Rent the Runway

Theia

Navy Taffeta Ruched Gown

$79 to buy
$895 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Absolutely breath taking! Rent this chic Theia gown for the formal event of the year. With it's avant garde style, you'll for sure be the talk of the party. Stack classic necklaces like the Ciner's Antique Crystal Cherish Necklace and Crislu's Graduated Crystal Necklace. Lancome's Color Design 5 Shadow and Liner Palette in Midnight Rush will give you the perfect smokey eye for this look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size –comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths: Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length.

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size –comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths: Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length.

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Navy stretch tafetta(68% polyester; 24% polymaide;8% spandex). Off the shoulder neckline. Draped back. Ruched bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

69 reviews

Fit
Small 1
True to Size 55
Large 13
Photos 38
Jen
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 113
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 15, 2011

My husband was the official narrator for the ball. He didn't see dressed until ball time. His quote was "Wow! That's my wife!"

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was perfect for a formal affair. I received tons of compliments. It does run large. I wear a 34DD and the dress was still a bit big because it has a stretch to the fabric. But, overall the night was amazing and the photos turned out fabulous!
Lindsay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 26, 2011

This dress was sent to me last minute due to a malfunctioning dress that I had originally received. I ended up liking this dress more than my first pick!

Size worn: 14L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress material is very forgiving.....You can wear it all night (I wore it for 6 hours) and was very comfortable dancing, eating and walking around. Received lots of compliments...Considering renting it again!
Kristine
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 205 lbs
Feb 18, 2012

This was my first ball at West Point :D

Size worn: 14R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress has stretch so you should have no problem dancing the night away or eating that extra piece of chicken. The only problem I had with this dress was the sleeves. The sleeves are stretchy. I couldn't lift my arms up without it rising up and looking like a necklace.
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 30, 2012

After shooting in the studio the photographer and I took security and went out into the museum exhibitions to see how people would react. Everyone was staring, whispering, and taking photos with their phone. One girl shouted, "I think that's Reese Witherspoon!"

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I modeled as the Smithsonian's "Hope Diamond Barbie" in this gown and the photos turned out beautifully! The dress was extremely flattering and everyone commented on how classy and glamorous I looked.
JalehA
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 7, 2012

I honestly did not get any compliments on this dress. Nothing really stood out. The material looked cheap, the color didn't stand out, and I looked larger than normal.

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a formal event in NYC. Overall I was not very happy with the dress because it had too much material and made me look frumpy. I admit I was at my fattest at this time, but I assumed a dress like this would be forgiving on my rolls LOL. Also, the sleeves kept moving up and I caught myself readjusting the top constantly.
Kristin
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 30, 2012

I felt sexy but appropriate at a formal Mardi Gras Ball.

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I originally ordered 2 other dresses for the event, neither of which fit. I had followed the advice of other reviewers, but even ordering the Long in one of the dresses didn't make it long enough (I'm only 5'6). This dress wasn't even on my radar, but when I called RTR to have them send me one of my original dresses in another size, I decided to include this one as well. I am SO glad I did! I loved this dress from the second I put it on. The other reviewers are right-- you should size down for your backup size because the stretchy fabric kind of sucks you in. It creates a very flattering silhouette, especially for women with curves like me! Although I was there for my sorority Little sis's Mardi Gras Ball, she was the one that kept paying me compliments all night!
Angela
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Nov 4, 2012

Classic look!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress had a great fit because of its stretch. I can see how it would be comfortable for all body types and the rushing was very flattering. I usually wear a 10/12 and the 10 fit great, so it might run a little large. The only downside to this dress was the arms. I really love the off the shoulder look because it can be very flattering, but I couldn't lift up my arms! Dancing was tough! (Double stick fashion tape helped a little.) But I still think it was worth it to wear the dress. Also, I am just about 5'1" and the dress was very long for me.
S
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 154 lbs
Nov 13, 2012

I felt like the belle of the ball!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is stunning and I felt confident and gorgeous in it! I liked how the off-the-shoulder neckline highlighted my neck and jewelry. The length was just right for me in 3" heels (I'm 5'7").
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 19, 2012

Lots of compliments! I was comfortable and felt like a star!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit true to size. I have a big bust and I didn't feel over exposed. The fabric is stretchy and it's a very flattering fit. The fabric is a bit noisy, but overall I was very pleased!!
Sharon
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 142 lbs
Dec 8, 2012

Gorgeous, flattering and perfect for any formal affair!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I looove this dress. It is so flattering in everyway. I wore a size 8R, it was alittle snug in the boob area but I'm have 34DDs - so I'm not proportionate. To fix the complains about the shoulder part riding up, I stuck fashion tape everywhere! It worked - the shoulder stayed with about 6 pieces of fashion tape. It is so forgiving and comfortable. I got TONS of compliments all night long. My husband tells me I should buy this dress - I may just take him up on it. Awesome dress and would definitely rent again. I'm usually a large 6 or small 8, but with my large chest decided the 8 would work better and it did.
Alyssa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158 lbs
Dec 16, 2012

Big THANK YOU to Glamour Magazine for mentioning this website! What a fun and easy way to shop!

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The party was a 1920's themed event held on the USS Hornet Aircraft Carrier. The Theia Navy Taffeta Ruched Gown was perfect due to the drop waist styling and classic lines. The material has some stretch so it is very comfortable and very flattering. The only con would be the piece that loops around the back is only held together with 2 small round velcro pieces and they constantly detached from the back of the dress. An easy fix would be to add a couple of hook n' eyes. I wore a faux fur wrap the entire night because it was very cold so nobody noticed anyway :). I got numerous compliments on the dress. I also rented the Crystal Cluster Necklace and the Silver Glitz Bangle Set to complete my 1920's glam look.
SMiles
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 121 lbs
Jan 6, 2013

Very easy process, absolutely will do this again!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The fit of the dress was true to fit but a little on the small side. I used the fashion tape included to hold down the shoulder drape piece. This dress was very flattering!
Brittany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 10, 2013

This is a lovely gown. I would rent this again!

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit is true to size. The dress is beautiful and is very forgiving if you are trying to hide a few extra pounds... the only con is that the shoulder section needs to be pinned to the dress after you put it on or it will ride up and end up around your neck. My daughter-in-law wore this to a formal and ended up just tucking that part under her arms so the dress looked more like a strapless gown.
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 23, 2013

Pretty dress, fit well!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my first RTR experience, and overall, I was very pleased. The dresses arrived when requested, and the return shipping was easy. The length on this dress was perfect with a 3 1/2" heel. Size fit perfectly. The dress was very clingy (in front and back) until mid-thigh, which made me feel a bit like a mermaid, but it worked with a curvy shape and was fun for a rental. The only negative comment is that the dress had been repaired (poorly), which surprised me. It was a dark dress, so I decided to roll with it, but it diminished the experience a smidge.
Meaghan
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 26, 2013

Beautiful ballgown!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I received many compliments on this dress, both at the event itself and after showing pictures to others. I loved the dark navy color of the dress, the ruching throughout the body, and the off-the-shoulder sleeves. The sleeves will immediately ride back up if you don't use fashion tape - I used three strips on each arm. I ordered this dress in a 4R with a 2R for my backup size, per the instructions of one of the RTR fit specialists. I typically wear between a 4 and a 6 and was told to order the 2R as my backup size because the dress tends to be a little large. The 4R fit just about perfectly - it was a little tricky to zip up and it felt tight around the chest/back but it was comfortable everywhere else. The 2R was definitely too small in the chest/back and couldn't be zipped up. However, I would guess that the 6R would have been comfortable in the chest/back but too big everywhere else. I'm 5'6" and wore 1.5 inch heels, which is why I ordered the regular and not the long. The dress just showed my toes so the long probably would have been too long without wearing higher heels. Overall, I'm very pleased with this dress!
angela
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180 lbs
Jan 27, 2013

A smashing success!

Size worn: 14L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was fantastic! The dress fit well, though it was a touch long. The ruching made it easy to just pull it up a smidge and everything worked from there. I love the stretch in the fabric - I was comfortable all night. I agree with some of the other reviews that the "sleeves" don't like to stay put, but apparently have no idea how to use fashion tape, because none of the three configurations I tried worked. Also, I needed 3 hands to get it zipped, due to the stretchy fabric! The process at RTR was amazing! I can't wait until I need another dress!!
Angela
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165 lbs
Mar 25, 2013

The dress was great, I got constant compliments.

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Everyone loved this dress. The cons would be that there was something wrong with the bodice...the top of the dress was supposed to be pinned down somehow (I am not a seamstress) over the boobs for a fitted ruched look but it has come loose on one side. You couldn't really tell but I noticed when I put it on. It also slipped down frequently. But it was really comfortable and gorgeous and I got a million compliments. It is a little more blue than it looks in the picture but the color is lovely. It did a great job of emphasizing my waist. If you're tall like me I recommend getting the long!
Mary
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 240 lbs
Apr 5, 2013

I wore this gown for an album cover photo shoot. Incredible. Seriously.

Size worn: 16L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
As a plus size gal, I'm always apprehensive to order things online (Also, please apologize the photos, they don't do the dress justice). This dress surpassed my expectations. I didn't want to take it off! Can't wait to order from RTR again. Thanks for making me feel beautiful.
Johonna
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136 lbs
Apr 25, 2013

Looked fantastic, but only while stationary.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The stretchy fit was great for my curvy hourglass figure. I was somewhere between 135-140 lbs at the time and the 8R felt too baggy around the waist. The 6R fit perfectly across B-W-H, but even with 6" heels, this dress was just way too long for someone 5'2". (For reference though, I do not have shoes on in this photo.) I ended up pulling the skirt part up into the waist several inches (tucked under all the runching) in order to dance. That was almost as irritating as the shawl part around the shoulders - I had to keep pulling that part down, and eventually gave up and put it underneath my arms to wear the dress like it was entirely sleeve-less. Not quite the look I was going for. But all of that aside, I did get tons of compliments on it.
LaSharyl
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 195 lbs
Aug 4, 2013

I got a lot of compliments wearing this dress and I loved the material and how it felt on my skin.

Size worn: 14L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fits very well. It's true to size. I ended up wearing the 14L instead of the 16L. Cons are the sleeves. I had to keep adjusting them all night. They kept coming off my shoulders so I wore it above my shoulders as well. That style was cute also. Overall I loved the dress!!!
Kristin
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Nov 15, 2013

The dress was beautiful! It fit perfectly and hid all the unwanted lumps/bumps. Stunning!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
No cons! Everything about the dress was stunning!
Hillary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Dec 31, 2013

Gorgeous but damaged:(

Size worn: 14L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is beautiful. I was super disappointed that both of the dresses were ripped (in the same area) when they arrived. RTR took care of the rental and, as always, the customer service was top notch, but it still sucked to wear pins and double sided tape all night to hold the seam together.
Belinda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 4, 2014

Simple with bold necklace

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my 2nd choice gown. My first choice was damaged, so RTR mailed 2 sizes of my second choice gown. The gown arrived as scheduled and both gowns were in perfect condition. I wore the size 8R with 4 inch high heels and the fit was perfect as well as the length. I wore this to a masked Mardi Gras Ball and I received a lot of compliments on this gown. The bold necklace that I wore really made the gown stand out. My date really liked the way it fit me across the "back" mid portion of my body. I must say, I really felt amazing and elegant wearing this gown. This was my first experience with RTR and I must say, I am very pleased. There was a minor set back, but in the end RTR really worked to satisfy me. I will definitely be using RTR for my next formal affair and I will recommend RTR to all my family and friends.
Annie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 153 lbs
Feb 13, 2014

Great dress if you aren't dancing

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The off the shoulder bit of this dress simply does not stay in place. Lifting your arms up to even 45 degrees makes it turn into a popped collar/Disney villain look. That being said, the dress is incredibly flattering and beautiful. While sitting dinner and chatting I loved it, but dancing was out for the evening.
Hasanna
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 26, 2014

Comfortable, Classy & Got Lots of Compliments

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress is flattering for someone with a curvy figure like mine. The rouching is very forgiving. I was able to go without spanx...which is always a bonus! The bodice was supportive enough to go without a bra for me. It was a tiny bit long with 3.5" heels on -- I am 5'5", but I was able to get around that by pulling the dress up a bit. The only downside to this dress is the sleeves. I purchased fashion tape (there was none provided in my box), and it was a nightmare trying to keep the sleeves where they were supposed to be. My friend's wife was on tape duty the entire night. I ended up turning it into a makeshift strapless dress by the time we got to the after party, I would definitely recommend this dress if you and fashion tape get along. I loved my experience with RTR...I'm placing another order now!
Lizzie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Mar 24, 2014

Drop Dead Gorgeous

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
We looked like the best dressed couple in the room! It actually fit very well length wise (I'm 5'2" but had about 4 inch heels on). It was really comfortable, and you have a few options on how to wear the straps, though I did have to tape them in place.
Maija
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 182 lbs
Apr 18, 2014

I was a vocal soloist in a symphony concert, the dress worked well and was appropriately dressy.

Size worn: 14R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit was a little tight across my back, I think because I'm a singer with a broad back and a nursing mama, so I always have that problem. The stretchiness and ruching was VERY forgiving for my post-baby belly, and very comfortable to sing in. I had read other reviews about the shoulder sash creeping up so I had my colleague safety pin it down in the back in three places so it would stay put during the concert - I recommend that to everyone, and that worked well. R the R might consider putting in snaps or hooks for the sash to keep it in place... I also dressed up the front with a brooch.
LuvRTR
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 49
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
May 2, 2014

Beautiful gown for a beautiful ball.

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Compliments all night. Big through bodice so I had to pull it up. Regardless, great dress!!!
Stephanie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132 lbs
May 6, 2014

Mother of the groom dress, comfortable, true to size, a little short.needed the size 10L & she's 5'4

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
My mom wore this as a mother of the groom dress for a 5pm wedding and as you can tell she felt amazing! only complaint is that the shoulder part kept riding up
Dea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 52
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165 lbs
May 13, 2014

Rented for Las Vegas, but didn't end up wearing. Stunning, but just not the gown for VEGAS.

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This gown is really pretty on, fits true to size, and is very figure flattering. The shoulder wrap part does like to move, even though RTR put little velcro dots on, it to help keep it tacked down - but at least they help keep it somewhat in place. The gown has some stretch to it, so it is easy to fit into, even if you are a little larger in the hip or (like me) the bust area. The ruching makes it really look good on any woman. My husband said the gown looked really good on, however, I ended up wearing the other of the two gowns that I rented, because it had the more "glitz and glam" look of Vegas that I was wanting. This dress is definitely for a more quiet, refined, elegant, sophisticated type of event. It is very complimentary to curvy figures, and would be perfect for a formal dinner or a night at the theatre. Just not Vegas!
Krystal
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180 lbs
May 30, 2014

Great dress to wear to a military formal.

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The sleeves are not connected to the dress, it fits like a shawl, so bring a few safety pins if you plan on moving your arms. Other than that, it was a great dress. I felt very comfortable in it despite being a larger size. The ruching and the lines of the dress were very flattering, forgiving, and glamorous.
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Sep 28, 2014

The most elegant dress I have ever worn!

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was absolutely gorgeous. I wore it for a wedding at the Waldorf Astoria and I felt amazing in it. It is actually better in person. The other reason I love this dress is that is soooo comfortable! It is very stretchy and forgiving. The shape is super flattering and worked really well for my figure. The long was also perfect. I usually have issues finding dresses truly long enough and this length worked. The shoulder material also velcros to the back to keep it in place which was very helpful. The dress also had a great built in bra. This is the perfect dress for a luxurious event!
Cindy
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 10, 2014

Elegant choice.

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fabric gives .
Lucinda
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Oct 20, 2014

Color is just right for something a little different than black.

Size worn: 14R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The color on this dress is really pretty. The style will fit builds of all sorts due to the forgiving ruching.
Ruth
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 28, 2014

Wore this for a Black Tie Wedding

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful dress and very flattering. I received many complements. Definitely stands out, but in a subtle way. Very classy and elegant.
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 30, 2014

Sweeping and elegant

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was the dress I rented to wear as a wedding guest. My husband and mother-in-law convinced me that my back up dress (short, lacy, and sequined) was a better choice. This felt elegant, but with the desert heat it would have been stifling. The regular was rather long even with 4" heels.
Morgan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 15, 2014

Pretty but frustrating

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wanted to like this dress. The color was pretty, the fit was great. But I was so frustrated by it, even just trying it on made me nuts. The biggest issue was that the off the shoulder piece was not secured to the bodice of the dress and kept riding up even when I was trying it on and broad shoulders are not an issue that I ahve. If I owned the dress, I would have sewn in it down. There were also a lot of those ribbon things that help it sit on the hanger and they were long. The body of the dress was fantastic, beautiful and easy to wear but the off the shoulder part was a dealbreaker.
Kate
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 20, 2014

Classy and comfortable!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Apologies for the blurry photo! My dilemma always: I'm a size 2 in height (I'm only 5'1") but I'm a size 4 in weight (I'm about 120 lbs). I would have ordered both sizes but they only had the 2R. Luckily I had amazing Spanx :) and someone to zip me up. Once I was in the dress it felt great and I was very comfortable. As for length, I wore 4 inch heels and the dress just barely touched the ground. I love the color -- I'd call it a midnight blue. Other reviewers mentioned that the piece around the shoulders slipped. I used fashion tape but I probably didn't need it.
Elisa
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Full Bust
Dec 23, 2014

Stunning, flattering gown. I needed a dress again as a concert soloist, amazing choice.

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The length was perfect (in 2in heels), the only issue is the sash. Each time I've rented this, I've had someone safety pin the sash to the back of the dress, otherwise, it'd be up around my head by time I lift my arms in the slightest. That being said, this has become a go-to rental. Amazing look, fit and comfort of ease for breathing (important for a singer). I'd love to purchase this dress from RTR at some point!!
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190 lbs
Mar 17, 2015

Felt like ursala!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
OMG, terrible dress! This dress showed all the curves horribly!!! Exaggerated my post baby belly and made me appear to have super super broad shoulders. I felt like Ursala in it and not in a good way.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×