To India and Back Shift

$149 to buy
$698 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Be the life of the party wearing this stylish Tracy Reese embellished shift! A festive style that is perfect for a night of dancing and fun with friends. Shown here with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Crystallized Aqua Drops.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra and has comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - slip may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra, built in slip
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra and has comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - slip may be more fitted on curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra, built in slip
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Multicolor Sequins (embroidered on 100% Nylon tulle). Sleeveless. V-neckline. A-line skirt. Hidden back zipper. Slip (100% silk). 35.5” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
101 reviews
Fit
Large
(6)
True to Size
(49)
Small
(43)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
June 23, 2014
Gorgeous sequencing and everyone kept complimenting it the entire night!
Tight so order one size up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
June 22, 2014
Not my favorite rental
Didn't love this one. The slip that came with it was WAY too small (didn't even cover my butt) so I had to buy another slip to wear with it. The 8 fit but was a bit small...I wish I'd gotten the 10. I felt like it showed all my lumps and bumps and the beads hurt my arms by the end of the night. I wouldn't rent this again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
June 18, 2014
I received a lot of compliments during and after the event. I loves the dress!
Unlike the other reviews I read, I thought the slip was a good length and the dress fit true to size. I usually wear a 0 or 2 depending on the dress and RTR had called me the day before to tell me the 2 was not in good shape. RTR was very accommodating and sent me 3 other dresses of my choice in addition to the 0. Luckily, the 0 fit like a glove and I was very happy with the overall experience.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
June 9, 2014
Check out the detail… it gorgeous!
I think i fixed the problems of past reviewers when i received two dresses of different sizes and the smaller petite sized green "slip" was with the larger size 4. I switched it out so the petite sized slip was with the smaller dress. Also, the lovely sequin work on the smaller dress was missing along the bottom so I chose to wear the larger size because it was more intact. Otherwise, if you love the design, go for it. Lots of compliments throughout the night for this unique beauty. :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
May 20, 2014
The liner is way too short!
This dress ran small, I am only 5'2" and the liner barely covered me. I couldn't wear it, I would suggest ordering 2 sizes up.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Body type: Full Bust
May 18, 2014
Nice way to standout!
I wore this dress to a roaring twenties party. It was a great choice. The colors are more beautiful and vibrant in person but not in an outrageous or gawdy way. It is a great unique dress. I stood out among a sea of black dresses and was complimented all night long.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
May 12, 2014
Rent The Runway experience was AMAZING
I cannot wait to rent my next dress! I got so many compliments the entire night! The dress looked exactly as it did online. The dress was a little big on me but I am extremely petite so I was sort of expecting it. The box came on Friday packed up nicely with the return label for Monday..it was just so easy. Honestly will never buy another expensive dress that I will wear once ever again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 111lbs
May 4, 2014
Perfect Look for a Gatsby Affair!
Overall fit is very comfortable...runs a tad large. The green slip fit perfectly for me unlike some of the other reviewers mentioned. The colors really make this dress stand out in a crowd and is a great look for a Gatsby/1920's themed party. Was extremely satisfied with my first RTR experience! Rent this dress-you'll get tons of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
May 2, 2014
nice party dress, A LA LAS VEGAS
like the dress,but don't like the gold stripe on a bottom of the dress, very cheap made, will look better if its made of plain gold material
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
April 29, 2014
Perfect for 1920s Jazz Themed Loft Party
Rented this dress for the Montreux Jazz Festival Loft Party in NYC. It was perfect for the occassion and I received lots of compliments on the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 25, 2014
I rented this for a cocktail party - the dress itself is beautiful!
I read all the reviews and should have listened. It's a gorgeous dress. But the turquoise slip that goes under is RIDICULOUS. It fit me (it sipped up no problem) but BARELY covered my backside. As in, it was obscene how short it was. It was unwearable. I spent much of my day at the mall looking for a slip to wear under the dress and lucked out finding a mint colored long camisole at Forever 21 of all places. It wasn't a great match quality-wise, but ended up working. This dress needs some serious attention, like a WHOLE new slip to go with it. Still got lots of compliments, but it was very stressful getting it to work.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 24, 2014
The colors were STUNNING! Glitz and glamor.
I'm petite, so things typically feel large on me. I wore the size 0 dress. It was a little baggy but the style made up for it. Overall, I loved the dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
April 18, 2014
Pretty, but nothing exceptional
Given the reviews, I was prepared to wear a black slip underneath of my own. At the last minute, the 12 I had ordered was returned damaged, so I only received my backup size and another dress. Glad it all worked out as it did, because even if it had fit, I just wasn't wowed by this one.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
April 10, 2014
A Happy Dress!
Fun dress- Lots of compliments! The green slip is pretty short, but the dress was very comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
April 8, 2014
beautiful in pictures, comfortable and elegant
BE careful when putting on, it's fragile
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
April 1, 2014
I felt like the swankiest girl in Vegas!
I wore this to play the tables in Vegas and felt pretty damn swanky. Got some complements from random passing girls. The size 2 fit perfectly, though the style was perhaps not the most flattering on my body. I am pretty straight through the hips, and it emphasized that; usually, I prefer something that gives me a little more shape. Other than than, the quality seemed great, and I loved turning heads all night.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
March 26, 2014
The slip was too short.
Wasn't flattering, even for an hourglass.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
March 21, 2014
Countless compliments!
I wore this dazzling little number for a local fundraising event and loved every minute of it! As per many of the previous reviews, the under layer was a bit "off" and tricky to make work (especially on a cold, dry night - lots of static!). As it turned out, I was able to wear the 2 outer shell and then the 4 base layer. That combo worked perfectly for me. The under layer is pretty short so wearing the 4 under the 2 helped with that. It was very comfortable and looked great in pics and on the dance floor. In fact, when getting a drink, the woman tending bar told me it was by far the best dress she'd seen all night! (Perfect chance to tell her all about RTR too!) In a sea of mostly black dresses, it definitely stood out! I would recommend this one with the caveat that the under layer is pretty short.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
March 5, 2014
The slip was super short. I got this without reading the reviews and didn't realize just how sit ran
If you are going to wear this have one of your own slips ready to go. The slip that comes with it is tshirt short. I didn't decide to wear the dress at all. The outer dress itself is very pretty but small as well. Even going up a size this dress fit tight.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
March 3, 2014
Ended up not wearing this dress.
As the previous reviews confirmed, this dress runs small. Seems the inner slip of the size 10 has shrunk and is now several inches shorter than the dress itself. Which isn't good since it's supposed to show from underneath. I did not end up wearing this dress and wouldn't recommend it based on the fit. Other than that, a beautiful dress. Fun colors.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 119lbs
February 16, 2014
Slip is TOO short...
Well, like the other reviews said, the slip was too short!! The gold portion at the bottom is a little cheap looking (it looks like really short tinsel). I didn't end up wearing the dress, but I did wear the accessory I rented to go with it. Overall, I wasn't impressed with this dress, but I will try again!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 19
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
February 12, 2014
Unique!
The under slip was a tad short, but besides that I loved it and got a ton of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
February 9, 2014
Got so many compliments, wish I could have kept it!
This was my first rental with Rent the Runway, and I loved it! The sparkle was perfect and I felt awesome in this dress! The blue piece underneath was a little tight because my chest is a little large for a size 2, but I managed to make it comfortable without a bra! The dress was also a great length, which I loved. I wish I could have kept this dress because it was gorgeous and I felt like a star!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
February 6, 2014
My FAVORITE dress I have rented!
I wore this for my 30th birthday party: Great Gatsby theme. The dress was GORGEOUS! I felt super special on my birthday and this dress made it happen! Everyone had compliments for me all night. Would totally rent this again for another formal affair, but I think I will retire it because it was such a special part of my birthday!
KeiraMarch 16, 2014
Hello, I love your look. Where did you get the headpiece from? Thanks
KSpenceMarch 18, 2014
Etsy- they have tons of great ones!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
January 31, 2014
Huge disappointment!!
I was so excited to rent this dress, but was quickly disappointed when I received it in the mail. The dress is 2 pieces...the bottom green slip runs about 3 sizes too small. I'm only 5'3" and the bottom green slip literally only barely covered my butt cheeks. It was inappropriately short since the top layer is see through around the thighs/butt. The top layer is longer and fits more normally (but still small), but you can see your thighs and butt through the top layer...wildly inappropriate. I do not recommend this dress unless you are a size 00 and under 4'10".
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 28, 2014
Flashy and eye-catching - one of a kind!
This dress is beautiful. The teal slip actually fit me just fine, although I've seen other reviews noting that it was too short. I'm 5'7 and it was fine. I opted for a black slip underneath so it looked better with the tights I ended up having to wear due to the cold. I wore this to an engagement party and got multiple compliments (someone went as far as saying best dressed!). Overall, I think I would have liked it better if I could have gone with the teal slip underneath without tights (but hey, its January). It's not the most comfortable dress, but that comes with the sequin territory. I would say it fits true to size!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 20
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 189lbs
January 15, 2014
I got so many compliments on this dress!
It was a gatsby homecoming, so this dress was perfect! It fit great and was so much fun to wear.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
January 7, 2014
Gorgeous dress...unlike any other in the room!
Gorgeous!!! Unfortunately, the blue-green slip underneath was far too short to make this dress decent for the event I was going to. Ended up wearing a plain Spanx slip underneath and I think it still looked fabulous! The underneath slip is far shorter than the outside sheath...obviously so! My mom also looked fabulous in her RTR :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
December 19, 2013
Gorgeous colors!
The slip is...short. Have your strapless bra on hand or maybe even the bandaids. The gold hem is pretty bright. Excellent for a party but a bit too much for the wedding we were attending.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
December 18, 2013
Fabulous dress, but runs small
I didn't end up wearing this dress as the under slip was cut very tight. The lace overlay part fit me beautifully, but I didn't have anything else that made sense to wear under it, so had to pass. It really is pretty, even prettier than in the photo, but with the under slip so tight, I sadly had to re-bag it unworn... darn!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 143lbs
September 30, 2013
Gorgeous!
This dress was perfect and quite the head turner! The colors are gorgeous, especially for fall. It is very comfortable and forgiving. Must be worn with a strapless bra, which could be annoying for someone with a bigger chest.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 56
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 168lbs
September 16, 2013
Did not come with under slip so could not wear it. too bad as it was beautiful
I would like credit for this rental
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
August 29, 2013
Way Too Small
After reading the other reviews I ordered up a size, but the lining was still WAY too small. The top part was beautiful and fit well, but I could hardly get the lining on and it barely covered my butt. I couldn't wear it. It seemed like the lining was the same size for both the 6 and the 8, so even the back up size had the same problem.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
July 24, 2013
n/a
The dress is gorgeous and the colors work so very well together, it's perfect. Sadly, the under slip that is a turquoise green silk has become much smaller than true size with cleaning -- or the wrong (smaller) size is included since it had no size marking to differentiate, I could not say. And, could not wear it.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 5, 2013
best dressed of the night!
wonderful fit - a bit loose, but does outline the figure - since it's a shift, that's how it should fit. i got compliments ALL night. everyone loved this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 149lbs
June 16, 2013
I absolutely loved the sequin pattern and detail of this dress. The colors are great too!
Way, way too short for my long legs. The slip just covered my butt, so I wouldn't be able to sit down without a scene, so I had to return the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 46
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
May 28, 2013
Too short :(
Thankfully I received the dress a few days before my event and was able to return it for something else. (A HUGE shoutout to Selena the stylist - she was amazing about the return and suggesting another dress). The sheath is very very short and I would have been very uncomfortable all night. I was really disappointed because it is a gorgeous dress for the right height and figure.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 127lbs
May 20, 2013
Beautiful detail and colors
Very pretty dress, but I didn't end up wearing it as I liked the other dress I got better. The fit is just a bit small or close to true to size. I'm 5'6" and 127 pounds. I'm athletic frame, but with a bit of a tummy (I'm 37 with two kids). I got a 4, which fit just fine, but I didn't think it really did my frame any justice- it just sort of hung loosely on me. Maybe the 2 would have been better. Or perhaps I just wanted a more fitted dress (which is what I ended up going with). The colors are beautiful- they were bold, but not too crazy overwhelming. The detailing was pretty. I was surprised by the reviews saying the inner shell is too short, mine was definitely not short. I'm an average height girl (5'6") and the dress came to about 5-6 inches above my knee (mid thigh I guess) and the inner blue slip came to the gold hem on the dress, so there was no see-through area at all. The inner slip on my dress was not at all tight (as some reviews have said), the slip was loose as was the dress. Pretty dress, I just liked my other options better, but I don't know that it's worth the rental cost. It didn't seem to have the tailoring and structure that I would expect for a dress in that price range. Or perhaps I just prefer my dresses more fitting with some structure.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 13, 2013
Fit my vision for my Gatsby themed birthday party!
This dress is amazing! So much prettier in person with all the sequin detail. The outer dress fit great in my normal size 6. However, I had the same issue with the green slip that several other ladies have mentioned- it was wayyy too short and therefore was unwearable for me. I rented both the 6 and an 8 thinking that the 8 would definitely be long enough. However, while the 8 was wider, it was even shorter than the 6. In order to still wear the gorgeous outer dress, I paired it with my own black slip. Not ideal, but since I was essentially wearing this as a costume, I was fine with it. Still received a ton of compliments on the look and am glad I rented.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 12, 2013
All the awesome compliments on the dress!
Gorgeous dress, comfortable for dancing the night away. Totally unique, unforgettable look that truly makes a statement!
See more reviews:
2 / 3
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited Bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×