Madeline Sheath

$60 rental
$395 value

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Sweet and just a little sassy! This beautiful lace overlay dress by Slate & Willow is a go to style for all your cocktail party needs. Really make it shine with Whiting and Davis' Silver Lattice Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - open back provides minimal support in bust area
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn without a bra. We recommend fashion tape.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - open back provides minimal support in bust area
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn without a bra. We recommend fashion tape.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Silver Lace (63% nylon, 32% metallic) Cap sleeves. Crew neck. Open back. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 33.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share
1440 reviews
Fit
Large109
True to Size981
Small88
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 31, 2015
LOVED this dress - didn't want to send it back! The open back was amazing!
Fit great - the 2 fit also, but opted for the 4 to have a little more length. Was really sexy, flirty, and fun for the husband's work Christmas party. I did use fashion tape for the back, but didn't have any issues with that or with the shoulders, it was super comfortable. Would DEFINITELY rent this again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 98lbs
December 29, 2015
Dress showed too much wear-and-tear
This is a flattering dress, and a great fit for petites. But I ended up not wearing it because of visible wear and tear. Considering its popularity, I guess that was to be expected. Nonetheless the dress looked nice on (from a distance) and I would probably have worn it anyway for a party event. But it was for a dinner date, and the wear was too obvious up close. That said, RTR has great customer service and solved the problem right away by sending out another style.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 23
Weight: 105lbs
December 23, 2015
Loved this dress!
I loved this dress. I wore it for a formal dance and received a lot of compliments for it. I can see it being appropriate for a wide variety of events. A size 0 is petite friendly - I am 5'1 with a small frame, and it wasn't too long or big at all (a rare find for me!). I didn't need any fashion tape and felt very secure despite the open back. I was able to wear it without a bra. The material is surprisingly thick and comfortable. Since it's a pretty neutral color, you can wear it with almost any make up and shoe combination, and the open back keeps it fun, interesting, and unique despite the neutral color. The dress came on time clean with no wrinkles, and returning was super easy. Would definitely rent again!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Age: 36
December 22, 2015
Best. Dress. Ever.
I can't describe how sexy this dress made me feel. It was just perfect for the event. Super flattering and tons of compliments. I would highly recommend this dress.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 22, 2015
Sparkly dress for a special night
I really wanted to love this dress but a couple of things fell short for me: Cons: - this dress is not optimal for a pear or hourglass figure. I have a very small waist and more curvy around my hips. This dress felt very tight around my hips and much more loose around my waist in both the 2 and 4; neither were an optimal fit - pretty short. I felt myself adjusting throughout the night - the fabric around my arms felt pretty tight and enhanced some not so pretty areas Pros: - can't beat the color, it's magical - the back is divine, low cut but not plunging Overall: This dress will always be memorable because I wore it the night I was engaged, however, I did feel pretty self conscious throughout the night
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 21, 2015
Sexy, but leaves some to the imagination!
I wore this dress to a winter fraternity formal and received so many compliments! I loved how the dress had the sexy back, but I still was conservative! This dress runs very small, so I ended up using the size 2 I thought I wouldn't need. The 0 size fit fine, but it was quite tight and short, so I opted for the large size, which didn't fit as well, but was longer and looser (which was better for dancing). I felt amazing in this dress and had a great experience with RTR! Definitely will rent again!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 21, 2015
It was a little on the short side and I am on 5'4. It was perfect for my company holiday party!
It was a little on the short side and I am on 5'4. It was perfect for my company holiday party! I received compliments all night long. It was classy in the front and sexy in the back! Would definitely rent again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 39
December 21, 2015
Company Christmas party. Easy to dance the night away, moved great!
Loved this dress! Fit great, looked great. Received lots of compliments. Make sure to wear a strapless/backless bra or tape.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 29
December 20, 2015
Fun and fancy!
The dress was fun! I wore it to The Nutcracker and enjoyed the coverage on the front with the low cut surprise on the back. It was also really comfortable!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
December 20, 2015
Loved this dress. I wore it to my rehearsal dinner and got so many compliments.
Fit perfectly
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 18, 2015
Beautiful dress but so so so short. It worked well with tights for winter!
A little too short for me (I'm 5'10") but worked well with tights for winter. Great color for blondes. And the open back is so cute!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133lbs
December 16, 2015
too short for long torsos
material and color looks good in photos but the waist is too high, and looks strange on my long torso.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 15, 2015
Perfect for a holiday party!
I wore a size 0 and it fit great with the exception of the top portion of the dress, which I found a just a tad loose for my smaller frame. I had to use fashion tape to keep the sleeves and the back of the dress secure, but besides that I had no complaints! It was the perfect length on me, coming down to a little past my mid-thigh. The material was high quality and thick enough so that it retained it's structured look, but still very flexible and comfortable to wear. I also wore stickies with this dress, although with my smaller bust and the thickness of the material I probably could have gone without them. I loved the lace detailing and the subtle shimmer on this dress - it's sparkly enough to make you feel glamorous without being too flashy.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
December 15, 2015
The low back was my favorite part of the dress and my fiancé loved it as well
The dress fit perfectly. It was classy without being stuffy because of the low back. I wore it to my wedding rehearsal and it was perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 15, 2015
Top way too loose
The bottom fit a little snug, but the top part was WAY too big. I felt like I needed to be top heavy for this dress to work. Would not recommend for hourglass or pear shape people.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
December 15, 2015
The back on this dress is very sexy and it's not too short
Dress fits true to size and looks awesome. The fabric is much less stiff than I anticipated so the shoulders slipped a bit when I was leaning over. I would totally rent it again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Formal Affair
December 14, 2015
I felt so pretty in this dress!! I loved it!!
I absolutely loved this dress and felt amazing all night. This is def a stand out in the crowd dress. Nothing boring about it. Wore this to my work Christmas party in Boston. This one will be hard to top.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Age: 30
December 14, 2015
Everyone loved it!! So happy I chose it even though I thought it might be too short!
It looked a little worn when I received it but wore it anyway. It had a few rips on the inside and the lace was fraying on the arms. I got sticky boobs to wear but decided against them as I am small chested. I didn't need the back tape either. Wore nude pumps with dress. Sad to send it back!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 14, 2015
Favorite dress ever!
I loved this dress so much! It was super comfortable, I got so many compliments and my coworkers still remember it (1 year later!.) My only complaint is that it was super tight on my hips and rear, but the next size up looked too big on my waist and chest.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
December 14, 2015
"Loved the way this dress looked on me and made me feel!"
I received many compliments when I wore it, both in person and on my social media sites. I thought it might be too short for the occasion, however, it ended up fitting great and not appearing too short. Pasties and a skirt Spank were a must :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 13, 2015
Loved this dress!
Loved loved loved this dress! Fit perfectly and got so many compliments. I went with the 2 because the 4 didn't feel as secure on the shoulders with the open back. Definitely would like to rent this again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 13, 2015
Lots of compliments at a Christmas event!
I sized up because it's a bit short! Got a lot of compliments... I would rent again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
December 13, 2015
Shined bright all night!
So glad I got the second size...if you're curvy, you'll be happy you did. I fit the 8, but the 10 provided a bit more room in the hips that made it more comfortable. Be warned, it's a mini no doubt. No bending over for me!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 13, 2015
Love this dress! It was stunning!
I wore this dress to my bridal shower. It was gorgeous. I loved it! It was a little short when I sat down for opening gifts. My fiancé 's favorite RTR dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
December 11, 2015
Stunning dress that fit perfectly!
The dress (I wore a size 0), fit perfectly. It was a little on the shorter side, but I knew this prior to renting. It was not too tight, had forgiving fabric. It is backless (which isn't a problem for me because I'm on the smaller side), so keep that in mind in terms of bras to wear. Overall, I really enjoyed wearing this dress and I felt beautiful all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 154lbs
December 10, 2015
Beautiful dress! Would definitely rent again.
Wore this beautiful dress to my bridal shower. Absolutely loved it and the beautiful detailing. I received tons of compliments. I rented a 6 and 8 but ended up wearing the 6 because it was a better fit overall. The top was a little big but not to noticeable. I did not wear fashion tape.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
December 9, 2015
1st RTR and I couldn't have picked a more PERFECT dress! Everyone at my work Xmas party LOVED it!
The dress fit very well! Everyone's comments were very helpful! The fashion tape held the dress in place, just as suggested. This dress is very Classy & Sexy all-in-one!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 40
December 8, 2015
The dress was fabulous and just as described. I got many compliments through the night.
The fit was true to size. I didn't need a bra or fabric tape. It honestly fit me like a glove.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 41
December 8, 2015
The low back of the dress felt sexy while the front felt classy - this was a work event
The size 2 fit but the 4 felt better given how short it was. I'm 5'9 and it was short on me. Still looked nice but had to be careful dancing and bending over.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
December 6, 2015
The dress was so comfortable, I danced all night!
The dress ending up fitting a little loose on me, I prefer my dresses slightly snug. I have kind of narrow shoulders so dress tape helped a lot. Over all I loved the dress, so many compliments, I suppose the larger size worked for me, i was able to dance comfortably all night!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
December 4, 2015
The shimmery dress with the open back was super unique!
The fit was pretty true to size. It was a little big on my shoulders, but i appreciated the stretchier material around the hips/thighs area.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 2, 2015
Rehearsal Dinner Dress
This dress isn't as flashy as it looks on the model, but the low back makes it a show stopper. I wore a size 2. The 0 would have been way too tight on my hips, but the top was a little loose in the shoulder area, but that's typically how it goes for most of my clothes (big legs/hips, small chest). I wore this dress to my rehearsal dinner, and the conservative front made it feel very classy, but then the low back helped make it perfect for going out for drinks with our wedding party afterwards. It really didn't feel too short on me either. I didn't pull it down at all except for when I sat down, which is to be expected.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 32
December 2, 2015
It was my birthday!
perfect length and fit.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
December 1, 2015
Date night with hubby on vacay - dress was gorgeous - but a little small and short!
i am 5'9" and dont mind wearing short stuff :) but this ran a tad small and short - even for me! The backless aspect was super sexy however - and I just wore it out for date night and did not feel overdressed - i could have def worn it out for a more formal affair and dressed it up as well.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 1, 2015
The back of this dress is amazzzzing!
Definitely get some fashion tape to secure the back ;)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
November 27, 2015
Loved this dress, great fit!
Really comfortable and flattering, fit true to a size 6. I received lots of compliments and I highly recommend it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Age: 24
November 26, 2015
Received tons of compliments!
The dress is really open in the back which makes it a little looser than you would expect and also a little bit more short.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 16
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 25, 2015
So fun!!!
I wore this to a birthday party. It was so comfortable and I loved the back. It was a perfect fit. I got compliments from everyone. It was a great party dress with the right mix of lace and sequins. The thread in the lace is kinda silver metallic. Love, love, love it!! I am true size 0 and petite at 5'2 and 115 lb.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
November 24, 2015
Loveddddd this dress!!!!
My only complaint is like others said it needs fashion tape to hold the open back in place but it didn't even matter bc I had fashion tape on hand and I loved the dress so much. I worried it would be too close to white to wear to someone else's wedding but it was more tan and silver and was perfect. I will be renting this one again!!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
November 24, 2015
I wore this as my sister's Maid of Honor. The bridesmaids were asked to wear "metallic", so perfect!
Loved this, perfect fit, comfortable, many compliments. You can't wear a bra, so I was nervous, but that was not a problem, the chest is tight and I felt secure!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
4 / 36

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×