Slate & Willow

Madeline Sheath

$40 – $60 rental ?
$395 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Sweet and just a little sassy! This beautiful lace overlay dress by Slate & Willow is a go to style for all your cocktail party needs. Really make it shine with Whiting and Davis' Silver Lattice Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - open back provides minimal support in bust area
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn without a bra. We recommend fashion tape.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - open back provides minimal support in bust area
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn without a bra. We recommend fashion tape.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Silver Lace (63% nylon, 32% metallic) Cap sleeves. Crew neck. Open back. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 33.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

978 reviews

Fit
Small 63
True to Size 763
Large 90
Photos 813
Hollie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 10, 2014

Classy yet sexy dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I chose this dress for my elopement. I wanted something that was classy yet not overly formal. This dress perfectly suited the occasion. I made an art deco style headpiece to accompany my dress, as well as a pair of earrings from express. I adored this dress, and it was a great fit for the day. The dress fit well enough and was true to size. My only complaint was that it was VERY difficult to keep the back taped down which ruined quite a few of my photos that day. If you are too curvy, I wouldn't recommend this dress. I have hips, which would cause the dress to bunch up a bit more than I would like if I wasn't very careful with my movements. Otherwise, it was a fabulous dress and I loved it!
Megan214
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 18, 2014

This dress was stunning!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Overall, I loved the dress. The small details, the shoulders, the open back, and the fact that I didn't have to wear a bra was even better! In the model photo the dress looks like it is made of tough fabric or not stretchy. The fabric is very giving but holds in all the right places. I would recommend this dress to anyone who wants to feel fabulous!
Madison
Age: 24
Apr 18, 2014

The perfect dress and no stress involved!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great fit and so comfortable.
Livia
Top Contributor
Age: 21
Aug 18, 2014

First and best rental!!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Nothing to complain, fit great and looked great. Absolutely loved it and got compliments all might. Use fashion tape for the back though!
Kate
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 7, 2014

I got SO many compliments on this dress - I wish I could keep it!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is very well made. The fabric is thick enough to hide any lines and I didn't need to wear a bra with it. Either size would have worked but I was more comfortable in the 4 when I was sitting down. I'm 5'4'' and the length was perfect with 3'' heels.
RoRo
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 15, 2014

Perfect for my wedding shower!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Pros - the dress looks amazing in photos - it's backless/ went without a bra - it's formal yet sexy - comfortable to wear Cons - a tad short be careful when you bend over
Brooke
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 26, 2015

It was super convenient. And was easy to return! I loved this dress!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was very comfortable and the fabric is thick enough that you don't have to wear a bar if you are a small bra size. I really loved the details of the dress and I got compliments all night! I ordered a size two and four. The four ended up fitting better but was a little loose in some areas but it wasn't too noticeable! I would loved to rent another dress for and an upcoming wedding it was an awesome experience!
Mallory
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 2, 2015

The dress was so gorgeous, flattering and comfortable. Perfect fit.

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Party
The dress was extremely comfortable and wasn't too tight or short. The fabric was stretchy and was perfect for dancing. I was worried about the open back and thought I would need a sticky bra but since the fabric is so thick I was able to go without and it was very comfortable. My favourite dress that I've rented by far! I got compliments all night and felt great while I was wearing it!
Sonni
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Feb 2, 2015

Beautiful unique show stopping dress

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful dress! I received so many compliments for this dress! you can't wear a bra as the back is open, I tried fashion tape which worked well enough. Would absolutely recommend
addie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 16
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Feb 7, 2015

Beautiful dress, so many compliments!

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Party
The dress fit perfect and was very flattering. I wore it to a friend's sweet 16. I received numerous compliments on the dress.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122 lbs
Feb 8, 2015

Beautiful dress!!

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is absolutely beautiful. The open back was such a hit and I received compliments all night. Material was thick enough that I didn't need to wear a bra. Bottom half was a bit tight across my hips and showed some lines. Definitely need fashion tape to hold the back down. Overall, beautiful dress.
Kate
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 114
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Feb 13, 2015

Sparkle and Fit made my Engagement Party!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to my engagement party. Fit like a glove, true to size. I liked the dress in person better than online. It had enough sparkle without going overboard. It was more of a beige color and with a spray tan looked great. I wore a sticky bra because I wanted to be more secure and you couldn't tell with the dress. I got so many wonderful compliments on it! Definitely recommend!
LynnAnn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102 lbs
Feb 15, 2015

This dress is so pretty in person

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Party
This dress runs a little big but again I am petite so that's probably why. I loved this dress though and received tons of comments on it. I'm not fussy with the fit of clothes so the looseness of the back did not bother me but( from the picture you can see what I'm referring to ) if you like a tight fit definitely size down .
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 15, 2015

So many compliments!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Party
Beautiful lace. I felt super pretty in this all night. The 2 fit my figure a bit better but was way too short. I ended up wearing the 4 for the extra length. I didn't have any trouble with the back laying flat but I am a little bit more broad across the shoulders.
Kaylee
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 18, 2015

I loved this dress so much for my homecoming dance. I would highly recommend it.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered a 2 and a 4 but the 2 was a little big so I didn't even bother trying on the four. The back of the dress was very loose so I would recommend getting fashion tape and taping the entire back of the dress down. I had originally gotten nude shoes to go with it but it is definitely more silver than nude so I would suggest you get silver shoes.
Amanda
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Feb 18, 2015

Love it!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I love this dress! The open back is so sexy but the front is still conservative enough to work for a formal event (for me it was my husband who is a fireman's holiday party). I normally wear an 8 in dresses but this ran a tad short and I wanted to be able to dance in it. I wore the ten and the arms slipped down a little bit. No big deal though. Loved this dress!
dana
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112 lbs
Feb 19, 2015

The dress was a perfect fit! I loved the exposed back. Classy and sexy!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress was beautiful and I received a lot of compliments on it. I was worried about the length being long on me, but it was perfect. I loved the open back. It was a very classy dress, yet super sexy.
Amanda
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Feb 22, 2015

This was for my rehearsal dinner. Perfect fit for in the size 0! So tempted to steal this dress!!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Loved this dress! No complaints! I'd buy this in a heatbeat...wish I could! The size 0 was perfect for me. Didn't wear a bra, just really good pasties. First time from Rent the Runway, and I'm absolutely hooked!!!
Sophie
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103 lbs
Feb 22, 2015

Pretty dress with great low back, but runs LARGE!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
Got compliments for the low back, however as you can tell, the size 0 was too large for me and did not hug my body. In fact, it was like a roomy bag on my frame, and this picture was taken after a 5-course meal!! I usually wear size 00 or 0, but I really think this dress runs large.
Monica
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 23, 2015

I love this dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It fit me like a glove, the dress runs true to its size. I got some many compliments from people during the event at my college. The back of the dress is to die for. It was so comfy to wear that I didn't even need to wear a bra with it. I highly recommend this dress to anyone!
AO
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Feb 25, 2015

Perfect for My Rehearsal Dinner

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was the perfect choice for my rehearsal dinner. It was classy with the intricate design, and fun with the open back. I received many compliments and would definitely rent this again!
Danielle
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132 lbs
Feb 25, 2015

Awesome Dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
So I actually did not end up wearing this dress to my Charity Event (I wore a different RTR dress),but this dress was a close second choice. The dress itself is gorgeous. It fit me perfectly on the top (I have broad shoulders) so i did not have any issues with the back being too loose (as other reviewers commented). My only hesitation for this dress was that it was a little short and a little tight on my butt. Like i said, I would have still worn this dress, if I hadnt chosen a different RTR option. I would definitely consider renting this dress again (perhaps for a summer time event). My Charity event was in the middle of February... a bit cold for a short dress like this!
Monica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 100 lbs
Feb 25, 2015

The dress was beautiful, elegant and simple. I felt comfortable and fit right in.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was a bit lose for me in the back, not as fitted as I would like but I made it work.
Miranda
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 25, 2015

I felt comfortable and pretty in this dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Was very comfortable, minus being a little on the short side for me. Also, I did notice that the actual dress color is quite a bit darker than in the picture on the website.
RTR Customer
Feb 25, 2015

Great fit and look

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit perfectly. I wore a backless bra because I thought it looked better. You don't need one if you don't want to wear it. I got a lot of compliments on the dress (especially the back) and the RTR experience was really simple.
Katie
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165 lbs
Mar 1, 2015

Felt like a movie star!

Size worn: NONE
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was perfect! Got compliments all night long! Would definitely rent again and i'm sad to send it back ):
Katie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Mar 1, 2015

First time using RTR, and got so many compliments on the dress! Rented for an awards gala.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
After reading the reviews and seeing pictures online I really thought I could wear a 6...wasn't going to happen. This dress runs true to your regular size, if not smaller. I'm glad I ordered the size up, 8, and it ended up fitting perfectly. A lot of girls say not to wear a bra, but if you are curvy like me, a little something is needed. I wore a strapless/backless bra that was sticky on the sides- it works great if you don't want to go braless.
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Mar 1, 2015

Gorgeous!!

Size worn: 14
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress!! It was nice and thick so I didn't need a bra but a little short. I wore it for my birthday brunch and received compliments all day long.
Ashley
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 3, 2015

Absolutely BEAUTIFUL! Made me feel so special for my bridal shower!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Wore this dress for my bridal shower. Everyone could not get over how beautiful it looked. I got compliments even days after! The 0 fit perfect for me. I did receive the size 2 as a back up and the dresses were two completely different colors. The 0 was more of an ivory and the 2 was more of a champagne color so I was really happy that the 0 fit so perfectly. The only problem with the 0 was the zipper. My guess is that the dress is just getting over used the the zipper is getting over worked. I needed 4 hands to get it past the seam. Wish I could have kept this dress though!!
Emily
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 17
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 5, 2015

Absolutely perfect, was complimented all night!

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to a formal dance and it was perfect. I usually wear a 6 and that's the size I ended up wearing. Great length, not too short and very classy. The open back looked weird in some pictures but I didn't have great fashion tape, so I would be sure to get some of that! Hated sending it back, but I definitely recommend it.
Awanti
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Mar 7, 2015

Got many complements on this dress!! Great length and fit through the midsection and hips.

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Formal Affair
Only downside to this dress was the back. I was most excited about it but it did not stay down properly. I had to apply fashion tape and pins to help stay in place. Otherwise a great dress for many occasions and everyone loved it!!
Kathleen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 8, 2015

Glamous and Fun

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to my school's Gala. The dress fit great and I received many compliments. I felt glamorous and had a great time in it. I wish I could own it!
McCall
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 11, 2015

Great dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Got so many compliments on this dress. It does run very short, only con. The back is awesome. It's really prettier in person and adds just the right amount of glam!
RTR Customer
Mar 16, 2015

Awesome dress!

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved the dress and the fit. Wouldn't change anything about it. Great dress! It's fitted around the hips and thighs but not too tight. The lace and metallic design on the lace made it fancy enough, not too over the top.
Karina
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 23, 2015

Wore this dress for my bachelorette dinner and it was a hit!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Other
I definitely stood out as the bride to be :) Size 2 was fitted throughout but seemed a little constricting around the arm/chest area. I'm a 34D So I wore my backup size 4 for comfort up top.
Jamie
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Mar 25, 2015

I got asked about this dress all night at a friends wedding. Amazing fit! Gorgeous dress!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I usually wear a size 10, but the 12 fit better for the occasion. I am 5'8 and the 10 felt way to short, but the 12 fit great! The entire RTR process was easy and wonderful! I was so sad to send the dresses back.
Blakely
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 28, 2015

Perfect for semi-formal!

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress! It fit like a glove and was super comfortable! The fabric was sturdy and supportive, and the shiny top layer was just stunning. Got so many compliments! This was my first time using RTR and I will definitely be coming back!
Marissa
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Mar 29, 2015

It glimmered in the light and looked lovely, without taking attention from the bride.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I usually wear either an 8 or a 10 in dresses depending on style, cut and brand. For this occasion I ordered both sizes. The material of the dress is thick and kind of sweater like. It was good because I didn't have to wear a bra or anything underneath to hide any flaws. The silver detailing is way more evident in person than on the model, so though it is beige, the silver really shows up. When I tried the dresses on the 8 seemed a little tight and the 10 felt just right, so I decided to go with the 10, but as the night wore on the dress became stretched out and a somewhat baggy. This photo is closer to the end of the night, and you can see how loose it was. The open back was lovely, but I should have worn fashion tape to get the sides of the opening to stay snug on my back. I was originally going to wear this dress to the wedding ceremony and reception, but decided to wear it to the rehearsal dinner instead, since it was a little less formal than the other dress I bought. I would say that because I was seated for basically the entire night is what contributed to the stretching of the dress. However, I think all of the problems could have been solved had I gone with the 8 instead. I would consider ordering again, but definitely going with the smaller size.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 29, 2015

Perfect for my bachelorette party!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Party
It was a great color and the back was beautiful. My only complaint was that t was pretty loose up top and and ran large. I would rent this again and was great for my height.
DEVON
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Body type: Straight & narrow
Mar 30, 2015

I wore this to a charity event/fundraiser and it was perfect!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I normally wear a size 4 but after reading some of the other reviews I decided to also get the 2 for a backup and I am so glad I did! The 4 fit just fine but the 2 made it even more flattering. The fabric has enough stretch to it that you don't feel uncomfortable at all. I received SO many compliments at the event and after. I highly recommend this dress for a cocktail event or wedding! It was amazing!!!!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×