To India and Back Shift

$149 to buy
$698 retail
Stylist Notes

Be the life of the party wearing this stylish Tracy Reese embellished shift! A festive style that is perfect for a night of dancing and fun with friends. Shown here with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Crystallized Aqua Drops.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra and has comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - slip may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra, built in slip
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra and has comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - slip may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra, built in slip
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Multicolor Sequins (embroidered on 100% Nylon tulle). Sleeveless. V-neckline. A-line skirt. Hidden back zipper. Slip (100% silk). 35.5” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
102 reviews
Fit
Large
(6)
True to Size
(50)
Small
(43)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Body type: Full Bust
May 18, 2014
Nice way to standout!
I wore this dress to a roaring twenties party. It was a great choice. The colors are more beautiful and vibrant in person but not in an outrageous or gawdy way. It is a great unique dress. I stood out among a sea of black dresses and was complimented all night long.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 20, 2014
The liner is way too short!
This dress ran small, I am only 5'2" and the liner barely covered me. I couldn't wear it, I would suggest ordering 2 sizes up.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
June 18, 2014
I received a lot of compliments during and after the event. I loves the dress!
Unlike the other reviews I read, I thought the slip was a good length and the dress fit true to size. I usually wear a 0 or 2 depending on the dress and RTR had called me the day before to tell me the 2 was not in good shape. RTR was very accommodating and sent me 3 other dresses of my choice in addition to the 0. Luckily, the 0 fit like a glove and I was very happy with the overall experience.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
June 24, 2014
Beautiful fabric with just the right amount of sparkle!
I wore this stunning dress for a wedding. The colors were minty teal and coraly peach and this dress complimented perfectly. The 0 fit much better than the 2. A little snug at the bust, but nothing to worry about. Would recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
June 30, 2014
This dress was a huge hit! It was very fun to wear!
The slip to the dress was a bit on the short side but was able to make it work!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
July 28, 2014
I looked amazing. The dress was exactly was I wanted. Everyone loved my outfit. I was s start!
I have hips so the dress hugged my body perfectly, but the green underskirt was short and my hips keep pulling it up that was the only down side of it. The whole night I had to stay mindful of pulling it down. Other than that, it was great. I was also a little hesitant on the length because I didn't want it long. When I looked at the model who wore, her legs seems long and the dress looks short on her, I'm 5'4'' and it fit 1-2 inches above my knees. The fit and length was perfect.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
August 9, 2014
So many compliments. I felt fabulous. The slip ran really small. I'm normally an 8 and wore the 10
http://www.marriedinmilwaukee.com/my-wedding-changes
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
August 22, 2014
Perfect for a Roarin' 20's Engagement Party!
After reading all the reviews about the turquoise slip, I had a backup plan with a plain maroon bodycon dress that I already owned. THANK GOODNESS!! As expected, the slip was beyond tiny and wouldn't even slightly zip up. With the maroon dress on, I pulled the sparkling & gorgeous RTR dress over it, threw on my headpiece and was ready for the night to begin. It was perfect (minus the slip--seriously, ladies, if you have curves, don't be unprepared when the slip won't fit!!)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 4, 2014
I have never had so much fun wearing sequins! What an incredibly unique dress!
What a fun dress! I got compliments all night long and besides the bride, was definitely the best-dressed there. Before receiving the dress I was a little worried because after reading reviews, I thought it might be too small. I usually wear 4-6 and the backup-size-2 was a last ditch, just-in-case kind of thing. When I received it they had only sent me the slip with the size 2 though so I'm glad I ordered it! It BARELY went down far enough to meet the gold band on the bottom of the dress. As long as I didn't bend at the waist I was fine and I was able to dance in it for 2 hours with no problems! It was an outdoor July wedding and I was so glad I chose a dress that was breathable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
September 6, 2014
It was a great dress for an Indian fusion wedding in wine country.
As many other reviews noted, the slip is too short for the dress. I am "straight & narrow" and the blue slip still did not bridge the gap between the gold trim at the bottom and the bottom of the slip (exposing my legs and potentially my bottom). I switched out the slip for a black Spanx slip that I had in my closet (after reading the reviews, I was prepared, but disappointed, by this possibility). I got many compliments and the overall effect was as intended, but it would have been better with the slip.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 7, 2014
Unique dress, stands out from other LBD's
This dress runs bigger than expected. Ordered size 2 and 0. I was surprised by loose fit of the slip. I'm not straight (figured) by any means but 2 was too loose so fabric was bunching which you can see through the sequin layer on top. Overall fit of 0 was much better; however I wished the slip was little longer as it fit slightly above the gold trim at the bottom of the dress. I had to keep pulling down the slip all night long. Overall, it was a great dress and I got lots of compliments! Just be aware of the length, if you have long torso and /or bra size bigger than C Cup. The slip would be too tight.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
September 14, 2014
Perfect for 1920s theme and tons of compliments all night! Love this dress!
The slip is really short and rides up even on a 5'1 small frame. It was worth it though just have to pull it down when standing up because everything will be exposed otherwise. The fit was perfect and a 0 fit me even though I usually wear a 2. Best rental ever and much better option than a run of the mill flapper costume. I probably wouldn't wear this to a non themed event just because it is over the top. The gold border along the bottom of the dress was appropriate for my event and I liked the soft texture.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 148lbs
April 28, 2013
Fabulous dress, but the inner slip/sheath is tiny!
This dress comes in two pieces: an outer mesh sheath and an inner slip. If you have any sort of bust or are curvy, the inner slip fit is a problem. It was super tight on me and was too short. I finally threw in the towel and purchased a nude slip to wear under the fabulous mesh sheath. Loved it wearing it this way, but missed the intended effect of the blue slip. The outer mesh sheath is gorgeous and is really easy to wear. I would definitely love to rent this dress again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
April 8, 2014
beautiful in pictures, comfortable and elegant
BE careful when putting on, it's fragile
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
September 22, 2014
sparkle, sparkle, sparkle!
This dress is great for a wedding very sparkly, I got loads of compliments! BUT, warning, the other reviews are right about the underslip. Although the outerdress fit well, the innerslip was very tight and very short, so I wore one of my own, a purple slip which picked up the colors nicely. Also the dress is a little tight in the armholes, so if you have a bulkier upper body, I would size up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
October 5, 2014
One of a kind look!
Rented this for a 1920s speakeasy party and it was the perfect look for the evening from the sequins to the teal, gold, and copper colors. I gave it 3 stars because of the fit - based on other reviewers' comments, I rented a 6 instead of a 4 and got an 8 for backup. I wore the slip from the larger dress and the overlay from the smaller dress, and the slip still rode up and seemed too short for the dress. If you have anything going on in the butt and hips you'll probably have the same. Otherwise it was gorgeous and stood out.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
October 7, 2014
Beautiful colors and pattern
This dress seemed a bit worn when I received it. Many sequins and some were frayed, and it just didn't look as "fresh" as I would have liked. The bottom part is a very shiny gold fabric that I didn't realize was so shiny. Still think this is a fun dress for. Gatsby or 20s themed party, but it just didn't work for what I was looking for.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
October 12, 2014
This dress rules. Super sparkly!
Best RTR dress ever.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137lbs
October 13, 2014
Gorgeous, unique dress!
It was a really standout dress for a fall wedding where most ladies were in dark navy or black dresses. Received many compliments! As many others have stated the slip is a little shorter that the gold bar at the bottom of the dress, for me it wasn't terribly noticeable though. When I rented they only had 1 size 6 left so I didn't get to try a smaller size. I bet a 4 would have fit better as the dress was a little baggy, but it still looked great and was very comfortable! It was an awesome night and I felt beautiful and very comfortable in the dress, definitely would recommend it!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
November 3, 2014
Perfect going out dress! Both guys and girls were complimenting me on it!
Tight in the bust. Could maybe have done a 4 to fit even better across that area so if you have a full bust you might want to size up!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 121lbs
November 5, 2014
Very comfortable!
Wore this to a Washingonian magazine event this summer. The colors were as pretty as in the pictures, and it was true to size. It was a bit baggy on me (both of my sizes) as I'm very petite and slim-hipped. That being said, it flowed generously over all the lumps and bumps so I didn't need shapewear. Would rent it again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
November 6, 2014
Special 20s themed rehearsal dinner!
Comfortable, flashy and fun!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 123lbs
November 15, 2014
Slip too Short
The under layer is a green slip that didn't even cover my (not tremendously huge) backside. I was able to swap this dress for another - RTR has amazing customer service! - but found this dress to be unwearable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
November 19, 2014
lining too short - unwearable
I saw it in the other reviews, but decided to try this dress anyways, which was a mistake. As others have noted, the green slip that goes under the dress is way too short. I am fairly tall, but this was obscene in the front - even in a size 6. Even if you were shorter and the slip covered you, it's still a couple inches shorter than the gold band on the bottom of the outer layer of the dress, so it just looks strange. What a waste - why would they make it like that? Couldn't wear, had to ship back and wear another dress I already had.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 23, 2014
So unique!
I received this dress as a substitution for the one I originally ordered when it was returned with damage. I am so happy I ended up with this one instead! I received so many compliments and it was perfect for the 20's themed event I went too. It is a lot more fun and unique than the typical black flapper dress. It does run a little small and like the other reviews say the slip underneath is a little short. The sequin layer was also difficult to get on with hair and makeup already done. However the size I did wear fit like a glove. I highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32DD
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
December 1, 2014
Fun to wear, lots of compliments
This is a beautiful dress, I wore the 6 and had no problems with it being too short. However, I have a really short torso so that may have been why. Wore it with gold heels and paired it with a gold clutch -- looked fab.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 58
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 109lbs
December 11, 2014
So disappointed that it wasn't for me
The slip was a little raggedy looking - but no problem because it's under the dress to give it that blue/green color. I still think the design and fabric are fun and pretty - but for my figure, it just sort of hung there and showed too much of my bony breastbone. On the right body, I'm sure it would be lovely. I also didn't like the overly gold wide bottom trim - it made the dress look cheap - if the gold were toned down, it would be better. Still really like the look on the right person at the right event though. BONUS - RtR didn't have my backup size in this dress, let me know & sent 2 substitute choices - one of which is a great dress for my business holiday party - it's appropriate and festive! LOVE RTR's customer service!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
December 24, 2014
The detail on this dress was in readable!
Loved this dress! It fit true to size, but the slip underneath did run short. The straps can be adjusted to lengthen a bit. This dress was a huge hit and really stood out in a crowd.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 26, 2014
Way too small.
I tend to run medium in most things to medium/large. I would have needed an XL in this, if they made it. But it's shiny with pretty colors!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 136lbs
December 29, 2014
Great choice for a 1920's wedding reception!
Because other reviewers mentioned that the green slip ran small, I ordered the Size 4 and the Size 6 so that I could wear the larger slip. I actually didn't think the slips were different -- they fit exactly the same to me (and in fact, both said size "P"). BUT the Size 4 slip had a crooked hemline and sat too high in the front, so I'm very glad I had the Size 6 slip to wear instead, which had an even hemline. Really great dress, and worked great for the 1920's wedding reception I attended!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
January 19, 2015
Rented the dress for my birthday party in Gatsby style! Loved the dress & Received many compliments
#gatsby
View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
February 2, 2015
Loved loved loved the dress. Didn't get to wear it because the slip was way too short.
Seriously the slip, which is what it is, didn't even cover my rear. I was so disappointed because I loved the dress in the other review pictures. Make sure you have a backup or enough time to make a switch.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
June 7, 2015
Great dress for Garba and Sangeet!
This dress is pretty, but I gave it 3 stars because it looks a little strange in person (also a bit of a boxy fit). I wore this for my good friend's wedding (she is Indian), and the bright colors fit in well with the guests' colorful saris! 3 stars for the boxy fit...not the most flattering dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
March 18, 2013
Was a great fit for a 1920's party
I rented this dress for a 1920's Prohibition birthday party and it was perfect, got lots of compliments. It was comfortable to move in very pretty. I'm petite but on the curvier side in my hips, and it still fit well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
August 25, 2015
Really fun party dress!
Overall a super flattering and fun dress. The blue slip was way too short so I wore a nude one instead. Neither the blue nor the overlay have any stretch, which made sitting interesting. But it was super fun and comfortable. The sequins weren't as scratchy as I expected. Perhaps not recommended for larger chests (mine was more on display than I'd usually want) but loved it overall!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 31, 2015
The colors of this dress were amazing! Perfect flapper dress!
Like other reviews mentioned the turquoise under slip ran VERY small. In anticipation for that happening I ordered a slip from Amazon and used it underneath instead and it worked out perfectly! The colors in this dress are amazing. I received dozens of compliments. It was the perfect dress for my 30th birthday. I think it would work great with any body type. I'm 5'8" and usually wear a size 4. My main concern was that it wouldn't fit across the chest because I'm a 34D/32DD, but it was fine. The slip however, would never have worked, even with the backup size, it was WAY too short and tight. The slip is silk so it does not have stretch. If you order this dress I recommend having a slip backup ready.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Age: 29
September 18, 2015
The way the dress photographed.
The slip is super tiny, the outside part of the dress is true to size. I loved it and so did my fiancé. Perfect for our 1920's engagement shoot. Maybe not the best if you really like to twerk it ;)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 32
September 28, 2015
Perfect dress for the occasion!
I thought this dress was great and so beautiful! It definitely has the 20/30s straight/ loose fit, which is why I choose it for a 20s party. Great success!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 13, 2013
Fit my vision for my Gatsby themed birthday party!
This dress is amazing! So much prettier in person with all the sequin detail. The outer dress fit great in my normal size 6. However, I had the same issue with the green slip that several other ladies have mentioned- it was wayyy too short and therefore was unwearable for me. I rented both the 6 and an 8 thinking that the 8 would definitely be long enough. However, while the 8 was wider, it was even shorter than the 6. In order to still wear the gorgeous outer dress, I paired it with my own black slip. Not ideal, but since I was essentially wearing this as a costume, I was fine with it. Still received a ton of compliments on the look and am glad I rented.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
February 6, 2014
My FAVORITE dress I have rented!
I wore this for my 30th birthday party: Great Gatsby theme. The dress was GORGEOUS! I felt super special on my birthday and this dress made it happen! Everyone had compliments for me all night. Would totally rent this again for another formal affair, but I think I will retire it because it was such a special part of my birthday!
KeiraMarch 16, 2014
Hello, I love your look. Where did you get the headpiece from? Thanks
KSpenceMarch 18, 2014
Etsy- they have tons of great ones!
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×