Slate & Willow

Madeline Sheath

$40 – $60 rental
$395 value
Stylist Notes

Sweet and just a little sassy! This beautiful lace overlay dress by Slate & Willow is a go to style for all your cocktail party needs. Really make it shine with Whiting and Davis' Silver Lattice Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - open back provides minimal support in bust area
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn without a bra. We recommend fashion tape.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Silver Lace (63% nylon, 32% metallic) Cap sleeves. Crew neck. Open back. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 33.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share
1604 reviews
Fit
Large
(117)
True to Size
(1046)
Small
(100)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
September 11, 2017
I wore this dress for my Bridal Shower
I rented a 4 and 6 just to be safe but, ended up wearing the 4. It fit perfect, was comfortable and I received a ton of compliments on it!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Age: 29
September 11, 2017
Wore this to my rehearsal dinner - received SO many compliments!
Fits true to size & is extremely well made. The silver in the material was very stunning in photos. Usually wear a 0 and the 0 fit true to size. At 5'4 the dress hit mid-thigh, not too short.
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Height: 4' 11"
September 9, 2017
:)
I am 4'11 108lb I ordered a 0 and 2 I wore the 0 it fit perfect which was a surprise to me because I am petit and very particular when it comes to dresses. This was my first purchase with RTR and I'm very pleased! I got a ton of compliments
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
September 6, 2017
Comfortable and classy
The dress fit well and was very comfortable with the extra layers.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
August 29, 2017
Dress Made for those Glam Moments
Wore this for my 25th birthday it worked out perfectly! I wore a size 0 (I'm usually in between a 0-2) and didn't need to have fashion tape. I thought the length was appropriate for a party and had no problem dancing. The material also didn't get stuck to anything as I worry about that with a more sequin overlay. The back was super sexy too. Would rent again I loved it as did the fans!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 22, 2017
Loved this dress. Received many compliments!
The fit was great. Based on other reviews I did not choose a backup size in this dress and was not disappointed. The sleeves were a tad frayed when I opened the bag, making the dress seem a little worn; however, once I put it on I didn't think about it again. I was afraid the dress might be too short, but I'm not very tall so it was perfect! Wore this to an awards show in Hollywood and felt very comfortable all night.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 26
August 9, 2017
Wore this for a bachelorette party
Fit great. Not too short.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 148lbs
August 5, 2017
I wore this for my bachelorette party and it was perfect. It was comfortable and beautiful!
I was worried it would be too short but it was short without being too short. It was pretty comfortable.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 1, 2017
Dress worked really well for a Gatsby themed party!
Overall it fit well but felt short on me. I could have gone with the 2 for length but it felt baggier in other areas so I stuck with the 0. The dress is very pretty, but can also make your shoulders a bit boxier (which I didn't need).
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
July 27, 2017
Rented for a friend for a Bachelorette party in Nashville
Fit well! Sparkly & Fun. It's a bit more silver than white.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 111lbs
July 16, 2017
Show stopper!
This dress was absolutely beautiful. The material was very comfortable and it was a nice fit. I got plenty of compliments all night! The only negative is that it rises up high so dancing was a little hard.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
July 16, 2017
Beautiful dress! Pops in pictures!
I wore this dress for my bridal shower and received so many compliments! It's the perfect mix of classy and sexy! I could've worn either the 0 or 2, but the sleeves were a little loose on the 2, so I went with the 0. Only issue is that the dress has obviously been previously rented a little too much, my mom noticed when I was walking into the party that there were a few tears in the lace material on the back and I was a little embarrassed to be wearing it with the noticeable holes in the lace.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
July 10, 2017
This dress was perfect for a wedding, elegant and classy!
The fit was tighter and shorter than I expected, but still accentuated my figure and curves. I have an athletic build which still worked with this style of dress. If I was any taller I think the dress may have been too short, so keep this in mind. I was able to go bra-less and feel totally secure. The slip did have a tendency to fall below the lace overlay. I would definitely recommend sizing up for the backup size. Be sure to inspect the lace for any tears. The first dress I received had a large hole in the lace, but RTR was fantastic about overnighting me a replacement in the same size! Overall, I will definitely be renting this dress again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 33
July 9, 2017
the backless dress
great fit
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
July 8, 2017
Compliments all night long.
Beautiful dress. Loved the cutout back. If you are small chested no need for a bra of any sort. The length is short and I am 5'2". It was a bit snug around my hips but I am pear shaped and I wasn't going to get low the on the dance floor because of it... But otherwise I would definitely rent again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
July 7, 2017
Beautiful!
This dress was beautiful and perfect for an evening summer wedding. Nude heels completed the look perfectly! I wasn't able to wear a bra because of the open back, but the front is lined so it wasn't a big deal.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
July 6, 2017
Beautiful color but...
This dress is a beautiful color and could be dressed up or down. It also fit very comfortably. However, it really accentuated my midsection and felt a little short (which says a lot considering I'm 5'4"). The fabric also felt a little used. Overall, not a bad pick but it fell a little short of what I expected.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Age: 26
July 5, 2017
It was a great dress for my bachelorette!
The dress was a little heavy to wear during the summer. The dress runs small, but it looked great!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Weight: 110lbs
July 5, 2017
Was perfect for a hot July wedding!
Was worried bc I have a small bust but the 0 fit perfectly and I felt very comfortable.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
July 5, 2017
Nice Dress. Would rent again!
Dress arrived on time. Worn to my work winter gala. Open back of the dress was sexy but not too revealing. Wore a stick on bra. Was a little on the short side even for my height but overall happy with my rental!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Age: 27
June 27, 2017
.
Fits true to size. Very comfortable! Loved it!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137lbs
June 26, 2017
Great idea, just not for me
I wore this dress to the symphony. It was a backup dress for another occasion and, though I didnt love it, I figured Id wear it out anyway. The torso on the dress didnt quite land right on me--I am very small chested, very thin waist, and not a lot of hips, with super long legs so I think this would be better on a curvier shape. I did love the back of it, and for an atheltic woman with some hips I think it would be great. I also might have needed the 0, but it wasnt available when I ordered. It was cute, and the color is really pretty--definitely a great summer wedding choice. The dress did ride up A LOT when I sat down--went from mid-thigh to indecent a little quickly for me. Overall, a cute dress and very comfy, just not quite the right shape for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 24, 2017
Fun and flirty
This dress was great for a bachelorette weekend. It was a comfortable length that was classy but flirty. It photographs really well.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
June 20, 2017
I wore this dress to my boyfriend's 30th birthday
The fit is incredible!! Extremely comfortable to wear. It's a stunner.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
June 19, 2017
Love this dress!
This dress was just what I was looking for. I had a huge birthday celebration for my 25th out and it was a hit. The open back was perfect. With larger boobs, I am always nervous having a backless dress but true to the reviews, you are totally fine without one. The dress was comfy and fit very well! The edged of the dress were a little frayed but only if you looked closely would you notice. I would highly recommend this dress for a 'Wow' response! Super cute!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
June 14, 2017
Loved the color, the contrast of nude and sparkle gave this dress just the right amount of "jazz!"
I wore this dress for a fundraiser (and then a night on the town), it was a perfect for both! The back of this dress is stunning, and I felt sexy but appropriate. I could have gone another size down. There was a little of extra space in the bust (even with an adhesive bra), and it fit well through the hips. I was also initially concerned it would be too long because I'm so short, but it actually hit inches above the knee. I did have to secure the straps inside with small safety pins, an easy fix for a minor problem.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 11, 2017
Perfect for my wedding shower
Loved the cut and style. Would rent again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Weight: 125lbs
June 6, 2017
Perfect dress for my rehearsal dinner
The dress runs pretty true to size. I ordered the size up based on the reviews, but it was too big in the back and bust. It is a little short, but not enough for me to not wear it. Overall great dress and perfect for numerous occasions.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 6, 2017
Did not wear. Dress looks great but fit was too short and fitted for my formal event.
The fit was "fun" but I need a more formal look. Great wedding guest or party dress.
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
June 2, 2017
This was an awesome dress!
Loved every minute of wearing it! It's a little on the shorter side since I'm 5'7. That's why I went with the 6 and not the 4, but I would rent again!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 131lbs
May 22, 2017
Awesome customer service. Received the dress the day it was promised!
Received a lot of compliments on this dress! I loved the fit of this dress. I gave 4 stars bc the dress seemed a little worn but still gorgeous!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 33
May 19, 2017
I was a hot mommy!
The fit was perfect and like what many others said before me, there is no need for bra. It was a bit short, so I had to pay extra attention to the dress when I had to bend over to pick things up. The fabric looks a bit worn out. But overall, I loved the dress and the fitting.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Age: 38
May 15, 2017
Perfect dress for a work Holiday party, fun and sparkly!
As some others mentioned it does run short so be mindful of that and I'm only 5'2".
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Body type: Apple
Weight: 122lbs
May 14, 2017
I got so many compliments
Fit was perfect. It was great to dance in.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
May 5, 2017
This dress looked beautiful for my company holiday party!
This dress showed enough leg to get attention, but wasn't short enough on my frame to be scandalous. The thicker fabric of the dress was great because it didn't show all of those little problem areas. I would rethink this for a company event if I did it over again. It was a Christmas party and everyone side hugged me to say Merry Christmas and it was instantly more intimate because they were touching my bare back. Was beautiful, but would probably wear this to some sort of wedding festivities instead.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
May 2, 2017
Bachelorette Party Dress
I wore for this for my bachelorette party in Savannah, GA. The color and design were perfect for the occasion. I do wish I had gotten the next size up, though. I usually don't like dresses that are fitted on the bottom as I have athletic thighs/booty, but I figured for my Bachelorette party I wanted to be a little less conservative! But I ended up pulling down on the skirt all night, and the lace overlay would ride up above the lining. I originally used sticky tape as other reviewers suggested for the back, but ended up pulling it off to be more comfortable - I don't think it looked bad to have the back gap a little bit. Beautiful dress, just not the most flattering/comfortable fit for my body type.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Weight: 100lbs
May 1, 2017
It was perfect for a formal cocktail event.
I really liked this dress. I had to size up because there was a flaw on the 0, but it still worked and I ended up preferring the length of the 2. I had to use some double sided fashion tape for the back, but it worked perfectly and stayed all night.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32DD
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
April 28, 2017
Loved the open back! Received lots of compliments!
Please excuse my post-shower pictures! I absolutely loved this dress! The color was beautiful and it fit really well. The edges did seem to be a little rough and I could tell it had been worn a time or two, but I don't think it was noticeable to the naked eye. I only say that it runs large because of the gaping I experienced in the back. I know this is a relatively easy fix with some tape, but I didn't have any on me when it really started to bug me. I'm short (5'), so I felt as though the dress was a perfect length and definitely not too short! Overall, I loved it and it was perfect for the event!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
April 27, 2017
Classy + Sexy Win Win!
Very pretty dress! I was torn between the size 2 and 4. I normally wear a 0-2 but ended up going with the 4 only because it was more comfortable and appropriate for my husbands work function. I remember the coloring was also slightly different between the 2 sizes, but nothing crazy. I received many compliments and felt sexy but also classy. The dress is on the shorter side and I am medium height. It also had trouble staying against my skin in the back; sticky tape is a must! Overall satisfied.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112lbs
April 26, 2017
Too Short
The fit was pretty good and the open back was beautiful, but be prepared this dress is very short! I'm 5'5. Also it's more brown than it appears in the photo.
See more reviews:
1 / 41

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×