Monumental Lace Sheath

$61 to buy
$345 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Give classic an update in this fitted long sleeve lace Theory dress. Add some extra sparkle with Erickson Beamon’s Amethyst Collage Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – slight stretch allows for comfortable room in hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh -(on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted – slight stretch allows for comfortable room in hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh -(on a 5'7" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black lace over white lining (72.2% nylon, 27.2% polyester). Long sleeves. Crew neckline. A-line skirt. Exposed back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined (100% silk). 35” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
69 reviews
Fit
Large1
True to Size51
Small17
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
May 8, 2013
Although the dress quality was very beautiful, it did not fit right.
I got 2 sizes, 2 & 4 and the smaller size, the sleeves were too baggy and pushed my boobs down. And the size 4, was just way too big on me. I really wanted to wear it, I love lace dresses, but it didn't fit my body.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
April 30, 2013
Beautiful dress with a ton of compliments
Love the style of this dress. Ordered 4 and 6. Size 6 was a little too snug around the waist and it caused the dress to shift around hips which made the exposed zipper down back of dress become crooked. That was the only downfall. So many compliments
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
April 30, 2013
Loved it!
It was a great dress to show off my legs while still being classy. It fit perfectly and was really comfy. I loved the sleeves for the night since it got a smidge chilly, but I didn't want to be hot when we went to the bars and danced later for girls night out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
March 25, 2013
The quality of the dress was amazing!
The sizes 6 and 8 fit EXACTLY the same -- like they were the exact same dress. Other than that, my experience was amazing and I got compliments all night! The dress was small, but I felt really beautiful in it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
March 24, 2013
perfect dress for an early spring wedding
wore this dress with nude pumps. it was extremely comfortable and lots of compliments all night. my bf loved it as well :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
February 28, 2013
HOT HOT HOT!
I wore this dress for a NYE party. I have to say that RTR never fails me when it comes to my dress rentals. After eating like crazy over the holidays, I was scared to try on a dress that would expose my bigger areas. This dress sucks it in and hugs your body in a good way. I felt amazing!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
February 24, 2013
Loved it
This dress was a hit!!! I received compliments from the time I put it on till the end of the night. My 15 year old saw me in it and said, "Wow mommy you lodk great! You're gonna knock them out"... When a 15 year old approves, you know you look great! The dress was well made and the lace was easy to wear. It does however run small. I would advise wearing spanks with it. Also this dress is best worn in the winter months. I will definately order it again. Wish I could keep this one.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
February 15, 2013
Gorgeous Dress!
I loved this dress - wore it to a work Christmas party and it was the perfect combination of sexy and conservative. The dress was in excellent condition and showed up in tags, never worn! It was quite fitted at the waist and hugged hips as opposed to being a sheath - style. Spanx helped keep the tummy in! Wore with black pumps and green and white drop earrings from RTR too.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
February 12, 2013
Enjoying a 30th Birthday dinner with my husband in NYC
I thought the dress was a little short but I wore it in the winter so I was able to wear tights!
KellySeptember 24, 2013
Love this dress with the black tights and boots, great look!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
February 11, 2013
Felt gorgeous and got compliments all night!
I wore this to my fiance's company holiday cocktail party. It was a great mix of fun and sexy but not too over the top for a company event. The sleeves were great for warmth and also made it a bit more conservative. I was worried that, being a short gal, the length would be too long but it was perfect! I think it would work for girls of any height, just know it will be more of a mini if you are tall. The bust wasn't too tight, which sometimes happens for me with dresses with this neckline. I got compliments all night and got to share the RTR secret with a few lucky ladies!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 172lbs
February 11, 2013
Love the dress, and everyone that saw me in it loved it too!
loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
February 5, 2013
Perfect dress for a 30th bday!
I rented this dress for my 30th b-day. I wanted a dress that was a little more sophisticated and something I could wear in December. This dress was perfect for the occasion - it was very cute and kept me warm! I loved it! The black lace on the white lining was very pretty. I paired the dress with black tights and ankle boots.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
January 18, 2013
Perfect for the Christmas party
many compliments
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 57
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
January 16, 2013
Dress is very pretty. Simple and chic while being classy.
I wore the 6 because of a better fit across my hips. Nice dress with black tights and pumps.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 11, 2013
Gorgeous dress! Husband couldn't stop staring all night.
Wore it for a New Year's Eve party. I felt glamorous and got many compliments throughout the night. It was comfortable and kept me warm during the walk from the party to our hotel.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
January 4, 2013
Just OK
I was really excited for this dress but I was disappointed. The white fabric underneath the lace really stands out and looks a little funny. Also, I'm a little heavier chested than normal right now and heavier in the middle and it really made me not only look boxy but very wide shouldered. I'm in between an 8/10 right now so I think if you size up it might look better.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 2, 2013
Great NYE dress!
I wore this dress for a NYE party and it was perfect. The fit was pretty true to size and the long sleeves helped with the cold temperatures. The slip under the lace can be a little see through so make sure all under garments are nude colored. My boyfriend loved this dress too and I am thinking of renting it again. It would be great so really any winter event!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
January 2, 2013
Worked perfectly for my Masquerade NYE Party! Mysterious and Sexy
Fit like a glove. I am a size 4 and it was a true size 4.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 27, 2012
This was my first time renting and the entire process went smoothly. Great customer service!
I love this dress and received so many compliments! My boyfriend even offered to buy the dress after he saw it on me :) It arrived clean and had no signs of wear and tear. All of the lace hems were in perfect condition. I wore the dress for a family Christmas party and the length was perfect, not too short. The only complaint was that the sleeves were about an inch too long and not as tight as they appear in the model's picture. Overall, I would highly recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Body type: Apple
December 26, 2012
Fits great, felt sexy and comfortable!
I wore this for my friends birthday party and felt so great all night long. It fit very comfortably and I was able to dance without worying about it being too tight or short. I normally would not rent a LBD since I own so many, but as soon as I put this on I fell in love with it. I recommend this for women of all shapes and sizes!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 21, 2012
I felt beautiful all night
I rented this dress for a work Christmas Party and it was elegant and classy. The lace is beautiful and the fit was not too tight or loose.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Body type: Full Bust
December 20, 2012
So elegant yet easy and gorgeous lace!
Fit true to size, not too short, got compliments all night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
December 19, 2012
This dress was very flattering!
RTR added this dress to my order when the original dress I rented wasn't available. I didn't end up wearing this for my event because it didn't go with the 1970's theme, but it is a beautiful dress! I ended up wearing it to a smaller holiday party the next evening and I felt great in it. It fit perfectly and I got so many compliments. I'm sorry I forgot to take a picture! I would definitely rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
December 16, 2012
Fantastic dress.
I rented this dress for a Christmas party. It fit perfectly. I received many compliments. I wore it with black tights and dressy boots. I am a petite size 6 and it was mid thigh length on me. I loved it and may rent it again. I highly recommend this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
December 15, 2012
small
I received this dress as my back up to another one I ordered. I never wanted this dress to come, but since the size 8 that I had as a back up in my main dress wasnt available, they sent me this one. It was way too small, and thankfully my main dress fit perfectly and I didnt need this one. I dont like the exposed zipper in the back either. That look is not for me, I think its kinda trashy when wearing that to a wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
December 11, 2012
Sexy lace sheath!
Such a great dress! I wore this on a date and my boyfriend couldn't stop staring! It has a tiny bit of stretch, but runs a bit narrow in the hips if you are bigger on bottom like me, so I kept having to pull it down when walking around. Otherwise, fit perfectly! Will definitely rent this one again :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 10, 2012
Cute, short party dress
This dress is pretty much true to the photo. It's really on-trend at the moment, so I got a ton of compliments from women. Men (my husband) loved it because it's really short. And I mean SHORT. I do happen to be quite tall (5'10") so I think it would be a good length on some shorter ladies, but I wore it to a dinner party and I was pretty happy I had my napkin to cover me up a bit. It fits pretty true to size, except that it's a little tight in the bust area. If I was bigger than a C, I could not have fit into the 6. As it was, I thought about wearing the 8 for more room in the bust, but the hubby liked the shorter one. Also, it's a little shifty, so it tends to bring attention to your tummy if you have one. It's a fun dress; I'd probably rent it again, but maybe on a night where Im not sitting (or eating).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 108lbs
December 10, 2012
looks better on the model
i rented this dress in a size 2 and a 4, and ended up wearing neither. in fact, i wouldn't give it any stars if the website would allow it. seeing as how this dress had no previous reviews, i thought i'd take a chance because i really liked the way it looked in the picture. i would be going to a party that was indorr/outdoor and thought a long-sleeved dress would keep me from freezing. the size 2 fit well on my body, but **the sleeves were much wider/baggier on me than you'd think.** they were not fitted to my arms. overall this dress gave the impression of being WAY too conservative and wasn't at all sexy like the picture. it has so much potential that just did not come across for me. i ended up wearing a dress from my own closet.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
December 10, 2012
Incredibly classy yet bold!
This dress was beautiful, classy and made me feel incredible. I also thought this dress was very flattering and made me feel thinner than the backup dress I chose. I ended up wearing a different dress (I chose this dress as my 2nd style) but it wasn't without great hesitation and 2 days of debating. I wish I had another party to wear this dress to because I would definitely rent it again. The kate spade new york japanese pearl earrings were also an amazing compliment to this dress. It was like the two were made together. For $15 I would definitely recommend renting those to go with it! No other jewelry is even necessary. I also bought a pair of opaque black tights that looked nice under the dress but I ended up going bare-legged. =] Overall the fit was great. True to size I'd say. I rented a 2 and a 4 and would've probably worn the 2. The zipper in the back is easy to pull up too. Even in the 2 I was able to get into and out of the dress by myself, I didn't need to have someone zip me up or unzip me, which is always a plus.
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×