Tibi

Black Zepplin Mini Shift

$50 rental
$385 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Rent this Tibi long sleeve sequin dress for that New Years extravaganza or birthday bash! You'll take over the spotlight wearing this stunner!

Also available in navy.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for your back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS-L.

BUST: Great for any cup size- comfortable room at bust, yet cut-out back does not allow for a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - shift style is not fitted at the waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra due to the exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for your back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized XS-L.

BUST: Great for any cup size- comfortable room at bust, yet cut-out back does not allow for a standard bra
WAIST: Not fitted - shift style is not fitted at the waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra due to the exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black sequin jersey(92% polyester; 8% elastane; lining: 100% polyester). Boat neckline. Long sleeves. 34'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

154 reviews

Fit
Small 12
True to Size 103
Large 36
Photos 80
tysa
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
Oct 18, 2011

Lots of compliments.. and so much fun to dance in!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this dress at the last minute for a wedding and although I was very pleased with RTR in terms of service and quality, I was disappointed at how large it runs! I definitely would not consider it a "mini shift". It's a tad too long and very wide in the waist. Although I was tempted to return it, I really didn't have much time to get another. After speaking with a RTR associate, I decided to pair it with a thin black patent belt to compensate for the ill fit. It worked like a charm- shortened the length, cinched the waist, and gave it a subtle blouson. It spiced up the dress, and I received a ton of compliments. Overall, it was a cute dress and very fun to wear.
Missy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 113 lbs
Dec 11, 2011

Dress was flattering, comfortable and renting was a breeze!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this to my sister's bachelorette party.Truly a great dress SO flattering. It was very forgiving in the tummy area and thick enough i didn't feel self conscious about not wearing a bra. It was in the winter an we were bar hopping so the long sleeves were perfect. It was short enough that it was still sexy and the keyhole in the back was unexpected and fun! I am 5'1" and although it could have been shorter while standing it tended to ride up a tad when walking or dancing so the length was perfect for me but tall girls be warned:)
newscat
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 14, 2011

I wasn't in the door 5 minutes and a woman complimented me!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress, was complimented as soon as I walked in the door. I took the advice of another customer and belted with a thin black belt, since the middle of the dress is a little loose. The belt gave me more of a figure and shortened it a bit, which was perfect since I'm short. It was warm, but not hot and didn't itch at all since the entire dress is lined. Wish I could have kept it!
Steph
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 50 lbs
Dec 16, 2011

Great night out in this dress!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was super comfortable but still sexy enough to go out with the girls! Loved the long sleeves and keyhole back!
Aubs
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 148 lbs
Jan 5, 2012

Dress fit great!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I just wore this dress for New Years Eve and it was gorgeous! I ordered a Large and a Medium and ended up wearing the medium. Based on the measurements, I should have been a large, but it ran big. I'm pretty tall and it was safely at mid-thigh, it might be a little long on someone shorter. The sequins are very classy and the back of the dress was my favorite part. Highly recommend this dress!
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 27, 2012

Everyone was distracted by the beautiful dress they didn't even notice my growing waistline!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I needed something for a friend's engagement party. At 22 weeks pregnant, I was looking for something sexy but forgiving enough to hide my tiny pooch. The dress was an absolute hit - I got compliment after compliment, especially about the open back. It was comfortable, warm for our "chilly" Florida winter, and just enough sexy while still being subtle and classy. I'd wear this again and again. It's so beautiful you don't have to accessorize much. The arms weren't tight but there wasn't much wiggle room so if you're heavier on top, just be aware that the arms might be fitted. If you want to show some leg, get this dress!
shawna
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 8, 2012

it was so easy!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
i wore this to a party at the Super Bowl and got so many compliments on it. would HIGHLY recommend it. it was the perfect combination of fun and classy.
Kayce
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 5, 2012

(Sorry the picture is so blurry!) This dress just made me feel absolutely beautiful and was everything i could have asked for for that night.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my first time using Rent the Runway and this dress was everything I had hoped for. I was apprehensive to rent an XS because i don't typically wear that small of a size in addition to my large bust...but luckily it runs large and i actually had to wear a belt because the middle isn't very tight. I got many compliments and it was very comfortable to wear. I did have to buy a special bra from Victoria's Secret that had the two adhesive sides, which worked like a charm for the open back. I would highly recommend this dress and anything Rent the Runway!
Lola
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 4, 2012

I love R2R! Always a wonderful experience! From the personal assistance regarding fitting of a dress, to the fun little samples (Dior mascara <3)...they can never go wrong!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This fabulous dress fit like a glove! I couldn't believe how great I felt and how perfect it fit. I rarely find a dress that fits my petite figure (5'3") and this dress truly made me feel gorgeous!
BlondeDanielle
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 124 lbs
Jul 27, 2012

Someone told me i had the most gorgeous dress and the most gorgeous back (open back dress)!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress!! I usually am i small, but ordered both sizes due to reviews. The small was a little too big, but the XS fit perfectly.. I got compliments all night, and felt covered but still had a hint of sexy with the open back! I would recommend this dress to everyone!
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Aug 4, 2012

I don't know how this happened but we only took one picture the entire night. Sorry you cant really see the dress but take my word for it, its amazing

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I got this dress for my 21st birthday in Vegas and I loved it! At first I was leery about the bra situation because I'm a 34 F so bras are always necessary, but I just bought a bra with a cute back and rocked it, it is Vegas after all I don't think bra straps are the most offensive thing there. I found that the dress fit great up top but was a little shapeless around the middle. The dress fell to about 3 inches above my knee so I shortened it with the fabric tape RTR provided (great thinking RTR). I ordered the mystery accessory and got these lovely crystal feather earrings, they're beautiful trust me, and bought some crystal bangles. I got complements all night from random strangers and not just drunk guys, girls came up to me too! This was my first experience with RTR and definitely won't be my last!
Charmaine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Sep 3, 2012

When I walked into the door of the event, all eyes were on me and I received so many compliments that night.

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fit amazingly and I fall in love with it. All eyes were on me that night and I am excited to rent again with you guys. Thank you so much for the free dress rental.
Elisabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 4, 2012

RTR always keeps me from getting stressed out about my outfits!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress in navy about 4 months ago for a formal event and absolutely loved it! When I entered a pageant this past month, I knew it was the exact look I wanted for my talent. The dress sparkled on stage and I received so many compliments on it. Keep in mind that this is a shift dress and it is suppose to fit larger than normal.
Jen
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 10, 2012

THE BACK OF THE DRESS IS AWESOME! LOVE!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Absolutely loved the dress, and it was the PERFECT fit! I had a million compliments!! Can't wait to rent again!
jasmine
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128 lbs
Sep 11, 2012

At the VMAS, the photographer said I was the best dressed! (not including celebrities of course).

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for the VMAs in Los Angeles and got so many compliments! I got an XS and S, and I ended up wearing the XS for a more snug, fitted look. It's sooo comfortable, looks great on, and the sequins are very nicely sewn. Typically I find with sequin dresses that the sequins tend to fall or the sewing isn't very good, but this dress was to die for! The XS was perfect for me as I'm not very tall and tend to wear tighter fitting dresses. Perfect for award shows, parties, etc.
Riley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 20
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 19, 2012

this dress was amazing ! it was the perfect little black dress. I got compliments all night long.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
the back is the best part of this dress. it shows the perfect amount of skin. I always like the 3/4 length sleeves. the dress is a tad bit long though.
becca
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 21, 2012

I LOVED this dress. I wore to a concert in Las Vegas, and it was perfect for the occasion.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress in Vegas for a concert, and it was PERFECT. I usually wear between a 2 and 4, so I ordered the XS and S. The Small was WAY too big, but the XS fit perfectly. I have never received so many compliments, I felt like a million bucks. This was my first RTR experience, and I will DEFINITELY be renting again, it was amazing. My husband loved the dress, and kept complimenting me all night, PERFECT dress for a PERFECT night.
Kate
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Oct 29, 2012

Dress showed up on time and in great packaging. This is my first RTR experience and it was great!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress is VERY baggy in the midsection. It's more boxy than form fitting so was easy to move in and comfortable. There was a big difference between the medium and the large. I'm 5'10" and the medium was too short. Sequins were surprisingly not itchy, but I stuck to everyone! I had to wear my hair up because it stuck to the dress. Over all, I got a lot of compliments and I enjoyed how comfortable it was.
Stephanie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 5, 2012

Felt amazing in this dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I got so many compliments on this dress! I wore this to a formal cocktail party and it was perfect! I ordered both a small and an extra small but the small fit me just fine! This was my first experience with Rent the Runway and I couldn't have been more pleased! Will definitely rent again!
Heather
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Nov 6, 2012

The dress made me feel amazing

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Not too short, or tight, perfect in all the right areas
emilybellwatson
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 7, 2012

Gorgeous dress AND price.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Very flattering in the tummy area if that's not your prize body part. I was afraid it would be too short for a wedding but it was very modest. I will note that I was unable to wear a regular bra and wore the "tape-up" bra.
Mandi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 12, 2012

Party worthy!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It's flashy and fun. A bit itchy and not so comfortable. Overall though I loved the look of the dress and it accomplished a look for a fun night out.
Zia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 26, 2012

Adorable shift, sequin detail, open back, HOT HOT HOT!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this shift dress!! I wore it to a bachelorette party and it was perfect! It was a chilly night so the long sleeves were perfect and I did NOT wear a bra with it because of the open back. The lining was enough to hold my chest in however if you have a larger chest I would definitely recommend a sticky bra. I wore black sheer pantyhose and black booties, but only because it was cold...I would have worn no stalkings and nude platforms if not. I ordered the S and the XS but the XS fit snug in a good way so iI chose it over the S. I would definitely recommend this dress!!
Miranda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 3, 2012

Super cute party dress!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This little sparkly black dress looked great. Perfect for an evening event. Very comfortable except for a little bit of scratchiness from the sequins but nothing major and to be expected. The attached picture taken in the daytime doesn't do it justice.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Dec 5, 2012

The number of comments from people I hadn't seen in YEARS - amazing!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress overall fit true to size. However, the middle was a bit baggy. I tried on two sizes and both fit that way so it seems that's the way the dress was cut. A bit awkward at first, but nothing good posture can't fix!
bianca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 131 lbs
Dec 8, 2012

Perfect dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
True to size! After reading the reviews, I ordered S and XS. I ended up wearing the S, the XS was tight in the arms. Honestly, this dress reminded me of wearing a leotard or something similar, BUT I received a lot of compliments. The back is the best part. I wore it for my bachelorette in ATL, and I absolutely loved it!
Adriane
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 10, 2012

Perfect for semi-formal!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was perfect! I got compliments throughout the night about how awesome this dress was. The long sleeves kept me warm without a jacket and the open back kept me cool during the dance! You clearly have to wear "sticky boobs" but that was expected and planned for. Thank you so much for making this night amazing!
Caitlin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 15, 2012

Perfect for holiday parties!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress as a backup for a Christmas party, both fit so I wore it out to dinner! I loved the way it fit, and the open back looked really hot! I don't have a bra that wouldn't show so I went without one and the dress still looked great. My only complaint is the dress was a little tight in the arms. I probably could have worn the small but since it was my second look I didn't get a backup size.
Kathryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 24, 2014

Fantastic dress. Love the back!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
A classic style with a bit of flare. The back of the dress is amazing and I received so many compliments. Perfect for the NYE party I hosted--I felt glamorous. Highly recommend!
hollie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175 lbs
Apr 13, 2014

loved it! simple black dress with sequins!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
perfect dress when you want something simple with a little extra. loved the sequins and the keyhole back. being tall it was a perfect length for being a mini.
Jillie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 9, 2014

So Sparkly!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
It was a bit big, but it draped nicer as a large in the back than the medium did, so i went with large. It was a super cute dress, I wore it to a bachelorette party and my only complaint was the sequins along the edges irritated my skin. it was a thick enough lining that i didnt even need a bra- and i'm a 34G so that's a big accomplishment!
TexasKate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 27, 2014

Subtle Sprakle!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Covers up the right areas! Arms are a little tight but nothing you can't get used to. At 5'1 the small was a little too long but the XS was a great fit.
Kimberly
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
Nov 16, 2014

Great Dress. Looked good in photos and was comfortable.

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
One word of warning, no zipper on this bad boy so you have to put it on over your head, which is tough if you get your hair done in an updo. Other than that, got lots of compliments and felt great!
Kristen
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 7, 2014

perfect for a formal event where it was all about the shoes!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am only 5' and was concerned about renting a long formal dress. This dress was perfect for the Ronald McDonald House Red Shoe gala where everyone shows off their red shoes. The simplicity of the solid black withe the detail of the open back and the comfort of the dress made the evening perfect.
CLD
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 10, 2014

Holiday Party - Black Tie Optional

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great dress! Simple but the open back makes it stand out. I agree with other reviewers that the sleeves are tight, but it wasn't uncomfortable. Very TTS.
Karen
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170 lbs
Jan 2, 2015

Great dress! I wore it for a December wedding and it was perfect.

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit perfect, and was very light and comfortable. Tall women should know that it is very short!
Maryelizabeth
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 11, 2015

Great LBD love the back. Lots of compliments all night!

Size worn: XS
Rented for: Wedding
I tried the S and XS. The XS was a little short, but the overall fit was better.
K
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 146 lbs
Feb 8, 2015

Funny shape wasn't flattering on me-- pear shapes beware

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I rented the medium for a wedding, thinking this would fit like a shift dress, which is a pretty flattering silhouette for my body type. The sleeves were a bit tight but even worse, the material clung to my hips and then kind of tapered at the bottom. The fit on top and through my stomach was fine, so not sure if the large would have been better, but overall the fit was just not flattering. Fortunately, my backup dress was awesome.
Brooke
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 17, 2015

Backup but I loved it!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my backup so I didn't wear it. But I did really like it! It is super flattering. The only problem was that I have a big butt - and the way the back of the dress is (how it has an opening) kind of looked funny on me because it kept gapping open. If it had been a little larger in the butt area, the material would have laid correctly and I don't think it would have gapped. Even with the gapping I still liked the way it fit a lot. It also seemed just a little longer on me that I expected it to based on the photo - it fell just right above the knee. There is also the issue of what to do about your bra as well (you can't wear a regular one with this dress).
Lindsay
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Feb 19, 2015

I loved the cut out back.

Size worn: M
Rented for: Date
I was in between sizes. The small was skin tight, but medium was a little baggy. It was a great cold weather dress.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×