Rent 3 for 1 Valentine's Day weekend! Use code 3FOR1VDAY16. DETAILS

Valid on rentals only. You will pay the cost of the most expensive item. Adding a free backup size will count as 1 of the 3 items. Offer expires 2/13/16 at 11:59pm EST and delivery dates must be 2/5/16 through 2/13/16. Promo code cannot be used on existing orders or be combined with other offers or gift cards. Enter promo code at checkout.

Madeline Sheath

$60 rental
$395 value

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Sweet and just a little sassy! This beautiful lace overlay dress by Slate & Willow is a go to style for all your cocktail party needs. Really make it shine with Whiting and Davis' Silver Lattice Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - open back provides minimal support in bust area
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn without a bra. We recommend fashion tape.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 14.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - open back provides minimal support in bust area
WAIST: Fitted - dress fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn without a bra. We recommend fashion tape.
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Silver Lace (63% nylon, 32% metallic) Cap sleeves. Crew neck. Open back. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 33.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share
1343 reviews
Fit
Large106
True to Size936
Small84
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
September 28, 2015
Lovely dress! Works well for petite. (I am on left)
My friend rented same dress for a wedding. She was 5'10 and it was too short on her. Dress was not uncomfortable and got so many compliments. Wore this for a January wedding in Richmond VA. Paired with a Mink.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104lbs
September 27, 2015
Great dress... would definitely rent again!
This was actually supposed to be my backup dress, but a couple days before my event I was notified that my 1st pick would not be available. Loved this dress though so it worked out! I got many compliments throughout the night & my favorite part was the open back. I was nervous about the color being too light for a wedding, but it's a true beige color with silver overlay so it was perfect. I'm only 5'4" and this dress was very short on me so not sure if it would be the best option for taller girls, unless that's the look you're going for. Also, I'm normally a size 00 or 0 so my only complaint was that even with the size 0 it was not as fitted in the waist area as I would have liked (not as fitted as on the model in the picture). Other than that it's a great dress! This was my first experience with RTR & I have to say their customer service was incredible!!! Will definitely be using RTR for future dress needs!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 24
September 27, 2015
Rent the Runway was such an easy process. I loved the dress, and so did everyone else!
The size fit perfectly! I was afraid that it would be too short but it ended up fitting just right. I was able to do the 'shout!' without giving everyone a show. I received so many compliments on this dress. I can't wait for the next event so I can rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
September 27, 2015
The dress is classy, but still has a pinch of sexy with an open back!
I rented this dress as my bridesmaid dress for a wedding. The bride wanted us all to pick our own dresses, only asking that we choose shades of gold and ivory. The dress was a perfect length and style. I loved the open back and cap sleeves. My only complaint would be the apparent wear of the dress. There was some snagging and loose threading, but that is to be expected for a slightly older style. I would hope the dress I had is close to retirement as it doesn't look brand new anymore.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 27, 2015
Love love loved
This dress was absolutely adorable! There was a slight rip in the lace in the back, but you could barely tell! I did use fashion tape on the back to hold it in place so it didn't open too much, but it wasn't a must! Super cute rental and everyone loved it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 17
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
September 27, 2015
When I first tried on the dress and it fit perfectly!
I rented this dress for my senior year homecoming and it was wonderful!!! I received dozens of compliments. The dress looks designer and photographs beautifully. It is true to size, and it's very comfortable. I would recommend ordering a size up, because it does get snug in the hips. I also would recommend fashion tape for the back to keep it from gaping. No bra is needed. Thank you RTR!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 25
September 24, 2015
I got several compliments on the dress.
It fits perfectly
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 32
September 24, 2015
Loved this dress!!!
I wore this for my bachelorette party and it was perfect! I wish I had gotten a picture of the back. The fit was snug, but it didn't ride up while walking. I used fabric tape on the back and the material was thick enough to go bra-less. Would def recommend!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 26
September 23, 2015
I wore this for my wedding rehearsal dinner. It fit amazing-would definitely recommend!
Loved the low back, the dress was stunning in person.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 31
September 23, 2015
Loved the subtle sparkle and the low back made it super sexy
I'm smaller on top and bigger in the hips, so I was worried about it pulling across the hips when I ordered it. It was slightly big in the shoulders, but otherwise fit perfectly and was super flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 31
September 23, 2015
All time favorite cocktail dress that I've ever worn!
Such a beautiful dress! I was hesitant of the color as I have fair skin but I loved this dress. It is so elegant and the fabric/detail is stunning in person. Comfortable to wear, easy to go backless, gorgeous cut, really great quality dress. I want to own this dress and would definitely order it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118lbs
September 22, 2015
LOVED this dress! (sounded like everyone else did too!)
loved this dress! it is definitely beige in color, and not white (for anyone afraid to wear to a wedding).. generally for me, if dresses are going to be snug they typically are in the hip/thigh region and the same was true for this dress (which was expected, as it is not a-line)... i can either wear a size 0 or 2 typically, but the 2 gave me a little more room in the lower half... the top of the size 0 did fit me a little better than the 2, but wearing the 2 still worked. my shoulders have become a bit broader from working out so i think that helped to keep the sleeves in place; i brought double sided tape with me to the wedding just in case they were slipping, but i ended up being OK throughout the evening... i ended up wearing a sticky bra because i'm not comfortable going without and i'm happy i did; i don't think it would've looked "right" in pictures without one! overall, very happy with the rental and would definitely rent this dress again
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
September 22, 2015
This dress is a complete SHOWSTOPPER!! Absolutely stunning!!
I wore this dress to my brother's rehearsal dinner. I received compliments on this dress all night long. I wear a size 8 dress typically, so I ordered a size 8 and a 10 just in case. The size 8 fit like a glove. The detail in the dress is phenomenal!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
September 21, 2015
Wasn't my favorite - see details below:
I rented this originally for my bachelorette party and ended up exchanging this dress for another one from RTR. I would have worn it if I hadn't found another one but there were a few things that turned me off from it. I ordered sizes 2 and 4 and almost wished I had gotten a 0 ,which probably would have been too tight, but the 2 was a little loose which made it keep bunching and riding up. The sleeves also made my shoulders look pretty weird - they were higher than I liked. Like I said, would have worn it if I hadn't found another one, but I know the bunching would have driven me nuts all night.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
September 21, 2015
Beautiful for the occasion. Loved the option for a backup size!
Fit extremely well! Comfortable all night long. Did not need fashion tape. Lots of compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 22
September 19, 2015
Pretty dress, lots of compliments
The dress was very very small in my chest area, and the fabric rubbed under my arm pits. I really needed a size up, but I was not able to get through to RTR (45 min hold!) overall, very pretty dress but was definitely very worn. Got lots of compliments. I would definitely suggest a size up!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Other
Age: 33
September 17, 2015
So flattering!!! Scalloped edges, tan and metallic- perfection!
I wore this to a fundraiser polo match. Back is open, you definitely can't wear a bra, but the skin shown is gorgeous! A bit on the short side, but tasteful. I probably could've rented an 8, but I was afraid it would be too short. It fits nicely at the waistline!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
September 16, 2015
I always buy dresses and never wear them more than once! This was PERFECT for the wedding!
I got SOOO many compliments! The fit was perfect. I am a 34DD and I was able to not wear a bra which is a plus because it is backless. I wore nude heels with crystals and and a small crystal clutch. It was perfect!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
September 16, 2015
This dress was beautiful and will forever be captured in our engagement photos.
I rented this dress for my engagement photos, there was some wear on the dress from it being one of the more popular ones and always being rented out. I couldn't notice this in the photos so I wasn't concerned. The dress fit perfect and looked amazing in photos.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
September 15, 2015
I wore this dress for my wedding rehearsal dinner and non-stop got compliments on it!
I was hesitant at first to try this out for my wedding rehearsal dinner dress; however, after reading so many comments I thought what the heck! Boy am I thankful I ordered this!!! I got constant compliments wearing this outfit all night! The front is very modest, has a beautiful shimmer to it and the open back makes it extremely sexy. Additionally, I would agree with previous comments on this dress- bring your sticky tape for the back (thanks for the heads up on that from previous comments). I ended up using a few pieces to keep the shoulder area down in the back which tends to flap open. Otherwise, no other problems! I ordered both a size 6 and 8, knowing that I most likely would fit the 8 because I wear that size normally. The 8 was PERFECT, just the right length, and wasn't too tight to get into! Felt like all other dresses I put on in my size! Would highly recommend for a bride to wear for a big event- bridal shower or rehearsal dinner!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
September 15, 2015
Totally adorable! Comfortable and stylish!
The fit was good besides it was a little big in the back and upper shoulders where it is open, I think I could have gone a size down. Other than that it was really comfortable and I received a lot of compliments! I do recommend it! It's perfect for a wedding, or as I did I wore it for my wedding rehearsal and dinner.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 34
September 14, 2015
Friends and Z
Very happy with the dress and smooth transaction! :) I will defiantly be using Rent the Runway for future events!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 14, 2015
Gorgeous and comfortable!
I wore this dress to a friends wedding and received tons of compliments! This dress is even better looking in person and the fabric is very soft. I was torn on which size to order because I go back and forth between a size 2 or a 4 depending on the style/cut, so I order them both. Both dresses fit; the 4 was a tad longer but it was a bit too loose up top and the back would gap open when I moved my arms. I have a small chest so the 2 fit much better and I didn't have any gaps in the back. The dress is a bit short so may not be as comfortable for someone who is taller. Since the back is completely open you do need a stick on bra, or to go without. I ended up wearing silver ankle strap sandals and silver jewelry, but my nude pumps looked great as well.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
September 13, 2015
Never gotten so many compliments on a dress
I loved this dress! I felt beautiful and sexy in it. It fit perfectly beyond having to tape it. You definitely can't wear a bra with it so be prepared if you're on the larger side to not be perky haha if I had to wear it again I would buy the jelly's. Overall I would highly recommend this to anyone going to a wedding
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 12, 2015
Super comfortable. Little short.
Loved everything about this dress. Size 4 was a little short for my taste. Worn size 6.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
September 8, 2015
Amazing dress!
Such a beautiful dress- I received a million compliments. Definitely out of my comfort zone for shortness and bare back, but it was comfortable, fit great and had beautiful detailing.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 39
September 7, 2015
Great dress for summer wedding!
Good fit. Not my favorite rental. Need to watch tan line in back with open back. And you could move in it contrary to some of the reviews.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
September 6, 2015
This dress is the reason why I love RTR!
This was a beautiful dress! Usually I am a 4-6 but I ordered it so late an 8 was all that was available. The top was a little big for me but I'm pear shaped. Also, the fabric has some stretch if you have a tush (like me) and you're concerned about it. I would order your typical size. I got compliments all night and in case you're worried, it's definitely not as white as it looks in the model photo and great for a wedding!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 26
September 5, 2015
fit like a glove, felt so sexy.
a little short.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Other
September 3, 2015
Wore this dress for my backyard wedding
Definitely need to tape the back. It's a little short but still looked great.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Other
Age: 32
September 1, 2015
Just what I was looking for!
I wore this dress for my rehearsal dinner. I had searched high and low for something church appropriate but still pretty and fun. The dress is a little shorter than I expected (and I'm on the short side) but didn't ride up. The back is out but there's enough material on both sides to hide the bra tabs if you wear something adhesive. I would definitely recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
September 1, 2015
Gorgeous dress that was comfortable and sexy
I only ordered the 6 but I may have been able to fit the 4 as the shoulders were a little big and would slide down from time to time. The dress is short, but not inappropriately so. I loved the fact that it was backless and I always wear a bra so I was worried about not wearing one - it was totally fine. The material is thick and keeps you in place. Would definitely rent again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 113lbs
August 31, 2015
I wore this dress to my Bachelorette Party in NYC!
The fit was perfect on my 5'2" frame. It was flattering and very comfortable! I received a ton of compliments -- it was the perfect dress to celebrate my wedding with all of my closest friends and family. The only thing that I didn't like was the three different layers of material, the closest one riding up occasionally. Otherwise, it was a great look!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
August 31, 2015
KNOCK OUT dress! I felt beautiful!
I hosted an event and wanted to have a knock out dress. It fit great and I felt beautiful, sexy and classy! It was short and showed off my legs but not too short. Love that it is backless- and I didn't have to wear a bra. The size 4 fit perfect. I wear between a 4 and 6. I am 5.5 and 130lbs. I recommend it!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 29
August 30, 2015
I loved this dress! I wore it for my rehearsal dinner.
Fit true to size, open back, comfortable!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 27, 2015
Gorgeous dress!
I loved this dress! I rented it for my bachelorette party. When I received it was a little skeptical because I thought it was too shiny. Then I put it on and fell in love! I wouldn't change a single thing about it. I am 5'3, 118lbs, 32D. The 0 fit really snug, but I felt more comfortable in the 2.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
August 27, 2015
I wore this dress for my wedding rehearsal and it was perfect! So comfortable and flattering!
Comfortable, flattering material, did not need a bra.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 21
August 26, 2015
Compliments all night
Fit perfectly. Ended up being a little short but it wasn't too bad. Would definitely rent again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 25, 2015
Fun and flirty
Loved the open back of the dress! The material was much heavier than I thought it would be. The lace detail at the hemline was a little ratty but not noticeable to anyone but me. I paired this dress with chunky silver bangles also from RTR (not pictured). The dress comes up pretty short at the hemline but overall a cute dress for my fiance's friend's wedding.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 26
August 25, 2015
Dress is super flattering and pretty.
The dress fit perfectly and was super flattering. However, up close I could tell this dress had been worn hundreds of times. The lace design on the sleeves and bottom of the dress was so frayed there was fuzz on it. Looked good from far away.
See more reviews:
4 / 34

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×