Portrait of Elegance Shift

$82 to buy
$328 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Looking for the ultimate date night dress? This Trina Turk lace shift will look amazing on you as you sip champagne and fall love with that new fling!

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - very loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted at hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Synthetic Floral Lace. Three quarter length sleeves. Boat Neckline. Hidden back zipper. Straight skirt. Lined. 35” inches from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
1062 reviews
Fit
Large406
True to Size562
Small35
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
December 22, 2015
This is a beautiful and well made dress. Unfortunately, I could not wear it due to size.
The dress runs very small through the hips. I would recommend going at least a size up, if not two sizes up. Perfect for a holiday party or wedding. Could pair it with tights for a more casual look.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 19, 2015
Classy dress, a little short
This dress is well made and a beautiful color. It was perfect for a conservative work event when worn with black tights, however being tall made it a bit on the short side for me. I would not have been comfortable wearing it without tights. It fits like a shift dress and is a little loose in the mid-section, but it looked nice.
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 28
December 16, 2015
Great dress!! Very formal.
Runs a little small.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 28
December 15, 2015
It was an amazing wedding for two of my favorite people!
i ordered a size 6 and 4. Just like other reviews, it does run a little big. I fit comfortably in a size 4 and I have broad shoulders. Wore this dress to a wedding and it was so comfortable. Sitting down the dress rides up a bit so be careful when crossing your legs. Overall I am very satisfied with the dress.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Age: 24
December 13, 2015
Great dress!
Super comfortable. Slightly shorter than I had anticipated but was still appropriate for my Office Holiday Party.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
December 10, 2015
Short, But Tasteful
This dress fit, but I wish it had come one size bigger because my larger hips could have used it. The color and the lace were really pretty. The sleeves were comfortable, too. The dress was shorter than expected, but I think that's because my hips were a bit too big for the dress. Even though it was short, it still felt appropriate for an office holiday party since it was high cut and had sleeves. I paired this dress with shimmery gold pumps and the "Tie Up in Crystal" necklace.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Age: 33
December 9, 2015
Lots of compliments on the dress.
Wore this to a work holiday party; I ended up wearing a size smaller than I would usually get, and it fit perfectly. I was worried that the lace sleeves would be too tight, but no issues there. It is a tad on the short side, but that's more of a personal preference... and it wasn't uncomfortable by any means. I just had to make sure to adjust when standing up from a chair. The reviews are all correct where they say to size down. Paired it with gold tone jewelry. Loved the process of working with RTR and will definitely use again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
December 7, 2015
So many compliments!
I had a baby 5 months ago so the 12 was a better fit for me and my hips!! I was told al night long how amazing I looked, I would say the dress was a hit!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
December 6, 2015
Lovely lace dress
Beautiful lace dress! I loved the color. I would definitely recommend this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 24
December 1, 2015
Classy, elegant and flattering!
This was my first RTR experience and I couldn't be happier! The dress came in perfect condition and the fabric was really beautiful. It's a very pretty deep purple in person. The dress is a very flattering fit. It's very classy and elegant and was perfect for my high school reunion.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Age: 54
November 27, 2015
Nice dress for a fundraising dinner. Worked well for a mom
Fit well, I was concerned it might be too short from other reviews but it was ok. I was between a 10-12 but the 12 seemed to big. I wore this dress with black nylons and shoes, just felt more comfortable. Color was very pretty and dress was nice. Wore it to a fundraising dinner. One person there had the same dress but it was ok.
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Age: 38
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
November 25, 2015
My first dress looked awful on me. I called RTR and they overnighted this with 5 minutes to spare!!
Size 10 fit well if you like a more snug fit. I was more comfortable with the 12 since it was a family fall wedding
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
November 20, 2015
PERFECT, wish I could own it!
This was my backup dress to wear to a wedding - I liked it so much, I wore it instead! I'm usually a 10, but I'm 4.5 months pregnant so I ordered a 12. It fit my bump perfectly. The dress had a bit of stretch which made it very comfortable. The neckline is super flattering. The color was perfect for a November wedding. Similar to what other reviewers mentioned, the lace did show a bit of wear, but I was likely the only person that noticed. Would love to rent this again. The color, the cut, the length -EVERYTHING about this dress was flattering. Would highly recommend.
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
November 18, 2015
The dress fit perfect!
I wore this dress for my rehearsal dinner and it fit perfectly! I received lots of compliments and the dress really fit me wonderfully. Definitely wanted to keep this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
November 17, 2015
Simple and elegant
This dress is very simple but very pretty. It's great for an affair that you need to be dressed but do not need anything over the top. I wore it to a baptism and it was perfect, but I also believe I could have worn it to a wedding or a night out. It seems very versatile and could be worn in many different situations. The color was very pretty and perfect for the Fall.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
November 17, 2015
Beautiful dress, great fit
So comfortable, I never wanted to take it off!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
November 16, 2015
Great fit, color for fall wedding
Loved the color! The deep purple worked great for a fall wedding. I typically wear a size 4, but I read in other reviews it might run large, so I ordered a 6 as well. The 4 fit perfect. The 6 was longer, but too loose in the middle. Only drawback: The length was a little tricky. I'm 5'8" and it hit mid-thigh, so I had to be carefully not to bend over or raise my hands. When sitting, I needed to definitely be attentive to pulling it down and crossing my legs strategically. Overall, I'm very happy with my decision to rent this one!
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
November 15, 2015
Beautiful, classy dress!
Gorgeous color, perfect fit! Loved this dress so much I wanted to buy it! Normal dress size can range from 0-4 depending on style and brand (small waist but curvy at hips). I ordered the 2 and 0 based on other reviews indicating the dress ran large and the 0 fit perfectly. Would love to rent this dress again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 113lbs
November 13, 2015
Very comfortable
Overall big so size down for sure! I typically am a size 2 or 4 in dresses and u wore the 0. Could have gone a little smaller/tighter especially around the waist but overall it still looked great! Great color for a fall wedding!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
November 13, 2015
Beautiful dress- I would own it!
I was a little nervous renting from RTR because I'm not an "off the rack" size and have gained some weight so wasn't sure what size I would/should be. The dress was for a November wedding in South Florida- so I wanted something elegant but comfortable and was not worried about weather. The reviews for this dress hit it dead on!! The size was true (I rented a 6 and 4, wore the 6), sleeves were not too tight and for my height (or lack thereof) the length of both dress and sleeves was perfect. The color was just as shown on my monitor and I wore a similar necklace to the model. My only complaint (and I suspected this before renting) was the boat neckline- on my shoulders it showed my bra straps because it was a little wide but with my hair down, a neutral color bra and a little adjustment, they were not that noticeable. A normal size person would not have this problem, I think. I had no problems moving in the dress (danced a lot and carried a 3 year grandson or 5 month old granddaughter often). I would (and may) rent this dress again!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
November 12, 2015
Comfortable Dress for Fall Wedding
Pros: Fit great, was warm enough for a partially outdoor fall wedding, color was lovely Cons: Felt the rental price was a bit high for what it was
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
November 12, 2015
Received many compliments on this dress that make me love this dress even more!
The dress fit true to size, was on the shorter side but felt okay since the rest of the dress was very modest. Loved the color and style for a fall wedding. Was able to dance all night in comfort and style!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
November 11, 2015
Comfortable, easy dress. The color is less rich than the picture suggests but overall a great dress
Great for apple shapes. I fit between a 6 - 8 and I found the 8 to be loose but stylish.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 10, 2015
It was perfect for a fall wedding!
The color is beautiful and it hits at the perfect length. It was easy to move and dance in.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 33
November 10, 2015
Perfect for Fall wedding!
This dress was absolutely gorgeous! I loved the color and the fit. The lace sleeves were perfect for a Fall wedding. I would love to own this dress!
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
November 9, 2015
I was very pleased with how easy everything was. From shipping to the fit. Perfect experience.
The fit was perfect. It was great to see the dress on actual people. For those carrying a few extra pounds, a simple spanx worked wonders. Not a tight fitting dress which made moving around and dancing easy. Loved the dress. I'm a 34DD and the bust area worked well in this dress!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
November 4, 2015
Perfect dress for a high school dance!
My 16 year old daughter wore this to a high school homecoming! She got so many compliments! I ordered ordered the 10 and 12 but, she is normally a 12. The 10 would have worked but the 12 had more breathing room and flattered her figure. This is our second rent and we will keep doing it!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 4, 2015
Elegant, Comfortable and Fancy!
I rented this dress because a lot of the comments said there was room in the mid section and I am 7 months pregnant. It was absolutely perfect! I looked for maternity dresses for months and there was not one that would have been as elegant as this dress and I received a ton of compliments. I rented the 8 and the 10 and I am normally a 4 or 6. The 10 was a bit roomier in the mid section but the lining was longer than the dress so you could see it at the hemline. I am 5'3 and the dress was a little shorter than I would have liked but I am sure for a non-pregnant person it would be fine! I am looking forward to renting this dress in my normal size after I have the baby because I loved it so much!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
November 4, 2015
Cozy and beautiful dress!
I wore the dress to the Breeder's Cup and it was PERFECT! The long sleeves were warm enough to be out by the paddock and the color was perfect for a fall event. I wish I owned this dress!! I can fluctuate between an 8 and 10, but the 10 of this fit perfectly. It was a little snug at first, but once I got spanx on and everything situated once (dress pulled down, etc...) I was not adjusting it the rest of the day.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
November 2, 2015
I wish I could have bought it!
The picture does not do the dress justice. It is a dark deep burgundy/purple color. It was perfect for a November wedding because of the sleeves and the lace detail. Not a lot of stretch in the arms however. I did have to pull the dress down during the night as it is a bit on the short side and I am blessed with a little junk in the trunk!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 33
November 1, 2015
This dress was awesome - great for a fall rehearsal dinner. I received so many compliments.
N/A
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
November 1, 2015
I wore it as a bridesmaid in a wedding that was 1920's theme and red wine colors.
The dress fit well but it runs larger than I expected. I usually wear 2 and I wore a 0, and it didn't even fit snug (but that's the smallest size). Good material and cute. The neckline tended to fold forward, showing the inside lining, probably from being worn quite a few times but it wasn't noticeable. Overall, I was very happy with it. Long story short, UPS lost my package and I didn't even find out until it didn't come on the first day and I called. Luckily, I called RTR the night before I needed the dress and they overnighted the same dress in both of my requested sizes. It came by 11:30am the next morning, thank goodness. Thank you! Moral: Order your item to come 2 days before the event so you have extra wiggle time.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
October 27, 2015
Classic dress
This was a backup dress that I ended up not wearing, but it was very pretty! It's a classic style, but the sizing was hard. The 8 was a little too frumpy, but the 6 was snug enough that I wasn't totally comfortable. It will fit you better if you have more narrow hips.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
October 27, 2015
The most comfortable dress I have ever worn to a wedding!!
I loved this dress and received so many compliments!! So comfortable and the best part...no strapless bra needed!! Fit perfectly!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 20, 2015
It was the perfect dress for a fall wedding that was outside.
Perfect fit and color for my small stature. The size 4 for well and was flattering. I could dance all night.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
October 20, 2015
Wore this dress to a beautiful fall wedding.
I loved this dress!! It fit perfectly, the color and quality were beautiful, and I felt comfortable all night long. It fits a little loose in the mid section, as it is a shift dress, and I probably could have worn the 6 but I wanted to be comfortable and not worry about anything. It is a little short, but not too short, just be careful sitting down and standing up. Beautiful dress, great fit, wish I owned this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
October 19, 2015
Gorgeous color!
Fit perfect! I ordered an 8 and a 6 based on what the previous reviews stated. The 6 fit perfect! For those who have a less athletic build might be able to fit a 4. The dress was semi form fitting through the body but I have larger arms and bust therefore the 4 would have been to small. Hope that helps! I would def rent it again
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
October 18, 2015
I wore this dress for an October wedding in Ohio.
I ordered a 6 and an 8. Both fit well, with the 8 being a little roomier. I'm glad I went for the 8 because by the end of the night I was still comfortable. I didn't find the arms to be too tight as others said. It was very flattering in the middle (my problem area), though I confess I did wear Spanx. Received MANY compliments and wish I could keep the dress!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
October 18, 2015
Beautiful dress for fall wedding
Beautiful color and very comfortable. The dress definitely runs big, and is a bit short. I wore tights since it was cool out, and that made me more comfortable also. Popular dress though... 2 other girls had similar dresses at this wedding! (At least one other from RTR) This dress wasn't my first pick - RTR contacted me 3 days before my event saying my original dress was returned late or damaged. They rushed to get me something new, and only charged me the price of my original rental ($30). Great customer service as always.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 27
October 16, 2015
Very nice fit and material - lots of people loved the color.
Very comfortable fit. highly recommended
See more reviews:
2 / 27

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×