Madeline Sheath

$60 rental
$395 value

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Sweet and just a little sassy! This beautiful lace overlay dress by Slate & Willow is a go to style for all your cocktail party needs. Really make it shine with Whiting and Davis' Silver Lattice Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - open back provides minimal support in bust area
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn without a bra. We recommend fashion tape.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - open back provides minimal support in bust area
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn without a bra. We recommend fashion tape.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Silver Lace (63% nylon, 32% metallic) Cap sleeves. Crew neck. Open back. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 33.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share
1468 reviews
Fit
Large
(111)
True to Size
(994)
Small
(89)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 28
February 11, 2016
I got engaged in this dress!!!!
I picked a size up and it was perfect! It was short, but I am only 5'4" so it really was the perfect length! I absolutely loved this dress and would suggest it to anyone who likes to show their back and legs! I wore this for a Christmas Party in December!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Date
February 11, 2016
I will be renting again!
I rented this for a date night with my husband in DC and I felt so gorgeous in it! The back was great-I'm small chested and was able to get away without wearing a bra. It does get a little short when you sit if you're taller. Would definitely rent again in the summer when I could wear it out without covering the back with a coat!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 8, 2016
The dress was gorgeous! I got compliments all night on it.
However, it does run snug in the hip area, so I went a size up from my normal size. The back still fits well, so even going up a size, the back still fit well.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 8, 2016
Great choice for NYE!
Chose this dress for NYE and I loved it! Only downside was it was a little short! The 2 fit well but I went up to a size 4 for length (but I still had to be very careful). Other than that no complaints, beautiful dress, oh and the back was my favorite part!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
February 7, 2016
Cutest. Dress. Ever.
I got this dress the morning of my bachelorette party; originally I selected a different dress but it just wasn't flattering. I spoke with a stylist--who's name I wish I remembered--and she highly recommended this dress and guaranteed it would arrive on time. It did and it was perfect! Great length if you're petite--in 5'2--and the back is adorable. It is also surprisingly comfortable!! I felt like it was pretty true to size as well; I'm almost always a 2. I wore big drop rhinestone earrings with this and they were perfect. I had such a fun night and got a million compliments on the dress!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
February 7, 2016
Perfect fit and dress for New Years!
This dress fit well and no backless bra was needed (I wear a C cup)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 41
February 6, 2016
Fun night!
Perfect fit
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 6, 2016
Easy shipping and returns
I am 5'4 and 105 pounds. Went with the size 0 and it fit perfectly! I have pretty narrow shoulders and was expecting to have to use fashion tape for the back but ended up not needing any! I got a lot of compliments on the dress and will definitely be ordering from rent the runway again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Body type: Hourglass
February 2, 2016
I couldn't love this dress more if I tried! The back is just stunning and totally makes the dress.
So many compliments! The back and shoulders fit me a little big, but that's because I have tiny shoulders. The dress fit me really well everywhere else, but I did have to keep pulling it down all night! I would have been fine without a bra, but I felt more comfortable using stickies. Love the material and pattern on the dress
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
January 31, 2016
I wore this dress to my rehearsal dinner. It was so perfect! So comfortable. I felt great it in!
I read in some reviews that body tape might be needed to hold the back down. I didn't do that and it did hang a little, but to me, not enough to take away from awesomeness of the dress! The fabric was thick and the dress was well made. I rented the 10 and the 8. I ended up wearing the 8 because the of the back being too loose in the 10. But it still fit great. Normally, I am a 10, so maybe it runs just a tad large. Overall, LOVED IT. Would recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 29, 2016
Classy and sexy!
Loved this dress! It's classy and conservative in the front, yet sexy in the back. The size 8 was too loose so I went with the 6, which still felt a little loose in the back, especially while sitting down. Overall great dress, received a lot of compliments! Fast shipping and easy return. Would highly recommend this beautiful dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 180lbs
January 28, 2016
Did not end up wearing.
This dress is SHORT, I sized up after reading the other reviews because I knew it was short, did not realize how short! Did not end up wearing because it would not have been appropriate in any setting!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
January 26, 2016
Dress was Gorgeous! Very chic and classy with the open back being just enough for the simple dress.
Wore a size 2 being true to size. Very comfortable. You don't have to worry about too much jewelry because this dress is just enough. Very simple and chic and the open back is so perfect! You will LOVE
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 25
January 26, 2016
This dress was PERFECT!!! Definitely need to get a sticky bra of some sort and fashion tape.
True to size, the dress is a beige tone with silver highlights. Shoes could either be nude or a gold/silver combo. Would definitely rent this dress again!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 99lbs
January 23, 2016
Wearing to my Vegas wedding!
I rented this early to test out for my Vegas wedding. I knew I'd like based on reviews but wanted to make sure I loved it. And I did ! I'm renting again for my wedding and can't wait to wear it! Pictures will come then! Fit is perfect. I'm 5'2, 101 lbs. Perfect dress for second and last wedding!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
January 21, 2016
Wore it for valentine's day! Really fun to wear
I debated between the 0 and 2 - went with the size 0 sans bra. Fit fine and was fun to wear! Flattering. Great material
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
January 19, 2016
Gorgeous dress!!! Fit perfectly. Love that it was practically backless.
Sleeves were a little frayed
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122lbs
January 19, 2016
Beautiful for a bride-to-be
This dress is absolutely gorgeous and so comfortable to wear. The only negative is that it wrinkles incredibly easily, which was a bit of a bummer during my engagement shoot. Also, I wouldn't recommend this dress for anyone who needs the support of a bra.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
January 18, 2016
Gorgeous! I received compliments all night!
Only con was that I couldn't wear a bra
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 129lbs
January 17, 2016
Fit perfectly. Felt like all eyes were on me the whole night.
No cons. We were indoors and outdoors. Felt great the whole time.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 29
January 15, 2016
So many compliments!
It's short, but amazing. Can't wear a bra so make sure to have a backless, strapless one available. Materials are torn because of being over worn, but overall -- great dress! The back makes you feel sexy without showing too much!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 13, 2016
Awesome party dress!!!
I absolutely loved this dress! I read a bunch of reviews and ordered a size up (i am normally a 6) and the 8 fit well and i felt like i had enough length. I wore it to a holiday party and received compliments all night on it. The back was sexy, yet appropriate for the function I was at with the high front and cap sleeves. I felt amazing in it all night. I would 100% rent this dress again!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
January 10, 2016
110% Rent Again!
I got so many compliments! The 10 fit perfect and allowed me to dance comfortably and not flash the band. Looks way better on and a darker in person.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 29
January 10, 2016
I loved this dress! I wore it to my company holiday party and received compliments all night!
Fit true to size, length was perfect and I could dance all night in it. Occasionally the slip would ride up, but nothing that anyone noticed.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 10, 2016
Beautiful dress!
Beautiful dress! I'm usually between a 2 and a 4 and the 4 fit me perfectly. It was a little on the short side, but it didn't ride up at all. I wore this to my work holiday party and received a ton of compliments. The back is incredible and I didn't need fashion tape to keep it in place. One of my favorite rentals!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
January 7, 2016
The back on this dress is amazing. I wore it for my bachelorette party.
This dress runs big. I wore a NuBra which was perfect for this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 3, 2016
I will 100% order this dress again.
Loved the dress! Got compliments all night. I had no issues with sleeves falling down, like some reviews complained about, but they stayed up on me just fine. Extremely comfortable material and was easy to dance in all night
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 1, 2016
I rented this for New Years it was perfect! Photographed well, very comfortable.
The 4 fit better but was a little to short. The shoulder and back was a little loser than I would have liked. That is wear the 4 felt better. I wore stickies but didn't need them. The dress has lining so going bra less isn't a problem. Got a lot of compliments. The back is gorgeous!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
January 1, 2016
This dress was perfect for a New Year's Eve wedding! I got many compliments.
The size was right on. And it fit nice and snug.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 31, 2015
LOVED this dress - didn't want to send it back! The open back was amazing!
Fit great - the 2 fit also, but opted for the 4 to have a little more length. Was really sexy, flirty, and fun for the husband's work Christmas party. I did use fashion tape for the back, but didn't have any issues with that or with the shoulders, it was super comfortable. Would DEFINITELY rent this again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 98lbs
December 29, 2015
Dress showed too much wear-and-tear
This is a flattering dress, and a great fit for petites. But I ended up not wearing it because of visible wear and tear. Considering its popularity, I guess that was to be expected. Nonetheless the dress looked nice on (from a distance) and I would probably have worn it anyway for a party event. But it was for a dinner date, and the wear was too obvious up close. That said, RTR has great customer service and solved the problem right away by sending out another style.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 24
Weight: 105lbs
December 23, 2015
Loved this dress!
I loved this dress. I wore it for a formal dance and received a lot of compliments for it. I can see it being appropriate for a wide variety of events. A size 0 is petite friendly - I am 5'1 with a small frame, and it wasn't too long or big at all (a rare find for me!). I didn't need any fashion tape and felt very secure despite the open back. I was able to wear it without a bra. The material is surprisingly thick and comfortable. Since it's a pretty neutral color, you can wear it with almost any make up and shoe combination, and the open back keeps it fun, interesting, and unique despite the neutral color. The dress came on time clean with no wrinkles, and returning was super easy. Would definitely rent again!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Age: 36
December 22, 2015
Best. Dress. Ever.
I can't describe how sexy this dress made me feel. It was just perfect for the event. Super flattering and tons of compliments. I would highly recommend this dress.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 22, 2015
Sparkly dress for a special night
I really wanted to love this dress but a couple of things fell short for me: Cons: - this dress is not optimal for a pear or hourglass figure. I have a very small waist and more curvy around my hips. This dress felt very tight around my hips and much more loose around my waist in both the 2 and 4; neither were an optimal fit - pretty short. I felt myself adjusting throughout the night - the fabric around my arms felt pretty tight and enhanced some not so pretty areas Pros: - can't beat the color, it's magical - the back is divine, low cut but not plunging Overall: This dress will always be memorable because I wore it the night I was engaged, however, I did feel pretty self conscious throughout the night
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 21, 2015
Sexy, but leaves some to the imagination!
I wore this dress to a winter fraternity formal and received so many compliments! I loved how the dress had the sexy back, but I still was conservative! This dress runs very small, so I ended up using the size 2 I thought I wouldn't need. The 0 size fit fine, but it was quite tight and short, so I opted for the large size, which didn't fit as well, but was longer and looser (which was better for dancing). I felt amazing in this dress and had a great experience with RTR! Definitely will rent again!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 21, 2015
It was a little on the short side and I am on 5'4. It was perfect for my company holiday party!
It was a little on the short side and I am on 5'4. It was perfect for my company holiday party! I received compliments all night long. It was classy in the front and sexy in the back! Would definitely rent again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 39
December 21, 2015
Company Christmas party. Easy to dance the night away, moved great!
Loved this dress! Fit great, looked great. Received lots of compliments. Make sure to wear a strapless/backless bra or tape.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 29
December 20, 2015
Fun and fancy!
The dress was fun! I wore it to The Nutcracker and enjoyed the coverage on the front with the low cut surprise on the back. It was also really comfortable!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
December 20, 2015
Loved this dress. I wore it to my rehearsal dinner and got so many compliments.
Fit perfectly
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 18, 2015
Beautiful dress but so so so short. It worked well with tights for winter!
A little too short for me (I'm 5'10") but worked well with tights for winter. Great color for blondes. And the open back is so cute!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
4 / 37
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited Bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×