Tibi

Black Embroidered Keyhole Dress

$40 rental
$390 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Exclusive to Rent the Runway! This elegant Tibi dress has an unexpected embroidery detail and cut-out back that gives it an elegant bohomian vibe. Since this is a backless dress try and pair it with Nu Bra's Seamless Adhesive Bra and Hollyhood Fashion Tape's Double Sided Fashion Tape.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted empire waistband flattering on midsection but consider sizing up if you have a broad ribcage
HIPS: Not fitted - pleating in skirt conceals lower abdomen
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or NuBra; dress has deep v neck so may be worn with a cami or bralet underneath for a more conservative look
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Product Details

Black crepe de chine. V neckline. Cap sleeves. Silver embroidered waistband. Pleated skirt. Keyhole opening in back. Hidden side zip.

Share
176 reviews
Fit
Large
(40)
True to Size
(106)
Small
(25)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
August 22, 2014
My 40th in Vegas
Dress was super flattering but had to use tape so my breast weren't exposed.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
August 25, 2014
Pretty detail to liven up a LBD
I ended up sending this dress back because the clasps in back were very worn and showing. The 6 fit almost perfectly, but was a bit tight around the waist. I'm 6 weeks postpartum, so would most likely order the 6 again. The top could be a bit risque, but if you are broad shouldered like me it isn't really a problem. I would probably try and order this dress again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
September 3, 2014
Loved the dress!!
I rented the dress for a summer wedding and loved it. The length was perfect, the band across the waist was super slimming and the top showed juuuust the right amount of cleavage. I pinned it but didn't necessarily have to. I have a small chest so there was so way they were falling out of the top of the dress. I got compliments all night long. Great dress, I would definitely rent again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
June 2, 2013
HOT!
This dress is sexy without being over the top. I received so many compliment, husband said I looked hot. Loved it, wish I could keep it for myself! It was a little big, which is norm for me with dresses, but totally wearable. I wore my NuBra and did not feel fashion tape was necessary.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
October 22, 2014
Not a great fit
Really low cut in the front. Fashion tape helped, but it was not as flattering as I hoped. The opening in the back was higher than I anticipated. I wore a regular bra, but had to make the straps as short as possible. Not very comfortable. The top hook in the back of the dress was bent, which caused it to constantly come unhooked. All night people were closing it back up for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 143lbs
November 25, 2014
Cute, simple, true to size, nice for pear shapes.
This was my backup dress for a formal event and I would have worn it but the other choice sold me with the gold lace. This is a great, simple and comfortable dress that works well for pear shapes. I ordered a 6 and it fit perfectly (I'm 5'1", 143 lbs). Works well with tights on a cooler night. Cute integrated belt detailing makes it easy to accessorize.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
December 8, 2014
SEXY YET CLASSY DRESS!
Most importantly, my husband LOVED this dress it was sexy yet classy...It is VERY LOW but with some double sided tape I was good to go! I probably could have worn the 8 but the belt felt a little snug on the 8...the back and sleeves were really nice. It was a well made dress and I wish I owned it!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
January 4, 2015
I liked how comfortable and scandalous I felt at the same time. The top was loose, but secure
The fabric was nice, the belt cinched but comfortable and the skirt just long enough and constructed in a way that I didn't feel the need to pull it down all night. Definitely had to tape my boobs, but I did it minimally because I think the threat of nip slip is half the point for this dress. I felt exposed but the dress is cut so that it was very unlikely to happen if I just left it alone. I did bring a shawl in case I was feeling shy though.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
January 25, 2015
Shorter than expected!
The dress runs small. Luckily it was my back up. If it would have fit it would have been super cute but the waist detailing was too snug and the skirt was too short. There is a slit in back that showed off too much of the backside
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
June 13, 2014
Woah Busty
I have a large chest and this dress just didn't look good on me. I felt rather over exposed, and the dress just didn't snug in the right spots. I love the style, but it just wasn't for me!
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
June 9, 2015
Glamorous LBD, feel instantly put together with belt detail
Wore this to a cocktail attire wedding and fit right in at the amazing venue. The waist with the belt detail fit perfectly and the cutout in the back shows just enough skin. The chest was a bit too large for me, especially without a bra but was easy to fix with a safety pin. The belt is a lot more silver than in the picture, but didn't really match with either silver or gold jewelry. Fortunately you don't really need much, this dress makes you look very pulled together on it's own. I'd rent this one again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 9, 2015
I ended up not wearing this dress because the belt was too snug on my rib cage, otherwise, fit great
I ended up not wearing this dress because the belt was too snug on my rib cage, otherwise, fit great
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
June 21, 2015
Comfortable and fun dress for Vegas!
This dress has a flattering fit. It was short but since it was loose on the bottom, I felt comfortable moving around in it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
July 27, 2015
Striking dress!
This dress was very striking, however, I didn't have the proper bra to amp up my cleavage, so I opted for a black camisole underneath. This was probably the best option, as I didn't have to worry about falling out of the dress at all. I wore this for a bachelorette party and all of the other ladies loved it! It was super comfortable and I would love to wear it again, especially with the proper bra!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
October 25, 2015
Super comfy with a plunging neckline
This dress was cool and comfortable. I rented it for a summer outside event. I didn't wear it because of the plunging neckline. It looked good, but I'm a conservative dresser and I would have been self conscious.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 9, 2012
This is a beautiful, comfortable dress that made me feel great!
I would definitely recommend tape or pins to keep the cleavage decent. I didn't wear a bra, but the fit of the dress, plus some strategic pinning, kept everything in place.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112lbs
October 14, 2012
The costumer service was so great! The stylists really knew what they were talking about!
The dress fit absolutely perfect! I couldn't of changed it to look better! It is a beautiful dress! I had so much fun and got numerous compliments on the dress and especially the detailing in it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
December 8, 2012
The entire presentation of the dress was impressive. Garment bag, hanger, and an emergency kit. LOVE
I wore this for a Bachelorette party. The only con to this dress was it was large in the chest area. I had to be pinned into the dress to discourage any "nip slip" moments and I still had large amount of cleavage. The fit was great for someone with hips. It was flattering. The material is soft and gave me room to dance the night away. I received more compliments from this dress than I have ever received. I felt confident and will definitely rent again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 108lbs
April 14, 2013
Beautiful dress! Lots of compliments!
The fit was a bit large overall and I have a smaller chest which made the top a bit interesting, especially since the peek a boo back doesn't really allow for a bra BUT fashion tape to the rescue!! I just taped it up a bit in the front and it looked great!! Lots of compliments through the night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 7, 2013
Pretty detail! Very flattering
The 4 fit well, although it did run a little big in the top. I should have used fashion tape like other renters said! I only gave it 4/5 stars because the clasp in the back did not lay flat. It made the dress look a little like it was bursting open in the back, but was not the least bit too small for me. I am unsure as to whether this was because of someone else that had worn the dress, or how it was made. Either way, I wore it anyway and got lots of compliments! Great length, beautiful detail. Perfect dress for the all-black bachelorette party I wore it to!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
October 8, 2014
Adorable & Sexy at the same time
I ordered this for a trip to Las Vegas. I loved the embroidered metallic waist - it's part of the dress and not a belt. The size 2 was perfect although I didn't quite fill out the bust...I'm pretty small on top. I had planned to wear my nu bra but would have needed double-stick tape to keep it from showing which I had forgotten. I went braless which worked fine as an alternative. The length of the skirt was great - short but not too short and the back detail is really cute. This is a great dress with a little sex appeal but not over the top. The one downside with this dress - the fabric at clips on the back waist had been a ripped a bit from prior wear - so when it was clipped up, it looked like it was pulling apart. this was a bit of a bummer but not enough to keep me from wearing it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
January 1, 2015
Felt amazing in this dress
Clasp kept coming undone in the back but other than that, great dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 8, 2015
Wore it to a fundraising banquet for a non-profit.
I normally wear a 2, but wore a 0 in this dress. It was a little tight around the ribcage, but the overall fit was better. I'm a 32B, so some dress tape and an adhesive bra was all I needed in the bust area.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 2, 2014
Does not fit right - do not rent!
I have a typical hourglass shape and thought this dress would look great. I could not close the clasp in the back in either the 4 or 6, and the top was incredibly loose and not flattering. Neither size worked and I returned the dress. I have rented several times from RTR before and usually love the dress I receive, but this was awful - choose another dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
April 28, 2014
Not great...
I am a 32D, and I struggled with the open back and low front. The clasp was also broken for the size that looked the best. I ended up not wearing it because it wasn't the best fitting dress (and the clasp wasn't working). Not one of my favorites...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 17, 2014
Beautiful dress
Beautiful dress. Very flattering. The gold accent on the dress is pretty but there isn't any stretch to it. It was a tad too tight so i ended up not wearing it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
July 13, 2014
Garret and Katelyn's Wedding
Great dress! Comfortable and classy. Highly recommended.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 28, 2010
I rented this for a bachelorette party and was personally grateful it was more low cut in the front! I chose not to wear a bra - the keyhole in the back is gorgeous - and wore pedals for any 'cold moments.' I got endless compliments and my only regret is that I didn't get to keep the dress!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 12, 2010
Gorgeous! Very flattering. I wore it with sparky flats and it was super cute. I recommend having some double sided Hollywood tape on hand to stick it to yourself, because when I sat down it fell forward. It's also hard to wear with a bra, but can be managed if you pin it to the back.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Body type: Full Bust
October 25, 2010
Love this dress and got lots of compliments- all the reviews are true. order your size and one down!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
August 11, 2011
I loved this dress; got a ton of compliments at the wedding I wore it to. I couldn't wear a bra though and had to use fashion tape all along the front. It was really comfortable and an appropriate length even as a tall girl.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
September 30, 2011
I wore this to my office holiday party & it was a hit. It fit great - roomy in the hips for a pear shape, and no issues with the chest - I did wear something underneath because it shows a lot of skin, but that's only because I was among work colleagues. If it was a night out with friends, I definitely would've just worn a bra and been fine.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 8, 2011
Cute but Low
Extremely cute, got compliments all night. But the neckline was so revealing I had to pin and tape it. Also, the clasp in the back pulled a little, but I wouldn't recommend ordering a size up.
LeahMarch 27, 2012
How long was this on you?
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 6' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 5, 2012
beautiful but annoying
This dress is beautiful and made my waist look tiny however the plunging neckline meant I spent all night making sure my bra wasn't showing.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
April 9, 2012
Loved!
I wore this for a Bachelorette party! Loved it! My original size ordered was a 4, but I chose 2 for a back up and the 2 fit perfectly! the waist band is very flattering, but the clasp in back seems to pull a little (even on the size 4 which was big on me)- notable, but it didn't bother me at all. I was actually able to wear a normal bra, just needed to tighten the straps so the back of the bra was above the keyhole back in the dress- worked out great! I'm 5'6", the length seems true to the picture.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 115lbs
August 13, 2012
too big
cute dress just too big/hem too long for a short girl
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
September 5, 2012
Sexy and Fun!
Adorable dress, super comfy but gets wrinkled fast! Make sure you wear a backless bra with this one!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
September 19, 2012
Love this dress so much I would rent it again or in another color!!
The fit was true to size but the band was a little tight. I could still breath in it but it was tighter on my rib cage than expected.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 19, 2012
Beautiful dress for a beautiful occasion!
I am OBSESSED with this dress - definitely planning to wear again! You can easily wear a normal bra with this (just loosen the straps and pull down in the back). As long as you have a fuller chest, you don't need fashion tape. This dress was so gorgeous - wish I could've kept it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 21, 2012
Cute Dress
The dress was cute, but it didn't fit me right. The hole in the back was too big and drooped a bit too low.
See more reviews:
4 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×