Trina Turk

Candy Wrapper Dress

$65 to buy
$368 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Have a little fun in this Trina Turk A-line dress! A waist cinching style that is great for your next birthday party or holiday dinner! Shown here with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Polished Crystal Drop Earrings Lilly Pulitzer Handbags' Wish Bone Love Note Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted
HIPS: Not fitted – full skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee -(on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Red and pink metallic jacquard (63% Polyester, 32% Cotton, 5% Polyester Metallic ). Sleeveless. Boat neckline. Full skirt. 36" from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
125 reviews
Fit
Large
(12)
True to Size
(103)
Small
(5)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
October 9, 2013
great fit
could be a bit big in the shoulder region.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 13, 2013
Beautiful fabric, true to size, wow! dress.
I wore this dress to a work awards dinner and got lots of compliments, even from one of my male co-workers. I loved that it covered my chest but was still playful and reflected my style. It pooched a bit in the back, but overall fit well, was comfortable and memorable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 9, 2013
Classy, flirty, fun, sparkly.
Rented this dress for an outdoor wedding in Florida. With gold sandals, it was very elegant yet youthful. The fabric has some structure to it, which presented the only drawback--the pleats in the skirt were fairly wrinkled when I got the dress and, despite my attempt to iron them, remained that way. Once I was up and moving, you couldn't really tell, but it bothered me initially. Aside from that, the fit was great and the colors were gorgeous. This dress definitely stood out.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
December 19, 2013
Beautiful color, great fit
I loved the subtle sparkles, high collar, and pleated skirt of this dress. It was super comfortable to sit and eat all night in.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 20, 2013
Sweet dress. great colors.
Wore this to a White House holiday party, and it was just right. Modest yet festive. The zipper was pretty sticky. Yes, I did casually slip in the phrase "White House holiday party" as if it's no big deal.
KJanuary 2, 2014
I saw the making of that vase. Lucky!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
December 23, 2013
Perfectly comfortable, classy party dress
I wore this to a holiday party in December. It fit very nicely, I am curvy, especially on top and it fit very comfortably. I got many compliments, and it was festive without being over-the-top. Loved it, and would recommend to my friends.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
January 1, 2014
Cute dress but not really for winter
I got this dress as well as another for a November wedding, and I ended up wearing the other one. This was cute, though, and may do well for a winter daytime event. It fit well and was very flattering without being too bright or distracting!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 7, 2014
Adorable dress!! Got lots of compliments! Would rent again.
I rented this for my daughter's engagement party, and got so many compliments about the dress! It fit the occasion perfectly. I could have probably worn either the 2 or the 4, they felt about the same size. Great experience with Rent the Runway and would happily rent from them again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
January 10, 2014
Cute and comfortable!
I wore this dress for a date night with my boyfriend, and I absolutely loved it. The colors are so bright and fun, and there's just enough hint of sparkle without being super glittery. My boyfriend told me I looked beautiful! The fit was true to size mostly, but my large bust looked like it had to be stuffed into the 6. I ordered an 8 as a backup, and chose to wear it so my ladies weren't smooshed, and since I knew I would be eating a large meal!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
January 11, 2014
Great for a Christmas party!
This dress was perfect for the Christmas party I attended! Fit was true to size.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
January 11, 2014
Christmas shimmer dress
We vacationed in Washington DC for Christmas and I wanted to rent a dress for Christmas day dinner. This was a perfect choice for a family gathering; modest cut, but bold with stripes and shimmer. I rented the Gold Shadow Bib Necklace to go with (Yay! RTR had it on SALE!) I wore two layers of tights and boots to keep my legs warm, and a black wrap for my shoulders. So sad I had to send it back!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
January 16, 2014
Fun eye-catching colors!
I really liked this dress. The colors are so fun and it was really eye-catching, which was nice! I was worried about it not fitting my larger-sized boobs, but that definitely wasn't the case. There was a little bit of bunching around the mid-section, but I don't think it was that noticeable. The only real downside is that the color scheme is eerily similar to the stripes on the shopping bags you get at Victoria's Secret. However, I still really liked it, and the stripes are cool in that you can see them well from further away but they're a little subtler up close.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 136lbs
January 19, 2014
Great dress!
I enjoyed this dress. With some recent weight gain I did not want anything too tight. The dress was snug while zipping but felt fine once on. The pockets were different and added bulk. I felt confident and had compliments all night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
February 24, 2014
Perfect dress!
I wore this dress to my boyfriend's family Christmas party, I loved the way this dress looked and fit! The colors are bright and beautiful, and the shimmer is just the right amount. I did not want to return this dress!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 20, 2014
Cute!
Dress is really cute! Paired it with boots and fake leather for vegan valentines dinner.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
March 29, 2014
Date night with no kids!
Loved the dress!!! I had a baby recently and didn't know what size to order. I wore an 8 before. The 10 fit great! I was nervous it would not fit over my chest as I am a 34gg but it zipped! It was snug, but it fit! I loved the shape and loved the pockets. The length was great too! I would rent this dress again
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
April 5, 2014
Pretty subtle shimmer
I was so excited about this dress. And the color is gorgeous. Unfortunately, there was a noticeable stain on the chest. I didn't try it in until the day of the event. I emailed RTR right away and they responded quickly! I hope I have an opportunity to rent this dress again, because it's so pretty and it has pockets!!!!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 11, 2014
Rented from NYC Henri Bendel store....incredible!
I traveled to NYC with my husband and we stopped at the RTR Henri Bendel store before we went to see Les Mis at the Imperial Theatre. The experience at the Henri Bendel store was unforgettable! It was so much fun to step into the most fabulous closet I've ever seen and then walk away with this wonderful little number for the show that night! This dress fit perfectly! Fabric is light, so I think it would be perfect for summer events as well. I added my own belt to spice the look up a bit, but the dress easily stands alone. I highly recommend this dress to anyone! I also highly recommend a trip to the RTR Henri Bendel Store to any of my other RTR junkies out there! Wonderful experience!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 3, 2014
This fun dress got a ton of compliments and had pockets!
The dress fit perfectly. I opted to wear the larger size as the dress doesn't stretch and I knew I would be eating a large meal. The pockets are deep enough to be handy but not noticeable. You can wear a bra easily. Perfect option for a party when you're tired of the same old LBD
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155lbs
May 4, 2014
This dress was perfect. From the length to the pockets. It fit me like a glove and was unique!
Fit was true to size, longer than expected. The zipper was difficult though for me to zip myself
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
May 4, 2014
This is what I <3 about RTR- the pictures never do full justice. This dress is GORGEOUS!
I rented this for my son's christening. The neckline was modest enough for a church event and the gorgeous color totally popped in all the pictures (and no fussy details for a baby to grab on to either!). The cut is super flattering and the dress was very comfortable to wear. The dress is a medium weight fabric so it didn't wrinkle and looked fabulous from pictures before to the church ceremony to the party afterwards. I wore with nude heels and gold jewelry. As for size, I was a 4/6 pre-pregnancy and am about a 6 right now. The 6 fit perfectly so I'd say this dress runs pretty true to size. All in all- absolutely perfect!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
May 5, 2014
Fun yet sophisticated dress.
I rented this for a formal work affair and it was great. Fit well, overall comfortable, fun yet sophisticated. It was a TEENY bit snug around the waist while sitting, but worked.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
May 7, 2014
Great! Love the pockets!
You really can't go wrong with this dress and the price!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
May 12, 2014
Perfect short formal party dress!
I teach high school so I wore this dress to prom as a sponsor and it was awesome. The pockets sold it for me, having the ability to keep my phone with me and not in my bra all night was such a pro! It was comfortable and a beautiful color!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
June 3, 2014
Fun to dance in!
This dress fit like a dream. I ordered the two and four and the tow fit perfectly. It is a nice length and very comfortable. I had compliments all night long. There was a snag on the font of the skirt, but you couldn't really notice it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
June 6, 2014
Pockets!!!
Great dress! Perfect for the baby shower I hosted in my home--it was comfortable and had pockets!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Age: 33
June 27, 2014
Downright Derby Perfect!
I instantly fell in love with this dress! I was looking for something bright and "derby-esc" for my husband's Kentucky Derby themed birthday party. I got so many compliments all day/night. I have a bigger chest and the 12 was too big in the chest and the 10 was a perfect fit...without a bra. I decided to go braless and wear the 10 instead of a baggy 12. The length was perfect on me and worked so well!! I simply loved it! #birthday #30 #derbythirty
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
June 29, 2014
I loved this dress - it's shimmery and fun! I received so many compliments!
This dress fit me like a glove and was a great length on me. I do not have a large bust, and cannot imagine this being a great cut for someone that does. This dress has pockets so that was an extra bonus. I wore this to an event in June and I was afraid the fabric would be too heavy and holiday-ish - but it's light and was perfect! I loved the shimmer. It's perfect with red heels and pink lips.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
July 6, 2014
Loved it! so bold but not too flashy
I loved not needing to find a neckalce and being able to go big with other accessories without it being too much.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 134lbs
July 6, 2014
Great color!
Fit just right and was very comfortable. Fabric is like a linen feel and shimmery stripes. I know a lot of other people wore the dress for holiday parties, but I wore it to a July 4th rehearsal dinner and it was perfectly summery.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
July 7, 2014
Wore this to an Indian wedding - the bright red and pink of the dress was perfect for the occasion!
Borrowed my sister's account, so the details are a little off. I usually wear a size 4, and this dress fit true to size. I'm 5'7", 135 lbs. and small in the bust (34A). It was a little loose in the chest, but not unreasonably or noticeably so. Overall, the dress fit great and looked amazing! Highly recommend this one!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
July 7, 2014
Dancing the night away in this beautiful dress
This was my first RTR experience and it could not have been better! I had two back to back weddings - one in Breckenridge, CO and the other in Columbus, OH. I was nervous about the dress arriving on-time as we were staying in a cabin in the mountains but I had zero problems. The dress fit true to size however I did feel like it was a tad snug around the rib cage. The dress was fun and comfortable and transitioned easily from a mountain-top wedding to an elegant downtown wedding the next night. Highly recommended!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
July 7, 2014
Loved the dress. Super comfortable for a summer outdoor wedding.
Got tons of compliments on this dress. I was in between the 0 and the 2. The 0 was an exact fit but wouldn't have been comfortable all evening so I wore the 2 which was a tad large up top. I loved the pockets. The dress has box pleats so be prepared to either get it steamed or do some very careful pressing in order to get everything to lay right.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Petite
July 14, 2014
Beautiful dress! So many compliments! Wish I didn't have to return it!
I wore this for a bridal shower and LOVED IT! I ordered the 10 and 12. The 10 was tight in the chest so I wore the 12, however, that size was a little big in the straps. It was very comfortable and still flattering around the waist. My only complaint is that it was longer than I would have liked. It was basically at my knee and I would have preferred it above the knee.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
July 24, 2014
Lovely color
Conservative but flirty
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
September 4, 2014
Classy and Sparkly!!
Fun and sparkly-- would have been perfect for the holidays. Light enough for hot outdoor summer wedding but top is a little restraining.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 11, 2014
Perfect dress for a art gallery wedding!!
True to size, fit perfect, not too short or too long!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 29, 2014
Fun and flirty dress, perfect for an outdoor wedding in Sonoma
Easy to wear, great for dancing, skirt creases fairly easily
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
March 4, 2014
Loved It!
great for a Holiday Party.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
November 4, 2013
FUN!
Great dress, good length, good fit!!
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×