Rent the Runway

Slate & Willow

Madeline Sheath

$60 rental
$395 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Sweet and just a little sassy! This beautiful lace overlay dress by Slate & Willow is a go to style for all your cocktail party needs. Really make it shine with Whiting and Davis' Silver Lattice Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - open back provides minimal support in bust area
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn without a bra. We recommend fashion tape.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - open back provides minimal support in bust area
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn without a bra. We recommend fashion tape.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Silver Lace (63% nylon, 32% metallic) Cap sleeves. Crew neck. Open back. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 33.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

1036 reviews

Fit
Small 68
True to Size 790
Large 94
Photos 857
Hollie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 10, 2014

Classy yet sexy dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I chose this dress for my elopement. I wanted something that was classy yet not overly formal. This dress perfectly suited the occasion. I made an art deco style headpiece to accompany my dress, as well as a pair of earrings from express. I adored this dress, and it was a great fit for the day. The dress fit well enough and was true to size. My only complaint was that it was VERY difficult to keep the back taped down which ruined quite a few of my photos that day. If you are too curvy, I wouldn't recommend this dress. I have hips, which would cause the dress to bunch up a bit more than I would like if I wasn't very careful with my movements. Otherwise, it was a fabulous dress and I loved it!
Madison
Age: 24
Apr 18, 2014

The perfect dress and no stress involved!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great fit and so comfortable.
Kristy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Aug 17, 2014

Loved this dress so much I rented it twice

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fits very well. No bra needed. Stretches out just enough throughout the night to be comfortable but still fitted
Livia
Top Contributor
Age: 21
Aug 18, 2014

First and best rental!!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Nothing to complain, fit great and looked great. Absolutely loved it and got compliments all might. Use fashion tape for the back though!
Jill
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 2, 2014

Beautiful Dress with backless cutout received compliments all night!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was beautiful and elegant, perfect for a wedding. At first I was worried about the color being too white for a wedding but it worked out great. The fit was true to size but ran a little larger than I expected. The sleeves slid down pretty easy and I had more room in the belly area than I expected but it didn't really matter all the much for the whole overall looked. I paired it with nude pumps and received compliment a all night long. People loved the back cut out, and it really made the dress is my opinion. If I had to say a negative thing about the dress it would be that you could tell it has been rented a lot. The sleeves were getting a bit tarnished and the fabric was pulled a bit. Over all, I would highly recommend this dress!
Rose
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Apr 6, 2015

Sexy but classy

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I wore this for a special dinner out with my husband. Because of the low back I couldn't wear a bra but it worked with some stand alone cups fine. He really liked the dress. The short length makes it sexy but the style is classy.
Megan
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 98 lbs
Apr 8, 2015

Great backless dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit well and I got a lot of compliments on it, especially the open back! If I wore it again I might get some tape so the back fit a little better, but it was fine without it.
Ashton
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 8, 2015

I wore this dress for my rehearsal dinner!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I am 5'2 and 127lbs. I am thicker on my bottom half and smaller up top. I wore a size 6 in the dress and it fit perfect. I loved the back of the dress the most. I bought a pearl/nude/silver pump and it went with the dress well.
Ali
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 8, 2015

This dress is beautiful! I wore it to a fraternity formal and I got so many compliments.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I'm usually a 6, but I could wear the 4 without a bra because of the tightness and the thick material so I went with that. It was definitely short, but I'm 5'2 so that wasn't an issue for me. The color is definitely more nude/champagne than white/cream
Elizabeth
Age: 27
Apr 9, 2015

I wore this dress for my bachelorette and it was perfect!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It's classy and sexy at the same time! The short length + lace + v-cut back = Winner.
Liz
Age: 17
Apr 9, 2015

I got endless compliments and felt sparkly on the dance floor!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Party
The dress is even prettier in person and pictures enhance how glam and shiny it is. It fit well minus the back being loose- kinda hard to dance with! It made it feel like it was falling off of me and slipping off my shoulders. So so pretty other than that and would be perfect for something where you're staying relatively still.
Alex
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 9, 2015

Beautiful photoshoot!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Beautiful dress! Wish I could keep! Felt great in it, perfect length and love the open back! Love! Only con was my sleeves kept falling but would rent it again anyway! Worth it!
Abby
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 19
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 12, 2015

The dress was comfortable and makes you shine!

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented the six and the eight but went with the six because it fit much better in the chest area. I loved the dress and got tons of complements. It looks really great with a tan!
Katrina
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 12, 2015

Dress was amazing! Received so many complements!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Wedding
Dress was great except for bending over. The dress never slipped off my shoulders. It stretches and looked elegante! Everything i expected and more!
Jenny
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Apr 12, 2015

Easy to rent and fit was impeccable!! I felt beautiful!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Party
While sitting down the sleeves felt a little loose but it wasn't a big deal at all. The comfort of the dress was unbelievable!
Alyssa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175 lbs
Apr 12, 2015

Classic color/design, with a great open back.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Everyone LOVED this dress. For those over 5' 8", it is a bit short, but the lining and dress itself has a bit of weight, so it doesn't really ride up. I was able to dance all night and felt very comfortable. I also didn't need to use any fashion tape on the back, but have wider shoulders so I may recommend that you have some on hand just in case. Will definitely be on my repeat list.
NATALIE
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 13, 2015

Felt like a million bucks

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Other
Pictures do not do this dress justice. It was so beautiful! The color is more nude with silver details whereas the photos on RTR make it look more silver than it is. The dress is true to size, has a little give to it thanks to the material and is very light and comfy.
Lori
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Apr 13, 2015

Loved it!

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit well and perfect length to be short but still classy. Fabric on back moved with you but I don't think fashion tape was necessary. Wasn't crazy about the cap sleeves at first but worked great!
Beth
Top Contributor
Age: 20
Apr 13, 2015

Beautiful dress!

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was stunning! The silver accents made it stand out and the backless accent gave it the push it needed to be classy yet still sexy. I didn't have to wear a bra because the material was thick enough and that was a definite plus. The shoulders were a bit loose on me, so I had to keep them up most of the night, but other than that it was a great dress!
Emily
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132 lbs
Apr 13, 2015

Perfect for a Summer wedding!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore the size 4 and it fit perfectly. It wasn't too tight and left enough room to be comfortable. The sleeves and shimmer give it a classic look that I paired with nude heels. It was the perfect length. I got a lot of compliments throughout the night! Loved it!
Holly
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 13, 2015

Wonderful dress, easy fit.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Everything about this dress was spot on...except for the back part does droop a little like other reviews mention. It wasn't significant enough to bother trying to tape or anything but that was the only thing about the dress I didn't find appealing. Length was great. Was worried about the color with my complexion, but was pleasantly surprised. Would definitely recommend.
Chrissy
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122 lbs
Apr 14, 2015

Easy process for ordering and returning. Timely delivery. Beautiful Quality Dresses.

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Wedding
Wore the size 2. This dress fits well. Was not to short and I'm 5'5. Very comfortable. No bra needed for my 34a chest. The lace detailing and open back were so angelic.
Nicole
Age: 26
Apr 15, 2015

Glamorous and comfortable

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Party
Great dress overall, but if you're petite the back may be a little large. The sleeves of the dress kept falling down my shoulders. The dress itself is great quality, looks amazing in person and is super comfortable. The dress photographs really well, too. Great rental!
Jess
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 16, 2015

Perfect Summer's Eve wedding dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Sexy without being too slutty. For the girl that wants to feel chic and fun and show off her back. Compliments on compliments on compliments for this dress, from everyone. Like, seriously. A definite crowd pleaser.
Stasia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102 lbs
Apr 16, 2015

Sophisticated but modern, this dress was perfect!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Super comfortable! There was a little gaping around the back of the capsleeve/shoulder area, but it wasn't super noticeable. I definitely recommend this dress if you're looking for something comfortable, classy, and very flattering! I would recommend getting a couple of sizes to try, since it can be a little short.
Amber
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112 lbs
Apr 17, 2015

This was for my rehearsal dinner. It's a perfect bride to be dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I wore a 0 and this dress ran large on me, but it is very comfortable and was by no means too big to wear, but I would have preferred it to hug my curves a little bit more. I am 5'5" and it was longer on me than the model and most of the photos I saw online, but it was very classy!
Jordan
Age: 24
Apr 18, 2015

The flawless beauty of the back of the dress!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Other
I got this dress for my bachelorette party in South Beach. It was PERFECT! I felt gorgeous and all of my friends could not believe how well the dress fit me. I have absolutely no complaints. If you have a C cup or smaller I highly recommend not even bothering with any kind of backless bra. It was snug enough. The shoulders are the largest part of the dress but it wasn't a problem at all! Definitely will be renting again.
RTR Customer
Apr 19, 2015

Beautiful dress, perfect fit, my husband loved it, and so did everyone else! I felt beautiful!!

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was a perfect mixture of classy and sexy for a law-enforcement memorial charity dinner with my husband. I usually wear a size 2 and the size 2 I ordered fit me perfectly--not too tight and not too loose. Because of the backless nature of the dress, you'll either need a backless bra, or if you're comfortable enough the dress is well lined so you can go bra-less. The dress photographed beautifully, I got a ton of compliments, and I felt gorgeous in it! Also for the record, this was my first time using rent the runway and I'm officially hooked :-)
Katie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 19, 2015

GREAT dress.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Everyone (including myself) loved this dress. I loved the open back and the fabric was super comfortable. Its quite short, but not terrible!
Valerie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 20, 2015

Classy dress

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Other
Love the fit of this dress. The back was stunning. On the short side but loved it.
Nicki
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138 lbs
Apr 24, 2015

Stunning for Rehearsal Dinner!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for our rehearsal dinner and it was stunning! I got endless compliments, questions about where to get it etc.. AND I felt great in it! It's definitely shorter than I normally would wear but it bunched enough in the front that I didn't feel like it was too form fitting. I wish I could find similar dresses for every occasion that make me feel this good! VERY open back, so the right bra is key.
Ryanne
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 24, 2015

Amazing dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this for a rehearsal dinner and was worried about it being too close to white, but it's definitely not! It fits great and true to size. It was on the shorter side for me. Love the sleeves and the low back as well. So many compliments on this!
Ari
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 15
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 25, 2015

dress was beautiful!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Formal Affair
loved the fit and would suggest fashion tape for the back. I was a little bit anxious about it coming in on time but RTR didn't fail me. wore this to my prom. silver jewelry and accessories matches well!
Heather
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 25, 2015

Beautiful Dress

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a formal party. This was not my first choice but RTR customer service was excellent and overnighted this to me. Fits true to size and it's a tad bit short so ladies be careful bending over. Got lots of compliments would totally rent again.
Aniella
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Apr 26, 2015

Perfect fit, lovely details!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I absolutely love the cap sleeves and low, square back on this dress-- it's very original while still delicate and subtle. I had no trouble, personally, with the sleeves slipping off or the back gapping, and I danced the swing in it happily! I will definitely be renting this again. (I was on the fence about buying a NuBra for this occasion-- some people may prefer to do that, as the color is light and it's not a super thick material. I felt fine in the end without one, though.)
Alicia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 26, 2015

Class and sparkle

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Party
Loved the open back of this dress and the sparkle of the fabric. I wore this for my bachelorette is Vegas and it was so comfortable! I would definitely rent again.
CB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 27, 2015

loved this dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Great fit - didn't wear a bra but wore petals and felt perfectly fine. I also wore spanks and it was long enough to cover them (except when i raised my hands - then you could see the spanks). Would definitely rent again.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Apr 28, 2015

Comfy and chic!!

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Party
This dress was perfect, from the fit to the material. I was comfortable all night. Easy to dance in and extremely complimenting. Only con is that a traditional bra is a definite no and if you have a larger bust like myself I would suggest something to help give them a lift, although I didn't wear anything that did so. This dress is an overall MUST for a sexy yet classic look that you can dress up or edge out!
Johnnie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127 lbs
Apr 28, 2015

Beautiful Dress!

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Other
Beautiful dress with an amazing back. The 4 was slightly large in the chest area so I went with the 2. The only con with the dress was that it was pretty short when I sat down.
Rong
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 17
Bust size: 34A
Apr 28, 2015

Impressed everyone!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Formal Affair
1. Fashion tape is a must for the back. 2. For pictures pull down the inner lining to prevent the appearance of wrinkles. 3. The color is a little darker/more grey than you might expect, but I looks gorgeous anyways. 4. I'd recommend nude heels with a delicate silver/gold bracelet. Makeup can be more natural and muted bc the dress itself receives a lot of a attention. 5. No need to wear a bra! I really liked this dress. I wore it to prom and this was a fun, yet still elegant alternative to the usual heavy gown. Don't hesitate to rent this one - you'll love it for sure! :)
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×