Black Embroidered Keyhole Dress

$40 rental
$390 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Exclusive to Rent the Runway! This elegant Tibi dress has an unexpected embroidery detail and cut-out back that gives it an elegant bohomian vibe. Since this is a backless dress try and pair it with Nu Bra's Seamless Adhesive Bra and Hollyhood Fashion Tape's Double Sided Fashion Tape.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted empire waistband flattering on midsection but consider sizing up if you have a broad ribcage
HIPS: Not fitted - pleating in skirt conceals lower abdomen
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or NuBra; dress has deep v neck so may be worn with a cami or bralet underneath for a more conservative look
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted empire waistband flattering on midsection but consider sizing up if you have a broad ribcage
HIPS: Not fitted - pleating in skirt conceals lower abdomen
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or NuBra; dress has deep v neck so may be worn with a cami or bralet underneath for a more conservative look
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: All body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black crepe de chine. V neckline. Cap sleeves. Silver embroidered waistband. Pleated skirt. Keyhole opening in back. Hidden side zip.

Share
175 reviews
Fit
Large40
True to Size105
Small25
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 153lbs
December 10, 2013
Perfect dress for the birthday girl!
I really loved this dress! I wore this to my birthday dinner/party in Las Vegas and it was perfect! I opted for the larger size because the material is very clingy. I wanted to wear spanx but the material was clinging to the spanx too. With the larger size I was able to wear a bra and spanx and only used a little fashion tape to keep it respectable. The only reason I knocked off a star is because this dress came to me with a hole in it. It was so discreet that I didn't even notice it until I was getting ready that night. I ended up wearing it anyway and no one noticed. I called RTR to let them know and they refunded me for this style. This is a great, versatile dress that could work at any number of functions- wedding, party, cocktails, date, girls night out. If I rent again 'll make sure to do a thorough check of the dress for any issues.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
December 10, 2013
got lots of compliments
The closer in the back is not positioned so that the belt looks like an actual belt. I had no problem closing the back but it looked like it was pulling because the closers were not placed properly. Also, I got a 4 and a 6 but the 6 didn't have a slit in the back where as the 4 did. Some reason they weren't exactly the same. It was very pretty and got lots of compliments.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
December 2, 2013
I loved the belt detail
I wore this for a sorority event and I was not crazy about the fit. It was very large in the chest area and overall it was pretty big.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
December 1, 2013
Amazing Dress
I wore this dress to my 5 year high school reunion. The fit was great, you do need an adhesive bra because your bra will show in the back
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
November 11, 2013
Pretty dress, but not my favorite
The material and embroidery detail at the waist were beautiful - very soft dress with a nice drape. I found the 10 snug around my waist, so went with the 12. The bust on the 12 was very roomy and low cut, and as others have said, fashion tape is essential. I did manage to wear a stapless bra by using one of those extender staps (i am too busty for a nu bra). With the extender, i was able to criss cross the bra staps down below the opening in the back. It was semi-uncomfortable by the end of the night, but a necessary solution as i looked really saggy braless :-) The dress itself was comfortable and roomy in the hips/stomach, which is exactly what i need with my 3 months pregnant bloat. Overall the dress was pretty but didn't have the WOW factor that I usually get with RTR.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
November 3, 2013
Service was excellent but the dress did not fit
Cute dress, but not enough fabric in the chest area for someone who is tall with a bigger chest. I am 5' 10" and a size 34 D and the proportions of the dress just didn't work with my body type
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 23, 2013
Love it
I love this dress! You will need the double sided tape. You cannot wear a bra with it, unless you do stick ons.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 164lbs
October 20, 2013
Great fabric and I loved the "belted" waist!
This dress fit very well and looked just like the pictures, except that the front of the dress is open all the way down the gold "belt," which I wasn't comfortable with, so I pinned it. Otherwise I had a great night wearing this with lots of compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158lbs
October 15, 2013
great dress for a gala
Firstly my dress arrived at 8:54pm on the first rental date so I spoke with a stylist (Lauren dp) the following day to find out if I could return it on Sunday as my event was Saturday night. She was very informative as far as letting me know if I would be charged and could keep it through Sunday as this was my first time renting. While i understand its a cumulative 4 day rental..renting on a Wednesday with the dress arriving so late and due by noon on sat isn't 4 days at all so be aware that if your garment comes late you lose a day on top of it being due by noon of the due date (which is more of a two and half day rental) Upon arrival the packaging was really fantastic although I was bummed I couldn't use the speaker as I have an android not an i phone, so I gave it to my boyfriend's sister. I chose not to use the garment bag provided as I felt like I would've been a walking billboard going through the airport. The dress was nice, the 12 was only a little big but there was a lot of pinholes in the front from previous use that felt noticeable to me, so I wore the 10 which was a snug but sexy fit. I used individual sticker bra cups and the fashion tape to hold everything in place as you cant use a bra because of the back. I did have to use two safety pins to make the front less revealing. I got a lot of compliments on the dress however since it was a conservative affair I had a black shawl to go with the dress so the back wasn't as bold. I will definitely rent again in the future, however I would choose the 8 day rental just in case if I am going out of the country again. Waiting for it to come the day before a red eye flight was really stressful!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
October 13, 2013
Easy dress to wear and dance in, which was essential for the Xmas dinner/dance I wore it to.
Fit well, a little bit short for my long legs and torso, but I have the problem in most dresses. I love the neck line and the cut in the back. The band had tones of gold and silver so I could wear either color in jewelry.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
October 1, 2013
Didn't get to wear the dress...
Unfortunately this dress did not work out for me. I'm a pear shape and tried a size 2 - the top fit well, a little more loose then I would like considering it's a low vneck and can't wear a bra, but the bottom was way too tight. I got a 4 as a back up and the top was WAY too big, even though the bottom fit. Such is the life of a pear shaped girl :(
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 25, 2013
Being able to dance all night in my fun dress!
Not too form-fitting, and very comfortable! A little black dress with the extra metallic accent :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
September 23, 2013
Absolute Favorite so far
This dress was truly amazing. I ordered a 12 because a 10 wasn't available for the day I needed... the top was slightly loose and the 10 most likely would have been perfect, but regardless, after 7 or so dresses from Rent the Runway this one is by far my favorite. As other reviewers have mentioned, a bra (unless you are blessed with small enough boobs to wear a nu-bra) is not possible, and with the dress being slightly loose up top there was a need for some strategic taping, but nothing fell out throughout the night, so I call that a success. It is a very low cut dress, so if you are self conscious at all i would not recommend it. The material is soft and breathable, and the skirt hit about 2 inches above the knee (I am 5'7"). I will be badgering my husband to let me buy this dress, because it is one you can wear again and again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
August 25, 2013
Gorgeous dress. Something I would never buy, but loved trying it out for a weekend in Vegas!
This dress was beautiful and super sexy. Very low neckline combined with my 34A chest meant that fashion tape was a must! I love the cut-out back and the fitted waist. One issue, the hooks in the back of the dress had clearly been damaged and sewed back on. As a result, they would not stay shut on their own and I needed to be pinned into the dress. Thank goodness for girlfriends and safety pins. A little disappointing thought considering the quality and price of the dress otherwise.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
August 22, 2013
I did not end up wearing this dress.
This was my backup dress, and I was glad I rented another! The front is very low, and my boobs did not fill the space (I'm a 34B). I was very happy with my first choice dress, though! I recommend always getting the $25 back up dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
August 14, 2013
Loved it. I wore it for a museum cocktail event and it was great. I got a lot of compliments.
Fit perfectly but I could not wear my bra with it do to the back.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
August 12, 2013
Very flattering!
Beautiful dress! Really accentuates small waist... Love this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
August 10, 2013
Wayyy too big
Wayyy too big
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
August 4, 2013
Sexy, Little, Black Dress
I wore this dress to a friend's house party, and it's a sexy dress! It's even good to wear for a ladies' night out or even to a nice restaurant. The dress is super flattering for hourglass figures or if you like to accentuate your waist. The reason I gave four rather than five stars is because the back was a little tricky. There is a zipper and two clasps on top of the zipper, and you will need someone to help you with the clasps. It's probably good to order a size up.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 140lbs
August 3, 2013
In the right size and color, this would have been the perfect dress!
I was a bit disappointed with this RTR experience. I reserved this dress in blue, and had wanted a 6 and 8. There was no size 6 available, so I went with the 8 and a 4 and crossed my fingers. What arrived was two black dresses, sized 4 and 8, and one blue, size 4. The 8's were a bit loose, but the 4 was tight, so I opted for the black size 8. The front was very loose, and I had quite a bit of double stick tape keeping the whole operation from flashing my father-in-law. In the end, it was a very pretty dress, and I got lots of compliments on it. I can only imagine that if I had gotten a blue size 6, it would have been perfection. Sigh, on to the next rental.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
July 31, 2013
LOVED the style and material of this dress - very flattering!
The dress fit slightly big in the bust area but otherwise a fantastic dress. Would highly recommend for a fancy date night or trendy party.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
July 30, 2013
Cute, but not quite worth it...
Rented this dress as a back-up but ended up wearing it to a party. I typically wear a 6. A size 6 in this dress fit me fine everywhere but in my larger ribcage. Guess that is a common issue because one of the hooks on the back of the dress had apparently been broken off and hastily sewn back on. This attempted non-functional reattachment resulted in my poor boyfriend struggling with safety pins so I could even wear the dress. And as other reviewers pointed out, fashion tape is a must with the low cut neckline. All in all this was a little too much trouble to wear. Looked ok on but in my opinion, the end result was not worth the effort for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
July 26, 2013
Sexy, Classy Dress
I wore this dress for my birthday date with my husband. I ordered the 2 and the zero and tried the zero first. It fit like a glove, so I didn't even try on the 2. It is very low in the front - much lower than the model pic - but it was fun to wear something totally out of my comfort zone for a night. The fabric is very flattering without being clingy. The hostess at the restaurant we went to loved it and wanted to know where I got my belt - and was so disappointed when I told her it was part of the dress! I can imagine larger busted women would have a problem with the top, but this is one dress that did a good job of flattering a small chest.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
July 5, 2013
Ran way too big- could not wear it
I made a mistake when ordering- thought I had a back up size 8 but somehow missed it at checkout. I usually am a 10 but could not wear it- too big. Lesson learned- make sure you have a size down for this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
June 2, 2013
HOT!
This dress is sexy without being over the top. I received so many compliment, husband said I looked hot. Loved it, wish I could keep it for myself! It was a little big, which is norm for me with dresses, but totally wearable. I wore my NuBra and did not feel fashion tape was necessary.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
May 31, 2013
Great party dress!!
I wore this out for a night in Vegas and it was SO fun. It's a little low in the front so if you aren't into the chest exposure you might not like it. It was definitely a hit for the Vegas scene though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
May 29, 2013
pretty dress!!
I liked the cut of the dress since it's not my normal style. Dress fit well, but one if the clasps on the back would lay right so it bugged me. It poked out more. Other than that the dress is pretty and comphy!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
May 13, 2013
It wasn't - I ended up letting my little sister wear the dress.
It is very tight across the rib cage with no give. I ended up not wearing the dress, and instead giving it to my little sister to wear. She normally wears a size 6-8, and she fit into it fine (it was a little long on her, perfect length for me, and I'm 5'11" - she's 5'3"). Very pretty in person, but I really wish I could have actually worn it. It is low cut, but nothing indecent, just sexy.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124lbs
May 13, 2013
Elegant dress - perfect for cocktail event!
The gold stitching on the 'belt' was beautiful and the dress material was high quality. As other reviews mention, the front was incredibly loose (the fashion tape was a must-have)! A minor con was the clasp in the back of the dress - it was very touchy and came undone easily - I used a safety pin to keep it closed. However, overall it was a flattering fit for my athletic/ hourglass shape, a good length, and was perfect for my occasion!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 7, 2013
Pretty detail! Very flattering
The 4 fit well, although it did run a little big in the top. I should have used fashion tape like other renters said! I only gave it 4/5 stars because the clasp in the back did not lay flat. It made the dress look a little like it was bursting open in the back, but was not the least bit too small for me. I am unsure as to whether this was because of someone else that had worn the dress, or how it was made. Either way, I wore it anyway and got lots of compliments! Great length, beautiful detail. Perfect dress for the all-black bachelorette party I wore it to!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 23, 2013
Cute dress, too small though
Cute dress, pretty modest for the event I went to but it's cute, runs small though, needed a 6, ordered a 4, usually a 2 or a 4....
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 108lbs
April 14, 2013
Beautiful dress! Lots of compliments!
The fit was a bit large overall and I have a smaller chest which made the top a bit interesting, especially since the peek a boo back doesn't really allow for a bra BUT fashion tape to the rescue!! I just taped it up a bit in the front and it looked great!! Lots of compliments through the night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
April 9, 2013
Too Small!
The dress was super cute but there is no stretch to the band at all and it was cutting into my side. I ended up not wearing this dress for my event.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
March 10, 2013
na
na
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
March 4, 2013
The back on this dress is amazing, got tons of compliments!
I rented this as my back-up for my birthday party and I'm really glad that I had it. I got the 6, my usual size, and the 4 as my back-up since some reviewers said it ran big. I would have worn the 4, but the hooks in the back were pulling off, so I didn't feel like it would be safe to wear (had I tried it on earlier I'm sure I could have gotten another one shipped, but that was my own fault). It does run fairly big in the top, I'm a 34D and the 6 needed a safety pin and fashion tape in order to stay put. The back on this dress is great, but you won't be able to hide a bra strap under it (even the ones that go around your waist, I tried) so know that you'll need a sticky bra if you have any chest. The fabric is very light weight and it won't hold you in/up if you are at all curvy, but the shape of the dress is really flattering for hour-glass shaped girls! All of that being said, it ended up being a great night and with a sticky bra and some fashion tape this dress looked amazing all night long :)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
March 1, 2013
Great accent color. Loved the back!
The top was really large so I felt like i was messing with the top the whole time and had to put a safety pin/fashion tape. But, overall it fit nice and I liked it a lot!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 27, 2013
I didn't get to wear the dress
I ordered both a size 6 and 8 knowing fully that I tend to run larger on top (I wear a 36C bra) and I'm smaller on the bottom. The size 6 wouldn't zip up and clip but on the 8 it zipped up fine but was just too loose on top, I would've been falling out of it. Also, the dress hit me just above the knee and was a little too formal/conservative for the party I was going to. I was disappointed that it didn't work out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
February 26, 2013
Wore this for my birthday, so chic
Easy to wear
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
February 11, 2013
Probably better for the bustier ladies
I am petite and 32B, so that may have influenced my review, but this dress did not fit well at all. The top gaped open awkwardly, and could have been fixed with fashion tape for coverage, but the sleeves still oddly looked like wings in the armpit area. I ended up wearing a dress I already owned and was sad this didn't work out. The 0 was definitely too big--it came down nearly to my knees as well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
February 7, 2013
Very Flattering Dress!
Loved the dress, very flattering to curves! It's a little awkward to work a bra & tape is definitely needed!
See more reviews:
2 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×