Black Embroidered Keyhole Dress

$40 rental
$390 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Exclusive to Rent the Runway! This elegant Tibi dress has an unexpected embroidery detail and cut-out back that gives it an elegant bohomian vibe. Since this is a backless dress try and pair it with Nu Bra's Seamless Adhesive Bra and Hollyhood Fashion Tape's Double Sided Fashion Tape.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted empire waistband flattering on midsection but consider sizing up if you have a broad ribcage
HIPS: Not fitted - pleating in skirt conceals lower abdomen
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or NuBra; dress has deep v neck so may be worn with a cami or bralet underneath for a more conservative look
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted empire waistband flattering on midsection but consider sizing up if you have a broad ribcage
HIPS: Not fitted - pleating in skirt conceals lower abdomen
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or NuBra; dress has deep v neck so may be worn with a cami or bralet underneath for a more conservative look
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black crepe de chine. V neckline. Cap sleeves. Silver embroidered waistband. Pleated skirt. Keyhole opening in back. Hidden side zip.

Share
176 reviews
Fit
Large
(40)
True to Size
(106)
Small
(25)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
February 7, 2013
Very Flattering Dress!
Loved the dress, very flattering to curves! It's a little awkward to work a bra & tape is definitely needed!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
February 4, 2013
Beautiful dress. Best for very busty women. Requires self-adhesive bra.
I rented this dress for my maid of honor to wear to my bachelorette party in NYC. She doesn't go out very often, and I wanted to her to have a comfortable party dress. This dress was lovely and is high quality. However, we had to use safety pins to hold the fabric at the shoulders higher up so her cleavage wasn't exposed. My friend favors preppy, conservative styles. This dress needed safety pins for the extra fabric on the front, and fashion tape for the lowest part of the V neck. Her strapless bra also showed in the back. It's a great dress, but don't choose it if you have a smaller chest and aren't comfortable showing some skin.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 28, 2013
Not a good fit.
I ordered this dress and was unable to wear it. The top in the 6 was way too big and I wouldn't have been able to wear a bra. It is extremely low cut and unflattering on top. The bottom and back are adorable but unfortunately I was unable to get use out of it. Be sure if you are small chested to go a size down!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 3, 2013
crazy flattering!
FIT: I am a size 6 hourglass with a 10" difference between my waist and my hips, so I am always wary of the bottom half of dresses. This one actually fit nicely over my hips, hugged my waist, and I found the top to fit great with a sticky bra and a little fashion tape to keep that lovely bra covered (I am a 32 D). PROS: loved the fabric, and loved how comfortable the dress was. the length was short, but not too short. I wore it to a bachelorette party, and I was so thankful my dress was one of the few not-see-through dresses! CONS: a year later, I rented this same dress for New Years. I don't know if i put on a pound or two (wore same size with same fit) or if I got a different dress (or just had less vodka before getting dressed haha) but the slit is VERY short. So short that you could see the bottom of my tukus, and I actually changed my dress that second time. (thank god for rtr's second dress for 25 bucks option!!!!)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
January 2, 2013
Great party dress to ring in 2013.
Fashion tape is a MUST! I ended up using some duct tape to help it stay in place and avoid any wardrobe malfunctions. The waist band is very fitted and does not stretch but it fit perfectly. This dress is unlike something I would ever buy it was a perfect rental for NYE.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 116lbs
December 26, 2012
Great for any occasion
This dress is super flattering- the built-in belt is just enough sparkle, and the open back is a nice detail as well. A bit big in the chest area, but not too big that I had to pin anything. Overall this is a great dress that can be used for any occasion.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Full Bust
December 19, 2012
The peekaboo back.
It was bit more of a sexy dress than I had expected, but it was gorgeous and flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
December 13, 2012
When my husband told me I look liked a model!
This is the perfect LBD! Very feminine and sexy. I wore a blazer jacket with it for a holiday party. My husband told me I looked amazing! I normally wear a 2, but went with the 0 because of the low cut neckline. Definitely need a backless bra for this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 8, 2012
Great for dinner out in Vegas.
I believe the dress ran pretty true to size. It was definitely more low-cut than I anticipated, but worked for Vegas!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
December 8, 2012
The entire presentation of the dress was impressive. Garment bag, hanger, and an emergency kit. LOVE
I wore this for a Bachelorette party. The only con to this dress was it was large in the chest area. I had to be pinned into the dress to discourage any "nip slip" moments and I still had large amount of cleavage. The fit was great for someone with hips. It was flattering. The material is soft and gave me room to dance the night away. I received more compliments from this dress than I have ever received. I felt confident and will definitely rent again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
December 5, 2012
Gorgeous silhouette and the back makes it the perfect party dress!
I got this dress as my backup dress and LOVED it - but it ran a little small in the waist. I ordered a 2 by Tibi in another dress and it fit perfectly, but I would've been more comfortable in the 4 in this dress. Super cute and the back details were gorgeous! Make sure you have some double-sided tape and either a backless bra or something to control your high beams :)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 38AA
Body type: Full Bust
December 4, 2012
I 've wanted to rent this dress for three years and finally had the opportunity to for a wedding!
Top was very loose, embroidery was beautiful but the dress didnt fit like the pictures or explained. I would never recommend this to someone who is full busted, which is exactly what category I found this dress under. I was very disappointed in this dress.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 30, 2012
The MOB & flower girl went out of their way to say I looked beautiful. I credited the dress :)
The fit is slimming in the waist & flowy in the areas one needs the wiggle room most. Very figure flattering, simple, and edgy at the same time. I have long legs and worried that it might be too short for the occasion - no need to fret, the length was perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
November 26, 2012
LBD with a little flare!
Wore this for a bachelorette party in California. All the bridesmaids wore black and the bride wore white, but this extra gold detail gave me a little identity too. And it was VERY comfortable! Just beware of the no bra (or sticky-bra) requirement.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 13, 2012
Cute low cleavage dress but I am busty and had to go a size up. The material is more formal though
Cute low cleavage dress but I am busty and had to go a size up. The material is more formal though not so much a party dress. My shorter friend w a smaller bust the dress looked right for church. On me a tall girl 5'8 big bust more party dress. However the snap on the back always comes undone which is super annoying.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
November 13, 2012
Perfect Vegas bachelorette dress
This was great for my girlfriend's bachelorette party. It was really flattering and not ridiculously short for a tall woman. The only problem for me was that it would be best going braless. I need to wear a bra (not as perky as I used to be). I wore my sticky chicken tender things, but the top isn't quite snug enough to keep them in place. I was babysitting them all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 22, 2012
Such a beautiful dress!
This dress was absolutely gorgeous. I loved the way it made my waist looked slimmer and didn't fit snuggly on my hips. The only thing I had problems with was the top of the dress. Because the dress comes into a deep v-neck, I had trouble keeping my girls concealed all night long. It took a safety pin and some fashion tape to do the trick. Also, I had trouble finding a way to wear a bra with this dress since it has a keyhole in the back. I ended up taking a very old bra and cutting off the back to make it work. I tried alternatives, but this was what worked for me. I rented both a 10 and a 12 and found that I probably would have been fine in an 8. Overall, although I had trouble with concealing my chest, I would rent this dress again just because it was so beautiful on.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 22, 2012
The detail on this dress is even better in person. Fun, flattering, comfortable!
I am usually a 2, but the 0 fit perfectly.I wore a nu-bra and some double sided tape, and both worked really well for the low neckline. I wouldn't recommend the dress for women with a larger bust due to the low neckline and inability to wear a regular bra.
JenNovember 7, 2012
haha nicole have you done rent the runway often its jen i was thinking about it for a christmas party...
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
October 16, 2012
I recieved lots of compliments on this dress when I wore it to a semi-formal wedding.
It fit very well and was flattering to my figure. I did order my size as well as the next size up and I noticed that in my size it looked like one of the clasps in the back had been replaced so it didn't lay perfectly flat like it did on the other dress but I just used a safety pin for that.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
October 15, 2012
Did not wear.
My regular size was no available so I ordered a size down (6) based on the reviews (though knowing I was taking a risk). Kinda fit but looked really unflattering on me. Can't speak to what my normal size would have looked like but I felt like regardless it made my already big hips look bigger. The middle part was soooo tight.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112lbs
October 14, 2012
The costumer service was so great! The stylists really knew what they were talking about!
The dress fit absolutely perfect! I couldn't of changed it to look better! It is a beautiful dress! I had so much fun and got numerous compliments on the dress and especially the detailing in it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
October 11, 2012
Great dress!
Wore this out in Vegas for dinner and a show. A bit low cut but double stick tape held it in place and it looked great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 9, 2012
This is a beautiful, comfortable dress that made me feel great!
I would definitely recommend tape or pins to keep the cleavage decent. I didn't wear a bra, but the fit of the dress, plus some strategic pinning, kept everything in place.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 2, 2012
not flattering if you have big shoulders
i am built like a quarterback with big shoulders and athletic lean build - this dress - not flattering for that body type!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 110lbs
October 1, 2012
Prefect for a casual affair!
I wore this dress to a casual wedding reception and it was perfect. It wasn't too dressy but just enough to look great! The detailing around the waistband is beautiful, the photo on the website doesn't justify how pretty it is in person. The fabric was also really good quality and comfortable all night. I agree with the other reviews how the front is quite revealing but a little fashion tape saved the day for me! Enjoy this dress.. :D
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
September 28, 2012
Compliments all night!
Fits beautifully, I am usually a size 2 but the size 0 fit great. Lower cut v-neck in the front that I would have expected but totally fine with a nu-bra. Loved the material, leaf belt detailing, and interesting back.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
September 26, 2012
Not what I expected
I didn't end up wearing this dress. It was a back-up dress, so not a big deal, but was WAY too big, and considerably longer than in the photo (basically at my knees---I'm 5'7"). I'd make sure to order a second dress if trying this for the first time.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
September 24, 2012
LOVE LOVE LOVE this dress!
Great dress! Got tons of compliments. Such an easy process renting from RTR!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 24, 2012
Great for a night out
Super cute dress but it was large on top, definitely used the double sided tape.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
September 24, 2012
Great dress
I loved this dress and got lots of compliments. Definitely need the fashion tape (RTR included a sample with my dress, how nice!) The waist band was a bit tight, but not unbearable. If you have a wider rib cage, might not be the dress for you. The peep in the back was fun, without showing too much skin.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
September 21, 2012
Fit Perfect.
Loved it. I want to own it. I would rent it again in a heartbeat. I think next time Ill try the blue color!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 21, 2012
Cute Dress
The dress was cute, but it didn't fit me right. The hole in the back was too big and drooped a bit too low.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 19, 2012
Beautiful dress for a beautiful occasion!
I am OBSESSED with this dress - definitely planning to wear again! You can easily wear a normal bra with this (just loosen the straps and pull down in the back). As long as you have a fuller chest, you don't need fashion tape. This dress was so gorgeous - wish I could've kept it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
September 19, 2012
This dress was great but a little low in the front.
The low front made made it hard to find a bra that would work with the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
September 19, 2012
Love this dress so much I would rent it again or in another color!!
The fit was true to size but the band was a little tight. I could still breath in it but it was tighter on my rib cage than expected.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
September 18, 2012
Wonderful Dress!
This dress was very flattering! The open back and the low cut in front is really nice. Received so many compliments. You can't wear a bra with this so I bought a bra tape that was called Bring It Up. I have never used this before but it worked perfect. Will buy these for all open back dresses from now on. I also used the Fashion Tape to keep the dress in place. I didn't have to fix the dress at all - everything stayed in place which I was worried about. Loved the dress so much I wish I could have kept it!
GirlnukeJanuary 1, 2013
You look great!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
September 17, 2012
The look on my husband's face was priceless when I came down wearing the dress!
This dress does run small - I am normally a size 4 and I ended up wearing the size 2 (thanks to the helpful remarks from others on the RTR site). The dress looked great, wore it to an upscale restaurant for our wedding anniversary date night. I was oh so sad to put it back in the return envelope!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
September 5, 2012
Sexy and Fun!
Adorable dress, super comfy but gets wrinkled fast! Make sure you wear a backless bra with this one!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 107lbs
August 29, 2012
Loose top
I didn't get to wear this, thanks to Tropical storm Isaac canceling my Bday party, but I did try it on. All the previous reviews I saw were right. The top of the dress is made for some one with a long torso. Even with fashion tape, it was way too loose on me. It was also a bit long down the leg on my 5'2" frame. However, the dress design and fabric were beautiful. Bummed it didn't fit, even if I didn't get to wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 136lbs
August 28, 2012
Had a great time celebrating my friend in this fun dress!
I like this dress so much I have rented it twice. Once for a bachelorette and once for a friend's rehearsal dinner. The cut is very flattering and the open back is pretty without being too revealing. The only flaw of the dress is that the v-neck is very deep - both times I've worn it, I have had to use fashion tape or safety pins to keep it decent.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×