Madeline Sheath

$60 rental
$395 value

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Sweet and just a little sassy! This beautiful lace overlay dress by Slate & Willow is a go to style for all your cocktail party needs. Really make it shine with Whiting and Davis' Silver Lattice Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - open back provides minimal support in bust area
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn without a bra. We recommend fashion tape.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - open back provides minimal support in bust area
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn without a bra. We recommend fashion tape.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Silver Lace (63% nylon, 32% metallic) Cap sleeves. Crew neck. Open back. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 33.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share
1407 reviews
Fit
Large109
True to Size966
Small88
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 20
May 28, 2016
The color, fit and back made this dress so much fun to wear!
LOVED this dress. Was worried about how the 0 would fit since I have a larger bust size, however the slip fabric of the dress was very forgiving so I fit nicely. No issues with the back puckering like others had. Overall I had a great time in this dress and it was perfect for the special occasion .
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
May 26, 2016
Such a fun, flirty, and classy dress!! Your heart will explode over this little number!! <3
This dress was perfect for my after party, the night of my Bellagio, Vegas wedding! It showed a lot of leg...so fun!! Heads-up, it fits a little snug in the shoulders, but it's not restricting. I absolutely LOVED the back! I'm sorry I don't have a photo of the back...but trust me, it's HOT! This dress is a game-changer for sure. I am going to rent this again in July for our summer lake reception in Montana!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
May 26, 2016
Stunning dress!
This was my favorite dress I have ever worn. It fits true to size, not too tight, but I would order a size up just in case. Received so many compliments and I was told I had the best dress at the wedding. It works really well with silver shoes and accessories.
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
May 24, 2016
Awesome dress!!
Fit amaZing.. Felt pretty and got a lot of compliments :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
May 23, 2016
Super comfortable to wear and received a ton of compliments!
This dress was amazing - glitzy without being over the top....received a ton of compliments all night. Definitely ran true to size.....and the fabric was thick enough that I was not uncomfortable going braless on a cold night and it was fairly forgiving. It killed me to send it back and I would definitely rent again! Note - I'm petite but if I were a few inches taller, this dress would be uncomfortably short. I found myself tugging on it when I sat down.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
May 22, 2016
It's a head turner!
Very cute dress. I have worn this one before and it's always a hit and I receive lots of compliments. It's very, very short, but the high neckline offsets the length so it still feels classy and sophisticated. Both the 6 and 8 fit, but I wore the 8 for a little more comfort with the length (it was still short), which made it a little looser on top. I'm a curvy 6, so the i felt more appropriate in the 8. Will continue to rent this one - it's a tried and true stand by.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 22, 2016
The dress had really nice fabric and was a statement piece.
I wore the size 6 for the wedding I was attending. Unfortunately, the size 6 had an issue with the zipper and barley was able to zip it all the way up. I received a lot of compliments though it was fairly short, especially when you add 3" heels.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
May 22, 2016
Beautiful, crowd pleasing dress!
The mullet of dresses in the best way possible! Beautiful from the front and party in the back! I wear between a 2 and 4 and the 4 fit like a glove. The 2 was a little snug and short even on my petite frame so I went with the 4. Received many compliments from strangers on the street, felt beautiful all night long!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
May 21, 2016
Great fitting dress
I wore this for Valentine's Day date. Boyfriend loved the fit and back of the dress. Might feel short but does not look like it. The open back made me feel sexy and classy. The size 2 felt tight but the 0 fit perfectly? Weird but I wore the 0
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 18, 2016
Loved the dress!
It was super beautiful and I received many compliments in it. The only thing I wasn't prepared for was what type of bra to wear with it. Be prepared!
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
May 17, 2016
Love love love I felt so amazing in this dress!
I rented this for my bachelorette party and absolutely loved it!!! I wore the 8 only because I wanted to be able to dance and not worry about my booty showing! First pretty true to size. I received so many compliments on this I wish I could have bought this dress!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 17, 2016
This dress made me feel beautiful!
I wore this dress for one of the nights out during my batchelorette weekend in NYC. It has a great "Sex in the City" vibe, and I received many compliments! The material of the dress is thicker so I didn't even need to wear a bra with it. I was skeptical that the shoulders would bother me, but everything stayed in place perfectly. I would definitely recommend this dress to anybody looking to make a sophisticated, classy statement at a party!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
May 15, 2016
Anniversary date night
This dress was very cute. My husband and I went out to dinner for our wedding anniversary. I liked this dress a lot
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
May 12, 2016
Loved everything about this dress!
I wore this dress to an evening wedding on the eve of my 39th bday. Before I received it, I was a little worried it would be too short or showy for a wedding but it ended up being perfect. I've never received so many compliments on anything I've warn before. It made me feel like a million bucks. I debated between the size 2 and 4. Both fit but the 2 gathered kind of weirdly around my upper thighs and I kept having to pull it down. I'm so glad I decided to wear the 4. It was much more comfortable. I'm 5'4", 129 lbs and usually wear a 27 in jeans.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
May 11, 2016
Fun & Flirty!
I wore this for my Bachelorette in Las Vegas and LOVED IT. The open back is the best part about this dress. I went braless but I don't have much to work with so I had no problems. It is definitely short, i'm 5'5" so if you are on the taller side be aware of that. It is not white, as i've noticed other reviewers mentioning that. It is definitely more of a taupe with silver beading. Love, love, love. Would definitely recommend this dress!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 11, 2016
Great wedding dress
Wore this dress for a wedding and it was a huge hit! Got a lot of compliments. The open back makes it unique. A little too short for me. When I was dancing and sitting down I felt that I had to keep pulling the dress down. Really loved the dress and definitely recommend!
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
May 8, 2016
I loved this dress! I have a long torso so the dress was a tad short on me but I still loved it
The fit was true to size
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
May 8, 2016
Classic dress. Elegant and lovely open back.
I wore this dress for a wedding. Received several compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
May 2, 2016
love this rental! Perfect for my bridal shower
beautiful fit. Loved the scalloped edging. The top was a little lose, but luckily I have broader shoulders to keep the shoulders up. So many compliments on the open back!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
April 29, 2016
Great dress.!
I wore this dress to a wedding. It's cream/ tan enough that it doesn't look white. I am 5'8" and it was right on the line for being almost too short. So many compliments.
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Other
April 28, 2016
.
Wore this for my engagement photo session. Loved it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 28, 2016
I ended up actually going with another RTR dress, however this one was true to size and fit well.
fit was true to size, felt comfortable, material was a little heavy but thats actually a good thing for weddings or nights that are a little chilly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 136lbs
April 26, 2016
LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS DRESS
I absolutely love this dress! It was perfect for my rehearsal dinner. I went with something complete opposite of my wedding dress, short and high neck. Exactly what I wanted. The back does move around a bit but that didn't really bother me much. I am 5,2 and it was short but I loved it. Fit perfectly. I probably could have gone down a size but the 6 worked perfect. Everyone loved the dress, reviewed lots of compliments. Highly recommend this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 17
April 21, 2016
Wore this to my junior prom and it was perfect!! I received so many compliments and felt great!
Fit awesome. I am 5'2 115 pounds and I wore a size 0. Being short, I was worried it would be too long. That was not the case at all. It did scrunch up a bit when I walked up stairs ect. It was so different than all other dresses, and the back made it even better! Extremely happy with this rent. It was my first time ever but now will for sure be coming back!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 19, 2016
Wow! You WILL be complimented all night...but be careful on the dance floor!
This dress was fantastic! Pros - totally different than any of the other dresses at the event - thick material means going braless is no problem even with a chill in the air - super easy to accessorize - that back! Cons -a little on the short side
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 124lbs
April 17, 2016
Received so much compliment at my bridal shower!
This dress fits so nicely on my body type (straight) It has 2 lining under the lace fabric so no panty line will show here and I didn't need to wear bra either. It didn't feel hot or itchy at all. The only thing is you need a lot of double sided tape to keep the back and sleeves from gapping. Also you can tell it's been used many time because the fringes are worn out but then it isn't that obvious. Still a beautiful dress! #bridalshower
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
April 17, 2016
Such a pretty dress! Perfect for an outdoor wedding!
The fit was great. It was three layers so I probably wouldn't wear it if it's above 80 degrees. The open back does bunch a little in the back but nothing that looked awful. Got so many compliments all night!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Age: 26
April 16, 2016
It was a great night - but would have been better if I'd been able to wear this dress.
I didn't end up wearing this because the size 4 was too large in the waist and gaped in the back - I had to wear a dress of my own. Upsetting as a first experience with Rent the Runway. The dress is very pretty, but I don't think the fitting information is accurate. Do NOT size up. Size down if anything.
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
April 14, 2016
The package being derived to my home with an enclosed return envelope made the process seamless
Dress was a hit, a bit apprehensive that it may be too va va voom, which it was, in a tasteful way. A bit loose up top and fitted at the waist. Would order again a size down. Also very forgiving fabric, travels easy. Felt like a bombshell!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 12, 2016
Great Bachelorette Dress!
This dress is amazing! I only gave it 4 stars because you can tell it has been well loved. I usually wear a 4, but was easily able to fit into the 2. I chose to squeeze into the 2 because it had less signs of wear and tear. There was also less gaping in the back in the 2.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 12, 2016
My first RTR experience was fantastic! Have already made my next reservation!
I ordered both the size 2 and size 4 after reading the reviews about some of the gaping in the back. I went with the 2 because near the butt there was some extra material that gaped, but the size 2 worked great, although a tad shorter and a little more snug at the shoulders. But, this dress has some stretch to it, so it worked out great. I received a ton of compliments. It photographed beautifully and was truly a statement dress. Didn't need a bra with it, and although it was backless it did not feel too skimpy at a cocktail party.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
April 10, 2016
Loved it!
I am 5'10 with an athletic build. A lot of reviews said this dress was too short which made me hesitate about renting it. However, I have longer legs with a shorter torso so I gave it a try. I'm so glad I did, this dress was short but not inappropriate or uncomfortable for me. I had a lot of compliments and I felt beautiful while wearing the dress. If I did not take so many pictures in this dress I would wear it again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 9, 2016
Everyone complemented how stunning this dress was. It fit perfectly. The back was amazing
Had to wear a sticky bra since it is backless. I'm a c so sometimes that's difficult but this dress fit tight so it held the bra in place.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
April 5, 2016
Another spot-on stylist recommendation!
I rented this dress after it was recommended to me by an RTR stylist and she did an amazing job picking it. It was perfect for my getaway dress after my wedding and the open back was just beautiful. It fits true to size and the 0 was just a tiny bit tight on me since I usually wear a 2. Beautiful dress!!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Age: 27
April 4, 2016
Stood out in a sea of black dresses
I usually wear a 6 but I went with the 8 just length wise. I used fashion tape to hold the open back down and it worked perfect! I felt so great in this dress and it was great to dance in!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
March 30, 2016
Very cute, but short
This dress was really pretty in person. I bought a few and my boyfriend liked this one the best so I wore it out to dinner in Vegas. It looked great, but it was really short. No bending over in this one!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 27, 2016
Classy yet Sassy
I rented this for my wedding rehearsal. I'm 5'3" and 125lbs and a C cup. Generally my top is a size 2 and bottom runs between size 2 and 4. The size 2 fit perfect! Got so many compliments on this dress. Was looking for something classy enough to wear with family but sassy enough to party with after the rehearsal with my close friends. Could not have picked a better dress! Loved the back!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 17
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
March 26, 2016
Dress looked great in pics and was super comfortable!!!
It fit perfectly, not too tight or too loose. Even with my somewhat large chest I didn't have to wear a bra because of the thick fabric. Great first RTR experience!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 109lbs
March 22, 2016
Everyone was obsessed with this dress! I didn't want to give it back!
It fit perfectly, everything about it was perfect. I definitely will rent it again. The only advice I can give is make sure you return it with UPS only, never go through the post office even if they say it is a drop off location, I had a horrible time locating the dress and it ended up being shipped back to me. $$$ late charges are expensive. Rent the runway was great helping me through it though & very understanding. Overall- amazing dress, great company & I will definitely be using again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
March 18, 2016
Gorgeous dress but not the greatest fit
the dress is pretty, classy, and unique. however, the open back does not fit as well as it could on people with smaller busts and kept gaping open. not big deal, just use some fashion tape. it also hikes up quite a bit so be careful
See more reviews:
1 / 36

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×