Rent the Runway

Tibi

Babbet Lace Shift Dress

$70 rental
$560 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look chic for your event in this navy lace shift by Tibi. A style that can be worn year round for any semi-formal event. Go with accessories like the Kenneth Jay Lane Ruby Red Drops and Kate Spade's Emerald Anastasia Clutch to add dimension to your look!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra; fitted in bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra; fitted in bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Navy lace over silk(20% nylon; 60% cotton; 17% rayon with 100% silk; lining: 49% nylon; 51% acetate). Boat neckline. Three quarter sleeves. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 34'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

378 reviews

Fit
Small 60
True to Size 268
Large 44
Photos 173
rebecca
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 26, 2012

I wore this to a rehearsal dinner in March. It was perfect for that transitional time of year!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I'm a bit short, so the dress wasn't too short on me but I can see how it may be too short for a wedding/rehearsal dinner for anyone with some height. Also, at times dresses with this cut can restrict movement in your arms, but this did not at all. I really loved wearing this & would definitely recommend it!
Jackie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 26, 2012

Great for a fall outdoor wedding. A little short though!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved it and got a lot of compliments.
Allison
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 1, 2012

It was unforgettable because this dress stood out and received so many great compliments!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was perfect for the banquet I wore it too. It was a little tight around my hips and butt. This dress was perfect for the occasion and i got many compliments!
Jayme
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 1, 2012

Perfect for a girls night out!!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to an evening of dinner, drinks, and theatre. I was kind of inbetween a size 2 and 4. Because there is no definition in the waist, the 4 technically fit better but gave me absolutely no shape. It kind of looked like i was wearing a sack. I chose to go with the size 2. I had to have my boyfriend zip me up because the arms were tight and i couldnt reach my back. And it was a little on the short side. But I received so many compliments that night from my girlfriends! The lace was perfect and did not feel fragile at all. I loved the color and the nude underlay made it a little sexy! I paired it with nude pumps. Overall, the dress is flirty and fun, but the fit wasnt my favorite RTR selection so far
stella
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Oct 1, 2012

This dress was perfect for my fall wedding - lots of compliments!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was perfect for my fall wedding - lots of compliments!
Marie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Oct 2, 2012

LOVED THIS DRESS! Will rent again!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress has a way of making you feel sexy but comfortable. Will definitely be keeping in my favorites for future events.
Casey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 3, 2012

Super pretty!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress but for a summer wedding it was WARM. The fit was great and it's really easy to dance in. One woman at the wedding stopped me because she absolutely needed to know who designed the dress and where she could get it. I sent her your way!
Karen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 3, 2012

Knock out gorgeous!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This is a beautiful dress -- sexy but not showy. It was fun to wear and different from anything else I've worn. Love the length and the 3/4 sleeves! I'll be renting this one again.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Oct 3, 2012

Loved wearing this dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Super feminine and sexy at the same time- can't say enough good things!
Megan
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 12, 2012

Perfect for a May wedding

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this to a wedding in May, was perfect for not only the occasion but the temperature as well. I got compliments on my dress all night long! One of the best dresses I have ever worn.
Emily
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 14, 2012

Beautiful dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress as a back up for my cousins wedding. I did not wear it to the wedding because I decided to wear the other dress. However, I tried it on and it was gorgeous! I wish I could have worn it anyway!
MEG
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Body type: Straight & narrow
Oct 17, 2012

Perfect! Loved!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit great
Marta
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 17, 2012

As this dress is described, it's great year-round. I wore this to a wedding rehearsal.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The first thing I noticed from is the quality! The lace is beautiful and lining sewn perfectly. Because I am petite, it hit low-mid thigh (completely appropriate). I did notice that the sleeves (unlike the body) were not lined. This is usually not a deal-breaker, however, would have been nice given the cooler weather (October in Michigan). Like a previous reviewer mentioned, the dress is very comfortable except for the sleeves (because they are lace) do not yield.
DFD
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 113 lbs
Oct 21, 2012

BEST DRESS FOR ANYTHING!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I wore this dress for dinner while in San Diego-- this dress is one of the best dresses I have rented it is one of those that you wish you owned for good!
Kris
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
Oct 22, 2012

Perfect for fall wedding.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Tibi comes through again - this dress was perfect to wear to an elegant, fall wedding! The sleeves fit a little tight at first, but the lace did give in after trying on the dress. Overall, this is a beautiful dress that was very hard to send back.
christine
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 26, 2012

pretty dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was a bit loose throughout, except in the arms. I wish I had ordered the size 0 and size 2, but instead I ordered the 2 and the 4. The 2 was still a bit too big. The color and lace detail of the dress, however, was gorgeous!
Alison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 29, 2012

Perfect for a fall wedding!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was perfect for a fall wedding. I normally wear a 4, so I got a 4 and a 6. The 4 would have been too short on me, but I ended up wearing tights with it because it was cold, so the short length wasn't as noticeable. I would recommend getting your normal size and one size bigger to be safe.
Kayla
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 5, 2012

Dresses came right on time. RTR was a dream to work with.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Dress is very flattering. Color is beautiful navy. Pretty short but fine for my event. Many compliments from men and women.
Justine
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128 lbs
Nov 7, 2012

This was a great dress! I felt so beautiful in it and received a ton of compliments!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Rent the Runway was a great experience!!! The dress arrived at my hotel with 2 sizes to try on. The 2 fit perfectly. It was a bit short, especially when sitting, but the rest of the fit was great! I felt like a star in the dress! My husband loved the look and many guests complimented the dress! It was perfect for a fall wedding. I will definitely rent again!
ro
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 8, 2012

love the color

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
true to size
Kerianne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 9, 2012

Pretty dress. Arms are tight and the material is thick.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Dress is pretty. I usually wear a 0 or 2. The body of the dress fit great but the arms were tight. I could barely bend my arm as the material around the elbow was not forgiving and very thick.
heidi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 12, 2012

loved this dress, many compliments :)

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
ordered the 0 and the 2. The 2 didn't fit right and the 0 was perfect. Felt a little short on me, but others said it looked fine. a little hard to dance in since you can't put your arms up or the dress comes up too high! received lots of compliments though, and I wish I could own this dress to wear it again :)
Janell
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 12, 2012

Amazing dress, many compliments.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The only downfall of the dress was that the sleeves seemed a little tight and the length shorter than I'm use to.
Leah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Apple
Weight: 129 lbs
Nov 13, 2012

Fun!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The dress is a little short so if you're going to be sitting and getting up a lot, this might not be the best one. But it is super flattering! I found that it runs slightly large.
Mallory
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
Nov 15, 2012

Perfect for a Fall evening Engagement Party!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Straight fit, Tibi never fails! I wore it with peals and black suede pumps!
lpsych
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 25, 2012

Returned without wearing. Rented this for a summer wedding- long-sleeves in 116 did not seem ideal

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Looked lovely. Wish I had worn it but the weather was too hot for long-sleeves.
Jackie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 190 lbs
Nov 26, 2012

Very pretty, runs large

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
I ordered this dress as my backup for a dinner date with my boyfriend and ended up wearing it, because both the sizes in my first dress were too small in the bust. It was very beautiful, but I would recommended sizing down. It was way too big in the top. Gorgeous, though, and I would rent it again, just down a size.
Just Me
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 43
Body type: Straight & narrow
Nov 27, 2012

Great for Country Club!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this for Thanksgiving at our Country Club and it was perfect! Loved the dress and the detail.
Teddy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 1, 2012

Absolutely LOVE!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to my boyfriends Firms Holiday party and it was so perfect! Its a very classic shift dress & the lace makes it even more feminine and perfect. Also, the navy color is gorgeous. If you have any curves whatsoever, I would recommend sizing up because the dress will sit better and be much more flattering. I wore an 8 (usually a 6) and I loved the fit.
Ana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 2, 2012

Adorable. Tons of Compliments and felt so confident!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This fit like a glove. It worked really well with my dark hair / features and the best part about it was the level of confidence it gave me. I got a ton of stares and winks :) Do it!
liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Full Bust
Dec 4, 2012

Dress was too short

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
this dress was too short to wear so I went with my backup dress.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 9, 2012

stunning dress, would definitely rent again. got so many compliments!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Runs slightly big - I normally wear a 4 in dresses but I probably could have worn a 2 for a slimmer fit.
DK
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 13, 2012

Beautifully detailed lace shift.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this to an evening wedding at the top of a snowy mountain. The long sleeves were appropriate and length of the dress was appropriated for this elegant event.
CCK
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 16, 2012

Very ordinary

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I liked the dress but it was a plain dress not appropriate for a wedding. Everyday dress. Looks better in the picture than in hand. I did not wear this.
Dawn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Dec 16, 2012

Did not work for me..

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I LOVED how this dress looked online, but it did not work for me at all. The biggest problem is that it is very short. I'm only 5 ft 6 in, but this dress was completely inappropriate for a wedding. I was very disappointed that I couldn't wear it since it is a beautiful dress (and also annoyed that I paid to rent a dress that I didn't get to wear). Pear-shaped girls, this one is not for us.
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 17, 2012

Pretty dress - zipper poses an issue

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The dress is pretty. It didn't work for me. I tried the 6 and the 8. The dress fit okay, but because the zipper in the back is big and stiff, it kept bunching up. I could pull the dress down to fit just fine, but take a step and the zipper would move and bunch up into big curves on the back- hard to explain. I think the fabric for the zipper is too stiff. If you have a straight and narrow build, I think this dress will be great. If you have any curves the zipper will play tricks, and if you have a bust, the straight cut of the dress both flattens your bust and hides your waist. Made for a very unflattering look on me. As others have mentioned, sleevs are tight, but not horribly so.
Janet
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 17, 2012

Navy is a flattering color

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Great true to size fit! I received lots of compliments!
Zoe
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 19, 2012

Very cute dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
It doesn't exactly run small, but it is quite short. (Usually I just assume it looks short on the models, but this one was short on me too.) Otherwise, the fit was good.
shirtgirl
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 20, 2012

Beautiful Modest Dress for Fall/Winter

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I actually rented this as my "second choice" dress, and ended up wearing it. I loved the unique navy blue color, while everyone else was in black at my husband's company holiday party. I am 5'1", 110 lbs with a slight pear shape and this dress covered all the bases perfectly. It was form fitting but not tight. Short enough, but not slutty. Modest without looking like a nun :) I was able to wear a nude bra under it without it showing. I wore dark taupe satin shoes leftover from a wedding, but you could also wear nude, beige, navy or tan. I would recommend this dress.
Victoria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 29, 2012

love love love

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
wore this to a wedding, everyone loved it!!!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×