Tibi

Babbet Lace Shift Dress

$71 to buy
$560 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Look chic for your event in this navy lace shift by Tibi. A style that can be worn year round for any semi-formal event. Go with accessories like the Kenneth Jay Lane Ruby Red Drops to add dimension to your look!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra; fitted in bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Navy lace over silk(20% nylon; 60% cotton; 17% rayon with 100% silk; lining: 49% nylon; 51% acetate). Boat neckline. Three quarter sleeves. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 34'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
390 reviews
Fit
Large
(44)
True to Size
(281)
Small
(62)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 117lbs
April 16, 2014
Loved this dress!
I was nervous about wearing this dress to a rehearsal dinner because of all the reviews about it being super short. It hit me midthigh, though, and I felt totally comfortable in it. Got TONS of compliments! I ordered a 2 and a 4 and ended up wearing the 4.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 29, 2014
Classy yet fun!
I read the reviews about the dress being too short for a wedding and still decided to try it out because I couldn't resist the details of it. While the dress is definitely short, it is not inappropriate; the sleeves balance it out nicely. I typically wear a 6 and had originally ordered the 4 and 6 . Thank goodness I switched the back up to an 8 after reading to "size up" for your extra size. It falls so nicely that you don't have to worry about sucking in at all :) I wore it with nude pumps to an evening April wedding. Lots of compliments! If you are self conscious about your legs, you might want to pass; but if not - go for it!!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
May 3, 2014
Great dress! Loved the color and style. Received tons of compliments.
Loved this dress! The only problem was that it was a little short, so I went up to a size 6.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
May 11, 2014
cute dress
cute dress, definitely a little too short for my taste, but i got compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
June 8, 2014
Great wedding dress! Highly recommend. Elegant.
This dress is beautiful. Went from 2 up to 4 because sleeves are fitted tight. If you have broad shoulders or are large-chested, it becomes a tad challenging. Was skeptical on what size would fit me. On the short side, so dress fit me well. Love the dress in person!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 48
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
July 17, 2014
Stunning Dress
Once again, renting in haste proved to be a mistake. The dress is beautiful, but it has no give whatsoever... being bloated did not help me either.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
August 28, 2014
I'm 5 ft tall and the hem hit just below mid thigh, good length. The blue looked great too!
I really liked the look of the dress but unfortunately it didn't fit too well with my shape. The back zipper puckered the entire time at my lower back because of my larger booty and it was a bit bothersome having to fix it throughout the night. In my humble opinion, it might fit better on a more slender body type. Still loved the dress though!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 10, 2014
Great dress! I couldn't believe how "brand new" it felt! Loved it!
Great dress. Beautiful color and lace. Flattering across arms and neck. Thought it was a little tight across my booty. I typically wear a size 4 dress, but I went up a size so the back wouldn't be too tight / too short. Lots of compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 113lbs
October 13, 2014
Couldn't wear this dress..
I'm usually a 0 or a 2, and while they couldn't ship me the 0 (previous renter returned it in poor condition), they shipped the 2. Even the bigger size was too tight and too shorts, per the other reviews. Wish I had ordered a 4, as I couldn't wear the 2.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
October 18, 2014
Beautiful dress!
Runs small, too tight even with a larger size, and too short for a wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
October 21, 2014
Too Small
I was really looking forward to wearing this dress; however, it was a bit snug and I knew I would feel uncomfortable all night. Also, the lace was stretched out in areas due to wear. The dress is very pretty and I loved the color.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 2, 2014
great dress!!! so many compliments! very classy and elegant - perfect dress for a wedding
i ordered a 6 and an 8. wore the 8 and probably should have worn a 10 - it was tight and a tad short however with the long sleeves, the length ended up being okay. i typically wear a 6 or 8 so would definitely say this runs a bit on the small size. overall, loved the dress! definitely recommend it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
November 3, 2014
Pretty dress but short.
The dress was really pretty but didn't end up wearing because it was really short....and I'm petite! It also kind of "bubbled in the back". Didn't really lay right.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
November 12, 2014
The dress is beautiful and I got tons of compliments on it. Would definitely rent again.
I am really short so I expected to have no problems with length. I was really surprised how short it was on me. Also the lace sleeves do not have a lot of give to them so if you raise your arms high enough above your head the dress will come with it. I tried on the 2 to compare it for length but that was really baggy in the waist.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 22, 2014
LOVE this dress!
I felt like the dress ran a bit small. I can usually fit in a 4 or 6, but needed an 8 for this dress. LOVED the dress though. Hated to send it back. I would have worn it again and again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 12, 2014
awesome dress
i was so happy i got the second size in a 2 when the 0 barely fit over my hips! the 2 fit well, but it's not a loose, flowy fit. the arms don't have much give, so i don't know how it would be to dance in it. that being said, i wore it to a rehearsal dinner and got a ton of compliments!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 22, 2014
really beautiful dress, perfect for a slightly fancier short dress
this dress was slightly small and pretty short but i was so happy i wore it. a little tight in the bust. i got tons of compliments and would definitely wear it again for a wedding
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
November 4, 2014
tight in the hips area, not a fan
i keep hoping to become a huge fan of RTR but thus far haven't been sold. this dress came and i found that although it was the right length it was quite large in the back and didn't fall smoothly at all. i ended up wearing the 10 because i found the 8's arms were just way ttoo tight / the butt area was way too tight. dress sizing continues to confuse me as i just bought a size 6 dress from saks in this brand.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
March 28, 2015
Wasn't able to wear it
There seemed to be no difference in the 2 sizes I ordered... both were tight in the same places. The larger size was not the least bit looser. I'm wondering if there was a mix up in the labeling of the sizes I received? I am normally a 4 or 6 and ordered 6 or 8 just to be safe. Wasn't able to wear either. Bummer. Very pretty dress though!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 29, 2015
Beautiful color and lace. I got a lot of compliments but the fit was not great.
My hips are not really proportionate to the rest of my frame and this dress was too tight around my hips, which made it bunch awkwardly in the back. Would be better for someone straight and narrow.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
August 6, 2015
too small
i couldn't wear this because it was too small but it is very cute
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
May 28, 2013
It was so fun getting ready and knowing that I was going to get to put this dress on.
I am breastfeeding and my boobs are ENORMOUS right now. I wanted something that would cover them up as much as possible. This shift was the perfect option. It was a very flattering and I felt very sexy: which is a rare thing for a postpartum mama!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
November 23, 2013
Loved it!
This dress was the perfect dress for a fall wedding. I've rented many dresses from Rent the Runway and this is the first one that I've loved so much I posted a review! The fit was great except for the arms. I had to size up because the lace doesn't give at all- which was okay! You'll love this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
December 13, 2014
Beautiful & SHORT!
I'm short, and I like to sometimes show off my short legs! This dress did just that. I can't imagine being any taller than 5'4" and getting away with this dress without tights. If I were to have raised my arms, well…. you get the picture. Other than the shortness which was just a surprise, the dress was really lovely. I love a good lace shift dress. This one is perfect for anytime of year and really any event!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 15, 2015
This was my first RTR experience. This dress was absolutely beautiful. I was so excited to wear it.
I decided to rent this dress in an 8 and a 10. I had recently lost a bit of weight, and I can fit into a 6, but I was skeptical as far as renting one, so I stuck with bigger sizes. RTR contacted me and let me know the 10 would not be available in time for the wedding. They offered to let me pick a different dress, and let me have that other dress in an 8 and 10 as well! So I had two different dresses in three different sizes to chose from. This dress actually ran a bit small in the upper body. the sleeves were a bit tight, and I couldn't really lift my arms overhead so I decided to wear it to the rehearsal dinner instead of the wedding. It was a bit short, as I am 5'5, but I still loved wearing it, and I felt beautiful in it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 1, 2012
It was unforgettable because this dress stood out and received so many great compliments!
This dress was perfect for the banquet I wore it too. It was a little tight around my hips and butt. This dress was perfect for the occasion and i got many compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
October 29, 2012
Perfect for a fall wedding!
This dress was perfect for a fall wedding. I normally wear a 4, so I got a 4 and a 6. The 4 would have been too short on me, but I ended up wearing tights with it because it was cold, so the short length wasn't as noticeable. I would recommend getting your normal size and one size bigger to be safe.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 9, 2012
Pretty dress. Arms are tight and the material is thick.
Dress is pretty. I usually wear a 0 or 2. The body of the dress fit great but the arms were tight. I could barely bend my arm as the material around the elbow was not forgiving and very thick.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 5, 2013
Very pretty dress.
Very short so order a size up for length.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 2, 2013
LOVED this dress!
I rented this dress in both the 6 and the 8 based on some of the prior reviews. I'm so glad I had the 8. I could have worn the 6 but the arms were SO SNUG (and I don't have big or long arms). I wore the 8 and was much more comfortable. I can wear a small or 4 in some dresses, but am typically a standard 6. I do have somewhat broad shoulders so maybe that contributed to the arm issue with the 6. I'd suggest going a size up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
May 29, 2013
The color and style were really original-I felt glamorous on this dress.
The dress was a huge hit at a family wedding-it was a bit short compared to my norm but everyone assured me that it wasn't indecent! The arms and thighs were a bit tight while the middle section was loose but I had expected that was how it would fit my body type. I would definitely rent again, I had a great experience and it felt like I was "dressing up" for the party.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 10, 2013
This was a great dress, loved the lace, but it was a little too short for a wedding.
I loved the dress, but thought it was too short to wear to a wedding. From the front it actually looked okay, but the back didn't seem long enough. I couldn't bend over, lift my arms to dance, etc. Other than the length the dress fit fine.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
November 18, 2014
Too Small and short
I ordered the 8 and the 10 in this dress and it was very body hugging...both sizes were just too tight and very short.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Body type: Hourglass
October 21, 2011
Best compliment of the night - "Nice legs!"
I usually wear a 6 or 8 but for this dress the 8 was perfect. I'm in my 30's and thought it was a perfect length where it was short but appropriate. Fit well in the arms, bust and all over. Loved it so much I rented it twice!
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
October 27, 2011
I wore this to a casual rehearsal dinner for my sister's wedding and got compliments all night long! I'm 5'4 and a size zero fit me very well. It was the perfect length (mid-thigh.) The sleeves did make moving slightly uncomfortable but they didn't bother me that much - I wouldn't want them any wider since the rest of the dress is not meant to be form-fitting at all. I would definitely wear this one again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
November 17, 2011
Great dress!
I rented this dress for an engagement party and loved it! I received several compliments throughout the night. I am tall and slim (5'7) and I wore the size 2. It fit perfectly....the only thing is that the sleeves are a bit tight and hard to move in but totally managable for one night. I also rented the red earrings shown in the picture and they were great - just a bit heavy but they are clip on.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 28, 2011
Wanted to Keep It...
I loved this dress! It was so cute, and very comfortable. It is a little short, so luckily I had tights without the tell-tale "support" color, but otherwise fits wonderfully. I could fit the 2, but wore the 4 because it was longer and a little more comfortable. I was complemented all day on it. You can't go wrong with this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
November 30, 2011
The dress was so perfect: color, cut, style. I loved it and want to wear it again!
I wore this dress to opening night on Broadway and it was perfect. Not too short, not too long. Definitely doesn't hug your curves, but that's perfect for those of us who are straight and narrow! Gorgeous detail. Never wanted to take it off!
CathMarch 10, 2012
Were you able to wear this with a regular bra? The description above says yes, but from the photos it doesn't look like it would work well.
AbbyApril 18, 2012
I wore a regular bra, nude, in case it slipped around my shoulder area.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
December 7, 2011
So Happy with this Dress
This was my first experience with RTR and it won't be my last. This Tibi dress came to me looking brand new. The navy lace is gorgeous (and fairly soft, not scratchy) and the sleeves make this dress so unique and pretty. I received tons of compliments! My only disappointment is that I normally wear a 6 but it was out of stock, so I had to settle on an 8. This dress runs true to size, if not large, so the 6 would have been preferred. The 8 wasn't a deal breaker though since this dress isn't meant to be tight. It was big in the waist, but nothing a belt couldn't fix. I'm tall so this dress was a tad short on me, but not so short that I couldn't have pulled it off without tights. I wore this with a red skinny belt, black tights and grey ankle booties to a holiday party. Loved it! I wrote a full review about my experience on my blog StyleAlter, if you're interested in more details: http://stylealter.wordpress.com/2011/12/06/rent-the-runway-review/
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 50lbs
December 16, 2011
So cute and comfy
Love this dress. So cute and comfortable without trying too hard. I dressed it down by pairing it with edgy suede boots. A little tight in the arms..
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 10

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×