Slate & Willow

Madeline Sheath

$50 – $110 rental
$395 value
Stylist Notes

Sweet and just a little sassy! This beautiful lace overlay dress by Slate & Willow is a go to style for all your cocktail party needs. Really make it shine with Whiting and Davis' Silver Lattice Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - open back provides minimal support in bust area
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn without a bra. We recommend fashion tape.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Silver Lace (63% nylon, 32% metallic) Cap sleeves. Crew neck. Open back. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 33.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share
1632 reviews
Fit
Large
(119)
True to Size
(1059)
Small
(103)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
November 21, 2017
Did not wear, but still a very pretty dress
I originally rented another dress for NYE and received this one instead which was the initial let down because I was in love with that one. However this dress fit me nicely, but just wasn't what I was looking for. It's pretty and comfortable but not as flattering/sexy as I was hoping for for NYE. I would probably rent this again for a wedding or some other event though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
14
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 190lbs
November 21, 2017
A little too short for me
I'm a 14, and it fit, but was tight. I would have been uncomfortable, and the length is pretty short (5'7"). I didn't end up wearing it. The sleeves were a little rough as well- shabby. Overall, the dress is really pretty, and if I were a little trimmer, i probably would have worn it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 26
November 21, 2017
How glam I felt wearing this dress for our rehearsal dinner!
The fit was a little funky. I have fairly narrow shoulders so the fact that the dress is backless and the part that keeps the dress on is the shoulder area from the dress was a little problematic for me. I think had I been prepared with garment tape that could hold the dress onto my body it would have helped a lot! Overall the dress fit amazingly and was surprisingly warm for a chilly/mild November night!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
November 12, 2017
Loved the back. Received compliments on it all night!
Be prepared to go braless OR get the sticky attachable cups!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Body type: Petite
November 1, 2017
I picked this dress for a formal wedding
Because it has a low back, you need to have the right proportions and posture for the back to fit properly. I tried it on and the sides of the back left an unattractive gap at the sides. Needless to say, I returned the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38DD
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
November 1, 2017
Ran, small not for big busts!
This dress was beautiful! It would've been great if it fit right! I am a large bust, so it's hard for me to find dresses anyway (38DD) but, thought I'd give this a try! It fit throughout the body, but the shoulder area was just too small to work!! :(
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 1, 2017
Wore this for a birthday dinner with my husband.
This dress was a show stopper! The fit was perfect, the material was comfortable, and the back was jaw dropping. I would definitely rent this one again.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Age: 26
October 31, 2017
I wore this dress for my bachelorette party in Nashville and it was PERFECT! So many compliments.
Fit pretty well everywhere. A little loose up top. Didn't have to wear a bra with it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Body type: Petite
October 25, 2017
Classy, Elegant and Sexy
I wore this to my rehearsal dinner. I live in NYC and wanted a bit more of an edgier look. This was amazing. Hugged my body, made me look lean and my legs super long! And this dress has some shine without looking gaudy. It was perfect. Got compliments left and right
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
October 24, 2017
Loved this dress! Classy in the front, sassy in the back!
The fit was great! I am always worried that fitted dresses will be too tight over my backside but the fabric for this dress was not restricting and comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 53
Bust size: 32C
October 22, 2017
for straight body types
I sized down. It was a pretty color and design but did not fit my waist at all. The back also bunches and wasn't flattering.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Age: 29
October 22, 2017
Beautiful dress and quality - the dress ran a little large
I'm 5ft1 and 105lbs - dress was large, almost baggy. However, with some tape on the back to hold it in place I managed to wear it for being a bridesmaid. I was hoping for a more form fitting look as shown in the picture so just to note that if you're petite the dress will be more 'shift' like vs form fitting.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
October 16, 2017
Gorgeous way to ring in my 30s
This dress was so great and the perfect glam for my 30th birthday. The surprise low back was a hit with my friends. I felt super sexy and confident in this dress. The 4 fit well but was tight in my arms so I went with the 6. I was comfortable and could party all night.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
October 16, 2017
Great dress for a wedding
I loved the open back. I was nervous this dress would be an inappropriate color for a wedding since it is very close to white but the lining is tan and the silver really brightened it. The only thing I would change was the length. I felt as if I was pulling it down all night. This ran a bit small, I normally wear a 2 but had to wear a 4.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
October 16, 2017
Great fit, true to size, loved how light reflects off dress!
Great for cocktail attire. Wore to bat mitzpha. Perfect for dancing!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 13, 2017
Bachelorette party
This dress was amazing, sexy and classy. I received compliments all night. The fit of this dress is super flattering and I didn't even need to wear a bra (which is rare for me). The details on this dress are so cute. I was a little disappointed because the 4 I ordered fit better but was a bit worn and it was pretty noticeable next to the 6 but when not comparing them side by side you really couldn't tell so I went with the 4.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
October 12, 2017
Great dress overall.
A little short but not too short, still wedding appropriate. The cut in the back is sexy but gapped quite a bit. I had to use a good amount of fashion tape to keep it from gapping. Overall a good rental.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 123lbs
October 9, 2017
Sexy and classy
Easy fit. A little short. The open back gives a nice touch of sexiness.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
October 8, 2017
Wore this for my bridal shower, it was night champagne themed shower and the dress was perfect!
I ordered both the 4 and 6 and ultimately went with the 6 just because I wanted room to not feel too tight but the 4 fit too. It's such a flattering dress and was perfect for the occasion!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
October 8, 2017
30th Birthday
I liked the fit of both dresses the 14 was a little longer but with the open back I opted to wear the 12 because it felt like everything stayed in place better and the girls couldn't droop. I felt fabulous in it. I danced and karaoke'd in the dress with over the knee boots as it was a cooler fall evening. I got a number of compliments on the dress and it was fun to sparkle for my birthday.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
October 7, 2017
Beautiful backless
Great dress for a wedding (so great that some one else was wearing it too that night). Definitely a good choice if you have an event with a cocktail attire dress code.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
October 4, 2017
loved this dress. not made for a pear shape
I loved this dress. I ordered a 4 and a 6 and ended up wearing a 4. I wear a 32c bra and the 6 slid off of my shoulders, but the 4 was short and rode up my butt. I kept having to pull it down throughout the night, but thought that was a trade off for it falling off my shoulders. I'm 5'10 140 and wear size 8 jeans with a small bust
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 117
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 4, 2017
My fault
Gambled on the size. It was too small. Had to return. But cute dress! Customer service was amazing
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
September 30, 2017
Tons of compliments
This dress was a great fit overall. I went with the 2 as the 0 was slightly shorter. Form fitting but comfortable with room to eat wedding cake.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 111lbs
September 28, 2017
Pretty dress
This dress is very pretty in person, however it runs large and the 2 on me just had no shape whatsoever. I did not end up wearing this to the formal event that I chose it for. I would size down. The material is thick enough that you can go braless
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
September 26, 2017
Beautiful wedding
The size 0 was a little to tide and make and it was moving up, so I decided to use the size 2 that was perfect fit,I get so many compliments .Great look dress..
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 13, 2017
Bachelorette Party!!
Great little gold dress for a bachelorette party as an alternate to a white dress! A little glamor, a little sparkle, a little skin, it's fabulous! I would definitely recommend taping the back sides. You don't need it but it would help with gaps. Just a little finishing touch.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
September 11, 2017
The back is definitely a show stopper
The way this dress is made, it has two separate linings. I found sizing up helped the dress lay nicer and kept the lining from poking out beyond the lace. The issue with sizing up was that the open back really buckled. Regardless, you're going to want fashion tape or the dress just collapses when you sit. I also wore a backless bra with the sticky sides. If you're anything bigger than B cup, you'll want the support, and it made the dress look much more flattering.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
September 11, 2017
I wore this dress for my Bridal Shower
I rented a 4 and 6 just to be safe but, ended up wearing the 4. It fit perfect, was comfortable and I received a ton of compliments on it!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Age: 29
September 11, 2017
Wore this to my rehearsal dinner - received SO many compliments!
Fits true to size & is extremely well made. The silver in the material was very stunning in photos. Usually wear a 0 and the 0 fit true to size. At 5'4 the dress hit mid-thigh, not too short.
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Height: 4' 11"
September 9, 2017
:)
I am 4'11 108lb I ordered a 0 and 2 I wore the 0 it fit perfect which was a surprise to me because I am petit and very particular when it comes to dresses. This was my first purchase with RTR and I'm very pleased! I got a ton of compliments
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
September 6, 2017
Comfortable and classy
The dress fit well and was very comfortable with the extra layers.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
August 29, 2017
Dress Made for those Glam Moments
Wore this for my 25th birthday it worked out perfectly! I wore a size 0 (I'm usually in between a 0-2) and didn't need to have fashion tape. I thought the length was appropriate for a party and had no problem dancing. The material also didn't get stuck to anything as I worry about that with a more sequin overlay. The back was super sexy too. Would rent again I loved it as did the fans!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 22, 2017
Loved this dress. Received many compliments!
The fit was great. Based on other reviews I did not choose a backup size in this dress and was not disappointed. The sleeves were a tad frayed when I opened the bag, making the dress seem a little worn; however, once I put it on I didn't think about it again. I was afraid the dress might be too short, but I'm not very tall so it was perfect! Wore this to an awards show in Hollywood and felt very comfortable all night.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 26
August 9, 2017
Wore this for a bachelorette party
Fit great. Not too short.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 148lbs
August 5, 2017
I wore this for my bachelorette party and it was perfect. It was comfortable and beautiful!
I was worried it would be too short but it was short without being too short. It was pretty comfortable.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 1, 2017
Dress worked really well for a Gatsby themed party!
Overall it fit well but felt short on me. I could have gone with the 2 for length but it felt baggier in other areas so I stuck with the 0. The dress is very pretty, but can also make your shoulders a bit boxier (which I didn't need).
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
July 27, 2017
Rented for a friend for a Bachelorette party in Nashville
Fit well! Sparkly & Fun. It's a bit more silver than white.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 111lbs
July 16, 2017
Show stopper!
This dress was absolutely beautiful. The material was very comfortable and it was a nice fit. I got plenty of compliments all night! The only negative is that it rises up high so dancing was a little hard.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
July 16, 2017
Beautiful dress! Pops in pictures!
I wore this dress for my bridal shower and received so many compliments! It's the perfect mix of classy and sexy! I could've worn either the 0 or 2, but the sleeves were a little loose on the 2, so I went with the 0. Only issue is that the dress has obviously been previously rented a little too much, my mom noticed when I was walking into the party that there were a few tears in the lace material on the back and I was a little embarrassed to be wearing it with the noticeable holes in the lace.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 41

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×