Mae Sequin Shift

$40 rental
$348 value

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Gold and black are a go for girl's night! This sequin shift is a standout style for dancing under the lights! Gild yourself to the max with Ben-Amun's Gold Deco Crystal Teardrops and Whiting & Davis' Hollywood Boulevard Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-14 & plus 18W-22W.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Not Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0-14 & plus 18W-22W.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Not Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black and gold damask pattern sequins(100% Nylon). Cap sleeves. Boat neckline. Shift body. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 37” from shoulder to hem. Made in the USA.

Share
771 reviews
Fit
Large29
True to Size402
Small223
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
February 5, 2016
loved this dress
Wore this to my husbands work Christmas party and got tons of compliments! It was comfortable and easy to wear. I would definitely wear this again.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 2, 2016
Gatsby Party
I ended up not wearing this one for the event because it was not quite what I would consider a "shift" dress, more bodycon, but it was so pretty I felt I still had to share. I would certainly rent this again for a hot date night out, just not quite appropriate for a Gatsby themed party.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
January 31, 2016
A fun sparkly dress great for this southern wedding!
The dress looked great. It was a tiny bit slim in the arms and got pretty short when you sat down but overall a great fun dress for the occasion. Definitely a good first rent the runway experience.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155lbs
January 30, 2016
-
Small on top. Awkward fit for an apple shape. Did not wear
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 28
January 26, 2016
Perfect for a girls night out!
Looked great, felt great, fit great.... pretty much just great!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 40
January 26, 2016
Looked amazing !
looked glamorous , not too short
Top Contributor
Size worn:
18W
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
January 25, 2016
Great dress, runs very small!
I loved this dress! I wore it to my birthday party and got so many compliments. Couple things to keep in mind: it runs very small. I am glad I read the reviews and didn't order my regular size at all. Plan for two sizes up. Also, the sequins to scratch a bit, but I survived. It looks great with a pair of black tights and black patent pumps!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 24, 2016
Very Pretty but long
I loved the look of this dress, but at 5'3" it was kind of long on me, so not the best for New Years Eve
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
January 18, 2016
Beautiful fabric, flattering cut!
Very flattering!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
January 17, 2016
Beautiful and comfortable
Perfect length for a short girl like me. It is lower cut in the back so my regular bra straps slipped out. I'd recommend strapless or using double sided tape
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
January 14, 2016
I wore this dress to a New Year's Eve wedding , Perfect dress for this occasion !
I'm very short (4 10 ) so I was nervous about the length but for such a formal wedding it was perfect ! Very comfortable !
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
January 10, 2016
Perfect dress for a 1920s Great Gatsby party
The dress was perfect for the occasion but had I known the fit - I would have gone up one more size. It does have some stretch, but the chest and arms for me in particular were a bit more snug than a typical size 8. For others who may also be a bit chesty I would recommend going up a size.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
January 10, 2016
Amazing!
This dress was really great, the sequins weren't too over the top or itchy. The 6 actually zipped up better than the 8 (I think a tooth in the 8 must have been bent or something). I went with the 8 so it wasn't super tight, but the 6 would have worked as well.
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 18
January 9, 2016
The dress came in on time and was in great condition!
The dress fit perfectly. It was a bit shorter than I was expecting but still looked great. I received compliments all night. For the most part, it was not restricting and I was able to dance the whole night and felt comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 119lbs
January 7, 2016
Very pretty dress!
This dress was great for a date night at a more upscale restaurant for New Year's Eve. It is a slightly bigger fit being that it is a shift dress, but it is comfortable. Only downside was a few scratches on my arms from rubbing up against the dress. Overall the detailing is beautiful and I felt good in it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 25
January 5, 2016
Great dress and super comfortable!
The dress was a great New Years Eve dress. It definitely runs small and is more form fitting than a shift dress. I sized up to be more comfortable in the stomach area. The dress was extremely comfortable and could move around comfortably.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Weight: 150lbs
January 5, 2016
Everyone loved my dress and complimented me on it. I was told I looked really skinny in it!
It fits true to size. I normally wear a size 6, so the 6 was great. It was a tiny bit snug but that's just because it is not a stretchy dress, it keeps its form. It is flattering in the right places and is a little shorter than I thought, but I wore it with black panty hose/tights since it was very cold that night. I would definitely recommend this dress! Only con was that the sequins catch on to stuff sometimes so I noticed a couple threads coming lose here and there in the dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 3, 2016
Great dress! But smelled awful..
LOVED this dress! It was perfect for my NYE party. It fit snug like a sheath dress, not loose like a shift dress. Would've given it 5 stars but it SMELLED AWFUL!! I don't think this dress was dry cleaned before it was sent to me which made me extremely self conscious the entire night. I was so worried that people were going to think I smelled like B.O. :(
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Body type: Apple
January 3, 2016
Gorgeous dress!
I wore the larger size because the dress was very short. But great for a wedding and got tons of compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
January 1, 2016
Perfect glam for NYE!
Rented this dress for a NYE party & it was the perfect amount of glitz & glam I was looking for! The dress was true to size, although I agree with what others posted that I would not classify this as a shift dress... Thank you for a great first RTR experience.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
January 1, 2016
Everyone complimented my dress even strangers!
I'm 5'3 and 127lbs. I wore a size 8 which was comfortable. The dress was tighter up top for me because of my body type but I was still able to move and dance. The dress is not as itchy as I would have expected. Many people complimented the dress and I'm happy I wore it to a New Year's Eve party!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 139lbs
January 1, 2016
So much fun for NYE!
I wore this for NYE in San Francisco and it was perfect! Lots of fun and different from any other dress I saw that night. The skirt fit just right (though any tighter and it probably would've been a problem.) it was a on the shorter side though I am relatively tall for a girl (5' 9") so it wouldn't be an issue for most girls. Definitely recommend for a fun night out!
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
December 31, 2015
Beautiful New Years dress!
Thought it was going to be more of a sheath. But was more fitted.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Age: 27
December 29, 2015
Super cute but hem & overall fit not as pictured!!!
This model must be 5'9+!!! Im 5'6 and the hemline of this dress was mid thigh-knee length on me (And im also long legged)! I got crafty and used some double sided lingerie tape, and made the dress about 4 inches shorter so that it actually looked like it does on the model, on me. The fit is also not as loose as pictured, its more form fitting. Im in between a 6-8, and had to order the 8- the 8 ended up being a bit too big- but the dress still didnt fit as pictured. All that aside-the dress is still really cute, and I got plenty of compliments at the Art show party I attended. A definite recommend if you size down and are OK with a more conservative hem length!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
December 23, 2015
This was a back up dress so I didn't end up getting to wear, but it was gorgeous.
Beautiful dress!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 27
December 21, 2015
Bittersweet
Such an easy process, the package arrived in the far north right at my doorstep. Tried the dress on, and was in love! Unfortunately there was an unexpected death the day of the event and I did not attend. The dress fit like a glove though and was simply beautiful. I had a great first experience with RTR and will definitely be using this service again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127lbs
December 20, 2015
This dress was perfect for my Mardi Gras-themed birthday party!
The dress fit exactly how a shift should - not too tight. The sequins were a little itchy, but that's to be expected. The pattern was eye-catching and looked great in photos.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 27
December 16, 2015
I received lots of compliments! Office appropriate for my holiday work party.
I usually wear between 4 and 6. I ended up wearing the four. It was a little tight in the shoulders, but fit a bit more flattering through the body. I have a little bit larger bust and smaller hips/waist.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
December 16, 2015
Total high school reunion showstopper
Great fit and as always,great customer service
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 14, 2015
Classy Glam look for the hostess
I wore this for my husbands 30th birthday surprise! I love this designer! perfect for the petite. sharp, expensive look and feel. glam!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
December 13, 2015
Amazing dress. Compliments all night. Made me feel confident and beautiful.
Fit was great - short and sexy but acceptable for a formal birthday party (James Bond theme). Danced all night - no snafus! Loved this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 190lbs
December 13, 2015
Beautiful dress for a night on the town
Dress was beautiful and fun for a night out in New Orleans for my birthday. Just like other reviewers said, definitely runs small. I sized up and it was still snug for me. Under the arms was itchy, but nothing unbearable. Also very short (which might be because I have a lot in the back) and wearing it with tights was a must for my comfort level. Overall it was a comfortable and beautiful dress - just definitely size up because it's not a shift!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
16W
Rented for:
Party
Age: 38
December 13, 2015
This dress was great! It's sparkly, flattering and comfortable too!
The dress fit great. I followed the sizing tips and ordered the 16, even though I usually wear a 12/14.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 49
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
December 12, 2015
Sparkly --- but for waifs
I loved the look of this dress, but alas, it was not going to work for me. Slightly stretchy and very short. Would have looked perfect on someone skinnier and shorter than I. So disappointing not to have it in slightly larger size - this is a body hugging dress.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
December 11, 2015
Super cute. The more form fitting size looked better on me. I didn't wear it as a shift dress.
It was the perfect length for me, but I'm slightly short.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 9, 2015
Overall I thought dress was gorgeous and I received a ton of compliments all night.
I typically wear a size 4 or 6 depending on the brand and found that a 6 in this dress fit perfectly.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
December 8, 2015
Perfect for getting away with a non-floor length dress at a formal event! UNEXPECTEDLY LONG!
I wore this dress to a formal military Christmas party. Most of the women went more traditional and wore floor length dresses, however I did not feel too casual or under dressed at all! The dress looked fancy and expensive, and I received countless compliments! I definitely felt like I was wearing a $400 dress because of the quality. I ordered a size 0 and a size 2 as a backup. The size 0 did not fit me like a "shift" dress, and was fairly form fitting in the chest and hips, however I do have curves (because it was fairly form fitting in my usual dress size, and the style is suppose to be loose and hang, I said that it "ran small"). The size 2 fit more like a "shift" dress, however it was super long and hit below my knee. I ended up wearing the size 0 because it was a little shorter, and then shortened the dress with fabric tape. I am 5'2, so ladies be warned, unless you are very tall it will not look like it does on the model. The dress was very comfortable, not scratchy like some sequin dresses. Also, the color of gold is very much "true gold" like actual gold jewelry. The dress did have some fraying, and a hole in the armpit, however it was not noticeable. I highly recommend this dress for any event!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
18W
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Straight & narrow
December 7, 2015
I wore this to my work Christmas party. I felt sexy without being too revealing!
The other reviews are correct, this dress runs small. I typically wear a 16 or 14W in dresses and wore the 18W. The dress was still snug but looked good when I held everything in. I probably would have worn the 20W if I had ordered it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 31
December 6, 2015
Nice dress
Really enjoyed this dress... It fit well and was comfortable.. ran true to size; not too short. Liked it.. got a lot of compliments. Wasnt completely in love. What I DID love was the RTR process... so easy and cannot wait to do it again!!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
December 2, 2015
Dressed to impress.
I typically order from RTR for more formal events. This dress definitely delivered on the wow factor. Personally I love my legs, so it showcased them very well with the short hemline. I typically order a 4 and a 6, as I am a 4 in a lot of my regular clothes. This dress, however, ran small.....like couldnt even zip up the 4. I squeezed into the 6...and if it werent for a corset I have....I most likely would not have worn it. I didnt feel super comfortable in the dress, but all my friends and my husband assured me that I looked good in it.
See more reviews:
2 / 20

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×