Tibi

Black Embroidered Keyhole Dress

$40 rental
$390 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Exclusive to Rent the Runway! This elegant Tibi dress has an unexpected embroidery detail and cut-out back that gives it an elegant bohomian vibe. Since this is a backless dress try and pair it with Nu Bra's Seamless Adhesive Bra and Hollyhood Fashion Tape's Double Sided Fashion Tape.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted empire waistband flattering on midsection but consider sizing up if you have a broad ribcage
HIPS: Not fitted - pleating in skirt conceals lower abdomen
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or NuBra; dress has deep v neck so may be worn with a cami or bralet underneath for a more conservative look
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted empire waistband flattering on midsection but consider sizing up if you have a broad ribcage
HIPS: Not fitted - pleating in skirt conceals lower abdomen
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or NuBra; dress has deep v neck so may be worn with a cami or bralet underneath for a more conservative look
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black crepe de chine. V neckline. Cap sleeves. Silver embroidered waistband. Pleated skirt. Keyhole opening in back. Hidden side zip.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

174 reviews

Fit
Small 25
True to Size 105
Large 40
Photos 40
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123 lbs
Sep 5, 2012

Sexy and Fun!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Adorable dress, super comfy but gets wrinkled fast! Make sure you wear a backless bra with this one!
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 107 lbs
Aug 29, 2012

Loose top

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I didn't get to wear this, thanks to Tropical storm Isaac canceling my Bday party, but I did try it on. All the previous reviews I saw were right. The top of the dress is made for some one with a long torso. Even with fashion tape, it was way too loose on me. It was also a bit long down the leg on my 5'2" frame. However, the dress design and fabric were beautiful. Bummed it didn't fit, even if I didn't get to wear it.
Maria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 157 lbs
Aug 27, 2012

Beautiful, Comfortable

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I have bigger thighs so the bottom rides up a bit when sitting, but overall a great dress! Very comfortable and beautiful to boot. I received so many positive comments on it. The only true downside was the bust area- be sure to wear a NuBra or tiny tank top unless you want to give everyone a free show!
Jordan
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 21, 2012

love this dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
this dress is so flattering and i got SO many compliments! I have a small waist but big hips, butt and breasts - this dress accentuated all my positives and minimized all my negatives - L-O-V-E
Kym
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 20, 2012

New Year's Eve

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this for New Year's Eve and this dress was perfect for the event! I absolutely loved it. The only down side was, since I have a larger chest, I had to wear a lace cami underneath. That made me lose my favorite part of the dress which was the small opening in the back. Regardless, I was super comfortable the whole night and got a million compliments! I would buy this dress if I could!
Rebekah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170 lbs
Aug 17, 2012

Runs very small

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I didn't wear this because it runs tiny. I am a 6, I got a 4 and a 6. Neither fit. My sister is between a 2-4, the 4 was TIGHT on her. Super cute dress, great material but runs very small.
Stef
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 13, 2012

too big

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
cute dress just too big/hem too long for a short girl
Ellie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 11, 2012

Didn't want to give it back!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is so sexy! It can be dressed up or dressed down. I am small chested, so the plunging line still looked classy with the help of just a little fashion tape on each side.
BostonParty
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jul 16, 2012

Great fit and very flattering

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this for a bachelorette party and the fit was fantastic, although, like some of the other reviews, I would highly recommend picking up some fashion tape, as the neckline is fairly revealing
pamela
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138 lbs
Jul 11, 2012

<3

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This Dress was def. a hit! everyone was complimenting me all night on how beautiful my dress was! The only problem was the middle belt around the ribs ran so small ): but the dress was perfect. the ribs were 2 sizes too small. Over all though, i loved it.
Crystal
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 4, 2012

Prettier on the model

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I think I liked the look of this much better on the model. Maybe it was something about how the top part fit, but it just didn't look right on me. I have a small chest so I definitely didn't fill out the bust. I could have probably worn a size 2 for the top, but the fabric wasn't stretchy and would not have fit over my hips if I had gone for a smaller top. I would definitely recommend fashion tape to hold the top in place because even with a low cut strapless bra, you could see the bra. That being said, there really is no way to wear a bra that connects in the back because the opening in the back is larger than it looks in the picture. The middle design did do a nice job of covering up my midsection. The length was a little too long for me (just at my knees) but nothing that fashion hem tape won't fix temporarily. Overall, very pretty dress but just not the best fit on me.
Alison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
May 15, 2012

Oh la la Vegas Dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore this dress in Vegas and loved it. Only issue was the gaping front. Fashion tape corrected this issue a bit, but I was a tad self conscious throughout the evening of how it appeared.
Tonya
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Apr 9, 2012

Loved!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I wore this for a Bachelorette party! Loved it! My original size ordered was a 4, but I chose 2 for a back up and the 2 fit perfectly! the waist band is very flattering, but the clasp in back seems to pull a little (even on the size 4 which was big on me)- notable, but it didn't bother me at all. I was actually able to wear a normal bra, just needed to tighten the straps so the back of the bra was above the keyhole back in the dress- worked out great! I'm 5'6", the length seems true to the picture.
Andreia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 6' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 5, 2012

beautiful but annoying

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is beautiful and made my waist look tiny however the plunging neckline meant I spent all night making sure my bra wasn't showing.
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Mar 10, 2012

Gorgeous!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This was such an adorable dress! I got quite a few compliments on it! The fabric is really pretty and feminine and the cut in the back makes it just a little bit sexy. I would purchase some fashion tape for it though!!
BLD
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
Feb 9, 2012

Great dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
It's a great, flattering dress for all! I would recommend rent your size and a size smaller.
Katie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 27, 2012

Such a fun party dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore this dress to an engagement dinner and party. Absolutely loved it as it dresses up and down with the environment easily. Like others have said, it runs true to size and be armed with LOTS of fashion tape. I have a shorter torso, so positioning the neckline with tape so it looked like it was falling naturally was difficult. I also felt more comfortable without a bra, then I did with the nubra since the neckline is sooooo low. But I felt fabulous and that is ALL that matters!
Kristy
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Jan 23, 2012

Sadly didn't work out

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I got this in hopes of wearing it to a wedding, but it just didn't work out. It fit great from the embroidered band down, but the top...I don't even know how to explain it. I'm a 34DDD, and the way the top billowed, there was no way I could wear it anywhere and still look decent. I tried to figure out if there was any way I could pin/tape it to make it work, but it just wasn't cut in a way that worked for me. Thankfully, the other dress I rented fit.
emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Jan 19, 2012

No kidding about the bra!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I am a true size 8 in dresses, but the embroidered band around the waist was super tight - I got it on and it looked better than the 10, but the clasps were pulling and it looked weird. you DEFINITELY need a backless/strapless bra, this is not a joke. Its a really cute dress and I got a lot of compliments, but it was a tad stressful to make it all work. Lots of fashion tape! (ps- Victorias Secret Fashion tape is terrible).
Kelly
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 148 lbs
Dec 12, 2011

Pretty dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I didnt have any problems with this dress. I usually wear size 8 so I ordered a 6 and a 4. The 4 would have never fit, the 6 was fine. It was low cut but i didnt have to fool with it too much. I just used a couple strips of the double sided tape (purchased at CVS) around the neckline and purchased the no straps/no back bra (purchased at Target) and was set. Color around waist looked gold in this picture but its silverish color. I wore with black tights and black shoes and got lots of compliments on the opening of the back and how beautiful the dress was. I usually never get compliments on dresses like I did with this one. This dress was easy to wear and I didnt have any problems with it being too revealing or being a pain to fuss with all night. Highly recommend this dress and this service!
Erin
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 8, 2011

Cute but Low

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Extremely cute, got compliments all night. But the neckline was so revealing I had to pin and tape it. Also, the clasp in the back pulled a little, but I wouldn't recommend ordering a size up.
Jackie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Nov 28, 2011

Loved it.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress. The clasp was very loose, so I had to use some creative safety pinning. The other reviews are true - this dress has a lot of room in the bust, but double-stick tape does the trick. I was so comfortable all night. Would definitely recommend.
emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 18, 2011

great LBD

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress made me feel like a million bucks. Super low V neck but even though I have a bigger chest, I didn't feel on display. It's super sexy and flattering on an hourglass figure. Highly recommend for a girls night out!
Julie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Nov 18, 2011

Really liked it!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I liked this dress alot. I wore some fashion tape to keep the low cut v in place. I would definitely recommend. I thought it would be a mini, but I am 5'5 and it was a little longer than I would have preferred for a date night in Vegas
nicki
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 16, 2011

Pretty but SUPER Low Cut

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for my best friend's party that was, thankfully, all girls. It's a gorgeous dress and I got comments on how thin it made me look, but it's SO low cut. I'm a D cup so I thought that wouldn't apple to my huge boobs, but the whole night I was trying to get the safety pin to keep the dress from showing my bra. If you're good at safety pinning things, this is the dress for you, otherwise.... good luck.
Momo
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
Oct 12, 2011

Overall fit: Large
Definitely runs large so get a smaller size. It's also true that the V is very low, too low, although it can also look sexy (no bra unfortunately, because it's hard to find a bra that can work with the back). I wore it to a wedding and I will say that many people stopped to compliment it which does not usually happen in weddings where everyone is wearing nice dresses. I recommend it.
Julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Sep 30, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I wore this to my office holiday party & it was a hit. It fit great - roomy in the hips for a pear shape, and no issues with the chest - I did wear something underneath because it shows a lot of skin, but that's only because I was among work colleagues. If it was a night out with friends, I definitely would've just worn a bra and been fine.
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 27, 2011

Overall fit: Small
This dress is beautiful! I am 5'2" and 115 lb. I have a larger rib cage, and I ended up having to fold down the back clasp where the gold threading is because it was so much smaller than the actual dress zipper (in both the 0 and the 2). I still received a ton of compliments!
HoustonMM
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 124 lbs
Aug 22, 2011

Overall fit: Large
I am a 2-4 with 34B and the bust was very large in the 4. Was a very thin fabric that came in very wrinkled, so make sure that you have a steamer handy. Dress was OK, but ended up wearing a cuter option over it in Vegas. Wasn't as "fun" as it appeared in pic
JAG
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 15, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
the front is very revealing, but nothing some double stick tape and a safety pin or two can't fix. I felt beautiful in the dress and receive loads of compliments! the silky fabric was really classy :)
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Aug 11, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I loved this dress; got a ton of compliments at the wedding I wore it to. I couldn't wear a bra though and had to use fashion tape all along the front. It was really comfortable and an appropriate length even as a tall girl.
Darcy
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
May 27, 2011

Overall fit: Small
Very beautiful dress- however it unfortunately cinches tightly at the waist. I do not recommend it for an athletic body type- unless your waist is small/ has an accented curve.
Stacy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
May 6, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I loved this dress. It is very flattering and slimming. I am b/w a 6 and an 8 and ordered a 6. It was tight on my ribcage but an 8 would have been too big. I used 2 sided tape on the front and it looked perfect for my night out in Vegas!
Cary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 13, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Loved wearing it & got lots of compliments! After reading previous reviews of this dress I purchased double-sided fashion tape & black safety pins. I ended up needing the pins - very low cut! - but not the tape. Also, I could have worn a bra (the straps would not have shown under the arms) but didn't really need to once the pins were in place. You will not regret renting this dress! The hard part will be taking it off at the end of the night.
Lindsey
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Apr 11, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This is a great dress! I wear a size 32D and didn't think the dress was too low cut. It fits great for those who want to hide a belly pooch. It's very easy to dress up or down.
JJ
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 6, 2011

Overall fit: Large
Loved it, but it ran a bit large....
Lacy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 28, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
If you have big hips then this dress might look good on you but otherwise it's baggy and tight in all the wrong places.
Jenn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 11, 2011

Overall fit: Large
Love this dress! It was very flattering on my figure. I ordered the 4 and the 2 and the 2 fit better. I am usually a 4 and sometimes 6, depending on the fit of the dress. I have a smaller ribcage/waist and fuller hips. Love the keyhole in the back. I was actually able to work a regular bra with this one. I just tightened the straps so the band rode up in the back high enough not to be seen. Also, definitely needed tape in the front to keep my bra from showing. I really loved the embroidered detail.
Avery
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 22
Body type: Petite
Feb 7, 2011

Overall fit: Large
I am a very petite person, and the smallest size offered in this dress was still HUGE on me. Whoever put this dress on the model must have pinned the front up because it was a MUCH deeper plunge than was shown. Also it was much longer in full length than on the model. It just hung off me and was really unattractive on me. I was very disappointed.
M
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117 lbs
Dec 27, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
I received so many compliments on this dress. I wore it on Thanksgiving. I do agree that the V is low, but I fixed it with a bit of double sided tape. As for not being able to wear a bra, I was able to adjust the straps on my bra so that it was high on my back, and solved that problem. The arm holes are a bit low, but nothing shows except for the sides of the bra (my bra was black lace on the sides, so it was fine). Though the dress had its issues, it was well worth it. I will definitely rent again in the future!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×