Theia

Navy Taffeta Ruched Gown

$79 to buy
$895 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Absolutely breath taking! Rent this chic Theia gown for the formal event of the year. With it's avant garde style, you'll for sure be the talk of the party. Stack classic necklaces like the Ciner's Antique Crystal Cherish Necklace and Crislu's Graduated Crystal Necklace. Lancome's Color Design 5 Shadow and Liner Palette in Midnight Rush will give you the perfect smokey eye for this look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 2-14.

BUST: Great for any cup size –comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths: Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length.

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Navy stretch tafetta(68% polyester; 24% polymaide;8% spandex). Off the shoulder neckline. Draped back. Ruched bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
72 reviews
Fit
Large
(13)
True to Size
(58)
Small
(1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
April 30, 2013
Stunning!
Would def rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
December 31, 2013
Gorgeous but damaged:(
This dress is beautiful. I was super disappointed that both of the dresses were ripped (in the same area) when they arrived. RTR took care of the rental and, as always, the customer service was top notch, but it still sucked to wear pins and double sided tape all night to hold the seam together.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 4, 2014
Simple with bold necklace
This was my 2nd choice gown. My first choice was damaged, so RTR mailed 2 sizes of my second choice gown. The gown arrived as scheduled and both gowns were in perfect condition. I wore the size 8R with 4 inch high heels and the fit was perfect as well as the length. I wore this to a masked Mardi Gras Ball and I received a lot of compliments on this gown. The bold necklace that I wore really made the gown stand out. My date really liked the way it fit me across the "back" mid portion of my body. I must say, I really felt amazing and elegant wearing this gown. This was my first experience with RTR and I must say, I am very pleased. There was a minor set back, but in the end RTR really worked to satisfy me. I will definitely be using RTR for my next formal affair and I will recommend RTR to all my family and friends.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 153lbs
February 13, 2014
Great dress if you aren't dancing
The off the shoulder bit of this dress simply does not stay in place. Lifting your arms up to even 45 degrees makes it turn into a popped collar/Disney villain look. That being said, the dress is incredibly flattering and beautiful. While sitting dinner and chatting I loved it, but dancing was out for the evening.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
February 26, 2014
Comfortable, Classy & Got Lots of Compliments
The dress is flattering for someone with a curvy figure like mine. The rouching is very forgiving. I was able to go without spanx...which is always a bonus! The bodice was supportive enough to go without a bra for me. It was a tiny bit long with 3.5" heels on -- I am 5'5", but I was able to get around that by pulling the dress up a bit. The only downside to this dress is the sleeves. I purchased fashion tape (there was none provided in my box), and it was a nightmare trying to keep the sleeves where they were supposed to be. My friend's wife was on tape duty the entire night. I ended up turning it into a makeshift strapless dress by the time we got to the after party, I would definitely recommend this dress if you and fashion tape get along. I loved my experience with RTR...I'm placing another order now!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 24, 2014
Drop Dead Gorgeous
We looked like the best dressed couple in the room! It actually fit very well length wise (I'm 5'2" but had about 4 inch heels on). It was really comfortable, and you have a few options on how to wear the straps, though I did have to tape them in place.
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 182lbs
April 18, 2014
I was a vocal soloist in a symphony concert, the dress worked well and was appropriately dressy.
Fit was a little tight across my back, I think because I'm a singer with a broad back and a nursing mama, so I always have that problem. The stretchiness and ruching was VERY forgiving for my post-baby belly, and very comfortable to sing in. I had read other reviews about the shoulder sash creeping up so I had my colleague safety pin it down in the back in three places so it would stay put during the concert - I recommend that to everyone, and that worked well. R the R might consider putting in snaps or hooks for the sash to keep it in place... I also dressed up the front with a brooch.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 50
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
May 2, 2014
Beautiful gown for a beautiful ball.
Compliments all night. Big through bodice so I had to pull it up. Regardless, great dress!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 54
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
May 13, 2014
Rented for Las Vegas, but didn't end up wearing. Stunning, but just not the gown for VEGAS.
This gown is really pretty on, fits true to size, and is very figure flattering. The shoulder wrap part does like to move, even though RTR put little velcro dots on, it to help keep it tacked down - but at least they help keep it somewhat in place. The gown has some stretch to it, so it is easy to fit into, even if you are a little larger in the hip or (like me) the bust area. The ruching makes it really look good on any woman. My husband said the gown looked really good on, however, I ended up wearing the other of the two gowns that I rented, because it had the more "glitz and glam" look of Vegas that I was wanting. This dress is definitely for a more quiet, refined, elegant, sophisticated type of event. It is very complimentary to curvy figures, and would be perfect for a formal dinner or a night at the theatre. Just not Vegas!
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180lbs
May 30, 2014
Great dress to wear to a military formal.
The sleeves are not connected to the dress, it fits like a shawl, so bring a few safety pins if you plan on moving your arms. Other than that, it was a great dress. I felt very comfortable in it despite being a larger size. The ruching and the lines of the dress were very flattering, forgiving, and glamorous.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
October 20, 2014
Color is just right for something a little different than black.
The color on this dress is really pretty. The style will fit builds of all sorts due to the forgiving ruching.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
September 28, 2014
The most elegant dress I have ever worn!
This dress was absolutely gorgeous. I wore it for a wedding at the Waldorf Astoria and I felt amazing in it. It is actually better in person. The other reason I love this dress is that is soooo comfortable! It is very stretchy and forgiving. The shape is super flattering and worked really well for my figure. The long was also perfect. I usually have issues finding dresses truly long enough and this length worked. The shoulder material also velcros to the back to keep it in place which was very helpful. The dress also had a great built in bra. This is the perfect dress for a luxurious event!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 57
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 10, 2014
Elegant choice.
The fabric gives .
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
October 28, 2014
Wore this for a Black Tie Wedding
Beautiful dress and very flattering. I received many complements. Definitely stands out, but in a subtle way. Very classy and elegant.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
November 15, 2014
Pretty but frustrating
I wanted to like this dress. The color was pretty, the fit was great. But I was so frustrated by it, even just trying it on made me nuts. The biggest issue was that the off the shoulder piece was not secured to the bodice of the dress and kept riding up even when I was trying it on and broad shoulders are not an issue that I ahve. If I owned the dress, I would have sewn in it down. There were also a lot of those ribbon things that help it sit on the hanger and they were long. The body of the dress was fantastic, beautiful and easy to wear but the off the shoulder part was a dealbreaker.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 20, 2014
Classy and comfortable!
Apologies for the blurry photo! My dilemma always: I'm a size 2 in height (I'm only 5'1") but I'm a size 4 in weight (I'm about 120 lbs). I would have ordered both sizes but they only had the 2R. Luckily I had amazing Spanx :) and someone to zip me up. Once I was in the dress it felt great and I was very comfortable. As for length, I wore 4 inch heels and the dress just barely touched the ground. I love the color -- I'd call it a midnight blue. Other reviewers mentioned that the piece around the shoulders slipped. I used fashion tape but I probably didn't need it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Body type: Full Bust
December 23, 2014
Stunning, flattering gown. I needed a dress again as a concert soloist, amazing choice.
The length was perfect (in 2in heels), the only issue is the sash. Each time I've rented this, I've had someone safety pin the sash to the back of the dress, otherwise, it'd be up around my head by time I lift my arms in the slightest. That being said, this has become a go-to rental. Amazing look, fit and comfort of ease for breathing (important for a singer). I'd love to purchase this dress from RTR at some point!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
March 17, 2015
Felt like ursala!
OMG, terrible dress! This dress showed all the curves horribly!!! Exaggerated my post baby belly and made me appear to have super super broad shoulders. I felt like Ursala in it and not in a good way.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 34
July 18, 2015
this dress is absolute perfection
perfect and insanely comfortable
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 49
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 162lbs
October 21, 2015
Got a million complements on the beautiful dress and looked and felt like a princess for the night.
Dress fit perfect, material was stretchy which helped. The off the shoulder part didn't stay put I had it pinned in the back. I thought if they put in a couple of eye hooks it would of been perfect.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200lbs
February 2, 2016
Wore this to a gala, received lots of compliments.
The off the shoulder straps do not stay in place, they kept riding up over my shoulders.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
December 26, 2011
This dress was sent to me last minute due to a malfunctioning dress that I had originally received. I ended up liking this dress more than my first pick!
The dress material is very forgiving.....You can wear it all night (I wore it for 6 hours) and was very comfortable dancing, eating and walking around. Received lots of compliments...Considering renting it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 154lbs
November 13, 2012
I felt like the belle of the ball!
This dress is stunning and I felt confident and gorgeous in it! I liked how the off-the-shoulder neckline highlighted my neck and jewelry. The length was just right for me in 3" heels (I'm 5'7").
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 10, 2013
This is a lovely gown. I would rent this again!
The fit is true to size. The dress is beautiful and is very forgiving if you are trying to hide a few extra pounds... the only con is that the shoulder section needs to be pinned to the dress after you put it on or it will ride up and end up around your neck. My daughter-in-law wore this to a formal and ended up just tucking that part under her arms so the dress looked more like a strapless gown.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
May 6, 2014
Mother of the groom dress, comfortable, true to size, a little short.needed the size 10L & she's 5'4
My mom wore this as a mother of the groom dress for a 5pm wedding and as you can tell she felt amazing! only complaint is that the shoulder part kept riding up
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
January 7, 2012
Just Fabulous!
This dress fits like a second skin, so comfortable and so flattering! I LOVE this dress and it took everything in me to return it. Honestly, can I buy this dress?? I felt like a million bucks and the compliments kept coming all night long. What a dress to bring in the New Year!! Rent the Runway is just brilliant and so user friendly.
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 64
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
February 12, 2012
OSCARS
I rented this gown for the Scientific and Technical awards show Feb. 11th. The fit was terrific, one of the backup gowns had a small break in the side seam, so I couldn't wear it. Unfortunate. A very comfy gown overall - but it's difficult to keep the wrap down over the arms - it tends to slip up constantly. The stretch fabric is fantastic though - and VERY comfortable. I'd definitely consider renting this one again.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124lbs
February 19, 2012
Great Dress!
I love, love, love this dress and was sad to send it back. It fits beautifully, is incredibly flattering and was really comfortable. I received so many complements. I had ordered it in a 4 and 6, and both looked and fit great but the length on the 4 was better so I went with that one, it skimmed the floor with 4" heels. I wish I could keep it!
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
December 28, 2012
If you're looking for a sophisticated style that compliments the curves... this dress is for you!!!
I rented this gown for my Mom to wear to a wedding and she looked absolutely stunning in it! The dress was very flattering and showed off her curves in such an elegant, sophisticated way. She looked so regal! Mom is petite but has curves! She's 5'4, approx 125 lbs., is a 34 DDD and wears a size 6. I would say this dress fits true to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 3, 2013
Loved the dress. Lots of compliments.
Looked small out of the box but definitely true to size. The long was too long even with three inch heels. If I had gotten the 4R as my back-up size I might have chosen that instead. The arm wrap definitely rides up a lot, but it's a beautiful dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 30, 2014
Sweeping and elegant
This was the dress I rented to wear as a wedding guest. My husband and mother-in-law convinced me that my back up dress (short, lacy, and sequined) was a better choice. This felt elegant, but with the desert heat it would have been stifling. The regular was rather long even with 4" heels.
Size worn:
14R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 49
October 2, 2016
perfect fit with a bit of stretch
none
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×