Rent the Runway

Tracy Reese

To India and Back Shift

$35 rental
$698 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Be the life of the party wearing this stylish Tracy Reese embellished shift! A festive style that is perfect for a night of dancing and fun with friends. Shown here with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Crystallized Aqua Drops.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra and has comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - slip may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra, built in slip
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra and has comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - slip may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra, built in slip
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Multicolor Sequins (embroidered on 100% Nylon tulle). Sleeveless. V-neckline. A-line skirt. Hidden back zipper. Slip (100% silk). 35.5” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

91 reviews

Fit
Small 39
True to Size 43
Large 6
Photos 50
Christy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 21, 2012

The colors were gorgeous!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Because this was brand new to RTR (both sizes still had original tags!) I didn't get to see any reviews, but loved this dress so much that I took a chance! I wore this to a benefit concert in which I was performing. When I put it on, I was slightly disappointed in the red colors, which were more brown/rusty than in the picture. On stage, though, the colors were stunning! But unless you have the beneit of $500,000 in professional lighting equipment, prepare for a slightly different effect. The fit definitely runs small. I ended up with the 0 because the 2 was baggy in the waist, but the 0 was snug at the hips and a little shorter than I usually like. If you're curvy, you'll probably fall between sizes like I did. I think this dress is best for a more narrow frame, but it's definitely a dramatic dress and a showstopper!
Kristin
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 13, 2013

Unfortunately, this dress didn't fit. It runs at least a 1-2 sizes too small.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
If you have curves, I would suggest another dress. Ordered my true size + 1 size up and it didn't fit AT ALL. Returning unworn.
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 18, 2013

Was a great fit for a 1920's party

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a 1920's Prohibition birthday party and it was perfect, got lots of compliments. It was comfortable to move in very pretty. I'm petite but on the curvier side in my hips, and it still fit well.
Ank
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
May 12, 2013

All the awesome compliments on the dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Gorgeous dress, comfortable for dancing the night away. Totally unique, unforgettable look that truly makes a statement!
Jane
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 127 lbs
May 20, 2013

Beautiful detail and colors

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Very pretty dress, but I didn't end up wearing it as I liked the other dress I got better. The fit is just a bit small or close to true to size. I'm 5'6" and 127 pounds. I'm athletic frame, but with a bit of a tummy (I'm 37 with two kids). I got a 4, which fit just fine, but I didn't think it really did my frame any justice- it just sort of hung loosely on me. Maybe the 2 would have been better. Or perhaps I just wanted a more fitted dress (which is what I ended up going with). The colors are beautiful- they were bold, but not too crazy overwhelming. The detailing was pretty. I was surprised by the reviews saying the inner shell is too short, mine was definitely not short. I'm an average height girl (5'6") and the dress came to about 5-6 inches above my knee (mid thigh I guess) and the inner blue slip came to the gold hem on the dress, so there was no see-through area at all. The inner slip on my dress was not at all tight (as some reviews have said), the slip was loose as was the dress. Pretty dress, I just liked my other options better, but I don't know that it's worth the rental cost. It didn't seem to have the tailoring and structure that I would expect for a dress in that price range. Or perhaps I just prefer my dresses more fitting with some structure.
Whitney
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 44
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
May 28, 2013

Too short :(

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Thankfully I received the dress a few days before my event and was able to return it for something else. (A HUGE shoutout to Selena the stylist - she was amazing about the return and suggesting another dress). The sheath is very very short and I would have been very uncomfortable all night. I was really disappointed because it is a gorgeous dress for the right height and figure.
barb
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 149 lbs
Jun 16, 2013

I absolutely loved the sequin pattern and detail of this dress. The colors are great too!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Way, way too short for my long legs. The slip just covered my butt, so I wouldn't be able to sit down without a scene, so I had to return the dress.
Naila
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 5, 2013

best dressed of the night!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
wonderful fit - a bit loose, but does outline the figure - since it's a shift, that's how it should fit. i got compliments ALL night. everyone loved this dress.
Sheril
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 24, 2013

n/a

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The dress is gorgeous and the colors work so very well together, it's perfect. Sadly, the under slip that is a turquoise green silk has become much smaller than true size with cleaning -- or the wrong (smaller) size is included since it had no size marking to differentiate, I could not say. And, could not wear it.
Katy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 29, 2013

Way Too Small

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
After reading the other reviews I ordered up a size, but the lining was still WAY too small. The top part was beautiful and fit well, but I could hardly get the lining on and it barely covered my butt. I couldn't wear it. It seemed like the lining was the same size for both the 6 and the 8, so even the back up size had the same problem.
katie
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 168 lbs
Sep 16, 2013

Did not come with under slip so could not wear it. too bad as it was beautiful

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I would like credit for this rental
Caroline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 143 lbs
Sep 30, 2013

Gorgeous!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was perfect and quite the head turner! The colors are gorgeous, especially for fall. It is very comfortable and forgiving. Must be worn with a strapless bra, which could be annoying for someone with a bigger chest.
A
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 18, 2013

Fabulous dress, but runs small

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I didn't end up wearing this dress as the under slip was cut very tight. The lace overlay part fit me beautifully, but I didn't have anything else that made sense to wear under it, so had to pass. It really is pretty, even prettier than in the photo, but with the under slip so tight, I sadly had to re-bag it unworn... darn!
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 19, 2013

Gorgeous colors!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The slip is...short. Have your strapless bra on hand or maybe even the bandaids. The gold hem is pretty bright. Excellent for a party but a bit too much for the wedding we were attending.
Laura
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 31, 2014

Huge disappointment!!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was so excited to rent this dress, but was quickly disappointed when I received it in the mail. The dress is 2 pieces...the bottom green slip runs about 3 sizes too small. I'm only 5'3" and the bottom green slip literally only barely covered my butt cheeks. It was inappropriately short since the top layer is see through around the thighs/butt. The top layer is longer and fits more normally (but still small), but you can see your thighs and butt through the top layer...wildly inappropriate. I do not recommend this dress unless you are a size 00 and under 4'10".
Miranda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Feb 9, 2014

Got so many compliments, wish I could have kept it!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my first rental with Rent the Runway, and I loved it! The sparkle was perfect and I felt awesome in this dress! The blue piece underneath was a little tight because my chest is a little large for a size 2, but I managed to make it comfortable without a bra! The dress was also a great length, which I loved. I wish I could have kept this dress because it was gorgeous and I felt like a star!
KC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 119 lbs
Feb 16, 2014

Slip is TOO short...

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Well, like the other reviews said, the slip was too short!! The gold portion at the bottom is a little cheap looking (it looks like really short tinsel). I didn't end up wearing the dress, but I did wear the accessory I rented to go with it. Overall, I wasn't impressed with this dress, but I will try again!!
Heather
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Mar 3, 2014

Ended up not wearing this dress.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
As the previous reviews confirmed, this dress runs small. Seems the inner slip of the size 10 has shrunk and is now several inches shorter than the dress itself. Which isn't good since it's supposed to show from underneath. I did not end up wearing this dress and wouldn't recommend it based on the fit. Other than that, a beautiful dress. Fun colors.
J
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 5, 2014

The slip was super short. I got this without reading the reviews and didn't realize just how sit ran

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
If you are going to wear this have one of your own slips ready to go. The slip that comes with it is tshirt short. I didn't decide to wear the dress at all. The outer dress itself is very pretty but small as well. Even going up a size this dress fit tight.
Shanon
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Mar 26, 2014

The slip was too short.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wasn't flattering, even for an hourglass.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 1, 2014

I felt like the swankiest girl in Vegas!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
I wore this to play the tables in Vegas and felt pretty damn swanky. Got some complements from random passing girls. The size 2 fit perfectly, though the style was perhaps not the most flattering on my body. I am pretty straight through the hips, and it emphasized that; usually, I prefer something that gives me a little more shape. Other than than, the quality seemed great, and I loved turning heads all night.
A
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 8, 2014

beautiful in pictures, comfortable and elegant

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
BE careful when putting on, it's fragile
steph
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Apr 18, 2014

Pretty, but nothing exceptional

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Given the reviews, I was prepared to wear a black slip underneath of my own. At the last minute, the 12 I had ordered was returned damaged, so I only received my backup size and another dress. Glad it all worked out as it did, because even if it had fit, I just wasn't wowed by this one.
melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 25, 2014

I rented this for a cocktail party - the dress itself is beautiful!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I read all the reviews and should have listened. It's a gorgeous dress. But the turquoise slip that goes under is RIDICULOUS. It fit me (it sipped up no problem) but BARELY covered my backside. As in, it was obscene how short it was. It was unwearable. I spent much of my day at the mall looking for a slip to wear under the dress and lucked out finding a mint colored long camisole at Forever 21 of all places. It wasn't a great match quality-wise, but ended up working. This dress needs some serious attention, like a WHOLE new slip to go with it. Still got lots of compliments, but it was very stressful getting it to work.
LILLY
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
May 2, 2014

nice party dress, A LA LAS VEGAS

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
like the dress,but don't like the gold stripe on a bottom of the dress, very cheap made, will look better if its made of plain gold material
Carolyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
May 20, 2014

The liner is way too short!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Vacation
This dress ran small, I am only 5'2" and the liner barely covered me. I couldn't wear it, I would suggest ordering 2 sizes up.
Miles
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Jun 23, 2014

Gorgeous sequencing and everyone kept complimenting it the entire night!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Tight so order one size up.
Meredith
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 6, 2014

It was a great dress for an Indian fusion wedding in wine country.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
As many other reviews noted, the slip is too short for the dress. I am "straight & narrow" and the blue slip still did not bridge the gap between the gold trim at the bottom and the bottom of the slip (exposing my legs and potentially my bottom). I switched out the slip for a black Spanx slip that I had in my closet (after reading the reviews, I was prepared, but disappointed, by this possibility). I got many compliments and the overall effect was as intended, but it would have been better with the slip.
Kari
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 7, 2014

Unique dress, stands out from other LBD's

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress runs bigger than expected. Ordered size 2 and 0. I was surprised by loose fit of the slip. I'm not straight (figured) by any means but 2 was too loose so fabric was bunching which you can see through the sequin layer on top. Overall fit of 0 was much better; however I wished the slip was little longer as it fit slightly above the gold trim at the bottom of the dress. I had to keep pulling down the slip all night long. Overall, it was a great dress and I got lots of compliments! Just be aware of the length, if you have long torso and /or bra size bigger than C Cup. The slip would be too tight.
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134 lbs
Sep 22, 2014

sparkle, sparkle, sparkle!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is great for a wedding very sparkly, I got loads of compliments! BUT, warning, the other reviews are right about the underslip. Although the outerdress fit well, the innerslip was very tight and very short, so I wore one of my own, a purple slip which picked up the colors nicely. Also the dress is a little tight in the armholes, so if you have a bulkier upper body, I would size up.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Oct 7, 2014

Beautiful colors and pattern

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress seemed a bit worn when I received it. Many sequins and some were frayed, and it just didn't look as "fresh" as I would have liked. The bottom part is a very shiny gold fabric that I didn't realize was so shiny. Still think this is a fun dress for. Gatsby or 20s themed party, but it just didn't work for what I was looking for.
Paige
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122 lbs
Nov 3, 2014

Perfect going out dress! Both guys and girls were complimenting me on it!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Tight in the bust. Could maybe have done a 4 to fit even better across that area so if you have a full bust you might want to size up!
Nicole
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Nov 6, 2014

Special 20s themed rehearsal dinner!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Comfortable, flashy and fun!
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 127 lbs
Nov 15, 2014

Slip too Short

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
The under layer is a green slip that didn't even cover my (not tremendously huge) backside. I was able to swap this dress for another - RTR has amazing customer service! - but found this dress to be unwearable.
Katie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 19, 2014

lining too short - unwearable

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I saw it in the other reviews, but decided to try this dress anyways, which was a mistake. As others have noted, the green slip that goes under the dress is way too short. I am fairly tall, but this was obscene in the front - even in a size 6. Even if you were shorter and the slip covered you, it's still a couple inches shorter than the gold band on the bottom of the outer layer of the dress, so it just looks strange. What a waste - why would they make it like that? Couldn't wear, had to ship back and wear another dress I already had.
Sahana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 126 lbs
Dec 1, 2014

Fun to wear, lots of compliments

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
This is a beautiful dress, I wore the 6 and had no problems with it being too short. However, I have a really short torso so that may have been why. Wore it with gold heels and paired it with a gold clutch -- looked fab.
JB-ATL
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 56
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Dec 11, 2014

So disappointed that it wasn't for me

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The slip was a little raggedy looking - but no problem because it's under the dress to give it that blue/green color. I still think the design and fabric are fun and pretty - but for my figure, it just sort of hung there and showed too much of my bony breastbone. On the right body, I'm sure it would be lovely. I also didn't like the overly gold wide bottom trim - it made the dress look cheap - if the gold were toned down, it would be better. Still really like the look on the right person at the right event though. BONUS - RtR didn't have my backup size in this dress, let me know & sent 2 substitute choices - one of which is a great dress for my business holiday party - it's appropriate and festive! LOVE RTR's customer service!!
Elle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 26, 2014

Way too small.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I tend to run medium in most things to medium/large. I would have needed an XL in this, if they made it. But it's shiny with pretty colors!
Julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 123 lbs
Dec 29, 2014

Beautiful colors

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress is very intricate and beautiful in person. I wore it for a 20s theme party but it was so pretty I would have worn it to a cocktail party as well.
Tara
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 2, 2015

Loved loved loved the dress. Didn't get to wear it because the slip was way too short.

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Other
Seriously the slip, which is what it is, didn't even cover my rear. I was so disappointed because I loved the dress in the other review pictures. Make sure you have a backup or enough time to make a switch.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×