Tibi

Into the Blue Tribal Gown

$100 rental
$495 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Step out in style at the yacht party wearing this chic tribal maxi by Tibi. A style no one will forget. Go with eye catching accessories like the Kenneth Jay Lane's Clear Drop Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust and must be worn with a NuBra due to exposed back
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout skirt
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 56'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 59'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'9'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or a NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Bump Friendly, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Model's height is 5'10''.

Product Details

Multi printed silk. Crew neckline. Cut-out back with tie closure. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
170 reviews
Fit
Large
(43)
True to Size
(121)
Small
(3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
November 12, 2014
I wanted to keep the dress forever!
I fell in love as soon as I saw it on the RTR website and had to wait for an event in order to get it. I wore it to a destination wedding at a vineyard in September. I received compliments all night. The color is more of a vibrant purple than photos show. The open back was a huge hit, however the sides gap a bit unless you tie it tightly. It runs a bit big so I would go down a side. I didn't want to take it off all night and I certainly didn't want to return it. I would recommend this to any one looking to feel great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
December 18, 2014
Very fun piece for a western wedding.
I received this a few hours after a HUGE lunch, so I couldn't zip it at first. RTR was to the rescue with offering to overnight, etc. but offered a refund instead. They still let me keep the accessories. I shopped and shopped all day the next day trying to find a substitute, but luckily, sans jalepenos poppers..., the dress fit. It is a TRUE TO SIZE 0, therefore was too small for me if I had not watched what I ate that day because of where the waist of the dress falls. On me, and I imagine most, it hit right at the last two or three ribs, where your waist hasn't synched up yet, and therefore, if your ribs are pushed out by any organs being actually filled or displaced, there was no way to make it work. All that aside, the dress was very fluid and easy to wear. I felt very comfortable in it once it was one, but couldn't eat very much during the ceremony. In hindsight, I would have rented a two if I had known that on my petite frame, the waist treatment would fall where it had. Keep that in mind if you are under 5'4". Super fun for a Steamboat wedding especially if you needed something western and boho, but usually find yourself falling in the simple edgy category. Thanks!
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 7, 2015
Great dress! Loved the Color and pattern!
I am a fairly tall girl, and with heels I needed a longer dress. Unfortunately I could only order a 2 regular and a 4 long, and although the 4L was a little too big and hung on me, I needed the length. It still looked amazing and I got many compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
January 23, 2015
Beautiful dress, not for me
The dress itself was beautiful. It arrived as a backup dress and I didn't end up wearing it. The length was perfect (I could have worn flats or shorter heels) which is very hard to find. I ended up not choosing to wear this dress because of the back. Because of the way that the middle section comes in, it made for an unflattering view of my back.
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 8, 2015
The dress was beautiful! Tons of compliments on how flattering and different it was!
This is my first time renting with rtr and my dress arrived late. I ordered it for Thursday and it came Friday. After all the stress, the dress fit beautifully. It's a little large in the bust area but the strings in the back helped me keep it up. I love tribal print so I loved this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
April 13, 2015
Loved this look, and so did everyone else! ;)
I have been eyeing this dress for forever, and I finally bit the bullet and rented it for a wedding. I LOVED it!!! I felt so beautiful and received tons of compliments all night! The only con about the dress was that the top was a bit stretched out, so I had to pull it up occasionally and use some clever fashion taping to keep from showing my sticky bra. I wish I could have kept it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
May 22, 2015
This was my first experience with rtr and I'll definitely use it again!
Perfect Dress! Was very comfortable to wear and fit very nicely.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
July 5, 2015
Unique, beautiful dress for a wedding
I loved this dress. It was so unique and received so many compliments. I am really glad that I got the long version because it just skimmed the ground with flats. The regular would've been too short for me. Perfect service and experience with RTR, as always.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 59
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
September 8, 2015
Stunning dress. Every single person I spoke to at this wedding complimented the dress.
No cons.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
September 19, 2012
This dress was so comfortable even on a hot day. It was flattering and i got so many compliments
Fit a little large in the top but it was fixable with fashion tape. I would consider myself tall and the regular hit the floor with flats on.
RTR CustomerJanuary 28, 2013
what type of shoes did you wear? I am 5'6'' and was wondering if it was long enough for heels
RTR CustomerJanuary 29, 2013
Hi! You should definitely be able to wear a small heel with this dress!
katieFebruary 11, 2013
what type of bra did you wear with this?
RTR CustomerFebruary 11, 2013
Hi Katie! You should wear a NuBra with this dress, since the back is open!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 115
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
October 3, 2012
I got so many compliments from women of all ages all night! The PERFECT dress for the occasion.
Other than having to wear sticky boobs, it felt great! I'm really thin, so i wish that perhaps the size was even smaller. The length was amazing because it actually hit the floor for me. Two thumbs up!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Body type: Hourglass
March 4, 2013
HIGHLY recommend! Perfect
I always get sad thinking of my beautiful prom dresses sitting in my room at home, never to be seen or worn again. I thought renting a dress would be a more efficient idea until I got this one and wanted to KEEP IT FOREVER. I produce a show that covers the Oscar Awards and wore this the morning of the event. I would suggest ordering a size down because it runs a little big. It's a bit darker in person (truly indigo blue and less purple as it looked to me in the picture.) I wore it with orange lipstick, 3 inch black heels, and bright-ish pink blush. I couldn't get a good picture of the back of the dress but it's stunning! Got a ton of compliments on it. Great 1st RTR experience!
CassandraMarch 11, 2013
About what bra size are you and did you use an adhesive bra?
CaraMarch 12, 2013
@Cassandra I got a NuBra in a D from Macy's. They run kind of small so I would suggest going 1-2 cup sizes up!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
March 11, 2013
This dress was so comfortable, easy to wear, and I got TONS of compliments!
This is the perfect dress for tall/slim women! I wore the dress to a black-tie wedding in FL, was perfect for the occasion. The dress is very comfortable, did not have to fuss with it at all during the dancing, and it even has pockets! I got tons of compliments, a few older ladies told me I was the best dressed at the wedding- besides the bride, of course. I was sad to see it go! I suggest wearing a NuBra with it and trying to get rid of any back tan lines before :) Truly a wonderful dress!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
April 8, 2013
Lovely dress!
I am normally a size 4 but ended up wearing the size 2L so the dress does run a little big. Only thing is at 5'10 I had to wear flats...with any sort of heel the dress was too short. Other than that the dress was a hit all night! This was my first RTR experience but it definitely wont be my last!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
April 29, 2013
I loved this dress so much, I wanted to wear it to breakfast at a diner the next day!
I wore this dress to a spring wedding this past weekend, and I felt more beautiful than the bride! (Is that bad to say?) I ordered a 0R, because the 2R (my usual size) wasn't available the day I needed it, but luckily the 0R fit perfectly from top to bottom, so I would say it runs a tiny bit on the large side. Also, the length was perfect for flats, which I was totally happy about. I got tons of compliments all night! I will definitely be using RTR for every event from now on :)
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 8, 2013
Being a tall girl, finding a dress that fit was amazing!
I loved this dress!! The pattern is even more beautiful in person. I didn't know that there was a light blue/grey design right under the black design, it looks so beautiful! I am 5'9" and this dress brushed the ground. The open back is gorgeous and it has pockets! Received so many compliments! It runs a little big so I would order down a size then what you normally get.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
June 20, 2013
Super simple process! Tons of compliments!
The dress fit perfectly and was über comfortable. No cons; this was the perfect dress!
RTR CustomerMarch 27, 2014
What did you do about the bra situation? I'm the same cup size as you and I'm worrying about the backlessness (if that's a word).
AundriettaApril 4, 2014
I wore an adhesive backless bra. I love to wear backless dresses, so they're a pretty great investment! Nordstrom has a good selection of them.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 114lbs
July 24, 2013
Loved it!
I wore this dress to a summer wedding. It was perfect! I received so many compliments all night long. The fit and the fabric were both very comfortable and the tribal detailing made it very easy to get away with not wearing a bra. The blue color of the dress was beautiful and looked great with a tan. I was a little worried about the length since I am on the short side at almost 5'3, but the dress worked perfectly with strappy heels that I purchased to wear it. I absolutely reccommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
July 25, 2013
Comfortable, lightweight and perfect for a cool summer wedding!
The dress was beautiful and colors are true to the images provided. It's a very comfortable and lightweight silk dress, but it does have a liner so it's better for a cooler summer wedding. THe back is open and adds a bit of extra pop to the dress. The fit was true to size for the most part, it may run a little big depending on your shape. It just flowed and fell nicely on my body so it was too tight anywhere. Bonus... this dress has pockets!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
October 6, 2013
Such a comfortable dress! And bonus - it has pockets!
I wore 4.5" heels, and the length was just right. The top fit a bit big on me - perhaps because I have a smaller chest - so I would suggest going a size smaller with the backup size. A size 6 usually fits me pretty well, but I think a 4 might have worked better.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 9, 2013
Comfortable dress with a great open back, Loved it!
This dress was so comfortable, I can't stress that enough. I had to play host to my best friends bridal shower and spent the entire day running around in this dress. I'm 5'8 and chose to wear flats with the dress because heels would prob have made the dress seem a bit short. Overall the fit was great and the open back is such a fun detail. I got tons of compliments wearing it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 17, 2013
Fun!
It was great to have a dress just for the weekend but the hassle of trying to get it back on time almost made it not worth is. Ups is closes Sunday and I couldn't find a drop box with a pick up before noon. Went four different places just to send the thing back..
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
November 22, 2013
Great dress!
I wore this to a fall, rustic wedding. It was so comfy and with flat sandals was just the right amount of "dressy" for a more casual wedding! The color is great and the back really makes a statement! I would absolutely recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 20
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
May 18, 2014
This dress was everything I imagined! It was so comfortable! I got tons of compliments!
This dress was so comfortable! The fabric was soft and not itchy like most gowns. The fit was true to size but the back was a tiny bit loose depending on whether your arms and shoulders are bigger or smaller, although it did not affect the way it fit. I wish I could keep it, I never wanted to take it off!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
September 21, 2014
I always love the surprise of an open back!
This dress was a huge hit. It was perfect for a late September wedding! I definitely needed the long (wore 2in wedges). It was a little big in the top/not as fitted as I would have liked, but overall it worked well. It was so comfortable and I received a ton of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 28, 2014
Adds great shape & so comfortable
This dress was perfect and flowly! I would suggest the long depending on how tall your heels are
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Body type: Pear
January 8, 2015
Wore to a formal event New Years Eve.
Ordered as a back up and ended up loving it more than my original choice.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
July 15, 2015
Fantastic and so comfortable.
The back could have been a little tighter but overall was beyond amazing. It was also perfect for an afternoon wedding that went into the night. The fabric was light enough to breathe but the length was great for night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
July 23, 2012
Gorgeous Tibi Maxi!
Such a beautiful, casual maxi. You could really dress it down with flats or up for a summer wedding or cocktail party. The open back is sexy and very flattering. I rented the 2R and length was perfect, but the size 0 would've fit better. I saw a friend where it belted and it looked really cute.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137lbs
August 21, 2012
Loved this dress!
I wore this to an evening wedding shower and everyone loved it! The color was very vibrant, the material very soft and the pattern on the front chest made me feel comfortable wearing it without a bra.The dress was long enough to wear with flats and not drag on the ground! I loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
August 31, 2012
Fun print!
I loved this dress! The open back makes it a great choice for summer.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
October 22, 2012
great color
This was a great dress - received lots of compliments. The dress is a little long and runs a little large, but I made it work. The back is very cut out and didn't stay tied the whole day, but it is easy to wear and extremely comfortable.
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
November 14, 2012
This dress was chic and so comfortable all night long!
Fits true to size, though it was slightly large in the bust area.
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 32
November 21, 2012
Pretty dress, but won't rent again
The dress was nice and I received compliments. However, I was a bit uncomfortable because it was tight at the waist. I selected two sizes and thought I was going to receive both of them, but I only received the smaller size. I also received a different pair of earrings than the ones I selected because the ones I had chosen became "unavailable". Make sure you have a back up plan if you decide to rent!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
November 30, 2012
not really my style...
This dress was sent as a replacement for one that wasn't available. I just didn't like the style on me - neckline too high for my taste. Back is cute though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
December 3, 2012
Cute.
I did not wear this dress, just tried it on. However, it is a nice fit (somewhat true to size), but if you didn't notice in the photos, it has pockets. That was a surprise for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
January 24, 2013
Gorgeous, comfortable dress with a surprise in back!
I felt so good in this dress! The color and fabric were so pretty and expensive looking, I got tons of compliments. I wore this for a dressed up rehearsal dinner in Arizona, with flat sandals, and it was perfect. Other reviewers mentioned that it was a bit big up top, but I'm large chested and it fit well with a stick on/backless bra. Would definitely rent again for a similar occasion.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
March 13, 2013
It was a fun dress.
Get a stick on bra.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
April 15, 2013
Even though I didn't get to wear it, my experience with RTR was fab!
Unfortunately, I rented this dress for the wrong dates, but the fit and color of this dress was to die for. I was bummed that they didn't have it available for the weekend I needed it for my senior prom, but they gave me complete store credit allowing me to find another dress that I'm sure I'll love just as much! They made it a great experience despite the inconvenience!
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 20, 2013
The dress was so comfy and cool
The dress fit perfectly and was very comfortable.
See more reviews:
4 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×