Navy Taffeta Ruched Gown

$79 to buy
$895 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Absolutely breath taking! Rent this chic Theia gown for the formal event of the year. With it's avant garde style, you'll for sure be the talk of the party. Stack classic necklaces like the Ciner's Antique Crystal Cherish Necklace and Crislu's Graduated Crystal Necklace. Lancome's Color Design 5 Shadow and Liner Palette in Midnight Rush will give you the perfect smokey eye for this look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size –comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths: Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length.

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size –comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths: Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length.

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Navy stretch tafetta(68% polyester; 24% polymaide;8% spandex). Off the shoulder neckline. Draped back. Ruched bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
71 reviews
Fit
Large
(13)
True to Size
(57)
Small
(1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
December 18, 2012
It was a big hit!!
It had a great fit! I loved it!!
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Body type: Hourglass
December 16, 2012
My bad planning - I ordered dress day before but it arrived 45 minutes before my driver did!
Dress is beautiful - VERY flattering. I'm curvy (waist size 2 and hips size 6-8) and this dress was amazing. Fits beautifully, has lots of give, a gorgeous navy color. My first RTR experience and I couldn't be happier. Ladies, do know that the piece that fits off the shoulder tends to slip upward, so pull it low down on your arms.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158lbs
December 16, 2012
Big THANK YOU to Glamour Magazine for mentioning this website! What a fun and easy way to shop!
The party was a 1920's themed event held on the USS Hornet Aircraft Carrier. The Theia Navy Taffeta Ruched Gown was perfect due to the drop waist styling and classic lines. The material has some stretch so it is very comfortable and very flattering. The only con would be the piece that loops around the back is only held together with 2 small round velcro pieces and they constantly detached from the back of the dress. An easy fix would be to add a couple of hook n' eyes. I wore a faux fur wrap the entire night because it was very cold so nobody noticed anyway :). I got numerous compliments on the dress. I also rented the Crystal Cluster Necklace and the Silver Glitz Bangle Set to complete my 1920's glam look.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Body type: Apple
December 14, 2012
I ended up having to return it.
The dress definitely runs big so for your second size definitely size down and on top of that there is a lot of stretch in the fabric so don't be worried about getting a smaller size. The length runs pretty true, I'm only 5'3 but with higher heels I would have been okay with the length of the regular length. The off-the-shoulder part isn't attached to anything so it is impossible to keep across your arms even for a second to put it, I think that part runs especially big. The fabric itself makes crinkle noises and personally, I don't think the fabric is very pleasing to the eye. The draping across the tummy is very good for those looking to conceal a large midsection though. I think this dress is best suited for girls with long torsos.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 142lbs
December 8, 2012
Gorgeous, flattering and perfect for any formal affair!
I looove this dress. It is so flattering in everyway. I wore a size 8R, it was alittle snug in the boob area but I'm have 34DDs - so I'm not proportionate. To fix the complains about the shoulder part riding up, I stuck fashion tape everywhere! It worked - the shoulder stayed with about 6 pieces of fashion tape. It is so forgiving and comfortable. I got TONS of compliments all night long. My husband tells me I should buy this dress - I may just take him up on it. Awesome dress and would definitely rent again. I'm usually a large 6 or small 8, but with my large chest decided the 8 would work better and it did.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
November 19, 2012
Lots of compliments! I was comfortable and felt like a star!
Fit true to size. I have a big bust and I didn't feel over exposed. The fabric is stretchy and it's a very flattering fit. The fabric is a bit noisy, but overall I was very pleased!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
November 18, 2012
Beautiful dress
Needed the 8. I am 5'0" and with about 2" heels it was just barely dragging the ground. This was a great dress but the shoulder straps keep popping up some.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 154lbs
November 13, 2012
I felt like the belle of the ball!
This dress is stunning and I felt confident and gorgeous in it! I liked how the off-the-shoulder neckline highlighted my neck and jewelry. The length was just right for me in 3" heels (I'm 5'7").
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
November 4, 2012
Classic look!
This dress had a great fit because of its stretch. I can see how it would be comfortable for all body types and the rushing was very flattering. I usually wear a 10/12 and the 10 fit great, so it might run a little large. The only downside to this dress was the arms. I really love the off the shoulder look because it can be very flattering, but I couldn't lift up my arms! Dancing was tough! (Double stick fashion tape helped a little.) But I still think it was worth it to wear the dress. Also, I am just about 5'1" and the dress was very long for me.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
October 30, 2012
I felt sexy but appropriate at a formal Mardi Gras Ball.
I originally ordered 2 other dresses for the event, neither of which fit. I had followed the advice of other reviewers, but even ordering the Long in one of the dresses didn't make it long enough (I'm only 5'6). This dress wasn't even on my radar, but when I called RTR to have them send me one of my original dresses in another size, I decided to include this one as well. I am SO glad I did! I loved this dress from the second I put it on. The other reviewers are right-- you should size down for your backup size because the stretchy fabric kind of sucks you in. It creates a very flattering silhouette, especially for women with curves like me! Although I was there for my sorority Little sis's Mardi Gras Ball, she was the one that kept paying me compliments all night!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
September 20, 2012
Great customer service, its hard to get good customer service these days, i got it a day earlier.
Perfect for hourglass body shape cause it shows off your waist instead of other dresses being perfect size in the bust but to big anywhere else, this type of dress is perfect if you dont have the normal body type and dimensions. This type of dress would fit any body type but especially perfect for hourglass, i got a lot of compliments so i loved the experience, i will be renting from here again soon
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
September 19, 2012
Beautiful dress.
Pros: Fit well, great at drawing attention to your overall figure (curvy/hourglass) and away from figure flaws (un-toned stomach & arms). Received a few compliments from strangers when I wore it to fiancee's 100-year anniversary gala for work. One caveat: Sleeve thingy does ride up so not sure if this would be a great dress for dancing. Felt like dress needed constant adjustment after I moved my arms much because shoulder shawl was loose (I have a small bone structure). This maybe could have been remedied by a size smaller dress. I think I could have also fit into a 4R but they were out of 4R.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
September 15, 2012
Beautiful dress, very classy and sophisticated. Made my night!
The dress runs a little small, order both your size and a size up just in case. The off the shoulder bit doesn't attach anywhere so you have to adjust it every once in awhile, but it wasn't too bad. The dress looks expensive, and it was very flattering on my body type. The color is also great on fair skin (no need to tan before prom!) All in all, loved it, and RTR service in general.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 7, 2012
I honestly did not get any compliments on this dress. Nothing really stood out. The material looked cheap, the color didn't stand out, and I looked larger than normal.
I rented this dress for a formal event in NYC. Overall I was not very happy with the dress because it had too much material and made me look frumpy. I admit I was at my fattest at this time, but I assumed a dress like this would be forgiving on my rolls LOL. Also, the sleeves kept moving up and I caught myself readjusting the top constantly.
View photos (0)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
August 30, 2012
After shooting in the studio the photographer and I took security and went out into the museum exhibitions to see how people would react. Everyone was staring, whispering, and taking photos with their phone. One girl shouted, "I think that's Reese Witherspoon!"
I modeled as the Smithsonian's "Hope Diamond Barbie" in this gown and the photos turned out beautifully! The dress was extremely flattering and everyone commented on how classy and glamorous I looked.
RTR CustomerJanuary 14, 2013
You wore the Hope Diamond??!! WOW! And the dress looks good on you too.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
April 9, 2012
Flattering and elegant
I wore this for my boyfriend's office Christmas party and it was the perfect choice -- just the right amount of classy/sexy to both turn heads and not raise eyebrows (I sat next to a partner at his firm during dinner! Good choice!) A couple of issues: I needed to push the dress down every once in a while, particularly during dancing -- the long fitted part tends to ride up. Also, raising your hands over your head is downright impossible without lifting up the shoulder part in an awkard way, and you'll have to readjust it if you want to, say, raise your hand, or throw them into the air like you just don't care.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 28, 2012
Comfortable but not functional
This dress ran true to size, and was very stretchy and comfortable. The arm band thing is a little impractile, as I couldn't raise my arms or wear a coat during the evening.
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 59
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
March 1, 2012
Very Good Dress for Large Girl
I am not a small girl...in fact, I am 5' 7 1/2" and I weigh 180 lbs. This dress fit great and looked great. It was also very comfortable. I was able to wear it with 3" heels and then later I took off the heels and wore flats and it worked for those also. Just a great overall dress. The only drawback that I would mention is the sleeves. This part of the dress is only attached at the front and slips over your head and then it keeps slipping up your arms when you move. I wore fashion tape on my back and my arms and that helped it somewhat. I also had my husband pull it down into place quite a few times during the evening.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
February 29, 2012
Military Ball
I wore this to an Army Military Ball. Dress fit great, got tons of compliments! Was told I looked Old Hollywood Glamor. I usually wear size 8 to 10. 8 fit well because it does have some stretch to it.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124lbs
February 19, 2012
Great Dress!
I love, love, love this dress and was sad to send it back. It fits beautifully, is incredibly flattering and was really comfortable. I received so many complements. I had ordered it in a 4 and 6, and both looked and fit great but the length on the 4 was better so I went with that one, it skimmed the floor with 4" heels. I wish I could keep it!
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 205lbs
February 18, 2012
This was my first ball at West Point :D
The dress has stretch so you should have no problem dancing the night away or eating that extra piece of chicken. The only problem I had with this dress was the sleeves. The sleeves are stretchy. I couldn't lift my arms up without it rising up and looking like a necklace.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 63
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
February 12, 2012
OSCARS
I rented this gown for the Scientific and Technical awards show Feb. 11th. The fit was terrific, one of the backup gowns had a small break in the side seam, so I couldn't wear it. Unfortunate. A very comfy gown overall - but it's difficult to keep the wrap down over the arms - it tends to slip up constantly. The stretch fabric is fantastic though - and VERY comfortable. I'd definitely consider renting this one again.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
January 7, 2012
Just Fabulous!
This dress fits like a second skin, so comfortable and so flattering! I LOVE this dress and it took everything in me to return it. Honestly, can I buy this dress?? I felt like a million bucks and the compliments kept coming all night long. What a dress to bring in the New Year!! Rent the Runway is just brilliant and so user friendly.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
January 2, 2012
Fabulous
This dress is amazing and I believe would flatter any body type due to the stretchy/ruched taffeta. I received more than a dozen compliments from strangers who stopped me as I was walking by to tell me how beautiful the dress was and one wedding guest told me it looked "Old Hollywood"! I would recommend ordering your regular size and one down for backup because the fabric is quite stretchy and then you can decide which dress is more flattering for your body type.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
December 27, 2011
Great Experience
Loved the dress. Very Flattering and comfortable. Could have worn either size because it is stretchy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
December 26, 2011
This dress was sent to me last minute due to a malfunctioning dress that I had originally received. I ended up liking this dress more than my first pick!
The dress material is very forgiving.....You can wear it all night (I wore it for 6 hours) and was very comfortable dancing, eating and walking around. Received lots of compliments...Considering renting it again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 114
Body type: Hourglass
November 15, 2011
My husband was the official narrator for the ball. He didn't see dressed until ball time. His quote was "Wow! That's my wife!"
This dress was perfect for a formal affair. I received tons of compliments. It does run large. I wear a 34DD and the dress was still a bit big because it has a stretch to the fabric. But, overall the night was amazing and the photos turned out fabulous!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
November 5, 2011
Perfect dress for a black tie gala. Loved the mermaid silhouette on my athletic and curvy frame. There is some built in support, which was probably enough to get away without wearing a bra. I am a 36D and I wore a corset style bra for the lift. I normally wear a size 8 or 10, and I rented a size 10 based on what was available. I have a thin waist and the dress was a little big in the waist, it didn't look too big but it could have been tighter. The Length of L was good for me (I'm 5'8"), with 2.5inch heels. Very comfortable and glamorous. I accessorized this dress with this Dannijo Necklace, Bracelet and Earrings: http://www.renttherunway.com/shop/designers/short_jewelry/omalanecklace, http://www.renttherunway.com/shop/designers/bracelets_jewelry/lenabracelet, http://www.renttherunway.com/shop/designers/pierced_jewelry/cecilelenaearrings and Lauren Merkin Clutch: http://www.renttherunway.com/shop/designers/handbags_jewelry/dianaclutch
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Body type: Full Bust
November 1, 2011
Stunning. Everyone loved the way it looked. Order a size down. Definitely was very slimming and stretchy.
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 51
Body type: Hourglass
October 27, 2011
It is a stunning dress. Does have generous stretch. Do not need a bra.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
October 7, 2011
This dress was a tad big on me and I wish I had ordered a 0 but I felt like a million bucks. Considering my petite stature, it was a little long on me but I could hike up the material under the last folds a few inches when commuting to and from the event. The fabric has a little spandex in it so it hugs the curves nicely. I paired the dress with the Ciner crystal necklace which really made the neckline spectacular. I'm considering renting the necklace again for another black tie event next month! Bottom line, the dress and necklace combo was well worth the rental.
See more reviews:
2 / 2
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited Bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×