Slate & Willow

Mae Sequin Shift

$30 – $40 rental?
$348 value
Stylist Notes

Gold and black are a go for girl's night! This sequin shift is a standout style for dancing under the lights! Gild yourself to the max with Ben-Amun's Gold Deco Crystal Teardrops and Whiting & Davis' Hollywood Boulevard Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-14 & plus 16W-22W.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Not Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black and gold damask pattern sequins(100% Nylon). Cap sleeves. Boat neckline. Shift body. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 37” from shoulder to hem. Made in the USA.

Share
884 reviews
Fit
Large
(29)
True to Size
(433)
Small
(243)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
February 27, 2014
Very cute but not like the pic it was very form fitting and short
Fits nothing like the model pic
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 3, 2014
Birthday dinner with the BF!
I was expecting to wear the 6 but went with the 4 once I received them. Here's why...the 6 fit perfect in every way just as it looks on the model except for one area - the stomach. It actually looked like it had been just worn by someone who didn't belong in a size 6. The waist was extremely stretched out which was disappointing considering the 4 was a little shorter than I would have liked. However, I fit into the 4 in every other aspect so I dealt with length issue and let's just say my boyfriend appreciated it. It's great quality, the sequins were not too much and I felt great/comfortable all night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 164lbs
March 3, 2014
Love love LOVE!
I was so sad to return this dress! Wore it for my 30th birthday party in downtown San Diego and it was a huge hit! Women stopped me all night long to compliment the dress! The sequins were stunning! What you can't really tell from the picture is that the whole black part is sparkly, and has a little bit of silver woven in as well. The slight scoop in the back is outrageously flattering, the sleeves hit in a nice spot (and don't scratch too too much under the arms) and it's short enough to be sexy but still be able to sit comfortably. I wore it with a little tummy tucker stomach thingy because it's more fitted than you might think. I normally wear an 8, but followed advice for the hip-py girls and sized up, good thing too, because I couldn't even get the 8 over my hips, let alone zip it! As a girl with a little extra plush around the middle and thighs, it was still very flattering and comfortable. Plus, the boyfriend went nuts :) Perfect dress for a fun night!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 116lbs
March 3, 2014
dynamo dress
I rented this for my medical school formal. The attire was "cocktail formal". This dress is 99% sequins, but I found it very comfortable. It pulled slightly across the thighs, but not enough to go up a size. On me, it hit mid-thigh and was neither too modest nor immodest. I got tons of compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
March 4, 2014
Stunning dress that way eye catching
I rented this dress for my sorority's Masquerade Cocktail. I got tons of compliments from my friends as the dress was flattering and the sequins were eye catching! The dress ran true to size. My only drawback was that the sequins cut my arms and legs from rubbing against my skin, but it was not unbearable. I would definitely suggest this dress for a winter event!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
March 5, 2014
Beautiful, but not for Curvy Girls
This dress should be ordered one size up if you have hips. The backup size 10 was too loose in the abdomen. I did where the size 8 which was okay. Overall, a great dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
March 6, 2014
Fun dress, all sequins
This dress was great for my best friend's golden birthday party. When I tried the dress on, I was disappointed that it wasn't as loose fitting as it looks on the model. I have a full bust and they were kind of smashed in there. However, it wasn't so bad where I couldn't wear the dress. I was planning to wear the size 8, however my friend tried it on while we were getting ready and it fit her better, so she ended up wearing the size 6 dress and looked great! (she is probably a D cup, 125 lbs ish). The entire dress was sequined which I wasn't expecting, but it was really fun! I would recommend this dress, but definitely size up if you have a larger chest. Great party dress
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 31
March 8, 2014
Lots of compliments!!!!
Fits tight!!! Looks a little baggier on the model in the picture but it is definitely fitted. I rented a size two and four... Even though the two fit... I felt more comfortable in the four. Also, the entire dress is sequins! From the picture I thought it was a textured design with a few sequins... NO! Whole thing sequins! Very pretty but not 100% what I expected!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
March 9, 2014
So Cute sequins dress!
I thought the dress was cloth patterned, but it is actually sequins. Regardless it was adorable! It fit perfect and I got compliments all night long! I danced and it was comfy the whole night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
March 11, 2014
A little short
No, really short! I couldn't wear this beauty because on me (5'6.5", long torso), it was like a tunic rather than a dress. Bummer!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
March 15, 2014
This was the perfect classy yet fun party dress!
This dress was amazing! Loved everything about it! Was a little tighter in the hips than I thought it would be but it was still comfortable and looked great. I would definitely rent this dress again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
March 17, 2014
Loved the dress. got tons of compliments.
The fit was true to size, slightly snug under the arms but overall looked fabulous! :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 126lbs
March 19, 2014
Too tight on the hips
Although the dress was really pretty and the detail was interesting, it ran a little too tight for comfort on my hips. I'm a typical size 4 but pear shape and it fit perfectly on top but a bit snug on the booty. Because I'm a pear shape, I don't think sizing up would help.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
March 23, 2014
So many compliments! It didn't even matter that I matched with someone who rented the same dress!
I wore the 4 because the bust fit better, but the midsection was pretty big on me. If you have a small chest, I'd recommend choosing a size down. I was worried when I ordered that the dress might be short on me. It wasn't. Length was great!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 24, 2014
Really fun and comfortable dress!
I really liked this dress. I wore it with black opaque tights and boots on a somewhat chilly night out and it was perfect. The outside is a little bit scratchy but the inside is soft. I was comfortable for the entire night. I would not have worn it without the tights though because it was very short on me (I am 5'10"). I definitely recommend it for a night out on the town!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 48
March 24, 2014
Great Art Deco dress
I got this dress as an alternate for a Great Gatsby party. I ended up wearing the other dress, although the decision would have been mor difficult if I had ordered a size 2 rather than a size 0. The size 0 was a little snug around the hips. The dress looks much better on than on the hanger. The sequin design is beautiful!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
March 24, 2014
Beautiful Dress - Runs a bit small
Wore this dress and it was beautiful, but it does not fit like the shift dress it looks to be in this photo. It was definitely tight through the hips/butt and I am 5'3" 120. Still wore it though and it was comfortable and looked great in pictures!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
March 24, 2014
such a great dress
it fit a tad tight along my bust, but i loved it
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
March 24, 2014
Gorgeous dress but it didn't fit
I have a large butt and the dress just couldn't handle it. I would love to see it on others tho.
ZairaApril 21, 2014
what size did you order?
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
March 25, 2014
Wasn't able to wear it
It looks pretty in the photo, but in reality is not a shift dress at all. It is fitted and your arms will hurt because of the rubbing of the sequins. I was able to fit it, but my belly pooched out a bit and the diamond in the middle accentuated it in the worst way. Disappointed as I was eyeing this dress for over a year.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 25, 2014
Dress was great for my sorority's mardi gras date party!
Fit was good and sequins weren't uncomfortable like I expected them to be.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
March 26, 2014
Perfect fit
This is an elegant dress - yet also fun and flirty! Its best fit is form-fitting and short. Perfect for a gala, formal event, holiday party,…. I liked it with bare legs and tall black heels. Not many accessories are needed -- just gold earrings and a simple black or gold clutch and maybe a gold bracelet. I decided not to wear it to the event because, although it looks great on, the attire of the night was more conservative (less "shiny"). However, I'll definitely try to rent this again for Nov-Feb holiday parties!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
March 26, 2014
wore this to a school dance and got so many compliments!
It fit great! I was worried that the sequins would be an issue, and although up close you could see some snags if you looked for them, I didn't have any trouble with them being scratchy or snagging on anything! It wasn't too short either! Also the process of renting was super easy. Will definitely be renting again!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
March 26, 2014
Absolutely stunning dress. I felt so confident wearing it and received compliments all night long.
I rented this dress for my engagement party and am still getting compliments on how awesome I looked. Do not listen to the reviews. I am 5' 9'' and usually a size 6 and sometimes an 8 because of my large rib cage and thighs. I ordered both the 6 and the 8 and found that the 6 fit perfectly without having to squeeze into to zip up. I also found that the dress was not too short. I almost didn't get the dress because everyone who reviewed was so much shorter than me and said it was too short -- this is definitely not the case.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 28, 2014
Cute Cocktail Dress
I rented this dress for a 1920s Speakeasy themed event. The dress was perfect for the event and I received tons of compliments. Luckily, I read the reviews before renting as the dress definitely runs small. I typical rent a 2 and had to wear a 6. The dress is not shift style as shown, it is much more fitted, especially in the hips/lower half and does not have much stretch. That being said, so long as you rent a size or two up it still looks great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
March 30, 2014
Great turn around for a replacement dress since this one didn't work.
Runs small and didn't fit like a shift dress at all, much more fitted and the arms make it hard to lift them. Ended up getting a replacement shift dress wit the help of excellent customer service!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 102lbs
March 30, 2014
Loved it!
The dress fit the way I expected it to. I got a 2 and a 4, and went with the 2 and that was a still a little big on me. If I were to rent it again, I would try getting the 0 and 2. The dress was a little longer than expected, so I pinned it at the bottom and that worked perfectly! The dress is all sequins, but they were all perfectly intact when I received the dress. It was super comfortable for both dancing and sitting. Awesome dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
March 30, 2014
Not my favorite....runs small
I usually wear an 8, but even the 10 was very right for me & I chose not to wear this dress at all. It's beautiful but something about it wasn't right for me. Disappointing since it looks amazing in the pics. Next time!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
March 30, 2014
I chose this as a backup since the other size I wanted for another dress was not available.
I didn't end up wearing this dress. It runs really small, as I am normally a size 6 and the size 10 fit me but was still really short. It hugs the middle a little but and I just wasn't comfortable. It wasn't very flattering and did not feel right in the arms. Thankfully, the other dress fit!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
March 30, 2014
The dress was comfortable and easy to dance in!
The dress runs a little small in the hip area. I have larger hips and the 8 wouldn't fit over them! The ten even pulled a little, but not noticeably. I would size up if you are a girl with hips! Because I had to size up, it was a little baggy in the waist. The dress was extremely comfortable and easy to move in. It was on the shorter length, but I didn't find it short enough to make me uncomfortable or self conscious. I'm 5'5" and wore about a 2 inch heel. I would recommend this dress! I got a lot of compliments on it too!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
March 31, 2014
Great rental
I really liked this dress. It was comfortable and hugged my body well without being too tight to where I was self conscious. Both the 4 and 6 fit, but I wore the 6 to my event.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
March 31, 2014
Beautiful dress, stands out, and comfortable!
Not too snug but sexy enough. I love the gold on the dress - simply stunning. I'm 5'9 and it hits mid thigh.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
March 31, 2014
Beautiful and Comfortable!
I got so many compliment on this dress! It was also very comfortable.The sequins began to bug me a little under the armpits, but I could tolerate it. I have pretty narrow hip and it was still pretty fitted around them. If you have wider hips I would go up a size.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
April 4, 2014
This dress was just amazing. So comfortable, and got a ton of compliments.
The dress did run small. I am almost 100% of the time a 2, and am a small girl. I ended up wearing the 4. It was comfortable, but it was also tight. I was ok with the tight aspect though because I wanted a fitting dress. I did wear spanx underneath just for additional tummy control because I knew I would be eating/drinking and later become bloated. All in all, great dress. Loved it, and if I weren't photographed a million times in it, I would rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
April 6, 2014
bff bachelorette party
Thought it was perfect for an end-of-winter/is-spring-here-yet bachelorette party in Minneapolis. Dressy, but not too over the top.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 6' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
April 6, 2014
I loved the detail on the dress. The sequins are very intricate and they make the dress elegant!
It says shift on the model but I doesn't fit as one. It is tighter than I expected around the waist but loosens out a little bit on the bottom. It is also a little long but I fashioned taped it to my desired length which worked perfectly! Definitely a dress I would recommend for a night out!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 7, 2014
Beautiful detailed dress!
I wore this dress for a wedding and received compliments all night! This dress is completely sequined and looks slightly different in person than online. I rented the 6 and 8 and went with the 6 since I wanted a more fitted style because I have an hourglass figure. I do wish it slightly more fitted in the waist but it is still a beautiful dress that photographs great! It was also in excellent condition with not one sequin missing!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 111lbs
April 8, 2014
Dubbed one classy broad
I wore this dress for a Monte Carlo themed charity event and got SO many compliments, all night long! Super classy while extremely chic. Hesitant to choose the sequin covered get up, I was beyond pleased to find this dress was not itchy whatsoever. I paired with Lulu Frost earrings and they complimented each other so nicely, very elegant but still edgy. Returning this dress was such a sad moment, but you can bet I'll be renting from RTR again! (:
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 8, 2014
Attended the IDMA in Miami 2014
Perfect fit. I loved this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
April 9, 2014
A fun dress that fits a wedding or party perfectly. You will get positive comments on it!
This was my first RTR experience, and I'm so glad I did it. I get nervous about ordering all-sequined things, but this did not look tacky at all. The design was awesome, and it fit true to size. I could have worn the 0 or the 2; there wasn't a huge different. It was very comfortable. I received a ton of compliments. I secretly wish I owned this dress!!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 23

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×