Tibi

Babbet Lace Shift Dress

$71 to buy
$560 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Look chic for your event in this navy lace shift by Tibi. A style that can be worn year round for any semi-formal event. Go with accessories like the Kenneth Jay Lane Ruby Red Drops to add dimension to your look!

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra; fitted in bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Navy lace over silk(20% nylon; 60% cotton; 17% rayon with 100% silk; lining: 49% nylon; 51% acetate). Boat neckline. Three quarter sleeves. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 34'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
390 reviews
Fit
Large
(44)
True to Size
(277)
Small
(62)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Apple
Weight: 129lbs
November 13, 2012
Fun!
The dress is a little short so if you're going to be sitting and getting up a lot, this might not be the best one. But it is super flattering! I found that it runs slightly large.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 25, 2012
Returned without wearing. Rented this for a summer wedding- long-sleeves in 116 did not seem ideal
Looked lovely. Wish I had worn it but the weather was too hot for long-sleeves.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
November 25, 2012
CUTE AND PERFECT DRESS
Fit great! Looked great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 190lbs
November 26, 2012
Very pretty, runs large
I ordered this dress as my backup for a dinner date with my boyfriend and ended up wearing it, because both the sizes in my first dress were too small in the bust. It was very beautiful, but I would recommended sizing down. It was way too big in the top. Gorgeous, though, and I would rent it again, just down a size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 2, 2012
Adorable. Tons of Compliments and felt so confident!
This fit like a glove. It worked really well with my dark hair / features and the best part about it was the level of confidence it gave me. I got a ton of stares and winks :) Do it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Full Bust
December 4, 2012
Dress was too short
this dress was too short to wear so I went with my backup dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 9, 2012
stunning dress, would definitely rent again. got so many compliments!
Runs slightly big - I normally wear a 4 in dresses but I probably could have worn a 2 for a slimmer fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 133lbs
December 10, 2012
Great Look! Can dress is UP or Down!!
True to size. Sleeves are a bit tight so now lifting your arms over your head. Very Flattering!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135lbs
December 13, 2012
Loved this dress!
This dress was very comfortable, and I received a lot of compliments on it. I loved that I was the only one in the room in navy, while everyone else was in black. I also loved the sleeves, as I hate wearing sleeveless in the winter when I have no tan. I thought the length was great, no too short or long. This is a great dress!
eftalyaJanuary 1, 2013
You look like Carey Mulligan! The dress looks very good on you!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
December 16, 2012
Very ordinary
I liked the dress but it was a plain dress not appropriate for a wedding. Everyday dress. Looks better in the picture than in hand. I did not wear this.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 16, 2012
Worked perfectly for a December wedding!
Loved this dress! Very comfortable, looked great, great material (I find some lace feels cheap and rips easily), I received several compliments on it, and best of all my husband LOVED it! :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
December 16, 2012
Did not work for me..
I LOVED how this dress looked online, but it did not work for me at all. The biggest problem is that it is very short. I'm only 5 ft 6 in, but this dress was completely inappropriate for a wedding. I was very disappointed that I couldn't wear it since it is a beautiful dress (and also annoyed that I paid to rent a dress that I didn't get to wear). Pear-shaped girls, this one is not for us.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
December 16, 2012
This dress was perfect for my work holiday party! With my gold heels, didn't get much better!
Fits true to size, little loose in the hips, easy to dance in and so comfortable.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 17, 2012
Pretty dress - zipper poses an issue
The dress is pretty. It didn't work for me. I tried the 6 and the 8. The dress fit okay, but because the zipper in the back is big and stiff, it kept bunching up. I could pull the dress down to fit just fine, but take a step and the zipper would move and bunch up into big curves on the back- hard to explain. I think the fabric for the zipper is too stiff. If you have a straight and narrow build, I think this dress will be great. If you have any curves the zipper will play tricks, and if you have a bust, the straight cut of the dress both flattens your bust and hides your waist. Made for a very unflattering look on me. As others have mentioned, sleevs are tight, but not horribly so.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
December 17, 2012
Navy is a flattering color
Great true to size fit! I received lots of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
December 19, 2012
Very cute dress!
It doesn't exactly run small, but it is quite short. (Usually I just assume it looks short on the models, but this one was short on me too.) Otherwise, the fit was good.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
October 9, 2014
I wore this for a "Great Gatsby" themed semi-formal.
I'm 5'4" and the dress was a little short, but I liked the length. I got tons of compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
January 15, 2012
so many complimets!!
Fab! Unique and flattering!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 17, 2012
Perfect! Loved!
Fit great
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
November 8, 2012
love the color
true to size
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
December 25, 2012
A perfect RTR first! Fit great and felt great.
Fit true to size. Was great for someone who needs to get everything shortened. Only thing was the under sheath was a little longer in certain areas, however used fashion tape to even out and make sure didn't stick out longer than the lace. Overall a great dress and could be dressed up or down depending on accessories.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
January 4, 2013
Loved this dress!
This is a beautiful dress that I wore to a birthday party. It does run a little large so I would definitely order your normal size plus one size smaller.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
January 8, 2013
Amazing Dress for Winter Wedding/Formal Christmas Party
I actually wore this dress on back to back events - the first was a formal 3 course dinner party and the second was a night wedding. My only problem with the dress was that I felt like the arms were a little tight…and I have pretty slender arms. Otherwise, the dress did not come too short on me. I wore it once with hair up and the second hair down…looked great both ways! Topped it off with nude pumps. I got so many compliments in the dress it was unreal! This is the first dress I truly wanted to keep off RTR…I still dream about wearing it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
January 10, 2013
Wore to Spring Wedding, loved it
This dress was great for a March wedding. It was comfortable to dance in and I got lots of compliments. Looks great with nude heels.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
January 16, 2013
I had about 6 compliments from complete strangers in the first 30 min of wearing the dress!
I absolutely loved the dress and I wish I could buy it. It was extremely comfortable! Both sizes fit, but I felt slightly more comfortable in the 4.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
January 20, 2013
I wore this to my engagement party and received tons of compliments!
Great fit! Glad I ordered a second size as the lace sleeves were very tight.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
January 26, 2013
how easy it was to do and how cute the dress was.
The fit was very true to size.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98lbs
January 27, 2013
Beautiful Dress! Would rent this again and again! Thank you RTR - you are the BEST!
I am 5' tall, 102 lbs and this dress fit very well and was very comfortable. It was the perfect length to flatter my legs,(that I typically do not show off). I felt this dress was age and body type appropriate for me. It was sophisticated and elegant ,yet fun. I liked the fact that it was navy lace and not black lace, I think that alone took it to the next level of class. The only things that I did not care for (but were not a big deal), it the fact that I am short waisted and from the side, the dress did not look the greatest with the curve of my rear and the curve of my bust - it pulled a little oddly. Also, on occasion, the lining would peek out from the bottom of the dress, but all I really had to do was tug the lace down a bit and I was just fine. I would totally rent this dress again and hated to return it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 54
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
January 27, 2013
This was a fun dress and received lots of compliments.
The color is lovely and because it is not black, it seemed more fun. I have to admit that it was shorter than I'd hoped and because I am not young, I did not feel comfortable wearing it with nude legs. Fortunately, I had an option but I do wish it had been a bit longer... As other reviewers have said, the arms are a bit snug but this was fine since I expected this.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
January 29, 2013
I received so many compliments on this dress! It was different from what everyone else was wearing.
It is a little shorter than I am used to wearing, but the sleeves balanced that out and it felt totally appropriate for the wedding. It was a little big in the upper back area, but not enough to make it look bad, and it fit nicely everywhere else.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
February 5, 2013
I spent so much time looking for a dress so when everyone loved it I thought it was time well spent.
Overall the dress was great. The lace wasn't bothersome, itchy or anything. The color was how it is in the picture with the model, but maybe a bit darker. The only problem I had was with my body type (wide back, no curves whatsoever) it definitely didn't give me any help in that department, so if that's your body type I would wear a belt. I also wore the dress with the earrings they suggested, and they are kinda chunky clip-ons so they didn't work well for dancing, however looked great with the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
February 7, 2013
Good Go-To Dress
The sleeves fit kind of tightly, but the rest of the dress fits very well. The length was perfect and I wore it with neutral patent wedges. My one complaint would be that it was too plain for my event, but if you're looking for a simple and elegant dress, this is for you!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
February 10, 2013
Perfect for a work party
I am pear shaped, size 4 on top, 6 on bottom, so I had to go with the 6 on this for the hips, so the top was a little loose but no one but me could tell. It is a bit shorter than the dresses I usually go for, but it was very comfortable and I recieved many compliments.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
February 13, 2013
I got many compliments on the dress!
I rented this dress for my school's winter ball. Contrary to the reviews I read, I felt this dress ran on the small side. I usually wear a 6, and wore an 8 in this dress. The 6 was a little tight around the butt, and I felt like I wouldn't have been able to dance in it. However, the 8 fit PERFECTLY and I loved wearing the dress! The lace is beautiful, and the color is a little darker than in the model photo, which I liked. I wore it with grey tights and nude pumps.
JulieMarch 5, 2013
Hi Haley- How short was this dress for you? I'm also 5' 9" and considering renting it for an upcoming wedding. Thanks!
HaleyMarch 5, 2013
Hi Julie! It hit about mid-thigh. I was happy to have tights for dancing - but otherwise it would have been OK without.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
February 17, 2013
Perfect dress for a wedding!
Great fit. I'm 5'0 and the dress was short, but not too short. Great fit and was comfy to wear all night! I got tons of compliments!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 137lbs
February 25, 2013
I wasn't worried about the dress riding up, anything showing that shouldn't be, and I felt great.
Fit was perfect. I am 5' 3", so it was not too short. Super comfortable. The only thing I didn't like was how the lining showed up so white in the pictures, but it was not that bright.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
February 25, 2013
Unique Dress...Great For The Winter
I loved the long sleeves, especially for the winter, and thought it would help keep me warm on a cold night, and I was super comfortable wearing it all night long. The only thing about this dress is that it is a true shift...so there's no shape to it at all. Since I'm very hourglass, it did stick to my chest and bum a little and just kind of hung around my stomach area. The 6 wasn't available so I couldn't see how that one fit, but I have a feeling that it would've been a little big on me, but probably would've fit like a real shift is supposed to. All in all, really loved it and got lots of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
February 25, 2013
Lovely sheath for a date
I ordered this dress last-minute for Valentine's Day, taking advantage of Olay's free overnight shipping offer. I'm so glad I did! The dress was cute, classy, and comfortable to be in - even after a multi-course dinner and multiple desserts! Since it's winter, I wore black tights and booties with it. It was perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
February 25, 2013
I have never had soo many compliments on a dress in my life!
I wore this for a formal charity auction. I got the 4 as my back-up size, however since it does run true to size, the 6 was way more comfortable. The sleeves are a tad tight, however you don't even notice it as the night goes on. I wore it with very minimal jewelry and nude heels. It was easily the best dress at the event. I had complete strangers coming up to me to compliment the dress. I also put a picture of it on Facebook and got over 50 likes and a ton of comment on how awesome the dress was. I absolutely loved this dress! I will be using Rent the Runway again for every event that I go to
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
February 27, 2013
Fun look, tons of compliments!
I loved this dress and judging from all the compliments I received, I wasn’t the only one. I found it to be eye-catching without being over the top, and perfect for a not-too-formal winter wedding. It was also very comfortable – the lace isn’t itchy at all – but it is short so you have to either be comfortable in short dresses or at least conscious of the way you sit, dance, etc. The (attached) slip did tend to peek out at the bottom, but not in a bad way; it looks like part of the style. I wore it with nude pumps and gold jewelry and thought it all worked great together.
See more reviews:
2 / 10

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×