Tibi

Black Embroidered Keyhole Dress

$40 rental
$390 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Exclusive to Rent the Runway! This elegant Tibi dress has an unexpected embroidery detail and cut-out back that gives it an elegant bohomian vibe. Since this is a backless dress try and pair it with Nu Bra's Seamless Adhesive Bra and Hollyhood Fashion Tape's Double Sided Fashion Tape.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted empire waistband flattering on midsection but consider sizing up if you have a broad ribcage
HIPS: Not fitted - pleating in skirt conceals lower abdomen
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or NuBra; dress has deep v neck so may be worn with a cami or bralet underneath for a more conservative look
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Product Details

Black crepe de chine. V neckline. Cap sleeves. Silver embroidered waistband. Pleated skirt. Keyhole opening in back. Hidden side zip.

Share
177 reviews
Fit
Large
(40)
True to Size
(107)
Small
(25)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
May 29, 2013
pretty dress!!

I liked the cut of the dress since it's not my normal style. Dress fit well, but one if the clasps on the back would lay right so it bugged me. It poked out more. Other than that the dress is pretty and comphy!!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
May 31, 2013
Great party dress!!

I wore this out for a night in Vegas and it was SO fun. It's a little low in the front so if you aren't into the chest exposure you might not like it. It was definitely a hit for the Vegas scene though.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
July 5, 2013
Ran way too big- could not wear it

I made a mistake when ordering- thought I had a back up size 8 but somehow missed it at checkout. I usually am a 10 but could not wear it- too big. Lesson learned- make sure you have a size down for this dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
July 26, 2013
Sexy, Classy Dress

I wore this dress for my birthday date with my husband. I ordered the 2 and the zero and tried the zero first. It fit like a glove, so I didn't even try on the 2. It is very low in the front - much lower than the model pic - but it was fun to wear something totally out of my comfort zone for a night. The fabric is very flattering without being clingy. The hostess at the restaurant we went to loved it and wanted to know where I got my belt - and was so disappointed when I told her it was part of the dress! I can imagine larger busted women would have a problem with the top, but this is one dress that did a good job of flattering a small chest.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
July 30, 2013
Cute, but not quite worth it...

Rented this dress as a back-up but ended up wearing it to a party. I typically wear a 6. A size 6 in this dress fit me fine everywhere but in my larger ribcage. Guess that is a common issue because one of the hooks on the back of the dress had apparently been broken off and hastily sewn back on. This attempted non-functional reattachment resulted in my poor boyfriend struggling with safety pins so I could even wear the dress. And as other reviewers pointed out, fashion tape is a must with the low cut neckline. All in all this was a little too much trouble to wear. Looked ok on but in my opinion, the end result was not worth the effort for me.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 140lbs
August 3, 2013
In the right size and color, this would have been the perfect dress!

I was a bit disappointed with this RTR experience. I reserved this dress in blue, and had wanted a 6 and 8. There was no size 6 available, so I went with the 8 and a 4 and crossed my fingers. What arrived was two black dresses, sized 4 and 8, and one blue, size 4. The 8's were a bit loose, but the 4 was tight, so I opted for the black size 8. The front was very loose, and I had quite a bit of double stick tape keeping the whole operation from flashing my father-in-law. In the end, it was a very pretty dress, and I got lots of compliments on it. I can only imagine that if I had gotten a blue size 6, it would have been perfection. Sigh, on to the next rental.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
August 4, 2013
Sexy, Little, Black Dress

I wore this dress to a friend's house party, and it's a sexy dress! It's even good to wear for a ladies' night out or even to a nice restaurant. The dress is super flattering for hourglass figures or if you like to accentuate your waist. The reason I gave four rather than five stars is because the back was a little tricky. There is a zipper and two clasps on top of the zipper, and you will need someone to help you with the clasps. It's probably good to order a size up.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
August 10, 2013
Wayyy too big

Wayyy too big

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
August 12, 2013
Very flattering!

Beautiful dress! Really accentuates small waist... Love this dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
August 14, 2013
Loved it. I wore it for a museum cocktail event and it was great. I got a lot of compliments.

Fit perfectly but I could not wear my bra with it do to the back.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
August 22, 2013
I did not end up wearing this dress.

This was my backup dress, and I was glad I rented another! The front is very low, and my boobs did not fill the space (I'm a 34B). I was very happy with my first choice dress, though! I recommend always getting the $25 back up dress.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
August 25, 2013
Gorgeous dress. Something I would never buy, but loved trying it out for a weekend in Vegas!

This dress was beautiful and super sexy. Very low neckline combined with my 34A chest meant that fashion tape was a must! I love the cut-out back and the fitted waist. One issue, the hooks in the back of the dress had clearly been damaged and sewed back on. As a result, they would not stay shut on their own and I needed to be pinned into the dress. Thank goodness for girlfriends and safety pins. A little disappointing thought considering the quality and price of the dress otherwise.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
September 23, 2013
Absolute Favorite so far

This dress was truly amazing. I ordered a 12 because a 10 wasn't available for the day I needed... the top was slightly loose and the 10 most likely would have been perfect, but regardless, after 7 or so dresses from Rent the Runway this one is by far my favorite. As other reviewers have mentioned, a bra (unless you are blessed with small enough boobs to wear a nu-bra) is not possible, and with the dress being slightly loose up top there was a need for some strategic taping, but nothing fell out throughout the night, so I call that a success. It is a very low cut dress, so if you are self conscious at all i would not recommend it. The material is soft and breathable, and the skirt hit about 2 inches above the knee (I am 5'7"). I will be badgering my husband to let me buy this dress, because it is one you can wear again and again.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 25, 2013
Being able to dance all night in my fun dress!

Not too form-fitting, and very comfortable! A little black dress with the extra metallic accent :)

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158lbs
October 15, 2013
great dress for a gala

Firstly my dress arrived at 8:54pm on the first rental date so I spoke with a stylist (Lauren dp) the following day to find out if I could return it on Sunday as my event was Saturday night. She was very informative as far as letting me know if I would be charged and could keep it through Sunday as this was my first time renting. While i understand its a cumulative 4 day rental..renting on a Wednesday with the dress arriving so late and due by noon on sat isn't 4 days at all so be aware that if your garment comes late you lose a day on top of it being due by noon of the due date (which is more of a two and half day rental) Upon arrival the packaging was really fantastic although I was bummed I couldn't use the speaker as I have an android not an i phone, so I gave it to my boyfriend's sister. I chose not to use the garment bag provided as I felt like I would've been a walking billboard going through the airport. The dress was nice, the 12 was only a little big but there was a lot of pinholes in the front from previous use that felt noticeable to me, so I wore the 10 which was a snug but sexy fit. I used individual sticker bra cups and the fashion tape to hold everything in place as you cant use a bra because of the back. I did have to use two safety pins to make the front less revealing. I got a lot of compliments on the dress however since it was a conservative affair I had a black shawl to go with the dress so the back wasn't as bold. I will definitely rent again in the future, however I would choose the 8 day rental just in case if I am going out of the country again. Waiting for it to come the day before a red eye flight was really stressful!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 164lbs
October 20, 2013
Great fabric and I loved the "belted" waist!

This dress fit very well and looked just like the pictures, except that the front of the dress is open all the way down the gold "belt," which I wasn't comfortable with, so I pinned it. Otherwise I had a great night wearing this with lots of compliments!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 23, 2013
Love it

I love this dress! You will need the double sided tape. You cannot wear a bra with it, unless you do stick ons.

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
November 3, 2013
Service was excellent but the dress did not fit

Cute dress, but not enough fabric in the chest area for someone who is tall with a bigger chest. I am 5' 10" and a size 34 D and the proportions of the dress just didn't work with my body type

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
November 11, 2013
Pretty dress, but not my favorite

The material and embroidery detail at the waist were beautiful - very soft dress with a nice drape. I found the 10 snug around my waist, so went with the 12. The bust on the 12 was very roomy and low cut, and as others have said, fashion tape is essential. I did manage to wear a stapless bra by using one of those extender staps (i am too busty for a nu bra). With the extender, i was able to criss cross the bra staps down below the opening in the back. It was semi-uncomfortable by the end of the night, but a necessary solution as i looked really saggy braless :-) The dress itself was comfortable and roomy in the hips/stomach, which is exactly what i need with my 3 months pregnant bloat. Overall the dress was pretty but didn't have the WOW factor that I usually get with RTR.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
December 1, 2013
Amazing Dress

I wore this dress to my 5 year high school reunion. The fit was great, you do need an adhesive bra because your bra will show in the back

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
December 2, 2013
I loved the belt detail

I wore this for a sorority event and I was not crazy about the fit. It was very large in the chest area and overall it was pretty big.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
December 10, 2013
got lots of compliments

The closer in the back is not positioned so that the belt looks like an actual belt. I had no problem closing the back but it looked like it was pulling because the closers were not placed properly. Also, I got a 4 and a 6 but the 6 didn't have a slit in the back where as the 4 did. Some reason they weren't exactly the same. It was very pretty and got lots of compliments.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
December 10, 2013
Perfect dress for the birthday girl!

I really loved this dress! I wore this to my birthday dinner/party in Las Vegas and it was perfect! I opted for the larger size because the material is very clingy. I wanted to wear spanx but the material was clinging to the spanx too. With the larger size I was able to wear a bra and spanx and only used a little fashion tape to keep it respectable. The only reason I knocked off a star is because this dress came to me with a hole in it. It was so discreet that I didn't even notice it until I was getting ready that night. I ended up wearing it anyway and no one noticed. I called RTR to let them know and they refunded me for this style. This is a great, versatile dress that could work at any number of functions- wedding, party, cocktails, date, girls night out. If I rent again 'll make sure to do a thorough check of the dress for any issues.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 16, 2013
If you have boobs at all -- this is NOT for you!

Couldn't wear the dress because almost my entire boob was hanging out! If you are small and flat chested, I'm sure this would be very flattering and fit much better!! :)

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
February 7, 2014
Cute dress, love the back cut-out!

Unfortunately, this dress was a little too tight, so I did not wear it. If I would have gotten a different size, I think it would have been perfect for my night out with friends! The length was fine and the back cut-out was super cute...too bad!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
February 26, 2014
I wore this only 2 months after having twins and I felt sexy for the first time in almost a year!

The top was pretty baggy compared to the waist. But I loved the dress overall. Make sure you have clothing tape to make sure you don't fall out. Luckily I wore this to a bachelorette party so extra cleavage wasn't inappropriate!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 131lbs
March 4, 2014
Sexy!

The front was too loose; would definitely need tape or to pin it a bit. Otherwise I loved the fit and look!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
March 10, 2014
Great lines and beautiful detail

I love this dress, but it definitely requires a LOT of fashion tape if you plan to be moving around! I ordered my usual size (8) and the 10 just in case. The 8 fit perfectly, but the clasp in the back was a bit broken, so I ended up wearing the 10. I used two rows of fashion tape along the bust since it was fairly loose. I highly recommend this approach :) The material is great and the gold detail is really pretty. Lots of complements all evening. I will definitely be ordering this dress again for a trip to Vegas!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
March 12, 2014
The back keyhole was perfect to jazz up this LBD!

Fit was great, wore backless bra, and the length was good

Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
March 16, 2014
Perfect dress for the occasion!!

The dress was amazing and I got SO many compliments! I truly enjoyed wearing it! One thing I will say is that it is difficult to wear a bra especially If you are fuller chested. I ended up wearing the 12 because I am between sizes. I did have to do some pinning of the top to keep the ladies in check. Also the clasp on the back came broken so I had to pin myself into it. Other than that I got SO many compliments and I will be renting from RTR again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
March 28, 2014
Beautiful dress. Wore this out for a bachelorette party.

Gorgeous, fun dress! Runs true to size but the only reason I have it 4 stars was the neckline was super low. I used fashion tape to keep it in place, but even with that, I had to be really careful. Was very mindful of it the entire evening which was a bit of a bummer.

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
March 28, 2014
Couldn't wear the dress.

The clasp on the back of the dress was too loose (maybe someone had stretched the dress?) so it did not look good from the back. i ended up wearing the other dress I ordered.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Straight & narrow
April 2, 2014
Didn't end up wearing the dress

The dress was ok. It wasn't as dressy as I expected to be and didn't fit right.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 21, 2014
Loved it

This dress was super slimming - but don't forget the fashion tape!

Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Age: 38
April 24, 2014
I was very excited to wear this dress, but the fit was not what I expected.

This dress fit very tight at the waist and then very loose in top. I spent most of the night trying to make sure I was covered up.

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
May 5, 2014
Great dress

I loved this dress. The design and material are great. The top was a little big, but I used fashion tape and it was fine. Also had to wear a nubra with it. I was comfortable and received multiple compliments.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Body type: Apple
May 5, 2014
It was so comfortable and looked cute with flats :)

I had recently been in a car accident when I had to find a comfy dress for my best friend's birthday party. I ALWAYS wear heels, but was not able to after my accident and needed to find a cute, comfortable dress that would also look good with flats. This dress did the trick! I was incredibly comfortable and the dress went well with my Tory Burch flats. This dress is very simple, but classy...I would definitely rent again.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
May 13, 2014
Very cute!

Very cute dress but beware that the embroidered belt has no give. I am typically a size 4 and it was very tight on my ribs. I could not zip it up all the way. Luckily with my hair down and some fashion tape you couldn't tell.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
June 23, 2014
Didn't end up wearing the dress.

Key hole and the upper back fabric did not sit correctly on my shoulders and back- which left fabric too slack on front. I didn't want to be exposing myself that much at the party! Beautiful details on dress though- embroidery at belt area was gorgeous. Could actually see this dress being paired with leggings/booties too.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
July 9, 2014
Did not end up wearing it

Typically wear a 6, so ordered a 6 and they did not have an 8 to send me. The 6 was way too small, the skirt clung to my hips and looked way too tight. Unfortunately I ended up wearing something I had as I waited to the last minute to try it on--my fault! Wish I could have tried it in an 8, it really is a cute dress! The embroidered belt is less “bright” in real life which I like better, and the back cut out detail so cute!

See more reviews:
3 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×