The Vote Is In Dress

$126 to buy
$398 retail
Stylist Notes

Rent this bright and cheerful little number designed by Tracy Reese that has received the First Lady’s stamp of approval! Simply pair with the Whiting & Davis' Silver Mesh Glam Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend sizing down in this dress (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee to tea length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend sizing down in this dress (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Knee to tea length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Multicolor jacquard (88% Rayon 12% Silk). Sleeveless. Crew neckline. Back keyhole with button closure. Full skirt. Hidden lower back zipper. 39” from shoulder to hem. Lined. Imported.

Share
716 reviews
Fit
Large
(224)
True to Size
(372)
Small
(45)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
October 8, 2014
I wore this dress to my rehearsal dinner!
Fantastic dress, great color, a bit snug in the breast area but overall extremely happy with the whole look. The pink and gold really stands out. Highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Body type: Pear
October 9, 2014
I got a ton of compliments on this, I may never buy another dress again!
Runs large, my normal size is 6 but based on feedback from other renters I ordered a 4 and a 6, the 4 fit like a glove.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
October 13, 2014
Cute, comfortable, great for dancing.
This dress was very comfortable and cute. It was a bit bigger than I expected, but still looked very nice. You definitely need a strapless bra, as the shoulders dip too far in front to get away with even a racerback. The blue/turquoise was not as vivid as it looks in the main picture for the dress, nor was the fabric quite as shiny. Overall: comfortable, cute, great for dancing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 165lbs
October 19, 2014
I got complements on the dress
It was not shiny as shown on the picture
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
October 20, 2014
RTR made it so easy & I received so many compliments!
Based on everyone's reviews I ordered sizes 2 & 4. I typically wear a 4 or 6 but ended up wearing the 2 and it fit perfectly! The dress is very flattering and the colors are exactly what you see on the screen. Definitely wear a strapless bra because of how to top is cut and the back has a keyhole. Most reviews say the dress fell right at their knee or slightly below. I prefer dresses to hit just above my knee and at 5'7" it did just that. The dress also has a little bit of krinlin in the skirt which helps keep it full. The fabric is very soft & light weight. I was afraid the pattern looked like a tapestry but it really is beautiful & I received so many compliments. All in all, very comfortable, great for any occasion (dress it up or down) & easy to accessorize.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
October 20, 2014
Wore it for a baptism. Beautiful dress
Fabric is so soft. Wish I had gotten the 0 instead of the 2
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 20, 2014
Loved the dress, and even more fun to wear knowing that Michelle Obama wore it!
Very comfortable, loved the fabric and the full skirt (which covered my behind). The arm holes were large and my bra showed through initially, but I used Hollywood tape to secure the dress so it wouldn't show.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Full Bust
October 21, 2014
Gorgeous dress! Really happy with it - and got lots of compliments!
This is dress is great - the fit was very flattering and it was extremely comfortable. I also tried the 4, which fit better around the waist, but the 6 was better for the bust (a strapless bra is an absolute must for this dress, BTW!). Wore it with nude heels and turquoise and pearl earrings from Minou Bazaar on Etsy - all in all, a great success!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127lbs
October 21, 2014
I was able to rent a dress I would otherwise had never purchased if I saw it on the hanger.
Fit perfectly. Very comfortable. Perfect for a nice event
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 22, 2014
Gorgeous dress!
Loved the dress! Beautiful material and colors. I received lots of compliments. I highly recommend this dress!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
November 11, 2013
Classic, Elegant, and a great party dress!
I rented this dress for my boss's wedding. The ceremony was in a Catholic Church and I felt the dress was appropriate for being in a church as well as dancing the night away at the reception. I loved the tulle at the bottom of the dress that made the skirt a little fuller at the bottom. I got a ton of compliments on the dress and the pink is a great for both fall or spring. Loved it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 142lbs
October 28, 2014
Very strange neckline and not particularly flattering.
I read that this dress runs large, so I rented a 4 and a 2, but neither fit. I had the 6 overnighted to me, and I was just not comfortable in it. The neckline is much stranger than on the model - the straps cut really far in, making it fairly unflattering for my arms. The way the dress is cut makes wearing anything but a strapless bra impossible, and yet the chest area was already so tight, that a strapless bra did not fit underneath. There isn't enough support in the dress for a larger chested person to go without a bra, though, so that's why I ultimately did not wear it. There was also some unflattering bunching around the rib cage. Disappointing!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 3, 2014
This dress made my dance night even more special. It was beautiful and comfortable.
i made sure to order two sizes and I was glad I did. My usual 4 size was too small especially because I wanted to be super comfortable on the dance floor. This dress was so beautiful! I got many compliments and most were jealous because of the uniqueness of the dress
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 4, 2014
Beautiful dress, hard to make work if you are large on top.
I love the color, pattern and quality make of this dress. I usually wear a size 6 but got an 8 because I'm fairly large on top. Unfortunately, even the size 8 could not cover everything; the sleeves cut in to the point that I had serious sideboob. I wasn't comfortable in it, but it's not because this isn't a gorgeous piece. I just have to look for something with more surface area on top. :-)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
November 7, 2014
Really loved this dress. I'm 5'0" and it was down well past my knees, but it looked great!
Was great! Really beautiful material and fit wonderfully.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
November 12, 2014
Pretty dress!
This was my backup dress and I did not end up wearing it, but I did try it on and the size 4 fit perfectly. I was going to a cocktail party and this dress is very pretty but I did not think it was quite right for evening cocktails. It is more of a daytime wedding or party dress. Very pretty - colors are beautiful.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
June 21, 2014
It swooshes beautifully when you're dancing!
Wore this to a Punjabi wedding and it was the perfect mix of bright and traditional. It's a bit tight in the chest, so if you have the goods, size up. The fabric is super soft and the dress flows like water. Gorgeous and fun!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
November 14, 2014
Great detail on dress. Beautiful colors, but not a good fit.
I did not end up wearing this pretty dress because it did not fit well in the bust or waist.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
November 19, 2014
Bright, comfortable, fits great
Runs large, I typically wear a 2 or a 4, but I wore the 0. Fabric is super soft, unbelievably comfortable. The narrow cut shoulders really enhances a small bust. Material is less shiny than the photo made it seem. Needs a bold necklace to make it pop.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
November 19, 2014
Fun Dress for a Fun Wedding
Wore this dress to a friend's wedding in the early late summer/early fall time frame. It was comfortable, appropriate, and really fun to dance it. The pattern is very pretty and the pink color is just right. Not the most knockout dress I've rented from RTR, but it didn't let me down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142lbs
November 20, 2014
Gorgeous colors. Received so many compliments. Dress photographed very well!
Need to wear a strapless bra.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 21, 2014
This dress was gorgeous! And so unique.
The size definitely runs large. I ordered a 2 and got the 0 as a back up and good thing because even the 0 was a bit big so I added the gold waist belt. I'm 5'5 125lbs small chested but all in all a GORGEOUS dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 58
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 1, 2014
Pretty in pink!
Pink is SO not my color, but this dress kept catching my eye and, despite everyone's warnings about undergarments (I didn't have a strapless bra or strap clips), I rented it anyway. I got a 6 with a 4 as a backup, and both fit fine, but the 4 kept my girls a bit more in place, given that I had to go braless. I rented the bangles to go with it. I felt so pretty in it, and it got a ton of compliments. The pockets are a nice touch, as is the slight pouf from the tulle underskirt. It's still not exactly my style, but I liked wearing it very much!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 60
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 143lbs
December 9, 2014
Nice
For some reason, I thought the fabric for this would be like a shiny silk. It was more a brocade type fabric, looser weave than I'd expected. It was nice but not quite the quality I wanted.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
December 10, 2014
Pretty dress but it runs way too large!
All the dresses in my closet are either 0's or 2's so that what I got as my 2 dress options. Even the 0 was extremely baggy in the bust and is not suited for an small 32A like myself. I had to go to Victoria Secret and buy bra insets to fill it out. I did get several compliments on the dress but overall was not pleased with the fit.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
December 11, 2014
This was my first rental and I absolutely loved it!
I loved this dress and got compliments on it all night long. The color was great for an early fall wedding. I wore it with a nude wedge and camel colored scarf. Dress runs a little big, I usually wear an 8, but I tried on the 6 and it got like a glove. Loved the pockets on the dress too!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
December 12, 2014
Awesome Dress. Loved the fit
Wore this dress to a daytime event in LA. Got tons of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 22, 2014
Summer wedding fun!
I had my eyes on this dress ever since Michelle Obama wore it at the 2012 Democratic Convention. The 8 was much larger than I expected but the zipper on my back-up 6 wouldn't budge so I stuck with the 8. I think I was the only one who could tell that it was running big, as the fit did not appear terribly off. The dress was heavier than I expected and includes layers of netting to fill out the skirt - unfortunately this made the dress feel very heavy and hot for an outdoor summer wedding. The colors were not quite as vivid as I would have hoped, but overall, was pleased with the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
December 24, 2014
Beautifully subtle
I *love* this dress. This is a keeper. I wore it for a summer wedding in Georgia and it was the right amount of stylish yet not too different that it would draw attention away from the bride. The fabric appeared to be a silk shantung in pics but it was more like cotton. I was worried with the repeated wearings and cleanings, it might have lost its lustre but once on, it presented well and appeared to be brand new. Many compliments from friends and family who liked the unique look of the dress. I would rent this again without hesitation.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 137lbs
January 1, 2015
I wore this for a New Year's Eve party as it would be something different from black or gold!
As many have mentioned, the arms are cut a little weird, but it fit fine. If you are busty like me, try going up one size and wearing a starless bra.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
January 6, 2015
Everyone loved it! From the colors to the shape...it was beautiful
The one thing I wasn't a big fan of was that the fabric stretched out easy. By the end of the night it fit loose and it wrinkled quick
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 1, 2015
I wore this to a holiday party.
So this dress was selected as a third back via a wonderful customer service rep who helped me out, after I had an issue with a dress I originally ordered. I got a ton of compliments on this dress, and I wore it to a holiday cocktail party. The fabric itself is a little heavy, which is perfect for cooler weather, and yet you could get away with it warm-not hot-weather. The fit it is very flattering and form fitting in the right spots. Oh and it has pockets too, and they don't ruin or add shape to the dress!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 105lbs
February 10, 2015
The dress is really beautiful. It's elegant and fun at the same time!
I was between the 0 and 2, and the 0 fit almost a bit loose! So definitely size down. There's some netting underneath the bottom half of the dress which makes it flare out a little bit, but it's not quite as dramatic a flare as shown in the model picture.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Body type: Full Bust
February 16, 2015
I got engaged in this dress!
I really liked this dress, my strapless bra did show a little on the sides due to the way the dress was cut but overall great fit!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
February 18, 2015
I wore this for my bridal shower. It was perfect!
One of the best fitting dresses ever! Fabric is so soft and nice! The cut at the shoulders is a bit narrow so you may want a racerback bra. It's really gorgeous and got tons of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
February 20, 2015
Beautiful dress
Unfortunately due to bad weather the dress didn't arrive in time for me to wear it :( but I fit perfectly and would have been perfect for the conservative brunch I was going to...I'm usually a size 2 but the 0 fit well and even had a little room. Plus, Michelle Obama has worn the same exact dress so you know it has to be classy ;)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
March 1, 2015
Beautiful colors and great length
I rented this dress for a wedding. This was my first RTR dress. I chose it because of length and fit compared to other people who wore it. Overall it was very comfortable, mostly flattering, and I received many compliments! Since I am on the shorter side, the length through the bodice was not quite right and it made the pleat where the pockets were stand out a bit more, where it would have hit higher on a taller person. It wasn't a perfect fit. The 8 fit better through the waist but was too tight around my middle and shoulders.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 62
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 160lbs
March 3, 2015
Perfect fit, love pockets, so pretty!
Beautiful dress, lots of compliments! I've rented it for 3 different occasions: my daughter;s college graduation, my high school reunion, and a fundraising fashion show event. Love the pockets, perfect fit, you don't need a bra, a GREAT dress, wish I could own it! (But I guess I've work it too much now!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
March 17, 2015
I loved this dress. Every person at the wedding rehearsal commented on it.
It fit almost perfectly. The only thing that bugged me a bit was under my arms you could see my bra a little no matter which bra I put on. I wear a 32F and I couldn't wear a skimpier bra. Besides that...I LOVED this dress.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 195lbs
March 24, 2015
beautiful colors! i got so many compliments. felt like our lovely FLOTUS Michelle Obama!
fits true to size. not much stretch or give in the fabric. but it has a delightful tulle layer under the skirt to help it flare out.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 18

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×