Babbet Lace Shift Dress

$71 to buy
$560 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Look chic for your event in this navy lace shift by Tibi. A style that can be worn year round for any semi-formal event. Go with accessories like the Kenneth Jay Lane Ruby Red Drops to add dimension to your look!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra; fitted in bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra; fitted in bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Navy lace over silk(20% nylon; 60% cotton; 17% rayon with 100% silk; lining: 49% nylon; 51% acetate). Boat neckline. Three quarter sleeves. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 34'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
390 reviews
Fit
Large
(44)
True to Size
(277)
Small
(62)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
November 4, 2013
NOT for tall girls!
This dress fit small for me. It didn't have ANY give at all. I dont think it's a great fit for athletic or curvy girls. It was tight when zipped but the real issue is it barely covered my bottom. It was waaaay to short for me at 5'9". It was a backup dress and thank goodness I didn't need it. The dress itself is GORGEOUS and I would highly recommend for more petite ladies, though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 1, 2013
Wore this to my engagement party- Everyone said it looked beatuiful
I really liked this dress. It was very comfortable and I was able to wear a regular bra with it, which was nice. The sleeves were a bit tight & took some time to get used to. My biggest complaint was the slip was longer than the lace part of the dress so I spent much of the night messing with that.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
October 31, 2013
Cute and comfortable for a fall wedding .
The dress was very pretty and comfortable. It fits a bit baggy, however the short length shows a little bit of skin.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
October 28, 2013
Dress was perfect for the event
Wish the dress was an inch or two longer so that I would have felt comfortable dancing, but overall this is a great dress and I had fun wearing it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
October 26, 2013
Beautiful Dress! Felt like a princess!
Amazing dress and great for showing off your legs! :D
eftalyaJanuary 1, 2013
Love your necklace, you look so elegant!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
October 23, 2013
First time rent.
Arms are snug. Forgiving fit.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
October 23, 2013
Perfect dress for a Fall wedding
I wore this dress to a rustic Fall wedding and I couldn't have picked a more perfect dress. The fabric was just the right weight to keep me cool even though it has sleeves. I started out the night wearing with nude heels then changed to my boots for the reception. This is a kind of dress you can dress up or down, which is great! I highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106lbs
October 23, 2013
Didn't want to return this dress!
This was a great dress for the "petite" girl. Fit great, was not too snug and not too long. I was surprised that with this type of dress it was "fitted" enough to show off your shape! You know its a great dress when you get compliments from women that you don't know. Hated to return it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
October 22, 2013
I felt beyond fabulous in this dress!
True to fit. Amazing dress and fit like a glove, wish I had gotten pictures to upload. Tons of compliments including from the mister. Was a very sad day when I had to send it back.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 114lbs
October 19, 2013
It was the perfect dress! I got a lot of complements about the dress.
The dress fit well. The length was just right...not to short. The dress did bow a bit at the neckline and did not sit as well as it should have. Aside from that, it was wonderful.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
October 16, 2013
Loved how this dress made me feel!
This was my first RTR experience, and it was a bit nerve-wracking putting all my faith in the fit one day before a big event. Luckily, both the 8 and the 10 fit-but as I knew I would be running around the event all night-It made more sense to be comfortable. I LOVED the dress and had many compliments. It was very short though-made sitting a little tricky. I would buy this dress though!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 16, 2013
Wonderful dress, true to size, compliments galore.
Slightly small in the arms for me, but I think my arms are thicker than normal. A bit short for tall girls, so I couldn't raise my arms over my head without showing too much. Overall very pleased, though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 15, 2013
My new RTR Favorite!!
Loved this dress, perfect for a fall wedding! It's by far one of my favorite rentals yet. Very comfortable, although I am only 5 foot (wore 4 inch heels) and the length was perfect, but I would imagine it would be a little short if you were much taller. I ordered a size 2 and 4 and ended up going with the 4, only because I had an 18 week baby bump to fit in the dress as well :) Typically, the 2 would have been perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 116lbs
October 14, 2013
Classy and sexy!
I LOVED this dress! I typically wear strapless/sleeveless dresses so this was definitely out of my comfort zone. But I was looking for something a little more conservative but still sexy. This dress nailed it! It fit exactly how a shift dress should fit. A little roomy in the waist and hips but very complimentary to your figure. I liked that it was short because that's what made it sexy while keeping it classy. I wore nude Spanx underneath it so I didn't have to worry about flashing anyone. You definitely wouldn't put your arms above your head dancing or everything would show. The lining did stick out at the bottom and I thought it looked better with it not showing so I lined it with fashion tape and folded it under and it was perfect! The material was completely comfortable and although the sleeves were snug it wasn't bothersome. I would absolutely rent this dress again. I'm addicted to Rent the Runway. Their customer service is outstanding and the dresses always look brand new and well taken care of. The customer photos and reviews make it so easy to pick the right dress and the right size. Thanks RTR for making dress shopping easier than ever!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
October 13, 2013
Liked it but wouldn't rent it again
I was really excited to get this dress because I love the look on the model however I felt the dress ran large and the size 0 was a little more loose-fitting than it is supposed to be. Don't try to lift your arms up while dancing or the crowd will get a show :). All in all it was comfortable and looked good - I received many compliments, but would choose another dress next time.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
October 12, 2013
Obsessed. I would buy it if I could!
The fit was great- TTS, and it was not tight in the arms. The only problem was that if you lifted up your arms, you'd probably flash everyone (pray that Shout doesn't come on at the party). Despite the numerous side hugs I gave in consideration of this, it was the PERFECT dress. I loved the delicate look of this dress, and it was exactly what I wanted for this occasion (fall engagement party). Like I said above, if I could buy it I would!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 9, 2013
I absolutely loved this dress!
The only thing was that the arms were a bit big in the back !
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 8, 2013
Very fun (and short...)
I usually wear a 4 but with long sleeved dresses I go up a size because I am broad. I really loved this dress. Felt comfortable all night (although it's a bit short.)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 8, 2013
Late Summer Wedding on Nantucket, 09/21/13
This dress is absolutely stunning! I wore it to a late summer outdoor wedding, and it was perfect for the occasion. Perfectly preppy for the ACK scene but young enough to still be fun! I usually go between a size 4 or 6 for dresses; I wore a 6 in this one; while the fit was fine, i found it to be a bit short (ie no arms over head dancing!). A few other people have noted this, however the 8 was too large and boxy so I went with the 6. I decided to wear sandals last minute as it was an outdoor wedding, but if you are wearing heels (as I had originally planned) it might be veering on the side of inappropriately short.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
October 7, 2013
Great dress for a fall wedding!
I wore this dress to an early October wedding on the East Coast, and it was a bit warm with the long sleeves! Would have been perfect in cooler weather! I thought the fit was fine, except the length! I thought that the dress would be longer on me since I am petite, but, as I read in other reviews, it was a little shorter than I would have liked. I may have even gone down a size if the dress had been longer. Fortunately, I was still able to dance without worrying about it too much! Overall, this was a great dress! The detail in the lace is beautiful!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
October 7, 2013
Great dress for a short girl
I am pretty short (5'5) and this dress was the perfect length for me. The arms were a bit tight as others mentioned, but not uncomfortably so. The lace was pretty and could be worn for a wedding or other formal event.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 141lbs
October 1, 2013
Loved this dress! The amount of compliments I got was awesome! The dress was very comfortable too!
Fit was perfect! All pros and not a single con
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
September 30, 2013
I got a lot of compliments and felt very sophisticated.
This was a great dress, I loved the lace and the color. I am usually a 6 but they didn't have it available so I got the 4 and the 8, but the 4 worked really well. It was a little short so I had to be careful when I was dancing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
September 29, 2013
Classy but sexy :)
I'm 5'9 so I tend to have issues with the length of dresses. I ordered the 6 as a back up and went back and forth as to which one I should wear. In the end, I chose the 4 because the 6 bunched up quite a bit in the back and was definitely too big. The fact that the top and sleeves make the ook more conservative made me feel comfortable with showing a little extra leg. I wore with 4 inch nude peep toe pumps. I received compliments all night! I didn't want to return it! :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 29, 2013
Classy and chic. Received LOTS of compliments on this dress.
Fits true to size. Sleeves are fitted, I have small wrists and it fit them snugly.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 29, 2013
I wore this dress for a late September wedding in Maine. It was a perfect dress for the fall!
This dress is SHORT!! If your butt/thighs are on the larger side - beware. I am short myself (4'11"), but I have a bit of junk in my trunk and generous thighs that always cause dresses to ride up shorter than they are intended to be. I managed to make it the whole night without flashing anyone, luckily, and I received many compliments throughout the night. I would say it was a success overall, but if you don't feel like your legs are your best asset, I wouldn't recommend this one.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
September 25, 2013
What a fantastic dress! All the reviews were spot on! A must rent!
This was my 5th rental from RTR so I knew I was going to get a great fit along with amazing service. I have wanted to rent this dress for a while but it's conservative for me. However, when my husband was inducted to his college Hall of Fame, I knew it would be the perfect dress. RTR only had the 0 and not a 2 available, but the reviews made me confident that the 0 would be all I needed. I also rented another dress, so bucking up $25 wasn't a gamble to me. The dress was awesome. I am lean with 34B and 5'4" and everything fit great. There was a big of extra fabric in the arch of my back but you wouldn't be able to sit in the dress if there wasn't. The arms weren't tight for me at all, and the length hit the perfect spot. I pared this with nude patent leather round toe pumps and a little Louis. Perfect! Thanks ;) (again!!)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 25, 2013
The PERFECT dress for a fall wedding!
My boyfriend saw this dress up on the hanger once it was shipped to me and claimed that it looked like a "fancy sheet". Well, once I tried it on for him he was completely taken aback. It was conservative enough to wear to the church, yet chic enough to make a statement. The dress was the perfect length, and just form-fitting enough that it wasn't boxy. I would not hesitate to rent this dress again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 23, 2013
This dress was perfect for a Fall Rehearsal Dinner.
It was super comfortable and fit true to size. The navy blue color is stunning. I got so many compliments. I will definitely use RTR again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
September 19, 2013
Just wore it to brunch, but it still got noticed!
I rented this along with another dress thinking that I would wear it for a night out which didn't happen. Instead, I wore it to church and brunch, but people that I didn't even know were complimenting me on my dress. It would have fit better on me if I was more straight through the hips, since the cut is very straight. Also it is a bit short as others have said, but not more than the picture of the model indicates.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 20
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
September 18, 2013
So simple!
the fabric is a little itchy but overall it fit great and I loved it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
September 18, 2013
The dress was so classy and I felt beautiful.
The only con was that the slip would occasionally show on the bottom, but everything else was amazing. It was an eye catcher and I received many compliments. I wish I owned the dress, would definitely wear again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
September 16, 2013
Versatile
This is a great dress for many occasions. The sleeves are really tight though, which is kind of annoying. Besides that it fits well and is super cute.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
September 16, 2013
LOVED this dress- I received so many compliments!
Fit is true to size- having a fuller bust I had concerns it would be too tight but it worked out great. Very comfortable- definite will rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
September 13, 2013
Just enough coverage for a black tie wedding in Charleston SC Heat
I wore this dress for a very formal wedding in May in Charleston, SC. It was hot, but this dress was breathable enough to keep me relatively cool. FIT - The sheath shape of this dress fit me great. I had some room in the midsection, but I think it is supposed to fit that way. I have very athletic shoulders and it was a little tight there and around my arms wear the sleeves ended. It was slightly uncomfortable but not so bad that I wouldn't wear it again. I was worried that I wouldn't be dressed up enough with all the high society at this wedding, but I felt very appropriate. Between me & my girlfriend, who wore the Tibi Angelic gown, we both got lots of compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 10, 2013
Beautiful dress and received a lot of compliments on it!
Loved the dress, but ran a little big as I usually where a 2 and ended up wearing the 0. It's a little short, so be careful spinning on the dance floor;)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
September 9, 2013
Perfect REHEARDAL DINNER attendee dress! CUTE, SEXY, FUN!
This dress is great because it stands out from your basic black but is still fun because it is short and shows just enough leg to be sexy, but covers enough up top so you're not showing too much. It hit mid-thigh on my and I'm short and petite-- 5'1, around 100 lbs. I wore a nude regular bra underneath and it was fine. The back did bunch a little as others mentioned, especially when I sat, but it was not noticeable. This dress is a 10! I loved it and would rent it again for another occasion for sure! But then again, there are so many others to try. Thanks RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 5, 2013
Great dress for a winter wedding!
Runs a bit big, but worked out well with the length and dancing at a wedding! Received a ton of compliments and wish I could have kept it longer. Did have to be careful with my bracelets not to get caught in the lace and did see a small snag on the larger size that I didn't wear.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
August 30, 2013
Beautiful! The lace is so pretty!
This dress is great for a date night or a night wedding. Love the lace on the bottom which gave the dress a playful vibe. Would definitely recommend!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
August 21, 2013
Very straight and boxy fit, but very cute.
I wore this for my bridal shower and it was very cute. But it is cut very straight so the 0 was too tight on my butt, but the 2 was too loose on the arms. However, I ended up wearing a 2 and it was still great. This is a wonderful "girly" dress.
See more reviews:
4 / 10

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×