Babbet Lace Shift Dress

$71 to buy
$560 retail
Stylist Notes

Look chic for your event in this navy lace shift by Tibi. A style that can be worn year round for any semi-formal event. Go with accessories like the Kenneth Jay Lane Ruby Red Drops to add dimension to your look!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra; fitted in bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra; fitted in bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Navy lace over silk(20% nylon; 60% cotton; 17% rayon with 100% silk; lining: 49% nylon; 51% acetate). Boat neckline. Three quarter sleeves. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 34'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
390 reviews
Fit
Large
(44)
True to Size
(277)
Small
(62)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
July 5, 2012
Loved all the compliments and felt great in this dress!
While this dress may have been a little "fancy" for the event, I LOVED it! I wore it to a rehearsal dinner in Nantucket and it was so comfy and really chic. I received several compliments (more so from the pictures afterward) and felt great in it! I am 5' 9" so was a little worried about the length, but because it was a larger size (10), the length was perfect. I probably could have gone with a size smaller, but was comfortable in the size I received. I had several people tell me that I should own the dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110lbs
July 6, 2012
Classy!
I wore this dress to my brother's wedding which was 2months after I had a baby. I wanted something that wasn't fitted. This dress was perfect. I got so many compliments and felt beautiful. My dad called me the next day and told me I was the best dressed at the wedding!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
July 28, 2012
Wedding Success!
Such a fun and flirty dress. Will definitely rent again! Perfect for a wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
July 31, 2012
I was so excited to find this dress and even more excited when I put it on! I will be renting again (soon!).
This classy little number was perfect for a late summer wedding. I received tons of compliments on this little navy dress all night! The length a little past mid-thigh on me and was well-tailored, yet forgiving. The waist is not super fitted, but it is still flattering. My only complaint was that the material of the sleeves has no give and felt a bit tight in the size 0 vs the 2 (I have pretty small arms, too!). I wore the 0 bc I was swimming in the 2 (my usual size).
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 142lbs
August 1, 2012
I felt like the best dressed guest at the wedding! I was really comfortable and confident.
Can not speak high enough of this dress. The fit was perfect not too form fitting so I was extremely comfortable dancing. I usually where between an 6 & 8 because my chest is on the larger side. The 6 fit perfect though since the dress isnt meant to be very formfitting. I wore with nude pumps and the look was spot on. The dress was delivered in flawless condition. It looked brand new. People were complimenting me and the dress all night. I tried to buy the dress but cant find it available anywhere.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
August 8, 2012
Not Good for Hourglass Shapes
I loved that the sleeves made the dress a little more "conservative" but wasn't expecting the dress to be that short, especially on me since I'm not tall. I didn't have a back-up plan as I was already out of state, so I wore it anyway and was tugging on it the whole day and evening. I definitely fit that hourglass shape to a T and, for me, unfortunately the dress was too big through the waist and too small through the hips - even in the size 8. Got so many compliments on the dress, though! Would totally recommend it for someone who is "straight and narrow"!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
August 10, 2012
Beautiful detail
This was a back up dress for my best friend's engagement party. I ended up choosing another dress simply because the two sizes I ordered did not fit me as well as the other dress. I have a pear shape body, and like dresses to have more of a slim fit in the waist area. While it didn't fit me well, it fit my friend perfectly! She is more of a straight body type (less curvy). I ordered the dress in a 4 and 6, she ended up wearing the 4. She looked beautiful and her husband kept asking her to buy the dress! The dress runs large so definitely size down! If you're pregnant this could be a good dress to pick as it has some room in the stomach area (my friend was 3 1/2 months pregnant) you couldn't tell but I bet it would still look great on her if she had more of a bump. The details on the dress are very pretty as well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
August 10, 2012
Cute But Large
This dress was a nice fit but ran very large, even at 4 months pregnant I could have worn a size 2. I normally weight 117 but right now am 133 (pregnant). Despite the size issue the dress was VERY cute and worked perfectly for a rehearsal dinner.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
August 13, 2012
Amazing Dress
I absolutely loved this dress. I found the overall fit and length to be true to size. I did find the length to be a tiny bit short, so I would order one size up just to be sure. The fabric and color is beautiful. I received tons of compliments on it, and had a blast wearing it. I would rent it again in a heartbeat.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
August 13, 2012
Lovely in Lace!!!
This was my first RTR experience and I am hooked! Loved the dress, very beautiful and flattering - lots of compliments. The entire process was so much fun and effortless.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135lbs
August 14, 2012
a hit!!
gorgeous shade of blue, stunning lace fabric. Exposed back zipper gives an unexpected edgy twist!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
August 15, 2012
Love this dress!
A great alternative for a black dress, wore it to a fall wedding and received SO many compliments. I wish I owned this one!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 16, 2012
Loved this !
I wore this for my bridal shower in February, and it fit great! Received lots of compliments, so comfy and beautiful!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
August 17, 2012
Loved it!
I rented this for a Memorial Day weekend wedding in Napa Valley. It was comfortable and I got a ton of compliments. It was on the verge of being too short, so I had to be a little cautious when getting out of cars, etc. Really pretty dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
August 18, 2012
so many compliments!
I rented this dress for a rehearsal dinner. It was appropriate for the occasion and absolutely beautiful. I received compliments all night long. I'm hesitant to say that it runs large because it fit fairly well however the cut (at the waist specifically) was very straight. I felt like it would have been a bit more flattering if it had a little more shape. But I guess thats what a shift dress is. The zipper in the back was also very rigid and stuck out if you turned. That being said, I'm still very pleased with the dress and felt great in it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
August 20, 2012
It was SO easy!
I was worried because designer dresses can run small but ordered a 6 and back up 8 and 6 fit perfectly! I received so many compliments, felt beautiful and comfortable!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Apple
Weight: 127lbs
August 20, 2012
Made me feel like a star!
The dress is absolutely amazing! It is a beautiful and fits like a glove. Good for all body types. I wore it to a wedding and I can't even begin to count the amount of compliments I received. The worst thing about the dress is having to give it back!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
August 24, 2012
perfect dress!!
Wore this to a wedding and 4 months later I was still getting complements on it. Wish I could've bought it
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 25, 2012
Perfect spring wedding attire
I wore this to a daytime Catholic wedding in March. It was the perfect combination of fun & conservative that worked for the church ceremony and the evening reception. It was also very comfortable and easy to dance in!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
August 27, 2012
I didnt have to stress about the dress
I rented this for my 30th birthday party that was a mix of my friends/family/boyfriend's family. It was short enough it was sexy but long enough that it was appropiate! It looked great on and I got compliments all night on it and the next day on facebook. Th eonly thing is that it has NO giev whatsoever. It was a little tight in my arms but you couldnt notice. I would def rent it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
August 28, 2012
I felt amazing in this dress! I outshines everyone. It's a stunning and comfortable dress and I got a ton of compliments.
I rented this dress for a Wedding and it was a hit! I looked extremely beautiful and felt amazing in it. I was super comfortable and felt drop dead gorgeous in it. It's very flattering and elegant. I am 5'2 and it was short so I'm not sure how short this looks on a taller woman; however, I liked the length of it because I thought it was fun and flirty. The long sleeves help keep you warm especially in a chilly church or reception hall. The lace details on this dress are exquisite. If you plan on renting this dress make sure to go a dress size down than you normally wear. I got the 8 but it was a little loose; however, it still looked good on me and I felt great in it.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
September 10, 2012
Loved this dress. I'd buy it if I could!
Great dress for a late summer wedding. Fits true to size. Received lots of compliments!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
September 10, 2012
Perfect Fall Cocktail wear!
I loved the color, lace material & sleeves on this Tibi Blue shift dress! It was very flattering & fit true to size. I got lots of compliments throughout the night on my dress! Thank you RentTheRunway.com!
BrookeAugust 25, 2013
Shoes! Where did you get those shoes?
stephanieSeptember 9, 2013
BCBG
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
March 22, 2013
Too Short!
Great dress but way too short for me. Could not lift my arms or bend over so I chose my back up dress instead.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
March 24, 2013
Wore this for rehearsal dinner of wedding boyfriend was lovely dress!
Love the fit of this dress classy yet surprisingly sexy with comfortable fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
March 29, 2013
Too loose, boxy cut
This was my backup dress and it just hung on my petite frame like a straight sack. Probably will look better on someone with a bigger bust or more curves to begin with. I ended up going with an old dress from my closet since neither dresses worked out for me this time.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 52
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
March 31, 2013
I loved this dress - much prettier than picture shows
paired with nude heels for a longer, leaner look
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
April 1, 2013
Such a cute dress! Classy, but lots of fun.
I had a blast accessorizing this dress, and the shoe possibilities are endless! I think that it runs pretty true to size everywhere but the length. I caution anyone who considers herself a wild dancer... the dress is short! I loved the dress, but I would have loved it even more with another inch or two in the length!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 129lbs
April 2, 2013
The dress just made me feel great!
I fell in love with this dress immediately! It's so beautiful and I got so many compliments. I usually wear a size 4 but that was too short for me so I went up to the 6. The sleeves were a little tight but didn't bother me. It was perfect!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 138lbs
April 5, 2013
I LOVED this dress!! I wore it to a wedding with some simple jewelry & it was a hit.
I would size up for comfort because it does not stretch at all. This dress was great for dancing and moving around. It was VERY flattering as well.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 59
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 6, 2013
Loved wearing this dress!
Dress was delivered to a location I was visiting far from home. The details that others posted on RTR were helpful in putting the look together. Loved receiving two sizes and dropping everything off in the UPS bag the next day. Less stuff to carry back home from vacation. I will use Rent the Runway for special events from now on. Excellent experience.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
April 7, 2013
LOVE THIS DRESS!
I wore this dress to a Rehearsal dinner. It fit absolutely perfect and it was SO pretty! The lace detail is great. It was the perfect dress for the occasion.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
April 15, 2013
Dress was so short I could not wear it.
Wish it were a couple of inches longer!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 16, 2013
Perfect for Garden-style Wedding
All of the reviews I read before renting were spot on -- this dress is very flattering and pretty comfortable! I love the color and lace is on-trend, so it was perfect. Received numerous compliments from friends and other wedding guests! The only minor issues to be aware of: 1) the dress is pretty short -- I am 5'2'' and needed to pull the dress down from time to time. And 2) if you have bigger/more muscular arms, it may be bit tight. The material isn't very stretchy/doesn't have a ton of give. I loved it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
April 24, 2013
Loved this dress! Was a little shorter than I thought but otherwise fit great.
Length was a little short
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
May 6, 2013
Classy, yet sexy
Loved this dress. My second RTR and second Tibi. I wore it for a bachelorette party in northern Michigan in the spring. It fit great, maybe a little short, but cute. I didn't seem to have a problem with the liner under the lace peeking out. The sleeves were a bit tight but not uncomfortable. I would definitely recommend - it was adorable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 15, 2013
Beautiful Dress
This was a gorgeous dress and the detailing was beautiful. I ended up not wearing it for 2 reasons. 1 - where the zipper ends the dress bunches up. I probably could have made it work with a belt or a smaller size but then it would have been too tight in the arms. 2 - it was a warm Spring day and with the lining and lace, it's heavier then you think and I was sweating the minute I put it on. Overall, it's a beautiful dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36F
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 166lbs
May 19, 2013
Great dress that shows off legs
Fit a bit tight on my chest, loose on waist, and just right on hips with a pair of shapwear. Typical shift dress fit. I loved it! Would be good in all seasons! I felt confident in it, and it was sexy without being cheesy.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128lbs
May 20, 2013
I thought it was super comfortable and sophisticated.
I felt the fit was great. I am more of an athletic-apple shape and I thought it slimmed me down, but kept my curves. I loved the three-quarter sleeves and I loved the blue hue.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 136lbs
June 3, 2013
Too small on chests bigger than DD
I ordered this for a wedding. I had just had a baby so wasn't sure what size I would need. The dress fit fine in the body but even in the size 10 was too tight on my 36F bust. I ended up going with my backup dress instead. I would say it fits true to size overall but is not for overly busty girls.
See more reviews:
4 / 10

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×