Slate & Willow

Mae Sequin Shift

$60 rental
$348 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Gold and black are a go for girl's night! This sequin shift is a standout style for dancing under the lights! Gild yourself to the max with Ben-Amun's Gold Deco Crystal Teardrops and Whiting & Davis' Hollywood Boulevard Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Not Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Not Fitted - comfortable room throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black and gold damask pattern sequins(100% Nylon). Cap sleeves. Boat neckline. Shift body. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. 37” from shoulder to hem. Made in the USA.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

543 reviews

Fit
Small 153
True to Size 322
Large 25
Photos 347
Brooke
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 4, 2014

FAB!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fit perfectly, and was pretty comfortable, too! I wore it to a Halloween party as Serena Van Der Woodsen and I couldn't have picked a better dress! Although, the slip did ride up quite a bit during the night. Also, the dress is very delicate, so you need to be super careful with it!!!!
samantha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133 lbs
Nov 7, 2014

Beautiful print and sparkle.The dress was very comfortable. Sequins were not itchy at all.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to an Indian Sangeet / wedding. I got lots of complements on the dress. I thought the dress ran slightly small , especially around the waist. I would try one size up. I also would recommend wearing Spanx with it , due to I believe sequin dresses show every little bump or any extra one may have in the belly. I matched it up with the black and gold lucite drop earrings by Alexis Bittar and the Ornate Onyx Cuff by kate spade new york . Thought it looked great.
Kels
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118 lbs
Nov 12, 2014

I got an unbelievable amount of compliments while wearing this dress and was perfect for my event.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to my professional fraternity's sectionals banquet at a hotel which was Great Gatsby themed. I got numerous compliments all night and many of the guys loved it as well which is a plus. It didn't itch me, was the perfect length, and definitely wasn't too tight. I considered wearing the 4 just for a tad more room and a shift feel but the length increased a lot. Not only did both dresses arrive nicely, but I also got hair products as well which was a nice bonus. I've rented from RTR before and both dresses I didn't want to give back. I will totally rent this again if I ever need it, I fell in love with it.
jenn
Usually wears: 6
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
Nov 14, 2014

Amazing dress!

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Wedding
Great dress for fall wedding! Fit true to size. Received tons of compliments!
Christine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 15, 2014

Loved It!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore this for a ladies night. A little on the short side, but overall it fit great. Would definitely rent again.
Heather
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 17
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 15, 2014

Glamorous and Fierce Homecoming Dress

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I don't usually go for more edgy dresses but this one is great, its like a magically compromise between classic cut and sass. However like many reviews say it fits way tighter then in the picture. If you want the T-shirt fit then I suggest going up one or two sizes. I ordered the 2 and 4, and usually wear a 2. The 2 fit like a body con, and the 4 was slightly looser but would still show off curves if you have any. I went with the 2 because it was Homecoming I figured why not add even more sass. This dress also isn't very breathable so if you are a big dancer like me wear lots of deo be prepared to sweat a lot. Over all I loved it and definitely recommend it!
Margie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 23
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 16, 2014

This dress was perfect for the wedding I was in the house party in!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I LOVED this dress! It definitely fit more snug, like everybody has been saying. However, it flatters curves wonderfully! It did rub under my arms a bit, but not too bad. I got compliments all evening!
Tara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 16, 2014

Fabulous flattering dress!

Size worn: 10
Rented for: Party
This is a very fun dress. I wore this to a party that had a Turkish theme and the sequins pattern was perfect. My husband loved it. Very flattering to curves. Note that this dress is short. I am only 5'1" but it was still very short on me.
Danielle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 20, 2014

Perfect dress for a New York themed night!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was amazing. I fell in love with it online but when I saw it in person it was even better. I was a little upset that I had to order a 4 since there were no more 2's, which is what I normally wear, but I did it anyways because I was so in love. The 4 was a little big on me but I made it work. I actually wore it to dress up as Blair Waldorf from Gossip Girl and everyone guessed who I was instantly which I couldn't have done without this dress! I would recommend this dress to anyone who wants to steal the spotlight because it definitely makes you the center of attention!
Gem
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
Nov 21, 2014

Eye catching!

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Wedding
First let me say that I loved this dress despite the work I had to put in it. Fit was an issue as the waist was perfect (with a little help from my spanx of course:) but the bust area was so stretched out (from multiple use I presumed) that I had to take it in with safety pins. Also had to use temporary hemming tape since it went past my knee and made it look outdated. Once I fixed the fit and length it was perfection.
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 22, 2014

Dress fit well but lining did tend to ride up some.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Dress is covered all over in sequins. Fits well other than the lining rides up some.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Nov 22, 2014

Tons of compliments!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Wedding
The fit of this dress was a little awkward. Too tight to be sheath as described but loose in the midsection. The sequins was just right and overall the dress was perfect for the occasion and was a total hit. Definitely recommend.
Lacie
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185 lbs
Nov 22, 2014

Beautiful dress but...

Size worn: 14
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Beautiful dress but there was absolutely no stretch to it at all. So it made dancing or just simply bending a little uncomfortable. The arms run a little tight and just keep in mind with sequins comes scratchy irritation. I went with the size up just to give a little more room for dancing since there was no stretch. Unfortunately with that dress I discovered a hole in the sequined fabric near the hem...hopefully no one noticed! I still love RTR, the process is simple and I usually love the dresses.
Carly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Nov 23, 2014

Loved this dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this for a weekend in Vegas with my girlfriends. It was super fun and easy to wear. The sequins can rub a bit under your arms, but it was manageable. I rented the 4 & 6 and ended up wearing the 6, which is the size I normally wear (other reviews said it ran large, but I did not find this to be the case).
CFig
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Body type: Apple
Nov 26, 2014

Very first rental of many more to come!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Like many others who have rented this dress, I got it for a Gatsby themed wedding. It truly is the perfect dress for the theme, and I received a lot of compliments on it throughout the night. It's not super comfortable, per se, but definitely won't hinder you from having a good time either. It's also not one of those obnoxious sequin dresses that has you feeling like a disco ball all night. It attracts attention due to the great pattern, detail, and design, not out of sheer "loudness." To me (5'2) the length was perfect for this more formal occasion...overall, a great rental!
Kelsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 27, 2014

SOOO tight!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to my senior homecoming dance and I could not eat, breath, or dance in this dress! It's beautiful as all get out, but wow! I accidentally ordered a 0 and a 2 (because some reviews claimed the dress ran small). It's pretty loose in the shoulders but it was so tight on my hips. Because I had no other option, I squeezed into this dress anyways. It was fine but I was so sad that it wasn't perfect.
Samantha
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 28, 2014

Love this dress! Got so many compliments!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented the dress in sizes 4 and 6. The 4 fit everywhere but the arms, I have larger arms so I wore the 6. The 6 was still a little tight on the arms, but everywhere else fit great! I thought the dress was very flattering.
Chris
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 121 lbs
Nov 30, 2014

Gold!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great dress even better in pictures. I wore this dress to a Game of Thrones themed wedding. It was eye catching, beautiful vibrant gold, and durable! It's sequence so I thought I was going to have to be extra careful, but this dress is beautifully made. It was true to size, BUT the sleeve/arm holes are extra small which is why I had to use the bigger size. The 0 fit better through the torso, but there was no way I could lift my arms. I thought the neckline was really nice, boat neck and swoops slightly lower in the back. Very flattering.
Paige
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 18
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 1, 2014

Catches your eye!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Other
Very unique dress that is also very comfortable. Looked great under the stadium lights!
Crys
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Apple
Weight: 152 lbs
Dec 1, 2014

So many compliments all night long!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered a size 10 and a 12 - I wore the 12 because it fit a bit more like a shift (which is what I had envisioned). A little scratchy under the arms, but tolerable. Length was great for my height - 5'5" Overall a winner- will rent again!
Samantha
Age: 18
Dec 3, 2014

I got so many complements on the fit, look, and over all design of the dress! Thank you RTR!!

Size worn: 10
Rented for: Other
Fit great, I'm very tall and the picture the model is wearing looks incredibly short, but after reading the reviews I knew this would work out. A little difficult to lift my arms but that was just about the only down side. I should have ordered the 8 because the 10 was too big in the waist. I wore it with all black vans to keep it more on a casual side for homecoming being on the homecoming court. You can totally dress it up it dress it down depending on the shoes and the accessories you use!
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Dec 7, 2014

Elegant shine, timeless glamour

Size worn: 12
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress. It was perfect for the holiday cocktail party we attended. I received so many compliments and felt effortlessly chic all night. Slight irritation under my arms from the sequins, but nothing major. It hiked up a bit when I would sit, but with opaque black tights it wasn't a big deal. I did have to size up, so it is my opinion that the style runs small. The 12 fit like a dream though and I felt amazing all night. Highly recommend if you're looking for a little sparkle in your life! Wish I could keep it!!
Liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 142 lbs
Dec 8, 2014

Great festive dress that's different without being too flashy!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for my boyfriend's holiday party and it worked great. I was worried because the reviews said it ran small and the back up larger size I ordered was unavailable last minute. I ended up making the size 8 work and although it was slightly snug, it worked out okay. It's a very pretty dress and definitely something a little different. The length was great and the only thing I'd say is that the material was a little itchy on my arms. All in all I was pleased with it and it was a great dress for a holiday event. I would definitely rent it again!
Alice
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 9, 2014

Loved the sparkle!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Ordered the 4 & 6. The 4 felt a little bunchy at first, so I went to try on the 6 but discovered there was a big hole in the back of the dress near the zipper, so I went with the 4. It is definitely short, but it was only really noticeable to me when I sat down. I ordered mystery bling with the dress and got the Kenneth Jay Lane Anne Crystal Teardrops earrings which went fabulously with the dress.
Nina
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 9, 2014

Loved the dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wasn't really sure what size to get because I am still working on getting back my pre-baby body. I was usually a 4, so I got a 4 and a 6. When I first got the dress I did not think I the 6 would fit....It looked tiny! It was super tight when I tried it on and freaked out, but thought I'd give it a shot anyway (with the help of a pair of Spanx). As the night wore on (I wore this to a wedding), the dress loosened a bit and fit quite comfortably. The whole thing is sequins and I had no discomfort under my arms. I am about 5'4" and the dress was very short on me, so it might not be great for someone taller. I loved that I was able to wear a normal bra with it. I received a ton of compliments and wish I cold keep it!
Lindsey
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Dec 10, 2014

Perfect Dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved the dress. I have wider hips, so it was a little snug around the hips for me, but going up a size didn't help. The rest of the dress looked great and I got SOO many compliments on it! Also the sequins didn't rub against my arms or anything like that, so the dress was very comfortable. I kind of want to rent it again....
Danni
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Dec 12, 2014

Wore this amazing dress to my epic 30th birthday party. Got so many compliments and LOVED the dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
HIGHLY recommend this dress. I typically wear a size 4 and the website recommended that I go up a size for the back-up size; I'm SO glad I went down a size b/c the 4 was too long and frumpy. The 2 fit perfectly. The only reason I didn't rate it a 5 out of 5 is b/c I felt that the dress looked worn - a few frays here and there and some areas of stretching. It wasn't horribly noticeable - only if you looked closely, and at a big party, that went completely unnoticed. I LOVED my experience with Rent the Runway and I can't wait for my next event to rent my next dress - I will likely use Rent the Runway for ALL events that I need a dress for.
Danielle
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Dec 12, 2014

Great Dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Loved the dress. It was WAY more fitted than it looks on the model. If you want it to be loose I'd order a size up. It was also not as short as it was on the model (which was nice).
lindsaynf
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Dec 14, 2014

This dress was a show stopper!

Size worn: 12
Rented for: Formal Affair
Not as short as other reviews would have you think. Fit snug but very comfy!!
Taress
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 15, 2014

Great holiday dress - super flashy and flattering

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Despite the sequins, it wasn't scratchy or itchy at all when standing. It is definitely longer in real life than the picture on the model, which I really liked! This dress photographs exceptionally well and has a little bit of a green tint (but it's really black and gold). Loved it!
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 15, 2014

Very fun, sparkly dress!

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Party
Perfect for the Glitter & Gold party I attended! So glad I read other reviews before ordering. It does fit very small in the hips, so order a size up. It was still snug, but looked good as a form fitting dress. Compliments all night and looked great in photos!
Erin Rose
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 15, 2014

I never thought about what I was wearings - it was comfortable and classy. So perfect.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fit great and I received so many compliments. All of the reviews were true to the dress and the size I wanted fit perfectly.
Allie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 18, 2014

Beautiful dress and very flattering!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was worried about getting this dress because a lot of the reviews said it ran small and was too short, but I didn't have any issues at all - I thought it was beautiful and appropriate! I wore the 8 because it was a little looser, which I prefer; the 6 also fit, but I felt that it was too tight to wear to a wedding. I'd definitely recommend this dress.
Sarah
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 19, 2014

great dress that fit like a glove.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is a bit short.
Candice
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 20, 2014

Great colors & Comfortable

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
As always I received many compliments on this dress. I wore it for a Christmas party. The bad is the sequins scratched my arm & if I was any taller, it'd be really short. I couldn't raise my arms to high or I'd show off everything. Another con is that it is more form fitting than other shift dresses I wore, hence the 4 star rating. I'd definitely would rent again! It was comfortable for me to wear all night.
Ellen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 20, 2014

So sparkly!

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Party
Does not fit like a shift dress, but still cute!
Chinagirl
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Age: 29
Dec 20, 2014

Classy dress with a nice fit. Perfect for a work holiday party.

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Party
Size 6 was a lot shorter than the 8. The 8 fit snugly but gave a little after wearing the dress for a while. The sequins weren't too scratchy but some areas of the dress looked like they were missing.
Julia
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Dec 21, 2014

It fit me absolutely perfectly.

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Party
I put it on and could not believe the fit! It was perfect, like it was made for me. I probably would have preferred for it to be a little shorter, but since I'm so short, I should have known it would come right above the knee. I got so many compliments on this dress. I wore it to my engagement party around Christmas time, and it was absolutely perfect. This was my first RTR experience, but now I'm looking forward to using them again.
Jaime
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 23, 2014

I wore this for a Great Gatsby event. Very Flattering!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved the dress. It fit great. I found it true to size. It was a bit short but I have very long legs and I still pulled it off. I received compliments all night long. I would rent it again!
RTR Customer
Dec 24, 2014

I received compliments all night long!

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Party
Fit great! I didn't want to return it!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×