Slate & Willow

Madeline Sheath

$40 – $60 rental ?
$395 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Sweet and just a little sassy! This beautiful lace overlay dress by Slate & Willow is a go to style for all your cocktail party needs. Really make it shine with Whiting and Davis' Silver Lattice Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - open back provides minimal support in bust area
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn without a bra. We recommend fashion tape.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - open back provides minimal support in bust area
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn without a bra. We recommend fashion tape.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Silver Lace (63% nylon, 32% metallic) Cap sleeves. Crew neck. Open back. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 33.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

978 reviews

Fit
Small 63
True to Size 763
Large 90
Photos 813
Chloe
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 15, 2014

My older cousin's wedding was beautiful and so much fun

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I did love this dress, though the back does gape. I bought fashion tape which helped, though.
Janne
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 15, 2014

Perfect dress for my sorority's formal!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It looks tight, but it is really roomy especially with the open back. The sequins and the color made it perfect for a night out!
Crystal
Top Contributor
Age: 27
Oct 16, 2014

I wore this dress for my engagement party, I got SO MANY compliments! It was a big hit

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The dress has a stunning sequin-esque print. Then you turn around and the open back is a show stopper! I typically wear a 2-4 but only the 0 was available. I wore spanx and a sticky bra (34D) and it fit like a glove!
Camberly
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 16, 2014

Classy dress with a sexy twist

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This is by far my favorite dress I've rented so far. The fit was perfect and it was so comfortable. In photos it looks white but it's not. It is a nude with a silver lace overlay. It has an open back which was nice. I got compliments all night. Would totally rent again
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 16, 2014

Favorite dress yet!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for a new years party in downtown Chicago and it was PERFECT! One of my favorite dresses I've ever worn and I would wear it again if I owned it. It fits perfectly, I loved the sleeves they were super flattering. It's the perfect combination of classy in the front and sassy in the back and it doesn't go unnoticed! I would recommend it to anyone!! Love, love, love!
Natalie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105 lbs
Oct 19, 2014

Fantastic, fun, and classy dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I got so many compliments on this dress! It is a lot more structured than I was expecting (which was great!). I saw some reviews that suggested tape, but I really didn't think it needs it assuming it fits correctly. I felt lovely.
Meg
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 19, 2014

I got so many compliments on this dress!!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was the perfect fit. It is definitely short. Kept having to pull it down.
Susan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Oct 20, 2014

Better in person than in photos!!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit perfectly. Was worried about the color and length for a wedding but it was ideal! Got lots of compliments on it and loved wearing it. Was sad to return it!!
Stephanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 21, 2014

This dress is just sexy enough to be awesome without being over the top

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this for my rehearsal dinner. While initially bummed that it wasn't more white, I loved how classy it was while also being sexy. The back is awesome and surprised everyone! The material is thick enough that it is not uncomfortable to not wear a bra. You could probably even do without nipple covers.
Ashley
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 21, 2014

Fits true to size! Received so many compliments:)

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I absolutely loved this dress! I wore it to a friend's gorgeous wedding in downtown Boston. I typically wear a size 2 dress, although I ordered both a 2 and 4 (just in case). I ended up wearing the size 2, but because of my smaller bust, I probably could've gone with a 0. It was a bit loose in the chest area and shoulders so I used fashion tape on the back of the shoulders. Other than that, the dress was stunning and I'm extremely pleased with my first RTR experience!
Erin
Usually wears: 0
Age: 17
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 109 lbs
Oct 21, 2014

I wore this dress for my senior homecoming and it was by far my favorite dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved the fit of this dress. The dress has no back, and is thick enough to not wear a bra, but I wore an adhesive bra and it worked just fine! The dress has silver in it, and you can accessorize with silver or even nude. I wore silver shoes and pearl jewelry.
alexandra
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 22, 2014

Perfect rehearsal dinner dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered both the 2 and 4 for my rehearsal dinner. I ended up wearing the 4 because the 2 was riding up a little in the thigh area. The dress has gorgeous detail and looks fabulous in pictures. It has a thick lining making it wearable on chilly nights. Be aware the back is open so you will have to go braless or wear a backless bra. I wore a backless bra because my chest was too small to fill out the 4. The only reason I am giving it 4 stars is because there was a little bit of wear and tear. I would absolutely wear this dress again and would most definitely recommend it!
Becca
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 22, 2014

Beyond Amazing!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for my rehearsal dinner for my wedding and I did not stop getting compliments on it all night. I felt gorgeous and I do not think I have ever worn a dress I have felt better in. I will be renting this dress again. It was perfect!
Hallie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 24, 2014

Many compliments!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The material is sturdy and thick. I loved the metallic thread in the dress. It accommodated my bust quite well with a backless design. I did use large pieces of fashion tape on my shoulders so the dress wouldn't fall off while dancing.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Bust size: 34C
Oct 25, 2014

Great dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress is great! Little big in the waist if curvy figure, but overall good fit. Got lots of compliments.
MMH
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117 lbs
Oct 26, 2014

This dress was amazing! Got so many compliments on it from all the wedding guests!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore a Ultralite NuBra that I ordered from Amazon. Worked perfectly.
Kelsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117 lbs
Oct 26, 2014

Perfect fit - true to size. Color is great for a wedding, as it was a concern from pictures online

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this dress for an October wedding in fall. This dress is a great material, very thick, so I didn't need to wear a stick on bra. I didn't even need to try on the second size as the zero was a perfect fit. The sleeves wanted to slide a little bit when I danced - which was the only issue. Also, the lace/shiny overlay on the shoulder had a slight tear, but it was not noticeable at all. The color was perfect - it was a light tan/beige with a silvery lace/shiny overlay. Didn't conflict with the brides white dress. Another great rent from RTR!
Natalia
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 27, 2014

The moment I put on this dress, I felt like a million bucks. It was a stunning dress. Fell in love.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress looks exactly like the one in the picture but a little bit more flashy with the silver. When you put this dress on, get ready for the compliments. The material was nice and comfortable/it moved with you. The great thing about this dress is that it fits well, it's super classy, you can sit and dance in it, and it makes you feel so confident and beautiful. The CON about this dress: That I had to send it back. I'm not even exaggerating, this dress is the real deal. And don't worry, it won't outshine the bride either :)
Nora
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 17
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134 lbs
Oct 27, 2014

I loved this dress! It fit amazingly, and I got so many compliments.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Pros: beautiful, not too short, not too tight Cons: My only complaint is that the open back made the sleeves fall off occasionally. Otherwise, perfect!
Mackenzie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 27, 2014

Perfect dress for a birthday party!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Loved this dress & received tons of compliments! I tried on both the 4 and the 6, and while both fit, the 6 fit slightly better. The dress has great stretch and the low back adds a fun touch. Highly recommend!
Kristy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126 lbs
Oct 29, 2014

Loved the silver detailing on this dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I put a belt with it bc I felt like the waist needed defined.
RTR Customer
Oct 29, 2014

I felt absolutely beautiful in this dress. I thought I was the beauty of the ball.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was perfect and classy. It wasn't too revealing but sexy.
Taylor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Full Bust
Oct 29, 2014

Gorgeous! I've never received so many compliments on a dress!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It's short but not too short. Fit true to size.
Anna
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Oct 30, 2014

Loved the dress! Very comfortable material.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Tight around the shoulders, shorter than expected, but very comfortable. Not a stretchy material
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 30, 2014

Sparkled all day and night!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I ended up letting a friend borrow this dress as I found an alternative option. She said this dress was very comfortable and easy to dance all night in. I got many compliments on the sequin! The only reason I give it 4 stars is because the inseam rides up which I had to continually pull back down. I wore a 10 when I'm normally a 12 because the 12 was too big on the shoulders. You can go bra less with this dress with no problems! I would recommend this dress for any fancy occasion.
Jackie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118 lbs
Nov 1, 2014

Cute, nothing exciting

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore this dress for my brother-in-law's rehearsal dinner. The dress was short and loose on me. Very stiff and heavy material; thankfully it was worn in PA in May, so that wasn't really an issue. Overall the dress was pretty, it just wasn't as exciting or memorable as I was hoping for.
Maile
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123 lbs
Nov 2, 2014

Rented for an October wedding in NY and decided against it!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is AMAZING! All the reviews before me are spot on including the fact I didn't need a bra (34D)! It was my personal opinion to opt out of wearing this on my friends wedding day for a couple reasons. 1-I felt it was too close to cream vs. beige for a wedding. You never want to be "that girl". I ordered a 0 and 2 and there was a significant difference in color between the two. Size 2 was darker and may have been more color appropriate but was more lose in the midsection so I went with the 0. 2-I felt the sequins were too eye catching and did not want to have a flashier dress than the bride. Soooo glad I made that decision! I chose to wear this dress to a fine dining dinner in Manhattan. Got compliments and stares all night long and my boyfriend absolutely LOVED it.
Camila
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 2, 2014

I received so many compliments!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved it so much, I almost didn't want to return it. It's comfortable to wear. Also key, it photographs very well. I'd rent it again!
Caroline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 3, 2014

Perfect for a holiday party!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress is so hot! I wore it to a company Christmas party with silver strappy heels. The dress is thick and body hugging so no need to wear a bra. Only a few pieces of dress tape necessary to keep everything where it should be. I got a million compliments on this dress.
RTR Customer
Nov 4, 2014

I didn't want to send this dress back!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was absolutely perfect for a wedding. It fit perfectly and looked great all night. Before I rented this dress I was a little worried about the open back, but it wasn't even necessary to wear a bra because the dress was right enough in the bust. It was the perfect length and very flattering. I was hoping the dress would be off white from the other reviews and they were right, the dress was more of a tan color and was perfect for the wedding. I definitely recommend this dress and would rent it again in a heartbeat.
Jennifer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 5, 2014

Wore it to a 1920's themed halloween party- worked out great!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The 2 was way too short, but the 4 was perfect. Not tight enough in the shoulders, so it tended to move around a lot. The back is gorgeous, however, but, with that, you cannot wear a bra. I'd recommend a thin belt at the waist.
Alex
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 121 lbs
Nov 5, 2014

Gorgeous!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this dress for my sister's wedding (I was MOH). The dress fit and looked beautiful in person, and photographed very well. I was beyond thrilled with it!
Elizabeth
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 9, 2014

Gorgeous dress and wonderful experience!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my first time using Rent The Runway and I was so excited for my dress to come. I was pleasantly surprised to have received a dress bag, two hangers, and free hair spray. The dresses were clean and smelled clean. I wore it to my sorority formal that was being held at a lounge fashioned after a speak easy. It was a big hit and everyone kept complimenting me all night. The color, shine and back of the dress were absolutely stunning! I wish that I could keep it.
Madeline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 10, 2014

Wore this for my wedding afterparty. Definitely a show-stopper in the best way :)

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Rented this for my wedding after-party. Everyone I tried it on for totally swooned. And my best friend told me to buy it immediately (I'm still considering that). It was very form-fitting on me. I have a big butt which made the bottom half of the dress fit really snug. To be honest, it felt a bit too sexy and tight for me, but the rave reviews from my friends and hubby made me confident that I had picked the right dress. Also, a final note on fit, if you are taller be aware that the dress is short. I'm 5'9" (okay, 5'10") and it was above mid-thigh. It did have a tendency to ride up as well.
Vanessa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 10, 2014

Loved the color, photographs well!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I loved the fit of this dress! i wore it for my engagement photos and it looked great. My only complaint is that the 4 was a bit short so I had to go a size up and wear the 6 (which was still kind of short) instead.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Nov 11, 2014

Beautiful dress!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was actually a replacement dress for a different one I ordered and I loved this one 10 times more!! I was a little shocked at first when I got it because I realized it had no back but when I put it on, it was perfect. This dress is perfect for a Gatsby themed wedding or any wedding at all. Very simple yet it stands out!
Ressa
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 13, 2014

I wore this dress to my sorority's semi formal, and it was perfect! I received so many compliments.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The color of the dress and the detailing is beautiful, and I was obsessed with the open back design! The only issues I had was over the course of the night the dressed stretched and the top became very loose and I would have to tug it back in place. Other than that I loved it and would definitely recommend it. I got an 8 which fit perfectly on top, but I wish it had fit a little looser on the bottom, but by the end of the night it stretched out and worked great.
jenn
Usually wears: 6
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
Nov 14, 2014

Absolutely amazing dress!

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress as a bridesmaid dress for a fall wedding. Fit true to size and extremely comfortable. I received compliments all night!
Jessica
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 15, 2014

Amazing dress for my rehearsal dinner.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I felt great in this dress! It was just the right amount of sexy. Would love to wear it again.
Meg
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126 lbs
Nov 16, 2014

...

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Overall great dress. Did feel that I had to pull in down at times and the shoulders would move a lot because of the open back BUT I received tons of compliments and would rent it again. Wore with 3 pearl bracelets, pewter clutch, gold/grey earrings, and burgundy pumps.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×