Slate & Willow

Mae Sequin Shift

$30 – $40 rental?
$348 value
Stylist Notes

Gold and black are a go for girl's night! This sequin shift is a standout style for dancing under the lights! Gild yourself to the max with Ben-Amun's Gold Deco Crystal Teardrops and Whiting & Davis' Hollywood Boulevard Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-14 & plus 16W-22W.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Not Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black and gold damask pattern sequins(100% Nylon). Cap sleeves. Boat neckline. Shift body. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 37” from shoulder to hem. Made in the USA.

Share
876 reviews
Fit
Large
(29)
True to Size
(432)
Small
(241)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 10, 2014
Great Memories!!
Fun dress!! Only down fall is I wanted it fit like the model. Didn't really have the"shift dress" effect on me even though I tried the size up.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
August 11, 2014
Great 20's Feel!
Wore this dress for a Great Gastby-themed charity event. The sparkle and semi-architectual design was perfect, and the dress itself, while a little form-fitting in the hips and booty (not that that's a bad thing!), was overwhelmingly comfortable. A little spanx and all was well! Many event attendants had spent hours and $$$$$ trying to find something appropriately 20's and were flabbergasted to know I'd found a perfect outfit in less than 10 minutes and for less than $50 - I think I may have converted more than one person to RTR that night!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
August 11, 2014
Loved this dress!
It was a little tight across the chest and chafed a bit in the arms. Otherwise, it was great!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
August 11, 2014
I wore this dress for my friends Great Gatsby Bachelorette Party and it was a huge hit!
This dress photographs so well. I am very self conscious and even though the dress was tighter than I had expected, I rocked it with confidence because it was just so beautiful. Know that if you have big hips you'll need to jump up a size. There is not much stretch.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 12, 2014
Beyonce Concert.
Wore this dress for the final US stop of Beyonce and Jay Z's On the Run Tour. The dress was gorgeous, great for dancing, and could easily be dressed up for formal event or for more of a wild night out on the town.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
August 13, 2014
Stretched out
I ordered the zero and it didn't work on my petite frame. The belly area was baggy, yet the butt was fitted. Didn't work for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
August 17, 2014
I was able to find a dress that fit and flattered by pregnancy bump
This dress fit perfectly. I was hesitant to rent (any dress) because I am 5 months pregnant and it's hard to find a flattering dress now that I gained a few pounds. I received compliments on this dress all night! I will definitely rent this again (pre pregnancy size of course) after I have my baby.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
August 18, 2014
Beautiful dress but a bit scratchy
I wore this dress for a classy night out in Vegas and it was a hit! I got so many compliments and I felt fantastic in it! As the stylist notes recommend, if you're looking for something that's loosely fitted like the model, size up. I'm typically an 8 and this dress was a bit fitted. That being said, it was very flattering. One thing to note is that if you're going to be spending a lot of time sitting (as I was at dinner), consider renting a different dress. The lining on this dress does not run the full length of the dress (it ends about an inch from the bottom) and therefore exposes your skin to scratchy sequins on the hem, making sitting quite uncomfortable. Overall, I highly recommend this dress as long as you don't mind sacrificing some comfort!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 128lbs
August 18, 2014
glam-bam, thank you, ma'am!
I rented this for a wedding. Much like Elton John, I feel that an outifit without sequins is just not an outfit worth wearing. Unfortunately, when you're attending someone's wedding, sequins can be a tricky thing. This Slate & Willow dress, however, was perfect. Dark sequins, an elegant design, and a modest cut--you get the glamour and sparkle without looking like a vegas show girl. I was hoping to be able to pull off the 6--if not just so I could say, OMG YOU'RE WEARING A 6 FOR THE FIRST TIME SINCE MIDDLE SCHOOL...but that's my own personal issue that I should probably seek help for, but, in all seriousness, I'm an 8, and the 8 was a perfect fit. What other reviewers say is correct--this is not a true "shift." This "shift" hugs your waist, so plan for it. Other than that, this was gorgeous dot com and I've never felt more comfortable in my own (sequined) skin at a wedding before. Dance floor, too!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 20, 2014
I need to buy this!
Fit was great I received a 4 and 6 and I ended up wearing the 6. The 4 fit but too tight in the rump area. This dress is more fitted than the picture leads on. I want this so bad in my closet. Will rent again!!!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
August 22, 2014
I loved the sequins! Lots of compliments!!
The dress was snug around the bust area, I would def get a bigger size if you have large bust area.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
August 22, 2014
Perfect dress for a 1920s themed wedding!
This dress is not as loose as it appears in the model photo and so I needed to wear spanx underneath it, but it fit perfectly. Rented for a 1920s themed wedding, this fit right in and paired with a few other accessories, it was an excellent choice. I received tons of compliments on it and felt great in it. The only negative was that, as other reviewers have noted, the sequins do get a bit scratchy underneath the arms, but I knew that ahead of time and just didn't keep my arms too close to my sides all night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
August 23, 2014
Perfect print for a Gatsby themed event
If you want more form fitting, go for the smaller size but if you want more of a shift dress / looser fit size up
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 108lbs
August 24, 2014
Fun and sparkly
Loved this dress. Was everything I wanted. Was able to wear a bra, dance and sit comfortably. Dress was a touch short but I anticipated that when ordering. Would definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
August 25, 2014
This dress was a head turner!
This dress was true to size. Slightly more fitted than it looked on the model but fit well and was perfect for the event!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
August 26, 2014
I wore this dress for my rehearsal dinner. It was a perfect party dress for a special occasion!
The dress ran true to size. It was fitted, but not too tight, and hit about mid-thigh. Though it didn't have much stretch, it was very comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
September 1, 2014
Awesome dress, Sexy & classy.
Snug fit, in a good way. That plus the short length added a lot of sexiness to the dress even though you're very covered up at the top.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
September 2, 2014
A lil small but forgiving.
I wish I had gotten a dress one-size up but luckily it's black and so sparkly so forgiving. Pretty short but since there r sleeves and no cleavage it's necessary. Sleeves are a little tight and sparkles can be scratchy, but totally fine for one night.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 3, 2014
Gorgeous dress, photographs well! Get ready for tons of compliments!
I went to a Friday evening wedding at the Boston Public Library. I ordered the 10 and sized up to the 12 - I'm so glad I did! The 10 was incredibly tight and inappropriately short. I ended up wearing the 12. It was still a little tight across my tummy/hips (had to wear shapewear) and was still fairly short, but nothing I couldn't handle. The sequins were a bit rough, but I got used to it after a while and didn't notice them. If you want it to fit like the model, I would suggest sizing up two sizes - I got the 12 hoping it would be loose throughout, but it wasn't at all.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
September 3, 2014
This dress is simply gorgeous! It was heartbreaking to return it, but worth the experience.
I wore a size 10 because I have wide hips, but overall it was a good fit. The dress was comfortable, and definitely a hit on the dance floor. Love it!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 4, 2014
Fun and Glamorous!
More fitted than it appears on the model. If you're going for that look, I'd suggest going up a size. Great dress.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 25
September 7, 2014
Gorgeous dress!! Fit amazing and didn't stick to my skin like most bodycon type dresses.
Amazing for. True to size. Great for weddings danced in it all night!
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
September 8, 2014
GATSBY MUST! This DRESS was a party in and off itself!!
This dress fit like a glove (thank you spanx!) ... it was shorter than I expected, but for a party it ended up working out. Might have been less appropriate for a wedding or a more formal occasion though. I absolutely loved it and felt like a million bucks. RTR is my new obsession and I will be using it for any and all weddings/cocktail events moving forward!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
September 9, 2014
Gorgeous dress!
This dress was stunning on. I just had a baby so my dress size is a little different than before. I got a 4 and a 2. The 2 I couldn't even get on. The 4 was tight in the belly and butt but loose in the top and shoulders which was odd because my chest is larger now. A little short but in a good way!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
September 10, 2014
RTR wins again!
Ordered a size up, two sizes also would have worked as I was a bit uncomfortable but nothing awful. This dress rocks, so unique and eye catching. I'm pretty short, 5'0 so length wasn't a problem with me at all. Great dress to dance the night away in!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
September 10, 2014
The dress was very pretty
I'm usually a size 6, but I rented the 8 in case the dress ran too small which it did. Luckily I squeezed my way into the 8. The dress is pretty short, but I'm 5'11 so that's expected. The sequins were somewhat worn. I would suggest if renting this dress to rent a size up
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
September 10, 2014
Knock-out dress but bad zipper!
This dress was a showstopper. I felt absolutely beautiful in this. I am 5'2" and I thought the length was a bit conservative for a night on the town; however, I wore it to a fancy fundraising event and thought it was totally appropriate and classy. I received a ton of compliments. My only complaint was that the zipper was totally broke, as in the teeth of the zipper were not connected in a very small section of the zipper around the top middle of the dress. My mom helped me work on it for about an hour and she was finally able to get the teeth connected; we used a small safety pin to secure it. Therefore, I couldn't zipper it down all the way, so it was a bit tricky to get on and off. But overall loved the way it looked! Also, be careful of any potentially spikey jewelry on your wrist or fingers as the material will snag!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
September 11, 2014
Loved this dress! Got lots of compliments and it was very comfortable!
I had seen some people comment on the sleeves being irritating under the arms which did happen, but it was nothing unbearable. I typically rent a size 6, but only the 8 was available for the weekend I needed it so I went with that. I would say it fits true to size because it was a little looser than I would have liked. I'm sure if the 6 was available it would have been a perfect fit! All in all it was a great dress and I would highly recommend it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
September 13, 2014
Classic sparkle for a bachelorette trip
The dress, fit, and details were all perfect. Can't say enough positive things about this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 14, 2014
Perfect birthday dress
Fit well. Gorgeous in person but the bottom hem was a little stretched out
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
September 14, 2014
Beautiful!
The fit was great! Loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
September 15, 2014
Beautiful, well-fitting dress that added glam to my 30th birthday!
This dress looked great on! The sequins were tastefully done and didn't look tacky at all. I wore it for my 30th #birthday party and received so many compliments! It was the perfect amount of #glam for a #dinnerparty that didn't look too over-the-top.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 15, 2014
This dress was stunning and the talk of the party!!
I'm not a sequin girl, but fell head over heels in love with this dress! It fit like a glove and was super comfortable!! This is great for a party or wedding, and you shine in this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
September 17, 2014
Perfect for Gatsby Themed Party
Fit a little tighter and less like a shift/sheath than on the model. But it was still comfortable and easy to wear. Loved the capped sleaves!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
September 18, 2014
Super comfortable!! Great for any occasion.
Fit was true to size
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
September 18, 2014
Such great selection and great value!
Perfect length for petites...not too short but short enough! Lots of amazing compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 18
Body type: Petite
October 9, 2014
Everyone said they loved the dress! It was unique and classy!
Fit was true to size and comfortable ; not scratchy at all!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
October 19, 2014
Love RTR!
Loved the way this dress sparkled! Runs small, I never thought I'd wear a 14 and even that was snug. Not what it appears to be on the model!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
October 22, 2014
Very comfortable!
I got plenty if compliments and never had to worry about being exposed or the dress riding up!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
October 24, 2014
Beautiful, fit was off
This is a gorgeous dress. The material is stretchy, but fairly thin. The arms felt really tight and the hem flared out more than I expected. Overall, nice dress but not for me.
See more reviews:
2 / 22

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×