Mae Sequin Shift

$40 rental
$348 value

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Gold and black are a go for girl's night! This sequin shift is a standout style for dancing under the lights! Gild yourself to the max with Ben-Amun's Gold Deco Crystal Teardrops and Whiting & Davis' Hollywood Boulevard Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-14 & plus 18W-22W.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Not Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-14 & plus 18W-22W.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Not Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black and gold damask pattern sequins(100% Nylon). Cap sleeves. Boat neckline. Shift body. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 37” from shoulder to hem. Made in the USA.

Share
760 reviews
Fit
Large29
True to Size399
Small222
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
January 10, 2016
Perfect dress for a 1920s Great Gatsby party
The dress was perfect for the occasion but had I known the fit - I would have gone up one more size. It does have some stretch, but the chest and arms for me in particular were a bit more snug than a typical size 8. For others who may also be a bit chesty I would recommend going up a size.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
January 10, 2016
Amazing!
This dress was really great, the sequins weren't too over the top or itchy. The 6 actually zipped up better than the 8 (I think a tooth in the 8 must have been bent or something). I went with the 8 so it wasn't super tight, but the 6 would have worked as well.
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 17
January 9, 2016
The dress came in on time and was in great condition!
The dress fit perfectly. It was a bit shorter than I was expecting but still looked great. I received compliments all night. For the most part, it was not restricting and I was able to dance the whole night and felt comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 119lbs
January 7, 2016
Very pretty dress!
This dress was great for a date night at a more upscale restaurant for New Year's Eve. It is a slightly bigger fit being that it is a shift dress, but it is comfortable. Only downside was a few scratches on my arms from rubbing up against the dress. Overall the detailing is beautiful and I felt good in it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 25
January 5, 2016
Great dress and super comfortable!
The dress was a great New Years Eve dress. It definitely runs small and is more form fitting than a shift dress. I sized up to be more comfortable in the stomach area. The dress was extremely comfortable and could move around comfortably.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Weight: 150lbs
January 5, 2016
Everyone loved my dress and complimented me on it. I was told I looked really skinny in it!
It fits true to size. I normally wear a size 6, so the 6 was great. It was a tiny bit snug but that's just because it is not a stretchy dress, it keeps its form. It is flattering in the right places and is a little shorter than I thought, but I wore it with black panty hose/tights since it was very cold that night. I would definitely recommend this dress! Only con was that the sequins catch on to stuff sometimes so I noticed a couple threads coming lose here and there in the dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 3, 2016
Great dress! But smelled awful..
LOVED this dress! It was perfect for my NYE party. It fit snug like a sheath dress, not loose like a shift dress. Would've given it 5 stars but it SMELLED AWFUL!! I don't think this dress was dry cleaned before it was sent to me which made me extremely self conscious the entire night. I was so worried that people were going to think I smelled like B.O. :(
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Body type: Apple
January 3, 2016
Gorgeous dress!
I wore the larger size because the dress was very short. But great for a wedding and got tons of compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
January 1, 2016
Perfect glam for NYE!
Rented this dress for a NYE party & it was the perfect amount of glitz & glam I was looking for! The dress was true to size, although I agree with what others posted that I would not classify this as a shift dress... Thank you for a great first RTR experience.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
January 1, 2016
Everyone complimented my dress even strangers!
I'm 5'3 and 127lbs. I wore a size 8 which was comfortable. The dress was tighter up top for me because of my body type but I was still able to move and dance. The dress is not as itchy as I would have expected. Many people complimented the dress and I'm happy I wore it to a New Year's Eve party!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 139lbs
January 1, 2016
So much fun for NYE!
I wore this for NYE in San Francisco and it was perfect! Lots of fun and different from any other dress I saw that night. The skirt fit just right (though any tighter and it probably would've been a problem.) it was a on the shorter side though I am relatively tall for a girl (5' 9") so it wouldn't be an issue for most girls. Definitely recommend for a fun night out!
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
December 31, 2015
Beautiful New Years dress!
Thought it was going to be more of a sheath. But was more fitted.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Age: 27
December 29, 2015
Super cute but hem & overall fit not as pictured!!!
This model must be 5'9+!!! Im 5'6 and the hemline of this dress was mid thigh-knee length on me (And im also long legged)! I got crafty and used some double sided lingerie tape, and made the dress about 4 inches shorter so that it actually looked like it does on the model, on me. The fit is also not as loose as pictured, its more form fitting. Im in between a 6-8, and had to order the 8- the 8 ended up being a bit too big- but the dress still didnt fit as pictured. All that aside-the dress is still really cute, and I got plenty of compliments at the Art show party I attended. A definite recommend if you size down and are OK with a more conservative hem length!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
December 23, 2015
This was a back up dress so I didn't end up getting to wear, but it was gorgeous.
Beautiful dress!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 27
December 21, 2015
Bittersweet
Such an easy process, the package arrived in the far north right at my doorstep. Tried the dress on, and was in love! Unfortunately there was an unexpected death the day of the event and I did not attend. The dress fit like a glove though and was simply beautiful. I had a great first experience with RTR and will definitely be using this service again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127lbs
December 20, 2015
This dress was perfect for my Mardi Gras-themed birthday party!
The dress fit exactly how a shift should - not too tight. The sequins were a little itchy, but that's to be expected. The pattern was eye-catching and looked great in photos.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 27
December 16, 2015
I received lots of compliments! Office appropriate for my holiday work party.
I usually wear between 4 and 6. I ended up wearing the four. It was a little tight in the shoulders, but fit a bit more flattering through the body. I have a little bit larger bust and smaller hips/waist.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
December 16, 2015
Total high school reunion showstopper
Great fit and as always,great customer service
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 14, 2015
Classy Glam look for the hostess
I wore this for my husbands 30th birthday surprise! I love this designer! perfect for the petite. sharp, expensive look and feel. glam!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
December 13, 2015
Amazing dress. Compliments all night. Made me feel confident and beautiful.
Fit was great - short and sexy but acceptable for a formal birthday party (James Bond theme). Danced all night - no snafus! Loved this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 190lbs
December 13, 2015
Beautiful dress for a night on the town
Dress was beautiful and fun for a night out in New Orleans for my birthday. Just like other reviewers said, definitely runs small. I sized up and it was still snug for me. Under the arms was itchy, but nothing unbearable. Also very short (which might be because I have a lot in the back) and wearing it with tights was a must for my comfort level. Overall it was a comfortable and beautiful dress - just definitely size up because it's not a shift!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16W
Rented for:
Party
Age: 38
December 13, 2015
This dress was great! It's sparkly, flattering and comfortable too!
The dress fit great. I followed the sizing tips and ordered the 16, even though I usually wear a 12/14.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 49
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
December 12, 2015
Sparkly --- but for waifs
I loved the look of this dress, but alas, it was not going to work for me. Slightly stretchy and very short. Would have looked perfect on someone skinnier and shorter than I. So disappointing not to have it in slightly larger size - this is a body hugging dress.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
December 11, 2015
Super cute. The more form fitting size looked better on me. I didn't wear it as a shift dress.
It was the perfect length for me, but I'm slightly short.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 9, 2015
Overall I thought dress was gorgeous and I received a ton of compliments all night.
I typically wear a size 4 or 6 depending on the brand and found that a 6 in this dress fit perfectly.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
December 8, 2015
Perfect for getting away with a non-floor length dress at a formal event! UNEXPECTEDLY LONG!
I wore this dress to a formal military Christmas party. Most of the women went more traditional and wore floor length dresses, however I did not feel too casual or under dressed at all! The dress looked fancy and expensive, and I received countless compliments! I definitely felt like I was wearing a $400 dress because of the quality. I ordered a size 0 and a size 2 as a backup. The size 0 did not fit me like a "shift" dress, and was fairly form fitting in the chest and hips, however I do have curves (because it was fairly form fitting in my usual dress size, and the style is suppose to be loose and hang, I said that it "ran small"). The size 2 fit more like a "shift" dress, however it was super long and hit below my knee. I ended up wearing the size 0 because it was a little shorter, and then shortened the dress with fabric tape. I am 5'2, so ladies be warned, unless you are very tall it will not look like it does on the model. The dress was very comfortable, not scratchy like some sequin dresses. Also, the color of gold is very much "true gold" like actual gold jewelry. The dress did have some fraying, and a hole in the armpit, however it was not noticeable. I highly recommend this dress for any event!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
18W
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Straight & narrow
December 7, 2015
I wore this to my work Christmas party. I felt sexy without being too revealing!
The other reviews are correct, this dress runs small. I typically wear a 16 or 14W in dresses and wore the 18W. The dress was still snug but looked good when I held everything in. I probably would have worn the 20W if I had ordered it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 31
December 6, 2015
Nice dress
Really enjoyed this dress... It fit well and was comfortable.. ran true to size; not too short. Liked it.. got a lot of compliments. Wasnt completely in love. What I DID love was the RTR process... so easy and cannot wait to do it again!!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
December 2, 2015
Dressed to impress.
I typically order from RTR for more formal events. This dress definitely delivered on the wow factor. Personally I love my legs, so it showcased them very well with the short hemline. I typically order a 4 and a 6, as I am a 4 in a lot of my regular clothes. This dress, however, ran small.....like couldnt even zip up the 4. I squeezed into the 6...and if it werent for a corset I have....I most likely would not have worn it. I didnt feel super comfortable in the dress, but all my friends and my husband assured me that I looked good in it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Age: 27
December 1, 2015
I wish it had fit me better but gorgeous
I rented this for a great gatsby-ish wedding. It fit right in to the theme and the dress is gorgeous. However the materials really doesn't have a lot of give and my body type, I don't have a particularly flat stomach so bc it was so form fitting I was a little self conscious. Also bc of my height the size 8 was like an inch too long for me.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 57
November 29, 2015
Fit well.
Underlining sometimes slid up.
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
November 27, 2015
Great party dress to celebrate my 30th birthday!
Loved the shiny glitz this dress brings to a night out. You definitely stand out in the crowd. The material can get a bit scratchy after a few hours. Overall, I loved the dress and would definitely rent it again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 19
November 22, 2015
Compliments - super comfortable dress
Fit really well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 124lbs
November 18, 2015
My new favorite dress
Wore this for our Christmas pictures. Got compliments from strangers just walking to my car from breakfast. I thought it might be over the top with its glitz and sparkle, but it was beautiful and perfect. I will be renting slate and willow again. Beautiful and perfect dress!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
November 17, 2015
Cute fun dress but too clingy for me
Rented for Vegas and was hoping it would fit like a short shift dress, but it was too tight around my stomach for me to be comfortable in it. That said the dress was soft to wear, and my sister who is actually a size 8 and a few inches shorter than me wore and loved it. Just get a larger size if you aren't into skintight dresses.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
November 11, 2015
Flashy and different.
I wasn't able to wear this because it arrived a day later than expected for the party I was attending, but I did try on the 10. It's fits nicely, but is different from what I imagined. It's a bit more sequin-y. Still very cute. I would love to order again for the next party, just allowing an extra day.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
November 10, 2015
Celebrated one-year wedding anniversary with my husband
Loved this dress! It was beautiful and easy-to-wear. It was the perfect length for me. I was happy that I could wear a regular bra too!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 22
November 10, 2015
This dress and earrings I rented made my night 100 times better! I felt truly beautiful!
I got so many compliments on this dress! I
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 28
November 10, 2015
Gorgeous dress, many compliments!
Loved this dress. The pros - Great for dancing and I got so many compliments--a waitress actually stopped me on the dance floor to tell me that I had the best dress at the wedding and she had to know where I got it. It's also a great dress to accessorize because you can use basically any gold jewelry, clutch, etc. Loved the capped sleeves and nice open back. It was also a good length for someone with super short legs (with a bit of a booty) like myself. A few cons - It fit a little looser than I would've preferred but it was generally comfortable. As a few people pointed out the sequins could be a teeny bit itchy under the arms but it was nothing that really impacted my night. Overall a great RTR experience and I recommend this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
November 10, 2015
This dress had just enough sparkle- I loved it!
I went two sizes up for this dress and it was perfect. I'm short and curvy and it really was flattering to my body type and the length was just right.I wore it for a Gatsby themed fundraiser party for work and I received many compliments on it. I read that previous borrowers had problems with the slip but I didn't at all. It stayed right in place. Absolutely loved this dress and did not want to return it!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 19

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×