Trina Turk

Portrait of Elegance Shift

$65 rental
$328 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Looking for the ultimate date night dress? This Trina Turk lace shift will look amazing on you as you sip champagne and fall love with that new fling! Shown here with the kate spade accessories' Crystal Chapel Cluster Necklace and Dannijo's Coco Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Synthetic Floral Lace. Three quarter length sleeves. Boat Neckline. Hidden back zipper. Straight skirt. Lined. 35” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

930 reviews

Fit
Small 31
True to Size 501
Large 385
Photos 454
Monica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 13, 2013

Perfect for a fancy dinner.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Absolutely no complaints! I might buy this dress now though, I loved it so much!
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 18, 2013

Comfortable and complimentary!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress feels fantastic, it was so comfortable. It can be hard to find a comfortable, lace, sleeved dress but this dress is all of those things. Definitely one I did not want to send back. The fit was true to size, I am almost always a 2 and wore the 2 in this dress as well. Good length for a formal affair, dinner party, or wedding.
Mary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 58
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 18, 2013

Very pretty and comfortable!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this dress to a beach wedding in Florida. It was very comfortable and not tight at all on the arms. The color was a pretty deep purple and I had several people tell me they loved my dress! I was afraid it might be a bit worn since it had lots of reviews, but it was in great shape. Love RTR!
Allison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
Dec 19, 2013

Wore this to a friends engagement party- LOVED this dress- would buy to own

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
fit was perfect- I was extremely comfortable all night!
Nina
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 101 lbs
Dec 27, 2013

Never go wrong with jewel tones!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I knew the fit would be a little looser around the waist as this was a shift and not a sheath dress. (Perfect for wedding eats). This dress is easy to wear even if not sized perfectly for petites (I own a different Trina Turk dress in a 2P), and I enjoyed getting compliments on it from the bride's very handsome and single! brother-in-law.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 159 lbs
Dec 29, 2013

Quintessential holiday dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress is the perfect dress that mixes fun and flirty with demure and sophisticated. I wore this on Christmas Eve and it was very comfortable! I think the dress is cut more for someone that is straight up and down. For me it was big in the waist and tight in the hips…so hourglass girls may want to size up. The best part of this dress is the minimal jewelry that needs to be worn…the lace detail is so beautiful it takes center stage.
Stacy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 30, 2013

So elegant, yet glamorous!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for Easter Sunday. I loved that it was long sleeved and didn't show too much, but it was still interesting and detailed beautifully. I loved the sophisticated look that came together with nude platform pumps.
Jill
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 31, 2013

Beautiful sheath in plum lace - perfect for winter wedding!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress runs large, so you may want to order two sizes down depending on your preferred fit. I am solidly a 4 and thought the 2 was a bit loose. The shorter skirt is perfectly balanced by the longer sleeve and durable lace (no annoying snags). Boat neck is perfect for a regular bra (and spanx, should you need them!). I am petite and thought the dress looked a bit 'heavy' with black tights and pumps, so I'd recommend nude shoes for shorter gals. Should be noted that RTR shipped this *early* in anticipation of the holidays, it was nice to know they were thinking ahead.
Jo
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 2, 2014

Beautiful!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered the dress in sizes 0 and 2 and the 0 fit perfectly. The lace detail is amazing so I kept my accessories pretty minimal and I wore nude strappy heels. Depending on the lighting, the dress can look black in pictures but i feel like this pic captures the beautiful color of the dress. I can't stress enough how much I LOVE renttherunway.com and I will continue to rent!!!
Carrie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 3, 2014

Favorite dress I've ever rented rom this site.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
It was a bit large; I'm often an 8 instead of a 6, and the 6 fit well. Not too short, even though I'm 5'9". The lace detailing was classy and nice-looking, not chintzy like some lace can be. Liked it so much I tried to find it on Ebay to purchase!
Amy
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 4, 2014

GORGEOUS Dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
During my recent trip to Vegas, we visited the new Rent the Runway store at the Cosmopolitan. What a WONDERFUL experience! The girls in the store (especially Brittany) were so friendly and accommodating. This dress was worn on a Friday night out on the strip, and I received so many compliments. (Honestly, I wish I could have purchased this dress!) Return was easy--I ended up dropping it off at the store the next day, but was provided a UPS bag in case I wanted to leave it with the hotel concierge. Based off of this experience, I will certainly rent from Rent the Runway again.
Jamie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
Jan 5, 2014

Perfect for any event!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this for my brother's wedding. I would say it definitely runs true to size. The dress was a little tight when I first put it on, but it loosened up throughout the night. The lace and color is beautiful and I would rent it again! Another great experience RTR!
Dena
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 7, 2014

I would rent this again!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress runs large. I didn't even try on my normal size after reading reviews. I'm happy I sized down! I would rent this again… IT WAS SOOOO COMFORTABLE AND GORGEOUS IN PERSON! I wore this for my birthday dinner!
Shannon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 7, 2014

It photographed very well, LOVE this dress!!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for our engagement pictures. This dress was absolutely stunning, the lace is gorgeous and a very pretty purple. The dress fits great through the hip, I'm very small on top and it wasn't very overwhelming large. I wore it with boots, because the day of the pictures was very cold and wet) and it taught it looked great. The length was perfect and this dress looks wonderful with a small silver belt. I would very much recommend this to anyone who is a lace dress lover.
Courtney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 124 lbs
Jan 13, 2014

Received so many compliments all night. Wish I could have kept it!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit me just like shift should! It gave me just enough room to dance in it all night, but was snug in all the right places. It was perfect for a winter wedding.
Lindsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 16, 2014

Beautiful & comfortable!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress was perfect for a winter anniversary date to see a Broadway show! It was a beautiful rich, plum color and the lace was gorgeous. My only complaint is minor- the sheath underneath the lace was very slightly longer than the lace & I would've liked the lace to be longer. But that's how it fit on me & I loved it anyways :)
Jenny
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 17, 2014

Perfect for my work event

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
This dress was perfect for my recent work award night. The length and neckline were the reason I chose it, but I will admit it wasn't a dancing dress. Many people complimented this dress. The color was gorgeous and the fabric warm enough to wear on a chilly night. I could have worn the 2, but the sleeves were a little big (on both dresses), and the 0 fit better.
Season
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
Jan 20, 2014

It's true - size way down!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I wore an 8 in another Trina Turk dress from RTR (Kelly To My Green). In this dress, I wore a 4, which Go-To Girl Clare kindly overnighted me when the 6 was baggy. The rumors are true: size down! This dress was comfortable, flattering, and warm on a winter night. I got many compliments and felt beautiful. There's really nothing more I could have asked for!
Tina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Jan 20, 2014

Great dress for a great night!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
It fit really well and managed to be really comfortable while maintaining a good shape. It was a little shorter than I was expecting, but it ended up working out really well. It also photographed well.
SuZanne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Jan 21, 2014

GREAT color, comfortable, good fit, classic.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I read to get one size smaller than my normal size because it was supposed to fit snug. I ended up using my normal size. I would recommend going up a size.
Katy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Jan 27, 2014

Perfect Dress for NYE- made me feel HOT!!!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my third experience with RTR and the first time I've had issues getting a dress. On the day that my dresses were to be sent to me, i received a phone call and e-mail stating that the original dress I had rented was unavailable due to it being returned in not the best shape. I was offered the opportunity to rent another dress and receive a refund if the new dress I rented was cheaper (which it was). After panicking for a few hours, my mom found this dress for me. I was a little hesitant because i thought that it would be more fitted than I wanted it, but I decided to go with it I hope for the best (I had a backup dress as well). Let me tell you, when I put on this dress, I was IN LOVE! It was a little big on me (I probably should have gotten the 8) but I went out and bought a belt to cinch it in a little. I paired it with gold jewelry and black pumps (with purple glitter on the bottom- easy DIY project!) and was ready for a NYE out in DC! I received so many compliments and actually had guys notice me for the first time...ever! I don't get dressed up often since I work at a running store where the dress code is very casual so this was a nice change for me. I was so so so sad to return this dress and was on a hunt to find a similar dress. I found one online from Nordstrom and I am saving my money to purchase it. I would DEFINITELY rent this dress again (I want to rent it in the coral color too) and would DEFINITELY recommend it. I have always been very subconscious of my midsection but this dress conceals while still giving you a very flattering figure. Rent this dress now!!!!
Liza
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 27, 2014

Great fit! A lot of compliments. Very comfortable and warm.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore it to a winter wedding. Paired it with tan heals which extended the length of my short legs. Very flattering for an athletic build.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 141 lbs
Jan 30, 2014

Sophisticated and Feminime

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress.... I wore it to a September wedding and had so many people compliment me. It has such elegance and sophistication but I felt so sexy. I ordered an 8 and 6 and wore the 6 - it runs slightly large because its supposed to be a shift dress. I wanted mine more fitted around the waist so the smaller 6 was perfect. Had I had broader shoulders, it may have been too tight.
Tori
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
Feb 2, 2014

Perfect for a winter wedding.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was comfortable and stylish. I got lots of compliments. Was able to wear a regular bra. I got a size down for my backup because of the other reviews and ended up wearing the size down (8). I would love to own this dress. My only complaint is that when I lifted my arm it gapped in the back like in the picture I posted with the groom.
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Feb 3, 2014

Even my boss noticed my new dress - and he's a 50-something man!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
My original dress didn't fit, so this was sent to me as a backup. At first it sat funny on top of my butt (I have kind of a large one), but after an hour or so it skimmed nicely. I was worried that the lace sleeves would be itchy, but they were actually really soft. I really loved this dress!
Brandi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Feb 6, 2014

Lady in Lace. Perfect Fit!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I absolutely loved this dress. It fit perfectly. You can either dress it up or down with boots. Perfect for almost any occasion. It was a hard time returning this number.
alana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 14, 2014

The dress was gorgeous! TONS of compliments all wedding! Perfect dress for a daytime Fall wedding.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Color and lace sleeves were perfect. I ordered the size 4 & 6. 6 was too big. size 4 was too boxy in the waist so i ended up wearing a cute gold belt with it and pinned it on the inside. i would have ordered the size 2. I am a little bigger in my middle with a small chest and it was still too big for me in the waist with the size 4. Would order the dress again! Cute beige heels made it pop!
brittney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 178 lbs
Feb 15, 2014

this was perfect for a fall wedding

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
loved this dress. it was a little short but not too short. it was very pretty and great for a fall wedding. i would have loved to keep this dress in my wardrobe!
Grace
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Feb 21, 2014

Great Fit, Great Length

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The only downside was the fabric was a little itchier than I expected.
Ali
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Body type: Athletic
Feb 22, 2014

Cousin's wedding.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit perfectly. It was light and comfortable and easy to dance in. The zipper is a little fragile so be careful with that, but otherwise it's really well made and I wasn't worries about the lace ripping/ anything happening to it. Perfect for a fall wedding!
kristen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155 lbs
Feb 23, 2014

Perfect dress for my work Christmas party!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
True to size fit, beautiful color!! Another winner rented through RTR!! Loved everything about this dress!! Color, lace, fit, etc!
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 24, 2014

Classy and comfy!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful color and fit. This was a perfect dress for a fall wedding. Got tons of compliments. It did run big.
Julia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 2, 2014

Beautiful dress for a fall or winter wedding.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress. I wore it to my boyfriend's mom's November wedding and it was perfect for the season. Lace was beautiful quality (you could tell it had been worn a few times but hey it's a rented dress so what do you expect). Short length balances out the long sleeves. Overall I was very happy with it.
Ktina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 2, 2014

Amazing!!!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress. I wore this to a fall wedding in NYC. It was so true to fit and very flattering. I got a ton of compliments on this dress. I would definitely rent this dress again.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Mar 6, 2014

Many compliments. Great color

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fits well. Snug where it needs to be. Fits a full bust. Color was great and lace detail was very pretty.
CStud
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Mar 7, 2014

Perfect look for a wedding.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I read the dress fit large, but I feel it was true to size. I liked the thick material and lace overlay it nicely hides any bumps and lumps and prevents the need for shape wear. It was comfortable all night long. It was great first RTR dress.
Ness
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Mar 8, 2014

Very comfortable

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I thought this dress was super comfortable. I wore it to a bridal shower. It was a little short for me but I'm 5'7 and wore tights so it wasn't bad. Overall great dress. True to size.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Mar 12, 2014

Great dress! Perfect for a winter wedding!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit is great. Very comfortable. Just have to be careful not to catch the lace on anything. Overall fantastic pick!
linda
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 13, 2014

This was the perfect dress for my best friends wedding!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress! It was so comfortable and easy to wear. I was 4 month pregnant at my best friends wedding and it fit amazingly! The length was a perfect length for the occasion and the color complimented the late october wedding!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Mar 22, 2014

This was my first rental and I couldn't be happier with the dress or the service.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The fit was fantastic. Very true to size and a beautiful color. Only one con is the the dress rides up if you are not wearing stockings underneath. But not a big deal since I had already planned on wearing them.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×