Gold Stroke Dress

$120 rental
$595 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

We think this Theia dress is a stroke of genius! Rent it for your next occasion and you will steal the show. Gold and black jacquard are perfect paired with Slate & Willow's Dripping Arbor Necklace.

Also available in sizes 16-22.

Belt not included.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress very fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress very fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black and Gold Jacquard (100% Polyester). Sleeveless. Boat Neckline. Full skirt. Scoop back. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 36” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
141 reviews
Fit
Large6
True to Size98
Small26
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
December 14, 2014
Lovely dress. Great shape. Flattering. Much better in person!
I loved this dress. The skirt has a lot of body to it, which I always love, and the top fit great. I chose to wear a strapless bra because I couldn't quite get a regular bra to stay hidden under the straps. With a little tape or possibly on someone with broader shoulders (mine are pretty narrow), a regular bra might be workable. The only disappointing thing about this dress is that it's awesomeness is not fully captured in pictures. I am usually a 4 or sometimes a 2 on top. I found this dress fit pretty true to size, though it would've been interesting to try on a 2. I wore a 4 and also had a 6 sent based on other reviews. The 4 fit but definitely had a bit of wiggle room in the bodice. I'm 5'7" and the length was great. I have a pretty long torso, but the waist on this was still flattering, even though it's a bit high. As other reviewers experienced, neither of the dresses sent came with a belt. So maybe don't expect that. I thought it looked great without a belt though. Anyway, great dress, it really pops, and it's very comfortable. The pockets are also very functional. I had a clutch but had my phone in a pocket from time to time, and it didn't weigh down the skirt at all. I think this dress would be a safe (and great!) choice for a wide variety of body types and ages.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
December 10, 2014
Gorgeous, elegant, perfectly fit, runs slightly small
Such a beautiful dress - wish I had a full length photo to attach. I'm 5'6" and the skirt reached just the top of my knee, not as short as the photograph of model. Nice thick, substantial material and skirt poufs out in an elegant way, not too much. Great for a holiday party or wedding. Bodice fit perfectly, holds its shape. Ran slightly small, size 8 was tight on me. Photographs really well too - shade of gold is elegant and is highlighted in photos, not too brassy, and the pattern looks like brushstrokes, very modern. Absolutely loved it. Got lots of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
December 10, 2014
Fun holiday dress!
Wore this to a holiday party & loved it! I'm almost always a 2 and I wore the 4. The 2 was too tight around the bust/waist area. It comes with a belt which is hard to see in the picture.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
December 10, 2014
Runs much smaller than expected
I rented this because the other Theia dresses fit me so well, but not this one. Could barely fit in the chest.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
December 8, 2014
Fun for a date, and easy to dress up or down!
I don't have a photo, unfortunately. This was a back-up dress for a wedding and I liked it so much, I wore it to a nice dinner with my boyfriend followed by drinks with the bride and groom the night before the wedding. The gold is really eye-catching and would be great for a holiday party or wedding. I dressed it "down" for a date with a black scarf and cardigan to make it more appropriate for dinner and drinks. The skirt hit my knee and was just "poofy" enough to be fun, but not annoying. The fabric is a little stiff, but not uncomfortable.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 3, 2014
Great dress!
Fits well, got lots of compliments on the unique style and design of the dress. Very comfortable, definitely reco renting this one!
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
December 2, 2014
People said "you need to buy this dress- it looks like it was made for you!"
True to size
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 24, 2014
Perfect for a November NY wedding!
I selected this dress when my first pick had been returned too damaged, and I'm so happy I ended up with this one! I received compliments all night at the reception, and couldn't have felt more confident in it. Pockets were very convenient, material was light enough to stay comfortable dancing all night. Thank you Rent the Runway! Paired w/ Oscar de La Renta Noir Marks the Spot earrings.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 18, 2014
Incredible Dress!!
I LOVED this dress and wish I could've kept it forever! It fit me like a glove. I read a number of people complain about it being a bit too tight in the shoulders/chest, but that was not the case for me. I have a very short torso and usually need to have straps brought up - this dress fit PERFECT as is, which is so rare! It was super high quality fabric, a stiff-but not uncomfortable material. Oh, and pockets for the win!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 14, 2014
I decided to use RTR for the very first time for my friend's wedding at an art museum!
This dress fit me like a glove. In hindsight, I wish I had worn the second size (10) to the wedding for a bit more breathing room -My dad had to literally zip me into the 8. However, the 8 was still very comfortable overall. I loved everything about this dress - The colors, the length, the fabric, the matching belt - Everything was fabulous! I got so many compliments at the wedding, so much so that I wore it the very next day for church services. I recommended RTR at least 15 times over the course of the weekend! I am going to rent a dress for my boyfriend's company Christmas party in December, and I can't wait to find one! I am thrilled with RTR and everything they do! The price for this rental was affordable (So much cheaper than buying yet another cocktail dress), and I loved RTR's shipping process as well. I will continue to highly recommend RTR to everyone I know!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
November 13, 2014
Loved it!!!
Such a fun dress. Comfortable and great to dance in. Wore this for a November wedding. The RnR stylist in the SoHo store made me try it on because i would have NEVER picked it out. Within seconds of putting it on I didnt even try the rest of them on. I rented this one. LOVED. (I would say order one size up for rib cage, I'm a 32 bust and a size 4 normally and it was a little tight so I got the 6)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
November 8, 2014
I felt absolutely comfortable and beautiful in the dress!
The dress fit beautifully. The back dipped a little lower than anticipated. The color was a little more bronze than gold (I felt it showed more gold in the photos), but the gold jewelry I bought for the occasion worked fine. Best of all, I felt like the dress emphasized my assets. I felt comfortable which heightened my confidence; I didn't have to tug or pull at the dress throughout the night which was one less worry, allowing me to enjoy the company and the party.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
October 29, 2014
I got many compliments on this dress. It's really fun to dance in!
I felt the dress was true to size. It didn't seem to run large to me, opposed to what other people had said.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 63
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 143lbs
October 23, 2014
Great dress; loved everything about it!
Very comfortable to wear and I chose to go without a bra because the back is pretty low. Because of the fabric and the construction of the dress, the girls stayed right where they belonged! The pockets came in handy for Kleenex at the wedding ceremony. Lots of compliments. I wish I owned this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180lbs
October 16, 2014
Fun dress
Fit perfectly - super fun dress with pockets and shine. Heavy fabric, though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
October 15, 2014
I REALLY wanted to wear this dress. Shame it was a "bit" too small in bust.
Too small- only in chest. If you are above a C cup and/or a size 10, no way.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 59
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116lbs
October 15, 2014
the bride was beautiful
This dress runs slightly large. The fabric is beautiful, and the print is quite bold. The picture is slightly deceiving as the skirt is VERY full. I did not wear this to the wedding as I felt the dress was too dark and bold for an afternoon wedding. This dress would be great for a party or New Year's Event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 62
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110lbs
October 7, 2014
all good!
fit good, looks good, side pockets a handy nice touch; very good for dancing; i was very happy with this dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
October 7, 2014
I was sadly unable to wear this dress, but so grateful for the backup RTR provided.
Sadly I was unable to wear this dress. The 12 was way too small for my chest but yet the 14 was way too big for my chest and shoulders - such that wearing the 14 looked awkward.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
October 4, 2014
Comfortable LBD for a fall wedding
Loved the eye catching gold that punched up this classic LBD. Pockets made it easy to keep your lipstick & camera with you.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
October 2, 2014
Beautiful dress!
I received compliments on my dress all night -- people were very impressed. It fit great although began to feel a little tight in the chest at the end of the night, but I think that's just because I was dancing so much! Would certainly rent this dress again.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
September 22, 2014
I felt comfortable all night and received so many compliments!
I wore this dress to my annual work dinner/awards ceremony that my office hosts outside for about 200 guests. I needed a dress that was semi-formal and comfortable since I was managing caterers, volunteers, greeting guests, etc. This dress was perfect! The pockets were awesome and no one knew how much stuff I had stuffed inside them. I am pear-shaped but pretty athletic in my lower half - my waist up is a size 6; while my pant size is a 10 - so A-line dress typically work well but I never know what will fit. I ordered the 6 and 8 and the size 8 was pretty loose while the 6 was a little tight, making me unable to wear a bra which was not an issue. If I had to rent this dress again, I would. I received so many compliments and felt great all night, even when breaking down the event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
September 17, 2014
Perfect party dress
This is one of my favorite dresses I've rented from RTR. I don't love how it looks on the model, but as soon as I tried this on at the Henri Bendel showroom I knew it was the perfect choice. It is incredibly flattering. The material is substantial and poofs out the perfect amount to provide a formal look yet not frilly. I went with a chunky silver chain bracelet instead of the necklace - any necklace really gets lost against the pattern of the fabric. Rent this!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
September 14, 2014
Gold and glamorous!
Beautiful and comfortable dress. The straps sit wide on the shoulder so I had to wear a strapless bra.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
August 27, 2014
NYC Rooftop!
One word; pockets! Also it had a nice flow and was super flattering. The only con was that it was a tad tight in the bust area. Overall a great dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
July 15, 2014
Great dress, looks good on pear shape. Wore to rehearsal dinner of black tie wedding
Fit was fit and flare which is great for my body shape (pear/hourglass). The fabric is beautiful and very luxe
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
June 25, 2014
Great dress! Very comfortable and easy to wear. Pockets were great too!
Very comfortable and easy to wear. Pockets were great too
JackieSeptember 25, 2014
Where you able to wear a regular bra with this dress? Thanks!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 29, 2014
Great NYE dress for cocktail charity event!
This dress fit like a glove. The top was very form fitting, and accentuated the waist with the little belt that comes with it, and then the skirt part make it so much fun to dance and twirl in. The dress was a little longer than I expected, below the knee, even on someone 5'8. I received so many compliments, and this was my first RTR. Definitely made me a loyal customer.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 113lbs
May 27, 2014
Fun!
Had a wedding at an Opera House and my first choice did not come in. RTR got this dress to me in 1 day and it worked perfect. Loved the cut of the dress, the pockets and the fabric. My chest was little tight in the fabric up top but overall it was a perfect dress!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
May 24, 2014
Great Party Dress!
This was a great dress to wear to an engagement party for friends. The bust was a little tight, but this was a great length AND there were pockets!
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 67
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150lbs
May 23, 2014
It was a beautiful evening.
I usually wear either a 10 or a 12, but ended up wearing the 14 for comfort. Length was perfect. Loved the pockets in this dress. I received a number of compliments....mostly from my husband. I enjoyed the dress so much that I have rented it again for another upcoming event...this one is black tie optional.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
May 20, 2014
A classic black dress with gold flair!
I wore this dress for a fundraiser at a private club where the dress code was cocktail attire. I received compliment after compliment! I am normally a size 0 or 2, In this dress, I needed a 0. It is a classic style. It fit me perfectly and made the most of my figure. It made my waist look small and the poofy-ness of the dress allowed it to cover any tummy bulge. Yes, its poofy but I personally think it is a very pretty and sophisticated look. Classy length for me . No shortening needed. The black and shiny gold went well together in the pattern. The metallic gold looked like large gold paint strokes. I wore black Ferragamo platform open toe pumps. Gold could have worked too. Same with accessories. I wouldn't mind owning this dress!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
May 19, 2014
This dress made me feel like Betty Draper- modest and elegant!
I typically run between an 8 and 10 but this dress definitely runs a bit large so size down. At first I didn't like the poof of the skirt but as I moved around the dress made me feel like a 1950s movie star. The top fit very well so I didn't have to wear a bra at all. The length of the skirt hit just at the knee which was perfect for a formal affair.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 13, 2014
Fantastic customer service.
I didn't end up wearing this dress because the other one fit better, but this dress was lovely. The top was a bit tight - I usually wear a 4 but barely fit in the 6 in this dress because I have a larger rib cage. Otherwise gorgeous dress, very girly and flirty.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
May 8, 2014
This dress is totally gorgeous and made me feel so glamorous!
The dress fit perfectly, I am 5'8 1/2" and it was perfectly long enough. The colors were gorgeous and really popped. I got tons of compliments and everyone wanted to know where I got it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180lbs
May 3, 2014
I wore this for a cocktail event, I received TONS of compliments on it!
So like some previous posters have said, it is tight on top; I thought that have me a better shape though so I was happy about that. Tight on top, but loose enough on the bottom so you can eat without guilt! If I could have bought this, I would have!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 3, 2014
Very cute dress
I didn't end up wearing it as I felt the long dress I got was a bit more formal but this was super cute and would have been formal enough for the black tie event I was attending. The dress fit true to size but was a tad tight through the chest (32D) but was still comfortable enough to wear. Loved the pockets and belt. This would be a great choice. The dress was also in great condition. The gala event I attending had 5000 people and I didn't see one person in the dress or anything similar so if you are looking for something unique this would be a good option.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 27, 2014
This dress was gorgeous! Perfect for a cocktail-esk gala
The big selling point of the dress was the fact that it covered my top half very nicely. I prefer to keep the ladies (boobs) more contained and this dress did the trick. It was stylish and classy and I felt awesome in it! I choose the smaller size (6) because it fit better in the waist than the larger size (8). That being said, it was a little tight in the arms and chest area and looking back I probably should have sized up. If you are bigger chested (I'm a 36DD), I recommend going up a size. I did love the coverage I got as well as the compliments. This dress really flatters just about anyone (especially redheads), so go rock it girls!
JackieSeptember 25, 2014
Were you able to wear a regular bra with this? Thanks!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 19
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
April 27, 2014
Wore for my senior prom
It fit well, but I needed help getting the back zipped at the top and hooked. The dress was a little short- when I sat down it did very little to cover the chair which was a little uncomfortable. I got lots of compliments despite this not being THAT formal of a dress, which was really nice. This dress was not my first choice but it ended up working quite well
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 59
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
April 27, 2014
I received so many lovely compliments on my dress. My only regret is that I cannot buy the dress!
The fit was a perfect size 2. I loved the neckline, but was especially pleased with the drop back. It was perfect.. I do not like plunging backs; this one was beautifully feminine.. The fact that I had pockets was wonderful; something not usually found in a cocktail dress and they were well hidden.
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×