Tibi

Black Embroidered Keyhole Dress

$40 rental
$390 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Exclusive to Rent the Runway! This elegant Tibi dress has an unexpected embroidery detail and cut-out back that gives it an elegant bohomian vibe. Since this is a backless dress try and pair it with Nu Bra's Seamless Adhesive Bra and Hollyhood Fashion Tape's Double Sided Fashion Tape.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted empire waistband flattering on midsection but consider sizing up if you have a broad ribcage
HIPS: Not fitted - pleating in skirt conceals lower abdomen
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or NuBra; dress has deep v neck so may be worn with a cami or bralet underneath for a more conservative look
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Product Details

Black crepe de chine. V neckline. Cap sleeves. Silver embroidered waistband. Pleated skirt. Keyhole opening in back. Hidden side zip.

Share
177 reviews
Fit
Large
(40)
True to Size
(107)
Small
(25)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
August 14, 2013
Loved it. I wore it for a museum cocktail event and it was great. I got a lot of compliments.

Fit perfectly but I could not wear my bra with it do to the back.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
August 25, 2013
Gorgeous dress. Something I would never buy, but loved trying it out for a weekend in Vegas!

This dress was beautiful and super sexy. Very low neckline combined with my 34A chest meant that fashion tape was a must! I love the cut-out back and the fitted waist. One issue, the hooks in the back of the dress had clearly been damaged and sewed back on. As a result, they would not stay shut on their own and I needed to be pinned into the dress. Thank goodness for girlfriends and safety pins. A little disappointing thought considering the quality and price of the dress otherwise.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
September 23, 2013
Absolute Favorite so far

This dress was truly amazing. I ordered a 12 because a 10 wasn't available for the day I needed... the top was slightly loose and the 10 most likely would have been perfect, but regardless, after 7 or so dresses from Rent the Runway this one is by far my favorite. As other reviewers have mentioned, a bra (unless you are blessed with small enough boobs to wear a nu-bra) is not possible, and with the dress being slightly loose up top there was a need for some strategic taping, but nothing fell out throughout the night, so I call that a success. It is a very low cut dress, so if you are self conscious at all i would not recommend it. The material is soft and breathable, and the skirt hit about 2 inches above the knee (I am 5'7"). I will be badgering my husband to let me buy this dress, because it is one you can wear again and again.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 25, 2013
Being able to dance all night in my fun dress!

Not too form-fitting, and very comfortable! A little black dress with the extra metallic accent :)

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158lbs
October 15, 2013
great dress for a gala

Firstly my dress arrived at 8:54pm on the first rental date so I spoke with a stylist (Lauren dp) the following day to find out if I could return it on Sunday as my event was Saturday night. She was very informative as far as letting me know if I would be charged and could keep it through Sunday as this was my first time renting. While i understand its a cumulative 4 day rental..renting on a Wednesday with the dress arriving so late and due by noon on sat isn't 4 days at all so be aware that if your garment comes late you lose a day on top of it being due by noon of the due date (which is more of a two and half day rental) Upon arrival the packaging was really fantastic although I was bummed I couldn't use the speaker as I have an android not an i phone, so I gave it to my boyfriend's sister. I chose not to use the garment bag provided as I felt like I would've been a walking billboard going through the airport. The dress was nice, the 12 was only a little big but there was a lot of pinholes in the front from previous use that felt noticeable to me, so I wore the 10 which was a snug but sexy fit. I used individual sticker bra cups and the fashion tape to hold everything in place as you cant use a bra because of the back. I did have to use two safety pins to make the front less revealing. I got a lot of compliments on the dress however since it was a conservative affair I had a black shawl to go with the dress so the back wasn't as bold. I will definitely rent again in the future, however I would choose the 8 day rental just in case if I am going out of the country again. Waiting for it to come the day before a red eye flight was really stressful!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 164lbs
October 20, 2013
Great fabric and I loved the "belted" waist!

This dress fit very well and looked just like the pictures, except that the front of the dress is open all the way down the gold "belt," which I wasn't comfortable with, so I pinned it. Otherwise I had a great night wearing this with lots of compliments!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 23, 2013
Love it

I love this dress! You will need the double sided tape. You cannot wear a bra with it, unless you do stick ons.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
December 1, 2013
Amazing Dress

I wore this dress to my 5 year high school reunion. The fit was great, you do need an adhesive bra because your bra will show in the back

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
December 10, 2013
Perfect dress for the birthday girl!

I really loved this dress! I wore this to my birthday dinner/party in Las Vegas and it was perfect! I opted for the larger size because the material is very clingy. I wanted to wear spanx but the material was clinging to the spanx too. With the larger size I was able to wear a bra and spanx and only used a little fashion tape to keep it respectable. The only reason I knocked off a star is because this dress came to me with a hole in it. It was so discreet that I didn't even notice it until I was getting ready that night. I ended up wearing it anyway and no one noticed. I called RTR to let them know and they refunded me for this style. This is a great, versatile dress that could work at any number of functions- wedding, party, cocktails, date, girls night out. If I rent again 'll make sure to do a thorough check of the dress for any issues.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 16, 2013
If you have boobs at all -- this is NOT for you!

Couldn't wear the dress because almost my entire boob was hanging out! If you are small and flat chested, I'm sure this would be very flattering and fit much better!! :)

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
February 7, 2014
Cute dress, love the back cut-out!

Unfortunately, this dress was a little too tight, so I did not wear it. If I would have gotten a different size, I think it would have been perfect for my night out with friends! The length was fine and the back cut-out was super cute...too bad!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
February 26, 2014
I wore this only 2 months after having twins and I felt sexy for the first time in almost a year!

The top was pretty baggy compared to the waist. But I loved the dress overall. Make sure you have clothing tape to make sure you don't fall out. Luckily I wore this to a bachelorette party so extra cleavage wasn't inappropriate!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 131lbs
March 4, 2014
Sexy!

The front was too loose; would definitely need tape or to pin it a bit. Otherwise I loved the fit and look!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
March 10, 2014
Great lines and beautiful detail

I love this dress, but it definitely requires a LOT of fashion tape if you plan to be moving around! I ordered my usual size (8) and the 10 just in case. The 8 fit perfectly, but the clasp in the back was a bit broken, so I ended up wearing the 10. I used two rows of fashion tape along the bust since it was fairly loose. I highly recommend this approach :) The material is great and the gold detail is really pretty. Lots of complements all evening. I will definitely be ordering this dress again for a trip to Vegas!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
March 12, 2014
The back keyhole was perfect to jazz up this LBD!

Fit was great, wore backless bra, and the length was good

Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
March 16, 2014
Perfect dress for the occasion!!

The dress was amazing and I got SO many compliments! I truly enjoyed wearing it! One thing I will say is that it is difficult to wear a bra especially If you are fuller chested. I ended up wearing the 12 because I am between sizes. I did have to do some pinning of the top to keep the ladies in check. Also the clasp on the back came broken so I had to pin myself into it. Other than that I got SO many compliments and I will be renting from RTR again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
March 28, 2014
Beautiful dress. Wore this out for a bachelorette party.

Gorgeous, fun dress! Runs true to size but the only reason I have it 4 stars was the neckline was super low. I used fashion tape to keep it in place, but even with that, I had to be really careful. Was very mindful of it the entire evening which was a bit of a bummer.

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
March 28, 2014
Couldn't wear the dress.

The clasp on the back of the dress was too loose (maybe someone had stretched the dress?) so it did not look good from the back. i ended up wearing the other dress I ordered.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Straight & narrow
April 2, 2014
Didn't end up wearing the dress

The dress was ok. It wasn't as dressy as I expected to be and didn't fit right.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 21, 2014
Loved it

This dress was super slimming - but don't forget the fashion tape!

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
May 5, 2014
Great dress

I loved this dress. The design and material are great. The top was a little big, but I used fashion tape and it was fine. Also had to wear a nubra with it. I was comfortable and received multiple compliments.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Body type: Apple
May 5, 2014
It was so comfortable and looked cute with flats :)

I had recently been in a car accident when I had to find a comfy dress for my best friend's birthday party. I ALWAYS wear heels, but was not able to after my accident and needed to find a cute, comfortable dress that would also look good with flats. This dress did the trick! I was incredibly comfortable and the dress went well with my Tory Burch flats. This dress is very simple, but classy...I would definitely rent again.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
June 23, 2014
Didn't end up wearing the dress.

Key hole and the upper back fabric did not sit correctly on my shoulders and back- which left fabric too slack on front. I didn't want to be exposing myself that much at the party! Beautiful details on dress though- embroidery at belt area was gorgeous. Could actually see this dress being paired with leggings/booties too.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158lbs
August 22, 2014
My 40th in Vegas

Dress was super flattering but had to use tape so my breast weren't exposed.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
August 25, 2014
Pretty detail to liven up a LBD

I ended up sending this dress back because the clasps in back were very worn and showing. The 6 fit almost perfectly, but was a bit tight around the waist. I'm 6 weeks postpartum, so would most likely order the 6 again. The top could be a bit risque, but if you are broad shouldered like me it isn't really a problem. I would probably try and order this dress again.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
September 3, 2014
Loved the dress!!

I rented the dress for a summer wedding and loved it. The length was perfect, the band across the waist was super slimming and the top showed juuuust the right amount of cleavage. I pinned it but didn't necessarily have to. I have a small chest so there was so way they were falling out of the top of the dress. I got compliments all night long. Great dress, I would definitely rent again.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
June 2, 2013
HOT!

This dress is sexy without being over the top. I received so many compliment, husband said I looked hot. Loved it, wish I could keep it for myself! It was a little big, which is norm for me with dresses, but totally wearable. I wore my NuBra and did not feel fashion tape was necessary.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 143lbs
November 25, 2014
Cute, simple, true to size, nice for pear shapes.

This was my backup dress for a formal event and I would have worn it but the other choice sold me with the gold lace. This is a great, simple and comfortable dress that works well for pear shapes. I ordered a 6 and it fit perfectly (I'm 5'1", 143 lbs). Works well with tights on a cooler night. Cute integrated belt detailing makes it easy to accessorize.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
December 8, 2014
SEXY YET CLASSY DRESS!

Most importantly, my husband LOVED this dress it was sexy yet classy...It is VERY LOW but with some double sided tape I was good to go! I probably could have worn the 8 but the belt felt a little snug on the 8...the back and sleeves were really nice. It was a well made dress and I wish I owned it!

View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 9, 2015
I ended up not wearing this dress because the belt was too snug on my rib cage, otherwise, fit great

I ended up not wearing this dress because the belt was too snug on my rib cage, otherwise, fit great

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
June 21, 2015
Comfortable and fun dress for Vegas!

This dress has a flattering fit. It was short but since it was loose on the bottom, I felt comfortable moving around in it.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
July 27, 2015
Striking dress!

This dress was very striking, however, I didn't have the proper bra to amp up my cleavage, so I opted for a black camisole underneath. This was probably the best option, as I didn't have to worry about falling out of the dress at all. I wore this for a bachelorette party and all of the other ladies loved it! It was super comfortable and I would love to wear it again, especially with the proper bra!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 9, 2012
This is a beautiful, comfortable dress that made me feel great!

I would definitely recommend tape or pins to keep the cleavage decent. I didn't wear a bra, but the fit of the dress, plus some strategic pinning, kept everything in place.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112lbs
October 14, 2012
The costumer service was so great! The stylists really knew what they were talking about!

The dress fit absolutely perfect! I couldn't of changed it to look better! It is a beautiful dress! I had so much fun and got numerous compliments on the dress and especially the detailing in it!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 7, 2013
Pretty detail! Very flattering

The 4 fit well, although it did run a little big in the top. I should have used fashion tape like other renters said! I only gave it 4/5 stars because the clasp in the back did not lay flat. It made the dress look a little like it was bursting open in the back, but was not the least bit too small for me. I am unsure as to whether this was because of someone else that had worn the dress, or how it was made. Either way, I wore it anyway and got lots of compliments! Great length, beautiful detail. Perfect dress for the all-black bachelorette party I wore it to!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
October 8, 2014
Adorable & Sexy at the same time

I ordered this for a trip to Las Vegas. I loved the embroidered metallic waist - it's part of the dress and not a belt. The size 2 was perfect although I didn't quite fill out the bust...I'm pretty small on top. I had planned to wear my nu bra but would have needed double-stick tape to keep it from showing which I had forgotten. I went braless which worked fine as an alternative. The length of the skirt was great - short but not too short and the back detail is really cute. This is a great dress with a little sex appeal but not over the top. The one downside with this dress - the fabric at clips on the back waist had been a ripped a bit from prior wear - so when it was clipped up, it looked like it was pulling apart. this was a bit of a bummer but not enough to keep me from wearing it.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 8, 2015
Wore it to a fundraising banquet for a non-profit.

I normally wear a 2, but wore a 0 in this dress. It was a little tight around the ribcage, but the overall fit was better. I'm a 32B, so some dress tape and an adhesive bra was all I needed in the bust area.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 17, 2014
Beautiful dress

Beautiful dress. Very flattering. The gold accent on the dress is pretty but there isn't any stretch to it. It was a tad too tight so i ended up not wearing it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
July 13, 2014
Garret and Katelyn's Wedding

Great dress! Comfortable and classy. Highly recommended.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 28, 2010

I rented this for a bachelorette party and was personally grateful it was more low cut in the front! I chose not to wear a bra - the keyhole in the back is gorgeous - and wore pedals for any 'cold moments.' I got endless compliments and my only regret is that I didn't get to keep the dress!

See more reviews:
4 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×