Monumental Lace Sheath

$61 to buy
$345 retail
Stylist Notes

Give classic an update in this fitted long sleeve lace Theory dress. Add some extra sparkle with Erickson Beamon’s Amethyst Collage Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – slight stretch allows for comfortable room in hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh -(on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – slight stretch allows for comfortable room in hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh -(on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black lace over white lining (72.2% nylon, 27.2% polyester). Long sleeves. Crew neckline. A-line skirt. Exposed back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined (100% silk). 35” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
69 reviews
Fit
Large
(1)
True to Size
(51)
Small
(17)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
February 26, 2014
Perfect. Couldn't have been happier!
I usually wear a size 8 or 10. The 10 fit but was a little tight so I went with the 12 for a little more comfort.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
March 3, 2014
I got this dress to celebrate my 30th Birthday!!
I LOVED this dress!! I wish I could keep it! It made me feel really beautiful, sexy and elegant all in one!! I was getting compliments all night. Definitely the best way to turn 30! :) :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
March 7, 2014
very classy!
This dress was really pretty. I think its flattering on any size and very comfortable to wear and dance in. I wore a sz smaller because i like a smaller fit..
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 23, 2014
Very cute, classy, sophisticated.
I ended up not wearing this dress, but it was adorable. Sleeves were a little uncomfortable, but the length and fit of this dress otherwise was perfect. This would be great for an evening wedding or formal party. I was going to a daytime concert event and felt this would have been a little too dressy.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
April 13, 2014
Really beautiful dress!
I rented this dress for a formal cocktail engagement party. After reading the reviews, I decided to get a size bigger for the backup size. The 2 fit absolutely perfectly, and was extremely flattering, but it had very little extra space for sitting or dancing. I definitely don't wear short dresses often, so was a little self conscious of the length. I hoped the size 4 would provide some extra length, and it did, but it unfortunately also had a little too much extra space, with odd gathering in the tummy and hip area. I thought maybe it was because it was a little stretched out, but that might just be the nature of this dress - if it fits it's like magic, if it doesn't it's really not flattering at all. I would definitely recommend it, though, and imagine it flattering lots of body types. I got tons of compliments, and it made me feel awesome. It's also beautifully made and comfortable. It's a dress I would definitely consider buying some day, because it's appropriate for so many settings and occasions and you can wear so many different shoes and accessories for different looks. It would be a great investment!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 1, 2014
Great Lace Fabric
Really loved this dress. Got lots of compliments. It was a very nice lace. Definitely a tight dress and spanx were needed. Length was short but not an issue.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
May 20, 2014
This is such a flattering dress and perfect for the winter.
I wore this for my birthday in December and it was very comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
May 21, 2014
Dress was rather boring.
It was unflattering and just sort of, blah and dull. Luckily this was my backup dress and I ended up wearing my first choice anyways, so it was no harm, no foul.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
June 19, 2014
Plenty of compliments
It ran a bit small, but that was my fault. I had to lie on the floor while my friend zipped me up and had to get up super slow....hahahaha As the night progressed, I felt better about the fit
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 23, 2014
I received so many compliments on this dress. It was the perfect length for my petite frame.
The fit was perfect and it looked really sexy and classy at the same time. I am pretty short so the length worked really well for me. The sleeves were a little looser than I thought but no one could tell but me..... Had so many people compliment me on this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
June 30, 2014
This was a beautiful dress. The lace material was very high quality.
Unfortunately, never got to wear the dress because the zipper could not go up by just one person trying to zip it! Make sure you have an extra hand or 2 around to help you. I am hourglassy shape (curvy) with a booty. The zipper starts pretty low so getting it zipped up without assistance is practically impossible. I even tried to use a hanger and nothing :( I needed someone to pull and hold dress together while someone else zipped me. This is super hard if you are curvy and I did'nt want to break or zip the zipper. FYI - material is kinda thick so don't think it's best for the summer. Maybe OK for a indoor wedding with an AC... RTR was so accommodating and gave me a credit back for another rental!! OMG thank you HANNAH!!! This company is awesome and even though it didn't work out I will make sure to keep trying and be happy with my next rental :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 2, 2014
Great dress for holiday party!
Fit great, I usually wear a zero and that was the perfect size. Many compliments
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 8, 2014
I didn't wear, didn't fit properly
loose fabric underneath bunched up, causing the lace not to lay flat. Wasn't flattering, Wound up not wearing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 8, 2015
LOVED
Great hemline and fit for petites!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
December 11, 2012
Sexy lace sheath!
Such a great dress! I wore this on a date and my boyfriend couldn't stop staring! It has a tiny bit of stretch, but runs a bit narrow in the hips if you are bigger on bottom like me, so I kept having to pull it down when walking around. Otherwise, fit perfectly! Will definitely rent this one again :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Body type: Apple
December 26, 2012
Fits great, felt sexy and comfortable!
I wore this for my friends birthday party and felt so great all night long. It fit very comfortably and I was able to dance without worying about it being too tight or short. I normally would not rent a LBD since I own so many, but as soon as I put this on I fell in love with it. I recommend this for women of all shapes and sizes!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 2, 2013
Great NYE dress!
I wore this dress for a NYE party and it was perfect. The fit was pretty true to size and the long sleeves helped with the cold temperatures. The slip under the lace can be a little see through so make sure all under garments are nude colored. My boyfriend loved this dress too and I am thinking of renting it again. It would be great so really any winter event!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
February 15, 2013
Gorgeous Dress!
I loved this dress - wore it to a work Christmas party and it was the perfect combination of sexy and conservative. The dress was in excellent condition and showed up in tags, never worn! It was quite fitted at the waist and hugged hips as opposed to being a sheath - style. Spanx helped keep the tummy in! Wore with black pumps and green and white drop earrings from RTR too.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
February 28, 2013
HOT HOT HOT!
I wore this dress for a NYE party. I have to say that RTR never fails me when it comes to my dress rentals. After eating like crazy over the holidays, I was scared to try on a dress that would expose my bigger areas. This dress sucks it in and hugs your body in a good way. I felt amazing!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 2, 2013
Loved this for a Christmas Date Night!!
Comfy, cute and a great fit! Loved this dress for dinner out with my husband for Christmas!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
December 15, 2013
It came early!
I rented this for a television appearance. My stomach is my problem area and I felt like the white behind the lace accentuated this, even with Spanx. I received the 8 and 10, both fit but I just didn't feel confident in it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 185lbs
January 6, 2014
Flattering for plus-sized ladies!
I wore this to my boyfriend's office party at the aquarium. I was worried about the fit because I am borderline plus-size; sometimes I'm a 12, sometimes a 14, and the largest size in this dress is 12. It fit a little snug around the hips and I had to keep pulling the slip down since it is shorter to begin with, but overall I really liked it. I felt like the most beautiful one there, and certainly the most classy! The sleeves are just lovely, and the dress was comfortable temperature-wise. The other reviews really helped by saying this dress is pretty true to size. I am very small in the bust but have a larger rib cage and it still fit well all around. The dress itself was in great condition. I seriously wanted to keep this dress since it's hard to find fashionable but flattering pieces in the larger sizes! The whole RTR experience was awesome, I will be renting from them again! Thanks RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
June 29, 2014
I loved that Tedy Bruschi saw me in this dress!!
This dress was awesome! It fit perfect. And I loved how it was black and white, so I could add some color with shoes, jewelry, etc. I also usually get nervous about long sleeves because I sweat a lot, but this one was all "open" so it was nice to get some air flowing through!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
January 3, 2014
Didn't end up wearing the dress
It was short and I didn't think the contrast between the white under-piece and the black lace looked classy. I would have worn it to a bachelorette in Vegas, but not to a work party! Returned it that same day.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
March 19, 2014
So cute but fit was a little off!
This dress was in great condition and is SO cute. It was on the short side, and I am short. The sleeves and bust were a strange fit for me but that's not an unusual problem for me to have. I wore the 6 which was super tight on my chest because the lace sleeves on the 8 looked baggy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
May 18, 2014
Great winter dress
Loved this dress, the lace detail was really nice. No issues with the fit. It was short but appropriate for NYE.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 108lbs
December 10, 2012
looks better on the model
i rented this dress in a size 2 and a 4, and ended up wearing neither. in fact, i wouldn't give it any stars if the website would allow it. seeing as how this dress had no previous reviews, i thought i'd take a chance because i really liked the way it looked in the picture. i would be going to a party that was indorr/outdoor and thought a long-sleeved dress would keep me from freezing. the size 2 fit well on my body, but **the sleeves were much wider/baggier on me than you'd think.** they were not fitted to my arms. overall this dress gave the impression of being WAY too conservative and wasn't at all sexy like the picture. it has so much potential that just did not come across for me. i ended up wearing a dress from my own closet.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
December 19, 2012
This dress was very flattering!
RTR added this dress to my order when the original dress I rented wasn't available. I didn't end up wearing this for my event because it didn't go with the 1970's theme, but it is a beautiful dress! I ended up wearing it to a smaller holiday party the next evening and I felt great in it. It fit perfectly and I got so many compliments. I'm sorry I forgot to take a picture! I would definitely rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
January 4, 2013
Just OK
I was really excited for this dress but I was disappointed. The white fabric underneath the lace really stands out and looks a little funny. Also, I'm a little heavier chested than normal right now and heavier in the middle and it really made me not only look boxy but very wide shouldered. I'm in between an 8/10 right now so I think if you size up it might look better.
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×