Gold Stroke Dress

$80 rental
$595 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

We think this Theia dress is a stroke of genius! Rent it for your next occasion and you will steal the show. Gold and black jacquard are perfect paired with Slate & Willow's Dripping Arbor Necklace.

Belt not included.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14 & plus 16W-22W.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress very fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14 & plus 16W-22W.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress very fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black and Gold Jacquard (100% Polyester). Sleeveless. Boat Neckline. Full skirt. Scoop back. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 36” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
178 reviews
Fit
Large7
True to Size110
Small47
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
April 14, 2015
Formal and fun and very comfy.
I did a reading at my friend's wedding and wanted to be formal but still comfortable since I had to get up in front of 200 strangers. I'm busty but it was such a great combination of structured and comfortable that I didn't need to wear a bra. I have narrow hips and the full skirt perfectly balanced out my shoulders. It's perfect for top heavy gals. And it has pockets so I could dance all night and keep my phone nearby without sacrificing my wine glass!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
February 27, 2015
New Years Eve + a wedding? Fantastically fun and fancy evening!
This dress fit like a dream for the most part. I have a smaller waist and a larger bottom, so the style worked with my shape beautifully. As other reviewers have mentioned, it runs a little snug. I ordered both a 10 (my normal size) and a 12 and the 12 was far too big to wear. The 10 worked just fine! I got a lot of compliments on the dress and many people asked if I had lost weight! Ha - major perk! :) This dress is perfect for a fun event like a NYE wedding or any other fancier party. You will get noticed!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
February 19, 2015
Tons of compliments!
Overall, I really enjoyed this dress. I absolutely loved the fact that it had pockets and the length was just what I was looking for. My only concern was that the bust was a little tight. If you are a D or larger, you should consider going up a size.
Size worn:
18W
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 198lbs
January 31, 2015
Comfortable and beautiful but difficult to find a bra
This was a great dress and I got tons of complements! My only complaint is that I had to wear a strapless bra (or no bra) because the straps sit wide on the shoulders and it cuts in a lot in the front.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
January 24, 2015
Great look!
I needed a dress for a friend's wedding at a social club in nyc that was just a step below black tie. This dress was perfect for that evening. I got the 2 and 4 and I definitely needed the 4- go a size up. The neckline is pretty high and the bust area a bit tight when zipped up. The dress flares out at the natural waist and its a heavier material. I received many compliments on it and had a blast that evening.
Size worn:
22W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 20
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 290lbs
January 2, 2015
It was a fun style, perfect for New Year's and wasn't too short.
The armholes were a tiny bit to big for me, but other the fit was perfect. If you have a bigger bottom, the back is a little shorter so be mindful of that.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 63
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
January 2, 2015
Remarkable! Rented 2 times now
It is not easy finding a flattering fit with a quality fabric in a plus size. Usually there's a whole lot of fabric that is useless. I did find a special strapless bra as the bust area is fitted and a regular bra just didn't fill the space well. Got lots of compliments and didn't feel that the dress was "too young" for my age or my body type. Loved it so much just rented again for an engagement party. Got lots of compliments- especially about the unique fabric.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
January 1, 2015
Felt great!
Prepare for a very open back. Perfect for hourglass shapes.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 30, 2014
Compliments all night!
OMG this dress is everything. It fit so perfectly and is STUNNING in person. I wore it to a family wedding and received compliments all night. It's incredibly comfortable, easy (no special bras/panties needed!) and flattering as well, especially for hourglass or pear shapes. I rented size 4 and 6 and honestly couldn't tell the difference between the two. I went with the 6 because the clasp was broken on the 4. It went perfectly with the Slate and Willow necklace I rented. I wanted to keep it and wear it permanently. Can't wait to rent it again!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
December 22, 2014
Fabulous dress, excellent service! An extremely pleased first-time user!
I wore this dress to a large company banquet I planned -- it was perfect! I got the 14 and the 16 but wore the 14 -- it was a bit snug around the ribs but not terrible and I was afraid the 16 would make me look too poofy. Packing for delivery and returning was classy, clean and efficient! Rent the Runway saved me SO MUCH time and effort at a time when I was very professionally overwhelmed. I will absolutely take advantage of this service again this year. I received many compliments throughout the night and recommended this service to everyone!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 63
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
December 17, 2014
Dramatic dress
The waist on the size 12 was too small for me, and so I wore the 14 which was a little big in the bust. I have small shoulders so the boat neck style created a little too much fabric in the front, and I spent the night adjusting by holding my shoulders back and pulling the dress down. The details of this dress are amazing. Completely lined in black, beautiful fabric- the gold "splashes" are especially dramatic, pockets!!, and piping to define the bodice. The dress does flare out on its own. You must either wear a strapless bra or go without one. I thought that the back was lower than a bra, so I went without. This dress was amazing, even with the small issues I had. I wore earrings and a bracelet and no necklace. I thought the fabric would speak for itself, especially when sitting down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 17, 2014
So Many Complements
Wore this to an upscale wine release party and got a ton of great complements. It fit really well - fitted in the top but open on the bottom for easy movement. I also loved the deep pockets!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
December 16, 2014
It's a beautiful dress but way too small!
I'm bummed I couldn't wear it, it's a gorgeous dress. I'm very surprised I couldn't fit into a size 4 or 6. I haven't had to wear a size 8 in years!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Body type: Hourglass
December 15, 2014
Perfect for a dazzling evening
Terrific fit, very flattering, although I prefer lower necklines. The gold color looks even better in person than it does in the photo.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
December 14, 2014
Lovely dress. Great shape. Flattering. Much better in person!
I loved this dress. The skirt has a lot of body to it, which I always love, and the top fit great. I chose to wear a strapless bra because I couldn't quite get a regular bra to stay hidden under the straps. With a little tape or possibly on someone with broader shoulders (mine are pretty narrow), a regular bra might be workable. The only disappointing thing about this dress is that it's awesomeness is not fully captured in pictures. I am usually a 4 or sometimes a 2 on top. I found this dress fit pretty true to size, though it would've been interesting to try on a 2. I wore a 4 and also had a 6 sent based on other reviews. The 4 fit but definitely had a bit of wiggle room in the bodice. I'm 5'7" and the length was great. I have a pretty long torso, but the waist on this was still flattering, even though it's a bit high. As other reviewers experienced, neither of the dresses sent came with a belt. So maybe don't expect that. I thought it looked great without a belt though. Anyway, great dress, it really pops, and it's very comfortable. The pockets are also very functional. I had a clutch but had my phone in a pocket from time to time, and it didn't weigh down the skirt at all. I think this dress would be a safe (and great!) choice for a wide variety of body types and ages.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
December 10, 2014
Gorgeous, elegant, perfectly fit, runs slightly small
Such a beautiful dress - wish I had a full length photo to attach. I'm 5'6" and the skirt reached just the top of my knee, not as short as the photograph of model. Nice thick, substantial material and skirt poufs out in an elegant way, not too much. Great for a holiday party or wedding. Bodice fit perfectly, holds its shape. Ran slightly small, size 8 was tight on me. Photographs really well too - shade of gold is elegant and is highlighted in photos, not too brassy, and the pattern looks like brushstrokes, very modern. Absolutely loved it. Got lots of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
December 10, 2014
Fun holiday dress!
Wore this to a holiday party & loved it! I'm almost always a 2 and I wore the 4. The 2 was too tight around the bust/waist area. It comes with a belt which is hard to see in the picture.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
December 10, 2014
Runs much smaller than expected
I rented this because the other Theia dresses fit me so well, but not this one. Could barely fit in the chest.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
December 8, 2014
Fun for a date, and easy to dress up or down!
I don't have a photo, unfortunately. This was a back-up dress for a wedding and I liked it so much, I wore it to a nice dinner with my boyfriend followed by drinks with the bride and groom the night before the wedding. The gold is really eye-catching and would be great for a holiday party or wedding. I dressed it "down" for a date with a black scarf and cardigan to make it more appropriate for dinner and drinks. The skirt hit my knee and was just "poofy" enough to be fun, but not annoying. The fabric is a little stiff, but not uncomfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
18W
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 180lbs
December 8, 2014
Great dress
I loved this dress, but I had to size up for the waist and the top part was way too big on me (I'm a 38B). I don't think it was too obvious, but I felt there was definitely extra fabric hanging there.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 3, 2014
Great dress!
Fits well, got lots of compliments on the unique style and design of the dress. Very comfortable, definitely reco renting this one!
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
December 2, 2014
People said "you need to buy this dress- it looks like it was made for you!"
True to size
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 24, 2014
Perfect for a November NY wedding!
I selected this dress when my first pick had been returned too damaged, and I'm so happy I ended up with this one! I received compliments all night at the reception, and couldn't have felt more confident in it. Pockets were very convenient, material was light enough to stay comfortable dancing all night. Thank you Rent the Runway! Paired w/ Oscar de La Renta Noir Marks the Spot earrings.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 18, 2014
Incredible Dress!!
I LOVED this dress and wish I could've kept it forever! It fit me like a glove. I read a number of people complain about it being a bit too tight in the shoulders/chest, but that was not the case for me. I have a very short torso and usually need to have straps brought up - this dress fit PERFECT as is, which is so rare! It was super high quality fabric, a stiff-but not uncomfortable material. Oh, and pockets for the win!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 14, 2014
I decided to use RTR for the very first time for my friend's wedding at an art museum!
This dress fit me like a glove. In hindsight, I wish I had worn the second size (10) to the wedding for a bit more breathing room -My dad had to literally zip me into the 8. However, the 8 was still very comfortable overall. I loved everything about this dress - The colors, the length, the fabric, the matching belt - Everything was fabulous! I got so many compliments at the wedding, so much so that I wore it the very next day for church services. I recommended RTR at least 15 times over the course of the weekend! I am going to rent a dress for my boyfriend's company Christmas party in December, and I can't wait to find one! I am thrilled with RTR and everything they do! The price for this rental was affordable (So much cheaper than buying yet another cocktail dress), and I loved RTR's shipping process as well. I will continue to highly recommend RTR to everyone I know!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 138lbs
November 13, 2014
Loved it!!!
Such a fun dress. Comfortable and great to dance in. Wore this for a November wedding. The RnR stylist in the SoHo store made me try it on because i would have NEVER picked it out. Within seconds of putting it on I didnt even try the rest of them on. I rented this one. LOVED. (I would say order one size up for rib cage, I'm a 32 bust and a size 4 normally and it was a little tight so I got the 6)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
November 8, 2014
I felt absolutely comfortable and beautiful in the dress!
The dress fit beautifully. The back dipped a little lower than anticipated. The color was a little more bronze than gold (I felt it showed more gold in the photos), but the gold jewelry I bought for the occasion worked fine. Best of all, I felt like the dress emphasized my assets. I felt comfortable which heightened my confidence; I didn't have to tug or pull at the dress throughout the night which was one less worry, allowing me to enjoy the company and the party.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
October 29, 2014
I got many compliments on this dress. It's really fun to dance in!
I felt the dress was true to size. It didn't seem to run large to me, opposed to what other people had said.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 63
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 143lbs
October 23, 2014
Great dress; loved everything about it!
Very comfortable to wear and I chose to go without a bra because the back is pretty low. Because of the fabric and the construction of the dress, the girls stayed right where they belonged! The pockets came in handy for Kleenex at the wedding ceremony. Lots of compliments. I wish I owned this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180lbs
October 16, 2014
Fun dress
Fit perfectly - super fun dress with pockets and shine. Heavy fabric, though.
Size worn:
16W
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 200lbs
October 15, 2014
Easy and fun
Fitted waist and flared fuller skirt. Able to wear regular bra. Elegant!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
October 15, 2014
I REALLY wanted to wear this dress. Shame it was a "bit" too small in bust.
Too small- only in chest. If you are above a C cup and/or a size 10, no way.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 59
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116lbs
October 15, 2014
the bride was beautiful
This dress runs slightly large. The fabric is beautiful, and the print is quite bold. The picture is slightly deceiving as the skirt is VERY full. I did not wear this to the wedding as I felt the dress was too dark and bold for an afternoon wedding. This dress would be great for a party or New Year's Event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 63
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110lbs
October 7, 2014
all good!
fit good, looks good, side pockets a handy nice touch; very good for dancing; i was very happy with this dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
October 7, 2014
I was sadly unable to wear this dress, but so grateful for the backup RTR provided.
Sadly I was unable to wear this dress. The 12 was way too small for my chest but yet the 14 was way too big for my chest and shoulders - such that wearing the 14 looked awkward.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
October 4, 2014
Comfortable LBD for a fall wedding
Loved the eye catching gold that punched up this classic LBD. Pockets made it easy to keep your lipstick & camera with you.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
October 2, 2014
Beautiful dress!
I received compliments on my dress all night -- people were very impressed. It fit great although began to feel a little tight in the chest at the end of the night, but I think that's just because I was dancing so much! Would certainly rent this dress again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16W
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 215lbs
October 2, 2014
Extremely flattering and fun to wear!
Wore this for a work gala and received many compliments! I had tried on the dress in store a few months back and decided this was the event to wear it for and so I got the 16W and 18W sent. Even though it was a little tight across the bust (I went braless because of the wide set straps) and rib cage (pulled a bit across), it was extremely comfortable to wear and I loved the shape of the dress due to the tulle under the skirt. Due to traffic, I missed happy hour then remained seated for the rest of the night, so I will definitely be renting this dress again when I get to stand up and dance the night away!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
September 22, 2014
I felt comfortable all night and received so many compliments!
I wore this dress to my annual work dinner/awards ceremony that my office hosts outside for about 200 guests. I needed a dress that was semi-formal and comfortable since I was managing caterers, volunteers, greeting guests, etc. This dress was perfect! The pockets were awesome and no one knew how much stuff I had stuffed inside them. I am pear-shaped but pretty athletic in my lower half - my waist up is a size 6; while my pant size is a 10 - so A-line dress typically work well but I never know what will fit. I ordered the 6 and 8 and the size 8 was pretty loose while the 6 was a little tight, making me unable to wear a bra which was not an issue. If I had to rent this dress again, I would. I received so many compliments and felt great all night, even when breaking down the event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
September 17, 2014
Perfect party dress
This is one of my favorite dresses I've rented from RTR. I don't love how it looks on the model, but as soon as I tried this on at the Henri Bendel showroom I knew it was the perfect choice. It is incredibly flattering. The material is substantial and poofs out the perfect amount to provide a formal look yet not frilly. I went with a chunky silver chain bracelet instead of the necklace - any necklace really gets lost against the pattern of the fabric. Rent this!
See more reviews:
2 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×