Theia

A Night To Remember Gown

$50 – $70 rental?
$995 retail
Stylist Notes

Be the talk of the gala wearing this gorgeous Theia lace gown. A waist cinching style that you'll be able to strut your stuff in while looking insanely beautiful. Shown here with Oscar de la Renta’s Multi Diamond Mosaic Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - built in bustier with padded cups and boning; size up for fuller bust sizes
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra; dress has built-in bustier for support
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Black lace (60% nylon, 40% rayon). Cap sleeves. V neckline. A-line skirt. Removable belt. Hidden center back zipper. Lined (97% polyester, 3% spandex). Imported. See size and fit tab for lengths.

Share
286 reviews
Fit
Large
(11)
True to Size
(187)
Small
(44)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
January 2, 2013
"You're A Head-Turner Today" - Maid of Honor
This is a beautiful dress. I would have probably given it 5 stars if it weren't for a fit error. I usually wear a size 6, but RTR sent a size 0 by mistake so I ended up wearing a size 8, which was slightly too big. The belt made the fit better, but you could definitely tell from the back that the dress was too big for me. Also, this dress runs short (not small). I usually wear a "regular" for formal dresses, since I'm right at the cusp of being tall/short and I would be stepping on the dress otherwise. But, this dress is best in a "long." I tried the regular and it fell right above my ankles.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 6, 2013
Was a little worried but RTR came through! Dress was a hit!
I received a call the day before the dress was to ship and was told the belt that comes with the dress was missing. RTR was nice enough to allow me to pick another dress to send with the 4R and the 6R I had ordered for this dress. Luckily I had a belt from another dress that worked just fine though it probably would have been ok without it. I tried on the 4 and it fit well up top but was too snug on the bottom. The opposite problem with the 6 but chose to wear the larger size. Although there was a built in bra I chose to wear a bra with it to give me more support as it was too roomy for me. The length was fine for me and was able to wear 3 inch heels. I received sooo many compliments on this dress during the event I attended and for days after. This was my first time renting and although there were some glitches with the dresses sent, RTR was very accommodating. I would definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 58
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 7, 2013
Attended a New Years wedding in New Orleans-the dress was perfect for the event!
Had many compliments, from 20 year olds to 50 somethings! The 4L fit perfectly. I even got to where a 2.5" heel!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137lbs
January 9, 2013
I loved this dress--everyone asked where I had found it!
This dress was beautiful and unique--I received a lot of compliments on it. I am 5'7'' and about 137 pounds, and the size 2 worked well for me. It definitely looks better worn with the belt, and you do need at least a little heel with it even at my height. I loved this dress and would definitely recommend it for any formal affair.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
January 13, 2013
Made me feel like a Princess!
This dress fits true to size, although i have a bigger back so the back was a bit tight. Other than that its worth it! Makes me feel lso sexy and definitely you will be the talk of the party! If you want a dress thats just VA-VA Voom, this is it! MUST GET! Thank you RTR for having this dress!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
January 22, 2013
Great dress, elegant yet comfortable.
Wore this dress to a black tie affair. It was comfortable and elegant, and a great length -- definitely not too long and wearable with flats or small heels.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 26, 2013
Sexy yet classy dress!
I rented size 2P and I'm 5'2, 115 lb. The dress fit PERFECTLY and got compliments from total strangers. I wore it with 3 inch heels and it didn't drag on the floor but covered my shoes nicely. Also, the fabric was stretch so even though it was tight it was not uncomfortable. There was boning/corset inside, too, so you did not need to wear a bra (well maybe for the flat-chested girl). My advice to other customers is if you are debating between two different sizes, I would recommend going to the smaller size. This dress should be tight and show off your curves. Worse comes to worst, wear it with Spanx!
CassAugust 18, 2013
Gorgeous fit!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
February 1, 2013
I loved the dress, very elegant.
I really liked this dress and was very happy that I rented it. I was a little worried after reading some of the reviews that it would be really tight through the hips and the six would end up not fitting. The dress ran very true to size and I am typically bigger in my hips and I had no problem fitting into the dress. I was able to dance around just fine and there was still room to move. I thought the dress was a little short, I had to choose shorter heels so it would go all the way to the floor. If you are tall, I would definitely recommend getting the longer length.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
February 1, 2013
One of the most beautiful dresses I have ever worn! The lace detail was gorgeous!
The fit was great. I expected the corset inside to be a little snug but it was comfortable and really added to the fit of the dress. The 0 petite was a little shorter than I expected but ended up being perfect because of the snow! The lace detail had a few snags but those were easily hidden. Overall, a great dress for 500th Night at West Point.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 123lbs
February 11, 2013
Total Glamour!
This dress fit me like a glove. I very true size "2" - it had an awesome built in bra (I am a 34B). I am 5'1 and wore 5 inch heels and the length was perfect! This dress is so gorgeous in person. Pictures don't do it justice. Also, randomly the trophy lady had it on at the Grammys last night - I felt so Hollywood! I was nervous to death about renting for the first time for one of my oldest friend's black tie wedding. I actually had a malfunction with the first dress and RTR went out of their way to have two more (even better!) dresses shipped to my hotel in Charleston. I would absolutely recommend the experience to anyone.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
February 13, 2013
Felt amazing in this dress!
Lucky for me fit was perfect, especially the interior corset in the dress. Too bad it was too short! I wore flats but you could still see my shoes at the front of the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 15, 2013
Classy and flattering
I loved this dress and found it to be much more forgiving that I'd expected. The lining and dress are somehow stretchy enough to be comfortable and the bustier allowed me to be supported and go bra-less. I'm curvy with hips and chest but this worked great for me! Excellent customer service too as they didn't send the belt but were very generous offering to overnight me another dress or comp the belt-less dress. Thank you! Will definitely use RTR again.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
March 4, 2013
glamourous!
I wore this dress to a black tie wedding and it was fantastic! the built-in corset kept everything in all night and gave me a perfect hourglass figure. at the same time the sleeves and cut made it very comfortable, allowing me to have fun on the dance floor and not worry about wrinkles or fit. HIGHLY recommend this dress.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
March 10, 2013
I felt great in this dress, very comfortable, elegant and modern at the same time.
I couldn't really fill out the top of the dress so I would probably get a 2 if I had it to do over again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
March 11, 2013
It was great, everything worked out perfectly with the dress and delivery.
I ordered a 0 and a 2, the only thing I would have changed is the length. I ordered a long and should have ordered the regular length. I ended up wearing super high heels and it was fine.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
March 11, 2013
Didn't get to wear it.
Unfortunately, this dress wasn't shipped to me because it had been damaged. So, I suppose the only thing I can say is, please, ladies, be careful with the lace!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
September 5, 2012
When I walked into the ceremony room to be seated and I heard half the room gasp and smile in my direction! Later on at the cocktail hour everyones girlfriend and wife came up to me and demanded to know where I got my dress and how it was absolutely beautiful.
I rented this dress for my boyfriends sisters wedding in Chicago over Labor Day Weekend. This picture does the dress no justice, it was STUNNING! I got complimented the entire night and told the dress was lovely. My boyfriend couldn't stop telling me how beautiful I looked. I think I definitely achieved best dressed next to the bride and wedding party. The dress fit like a glove and has a built in bra for extra comfort (you can alway wear a bra). It was super comfortable and very flattering. While I'm 5'5 and 122 lbs, I am a runner with an athletic build so rather "hippy" and I have a rounded lower body. This dress would look great on anyone who is pear shaped, hourglass or even slender because it creates an illusion of being long and lengthy. I typically wear a 2 or 4 in dresses so this is true to size. I ordered a long because I hate short dresses and while I wore about 3 inch heels and it was a tad too long, I loved the length and danced the night away. I promise it was the most STUNNING gown I've worn or rented in my life. And I wear a lot of dresses! Order away ladies! P.S. While not my original plan, I wore the dress with the Oscar De La Renta Ocean Jewel Tone earrings for a pop of color. Colorful earrings are the way to go with this dress as they definitely create a more fun/formal look!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
September 6, 2012
Felt so amazing!
This gown is stunning! The lace detail is amazing and really figure flattering. The bodice inside the dress has almost a full corset with padding so you really don't even need to wear a bra with it. Such a beautiful dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 113lbs
September 11, 2012
Wonderful!!!
I wore this dress to a formal black tie ball and it was stunning!! I am an hourglass figure, 5'4" and 113 lbs, 34B bust and it flattered all the right places. I also wore 4" heels and the slight train in the back made it the perfect length. Built in bra has good support. Love this designer!! Thank you rent the runway for another fantastic dress.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 24, 2013
Beautiful!
Very comfortable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
March 27, 2013
It was perfection!!!!
I am 5/5 and 105 lbs. Finding anything that fits is really hard. I loved it and it fit like a glove!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 31, 2013
Pretty dress- but too much effort
The material of this dress is beautiful. The zipper was so troublesome, even without the dress on, that it wasn't worth the bother. I would recommend going up a size or two if you are busty.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
April 22, 2013
Great, flattering style, but looking raggedy from rentals
This was a really flattering dress, hugging curves but also hiding the extra pounds. I received compliments from several people. However, the dress was in rough shape from all the rentals, I think. There was a large (8 inches) hole in the black middle lining, so you could see what looked like a big nude oval shape through the top layer of the dress. I held my clutch on that side in photos so that it wasn't visible, but it made me self-conscious all evening. Also, the nude and black linings kind of hang out the bottom and I think it may be from excessive wear or something. It didn't look intentional. I think the dress would be stunning when new, but this one had seen better days.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
April 29, 2013
SUPER SHORT
I really wanted to wear this dress, but it was super short. My previous two RTR experiences, even the regular-length dresses required me to wear super-tall heels to avoid having my dress drag all over the place and get stepped on. So I had taken to not trusting the site's recommendation to go longer for my height. This one was well above my ankles. In the end, I saw at least two other women with this dress on at the event I attended - so it was just as well it didn't work out.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 51
Body type: Pear
May 2, 2013
Great dress!
I couldn't thave been happier with my experience - I'll never buy a dress again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 7, 2013
Amazing customer service!
I didn't actually get a chance to wear this dress because the gala I was going to was postponed due to the events surrounding the capture of the Boston Marathon bombers. When I called the customer service line to let them know, they were extremely sympathetic - asking if I was ok, wishing that there was something they could do, etc. - and made the return process super easy. When the event was rescheduled, they credited my account to re-rent the dress at no extra cost. They turned a frustrating/disappointing/scary situation into an easy fix! Thank you RTR!
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
May 22, 2013
Loved Loved Loved this dress.
I am 5'1, 112 lbs and this dress fit perfectly. It was beautiful and I received several compliments! This was worn to a charity benefit.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 50
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 122lbs
May 27, 2013
Had VIP for an important award show.
I ended up wearing the other option I rented which was very similar. But this one would have been great as well. Lovely and formal.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
June 10, 2013
Really comfortable and flattering
I rented this dress for a recent wedding. It was very comfortable and I loved that I didn't have to wear a bra with the built in corset. I am 5'8" and the 2L was perfect with heels.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 143lbs
June 12, 2013
Felt so gorgeous!
I am 5'7 and rented this dress in a 6L and 8L. I am happy I read the reviews, because with my heels, the size was bang on. I fit into both but the 8L was just a little more forgiving so I wore that one. The gown did come a bit rumpled so I got it steamed and RTR told me they would reimburse me for the cost of the steam. This dress is so beautiful. I received a ton of compliments and wore it to a black tie gala. I tried to do a bit of a 50's feel with the curled hair and dark eyes, reddish lips. It is an incredibly flattering gown. I would recommend. Can't wait for the next one!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 116lbs
July 23, 2013
Sophisticated and comfortable - perfect for black tie events
I looked long and hard for a dress to wear to a black tie wedding in Manhattan. I'm so glad I chose the Theia dress from RTR! I'm 5 months postpartum and even though I'm back to my pre-pregnancy weight I was worried about the fit since my hips and rib cage are slightly bigger than before. Much to my delight, this dress has a little stretch and the size 2 fit perfectly! I have the say it was the most comfortable gown I have ever worn. The built-in bustier is fab - I hate the hassle of finding the appropriate undergarment for gowns. As for the length (regular), I'm 5'-51/2" and wore 3 inch heels and the dress was just a tad short. Would've looked better longer but on the bright side I didn't have to worry about stepping on it. Most importantly, I felt confident, sophisticated, and the dress was so perfect for the venue (The Pierre Hotel). If you want non stop compliments I highly recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
August 11, 2013
Stunning dress - received tons of compliments.
Fit perfectly in my normal size. I'm 5'9 so it was just the right height in my heels but it was an outdoor even which made it a bit difficult to walk.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
September 10, 2013
Amazing Dress for a Formal Affair
This was a great dress to wear for the annual Komen Columbus "Pink Tie Ball". I received both the 6 and 8. Both fit, but the 8 was way too large in the bust area. The 6 fit me like a glove and I received tons of compliments all night long.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 10, 2013
Great dress, looked beautiful. Fit perfectly.
I received comments all night!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 66
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
October 1, 2013
I looked like a million dollar lal
It looked amazing...lots of compliments. Unfortunately not letting me upload fotos.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 2, 2013
Felt like a Movie Star!!!
Absolutely loved it!! I received so many compliments on it. It does run a tad small because there is really no stretch in the material. I ordered the 6 and the 8 and went with the 8. Loved it!!! Sorry I had to give it back.
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
October 13, 2013
Perfect!!!
This dress was beautiful, I received compliments all night. I was a little nervous at first ordering the petites as both my size 2original and back up size 0 but it was the perfect length with a three or less inch heel all my regular heels were to tall to have it fall the way the dress was meant to. I am normally a size two but I ended up wearing the 0P because it does run large. Overall I was very happy with my selection as am I always when I use RTR and will definitely be back.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
November 10, 2013
Did not fit
beautiful dress. To big
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Body type: Hourglass
November 15, 2013
Lots of compliments
I had an odd issue; hem was totally off in the front, way too short, as if the lace layer had shrunk. I was grateful for the free tape provided, as I ended up having to tape up the hem of the beige/pink underskirt to match that lace hem height. Otherwise, I go a ton of compliments.
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 127lbs
November 25, 2013
GORGEOUS!
I wore this dress to a Black Tie event and got 8767352643265 compliments. It comes with a built-in bra, but if you're a C cup or above, I'd def recommend wearing a bra anyway. I ordered a 2R and 2L and I'm sooo thankful because the 2R would've been entirely too short. The only problem with this dress was the nude layer underneath. I guess from being worn so many times, it was starting to show at the bottom when I walked. Not a big deal though, and nothing fashion tape couldn't fix! (which they give you with the dress) The customer service was awesome and the detail in the dress was absolutely stunning. This dress is for someone that wants to look sexy while simultaneously looking like a class act. I will absolutely be Renting the Runway for my next big event!
See more reviews:
2 / 8

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×