Black Embroidered Keyhole Dress

$40 rental
$390 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Exclusive to Rent the Runway! This elegant Tibi dress has an unexpected embroidery detail and cut-out back that gives it an elegant bohomian vibe. Since this is a backless dress try and pair it with Nu Bra's Seamless Adhesive Bra and Hollyhood Fashion Tape's Double Sided Fashion Tape.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted empire waistband flattering on midsection but consider sizing up if you have a broad ribcage
HIPS: Not fitted - pleating in skirt conceals lower abdomen
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or NuBra; dress has deep v neck so may be worn with a cami or bralet underneath for a more conservative look
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted empire waistband flattering on midsection but consider sizing up if you have a broad ribcage
HIPS: Not fitted - pleating in skirt conceals lower abdomen
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or NuBra; dress has deep v neck so may be worn with a cami or bralet underneath for a more conservative look
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black crepe de chine. V neckline. Cap sleeves. Silver embroidered waistband. Pleated skirt. Keyhole opening in back. Hidden side zip.

Share
176 reviews
Fit
Large
(40)
True to Size
(106)
Small
(25)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 157lbs
August 27, 2012
Beautiful, Comfortable
I have bigger thighs so the bottom rides up a bit when sitting, but overall a great dress! Very comfortable and beautiful to boot. I received so many positive comments on it. The only true downside was the bust area- be sure to wear a NuBra or tiny tank top unless you want to give everyone a free show!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
August 24, 2012
I almost didn't give it back!
I wore this dress for a rehearsal dinner in July. The material is absolutely divine, the cut; perfect. The detail of the embroidery was very elegant... paired it with an adorable pair of black and gold embellished heels and was told over and over how beautiful the dress looked on me. The cut out in the back was awesome too! I HIGHLY recommend this dress!!!!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
August 21, 2012
love this dress!
this dress is so flattering and i got SO many compliments! I have a small waist but big hips, butt and breasts - this dress accentuated all my positives and minimized all my negatives - L-O-V-E
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 20, 2012
New Year's Eve
I wore this for New Year's Eve and this dress was perfect for the event! I absolutely loved it. The only down side was, since I have a larger chest, I had to wear a lace cami underneath. That made me lose my favorite part of the dress which was the small opening in the back. Regardless, I was super comfortable the whole night and got a million compliments! I would buy this dress if I could!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137lbs
August 17, 2012
Runs very small
I didn't wear this because it runs tiny. I am a 6, I got a 4 and a 6. Neither fit. My sister is between a 2-4, the 4 was TIGHT on her. Super cute dress, great material but runs very small.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 115lbs
August 13, 2012
too big
cute dress just too big/hem too long for a short girl
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
August 11, 2012
Didn't want to give it back!
This dress is so sexy! It can be dressed up or dressed down. I am small chested, so the plunging line still looked classy with the help of just a little fashion tape on each side.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
July 16, 2012
Great fit and very flattering
I rented this for a bachelorette party and the fit was fantastic, although, like some of the other reviews, I would highly recommend picking up some fashion tape, as the neckline is fairly revealing
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
July 11, 2012
<3
This Dress was def. a hit! everyone was complimenting me all night on how beautiful my dress was! The only problem was the middle belt around the ribs ran so small ): but the dress was perfect. the ribs were 2 sizes too small. Over all though, i loved it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
June 25, 2012
Fun, But Fashion Tape = MUST
This dress is great! I loved the quality, fabric and overall look of the dress. I wore it for a bachelorette party, and it was both appropriate and fun! I probably went through 10 pieces of fashion tape to hold everything in place though. I read some reviews on here that you could wear your regular bra really high up, which I tried, but ended up having to have a friend kind of tape the back in a way so that it wouldn't show. As someone who isn't busty, this dress kept creeping down in the front. In order to avoid a nipslip, I had to tape the entire neckline down. It ultimately worked and looked fine, but getting in and out of cars, booths and off of stools was tricky!
MeemsJanuary 15, 2013
Lindsey, is that you? LOVE THIS.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
June 4, 2012
Prettier on the model
I think I liked the look of this much better on the model. Maybe it was something about how the top part fit, but it just didn't look right on me. I have a small chest so I definitely didn't fill out the bust. I could have probably worn a size 2 for the top, but the fabric wasn't stretchy and would not have fit over my hips if I had gone for a smaller top. I would definitely recommend fashion tape to hold the top in place because even with a low cut strapless bra, you could see the bra. That being said, there really is no way to wear a bra that connects in the back because the opening in the back is larger than it looks in the picture. The middle design did do a nice job of covering up my midsection. The length was a little too long for me (just at my knees) but nothing that fashion hem tape won't fix temporarily. Overall, very pretty dress but just not the best fit on me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
May 15, 2012
Oh la la Vegas Dress!
Wore this dress in Vegas and loved it. Only issue was the gaping front. Fashion tape corrected this issue a bit, but I was a tad self conscious throughout the evening of how it appeared.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
May 7, 2012
Perfect for an outdoor spring wedding! I used double sided tape and had no problems with the front.
The dress ran true to size and was complimented all night! Because of the open back, I did not wear a regular bra, but with double sided tape in front the fit was perfect.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
April 9, 2012
Loved!
I wore this for a Bachelorette party! Loved it! My original size ordered was a 4, but I chose 2 for a back up and the 2 fit perfectly! the waist band is very flattering, but the clasp in back seems to pull a little (even on the size 4 which was big on me)- notable, but it didn't bother me at all. I was actually able to wear a normal bra, just needed to tighten the straps so the back of the bra was above the keyhole back in the dress- worked out great! I'm 5'6", the length seems true to the picture.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 6' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 5, 2012
beautiful but annoying
This dress is beautiful and made my waist look tiny however the plunging neckline meant I spent all night making sure my bra wasn't showing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
March 10, 2012
Gorgeous!
This was such an adorable dress! I got quite a few compliments on it! The fabric is really pretty and feminine and the cut in the back makes it just a little bit sexy. I would purchase some fashion tape for it though!!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
February 9, 2012
Great dress!
It's a great, flattering dress for all! I would recommend rent your size and a size smaller.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 27, 2012
Such a fun party dress!
Wore this dress to an engagement dinner and party. Absolutely loved it as it dresses up and down with the environment easily. Like others have said, it runs true to size and be armed with LOTS of fashion tape. I have a shorter torso, so positioning the neckline with tape so it looked like it was falling naturally was difficult. I also felt more comfortable without a bra, then I did with the nubra since the neckline is sooooo low. But I felt fabulous and that is ALL that matters!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
January 23, 2012
Sadly didn't work out
I got this in hopes of wearing it to a wedding, but it just didn't work out. It fit great from the embroidered band down, but the top...I don't even know how to explain it. I'm a 34DDD, and the way the top billowed, there was no way I could wear it anywhere and still look decent. I tried to figure out if there was any way I could pin/tape it to make it work, but it just wasn't cut in a way that worked for me. Thankfully, the other dress I rented fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
January 19, 2012
No kidding about the bra!
I am a true size 8 in dresses, but the embroidered band around the waist was super tight - I got it on and it looked better than the 10, but the clasps were pulling and it looked weird. you DEFINITELY need a backless/strapless bra, this is not a joke. Its a really cute dress and I got a lot of compliments, but it was a tad stressful to make it all work. Lots of fashion tape! (ps- Victorias Secret Fashion tape is terrible).
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 148lbs
December 12, 2011
Pretty dress
I didnt have any problems with this dress. I usually wear size 8 so I ordered a 6 and a 4. The 4 would have never fit, the 6 was fine. It was low cut but i didnt have to fool with it too much. I just used a couple strips of the double sided tape (purchased at CVS) around the neckline and purchased the no straps/no back bra (purchased at Target) and was set. Color around waist looked gold in this picture but its silverish color. I wore with black tights and black shoes and got lots of compliments on the opening of the back and how beautiful the dress was. I usually never get compliments on dresses like I did with this one. This dress was easy to wear and I didnt have any problems with it being too revealing or being a pain to fuss with all night. Highly recommend this dress and this service!
AprilJuly 16, 2012
Where did this dress end up on length on you? You're almost identical to my stats...
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 8, 2011
Cute but Low
Extremely cute, got compliments all night. But the neckline was so revealing I had to pin and tape it. Also, the clasp in the back pulled a little, but I wouldn't recommend ordering a size up.
LeahMarch 27, 2012
How long was this on you?
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 30, 2011
Dress fit so well, I didn't have to worry about my outfit the entire night.
Got this dress for a bachelorette party in Vegas - it fit great - photo isn't the best but it cinched in and made my waist look tiny. I wanted to keep it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
November 30, 2011
Compliments all night!
Runs pretty true to size, go down one size for back up. I wore it with the NuBra & hot pink Kendra Scott earrings. The only down side was I was fussing with the neckline throughout the night - even with fashion tape. Overall I really liked the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
November 28, 2011
Loved it.
I loved this dress. The clasp was very loose, so I had to use some creative safety pinning. The other reviews are true - this dress has a lot of room in the bust, but double-stick tape does the trick. I was so comfortable all night. Would definitely recommend.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 18, 2011
great LBD
This dress made me feel like a million bucks. Super low V neck but even though I have a bigger chest, I didn't feel on display. It's super sexy and flattering on an hourglass figure. Highly recommend for a girls night out!
KymDecember 21, 2011
i have a similar bust size, what kind of bra did you wear?
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
November 18, 2011
Really liked it!
I liked this dress alot. I wore some fashion tape to keep the low cut v in place. I would definitely recommend. I thought it would be a mini, but I am 5'5 and it was a little longer than I would have preferred for a date night in Vegas
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
November 16, 2011
Pretty but SUPER Low Cut
I rented this dress for my best friend's party that was, thankfully, all girls. It's a gorgeous dress and I got comments on how thin it made me look, but it's SO low cut. I'm a D cup so I thought that wouldn't apple to my huge boobs, but the whole night I was trying to get the safety pin to keep the dress from showing my bra. If you're good at safety pinning things, this is the dress for you, otherwise.... good luck.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
October 12, 2011
Definitely runs large so get a smaller size. It's also true that the V is very low, too low, although it can also look sexy (no bra unfortunately, because it's hard to find a bra that can work with the back). I wore it to a wedding and I will say that many people stopped to compliment it which does not usually happen in weddings where everyone is wearing nice dresses. I recommend it.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
September 30, 2011
I wore this to my office holiday party & it was a hit. It fit great - roomy in the hips for a pear shape, and no issues with the chest - I did wear something underneath because it shows a lot of skin, but that's only because I was among work colleagues. If it was a night out with friends, I definitely would've just worn a bra and been fine.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
September 27, 2011
This dress is beautiful! I am 5'2" and 115 lb. I have a larger rib cage, and I ended up having to fold down the back clasp where the gold threading is because it was so much smaller than the actual dress zipper (in both the 0 and the 2). I still received a ton of compliments!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 124lbs
August 22, 2011
I am a 2-4 with 34B and the bust was very large in the 4. Was a very thin fabric that came in very wrinkled, so make sure that you have a steamer handy. Dress was OK, but ended up wearing a cuter option over it in Vegas. Wasn't as "fun" as it appeared in pic
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
August 15, 2011
the front is very revealing, but nothing some double stick tape and a safety pin or two can't fix. I felt beautiful in the dress and receive loads of compliments! the silky fabric was really classy :)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
August 11, 2011
I loved this dress; got a ton of compliments at the wedding I wore it to. I couldn't wear a bra though and had to use fashion tape all along the front. It was really comfortable and an appropriate length even as a tall girl.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
May 27, 2011
Very beautiful dress- however it unfortunately cinches tightly at the waist. I do not recommend it for an athletic body type- unless your waist is small/ has an accented curve.
LeslieOctober 5, 2015
Me too! How long have you been on the waiting list and are you still on it?
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
May 6, 2011
I loved this dress. It is very flattering and slimming. I am b/w a 6 and an 8 and ordered a 6. It was tight on my ribcage but an 8 would have been too big. I used 2 sided tape on the front and it looked perfect for my night out in Vegas!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
April 13, 2011
Loved wearing it & got lots of compliments! After reading previous reviews of this dress I purchased double-sided fashion tape & black safety pins. I ended up needing the pins - very low cut! - but not the tape. Also, I could have worn a bra (the straps would not have shown under the arms) but didn't really need to once the pins were in place. You will not regret renting this dress! The hard part will be taking it off at the end of the night.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
April 11, 2011
This is a great dress! I wear a size 32D and didn't think the dress was too low cut. It fits great for those who want to hide a belly pooch. It's very easy to dress up or down.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
April 6, 2011
Loved it, but it ran a bit large....
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 28, 2011
If you have big hips then this dress might look good on you but otherwise it's baggy and tight in all the wrong places.
See more reviews:
4 / 5
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×