Trina Turk

Portrait of Elegance Shift

$90 to buy
$328 retail
Stylist Notes

Looking for the ultimate date night dress? This Trina Turk lace shift will look amazing on you as you sip champagne and fall love with that new fling!

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Synthetic Floral Lace. Three quarter length sleeves. Boat Neckline. Hidden back zipper. Straight skirt. Lined. 35” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
1073 reviews
Fit
Large
(406)
True to Size
(568)
Small
(35)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 20, 2012
Perfect fall wedding dress!

The dress was really comfortable, which was unexpected for lace. I wore it to a wedding and received lots of compliments. The color is more of a deep purple than the dark red shown on the model. I wore my regular size with my dress, but would suggest getting your second dress a size down. The fit is loose, but still flattering. I really liked it.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 131lbs
September 25, 2012
beautiful colour. pretty sleeves. lovely yet comfortable lace detail

I'd read that this dress ran large, so I went with the 2 rather than my regular 4. I felt fine in it and could move. I felt great, this was my first rental and it was awesome to wear something so pretty. I think it has a classy, beautiful feel rather than a conservative one.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 25, 2012
Classy Dress

I rented this dress as a backup for a wedding but I didn't end up wearing it because the original one I rented fit me better. This is a classy and formal dress but it was kind of big around the waist area. I just felt like I would have needed to cinch it with a belt or something. Pretty dress, just not fitted enough for what I was looking for.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 26, 2012
Elegant and classy

I did a last-minute rental for a family celebration (bar mitzvah) -- I needed something classy, modest, and appropriate for a morning service and late-afternoon/evening party. This dress fit the bill, but the only size available was 2. I think I would have gone smaller if possible -- the fit was fairly roomy throughout the torso and hips. Nonetheless, I felt appropriately and festively dressed for an early-autumn occasion in this deep burgundy color. The lace has a lovely, intricate pattern, and though it did appear a bit worn (fuzzy/a few threads poking out) in places, it wasn't noticeable enough to cheapen the overall look.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
September 28, 2012
The color was perfect for fall and the sleeves really added some elegance.

The dress definitely ran a little large. I usually wear a 4 or a 6 but went down to a 0, which fit nicely. The dress isn't tight around the stomach but it isn't baggy either. The sleeves were awesome and the color was perfect (a really pretty dark purple -- it looks more maroon in the picture than it actually is). I wore it to a black tie wedding and fit right in, although I think it would also work for a less dressy affair. The dress was 2" shorter than average, which was perfect for me at 5' but really tall girls might want to measure to make sure it isn't too short. I wore the Nicole Miller Southern Plantation earrings, which really added some bling. The dress really needs some accessories -- either a big necklace or earrings.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
September 30, 2012
Loved it! Have Rented it twice!

Wore the dress to a fall wedding and got lots of compliments! Comfortable fit, definitely for cooler weather though. The length was perfect for my height or someone one or two inches taller. If I was any shorter it would've have looked too conservative. The color was true to the pictures. Also, RTR was great about getting it to me in the morning so that I could be ready to leave for the afternoon wedding!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
October 1, 2012
Great fall color.

Despite the reviews that warned this dress runs large, I was surprised at how roomy it is. It's more of a shift. So, it was fine that it wasn't snug. It definitely isn't my favorite dress I've rented. But it was great for a fall wedding. I paired it with black tights and black shoes. The sleeves were helpful for the outdoor ceremony. This dress is just okay, I would say.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
October 1, 2012
Pretty but needs a belt

Overall, I liked this dress. I wish I would have ordered a size down like the reviews recommended. The 4 was a little large and needed a belt to avoid looking like a lacy bag. The color was great and otherwise the dress was wonderful.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
October 1, 2012
Beautiful, comfortable, classy!

I loved wearing this dress! It does run a large so I'd recommend getting a size down. It is a little baggy in the waist. This worried me since I have to use my hourglass figure for all it's worth, but it still looked great! I wore it to a live charity auction for work and even though I was running around like crazy the whole night I still felt amazing and was super comfortable! I got lots of compliments and basically became a salesperson for RTR.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
October 3, 2012
Such a cute dress, and I love burgundy for fall!

The dress is so cute, but it definitely runs large! I ordered an 8 because it was the only size available (i'm usually a 6/8) and I think I could have worn a 4 or a 6. I ended up wearing it, but I wore a belt to cinch it in at the waist, which also made it a little shorter.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 7, 2012
Love this dress!! Highly recommend!

I wore this for my bridal shower and received a ton of complements. The color is a bit more purple than in the picture but it is a great color for Fall/Winter. The dress definitely runs large!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
October 8, 2012
Runs Very Large

I got this as a back up dress and went with a size 4. There were no reviews when I rented so I took a chance because I thought this would be perfect for a fall wedding. It runs so large. It looked like a bag on me. I probably needed the 2 or 0 for it to look like it does on the model.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34DDD/E
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
October 8, 2012
Very nice, classic dress.

Conservative, flattering dress, the neckline is gorgeous. Great for a formal work event or Winter Holiday party.

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
October 8, 2012
Awesome dress!!

Wore this to a wedding and loved wearing it! It was a beautiful color (more dark purple than maroon) and received so many compliments! It runs large, I usually wear a 2-4 and ended up wearing a 0 and there was still room.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
October 9, 2012
Loved this dress!!

This dress was amazing- I got so many compliments on it! I am normally a size 8, and the size 6 fit perfectly, so it definitely runs a little large. I was completely comfortable in it all night as well. I will definitely be renting it again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
October 10, 2012
Even my mother-in-law complimented this dress!

I wore this to an outdoor fall wedding, and it was the perfect choice! The color is a beautiful rich plum, and I loved the sheer lace sleeves., which kept the dress from feeling too tame. It's a tasteful and elegant dress, and I found the fit very true-to-size - I may even have gone down to a 6 for a slimmer fit. I accessorized with some crystal drop earrings and a sparkly costume jewelry necklace from the 50s, for a chic look. Lots of compliments through the evening! It was easy to dance in to boot.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
October 10, 2012
So comfortable AND beautiful!

I absolutely adored this dress! I got so many compliments on the color and design. It's definitely flattering with lots of room in the mid-section if you have a not-quite-flat stomach. I'd recommend some spanx just to get rid of any lumps or bumps. I went up to a size 12 for my chest, but if a 10 had been available, I think it would have fit better in the shoulder area. Overall - a great choice for the wedding I was attending!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
October 10, 2012
Pretty dress for Fall

Beautiful color, however runs very large. I am normally a 4, and ordered a 2 & 4. Ended up belting the 2, and probably could've easily worn a 0. Size wayyyy down! Long enough for a wedding, but hit a few inches above my knees.

RTR CustomerOctober 10, 2012
what color belt and shoes did you wear with it? the shoes look navy but I can't be sure.
AmandaOctober 10, 2012
Hi, the shoes are black. I wasn't expecting the dress to fit as loosely as it did, but I was able to find the belt after running to the mall. It is the exact same shade of burgundy as the dress (and only $3 from Forever21!)
JenniferOctober 10, 2012
Thanks for posting info on the belt. Im using this dress for my engagement shoot on Saturday... rushing to find a belt today.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128lbs
October 10, 2012
Absolutely loved this dress. I got so many compliments all night!

I am normally a size 4 but this dress ran a little big so I ended up wearing the size 2. It was short but not inappropriately short for a wedding. The detailing on the dress is gold so i paired it with the pearl and gold jewlery and a gold clutch. I loved this dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
October 10, 2012
RTR is so convenient and reliable, dresses are always on time and always fabulous.

My cousin got married last weekend in the bay area around napa, and this dress was just perfect. The fit was great, the sleeves kept me warm(ish) in the sea-breeze and the color was fabulous for a fall wedding in wine country! I got tons of compliments all night. A home-run for sure!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
October 13, 2012
I wore my RTR dress to a VIP fashion event. It couldn't have been more perfect!

The fit was true to size and the color is much richer in person, more of a dark burgundy/berry instead of what is shown in the picture, it was absolutely gorgeous! I got tons of compliments on how it was such a classy and trendy dress. The dress was a great length, it was longer than I thought it would be but I'm short so most dresses are that way!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 13, 2012
Gorgeous color, elegant

This dress definitely runs large. I typically wear a 2-4 in dresses, and rented the size 2. I didn't end up wearing it, it was my backup, but the 2 was large. If I had worn it, I would have belted it. Be sure to order a size down, at least for the backup. The style of the dress is lovely though, in a beautiful plum color.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
October 14, 2012
This dress was a comfortable, cute choice for a fall wedding.

This dress was very comfortable and as other reviewers said, it runs a little bit large. I loved the length (I am 5'9" and it hit above my knees but not too short). The color was perfect for fall.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 15, 2012
Beautiful and classy.

I normally wear a 4 but ended up wearing the 2 because the 4 was a bit loose. The quality of the dress was very nice, the color gorgeous, and the detail of the lace was incredible. I felt very classy and got lots of compliments. It was perfect for the fall wedding I attended.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
October 15, 2012
Grogeous dress

This dress was gorgeous! The fabric was a good quality and laid perfecty. It was a bit large; i ordered a 4 & 6(my usual sizes) and wore the 4. I probably could have worn a 2, but the 4 looked great and was comfortable.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
October 15, 2012
Excellent service

Loved everything about the dress . Very comfortable ..... So pretty!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
October 16, 2012
Perfect for the event!

I normally wear a size 4 but that was wayyy too big, the 2 was perfect. Definitely size down! The lace as very pretty, the dress was more purple than burgundy like the picture shows but still very pretty. I'm 5'8" the length was appropriate but when raising your arms it does become a little short. I rented this for a "cocktail casual" event and it was perfect. Easy to dress up with pearls!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 19, 2012
Great dress, but runs large!

This dress is pretty, but runs very large. I usually wear a size 4 and I wish I had gotten a 0. It would be a great dress if it fit correctly!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
October 20, 2012
Great shift dress for Fall!

Love the color and style of this dress but I didn't wear it because it was just a little too straight for my taste and body type. I love shift dresses on other people but they never end up working for me, I like something that eccentuates my waist more because I have bigger hips. I think these look best on thin straight body types, rather than my curvier figure.

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 124lbs
October 21, 2012
Gorgeous color and lace detail!

This was the perfect dress for a fall wedding - the color was stunning and the fit was perfect (in the size smaller than usual). Everyone loved this dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
October 22, 2012
Great Dress!

This dress is perfect! It fits very well and is comfortable as well! The color is much more regal purple than the wine shade suggested.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
October 22, 2012
I was thrilled with my RTR experience! I would definitely rent again and recommend to friends.

I wore this dress to my friend's wedding last weekend. The surprise accessory (a Lee Angel necklace) was the perfect compliment to the Trina Turk dress. I received so many comments that night and felt great in the dress! The previous comments are true regarding the dress running a bit large.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
October 22, 2012
The dress perfectly matched the tie my boyfriend had picked to wear to the wedding. :)

I love love love this dress! I rented it for an October wedding in Southern California and it was perfect for the occasion. The dark purple color (definitely more deep plum and not maroon as it appears in the model pic) was great for fall and the sleeves made it feel less summery, but I wasn't overly hot as we sat in the sun for the ceremony. It was a great length too - I am on the taller side, and I always worry about dresses being too short, but this was perfect. The dress ran true to size.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 22, 2012
Great fit, and got so many compliments on this awesome dress

Fits true to size, I usually wear 2-4 and this fit well. Loved it.

View photos (2)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
October 24, 2012
The perfect dress for a fall wedding in Napa!

I got so many compliments on this dress. Definitely wedding appropriate. The fit was a little loose on me (I don't have much of a shape to begin with though) but still really comfortable for dancing. I ended up throwing on a skinny belt with it to give myself more of a shape. The color was perfect and is the 'it' color this fall. I would definitely rent it again!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
October 24, 2012
The dress was perfection!

When I slipped on the dress I was beyond thrilled. The reviews indicated it runs big so I ordered down and I ending up wearing the smaller size. I'm 5'6", 130 pounds, 34A. The fit was longer than I expected, but perfect for a wedding. Without spanx the 2 fit nicely but with it the 0 was the better fit. The color is true to the site's picture.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
October 25, 2012
Great dress, got so many compliments on it.

As mentioned it does run large so ordering a size down is definitely a good option. It's a very cute and classy option for a day-to-night look.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32DD
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
October 26, 2012
I loved this dress! It was a great color and perfect for a fall wedding

It seemed like it was just a little big for me in the waist/hips. I wish I would've ordered 2/4 instead of 4/6 but it was fine. The longer sleeves were great since it was pretty chilly and the color photographed beautifully! I also really loved the crystal Nicole Miller drop earrings that I got from the stylists. Went perfectly with the dress.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 63
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
October 27, 2012
Mother of the groom

Very classy dress. I needed the size 8 for full bust, normally wear a 6.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
October 29, 2012
One of my favorite dresses all time!

I loved this dress! The fabric was gorgeous! It definitely runs large. I typically am between a 4 and 6, and wore the 4 with plenty of room to spare. I wish I would have had the 2 to try, but it was comfortable with no Spanx needed in the 4. The length fell right above the knee making it perfect for a fall wedding. Would definitely rent this dress again!

See more reviews:
2 / 27

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×