Slate & Willow

Madeline Sheath

$40 – $75 rental?
$395 value
Stylist Notes

Sweet and just a little sassy! This beautiful lace overlay dress by Slate & Willow is a go to style for all your cocktail party needs. Really make it shine with Whiting and Davis' Silver Lattice Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - open back provides minimal support in bust area
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn without a bra. We recommend fashion tape.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Silver Lace (63% nylon, 32% metallic) Cap sleeves. Crew neck. Open back. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 33.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share
1574 reviews
Fit
Large
(117)
True to Size
(1030)
Small
(98)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
September 15, 2016
Summer outdoor wedding
I wore this to a summer outdoor wedding and it was great! I little short but I felt beautiful!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 12, 2013
Beautiful and Classy
I love this dress! The delicate lace mixed with the metallic add a fun twist. The fabric has a slight stretch to it, but curvy women should size up. You can either wear this with a NuBra or go braless.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
September 30, 2013
I was so happy with it! I loved it came in a free garment bag & with the great goodie bag!
The fit was perfect! Because I am on the taller side, I had to go with the 6. The 4 fit better in the waist and chest area, but I need it a little longer. I got so many compliments about the dress at the wedding. I absolutely love love love RTR and have told so many people about my great experience with you guys! RTR really knows how to make a girl feel special!!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
September 30, 2013
The open back is just the right amount of sexy and classy, overall an amazing dress!!
The fit is true to size and extremely flattering. A backless bra works perfectly with this dress and I love the cap sleeve.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 139lbs
October 1, 2013
Gorgeous dress
The dress was a little big but i received so many complements. It's not as short as it looks on the model in the picture.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 5, 2013
Beautiful silvery mini
Great dress, would definitely rent again. Runs pretty much true to size, however, I'll note a few things about the fit... (1) top is kind of roomy, I had to wear a nu bra for support (though bottom seemed true to size)... (2) super short! yikes! beware, especially if you are tall... standing was fine, but sitting was somewhat of an issue... But this is really a gorgeous dress that I loved wearing. It struck me as more SILVER (and more dressy) than pictured (not a problem). Could definitely be worn to a wedding, even black tie I would say. Also, mine did not have a strap behind the shoulders as shown in one of the other user's photos.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 6, 2013
Sexy and sophisticated. Love this dress!
Comfortable dress- the fabric has give. The back of this dress is gorgeous - I got a ton of compliments on it and felt amazing wearing it.
KateOctober 12, 2013
what color shoes did you wear with this?!!
AliOctober 12, 2013
Nude pumps!!
KateOctober 19, 2013
Thank you!! :)
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
October 7, 2013
fabulous!
the material is awesome - a tad stretchy which made it spectacular throughout the evening - fit like a dream....wish i had a pic of the back to share - all open - gorgeous! so comfortable -
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
October 9, 2013
Very pretty dress
This is a very pretty dress and fit well. I ordered a size 4 & 6 and wore the size 4. The dress has some stretch this is why i choose to wear the 4, because in the bust area the 6 was very big. The dress may look silver but in reality it is nude with a silvery lace accent over it. I wore this to a wedding and everyone had nothing but compliments the whole night. :)
SaraOctober 27, 2013
hi! i'm renting this dress in a few weeks and trying to decide on shoes. Did you go silver or nude? thanks! you look FAB in your pic! xo
MayaOctober 28, 2013
Hi Sara! Thank you :) The color of my shoes are nude. Hope you enjoy wearing this dress as much as I did.
SaraOctober 30, 2013
Fantastic, thank you! ;)
MayaNovember 1, 2013
No problem! :)
RandiNovember 14, 2013
how was the no bra situation? that is what i an concerned about
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112lbs
October 10, 2013
Perfect mix of classic and sexy
This dress was perfect for an outdoor fall wedding! It has just enough sparkle to be a real attention-grabber, but not so much that its tacky or takes away from the bride. The front is high and classic but the back is low cut and slinky, a really good combination when you don't want to be overly sexy, but body con. I got so many compliments on it from women of all ages - the girls in their 30's like me to the mother of the bride. This would be great for a work holiday party, too. One warning is that it is a little thick and lined with a couple of layers so I wouldn't wear it in the heat of summer, despite its lace look.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
October 10, 2013
I received SO many compliments and felt amazing all night! I loved this dress.
the fit was perfect! I didn't want to send this dress back.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
October 10, 2013
This is an amazing dress! I wore it to a cocktail party and it received RAVE reviews!!!
Only pros -- amazing dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
October 14, 2013
Super classy with a little edge!
I absolutely loved this dress! I picked it as a back up dress, but unfortunately I couldn't wear it because I wouldn't have matched my date. The body of the dress runs true to size, but the shoulder/back was a little large and bulgy on me. All of my friends loved this dress, and I will definitely rent this again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
October 14, 2013
Perfect party dress!
I was really hesitant to rent this as it looks white and I was going to an event in October. I could not be HAPPIER with my decision to get this dress and I was in near tears to return it I loved it so much. I wore it to a political event with some real big wigs and EVERYONE was complimenting me. The dress has just enough sex appeal with an open back, but truly classy! LOVE, LOVE, LOVE!!!!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
October 14, 2013
Glam, understated sparkles
This is a very pretty dress. The back is sexy but classy. The dress has three layers, the top layer is a thicker material. Because of the multiple layers I recommend sizing up as the tighter the dress the more wrinkles/fabric pulling. While I liked the way the 0 fit, while standing completely still, I chose the size 2 as it hung better and I didn't have to tug it down all night.
JillianJanuary 21, 2014
love your shoes!
NaDeanFebruary 26, 2014
where did you get the shoes? They are perfect for the dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 16, 2013
It was very unique and classy.
It fit me very well!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126lbs
October 17, 2013
Nothing but compliments!
This dress was amazing. I had ordered it as my backup dress and ended up LOVING it. I wore it without a bra since it was backless, and you couldn't even tell. The material was thick enough to smooth everything out, but if you have a bigger bust and need support it might not be a great match. It has some stretch to it, just enough to slim you down and not too much to make you uncomfortable. It was the perfect combination of conservative and sexy. Did not want to return it. Absolutely nothing but compliments from everyone. Rent it!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 17, 2013
Beautiful, shiny dress!
I wore this dress for my friend's 30th bday and I received so many compliments. I ordered sizes 0 and 2- thankfully. I thought size 2 would be perfect, but it was a little loose and size 0 fit perfectly. Very beautiful dress and I love the open back. Highly recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
October 18, 2013
Great dress!
True to size, stretchy material which is nice, comfy all night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 21, 2013
Lovely dress
I wore this dress to my senior homecoming and really liked it. It was comfortable, flattering, and unique. It was a little less form fitting than I would have liked but, in hindsight, I don't think that that the dress was supposed to be super form fitting so that can't really be considered a con. I really liked the silver pattern in the dress and the lace hem, but I was less than thrilled about the sleeves. They weren't a huge issue or anything but they were a little awkward. However, I loved the open back detail. This dress wasn't a knockout and it isn't the best thing I've ever rented from RTR for homecoming, but I still enjoyed wearing it and was satisfied.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 109lbs
October 22, 2013
Awesome!
Good fit. The back of the dress was a hit!
TaylorNovember 21, 2013
Are you wearing gold shoes? Would you say it was more silvery or gold. I can't figure out what shoes I want to look for,
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
October 23, 2013
I loved this dress!
Very flattering, and I received compliments all night.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
October 25, 2013
Love this dress!
This dress was really fantastic. I loved the way it fit and the short length was just what I was looking for to show off a bit.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
October 28, 2013
I wore this to a cocktail fundraiser and it was an absolute hit!
This dress was BEAUTIFUL!! Perfect for cocktail attire! It is definitely true to size. I'm 5'7" and I didn't feel uncomfortable with the length, even while sitting down. Nipple covers weren't necessary but I wore them just in case and the material was thick enough that you couldn't tell. It's an extremely classy dress and I didn't want to send it back.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
November 3, 2013
This was my first dress from RTR.. I am HOOKED!!
I wore this to a wine gala for charity, definitely stood out and received plenty of compliments! The silver detail on this dress is very beautiful in person. I was not sure what shoes to wear with this dress, I was going to wear nude pumps but ended up wearing shiny silver pumps and they worked. The color was more champagne than I expected, but I loved it.. didn't make my fair skin look washed out. The only con was the way the open back fit. Since I have such a short torso, the back fit a little lose and there would be a gap any time I sat down. This is why I chose to wear the size 4, it laid better and was more form fitting. Overall I loved this dress and would definitely recommend it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 4, 2013
This dress was fabulous! Received so many compliments! Had so much fun in it!
It fit perfectly. Great dress for wedding.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 4, 2013
Love this dress!
I wore this dress to my 30th Birthday party, and it was a huge hit. I received compliments all night on the dress and I had to spill the beans that I got it from RTR. It was very comfortable and had a stretch to it, so it was also very forgiving.
RandiNovember 14, 2013
did you find i to be an issue not wearing a bra?
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
November 4, 2013
This dress is a standout! I wish I didn't have to return it!
The dress was incredibly comfortable and I got compliments on it the entire night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
November 6, 2013
Gorgeous dress!
This dress was a great choice for the gala I attended. I received compliments all night. The dress does run small, I highly suggest going a size up! I didn't wear a bra but I did buy the Braza no adhesive silicone petal tops and I'm really glad I bought them when I rented my dress. I didn't need to stress about anything. Overall, this dress is pretty, comfortable and the back side of the dress is a show stopper. Happy Renting Ladies!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
November 6, 2013
A feminine elegance that kept the compliments coming.
I ordered a 2 and 4, but ended up wearing the 2. The fabric doesn't stretch much, but it really doesn't need to. The length errors on the shorter side, so if you're worried about that maybe a longer dress is better. The open back was my favorite part. It's so classic and elegantly sexy without cheapening the overall look. Definitely suggest this one for a wedding, or a day/cocktail party. I went without a bra because the fabric was thick enough.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
November 8, 2013
Pretty dress, just wasn't right for my body type
I loved the dress, but being 5'4" and long waisted, it just wasn't the right dress for me.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 11, 2013
The fit was perfect and it was was comfy and glam!
I got the size 4 and 2, and the 4 fit great. The 2 also fit, but a little snug on my fuller hips. No need for a bra because the material at the bust was thick and structured. If you had to wear something it would have to be the stick on bras. The dress was great! Wish I could buy it.
BeneNovember 13, 2013
Love the shoes you wore with the dress. Where did you find them?
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 142lbs
November 13, 2013
It made me feel sexy, but not too revealing.
It fit great! I received a zillion compliments and felt 'like a million bucks' wearing it. I wore it to a 1920s themed gala with my long pearls backwards down my back which worked beautifully!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
November 13, 2013
The back of the dress is really chic!
Fit really well, comfortable material inside
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
November 13, 2013
Great Dress! Got SO many compliments on this. It was a hit, and my favorite RTR dress yet!
The back is one of my favorite parts, and the cap sleeves and neck line go great. I ordered a 10 and 12, and ended up going with the 12 for length purposes. However, it may seem shorter on the model than it actually is in real life. Fits true to size, and while it is form fitting, it doesn't show every curve. I
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
November 18, 2013
Nice dress, but not for the athletic build
Beautiful, classy dress- however, ideal for someone with narrow shoulders, as the sleeves really enhanced my broad shoulders. Made for someone very slender and narrow, but a very pretty dress!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 18, 2013
Beautiful backless dress!
I wore this dress to black tie optional gala in Washington, DC. It was perfect for the event! I got tons of compliments all night on my dress. I loved that it was a little short and backless because it wasn't my event so I could have fun with it. I sized up one size because I'm curvy with a large bust. Will totally rent this dress again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 18, 2013
Love!
Love this dress! The color is sort of a silvery metallic cream. It's comfortable and not too short. You have to wear a backless bra though. I can't wait to rent it again.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
November 19, 2013
Everything I wanted and more...
This dress is so much prettier in person. The lace is stunning. I didn't expect the dress to be in such perfect condition. This was my first RTR experience and I could not be more satisfied. I rented a 4 and a 6 and ended up wearing the 4. The 6 would slip off my shoulders and caused the back to hang. I wore it with Navy blue shoes and I have to say the combination was gorgeous. I received compliments the entire night. As for a bra I wore a Victorias Secret backless bra. It was a little bit of a mess. It didn't hold the ladies up much. But I honestly could have gone without one. The dress covers nicely and snugs the ladies enough to keep them in place. All in all, I loved this dress and I can't wait for my next rental to come in.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 19, 2013
I loved this dress! This dress made me feel sexy without revealing too much! Sassy and classy!
I weigh 130 and I have an athletic build and the size 4 fit perfectly! The length is about mid thigh for a 5'6" girl like me! The dress is a comfortable material too! You will definitely be satisfied with this dress!
View photos (3)
See more reviews:
1 / 40

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×