Theia

Gold Stroke Dress

$107 to buy
$595 retail
Stylist Notes

We think this Theia dress is a stroke of genius! Rent it for your next occasion and you will steal the show. Gold and black jacquard are perfect paired with Slate & Willow's Dripping Arbor Necklace.

Belt not included.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14 & plus 16W-22W.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - dress very fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Knee length - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black and Gold Jacquard (100% Polyester). Sleeveless. Boat Neckline. Full skirt. Scoop back. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 36” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
180 reviews
Fit
Large
(7)
True to Size
(110)
Small
(48)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
December 10, 2014
Fun holiday dress!
Wore this to a holiday party & loved it! I'm almost always a 2 and I wore the 4. The 2 was too tight around the bust/waist area. It comes with a belt which is hard to see in the picture.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
December 16, 2014
It's a beautiful dress but way too small!
I'm bummed I couldn't wear it, it's a gorgeous dress. I'm very surprised I couldn't fit into a size 4 or 6. I haven't had to wear a size 8 in years!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
January 24, 2015
Great look!
I needed a dress for a friend's wedding at a social club in nyc that was just a step below black tie. This dress was perfect for that evening. I got the 2 and 4 and I definitely needed the 4- go a size up. The neckline is pretty high and the bust area a bit tight when zipped up. The dress flares out at the natural waist and its a heavier material. I received many compliments on it and had a blast that evening.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
April 14, 2015
Formal and fun and very comfy.
I did a reading at my friend's wedding and wanted to be formal but still comfortable since I had to get up in front of 200 strangers. I'm busty but it was such a great combination of structured and comfortable that I didn't need to wear a bra. I have narrow hips and the full skirt perfectly balanced out my shoulders. It's perfect for top heavy gals. And it has pockets so I could dance all night and keep my phone nearby without sacrificing my wine glass!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
20W
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 18
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
November 23, 2015
So comfortable
Ladies! This dress is my all time favorite one I've ever rented!!! Word of advice: Do NOT get hung up on the size number. Order one and two sizes bigger than your normal one. I'm normally a 16W and ordered the 18W and 20W and wore the 20W. I could have done the 18 but it was just slightly too snug in the waist to be comfortable eating/drinking/dancing all night. Didn't wear or need a bra as the chest was fitted and the seams actually made my boobs look great! The pockets are awesome - I didn't even bring a purse to the wedding. Wore it with black tights and black ankle boots - it was a hit! Compliments all night long. Don't miss this one!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
18W
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 36
October 2, 2015
OMG so much fun
Ok truth time. This dress is amazing! And I killed at the wedding in it... however ... it runs REALLY SMALL. Order a size up. You'll be so much happier later.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 22
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 46C
August 13, 2015
Pretty in person.
This ran SUPER small. Go one or TWO sizes up.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
18W
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 180lbs
December 8, 2014
Great dress
I loved this dress, but I had to size up for the waist and the top part was way too big on me (I'm a 38B). I don't think it was too obvious, but I felt there was definitely extra fabric hanging there.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
16W
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 40C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 206lbs
October 2, 2014
Extremely flattering and fun to wear!
Wore this for a work gala and received many compliments! I had tried on the dress in store a few months back and decided this was the event to wear it for and so I got the 16W and 18W sent. Even though it was a little tight across the bust (I went braless because of the wide set straps) and rib cage (pulled a bit across), it was extremely comfortable to wear and I loved the shape of the dress due to the tulle under the skirt. Due to traffic, I missed happy hour then remained seated for the rest of the night, so I will definitely be renting this dress again when I get to stand up and dance the night away!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
18W
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Body type: Apple
Weight: 210lbs
September 7, 2014
Beautiful dress. Great experience.
The dress was beautiful. I received so many compliments. Loved the pockets. It was just a tad small around the bust/back area .
Size worn:
22W
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 20
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 56
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 210lbs
August 4, 2014
Arrived early with plenty of time to try on and select right size.
Fit nice but runs very small especially in rib cage area. Great skirt. Problematic for a bra as straps show in the back
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
June 16, 2014
It was beautiful when I tried it on...but the night of my event the zipper broke, so I never got to
VERY TIGHT in bust, I am a 36FF and this dress was very tight, and there is no give, as many of the other reviewers have noted.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
18W
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 240lbs
May 19, 2014
The dress was a hit and I looked amazing in it!
I wear a 36D and a size 16. I couldn't zip this dress up past my bust! Thankfully, I ordered the 18W. It fit a little loosely on the waist, but was perfect over the chest (I also have very broad shoulders and the neckline was perfect.) I'm almost 5'9" and the length was perfect. Overall a great experience!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 47
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 200lbs
December 18, 2013
Beautiful dress, but didn't get to wear it because it was too small!
The dress was exactly as pictured and was gorgeous. I normally wear a 14W in plus size, but both the 16W and 18W were too small. From the waist down it was fine, but I couldn't get it to zip above the waist. I guess it just wasn't the right cut to fit my proportions. Unfortunately I didn't see on the tag until it was too late that I could have ordered something else or received a refund if nothing fit. I will know for next time!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
October 13, 2015
Loved this dress! Comfortable and with pockets!
Comfortable, doesn't wrinkle, an will be a hit!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
December 7, 2015
I loved this dress, very comfortable and stylish!
This was my emergency backup as there weren't many options left and I loved it! I listened to the other reviews about how it had no stretch and ran a little small so I ordered a 6 which fit perfectly! With the belt pulled to fit my waist it bunched the material a little but it wasn't noticeable. The material is great and the pattern is really cute!
Size worn:
20W
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 27
December 13, 2015
Has a glam and classy factor to it that was perfect for my formal work event!
This dress was great for what I needed it for -- a classy, late night formal work event. The gold was perfect and made me stand out in a really big way -- I got compliments left and right all night on how great I looked. The gold really, really popped. However, I don't think I'd ever wear it by just itself. I think my accessories and style choices were what put it over the top, because while it looked great, it didn't have the WOW factor until I put it all together. Also, The dress ran SUPER small. I normally wear a 14-16 in dresses. They were out of 18s, so I settled for renting the second size of a 20. Thank goodness I did. It fit OKAY, but was too big in a few places, predominantly the bust and shoulder area as a result, which was a non-issue because I was wearing my blazer regardless. Overall, an okay dress, but I don't think I'd rent again. Compared to a Monique I rented a few months ago, it felt a little cheaper, but still worked great for my event.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
18W
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
February 24, 2014
The gold really pops.
I'd size up -- it runs a bit small.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
18W
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 40D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 238lbs
February 17, 2014
Beautiful!
Great dress. It was a little big in the bodice but barely noticeable. The dress ran small overall but I expected that with a formal dress. LOVED the pockets. Highly recommend.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 6, 2014
Showstopper. So flattering.
One of my favorite RTR rentals ever. This was SO flattering; the waist hit at the thinnest part of my waist and the structure/flare was perfection. I would even feel comfortable wearing this at an office cocktail party, though the back is a teeny bit low. A word of caution: I am VERY small chested, and this was pretty snug around the bust. Size up if you've got assets.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
18W
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 58
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 190lbs
May 28, 2014
I loved the fabric design of this dress. Very festive and much more interesting than black.
I normally wear a 16, but in this dress needed the 18 to accommodate my chest of 40D. (The website selection of bust sizes only goes up to 38 but I go beyond that!) It zipped but it was tight . I am 5'8" and the length was good - just above the knee. The fabric is a little stiff so it stands up some, but the shape is very pretty. I rented the necklace also on the advice of a fellow renter, and she was right - it went very well. I got a number of complements on the necklace (dress too!)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Age: 36
October 8, 2015
I wore this to a red carpet benefit that I hosted and felt very elegant and comfortable.
I ordered the 10 and the 12 for back up. I wore the 12 because the 10 was tight in the ribcage area. I loved how the 12 fit. I got tons of compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 66
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 126lbs
March 9, 2014
with my son
Great dress! Fit perfectly for a pear shaped woman. Many positive comments; not overdone but clearly a party dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 10, 2014
the rib cage was so small, it didn't work for me.
the rib cage was so small. the rest of the dress was true to size but because of the tiny rib cage, i couldn't wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
December 10, 2014
Gorgeous, elegant, perfectly fit, runs slightly small
Such a beautiful dress - wish I had a full length photo to attach. I'm 5'6" and the skirt reached just the top of my knee, not as short as the photograph of model. Nice thick, substantial material and skirt poufs out in an elegant way, not too much. Great for a holiday party or wedding. Bodice fit perfectly, holds its shape. Ran slightly small, size 8 was tight on me. Photographs really well too - shade of gold is elegant and is highlighted in photos, not too brassy, and the pattern looks like brushstrokes, very modern. Absolutely loved it. Got lots of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
20W
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 20
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 39
Bust size: 42C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 260lbs
December 3, 2015
Bust is very tight, otherwise great!
A friend and I rented dresses in the same size and ended up switching. This one was too tight for her in the bust (D-cup) and I ended up wearing it without a bra because it was still tight enough on me (B/C cup) that the girls weren't moving once they were in there! The high waist was super tight and ensured I had great posture all night simply because I couldn't move or bend! Other than that, though, I loved this dress. The skirt flared nicely and it had pockets. Who doesn't love a fancy dress with pockets?
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 230lbs
May 1, 2014
Dress was gorgeous.
The poof of the dress made the length in the back a bit shorter than I was comfortable with. The fit was unflattering on me, but the dress was absolutely beautiful.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
April 7, 2014
Too tight around waist
I wanted to love this dress, but it looked terrible on me. It "fit," but was incredibly tight in the waist/ribcage/bust area. Then the skirt flared out leaving my hips and butt looking huge. Maybe the next size up would have worked?
Top Contributor
Size worn:
20W
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 205lbs
January 6, 2014
Compliments on compliments, all night long. Photos of this dress do NOT do it justice. It's gorg!
I'm an 16/18, but wore the 20 as it ran small. Everything about this dress was fantastic otherwise.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 61
April 3, 2017
A very formal event. Fun people.
The material was great, but definitely had no give. I usually wear a 6, but wore the 8 in this. I got lots of compliments. The fabric just looks so rich.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
November 4, 2013
Tons of compliments at the gala!
Wore to a black-tie optional gala, fit right in among the under- and overdressed. Threw a cute black jacket over top for keeping warm. Lots of compliments. It's definitely poofy - the tulle underneath is stiff - and that felt weird at first, but it didn't look strange, and it was still easy to sit in. I wore hose/tights because of weather; otherwise would've felt a bit short I think, especially sitting. Moved great for dancing! Size-wise, I could've been in the 10 with extra layers of Spanx and keeping my abs tucked in, but was perfectly comfortable in the 12 without bagginess. Since I'm typically in between those sizes, I'd say it runs true to size. Also, upon looking at this photo as I write the review, I see that there's a belt, and while I did notice belt loops, I did not receive a belt with either size. With my jacket on, it was noticeable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 5, 2013
Flattering cut with just enough pop to stand out!
PERFECT! Wore for my best friend's wedding- she didn't have any formal bridesmaids but I guess I was the "Maid of Honor" so I needed something that would stick out. The cut of the dress was amazing- just enough 'poof' under the skirt to make it fun yet flattering and the lower cut back made it even more classy. I added some color with green earrings and a dark wine shoe and lip. Definitely a hit and would rent again!
ElizabethNovember 30, 2013
I absolutely love the way you accessorized this dress with the wine shoes and lip! It looks absolutely stellar!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 13, 2013
This dress was perfect! Stylish, flattering, and incredibly comfy! A total WIN!
If I've come to learn anything over the last five years of my life, it's that you have to be true to your body and self, and love what the Lord gave you! My body type is pear-shaped/hourglass. A-line cuts, full skirts, and tailored tops look best on my body and make me feel most confident. This is that perfect dress in a nutshell. Perfectly tailored at the waist, full-skirt, flawless. I received so many compliments from everyone. The style is very retro--think Audrey Hepburn, classic 50s, with a modern twist--so if that's a look you're going for, this is the dress for you. I ordered it in my normal size, and it was a perfect fit. Will definitely keep this style as my go-to, and the Theia line at the top of my list as well.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
November 16, 2013
Really great holiday dress
Form fitting bodice. Touch a toile under skirt! Such a fun dress to wear for holidays! I felt great in it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
November 21, 2013
This was such a great way to have a nice dress for an event. Everything was flawless!
This dress was true to size, however, I should have gotten an 8 instead for a better fit. It was a little large in the waist, but the belt hid it very well! I had so many compliments all night! Didnt want to return it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180lbs
November 27, 2013
Adorable, timeless dress. Cute and classy!
When my original dress order didn't arrive in time for a black-tie dinner (it was UPS' fault, not RTR's), I had to rush to the storefront in Manhattan to try to find a replacement. RTR saved the day! The stylists were great and picked a dress that was honestly way better for the event than the one I'd ordered online. The cut is very flattering and the dress is comfortable. It even has pockets!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
December 3, 2013
Loved the dress!! Very comfortable. Got many compliments.
Fit true to size. the color is great. Love the pockets.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 4, 2013
Perfect Holiday Dress!
I rented this dress for a formal event at the Bel-Air Country Club in early December and it was simply perfect for the occasion. Beautiful dress! It fit me nearly perfect, it was just a touch tight under the arms and a little loose around the bust (though I have a small bust), but I felt it fit true to size. The colors are perfect for the holiday season and the fit was really flattering. It was a touch longer - about at my knees - and I liked that, it was a very classic silhouette and perfect for holiday parties and formal work events. I would highly recommend this dress! I got so many compliments on it all evening - it's just amazing!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
December 5, 2013
AMAZING DRESS!
This dress is so fun! It cinches nicely at the waist and really has a flirty feel with the full skirt. The gold shine that runs throughout makes it dressy enough for a cocktail event. Made me feel amazing!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
December 10, 2013
The tons of compliments I received!
The fit is true to size. Only thing I would say is the fabric is thicker than it appears in the picture.
See more reviews:
2 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×