Theory

Runway Purple Bandit Gown

$100 rental
$415 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Rock this cobalt purple gown at the black tie affair by Theory. An edgy but sexy choice for the event. Go with similar color toned accessories like the Rodrigo Otazu's Sapphire Crystal Stunner Earrings, Kenneth Jay Lane's Polished Gold Links Cuff, and kate spade accessories' Sapphire Treasure Chest Necklace.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized P-L.

BUST: Great for any cup size - room at bust but a NuBra is recommended due to the exposed back
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at empire waist with elastic band
HIPS: Not fitted - full length skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Floor length - One length available. Measures 58'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'2'' to 5'7'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or a NuBra due to the exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch except for the black banding
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Model's height is 5'10''.

Product Details

Purple crepe. Ruched scoop neckline. Low back with black cross straps. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
54 reviews
Fit
Large
(6)
True to Size
(49)
Small
(0)
Size worn:
P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
November 6, 2012
Loved wearing this color!
Loved the dress! I would have liked to see it a size up because I think it's supposed to be a little baggy on the top but it looked good tight as well. I felt comfortable in it and got tons of compliments, everyone loved the purple!
LinaFebruary 18, 2013
What bra did you wear with it?
RTR CustomerFebruary 19, 2013
Hi Lina! You will want to wear a NuBra with this dress, since the back is very open!
HollyMarch 15, 2013
did you wear heels with this dress? if so, was the length appropriate?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 12, 2012
Effortless, comfortable and eye-catching color
You definitely need to buy a backless, strapless bra (nu-bra worked perfectly). I absolutely loved the color and the length was perfect with heels. The one con was that it wrinkled pretty easily, so try and put it on at the last second before you go to your event.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 143lbs
November 19, 2012
Beautiful Dress!
I got so many compliments on this dress. I am 5'9 so I was worried it was going to be too short, but it was the perfect length! Only issue was that it was a little wrinkled when I received it, but I just hung it up in my bathroom while I ran hot water from my shower to steam it out and it worked perfectly! Definitely recommend this dress.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
December 29, 2012
The open crisscross back really makes you feel super sexy without revealing too much skin. Beautiful
I wore this dress to a November wedding. Between the Petite and the Small sizes, I ended up wearing the Small. It fits beautifully, not tight, but not loose enough to add pounds either. Its an empire waist and is really flattering on lots of body types. The crisscross design on the back is a stretchy elastic material and really makes the dress. The only complaint I have is the material is quite thin and you might want to wear a slip. Its also very very static-y. The more you walk the worse it gets. I bought a cheap can of static eliminator from Target and it solved the problem. All in all I received lots of compliments and felt beautiful in this dress. I highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
PR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
May 6, 2013
Very fun dress!
The color of this dress is beautiful! The material is pretty thin and almost sheer but not in a bad way. The dress was very flattering and didn't show any flaws. It's very static-y so make sure you buy a can of static guard. I bought a NuBra but almost wanted to go braless as you could see the sides of the NuBra tape...The dress was a little big on me. Overall, the dress was a lot of fun.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
PR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
August 14, 2012
Too long, thin; beautiful
Overall a nice fit. Fabric was a pretty silk. It was too long, even being 5'1" in 5" heels. Had to tape the hem. A few small stains, but they gave me a discount for that- great customer service! Although they didn't send my backup size, and didn't warn me about it; fortunately didn't need it. Wore the sticky fabric bra, which was difficult to place (should have practiced), a few wrinkles showed. Would not rent again though. Not as elegant asI thought it would be.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 22, 2012
didn't get chance to wear it
this was my backup dress, and i wish my other dress hadn't fit properly so i could have worn it! i was so torn between the two since this one is so beautiful. the only comment i have is that the fabric is very thing -- definitely a spring/summer dress, and not in A/C. also, be careful with undergarments because of how thin the fabric is -- it tends to cling to anything that's not super thing
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150lbs
August 22, 2012
wedding guest
Dress was gorgeous, received tons of compliments. Flattering and able to be dressed up or down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
PR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 2, 2012
Purple passion!
When I was asked to wear purple to read in a friend's wedding, I knew this dress would be perfect. But as anyone with any kind of boobs can attest, going backless is a little terrifying. NuBra saved the day on this one. I found a style that looks like a regular underwire strapless bra, but has transparent super-stick sides. You could see the edges of them only very slightly when I moved my arms, but it was SO much more supportive than those stick-on cups. The NuBra stayed up all day and night (4pm - 1am) even as I got more than a little tipsy and danced the night away, and the dress looked great. Comfortable, easy, so cool from the back -- perfect for an outdoor late-summer wedding. Length was perfect on me with 3.5 in. heels.
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
September 27, 2012
I rented this dress for a beach wedding and absoutely loved it!
I recieved many compliments on it throughout the evening. The fit was true to size. I would definitely use Rent the Runway again!
Size worn:
P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
November 21, 2012
Great dress for a black tie event.
I wore 3 1/2 inch heals and it hit right at the floor. The dress is very thin so beware. I wore a sticky bra and tights underneath since it was November and got a ton of complements. Overall, happy with the purchase.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
February 25, 2013
GORGEOUS COLOR!
It is a beautiful dress, but the fabric is very thin! and the dress was a little worn out. Besides that it is a beautiful dress and gorgeous color. Also if you are tall i recommend a size bigger since it does run a little short!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
May 6, 2013
Beautiful dress!
Loved this Theory dress. Great color, great fit. Only issue is that it wrinkles very easily. Just sitting in it will wrinkle it. Looked a little less polished than I would have liked, but it was still very chic, modern and comfortable. Beautiful cut in the back. Not for busty girls at all.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
June 7, 2013
Everyone was wearing short dresses, and I stood out.
This dress is beautiful. I wore it to a summer/fall wedding in Breckenridge. It's light and airy, and made well. The back was my favorite part. You can't wear a bra with it so if you're larger chested it may not be the right dress for you. The waist band gives you a figure. As a whole this dress was extremely comfortable and flattering. I'd recommend it to anyone with my same body type.
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×