliments on the style and color of the dress throughout the night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
December 9, 2012
Purple and popular!
Received tons of compliments and the purple is a beautiful shade! Would rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
December 9, 2012
Great For My Event
Dress ran large (even the 0 was too big), but I just put a belt on so it wasn't too baggy. Otherwise, it looked fantastic. Loved the deep plum color and got lots of compliments all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
December 10, 2012
Pretty but too big.
The dress looked beautiful but was unfortunately too big and much longer on me than in appeared in the pictures. I think the 6 would have been a much better fit but was not available and I usually don't have a problem sizing up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Body type: Athletic
December 10, 2012
Very classy dress! Perfect for a holiday work dinner.
This dress had a great fit, a little bit of stretch that was very flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
December 10, 2012
Pretty color, just not in pics
This dress was a really pretty color but it doesn't "pop" in pictures. I felt it fit true to size, and it was incredibly comfortable! It was perfect for a winter wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 67
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 136lbs
December 10, 2012
I loved this dress!
Be sure to order at least 2 sizes smaller. I wore the size 4 and usually wear a size 8. It fit like a glove. Very rich color and the lace was gorgeous. I chaired a charity event and people kept telling me all night at the Gala dinner they loved the dress and how fabulous I looked. I would definitely recommend this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
December 11, 2012
By far my FAV RTR dress! It was comfortable enough to dance all night, and fit like a glove!
It ran a little large.. I'm usually a size 12, and with RTR I am always worried that the dresses will run small- thank goodness I ordered the size smaller too! This dress was perfect for a holiday cocktail party! I wore the dress with black tights and mini-bootie heels, and it was awesome! I got so many compliments, and didn't feel uncomfortable at all! the lace is just the right touch for a classy cocktail look!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
December 12, 2012
This dress is beautiful and I received numerous compliments.
It definitely runs large-- the 0 was even a little big. I wore it with a belt because otherwise my waist was lost.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
December 12, 2012
This was a stunner!
I usually wear a 6 and the 4 fit perfectly. I was worried about it being too short but it hit about an inch above the knee which was fine. I was the hostess for a large party at my home and was bustling all night. I was comfortable all night! Tons of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
December 13, 2012
Killer Dress!
A couple of girls in my office and I decided to do RTR for our company's Christmas party and couldn't have been happier with the result! The dress did run a little on the loose side, so I would suggest ordering a size down for your back up. The 12 wasn't terribly large, but the sleeves were a little loose and I felt like the body fit of the 10 was just a little more flattering. I was worried about the length, being 6' tall it's a constant issue, and while it felt a little short when I sat down, it wasn't a deal breaker. I never felt uncomfortable. It also looks good with tights, so that's always an option if you're concerned about the length. There were so many different ways I thought about accessorizing this dress! I had a mint green clutch that looked great with the purple color, but in the end I went with gold jewelry & belt and black shoes & clutch. Overall this was such a great experience! I can't wait to rent again!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
December 13, 2012
Great Dress - Could use a Belt
Rented this for a Fall Rehearsal Dinner. Felt well, good length - I added a black belt (with black heels) and that helped a lot. Got tons of compliments on the dress...the fit is very complimentary. Very True to Size...larger sizes will get bulky and bunch up.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
December 14, 2012
This dress what the perfect for my husband's company holiday party!
This dress fit perfectly and was extremely comfortable to wear all night at my husband's company holiday party. I received compliments all night and it was the perfect mix of sexy and appropriate for a company party. As a cury girl I wore the 12 as I felt more comfortable in it, but was pleased that the 10 fit as well. I often struggle to find dresses to accomdate my 36DD chest that aren't too big on the rest of my frame. This dress is a go to for any event!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
December 14, 2012
Pretty Fabric, A Bit Frumpy
The fabric of this dress is a beautiful eggplant color and the details in the lace are just gorgeous. The length of the dress is just right, trendy but not too short. I should have ordered a size smaller, though. The dress ran large and looked shapeless on me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 14, 2012
Loved the modest neckline and sleeves for homecoming!
Definitely runs large, so I belted it. Had a lot of room in the chest area, but still looked fine. Hits just above the knee for me. The sleeves were a little itchy but not too much of a bother. Great dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
December 15, 2012
Another great Trina Turk dress!
This dress fit perfectly. I normally wear a 10, and this was perfect! I paired this with the petra bracelet from Stella and Dot and the matching earrings, and it was a perfect match to the lace in the dress. Trina turk makes awesome dresses!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 16, 2012
Gorgeous dress - and comfortable too!
Runs a little large. The dress is gorgeous - beautiful color - and comfortable. I am 5'5" and the length (mid-thigh) was perfect. I love the boatneck and 3/4 sleeves. I got a lot of compliments on it and would love to wear this dress again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
December 16, 2012
It was classic and beautiful and I felt very special for my engagement party!
I probably could have worn a smaller size, but with a simple belt it completed the look. I wore my red satin Badgley Mischka shoes to finish it off!
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
4 / 27

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×