Tibi

Black Embroidered Keyhole Dress

$40 rental
$390 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Exclusive to Rent the Runway! This elegant Tibi dress has an unexpected embroidery detail and cut-out back that gives it an elegant bohomian vibe. Since this is a backless dress try and pair it with Nu Bra's Seamless Adhesive Bra and Hollyhood Fashion Tape's Double Sided Fashion Tape.

Also available in sage.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted empire waistband flattering on midsection but consider sizing up if you have a broad ribcage
HIPS: Not fitted - pleating in skirt conceals lower abdomen
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or NuBra; dress has deep v neck so may be worn with a cami or bralet underneath for a more conservative look
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted empire waistband flattering on midsection but consider sizing up if you have a broad ribcage
HIPS: Not fitted - pleating in skirt conceals lower abdomen
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or NuBra; dress has deep v neck so may be worn with a cami or bralet underneath for a more conservative look
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black crepe de chine. V neckline. Cap sleeves. Silver embroidered waistband. Pleated skirt. Keyhole opening in back. Hidden side zip.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

168 reviews

Fit
Small 25
True to Size 101
Large 39
Photos 36
Kym
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Aug 20, 2012

New Year's Eve

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this for New Year's Eve and this dress was perfect for the event! I absolutely loved it. The only down side was, since I have a larger chest, I had to wear a lace cami underneath. That made me lose my favorite part of the dress which was the small opening in the back. Regardless, I was super comfortable the whole night and got a million compliments! I would buy this dress if I could!
Jordan
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 21, 2012

love this dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
this dress is so flattering and i got SO many compliments! I have a small waist but big hips, butt and breasts - this dress accentuated all my positives and minimized all my negatives - L-O-V-E
Maria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 157 lbs
Aug 27, 2012

Beautiful, Comfortable

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I have bigger thighs so the bottom rides up a bit when sitting, but overall a great dress! Very comfortable and beautiful to boot. I received so many positive comments on it. The only true downside was the bust area- be sure to wear a NuBra or tiny tank top unless you want to give everyone a free show!
Jennifer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 107 lbs
Aug 29, 2012

Loose top

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I didn't get to wear this, thanks to Tropical storm Isaac canceling my Bday party, but I did try it on. All the previous reviews I saw were right. The top of the dress is made for some one with a long torso. Even with fashion tape, it was way too loose on me. It was also a bit long down the leg on my 5'2" frame. However, the dress design and fabric were beautiful. Bummed it didn't fit, even if I didn't get to wear it.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123 lbs
Sep 5, 2012

Sexy and Fun!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Adorable dress, super comfy but gets wrinkled fast! Make sure you wear a backless bra with this one!
Jillianne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Sep 19, 2012

Love this dress so much I would rent it again or in another color!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The fit was true to size but the band was a little tight. I could still breath in it but it was tighter on my rib cage than expected.
Taylor
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Sep 19, 2012

This dress was great but a little low in the front.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The low front made made it hard to find a bra that would work with the dress.
K
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

Beautiful dress for a beautiful occasion!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am OBSESSED with this dress - definitely planning to wear again! You can easily wear a normal bra with this (just loosen the straps and pull down in the back). As long as you have a fuller chest, you don't need fashion tape. This dress was so gorgeous - wish I could've kept it!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 21, 2012

Cute Dress

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The dress was cute, but it didn't fit me right. The hole in the back was too big and drooped a bit too low.
Katie
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Sep 21, 2012

Fit Perfect.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved it. I want to own it. I would rent it again in a heartbeat. I think next time Ill try the blue color!
Meghan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136 lbs
Sep 24, 2012

Great dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress and got lots of compliments. Definitely need the fashion tape (RTR included a sample with my dress, how nice!) The waist band was a bit tight, but not unbearable. If you have a wider rib cage, might not be the dress for you. The peep in the back was fun, without showing too much skin.
Liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 24, 2012

Great for a night out

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Super cute dress but it was large on top, definitely used the double sided tape.
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 24, 2012

LOVE LOVE LOVE this dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Great dress! Got tons of compliments. Such an easy process renting from RTR!
Kristi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 26, 2012

Not what I expected

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I didn't end up wearing this dress. It was a back-up dress, so not a big deal, but was WAY too big, and considerably longer than in the photo (basically at my knees---I'm 5'7"). I'd make sure to order a second dress if trying this for the first time.
Elise
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118 lbs
Sep 28, 2012

Compliments all night!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Fits beautifully, I am usually a size 2 but the size 0 fit great. Lower cut v-neck in the front that I would have expected but totally fine with a nu-bra. Loved the material, leaf belt detailing, and interesting back.
Angie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 110 lbs
Oct 1, 2012

Prefect for a casual affair!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a casual wedding reception and it was perfect. It wasn't too dressy but just enough to look great! The detailing around the waistband is beautiful, the photo on the website doesn't justify how pretty it is in person. The fabric was also really good quality and comfortable all night. I agree with the other reviews how the front is quite revealing but a little fashion tape saved the day for me! Enjoy this dress.. :D
amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 2, 2012

not flattering if you have big shoulders

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
i am built like a quarterback with big shoulders and athletic lean build - this dress - not flattering for that body type!
Kc
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128 lbs
Oct 11, 2012

Great dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
Wore this out in Vegas for dinner and a show. A bit low cut but double stick tape held it in place and it looked great.
jess
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
Oct 15, 2012

Did not wear.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
My regular size was no available so I ordered a size down (6) based on the reviews (though knowing I was taking a risk). Kinda fit but looked really unflattering on me. Can't speak to what my normal size would have looked like but I felt like regardless it made my already big hips look bigger. The middle part was soooo tight.
Alisha
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Oct 16, 2012

I recieved lots of compliments on this dress when I wore it to a semi-formal wedding.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It fit very well and was flattering to my figure. I did order my size as well as the next size up and I noticed that in my size it looked like one of the clasps in the back had been replaced so it didn't lay perfectly flat like it did on the other dress but I just used a safety pin for that.
Caroline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 13, 2012

Perfect Vegas bachelorette dress

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was great for my girlfriend's bachelorette party. It was really flattering and not ridiculously short for a tall woman. The only problem for me was that it would be best going braless. I need to wear a bra (not as perky as I used to be). I wore my sticky chicken tender things, but the top isn't quite snug enough to keep them in place. I was babysitting them all night.
Alison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 13, 2012

Cute low cleavage dress but I am busty and had to go a size up. The material is more formal though

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Cute low cleavage dress but I am busty and had to go a size up. The material is more formal though not so much a party dress. My shorter friend w a smaller bust the dress looked right for church. On me a tall girl 5'8 big bust more party dress. However the snap on the back always comes undone which is super annoying.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 26, 2012

LBD with a little flare!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore this for a bachelorette party in California. All the bridesmaids wore black and the bride wore white, but this extra gold detail gave me a little identity too. And it was VERY comfortable! Just beware of the no bra (or sticky-bra) requirement.
JT
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 30, 2012

The MOB & flower girl went out of their way to say I looked beautiful. I credited the dress :)

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit is slimming in the waist & flowy in the areas one needs the wiggle room most. Very figure flattering, simple, and edgy at the same time. I have long legs and worried that it might be too short for the occasion - no need to fret, the length was perfect.
Rebecca
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 38AA
Body type: Full Bust
Dec 4, 2012

I 've wanted to rent this dress for three years and finally had the opportunity to for a wedding!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Top was very loose, embroidery was beautiful but the dress didnt fit like the pictures or explained. I would never recommend this to someone who is full busted, which is exactly what category I found this dress under. I was very disappointed in this dress.
Kate
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 5, 2012

Gorgeous silhouette and the back makes it the perfect party dress!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I got this dress as my backup dress and LOVED it - but it ran a little small in the waist. I ordered a 2 by Tibi in another dress and it fit perfectly, but I would've been more comfortable in the 4 in this dress. Super cute and the back details were gorgeous! Make sure you have some double-sided tape and either a backless bra or something to control your high beams :)
Fashionista6997
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 13, 2012

When my husband told me I look liked a model!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This is the perfect LBD! Very feminine and sexy. I wore a blazer jacket with it for a holiday party. My husband told me I looked amazing! I normally wear a 2, but went with the 0 because of the low cut neckline. Definitely need a backless bra for this dress.
JS
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Body type: Full Bust
Dec 19, 2012

The peekaboo back.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was bit more of a sexy dress than I had expected, but it was gorgeous and flattering.
Vanessa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 116 lbs
Dec 26, 2012

Great for any occasion

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress is super flattering- the built-in belt is just enough sparkle, and the open back is a nice detail as well. A bit big in the chest area, but not too big that I had to pin anything. Overall this is a great dress that can be used for any occasion.
calihoma
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 3, 2013

crazy flattering!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
FIT: I am a size 6 hourglass with a 10" difference between my waist and my hips, so I am always wary of the bottom half of dresses. This one actually fit nicely over my hips, hugged my waist, and I found the top to fit great with a sticky bra and a little fashion tape to keep that lovely bra covered (I am a 32 D). PROS: loved the fabric, and loved how comfortable the dress was. the length was short, but not too short. I wore it to a bachelorette party, and I was so thankful my dress was one of the few not-see-through dresses! CONS: a year later, I rented this same dress for New Years. I don't know if i put on a pound or two (wore same size with same fit) or if I got a different dress (or just had less vodka before getting dressed haha) but the slit is VERY short. So short that you could see the bottom of my tukus, and I actually changed my dress that second time. (thank god for rtr's second dress for 25 bucks option!!!!)
Alexa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 28, 2013

Not a good fit.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ordered this dress and was unable to wear it. The top in the 6 was way too big and I wouldn't have been able to wear a bra. It is extremely low cut and unflattering on top. The bottom and back are adorable but unfortunately I was unable to get use out of it. Be sure if you are small chested to go a size down!
Meems
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Feb 4, 2013

Beautiful dress. Best for very busty women. Requires self-adhesive bra.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for my maid of honor to wear to my bachelorette party in NYC. She doesn't go out very often, and I wanted to her to have a comfortable party dress. This dress was lovely and is high quality. However, we had to use safety pins to hold the fabric at the shoulders higher up so her cleavage wasn't exposed. My friend favors preppy, conservative styles. This dress needed safety pins for the extra fabric on the front, and fashion tape for the lowest part of the V neck. Her strapless bra also showed in the back. It's a great dress, but don't choose it if you have a smaller chest and aren't comfortable showing some skin.
Daf222
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Feb 7, 2013

Very Flattering Dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved the dress, very flattering to curves! It's a little awkward to work a bra & tape is definitely needed!
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Feb 11, 2013

Probably better for the bustier ladies

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am petite and 32B, so that may have influenced my review, but this dress did not fit well at all. The top gaped open awkwardly, and could have been fixed with fashion tape for coverage, but the sleeves still oddly looked like wings in the armpit area. I ended up wearing a dress I already owned and was sad this didn't work out. The 0 was definitely too big--it came down nearly to my knees as well.
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 26, 2013

Wore this for my birthday, so chic

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Easy to wear
Jenny
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 27, 2013

I didn't get to wear the dress

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I ordered both a size 6 and 8 knowing fully that I tend to run larger on top (I wear a 36C bra) and I'm smaller on the bottom. The size 6 wouldn't zip up and clip but on the 8 it zipped up fine but was just too loose on top, I would've been falling out of it. Also, the dress hit me just above the knee and was a little too formal/conservative for the party I was going to. I was disappointed that it didn't work out.
Caitlin
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 1, 2013

Great accent color. Loved the back!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The top was really large so I felt like i was messing with the top the whole time and had to put a safety pin/fashion tape. But, overall it fit nice and I liked it a lot!
Alyssa
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 4, 2013

The back on this dress is amazing, got tons of compliments!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I rented this as my back-up for my birthday party and I'm really glad that I had it. I got the 6, my usual size, and the 4 as my back-up since some reviewers said it ran big. I would have worn the 4, but the hooks in the back were pulling off, so I didn't feel like it would be safe to wear (had I tried it on earlier I'm sure I could have gotten another one shipped, but that was my own fault). It does run fairly big in the top, I'm a 34D and the 6 needed a safety pin and fashion tape in order to stay put. The back on this dress is great, but you won't be able to hide a bra strap under it (even the ones that go around your waist, I tried) so know that you'll need a sticky bra if you have any chest. The fabric is very light weight and it won't hold you in/up if you are at all curvy, but the shape of the dress is really flattering for hour-glass shaped girls! All of that being said, it ended up being a great night and with a sticky bra and some fashion tape this dress looked amazing all night long :)
sesw
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 10, 2013

na

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
na
TA
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 9, 2013

Too Small!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was super cute but there is no stretch to the band at all and it was cutting into my side. I ended up not wearing this dress for my event.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×