Tibi

Black Embroidered Keyhole Dress

$40 rental
$390 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Exclusive to Rent the Runway! This elegant Tibi dress has an unexpected embroidery detail and cut-out back that gives it an elegant bohomian vibe. Since this is a backless dress try and pair it with Nu Bra's Seamless Adhesive Bra and Hollyhood Fashion Tape's Double Sided Fashion Tape.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted empire waistband flattering on midsection but consider sizing up if you have a broad ribcage
HIPS: Not fitted - pleating in skirt conceals lower abdomen
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or NuBra; dress has deep v neck so may be worn with a cami or bralet underneath for a more conservative look
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Product Details

Black crepe de chine. V neckline. Cap sleeves. Silver embroidered waistband. Pleated skirt. Keyhole opening in back. Hidden side zip.

Share
176 reviews
Fit
Large
(40)
True to Size
(106)
Small
(25)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
November 16, 2011
Pretty but SUPER Low Cut
I rented this dress for my best friend's party that was, thankfully, all girls. It's a gorgeous dress and I got comments on how thin it made me look, but it's SO low cut. I'm a D cup so I thought that wouldn't apple to my huge boobs, but the whole night I was trying to get the safety pin to keep the dress from showing my bra. If you're good at safety pinning things, this is the dress for you, otherwise.... good luck.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
November 18, 2011
Really liked it!
I liked this dress alot. I wore some fashion tape to keep the low cut v in place. I would definitely recommend. I thought it would be a mini, but I am 5'5 and it was a little longer than I would have preferred for a date night in Vegas
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 18, 2011
great LBD
This dress made me feel like a million bucks. Super low V neck but even though I have a bigger chest, I didn't feel on display. It's super sexy and flattering on an hourglass figure. Highly recommend for a girls night out!
KymDecember 21, 2011
i have a similar bust size, what kind of bra did you wear?
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
November 30, 2011
Compliments all night!
Runs pretty true to size, go down one size for back up. I wore it with the NuBra & hot pink Kendra Scott earrings. The only down side was I was fussing with the neckline throughout the night - even with fashion tape. Overall I really liked the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 30, 2011
Dress fit so well, I didn't have to worry about my outfit the entire night.
Got this dress for a bachelorette party in Vegas - it fit great - photo isn't the best but it cinched in and made my waist look tiny. I wanted to keep it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 27, 2012
Such a fun party dress!
Wore this dress to an engagement dinner and party. Absolutely loved it as it dresses up and down with the environment easily. Like others have said, it runs true to size and be armed with LOTS of fashion tape. I have a shorter torso, so positioning the neckline with tape so it looked like it was falling naturally was difficult. I also felt more comfortable without a bra, then I did with the nubra since the neckline is sooooo low. But I felt fabulous and that is ALL that matters!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
May 7, 2012
Perfect for an outdoor spring wedding! I used double sided tape and had no problems with the front.
The dress ran true to size and was complimented all night! Because of the open back, I did not wear a regular bra, but with double sided tape in front the fit was perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
May 15, 2012
Oh la la Vegas Dress!
Wore this dress in Vegas and loved it. Only issue was the gaping front. Fashion tape corrected this issue a bit, but I was a tad self conscious throughout the evening of how it appeared.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
July 16, 2012
Great fit and very flattering
I rented this for a bachelorette party and the fit was fantastic, although, like some of the other reviews, I would highly recommend picking up some fashion tape, as the neckline is fairly revealing
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
August 11, 2012
Didn't want to give it back!
This dress is so sexy! It can be dressed up or dressed down. I am small chested, so the plunging line still looked classy with the help of just a little fashion tape on each side.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 20, 2012
New Year's Eve
I wore this for New Year's Eve and this dress was perfect for the event! I absolutely loved it. The only down side was, since I have a larger chest, I had to wear a lace cami underneath. That made me lose my favorite part of the dress which was the small opening in the back. Regardless, I was super comfortable the whole night and got a million compliments! I would buy this dress if I could!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
August 21, 2012
love this dress!
this dress is so flattering and i got SO many compliments! I have a small waist but big hips, butt and breasts - this dress accentuated all my positives and minimized all my negatives - L-O-V-E
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
August 24, 2012
I almost didn't give it back!
I wore this dress for a rehearsal dinner in July. The material is absolutely divine, the cut; perfect. The detail of the embroidery was very elegant... paired it with an adorable pair of black and gold embellished heels and was told over and over how beautiful the dress looked on me. The cut out in the back was awesome too! I HIGHLY recommend this dress!!!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 157lbs
August 27, 2012
Beautiful, Comfortable
I have bigger thighs so the bottom rides up a bit when sitting, but overall a great dress! Very comfortable and beautiful to boot. I received so many positive comments on it. The only true downside was the bust area- be sure to wear a NuBra or tiny tank top unless you want to give everyone a free show!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 136lbs
August 28, 2012
Had a great time celebrating my friend in this fun dress!
I like this dress so much I have rented it twice. Once for a bachelorette and once for a friend's rehearsal dinner. The cut is very flattering and the open back is pretty without being too revealing. The only flaw of the dress is that the v-neck is very deep - both times I've worn it, I have had to use fashion tape or safety pins to keep it decent.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
September 18, 2012
Wonderful Dress!
This dress was very flattering! The open back and the low cut in front is really nice. Received so many compliments. You can't wear a bra with this so I bought a bra tape that was called Bring It Up. I have never used this before but it worked perfect. Will buy these for all open back dresses from now on. I also used the Fashion Tape to keep the dress in place. I didn't have to fix the dress at all - everything stayed in place which I was worried about. Loved the dress so much I wish I could have kept it!
GirlnukeJanuary 1, 2013
You look great!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
September 19, 2012
This dress was great but a little low in the front.
The low front made made it hard to find a bra that would work with the dress.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
September 21, 2012
Fit Perfect.
Loved it. I want to own it. I would rent it again in a heartbeat. I think next time Ill try the blue color!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
September 24, 2012
Great dress
I loved this dress and got lots of compliments. Definitely need the fashion tape (RTR included a sample with my dress, how nice!) The waist band was a bit tight, but not unbearable. If you have a wider rib cage, might not be the dress for you. The peep in the back was fun, without showing too much skin.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 2, 2012
not flattering if you have big shoulders
i am built like a quarterback with big shoulders and athletic lean build - this dress - not flattering for that body type!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128lbs
October 11, 2012
Great dress!
Wore this out in Vegas for dinner and a show. A bit low cut but double stick tape held it in place and it looked great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
October 15, 2012
Did not wear.
My regular size was no available so I ordered a size down (6) based on the reviews (though knowing I was taking a risk). Kinda fit but looked really unflattering on me. Can't speak to what my normal size would have looked like but I felt like regardless it made my already big hips look bigger. The middle part was soooo tight.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
November 13, 2012
Perfect Vegas bachelorette dress
This was great for my girlfriend's bachelorette party. It was really flattering and not ridiculously short for a tall woman. The only problem for me was that it would be best going braless. I need to wear a bra (not as perky as I used to be). I wore my sticky chicken tender things, but the top isn't quite snug enough to keep them in place. I was babysitting them all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
November 26, 2012
LBD with a little flare!
Wore this for a bachelorette party in California. All the bridesmaids wore black and the bride wore white, but this extra gold detail gave me a little identity too. And it was VERY comfortable! Just beware of the no bra (or sticky-bra) requirement.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 30, 2012
The MOB & flower girl went out of their way to say I looked beautiful. I credited the dress :)
The fit is slimming in the waist & flowy in the areas one needs the wiggle room most. Very figure flattering, simple, and edgy at the same time. I have long legs and worried that it might be too short for the occasion - no need to fret, the length was perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 8, 2012
Great for dinner out in Vegas.
I believe the dress ran pretty true to size. It was definitely more low-cut than I anticipated, but worked for Vegas!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
December 13, 2012
When my husband told me I look liked a model!
This is the perfect LBD! Very feminine and sexy. I wore a blazer jacket with it for a holiday party. My husband told me I looked amazing! I normally wear a 2, but went with the 0 because of the low cut neckline. Definitely need a backless bra for this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Full Bust
December 19, 2012
The peekaboo back.
It was bit more of a sexy dress than I had expected, but it was gorgeous and flattering.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
January 2, 2013
Great party dress to ring in 2013.
Fashion tape is a MUST! I ended up using some duct tape to help it stay in place and avoid any wardrobe malfunctions. The waist band is very fitted and does not stretch but it fit perfectly. This dress is unlike something I would ever buy it was a perfect rental for NYE.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 3, 2013
crazy flattering!
FIT: I am a size 6 hourglass with a 10" difference between my waist and my hips, so I am always wary of the bottom half of dresses. This one actually fit nicely over my hips, hugged my waist, and I found the top to fit great with a sticky bra and a little fashion tape to keep that lovely bra covered (I am a 32 D). PROS: loved the fabric, and loved how comfortable the dress was. the length was short, but not too short. I wore it to a bachelorette party, and I was so thankful my dress was one of the few not-see-through dresses! CONS: a year later, I rented this same dress for New Years. I don't know if i put on a pound or two (wore same size with same fit) or if I got a different dress (or just had less vodka before getting dressed haha) but the slit is VERY short. So short that you could see the bottom of my tukus, and I actually changed my dress that second time. (thank god for rtr's second dress for 25 bucks option!!!!)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 28, 2013
Not a good fit.
I ordered this dress and was unable to wear it. The top in the 6 was way too big and I wouldn't have been able to wear a bra. It is extremely low cut and unflattering on top. The bottom and back are adorable but unfortunately I was unable to get use out of it. Be sure if you are small chested to go a size down!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
February 4, 2013
Beautiful dress. Best for very busty women. Requires self-adhesive bra.
I rented this dress for my maid of honor to wear to my bachelorette party in NYC. She doesn't go out very often, and I wanted to her to have a comfortable party dress. This dress was lovely and is high quality. However, we had to use safety pins to hold the fabric at the shoulders higher up so her cleavage wasn't exposed. My friend favors preppy, conservative styles. This dress needed safety pins for the extra fabric on the front, and fashion tape for the lowest part of the V neck. Her strapless bra also showed in the back. It's a great dress, but don't choose it if you have a smaller chest and aren't comfortable showing some skin.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 26, 2013
Wore this for my birthday, so chic
Easy to wear
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
March 10, 2013
na
na
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124lbs
May 13, 2013
Elegant dress - perfect for cocktail event!
The gold stitching on the 'belt' was beautiful and the dress material was high quality. As other reviews mention, the front was incredibly loose (the fashion tape was a must-have)! A minor con was the clasp in the back of the dress - it was very touchy and came undone easily - I used a safety pin to keep it closed. However, overall it was a flattering fit for my athletic/ hourglass shape, a good length, and was perfect for my occasion!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
May 29, 2013
pretty dress!!
I liked the cut of the dress since it's not my normal style. Dress fit well, but one if the clasps on the back would lay right so it bugged me. It poked out more. Other than that the dress is pretty and comphy!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
May 31, 2013
Great party dress!!
I wore this out for a night in Vegas and it was SO fun. It's a little low in the front so if you aren't into the chest exposure you might not like it. It was definitely a hit for the Vegas scene though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
July 26, 2013
Sexy, Classy Dress
I wore this dress for my birthday date with my husband. I ordered the 2 and the zero and tried the zero first. It fit like a glove, so I didn't even try on the 2. It is very low in the front - much lower than the model pic - but it was fun to wear something totally out of my comfort zone for a night. The fabric is very flattering without being clingy. The hostess at the restaurant we went to loved it and wanted to know where I got my belt - and was so disappointed when I told her it was part of the dress! I can imagine larger busted women would have a problem with the top, but this is one dress that did a good job of flattering a small chest.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 140lbs
August 3, 2013
In the right size and color, this would have been the perfect dress!
I was a bit disappointed with this RTR experience. I reserved this dress in blue, and had wanted a 6 and 8. There was no size 6 available, so I went with the 8 and a 4 and crossed my fingers. What arrived was two black dresses, sized 4 and 8, and one blue, size 4. The 8's were a bit loose, but the 4 was tight, so I opted for the black size 8. The front was very loose, and I had quite a bit of double stick tape keeping the whole operation from flashing my father-in-law. In the end, it was a very pretty dress, and I got lots of compliments on it. I can only imagine that if I had gotten a blue size 6, it would have been perfection. Sigh, on to the next rental.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
August 12, 2013
Very flattering!
Beautiful dress! Really accentuates small waist... Love this dress!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×