Slate & Willow

Madeline Sheath

$60 rental
$395 value
Delivery + Return Dates
Stylist Notes

Sweet and just a little sassy! This beautiful lace overlay dress by Slate & Willow is a go to style for all your cocktail party needs. Really make it shine with Whiting and Davis' Silver Lattice Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - open back provides minimal support in bust area
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn without a bra. We recommend fashion tape.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Silver Lace (63% nylon, 32% metallic) Cap sleeves. Crew neck. Open back. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 33.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share
1561 reviews
Fit
Large
(116)
True to Size
(1027)
Small
(95)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
April 20, 2017
I looked and felt amazing in this dress for my 29th birthday!
Pros: I have a BIG bust and I was worried about the open back and wearing a bra but the dress fit so well it actually held them up! Plus you know when you wear a tight dress and you have to keep pulling it down? Well you don't have to with this one. It's stays right where it should! Cons: the material from the dress bothered my underarms after a while.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 23
April 12, 2017
Everyone had very nice compliments on my dress which was great! Felt pretty and was able to dance :)
The dress felt a little bit large on the shoulders and back compared to the waist and hips - which is a little weird because relatively, I have larger shoulders than hips and waist, but still fit me pretty well! It was a great length, and comfortable to sit, dance in, etc. I really loved this dress and was even called elegant!
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
April 12, 2017
Great dress!
Loved this dress! Simple and sexy!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
April 7, 2017
Perfect bachelorette dress!
True to size for sure. My only complaint would maybe be the length. I'm short (5'1") and even I had to be careful while sitting down! Usually things that are short on other people are totally fine for me. The upside though is I wore it for my bachelorette party, so a little extra leg was no big deal!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
April 3, 2017
Feels super comfortable. I have a lot of complements.
Fit true size. I'm 5'4 (118pounds) and feels great.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
April 3, 2017
Loved For A Million Reasons, Sadly Would NOT Recommend
This dress is so beautiful, and the details in person can't be done justice by photos. It's both gold and silver blended to make a champagne shade with some shine, as there is a little bit of a metallic finish. You can do gold or silver jewelry and it's detailed and has some sparkle, but you can still add to it with accessories without it being too much. The back is very low and very open. I read other reviews where the renters needed double sided tape, but it was constructed really well, so it laid flush against my skin and didn't gap, even when I sat. My breasts are a full-C and you can't wear anything but a stick-on bra with this, which I was concerned about but wasn't an issue. It makes you very aware of your posture but in a great way - to keep the back looking its best you naturally push your shoulders back and stand tall. Truly, it unintentionally adds poise. It fabric was great, thick but not uncomfortable and stretchy. Perfect for a dress where you can't support your breasts the way you normally would. It held me in nicely and I could've worn the smaller size but for the length. I would NOT recommend this for a wedding or any event where you're dancing, walking, or standing and sitting a lot. It is extremely short, but isn't a problem when you're moving except that you have to be constantly aware of it. I spent the entire night pulling it down and fidgeting with it unfortunately. The absolute worst was sitting - I had to keep a dinner napkin over the hem because it rode up so high when you were seated. It was a bit itchy around the underarms but because of the scalloped lace trim but nothing I couldn't deal with.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
April 3, 2017
BEAUTIFUL dress for my 30th birthday bash!
This was an absolutely GORGEOUS dress! It fit perfectly and was incredibly flattering. (I'm 5'3" / petite / 34D.) I wore it to my 30th birthday party and got so many compliments on it the whole night! Highly recommend it -- and I'll probably order it again :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
April 3, 2017
Very comfortable. Show-stopping back of dress! Received tons of compliments.
Fits true to size. Unable to wear bra, but material is thick enough to hide. Would definitely rent this dress again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 115
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
March 31, 2017
Great color & shimmer for shimmying
Great dress! Pros: -Super fun pattern and different than the standard LBD -Sophisticated in the front but a party in the back -Options for black or nude shoes -Received many compliments Cons: -The back was a bit gappy as others reviewed but it still worked I didn't tape the back because why -I'm a short 5'4" and could see how this would be real short on someone taller
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Weight: 110lbs
March 27, 2017
Beautiful dress. Not too flashy and the open back is just right.
Very short
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
March 24, 2017
Great for a party!
Great dress for a party! Wore it to my engagement party and loved it. It did run a little big and felt a little loose up top, especially since you can't really wear a bra. Would have loved a smaller size but it was still a great rental!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 132lbs
March 23, 2017
I loved this dress! Great open back!
I love the shape of this dress, I wore it for my boyfriend's formal. I got the size 2 and 4: the 2 was a little shorter, but I have very narrow shoulders so the top of the size 4 wasn't staying on well so I went with the size 2. It was a great fit overall but I had to pull down the dress every now and then while dancing! I wore a stick on bra so that it appeared I even had boobs but it wasn't really necessary cause of the thick material!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Weight: 118lbs
March 22, 2017
Perfect party dress!
I loved this dress! It was perfect for a night out on the town :) The back was definitely my favorite part — it was super flattering and made me feel like a rockstar! It was a little short, but with black tights the whole look came together perfectly. I would definitely rent this dress again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
March 19, 2017
Perfect wedding guest attire!
I loved this dress. Very comfortable, true to size, and classy opened back. I wore this to a wedding in September. The wedding colors were champagne and I fit right in with the color of this dress- the pop of silver in it made it really stand out. Had many compliments and went really well with nude heels. Couldn't have been happier with this selection! (Didn't even have to wear a bra with the thick upper material in this).
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 14, 2017
Made my birthday celebration extra special
I absolutely loved this dress! I rented this dress to celebrate my birthday at a Winery. Being a mom, I rarely ever have moments to dress up so I really wanted to go all out and this dress really made me feel beautiful.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
March 8, 2017
This dress was a huge hit! I felt sexy but classy at the same time! I wore for my 30th bday!
I loved everything about this dress! Only thing I would recommend is the sticky patches for the back onf it so it stays close to your skin.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
March 7, 2017
So flattering
This dress is a little short, but I loved it! I wore the bigger size to help remedy this problem!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
March 6, 2017
10/10 would rent again.
I rented this for a fundraising event that I was working. Originally ordered a size 2, but went with the backup size 4 for a little more breathing room as I ran around throughout the night. The dress was incredibly comfortable, and I didn't experience any gaping with the back. No bra necessary = comfort +1
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
March 3, 2017
I loved everything about this dress and received compliments throughout the night!
It's a little tough to tell from the picture, but the details on the dress are silver.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Weight: 115lbs
March 2, 2017
Wedding rehearsal dress with some sass!
This was my first RTR dress. I decided to wear something that wasn't the traditional super white conservative dress for my own wedding rehearsal. I loved the champagne color over something that was white and the open back was sexy without being slutty. I did have to wear a sticky bra, and the back fabric didn't sit tight to my skin, but by no means was the dress falling off. I received many compliments on it! The fabric is a little stretchy and a little heavy in a good way.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
March 1, 2017
Gatsby Couples Shower
I loved this dress. I would say it is pretty true to size. I am a curvy girl so although the 8 fit great, the 10 gave a little more length to not be uncomfortable. Very comfortable and gorgeous.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 34
February 25, 2017
Stunning dress
I wore this for a Friday night cocktail ball for a work function! I ordered the 4 and got the 2 as a back up size. Thankfully I did because the 4 was was too large on my narrow upper frame and kept falling down. The 2 fit perfect and was very comfortable. It is on the shorter side even for a short person like myself but is so flattering. I got a ton of compliments, my husband loved it and it is now one of my favorite RTR dresses!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 23, 2017
SO cute but SO SHORT
Loved the dress...super flattering and beautiful. However this was SO short I couldn't wear it. (Even to a wedding in Atlantic City...which is saying a lot!!) I'm 5'6, 130lbs, 34D. I would've worn the 4 if it were longer. Fit great besides the length. Would be perfect on someone more petite!
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
February 12, 2017
Elegant and sexy dress!
This dress is fantastic! The material is somewhat stretchy and extremely comfortable. I wore the 6 because the fit is very short and the 4 was too short for my event. I received compliments all night.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 19
Weight: 142lbs
February 9, 2017
The dress was so unique and different then anything I've ever worn! It made the night special!
The dress was very true to size, the 4 and 6 fit very similarly, but I ended up wearing the 4 which is my normal size. Sometimes I felt like the back of the dress wasn't laying right but I think it was just because I'm not used to wearing something so open in the back. Overall it was a very nice fit and super flattering!!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 8, 2017
Beautiful dress
Super comfortable, a little on the short side and I'm 5'4". The silver overlay really stands out, very flattering even though it's fitted. I received complements all night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
February 6, 2017
Love the backless!
Beautiful dress. Lots of complements. I went with no bra, so the dress does flatten you up too a bit once it's on. Overall, very pretty dress.
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
February 6, 2017
Loved this dress! Was so comfortable and it fit like a glove! Perfect for my nieces Quinceanera!
Just so perfect!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
February 2, 2017
Sparkles All Night!!
This dress fit great! I have rented a few dresses and even though this wasn't my favorite, I received a ton of compliments. The dress is short but I liked the length. When I sat down for dinner it does ride up but other than that I was very happy with this rental!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
February 2, 2017
Fun party dress! The open back was a fun, unexpected detail.
I could have worn the smaller size but opted for the size four due to length - being a taller girl, the size 2 was just a bit too short for me. I wore the dress without a bra and felt totally fine the whole night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Age: 22
January 30, 2017
Champagne Life
Worn to my grad school fraternity formal. This dress is so beautiful on. I got compliments all night! It is form fitting but forgiving and really accentuates your curves. Use fashion tape for the back! Such a showstopper!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Age: 30
January 26, 2017
Gorgeous fit and fancy enough for a party!
I wore this dress for my wedding rehearsal dinner and I absolutely loved it. No bra needed. It has a low back which is sexy but not too much. The dress sparkled and fit perfectly. I would rent it again in a heart beat. I received so many compliments and you don't need to wear a bra!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
January 19, 2017
Great Holiday Party Dress!
I wore this to a Holiday Party and loved the glitz and glam of it. I used a sticky bra (love the cut out of the back) and paired it with black heels. Got many compliments on it. I would rent your usual size and for the back up size, I would go up.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
January 8, 2017
I didn't wear it
It was just way too short. I ordered the 6 and 8 and would've worn the 8 for extra length and a little more room in the skirt area, but the top part kept falling forward and was just kind of a mess on me. Didn't seem fun to wear if I wanted to dance and just feel comfortable all night. I would've been so worried about the top falling off my shoulders and the skirt riding up (and it didn't have far to go) and worrying about how I'm sitting just right. It is a beautiful dress - just not for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
January 5, 2017
SEXY!!!!! Short.
Very sexy, fits beautifully. Very flattering to those with toned lower body. Didn't wear because it was too short for occasion. But loved it and will rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 3, 2017
Great dress!
This was my backup dress in case the other was a fail. Turns out when I put this on, it looked more like a date to a wedding dress, than a new years eve dress, so I wore the other. Really cute though and flattering in the right areas. You'll definitely need pasties or something as the back is very low (probably one of the best things about this dress). I'd definitely rent it again for another occasion.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
January 1, 2017
I loved this dress!! Got so many compliments, and would have bought it if I could! 😊
I used Hollywood tape for the back, and did not wear a bra!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 1, 2017
So easy and cute!!
Dress runs short so went up a size to add length.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
December 26, 2016
Beautiful dress!
Great length on me which is hard to find for shorter people. If I slouched a little it would slightly fall off my shoulders so just made to stand up and sit up straight but that wasn't a big deal. Loved the way it fit, very flattering! And the fabric was very pretty in person. Would definitely recommend
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
December 20, 2016
Perfect for holiday party!
I wore this to a company holiday party and t worked great. The open back was a nice feature of the dress and it isn't too snug so I felt like I could breathe and walk around. The one thing to keep in mind is the dress is pretty short so be careful bending over!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 40

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×