Rent the Runway

Slate & Willow

Madeline Sheath

$60 rental
$395 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Sweet and just a little sassy! This beautiful lace overlay dress by Slate & Willow is a go to style for all your cocktail party needs. Really make it shine with Whiting and Davis' Silver Lattice Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - open back provides minimal support in bust area
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn without a bra. We recommend fashion tape.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - open back provides minimal support in bust area
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn without a bra. We recommend fashion tape.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Silver Lace (63% nylon, 32% metallic) Cap sleeves. Crew neck. Open back. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 33.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

1068 reviews

Fit
Small 70
True to Size 806
Large 94
Photos 878
Hollie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 10, 2014

Classy yet sexy dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I chose this dress for my elopement. I wanted something that was classy yet not overly formal. This dress perfectly suited the occasion. I made an art deco style headpiece to accompany my dress, as well as a pair of earrings from express. I adored this dress, and it was a great fit for the day. The dress fit well enough and was true to size. My only complaint was that it was VERY difficult to keep the back taped down which ruined quite a few of my photos that day. If you are too curvy, I wouldn't recommend this dress. I have hips, which would cause the dress to bunch up a bit more than I would like if I wasn't very careful with my movements. Otherwise, it was a fabulous dress and I loved it!
Madison
Age: 24
Apr 18, 2014

The perfect dress and no stress involved!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great fit and so comfortable.
Livia
Top Contributor
Age: 21
Aug 18, 2014

First and best rental!!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Nothing to complain, fit great and looked great. Absolutely loved it and got compliments all might. Use fashion tape for the back though!
Nicole
Age: 26
Apr 15, 2015

Glamorous and comfortable

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Party
Great dress overall, but if you're petite the back may be a little large. The sleeves of the dress kept falling down my shoulders. The dress itself is great quality, looks amazing in person and is super comfortable. The dress photographs really well, too. Great rental!
Jess
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 16, 2015

Perfect Summer's Eve wedding dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Sexy without being too slutty. For the girl that wants to feel chic and fun and show off her back. Compliments on compliments on compliments for this dress, from everyone. Like, seriously. A definite crowd pleaser.
Stasia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102 lbs
Apr 16, 2015

Sophisticated but modern, this dress was perfect!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Super comfortable! There was a little gaping around the back of the capsleeve/shoulder area, but it wasn't super noticeable. I definitely recommend this dress if you're looking for something comfortable, classy, and very flattering! I would recommend getting a couple of sizes to try, since it can be a little short.
Amber
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112 lbs
Apr 17, 2015

This was for my rehearsal dinner. It's a perfect bride to be dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I wore a 0 and this dress ran large on me, but it is very comfortable and was by no means too big to wear, but I would have preferred it to hug my curves a little bit more. I am 5'5" and it was longer on me than the model and most of the photos I saw online, but it was very classy!
Jordan
Age: 24
Apr 18, 2015

The flawless beauty of the back of the dress!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Other
I got this dress for my bachelorette party in South Beach. It was PERFECT! I felt gorgeous and all of my friends could not believe how well the dress fit me. I have absolutely no complaints. If you have a C cup or smaller I highly recommend not even bothering with any kind of backless bra. It was snug enough. The shoulders are the largest part of the dress but it wasn't a problem at all! Definitely will be renting again.
RTR Customer
Apr 19, 2015

Beautiful dress, perfect fit, my husband loved it, and so did everyone else! I felt beautiful!!

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was a perfect mixture of classy and sexy for a law-enforcement memorial charity dinner with my husband. I usually wear a size 2 and the size 2 I ordered fit me perfectly--not too tight and not too loose. Because of the backless nature of the dress, you'll either need a backless bra, or if you're comfortable enough the dress is well lined so you can go bra-less. The dress photographed beautifully, I got a ton of compliments, and I felt gorgeous in it! Also for the record, this was my first time using rent the runway and I'm officially hooked :-)
Katie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 19, 2015

GREAT dress.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Everyone (including myself) loved this dress. I loved the open back and the fabric was super comfortable. Its quite short, but not terrible!
Valerie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 20, 2015

Classy dress

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Other
Love the fit of this dress. The back was stunning. On the short side but loved it.
Nicki
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138 lbs
Apr 24, 2015

Stunning for Rehearsal Dinner!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for our rehearsal dinner and it was stunning! I got endless compliments, questions about where to get it etc.. AND I felt great in it! It's definitely shorter than I normally would wear but it bunched enough in the front that I didn't feel like it was too form fitting. I wish I could find similar dresses for every occasion that make me feel this good! VERY open back, so the right bra is key.
Ryanne
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 24, 2015

Amazing dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this for a rehearsal dinner and was worried about it being too close to white, but it's definitely not! It fits great and true to size. It was on the shorter side for me. Love the sleeves and the low back as well. So many compliments on this!
Ari
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 15
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 25, 2015

dress was beautiful!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Formal Affair
loved the fit and would suggest fashion tape for the back. I was a little bit anxious about it coming in on time but RTR didn't fail me. wore this to my prom. silver jewelry and accessories matches well!
Heather
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 25, 2015

Beautiful Dress

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a formal party. This was not my first choice but RTR customer service was excellent and overnighted this to me. Fits true to size and it's a tad bit short so ladies be careful bending over. Got lots of compliments would totally rent again.
Ashley
Age: 26
Apr 26, 2015

Bachelorette Party Dress

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Party
I absolutely loved this dress! Perfect for a bachelorette party. Sexy yet still classy. I would recommend getting your second size a size smaller since the back is open. The open back makes it so the dress needs to fit snugly on your shoulders. The dress is a thick fabric and is very flattering.
Aniella
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Apr 26, 2015

Perfect fit, lovely details!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I absolutely love the cap sleeves and low, square back on this dress-- it's very original while still delicate and subtle. I had no trouble, personally, with the sleeves slipping off or the back gapping, and I danced the swing in it happily! I will definitely be renting this again. (I was on the fence about buying a NuBra for this occasion-- some people may prefer to do that, as the color is light and it's not a super thick material. I felt fine in the end without one, though.)
Alicia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 26, 2015

Class and sparkle

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Party
Loved the open back of this dress and the sparkle of the fabric. I wore this for my bachelorette is Vegas and it was so comfortable! I would definitely rent again.
CB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 27, 2015

loved this dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Great fit - didn't wear a bra but wore petals and felt perfectly fine. I also wore spanks and it was long enough to cover them (except when i raised my hands - then you could see the spanks). Would definitely rent again.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Apr 28, 2015

Comfy and chic!!

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Party
This dress was perfect, from the fit to the material. I was comfortable all night. Easy to dance in and extremely complimenting. Only con is that a traditional bra is a definite no and if you have a larger bust like myself I would suggest something to help give them a lift, although I didn't wear anything that did so. This dress is an overall MUST for a sexy yet classic look that you can dress up or edge out!
Johnnie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127 lbs
Apr 28, 2015

Beautiful Dress!

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Other
Beautiful dress with an amazing back. The 4 was slightly large in the chest area so I went with the 2. The only con with the dress was that it was pretty short when I sat down.
Rong
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 17
Bust size: 34A
Apr 28, 2015

Impressed everyone!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Formal Affair
1. Fashion tape is a must for the back. 2. For pictures pull down the inner lining to prevent the appearance of wrinkles. 3. The color is a little darker/more grey than you might expect, but I looks gorgeous anyways. 4. I'd recommend nude heels with a delicate silver/gold bracelet. Makeup can be more natural and muted bc the dress itself receives a lot of a attention. 5. No need to wear a bra! I really liked this dress. I wore it to prom and this was a fun, yet still elegant alternative to the usual heavy gown. Don't hesitate to rent this one - you'll love it for sure! :)
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 114 lbs
Apr 28, 2015

Fun dancing dress

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved the open back on this dress. It was a tiny bit short but was still comfortable. The champagne color may not have been the best for my skin tone and hair color.
Dani
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
May 2, 2015

I wore this for my Bridal Shower and it fit perfectly!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I am 5'4" so the fit was perfect, just the right length! I am kind of hippy but it wasn't too tight! I loved it and got so many compliments!
Whit
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 119 lbs
May 3, 2015

I got so many compliments on this dress. It was beautiful and comfortable all at the same time.

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Wedding
Fit was true to size. I have a larger top and the dress was not too tight in the bust area.
Jennifer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
May 4, 2015

Shipment arrived early

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Other
Super short! I felt very uncomfortable in this dress because it was so short (yea, probably shouldn't have worn it). I have a small waist and large hips so fitted dresses are always a challenge for me. Won't rent this dress or any other fitted dresses agin. I did receive some compliments, but overall was not satisfied wearing this dress
Colleen
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
May 4, 2015

Loved this dress and got tons of compliments

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a wedding and I loved this dress and got tons of compliments on it. Many reviewers said that they could wear this dress without any support or a bra. I am not one of those people. If I had done so it would not have looked good and would have opened in the back and had extra fabric on the sides. I ended up fashioning a backless bra from a regular bra and some duck tap and it was great. The dress didn't gap or open with extra padding in the chest. I was super cute and I felt incredibly comfortable in it. I would definitely recommend this dress.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122 lbs
May 4, 2015

Love this dress!!

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for my friends rehearsal dinner, but at the last minute she switched her dress from white to something too similar. Because I did not want to match the bride, RTR sent me a new option (they are AWESOME). I am usually a 2, but the hips were tight, and the dress was short. I would have worn the 4, and it was fine up top with no bra. This dress is definitely on the list to rent the next time I have an opportunity!
Dion
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
May 6, 2015

Everyone loves this dress!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered the 4 and the 6 as a back up. The 4 fit perfect and the 6 was very large on top and around the waist. I could have taken the top half off with ease if needed. Haha. Everyone commented on how gorgeous the dress was and how much the loved it. The lining is tan and the the lace is silver - it's kinda hard to see the color in some of the photos. I would totally recommend this dress!
Emily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
May 9, 2015

Beautiful dress. Great fit!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Date
This dress was perfect. The thickness of the fabric was nice and the open back was unique. Loved the sparkly look in the sunshine.
Kim
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160 lbs
May 9, 2015

Backless = HOT!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is very pretty and it works well for those that have a bit of a pooch/apple shape. It's form fitting, but the material is somewhat stretchy so it's not constricting. It is very short (I'm 5'5") so you would need to be careful if you're going to be sitting most of the night - it works great for a Cocktail function where you'd be on your feet all night. Definitely one of my favorites from RTR!
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
May 11, 2015

Graduating with my Master's Degree

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Other
It was absolutely BEAUTIFUL! I have never felt so sure of myself or confident in one outfit. It fit prefect and wasn't to short. I received endless complements throughout the day and into the evening. By far my favorite RTR yet but definitely not my last!!
Jamie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
May 12, 2015

Wore this for my rehearsal dinner!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore the zero which is my usual size. I gave it four stars because I had to use some fashion tape to keep the shoulders from slipping off. It did the trick though and was perfect! Got so many compliments. Felt beautiful in it. I can't imagine dancing the night away in it, but it was perfect for a dinner.
LKH257
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
May 13, 2015

Stunning & Comfy

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress fit amazing and looked so great on. I got a million compliments. It was a little short, but showed off my legs well. I didn't wear a bra with it because of the open back, and it looked great still. It was very comfortable and looked great in person and in pictures.
christina
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117 lbs
May 13, 2015

Still getting compliments on this dress! Elegant in the front, fun in the back!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I'm sad to say I failed to get a picture of the back side of this dress, its open back and such a beautiful and fun dress! The front made it elegant enough for a wedding, but the back side made it more fun. The fit was great and the style worked for someone with some curves.
RTR Customer
May 17, 2015

It was a stunning dress. I loved the detail & elegance of it.

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was true to size. I actually think the 6 may have fit a little better. Because of the cut out back I couldn't wear a bra which for me was fine. I'm 5'3" with long legs so at times it felt a little short and had to adjust a lot if it were to ride up. I received a lot of compliments on this dress. I loved it.
Morgan
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
May 18, 2015

Love this dress! Received so many compliments throughout the night!! It is so beautiful!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Wedding
Fit was somewhat true to size, I usually wear size 2 to 4 so happy I ordered a 0 and 2 for this dress because the 0 fit much better!
Julie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
May 19, 2015

Great Fit & Details!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress for my rehearsal dinner and it was perfect! The dress fit very true to size and was comfortable to wear. I was a little concerned about the cut out in the back since I have a larger chest but the dress fit so well that I was perfectly fine with sticky cups. The lace on the dress was slightly worn but you could not tell when the dress was on.
Mary
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
May 20, 2015

Awesome dress for bachelorette party.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress! Perfect for my bachelorette and got so many compliments. I did use double sided tape for the back just to be safe and absolutely had to wear the 10 vs. the 8 for length I am 5'7 and the 8 was way too short, felt like I couldn't sit or dance without the dress riding up way too high. Other than that, awesome dress rental! Very comfortable and super cute.
AO
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
May 21, 2015

Very comfortable for a wedding with a lot of dancing.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
A little loose in the back, don't need a bra, could be tighter around the waist. Very comfortable and easy to dance in. Not too white to wear to a wedding.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×