Slate & Willow

Mae Sequin Shift

$30 – $40 rental
$348 value
Stylist Notes

Gold and black are a go for girl's night! This sequin shift is a standout style for dancing under the lights! Gild yourself to the max with Ben-Amun's Gold Deco Crystal Teardrops and Whiting & Davis' Hollywood Boulevard Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-14 & plus 16W-22W.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Not Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black and gold damask pattern sequins(100% Nylon). Cap sleeves. Boat neckline. Shift body. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 37” from shoulder to hem. Made in the USA.

Share
896 reviews
Fit
Large
(29)
True to Size
(436)
Small
(246)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 13, 2017
Rock the Red Carpet Event
Great dress! If you're curvy in your rear end size up as it is not as forgiving in that area. Also, an appropriate length for my short legs. I struggle finding dresses that dont hit at a weird spot on my thighs but this dress was just short enough to be sexy but not too long to cut me at a weird length (I am 5'1''). Sequins were not bothersome at all. Compliments all night long! Wish I could have kept this dress to rock it again :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114lbs
February 13, 2017
Dress is really cute. I felt comfortable in it and it received many compliments
I am only 5'1 and even I thought this dress was short. Its def true to size, so if your in between sizes I would go for the larger size as it doesn't have much give.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 175lbs
January 30, 2017
Awesome Vegas dress!
Dress was a great length not too short! Ended up wearing the larger size felt a little tight in the arms but overall pretty comfy...
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
January 29, 2017
Incredibly convenient shipping/return. I wasn't expecting a return label to be provided for me.
Very comfortable fit. Was great for dancing. A little short when sitting, but still appropriate!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
January 25, 2017
Pretty dress - runs small - delicate overlay
This dress runs small all over. I sized up for my extra and it was still too tight, especially in the armholes. I don't recommend this dress for curvy women. I am 5'2" and it was still very short. There was also significant wear and tear on the dress to the point there were silver dollar sized holes throughout the overlay and under the arms. I called RTR to get a new style overnighted but it was two days before NYE and they were out of every dress in my size. I bought some new spanx and enjoyed the night despite my discomfort.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
January 16, 2017
Really pretty dress!
Really beautiful dress, but it was tighter in my hips than it appears in the photo which resulted in some unflattering bunching around the stomach area. I got a lot of compliments on it though, so maybe I was more critical than others were. Overall I don't think I would rent this dress again, but my experience with RTR was great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
January 13, 2017
Perfect for roaring 20's party.
I wore this for my 30th birthday party. The theme was roaring 20's went great with pearls and a peep toe pump.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
January 7, 2017
Too tight
Dress was absolutely adorable - but unfortunately the dress was too tight across my legs to wear. In the photo it looked loose and baggy but that was not the case. I'd size up - I wish I could have worn it. It was so cute!
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 6, 2017
I received compliments all night!
Perfect dress for a New Years party and wedding all in one!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Age: 28
January 6, 2017
Gorgeous, I'm in love!!
I rented this for dinner at The French Laundry. I was a bit concerned that the sequin might look cheap, but it was gorgeous! Even our waiter complimented me! Normally I like a fitted waist, but the shift cut of this one was really nice and comfortable. It was a bit longer than I thought. I'm 5'4" and I was anticipating a mini, but it hit just mid thigh. Otherwise I was really pleased!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
January 1, 2017
Wore this in Chicago for a bachelorette party.
Normally wear a 2-4, size 2 fit perfectly.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 133lbs
January 1, 2017
Beautiful NYE dress
Wore this dress for a New Year's Eve event, and got so many compliments. Very flattering for a busty girl. Ordered a size 4 and 6... I went with the 6 due to length, but the 4 wasn't too restricting. The only negative thing I'd have to say is the sequins left red scratches on the underside of my arms, and was starting to get really uncomfortable by the end of the night. With that said, I would rent this dress again because it was so beautiful.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 1, 2017
Great party dress
Loved this dress! I rented it for NYE 1920's themed party. At 5'4" the size 2 was perfect length -- slightly below mid-thigh. A little bit of stretch made the dress comfortable and easy to dance in!It also photographed well.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
December 28, 2016
I wore this dress for my office holiday party. It was really comfortable and I felt great.
The dress was not as short on me as it looked on the model and I found it had a little stretch which made it more comfortable. The sequins didn't itch or bother me even though I have fairly sensitive skin. Overall a fun and easy to wear party dress.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
December 27, 2016
Awesome dress!
Beautiful detail
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
December 26, 2016
Did not wear this dress.
Very tight and very short!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 26, 2016
Perfect for holiday party!
I wore this for my office holiday party and got a ton of compliments! It is perfect for a holiday event. I am short (5'2") and the length was perfect, it also was not too tight but still form-fitting. Overall was great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137lbs
December 26, 2016
Holiday party success
Fit very well! Looked very flattering. Though others mentioned length it was perfect for me!
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
December 18, 2016
Lots of compliments on this dress!
I loved this dress! I ended up wearing the 2 which was my back up size. I had ordered the 4 but the 2 fit better in the waist! I think it was meant to look more form fitting. I wore with black tights and black booties. Photographed very well , and I had no problems dancing all night in it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
December 17, 2016
Sparkly and fun!
Perfect for my jazz themed holiday party. Definitely runs small and as a busty gal, was pretty constricted across the top since it has sleeves. But it had some stretch so was very comfortable!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
December 13, 2016
I would rent this on again!
The dress was really fun, but on the snug side and I had to keep pulling it down. I think a larger size would have solved that problem. I ended up wearing my backup because it was more comfortable. This dress is really nice because you can wear a regular bra with it. It has a lot of stretch in it too, which also helps. The sequins did not bother me under the armpits as some other people noted. I would definitely rent it again, of course in a larger size. I'm barely 5'2", and the length was comfortable, above the knee, but not as short as it looks on the model.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Age: 36
December 12, 2016
Perfect for a fun night out!
I loved this rental! It was perfect for a bachelorette party. Very flattering and it looks wonderful in photos.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 26
December 12, 2016
Such a great dress. I wore it to a holiday party and everyone complimented me!
Such a fun dress for a holiday party. The only thing to complain about even a little was the sequins will rub your arms raw by the end of the night. Other than that it was perfect!
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
December 6, 2016
Photographed well
I loved this dress but it fit a little large. Would have preferred it to fit a little more snug. Received a lot of compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
December 5, 2016
Company holiday party
This dress is beautiful. It looked great...the only con was that I didn't get to wear it. The theme for my party wasn't as cocktail "esk" as I originally had thought. So I ended up throwing on something that I already had owned. BUT I highly recommend this dress, it is an ultimate draw dropper. I am 5' 9" and 120 lbs, so I was worried about the length a little at first, both the 0 and 2 fit but I would have gone with the 2 for length (it was about mid thigh).
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
December 4, 2016
So fun!
I rented for a cocktail party and it was perfect! Form fitting but true to size. I received so many compliments--it's such a fun statement dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 1, 2016
Great holiday party dress but girls with hips and booty- size up!
Overall this dress was very comfortable and flattering. The busy and bodice fit true to size for the size 2 I ordered but it was very tight through the hips that I ended up sizing up to my backup, size 4. The size 4 was still a little snug through the hips and butt and looser in the bodice but was a better overall fit. I really liked the sequins!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
November 25, 2016
Loved this dress!
This dress ran a little small in my opinion, I could wear the 6 but the arm pit holes were tighter! This dress was a hit, I received so many compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Formal Affair
November 21, 2016
It was a one of kind
Very fitting for the ocation I felt glamorous
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 21, 2016
This did not fit appropriately
The dress was much tighter than the pictures and is not short as it states if you are a short person. I typically wear a 6 but ordered this as a backup in an 8 due to other reviews. The 8 fit but showed every single curve and flaw. It was also much longer in the picture. Do not worry about the length of you are short but do order a size or two up if you have curves and don't want it skin tight.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 25
November 17, 2016
This dress made you stand out. The sequins look gorgeous, not tacky.
This dress fit a little snug. It looked great, but if you want it to fit like it does on the model, go bigger than you think
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Weight: 150lbs
November 14, 2016
I wore this dress for a fancy nighttime party at my husband's job.
I also recommend sizing up one size, I usually wear a 6 or 8 in dresses and I wore the 10 in this one. I say that with the caveat that the 8 wasn't available so I didn't get to see how it would have fit. but the 10 was comfortable and flattering. The material is really thin almost mesh-like, with a thicker more opaque layer underneath the main body of the dress (the last inch or two of the hem is sheer mesh, it has sequins but no underlayer). You can wear a regular bra with this dress, which was nice. The material was very light and easy to wear, not heavy at all like a lot of sequined dresses are. I personally found the sequins irritating under the arms but not as badly as some other sequined dresses I have worn in the past. I wore a full length shaping slip underneath, I've had two kids so...it is not a supportive material, for what it's worth. This was my first rent the runway purchase and I will definitely be using it again, this dress was great quality and material and fit exactly like I expected based on the description and reviews by others. I am 5'8, 150 lbs, hourglass figure, 32dd.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 9, 2016
Eye catching and Good length if you are short like me!
Rented the 4 and 6 and ended up wearing the 6 which fit perfectly. I would size up for comfort if in between sizes. Got lots of compliments on the dress and photographs well.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
November 8, 2016
Outside my normal!
I rented this as a backup dress for date night. It was a bit fancier in person than I expected but still would wear it for a Holiday party or fancier cocktail event. The shoulders/chest are run small. The dress is super straight and spanks were necessary even for just trying on the dress. If planning to wear to an event with a lot of sitting, I'd reconsider. Overall, ok dress definitely outside my normal choices. Would rent again for the right type of event.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
November 7, 2016
Everyone thought I looked great!! Felt nice considering I'm a mom of 2!!!
Definitely needed shape wear. My second size didn't come, I must have made a mistake. Looked great and perfect for the occasion!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Weight: 120lbs
November 5, 2016
Perfect Cocktail Dress!
This was my first experience with RTR, and I am thrilled with the result! The dress arrived on time even though I only ordered it a few days before the event. It was beautiful, fit like a glove, and surprisingly lightweight considering it's covered in sequins. I got so many compliments, even from strangers. I am 5'4", so I was glad it was not near as short on me as the model. I wore it for about 5 hours and it was quite comfortable. Glad I sized up for my extra size. I'm usually between a 2 and a 4. I could hardly zip the 2. The 4 fit perfect. Love this dress!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
November 4, 2016
Loved the look of this dress
I loved how this looked elegant, but still kind of casual since it is short. The material on the outside is definitely uncomfortable, but doable. Love how it looked!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
November 2, 2016
Perfect Flapper Dress
I wore this to a Great Gatsby Halloween party. What a huge hit! Comfortable and classy. I would totally recommend this for a cocktail event!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
November 2, 2016
This dress was so comfortable and perfect for a sparkling 40th birthday party.
After reading the reviews I ordered 1 size up from my true size. That was perfect! The dress was comfortable and had great movement. I could have worn it all night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Age: 25
November 1, 2016
1920s fun
This dress was super comfy and made me feel that 1920's glam I was looking for. Style hit at the knees. Very intricate sequin work.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 23

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×