theory

Monumental Lace Sheath

$61 rental
$345 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Give classic an update in this fitted long sleeve lace Theory dress. Add some extra sparkle with Erickson Beamon’s Amethyst Collage Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – slight stretch allows for comfortable room in hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh -(on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – slight stretch allows for comfortable room in hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh -(on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black lace over white lining (72.2% nylon, 27.2% polyester). Long sleeves. Crew neckline. A-line skirt. Exposed back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined (100% silk). 35” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

68 reviews

Fit
Small 16
True to Size 51
Large 1
Photos 34
z
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 108 lbs
Dec 10, 2012

looks better on the model

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
i rented this dress in a size 2 and a 4, and ended up wearing neither. in fact, i wouldn't give it any stars if the website would allow it. seeing as how this dress had no previous reviews, i thought i'd take a chance because i really liked the way it looked in the picture. i would be going to a party that was indorr/outdoor and thought a long-sleeved dress would keep me from freezing. the size 2 fit well on my body, but **the sleeves were much wider/baggier on me than you'd think.** they were not fitted to my arms. overall this dress gave the impression of being WAY too conservative and wasn't at all sexy like the picture. it has so much potential that just did not come across for me. i ended up wearing a dress from my own closet.
Cameron
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 10, 2012

Cute, short party dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is pretty much true to the photo. It's really on-trend at the moment, so I got a ton of compliments from women. Men (my husband) loved it because it's really short. And I mean SHORT. I do happen to be quite tall (5'10") so I think it would be a good length on some shorter ladies, but I wore it to a dinner party and I was pretty happy I had my napkin to cover me up a bit. It fits pretty true to size, except that it's a little tight in the bust area. If I was bigger than a C, I could not have fit into the 6. As it was, I thought about wearing the 8 for more room in the bust, but the hubby liked the shorter one. Also, it's a little shifty, so it tends to bring attention to your tummy if you have one. It's a fun dress; I'd probably rent it again, but maybe on a night where Im not sitting (or eating).
Patty
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Dec 15, 2012

small

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I received this dress as my back up to another one I ordered. I never wanted this dress to come, but since the size 8 that I had as a back up in my main dress wasnt available, they sent me this one. It was way too small, and thankfully my main dress fit perfectly and I didnt need this one. I dont like the exposed zipper in the back either. That look is not for me, I think its kinda trashy when wearing that to a wedding.
Christina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 16, 2012

Fantastic dress.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a Christmas party. It fit perfectly. I received many compliments. I wore it with black tights and dressy boots. I am a petite size 6 and it was mid thigh length on me. I loved it and may rent it again. I highly recommend this dress.
Chelsea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Dec 19, 2012

This dress was very flattering!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
RTR added this dress to my order when the original dress I rented wasn't available. I didn't end up wearing this for my event because it didn't go with the 1970's theme, but it is a beautiful dress! I ended up wearing it to a smaller holiday party the next evening and I felt great in it. It fit perfectly and I got so many compliments. I'm sorry I forgot to take a picture! I would definitely rent it again.
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 21, 2012

I felt beautiful all night

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a work Christmas Party and it was elegant and classy. The lace is beautiful and the fit was not too tight or loose.
Kasey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 4, 2013

Just OK

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was really excited for this dress but I was disappointed. The white fabric underneath the lace really stands out and looks a little funny. Also, I'm a little heavier chested than normal right now and heavier in the middle and it really made me not only look boxy but very wide shouldered. I'm in between an 8/10 right now so I think if you size up it might look better.
beth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 16, 2013

Dress is very pretty. Simple and chic while being classy.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I wore the 6 because of a better fit across my hips. Nice dress with black tights and pumps.
Christina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Jan 18, 2013

Perfect for the Christmas party

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
many compliments
Abby
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Feb 5, 2013

Perfect dress for a 30th bday!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for my 30th b-day. I wanted a dress that was a little more sophisticated and something I could wear in December. This dress was perfect for the occasion - it was very cute and kept me warm! I loved it! The black lace on the white lining was very pretty. I paired the dress with black tights and ankle boots.
Bar
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136 lbs
Feb 24, 2013

Loved it

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was a hit!!! I received compliments from the time I put it on till the end of the night. My 15 year old saw me in it and said, "Wow mommy you lodk great! You're gonna knock them out"... When a 15 year old approves, you know you look great! The dress was well made and the lace was easy to wear. It does however run small. I would advise wearing spanks with it. Also this dress is best worn in the winter months. I will definately order it again. Wish I could keep this one.
Kazia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Mar 25, 2013

The quality of the dress was amazing!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The sizes 6 and 8 fit EXACTLY the same -- like they were the exact same dress. Other than that, my experience was amazing and I got compliments all night! The dress was small, but I felt really beautiful in it.
Andrea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 30, 2013

Loved it!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
It was a great dress to show off my legs while still being classy. It fit perfectly and was really comfy. I loved the sleeves for the night since it got a smidge chilly, but I didn't want to be hot when we went to the bars and danced later for girls night out.
patricia
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 30, 2013

Beautiful dress with a ton of compliments

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Love the style of this dress. Ordered 4 and 6. Size 6 was a little too snug around the waist and it caused the dress to shift around hips which made the exposed zipper down back of dress become crooked. That was the only downfall. So many compliments
patycake
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117 lbs
May 8, 2013

Although the dress quality was very beautiful, it did not fit right.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I got 2 sizes, 2 & 4 and the smaller size, the sleeves were too baggy and pushed my boobs down. And the size 4, was just way too big on me. I really wanted to wear it, I love lace dresses, but it didn't fit my body.
Colleen
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
May 13, 2013

White underlay was not great- would have looked better in nude.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Unfortunately, the dress I wanted did not ship on time, even though it was guaranteed. I had to scramble on the phone with a very helpful customer service girl who was able to find another dress that was available in my size to be shipped to the wedding location. The dress was not nearly what I had hoped. I wore it, but it was not the same style, it came down to the very last minute (literally peering out of the window waiting for the UPS driver to deliver the afternoon of the wedding). All in all, very disappointed with this RTR experience- all of my other ones has been great.
Jessie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 11, 2013

Classy & sexy

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is just beautiful; the long sleeves, crewneck, and boxier fit through the body are a good balance for the very short hemline. I wore it for a company Christmas party last December with opaque black tights and black booties. It definitely needs a statement necklace of some sort to bring some sparkle to the simple shape. The fit is true to Theory's typical sizing (I wore my normal Theory dress/jacket size), but if you haven't worn Theory in the past keep in mind that many find Theory's sizing to run a bit narrower than other brands. Also, I was surprised by exactly how short the hemline on this dress was. I'm 5'5" and it was very, very short on me. I almost felt like I needed the tights! Overall though, this dress was definitely a win. I even tried to find it to buy it for myself after renting it. Unfortunately I couldn't find it anywhere.
TA
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 11, 2013

Not a good fit

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
While I loved the pictures from other RTRers, this dress just did not fit me. I'm a size 2 about 60% of the time and a size 0 the other 40%, but the 2 in this dress felt very snug in the chest and the hips. With quite a bit of bunching and extra material in the waist / back, however, I doubt it was simply a sizing issue.
Angela
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 18, 2013

perfect for a fall wedding

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Amazing dress! My only complaint was that the sleeves are a little baggy (and in no way do I have skinny stick arms). But overall a perfect dress for a late fall wedding! Got a ton of compliments.
Heather
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 18, 2013

Too small and no give

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Wasnt able to wear it, it was too tight. I suggest sizing up!
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 31, 2013

Pretty - but runs REALLY small

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress is so pretty and feminine, but if you are at all worried about your mid-section, this is not the dress for you.
Maritza
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122 lbs
Jan 2, 2014

NYE Dress in a pinch

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I went to the Henri Bendels store in a pinch on a Monday needing to find a dress for NYE. It was meant to be with this dress. I wanted something not too revealing and festive, it's winter in NY. The dress runs true to size. I am 5'1 it wasn't a mini on me but short enough. You can wear regular undergarments with this dress no tape needed. Thought it was a classic dress you can wear it to a wedding or party.
Carrie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 3, 2014

Didn't end up wearing the dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was short and I didn't think the contrast between the white under-piece and the black lace looked classy. I would have worn it to a bachelorette in Vegas, but not to a work party! Returned it that same day.
Dana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 8, 2014

My legs looked great!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Tight in arms/boob area but but/legs looked great & narrow in shoulders.
Paige
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 154 lbs
Feb 17, 2014

Perfect birthday dress

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this to my birthday dinner with friends and then out dancing afterwards. I had compliments all night long. It was very comfortable, I did wear a waist cinched just to smooth out the dress but it was great. The dress is fitted through the hips, but nothing a pair of pantyhose can't help with. Would defiantly rent again. Side note: my profile says I wear an 8, but I recently had knee surgery that has kept me from working out. I tried on the eight and it would have fit if I was my normal weight.
Barbara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 148 lbs
Feb 24, 2014

Great experience with RTR. I loved the dress.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I fit into the 10 but the dress was stretched out in mid section and seemed to have been used more than the 12. The dress is stretchy and very comfortable. Wore this to a christmas party and rented it the week before.
Meg
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Feb 26, 2014

Perfect. Couldn't have been happier!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I usually wear a size 8 or 10. The 10 fit but was a little tight so I went with the 12 for a little more comfort.
sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 7, 2014

very classy!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was really pretty. I think its flattering on any size and very comfortable to wear and dance in. I wore a sz smaller because i like a smaller fit..
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×