Slate & Willow

Mae Sequin Shift

$60 rental
$348 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Gold and black are a go for girl's night! This sequin shift is a standout style for dancing under the lights! Gild yourself to the max with Ben-Amun's Gold Deco Crystal Teardrops and Whiting & Davis' Hollywood Boulevard Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Not Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Not Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black and gold damask pattern sequins(100% Nylon). Cap sleeves. Boat neckline. Shift body. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 37” from shoulder to hem. Made in the USA.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

521 reviews

Fit
Small 151
True to Size 311
Large 25
Photos 337
Briana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 12, 2014

Favorite rental yet! Great dress for Vegas. So fun!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Vacation
Longer than expected which I loved. Great dress.
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 15, 2014

Very fun, sparkly dress!

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Party
Perfect for the Glitter & Gold party I attended! So glad I read other reviews before ordering. It does fit very small in the hips, so order a size up. It was still snug, but looked good as a form fitting dress. Compliments all night and looked great in photos!
Erin Rose
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 15, 2014

I never thought about what I was wearings - it was comfortable and classy. So perfect.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fit great and I received so many compliments. All of the reviews were true to the dress and the size I wanted fit perfectly.
Allie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 18, 2014

Beautiful dress and very flattering!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was worried about getting this dress because a lot of the reviews said it ran small and was too short, but I didn't have any issues at all - I thought it was beautiful and appropriate! I wore the 8 because it was a little looser, which I prefer; the 6 also fit, but I felt that it was too tight to wear to a wedding. I'd definitely recommend this dress.
Sarah
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 19, 2014

great dress that fit like a glove.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is a bit short.
Candice
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 20, 2014

Great colors & Comfortable

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
As always I received many compliments on this dress. I wore it for a Christmas party. The bad is the sequins scratched my arm & if I was any taller, it'd be really short. I couldn't raise my arms to high or I'd show off everything. Another con is that it is more form fitting than other shift dresses I wore, hence the 4 star rating. I'd definitely would rent again! It was comfortable for me to wear all night.
Ellen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 20, 2014

So sparkly!

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Party
Does not fit like a shift dress, but still cute!
Chinagirl
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Age: 29
Dec 20, 2014

Classy dress with a nice fit. Perfect for a work holiday party.

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Party
Size 6 was a lot shorter than the 8. The 8 fit snugly but gave a little after wearing the dress for a while. The sequins weren't too scratchy but some areas of the dress looked like they were missing.
Julia
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Dec 21, 2014

It fit me absolutely perfectly.

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Party
I put it on and could not believe the fit! It was perfect, like it was made for me. I probably would have preferred for it to be a little shorter, but since I'm so short, I should have known it would come right above the knee. I got so many compliments on this dress. I wore it to my engagement party around Christmas time, and it was absolutely perfect. This was my first RTR experience, but now I'm looking forward to using them again.
Jaime
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 23, 2014

I wore this for a Great Gatsby event. Very Flattering!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved the dress. It fit great. I found it true to size. It was a bit short but I have very long legs and I still pulled it off. I received compliments all night long. I would rent it again!
RTR Customer
Dec 24, 2014

I received compliments all night long!

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Party
Fit great! I didn't want to return it!
Lisa
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 26, 2014

Glam dress without being too overdone. Compliments all night long!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ordered the 0 and the 2, and was very nervous about the fit after reading other people's posts. I tried the 0 and it fit perfectly! It was a little short but in a tasteful way. Could have worn the 2 for a looser fit, but this dress was very flattering worn more "fitted". The sequins are super itchy under the arms, and some had fallen off (not that anyone could tell). Overall a very gorgeous dress that I was constantly being complimented on. Felt like a red carpet dress!
BM19
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 30, 2014

Love this dress!!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Wedding
The dress fit perfectly. I received a ton of compliments! The difference between the 4 and the 6 was only a little extra fabric in the stomach region. On the shorter side, but still wedding appropriate!
Jen
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 30, 2014

Got so many compliments! Perfect dress for Post-Christmas, Pre-New Years event!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit true to size. Tighter in the hips and bust than shown on the model.
Anna
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 15
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 1, 2015

I loved this dress! Its was super cute and got so many compliments through the night!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was a form fitting dress. It was very comfortable and easy to dance in. It was a little short and the sparkles on the dress were uncomfortable for people to dance next to me because they got scratched. The dress looked amazing and it made me feel awesome. It was a great choice for my homecoming.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Jan 3, 2015

Obsessed!

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Party
If I could get away with wearing this dress everyday I would! The pictures online do not do this dress justice whatsoever. The design is so intricate and I received more compliments than I can count. The fit was good, but I recommend ordering your second size larger than normal as it was a tad tighter than I would have liked. I wore it with opaque tights which made the gold in the dress stand out even more. Will definitely rent again!
Erica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 4, 2015

Favorite dress I've ever rented!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Party
Beyond pleased with this! The material is so rich and sparkly; every inch (even the black) is covered in sequins and beads. It's more fitted than I expected and the arms run a bit tight. I LOVED it though and it photographs so well. Wish I could keep it!
Kylie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 114 lbs
Jan 8, 2015

New Years Eve Delight

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I have never received more compliments on a dress than I did with this one. Despite the dress being covered in sequins, the dress was not itchy as some sequined pieces are. My only compliant was that the cap sleeves were a little snug on my arms, aside from that though the dress fit like a glove and looked great in photographs.
kaitlin
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 108 lbs
Jan 8, 2015

I dunno?

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was a great dress but it wasn't as short as you would think, given the picture (which isn't necessarily a bad thing). Overall it was awesome and I got a lot of compliments. Could move around and dance without having to worry about bits and pieces falling out:)
Amber
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 9, 2015

Elegant, and comfortable!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Formal Affair
The length was a tad bit shorter than average, but that wasn't a con for the event I wore the dress to. The color was elegant and rich, it was certainly a show stopper. I paired with gold shoes, and received compliments all night. It flattered all the right places and had the perfect balance of sass and class.
Catherine
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Jan 20, 2015

I loved this dress!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a 20's themed wedding and it was perfect. I got a ton of compliments and took a lot of pictures. The best part is, I got to wear an expensive dress without having to pay full price! In terms of the fit, I was between sizes. I usually wear a size 10 but wore the 12 as the 10 was a bit tight in the arms. The 12 was a bit loose, but that was better than being uncomfortable in the arm area all night. I would definitely recommend this dress to others, especially if you're going for a Gatsby vibe.
Jaime
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 22, 2015

This dress fit great! Got so many compliments.

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Party
Didn't event need a back up size!
jamie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 23, 2015

It was cute

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I ended up wearing the 8 in this dress. The 6 was a little tight in the chest area, I'm 34DD. Dress was ok and I did get one compliment but not a show stopper. I didn't feel like anything special in this dress
stephanie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 25, 2015

Perfect way to sparkle on my birthday!!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was probably one of the biggest outfit hits since I can remember. I wore it for a joint birthday party to celebrate mine as well as two others and I got so many compliments on it all night!! The dress was super comfortable and just made me feel so sparkly & fun. I paired it with black tights and black booties as well as the earrings seen on the model. I would definitely recommend this dress to anyone who wants to look super cute and also be comfortable all night.
Tiffany
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165 lbs
Jan 25, 2015

I absolutely loved this dress! I got so many compliments on this dress!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I usually wear a 10 but I had to size up to the 12, the 10 was just a little too tight. It hides flaws nicely and was super comfortable to wear! I was expecting to have to wear tights because other reviews had said the dress was short but I felt comfortable without them in the 12.
Michelle
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122 lbs
Jan 26, 2015

Great dress for a semi-formal occasion

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for a Gatsby themed work dinner party. It was just the right length for my short legs- I can see why some reviews say the dress is a little on the short side. I did not have much itching and the fit is true to size. Just to keep in mind- the sleeves do not stretch. Great for the themed party and I would definitely recommend this dress!
Jasper
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Jan 27, 2015

The sparkle of this dress was perfect for Vegas!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
The cut is perfect for transitions from day to night.
Eliza
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 29, 2015

Flirty and fun!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
LOVED this dress! The reviews made it sound like it ran small, so I ordered up. I would have actually worn a size smaller. It was super comfortable and I felt fantastic in it!
Catherine
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Feb 1, 2015

I wore this for the rehearsal dinner for my sister's wedding, it was a showstopper!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved the fit; like a glove! It was a little short, I have a booty, but overall it was very slimming and made me feel like a million dollars. I got a 2 and a 4 and ended up going with the 2.
Deepa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
Feb 8, 2015

Beautiful and comfortable dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is an amazing dress for a formal event. It is elegant and formal, yet easy to dance in and fitted enough that you don't have to worry about it moving if you're walking around/dancing a lot. There is a cloth under the dress so it's not scratchy or uncomfortable at all with all of the sequins. This cloth is more fitting and the dress itself is a bit looser like it looks on the model. Overall, I'd definitely recommend this dress - it's a great rental!
Linda
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Feb 11, 2015

Friends Mardi Gras themed 30th bday

Size worn: 14
Rented for: Party
Dress was hot! Fitted in the right areas, but not overly clingy! Got tons of compliments. Wore the 14 because I could zip the 12 over my bust(36DD)
Sandra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Feb 15, 2015

Mardi Gras Made!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to throw beads on a Mardi Gras float on Galveston Island and it was fabulous! I got compliments on it all night and it maintained it's beautiful shape and structure all night long after going through three bags of beads and bending and throwing them to people. I stayed in it all night and went out afterwards. Great dress!!!
Kristen
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 15, 2015

Great Gatsby-esque

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a wedding that had a 1930s theme, it was perfect! Because of the sequins, the dress doesn't have much give to it but it was comfortable nonetheless. I got a lot of compliments on it!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Feb 22, 2015

Lots of compliments! Very comfy but a bit scratchy under the arms.

Size worn: 14
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fits a bit tight in the tummy area but overall true to size. I'm 5'9" and 185 lbs. was able to fit into the 12 but it would have been uncomfortable all night. Wore the 14 and it was perfect. A tad short but not bad.
Michelle
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 23, 2015

Super comfy, flattering, subtle, yet sparkly.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore this for my 10 yr reunion. I wanted something that stood out, but didn't seem over-dressed or trying too hard. This dress was very comfy to wear and very forgiving for a night full of drinks and food! I noticed the sequins rubbed a little under my arm, but I was never in pain. I forgot about it once the night got started. LOVED the dress and got lots of compliments.
HW
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 23, 2015

Sparkles worthy of an Oscar party

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Was sent this dress as an emergency back up when a dress I had on order could not be sent. I wanted a dress with some sparkle for an Oscar party and this didn't disappoint! I was initially worried that it would be too short and to young looking, but the scoop neck and back along with the cap sleeves balanced out the shortness and made it feel more comfortable. The size 2 fit perfectly and had enough give to sit and move even with the sequins. Although it was slim fitting, the texture of the sequins made me feel like I didn't need to be on stomach watch all night. Another plus was that my hair didnt get caught in the sequins which as a pleasant surprise :)
Katherine
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 26, 2015

Loved the design!

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Party
Like all the other reviews, it was tight through the hips/legs but I have athletic thighs. If you got a donk, go a size up!
Brittany
Age: 19
Feb 27, 2015

Longer than expected, but many compliments

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Formal Affair
I originally planned on wearing a size 2 but it was extremely tight so I had to wear the backup 4. Although it fit better, the length just felt a bit uncomfortable compared to other shorter dresses in the room. Very comfortable and flattering dress, though! I received many compliments on it all night!
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Mar 2, 2015

Cute dress, but runs small!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress isn't exactly for curvy girls. I have a smaller waist, but hips and a larger chest. I had to go 4 sizes up from what I normally wear to get it to fit correctly. I didn't need to go to a 12, but I felt a little more comfortable with it being looser for a company party.
Jen
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 148 lbs
Mar 3, 2015

I rented this for a friends birthday party at a bar.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The dress is not a loose shift dress, as it appears on the model. I got my regular size and a size up as other reviewers suggested but both were very form-fitting and unflattering (tight on the tummy= not good for me). I ended up not wearing it because I didn't think it flattered my shape and I didn't want to be self conscious all night. Overall it was a nice dress, it seemed well-made and durable, but not the dress for me. I wish the picture on the model was a little bit more accurate.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×