Madeline Sheath

$60 rental
$395 value

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Sweet and just a little sassy! This beautiful lace overlay dress by Slate & Willow is a go to style for all your cocktail party needs. Really make it shine with Whiting and Davis' Silver Lattice Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - open back provides minimal support in bust area
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn without a bra. We recommend fashion tape.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - open back provides minimal support in bust area
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn without a bra. We recommend fashion tape.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Silver Lace (63% nylon, 32% metallic) Cap sleeves. Crew neck. Open back. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 33.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share
1457 reviews
Fit
Large111
True to Size987
Small88
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 32
August 24, 2016
Sexy, Sparkly and Fun!
True to size. I wore a size small with a nubra and it fit like a glove. LOTS of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 24, 2016
Lots of compliments!
I'm usually a size 0, but I went with the 2 because the 0 was uncomfortably short. The low, open back was my favorite part of the dress! My only complaint would be the quality of the fabric. Not that anyone else noticed, but there were a few snags and the lace trim looked worn.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 20
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137lbs
August 24, 2016
Perfect for an outdoor wedding
This dress was for an outdoor wedding on the water. I received multiple compliments. The color was really beautiful and fit great.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 28
August 23, 2016
Beautiful dress for wedding
My first RTR. Very pretty dress! I received a lot of compliments. I was in between size 0 and 2, but decided to go with the 0 because the 2 was slightly big on top. The 0 was form fitted at the bottom and when I danced it was a little short, but overall it was a great rental! I'd recommend it.
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
August 23, 2016
Perfect fit
This dress fit perfect and I had a ton of compliments. Downside was that I noticed a small hole in the front of the dress about an hour before I was leaving. No one could notice but I knew it was there and it made me a bit self conscious. I would highly recommend renting this dress still.
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
August 22, 2016
Beautiful and true to size! Wish I could have purchased this dress!
I loved, loved, loved this dress. Perfect fit and true to size. I'm on the petite size and often have a hard time finding dresses that fit right in length, hips and chest. The back of the dress is super sexy without being too scandalous. I received a ton of compliments. I would most definitely rent this dress again. Pros: True to size Beautiful Extra lining so no need for a slip Cons: Need dress tape Need backless bra Had signs of pulling and overall wear
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
August 20, 2016
For my anniversary dinner, I absolutely loved it
The fit was perfect, shorter than I thought , but it fitted like a glove .
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
August 14, 2016
GORGEOUS. If I could wear this every night I would. It was stunning, I got compliments all night.
Fits true to size. I would go a size up just in case.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
August 9, 2016
Very beautiful dress; a little bigger than I expected
a little baggy around my stomach
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
August 8, 2016
I wore it to a birthday party. Loved the dress, got many compliments that night!
I am 5'3 about 100 lbs. Usually wear size 0 in dresses. Overall I liked how the dress fit me. the only thing I was not able to wear a bra, but the dress is made with a very thick material so it was fine.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
August 6, 2016
Homecoming!
First rental and all around great dress. Sophisticated but very pretty and fun to dance in.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
August 4, 2016
Great dress for a wedding
The back was a little loose so you may need fashion tape. Great for petites because it runs short. I did realize that there was a little hole in the outer lace layer right before I left the house but it wasn't noticeable.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 24
August 1, 2016
it was fabulous !
still a tinny bit baggy but super cute!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Other
August 1, 2016
Gorgeous dress
Dress fit perfectly - beautiful open back. I wore this to my wedding rehearsal and received so many compliments
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
July 31, 2016
I felt so comfortable in this dress all night!
Fit was short, fitted and open back.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
July 30, 2016
Perfect bachelorette party dress!
Trying to find the perfect non-white bachelorette party dress, I fell in love when I came across this dress. The back was so much fun and my favorite part of the dress! Definitely need a nubra if you plan on wearing a bra. I used fashion tape to hold down the back of the dress. Other than that, the dress fit perfect and I received a ton of compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
July 27, 2016
Rented this dress last minute for a wedding. Runs true to size!
Great dress! Not too short, no problems with it shifting in the front despite being backless. It tended to ride up a little but not too much. If rent it again.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 117lbs
July 24, 2016
I received a lot of compliments on this dress. Perfect for a party!
I ordered the 2 and the 4. Since this is an open back, the 4 was too big in the back and the sides kept puckering. The material in the back on the size 2 dress laid a little bit better so I wore that one. I lucked out and did not need a bra with the 2, but I did use fashion tape around the back. It's a little bit short, so I wear flats with this dress. Loved it for my engagement party.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 155lbs
July 24, 2016
Compliments All Night Long!
Great dress for a summer wedding! As other reviews have said, the open back does bunch a little, but if that doesn't bother you no problem! I didn't need a bra and felt very comfortable all night!! Would rent again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 136lbs
July 21, 2016
Beautiful AND comfortable!
Fits perfectly. I wear a size 2 at Banana and JCrew, but this worked great at size 4. For as short as the dress looks in the product photo, I was surprisingly never worried about length during the event. So many compliments, would wear it again!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Date
July 21, 2016
Tons of compliments!!
I rented this dress for my birthday date night out with my husband to one of our favorite fine dining restaurants. I received a ton of compliments all night long from several women of varying ages!! Super classy… And comfortable too!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Age: 26
July 17, 2016
Favorite!!! Bachelorette party in Boston
LOVED this dress. I wore it for my bachelorette party in Boston. I felt classy and sexy at the same time. I was comfortable all night long. Because of the backless aspect, you cannot wear a normal bra. I chose to go braless as the dress is thick and I felt offered enough coverage.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
July 14, 2016
Red carpet and party hybrid dress
I truly loved this dress! I ordered it for the ESPYs so needed a dress that was formal yet sporty. The dress fit nicely around the chest but a little bit around the waist, but overall it was comfortable and received a ton of compliments
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
July 14, 2016
Rehearsal dinner stunner
This dress was great for our rehearsal dinner. The open back is a sexy surprise. The lining showed at the bottom so that was frustrating, material was thick enough that no bra was needed
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 11, 2016
Great 1st RTR experience
First of all, I was amazed and excited when I got the box with both of the dresses. I ordered a 4 and a 6, and didn't even try the 6. The dress runs true to size. I got many compliments on the dress. It was very comfortable and light. Now, let's talk about the open back... I love dresses with open backs and to be honest, this was one of the reasons why I picked this dress. Based on the dress review, I got the fashion tape and only had it on for less than an hour. The fabric kept sliding away and I felt uncomfortable being worried about the tape showing, so I decided to just remove them and enjoy my dress. Yes, the fabric opens a little bit but it's not a big deal. It's a beautiful dress, and I will use RTR for future events.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
July 6, 2016
Perfect for my Wedding Rehearsal!
I wore this dress for my wedding rehearsal and rehearsal dinner and it was a show stopper! I got a ton of compliment and felt like a million bucks in this dress. It is so easy to wear, I would definitely rent it again!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
July 4, 2016
Classy fun
5'2, 120 lbs, hourglass shape, 32C bra size Great dress. I wore size 2. I have a big butt so the 0 ended up getting caught at my hips. Beautiful dress. Ended at my mid-upper thigh. I did not feel the need to wear a bra.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 124lbs
June 28, 2016
Loved it!! Beautiful dress, got a lot of compliments.
I absolutely loved this dress! I am 5'0 ft and wore the size 2, could have definitely worn the size 4 but 2 was a little more form fitting. Length wise, it fit amazing, which is really difficult seeing as how short I am! Material is a bit thicker..I wore it for an outside summer wedding and was definitely hot in it. I would rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
June 28, 2016
Open back
The dress did not arrive in great condition. I was between sizes the 6 was a bit big and the 4 was tight. Love the open back
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
June 28, 2016
Loved this dress, perfect for a formal summer wedding. The open back really made the dress!
Glad I ordered 2 sizes. I'm 5'2 and the 0 fit like a glove, but the shoulders were frayed and showed the shoulder pads. The size 2 gave me a little bit more room, and shoulders weren't as bad.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
June 26, 2016
This gorgeous dress was really a stand-out at the June wedding I attended!
This dress was so beautiful! I ordered the 12 and 14. I ended up wearing the 14, even though the 12 actually fit better overall but was inappropriately short. The open back of the dress was super cute but on the 14 it was a little baggy when I leaned over or moved certain ways. I'm not sure if that was because I'm not very big in the breast area or because it had been worn multiple times. Anyway, it wasn't a deal breaker. The zipper was a little tough to zip up and I think that was due to it being worn a lot. Overall, I loved this dress! It was comfortable and I have never received so many compliments on a dress before! This was the first dress I've ever worn from RTR and I will definitively be ordering again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
June 26, 2016
So many compliments!
This dress was incredible. True to size. I am usually a 6 but also got an 8 based on the other reviews saying it was short. I stuck with the 6 and had no problems. I used some fashion tape to secure the dress to the tops of my shoulders so I wouldn't have to worry while I was getting my boogie on. It was mid thigh so it was slightly short of you want a more conservative piece this may not be it. I wore a sticky bra and felt secure! Would rent again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
June 24, 2016
Fit like a glove!
LOVED THIS DRESS. If you're even thinking about renting this dress, look no longer. The moment I put it on I felt like a million bucks. This was my first RTR experience and I will be absolutely be doing this again. The dress looked gorgeous on and did not feel as short as I had expected. There was some gentle wear and tear to the dress but nothing anyone else would notice. The back of the looked amazing. I didn't have much of an issue with the sleeves falling. It did ride up a bit when dancing though. No bra/support needed whatsoever, the material was thick enough to feel that everything was held in place.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 114lbs
June 20, 2016
Beautiful dress!
I had planned to wear this to my bachelorette party, but I had found another dress that was pure white that I decided to wear instead. I ordered a 2, the fit was great in the waist and hips (just about perfect) however I have very tiny shoulders. I was able to keep the shoulders on but they could easily slip off, nothing a little double sided tape wouldn't fix!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
June 18, 2016
This dress I rented for my Bachlerorette party last year around sept!
This is a beautiful dress-I received compliments on my dress all night! Pros-great fit for my body, gorgeous, sparkly!!!!, no need to dry clean after use! Cons-some itchiness when arms are down at your sides BUT barely noticed throughout night. Helpful hints: If your like me and always feel doubtful of your size, get the second FREE size. You really never know how ANYTHING fits until you try it on. I would recommend this to anyone I hear talking about needing a dress for any occasion. Great idea and you'll feel like a million bucks too!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 35
June 16, 2016
Sequins :)
Open back, short, form fitting
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
June 16, 2016
I ended up not wearing this dress for my event, which was a shame because I had such high hopes!
This dress is definitely ideal for someone who's proportionate top to bottom. I'm slightly smaller on top than bottom, and could have worn the 2 but it would have definitely required a Nu-bra and fashion tape. I don't think I could have gone down to a zero because it would have been too tight in the hips. I knew I was going to be dancing in this dress, and I was concerned that the open back would have been complicated to deal with while dancing. I opted to go with the alternate dress I'd selected from RTR. The other thing I'll note is that this dress is on it's last leg, the lace around the arms and skirt was pretty ragged. Kind of disappointing for a dress at that price point. But, if you're going to be standing relatively still, and you're propotionate, or even a bit bustier, this dress would be great. It's gorgeous and super fun.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
June 14, 2016
Fun dress
Fit great! A little on the short side. I'm 5'6" and the 8 fit great but a tad short. I just rolled with it. Got tons of compliments from strangers!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
June 14, 2016
Perfect for After Wedding festivities
I rented this dress for my wedding! It was the perfect "after wedding" dress! It made me feel so sophisticated but still glamorous too! All eyes were definitely on me! I loved the open back too! Very flattering!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
June 14, 2016
Classy Sexy Dress
I wore this dress to a black tie wedding in NYC. This picture does not do this dress justice. I received compliments all night! I got stopped in the street, I overheard people talking about the dress sitting at a restaurant outside, I got stopped in the bathroom and on and on....This dress is one hot little number but soo classy. I was slightly between sizes. I chose the 6 due to the (shorter) length. I could have gone with the 8 and been more comfortable but that's not the point :) No need to use a ton of accessories with this dress as it is a statement in itself. I paired the dress with a small gold bracelet, large (fake) diamond earings, light gold shoes and a light gold clutch. Fantastic! This was my first RTR experience and I am sold.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 37

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×