Slate & Willow

Madeline Sheath

$60 rental
$395 value
Stylist Notes

Sweet and just a little sassy! This beautiful lace overlay dress by Slate & Willow is a go to style for all your cocktail party needs. Really make it shine with Whiting and Davis' Silver Lattice Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - open back provides minimal support in bust area
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn without a bra. We recommend fashion tape.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Silver Lace (63% nylon, 32% metallic) Cap sleeves. Crew neck. Open back. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 33.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share
1642 reviews
Fit
Large
(121)
True to Size
(1066)
Small
(101)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
May 8, 2016
Classic dress. Elegant and lovely open back.

I wore this dress for a wedding. Received several compliments.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
May 8, 2016
I loved this dress! I have a long torso so the dress was a tad short on me but I still loved it

The fit was true to size

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
May 12, 2016
Loved everything about this dress!

I wore this dress to an evening wedding on the eve of my 39th bday. Before I received it, I was a little worried it would be too short or showy for a wedding but it ended up being perfect. I've never received so many compliments on anything I've warn before. It made me feel like a million bucks. I debated between the size 2 and 4. Both fit but the 2 gathered kind of weirdly around my upper thighs and I kept having to pull it down. I'm so glad I decided to wear the 4. It was much more comfortable. I'm 5'4", 129 lbs and usually wear a 27 in jeans.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34F
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
May 15, 2016
Anniversary date night

This dress was very cute. My husband and I went out to dinner for our wedding anniversary. I liked this dress a lot

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
May 17, 2016
Love love love I felt so amazing in this dress!

I rented this for my bachelorette party and absolutely loved it!!! I wore the 8 only because I wanted to be able to dance and not worry about my booty showing! First pretty true to size. I received so many compliments on this I wish I could have bought this dress!!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
May 21, 2016
Great fitting dress

I wore this for Valentine's Day date. Boyfriend loved the fit and back of the dress. Might feel short but does not look like it. The open back made me feel sexy and classy. The size 2 felt tight but the 0 fit perfectly? Weird but I wore the 0

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
May 22, 2016
Beautiful, crowd pleasing dress!

The mullet of dresses in the best way possible! Beautiful from the front and party in the back! I wear between a 2 and 4 and the 4 fit like a glove. The 2 was a little snug and short even on my petite frame so I went with the 4. Received many compliments from strangers on the street, felt beautiful all night long!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
May 22, 2016
It's a head turner!

Very cute dress. I have worn this one before and it's always a hit and I receive lots of compliments. It's very, very short, but the high neckline offsets the length so it still feels classy and sophisticated. Both the 6 and 8 fit, but I wore the 8 for a little more comfort with the length (it was still short), which made it a little looser on top. I'm a curvy 6, so the i felt more appropriate in the 8. Will continue to rent this one - it's a tried and true stand by.

Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
May 24, 2016
Awesome dress!!

Fit amaZing.. Felt pretty and got a lot of compliments :)

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 31, 2016
Hot little classy number

Like other reviews mentioned, it can ride up a little and the shoulders aren't super secure so they slip a little bit nothing that bothered me all night. It was comfortable to dance in and I did a lot of dancing that night. I am nearly 5'4 so it didn't fall short on me at all. Tons of compliments. Wore a soft gold heel, worked well. Not sure how this does in the heat since the wedding was in Savannah, Ga but it rained so it was a cooler temp. I would recommend this dress and would wear again

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 31, 2016
Wedding Shower Bliss

Wore this for my wedding shower at a chic champagne bar. I got SO many compliments and it made me feel so special on such a wonderful day. Wish I owned this!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
June 5, 2016
Hot little number!

This is a super-flattering, fun, sexy dress. BUT it is REALLY short. I am 5'6" and literally did not have an inch to spare. If you're any taller, you won't be able to sit or lift your arms. Other than that, it runs absolutely true to size. The material is thick, so no sticky bra needed, and the lace is excellent quality. It was a really fun look for a wedding and it got compliments all night.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
June 6, 2016
Dress was stunning

Wore this to am engagement party.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
June 10, 2016
Love the style of this dress

Had some problems with the sleeves/back staying put. Should have used tape or something to help keep it in place. Love love love the open back.

Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
June 11, 2016
It was perfect for a spring/summer wedding!

I went a size down because of the open back, the size 2 was too big in the back.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
June 12, 2016
1st RTR rental

The dress was great! I got to experience, first hand, the compliments all the other RTR customers described. I felt comfortable, pretty, and confident! Will definitely rent again :-)

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
June 14, 2016
Perfect for After Wedding festivities

I rented this dress for my wedding! It was the perfect "after wedding" dress! It made me feel so sophisticated but still glamorous too! All eyes were definitely on me! I loved the open back too! Very flattering!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 14, 2016
Fun dress

Fit great! A little on the short side. I'm 5'6" and the 8 fit great but a tad short. I just rolled with it. Got tons of compliments from strangers!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Age: 36
June 16, 2016
Sequins :)

Open back, short, form fitting

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
June 24, 2016
Fit like a glove!

LOVED THIS DRESS. If you're even thinking about renting this dress, look no longer. The moment I put it on I felt like a million bucks. This was my first RTR experience and I will be absolutely be doing this again. The dress looked gorgeous on and did not feel as short as I had expected. There was some gentle wear and tear to the dress but nothing anyone else would notice. The back of the looked amazing. I didn't have much of an issue with the sleeves falling. It did ride up a bit when dancing though. No bra/support needed whatsoever, the material was thick enough to feel that everything was held in place.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 26, 2016
So many compliments!

This dress was incredible. True to size. I am usually a 6 but also got an 8 based on the other reviews saying it was short. I stuck with the 6 and had no problems. I used some fashion tape to secure the dress to the tops of my shoulders so I wouldn't have to worry while I was getting my boogie on. It was mid thigh so it was slightly short of you want a more conservative piece this may not be it. I wore a sticky bra and felt secure! Would rent again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
June 28, 2016
Open back

The dress did not arrive in great condition. I was between sizes the 6 was a bit big and the 4 was tight. Love the open back

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 11, 2016
Great 1st RTR experience

First of all, I was amazed and excited when I got the box with both of the dresses. I ordered a 4 and a 6, and didn't even try the 6. The dress runs true to size. I got many compliments on the dress. It was very comfortable and light. Now, let's talk about the open back... I love dresses with open backs and to be honest, this was one of the reasons why I picked this dress. Based on the dress review, I got the fashion tape and only had it on for less than an hour. The fabric kept sliding away and I felt uncomfortable being worried about the tape showing, so I decided to just remove them and enjoy my dress. Yes, the fabric opens a little bit but it's not a big deal. It's a beautiful dress, and I will use RTR for future events.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
July 14, 2016
Rehearsal dinner stunner

This dress was great for our rehearsal dinner. The open back is a sexy surprise. The lining showed at the bottom so that was frustrating, material was thick enough that no bra was needed

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
July 14, 2016
Red carpet and party hybrid dress

I truly loved this dress! I ordered it for the ESPYs so needed a dress that was formal yet sporty. The dress fit nicely around the chest but a little bit around the waist, but overall it was comfortable and received a ton of compliments

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Date
July 21, 2016
Tons of compliments!!

I rented this dress for my birthday date night out with my husband to one of our favorite fine dining restaurants. I received a ton of compliments all night long from several women of varying ages!! Super classy… And comfortable too!!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 155lbs
July 24, 2016
Compliments All Night Long!

Great dress for a summer wedding! As other reviews have said, the open back does bunch a little, but if that doesn't bother you no problem! I didn't need a bra and felt very comfortable all night!! Would rent again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
July 30, 2016
Perfect bachelorette party dress!

Trying to find the perfect non-white bachelorette party dress, I fell in love when I came across this dress. The back was so much fun and my favorite part of the dress! Definitely need a nubra if you plan on wearing a bra. I used fashion tape to hold down the back of the dress. Other than that, the dress fit perfect and I received a ton of compliments.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
July 31, 2016
I felt so comfortable in this dress all night!

Fit was short, fitted and open back.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
August 1, 2016
Gorgeous dress

Dress fit perfectly - beautiful open back. I wore this to my wedding rehearsal and received so many compliments

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
August 6, 2016
Homecoming!

First rental and all around great dress. Sophisticated but very pretty and fun to dance in.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
August 22, 2016
Beautiful and true to size! Wish I could have purchased this dress!

I loved, loved, loved this dress. Perfect fit and true to size. I'm on the petite size and often have a hard time finding dresses that fit right in length, hips and chest. The back of the dress is super sexy without being too scandalous. I received a ton of compliments. I would most definitely rent this dress again. Pros: True to size Beautiful Extra lining so no need for a slip Cons: Need dress tape Need backless bra Had signs of pulling and overall wear

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
August 23, 2016
Perfect fit

This dress fit perfect and I had a ton of compliments. Downside was that I noticed a small hole in the front of the dress about an hour before I was leaving. No one could notice but I knew it was there and it made me a bit self conscious. I would highly recommend renting this dress still.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
August 23, 2016
Beautiful dress for wedding

My first RTR. Very pretty dress! I received a lot of compliments. I was in between size 0 and 2, but decided to go with the 0 because the 2 was slightly big on top. The 0 was form fitted at the bottom and when I danced it was a little short, but overall it was a great rental! I'd recommend it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 24, 2016
Perfect for an outdoor wedding

This dress was for an outdoor wedding on the water. I received multiple compliments. The color was really beautiful and fit great.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 24, 2016
Lots of compliments!

I'm usually a size 0, but I went with the 2 because the 0 was uncomfortably short. The low, open back was my favorite part of the dress! My only complaint would be the quality of the fabric. Not that anyone else noticed, but there were a few snags and the lace trim looked worn.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 138lbs
September 10, 2016
Great NYE dress

Loved it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 11, 2016
Bachelorette!

Great fit, super comfortable. Wore a sticky bra since the dress is backless. It was exactly what I was looking for!

Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 14, 2016
Elegant, classy and great for an outside wedding

I ordered size 6 and size 8. I should have ordered the 8 and 10. The 8 fit but I would have been more comfortable in the 10. The great thing about this dress was I did not even have to wear a bra with it. It was a tad tight around the tummy area but my Spanx helped. Mine were black and you could not see thru the dress. I received so many compliments on this dress. This dress fit rather snug but still gave some room for me to hit the dance floor.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 14, 2016
Love this dress and the open back!

Rented this dress for a fancy dinner at six-seven in Seattle. I felt awesome and boyfriend said men watched me walk through restaurant. The fit runs big I wore the small. Back does do a little hanging open thing on the sides but I didn't use tape and I felt it wasn't that noticeable. Pretty short and open back better for warm weather. I am 34b and wore no bra. I have so many dresses in my hearts but I'd still like to rent this one again!!

View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 42

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×