Tibi

High Tea Dress

$75 rental
$495 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

This prim and proper Tibi dress gives the classic sheath an update with modern stripes and a trompe d'oeil lace print. To make this look extra feminine, pair with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Clarion Crystal Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should size up
WAIST: Fitted - straight cut at waist may be looser on Straight & Narrow while more fitted on curvy women
HIPS: Not fitted - fabric conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'8" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10'')

Product Details

Printed pale lilac and black striped silk twill with trompe l'oeil lace pattern. Crew neckline. Cap sleeves. V back. Gathered waist detail. Hidden back zip. Hook-and-eye closure. 32'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
361 reviews
Fit
Large
(45)
True to Size
(299)
Small
(18)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 30, 2012
Too big
Unfortunately this dress was way too big. Based on others reviews I ordered my normal size (10) and sized up for my backup....I was swimming in the 10! Also, make sure to read the notes...dress looks white and black in photo but is very much lavender and black and the appliqué isn't appliqué at all, just a pattern on the fabric. Overall pretty disappointing. But thanks RTR for being so great about the return!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
October 10, 2012
Beautiful & Comfortable
Absolutely loved this dress! Both the 0 and 2 were similar in size but opted to wear the 0 since the shoulders were a bit narrower. I received so many compliments on this dress and would definitely consider renting it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 97lbs
December 2, 2012
Great petite dress for a formal affair and you need to dress modestly.
Wore this for a formal dinner dance event with black pumps. The shorter hemline is great for us petite ladies.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
January 4, 2013
Darling, Very Classy Dress!
I ordered this as a back up dress, since my original dress was delayed. I really liked this number. It was flattering in all the right places. The fabric has some sheen to it and the lace print really dresses it up nicely. Definitely something I would look into renting again! I will say that I typically wear a size 6-8, and the 6 was still a little bit big on me. Not in a bad way, just not as fitted as it could have been.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
January 28, 2013
Not for me
This dress is pretty in person, but it was too much dress for me. The shoulders popped out too much, and it was too long.
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Body type: Full Bust
May 12, 2011
I have a full bust but i'm also petite, so it was a little tight in the bust, but everywhere else it fit perfect to my size. I got a lot of compliments on this and would rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124lbs
December 17, 2011
What made my RTR moment unforgettable was their amazing customer service and flexibility. I will continue to rent from them!
I wore this dress to my lingerie shower and it was a BIG HIT!!!! Everyone loved it and couldn't stop complimenting me. The only complaint I have were the sleeves were a little restrictive. The style of the dress doesn't allow to lift up your arms because of the way the dress is designed. Otherwise it is ultra comfortable and flattering.
OlgaDecember 17, 2011
Great pic! I think I took my wedding photos there :)
ChristinaDecember 17, 2011
Hey what pearls did u rent??
RTRDecember 17, 2011
Hi Christina, Sandra is wearing the RJ GRAZIANO Dress Me Up Necklace
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 17, 2012
Cute but short!
I wore this adorable dress to a rehearsal dinner. The dress was perfect and cute but it was a little short! I would have preferred to wear the 2 because it fit me but I felt that it was a little too short. This dress is perfect if you have gorgeous gams and want to show them off!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 127lbs
October 29, 2012
So simple and easy. Will definitely rent from RTR again!
The bust was tight and if it were any shorter it would not have been appropriate. I wore this for my bridal shower/wine tasting.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
December 29, 2012
Adorable dress for tea with the girlfriends!
This dress is adorable! I ordered the size 2 and 4. Usually I fit in most size 2s but sometimes I find the bust area to be small, which was the case for this dress (it fit fine at the waist). I was afraid the 4 would fit perfectly at the bust but be too large at the waist, but it fit very well! If you have a larger chest, I would recommend sizing up for your back up. Another thing to note is that the dress is actually a slight grey / lavender, it looks more white in the pictures. I loved the dress. I wore it to tea with my girlfriends and it made me feel like a proper lady!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 158lbs
February 10, 2013
Able to have a dress that was different from everyone else's
Like everyone else, the sleeves were pretty tight. I have a full bust, and i t was definitely a bit tight in the bust area.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
March 22, 2013
I wore this for my office holiday party & it was a hit! Not fussy & on-trend!
Arms fit tight, great length for petites.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
April 16, 2013
Beautiful
I ordered both a 2 and a 4. The dress runs a bit small through the shoulders because of the cap sleeves. But, overall I loved it and received many compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
April 16, 2013
This dress was great!
I wore this dress for my engagement party and was really happy with it. It ran a bit tight across the chest/cap sleeves and the material really doesn't have any give so if you have a larger chest you'll probably want to order a size larger as your backup size. Overall, the fit was very flattering and does a nice job of accentuating your waist. A really unique print. The background is a light silvery/gray.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137lbs
April 22, 2013
Adorable for Many Occasions
I rented this as my extra dress for an additional $25 and wore it to a friend's rehearsal dinner. It's very cute and flattering, although I thought it ran a little small. I usually am a very consistent size S/4, and this felt a little snug. Given that I didn't have a backup size I still wore it and didn't feel uncomfortable, however I would have preferred to have had the option to go with the size 6. Still, received lots of compliments and thought it was a great dress to wear all year round depending on how you accessorize.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 29, 2014
Excellent look. Very cute and looks expensive
Lots of compliments. Wore to rehearsal dinner
View photos (3)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 17, 2014
Beautiful dress. Photographs well.
It should be noted that the lace is part of the print not an overlay. The color is also a light lilac purple not gray. It was a very pretty dress and I would wear it again.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
May 3, 2014
Too tight!
I loved this dress but was unable to wear it because they didn't have the next size up. The sleeves pull and it is a bit fitted. Def recommend getting a size up.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 154lbs
May 11, 2014
Great for birthday party! Got tons of compliments
Ran a bit small, no stretch
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
July 8, 2014
Ended up not wearing the dress because I din't like the fit.
Material was not as structured as I had hoped it would be. The dress was shorter than expected. The dress was not flattering on.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
January 5, 2015
Pretty dress.
Pretty dress, but I couldn't wear it because it was a little too tight for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
September 28, 2012
Not for ladies with over a C cup at the largest
Would not zip over my boobs, wouldn't even close in the back. I can always get in a 12, sometimes a 10. In the 12 I have at least 2 inches of gap between the zipper once it got to the boobs. Zero stretch, and tight shoulders....the shoulders thing could have been due to boobs. I always filter for a full bust and this remained in the running. Not for full busted ladies at all. However a cute dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34G
Body type: Full Bust
May 23, 2013
returned
arm holes were weirdly tight - i returned this dress that i rented for New Year's because it just was not what I expected
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
October 6, 2010
ADORABLE dress!! Perfect for countless fall events. Do know that this dress is not black and white - refer to the product details before ordering!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Body type: Petite
October 21, 2010
I wore this to my wedding shower. I am pretty petite and was at first nervous about the sleeves. They stood out farther on me than on the model. But I wore it and got a ton of compliments. Its a really pretty dress. I do think it looks best with some sort of layered necklace.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 28, 2010
This is a great dress but I don't think it works well on tall girls. I'm 5'9 and my measurements are 33/27/36. I ordered a sizes 4 and 6 because I was concerned about the length of the dress. The 4 was big around the waist and way too short, when I lifted my arms up my butt was showing! I probably needed a size 2 to fit my waist, but I'd imagine that would be even shorter. Very sad that I this didn't work out. Shorter girls will probably have luck with this but us tall chicks need to find something else.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
November 7, 2010
Loved this dress! It is so adorable, people were dying over it. I will absolutely rent again!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
November 16, 2010
Loved this dress so much it was hard to send back! I wore it for my bridal shower and got a ton of compliments. Perfect length for a petite figure (5'3). A little tight around the bust, but not uncomfortable.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
November 19, 2010
I loved this dress, although I have broad shoulders, so the sleeves would creep up over my shoulders when I lifted my arms at all. Beautiful design.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
November 21, 2010
I read the reviews that it can be tight in top/shoulders but the size 2 fit me perfectly (34B). A fashion designer complimented the shoulder detail!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 3, 2011
Amazing dress! Definitely note that it's not black and white, but black and a light lavender (very pretty!). The dress is made of great quality material. Fits well all around except for the sleeves when you raise your arms, but it didn't bother me enough to regret renting it. I got a ton of compliments all night. I didn't wear it with a necklace, but a bangle and a black beaded belt instead. I highly recommend this dress, it's unique and beautiful!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
January 16, 2011
LOVED this dress. Wore it for a date night with my boyfriend and got tons of compliments in the restaurant. Wore with black tights to "dress down" a little. My 2nd dress didn't work out so I ended up wearing it again for NYE and got tons of compliments again. Pearls were perfect with it. Wore with sheer black hose like the ones shown. Will definitely rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
January 31, 2011
Wow!
This dress is beautiful, and definitely has a more purple tint to it than is shown online. The lace pattern is gorgeous - from far away it looks like real lace. The only reason I didn't give this dress a five star rating is because I found that the fabric snagged easily, so renters should be cautious. Additionally, the structured shoulders were a bit big on me since I have pretty narrow shoulders.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
February 21, 2011
I got a date with a really cute guy over this dress ;)
I loved this dress. It is beautiful and flattering. I normally where a size 4 - and the 4 fit great. The structured shoulder were almost a little too broad for me; if you have really petite shoulders, this dress might not work for you. I am a 34D and the bust was a little snug, if you have larger breasts then that, you might have a hard time. All and all, I enjoyed wearing it a lot :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
March 11, 2011
This dress is flattering and classy. Totally pretty. I don't recommend wearing this dress if you need full mobility in your arms. The length is appropriate, not too short, which is usually an issue for me. I thought the dress was b&w, not lavendar...
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Body type: Full Bust
March 16, 2011
This dress was perfect for my engagement party! I wore a chunky multi-strand pearl necklace from J Crew and it went perfect. I usually wear a 6, but I ended up wearing the 8 because I couldnt lift my arms above my head. This might be because I have a very large bust. Either way this dress was great.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
March 28, 2011
I loved this dress. It was elegant and sophisticated. I rented a 4 and a 6 . The 6 fit better around my bust and stomach area. The 4 created an illusion of a large stomach and had extra fabric above my butt in the back area of dress in a size 4. The 6 fit perfectly. I had fun wearing this dress. I could not have made a better decision for to wear this to attend the wedding of a high school classmate of mines. Chic and timeless. I loved.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
May 16, 2011
I was really happy that I read the reviews before I rented this because the dress is not white! It was good to know that ahead of time. The dress was really cute on and I got a lot of complements; however, I could not lift my arms above my chest because the sleeves were really restricting. I wouldn’t recommend renting this if you are going to be doing anything active, like dancing. It’s a “sit there and look pretty” kind of a dress.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 109lbs
June 6, 2011
I can't say enough nice things about this dress! I wore it to a work event and got sooo many compliments. It is flattering but very classy and conservative. I highly recommend it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 22, 2011
Aside from the fact that I wore it to my wedding rehearsal (kind of a big deal!), this dress was classy, comfortable, and unique. I wish I owned it!
I rented this for my wedding rehearsal and LOVED it - it fit perfectly, spot on in terms of sizing. As per usual with RTR, I got tons of compliments (and not just 'cause I was the bride, I'm sure). Definitely recommend!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 10

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×