Derek Dress

$40 rental
$370 value

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Want a dress that can easily go from day to night? Then this dress by Slate & Willow is the answer! With a super cool print and sexy open back this dress screams fun!

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Printed crepe (100% Polyester). Cap sleeves. Crew neck. Open back. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 33.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share
1231 reviews
Fit
Large40
True to Size694
Small346
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
May 28, 2016
Favorite rental yet!
The 2 was a little bit short on me, so I wore the 4. Loved this dress and got so many compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
May 25, 2016
Great little dress for a date!
I got so many compliments on this dress! It was a little bit short but not too bad - it hiked up a bit when I would sit down but otherwise I felt comfortable in it. Because of the low back I went with a stick-on bra but it wasn't too low and bra strap extenders would've worked as well. Overall it was an awesome dress and I wish I owned it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 34
Weight: 109lbs
May 25, 2016
Perfect for a day at the races!
I actually wore the size 00. Just like all the other reviews say, the dress is short! Even for me and I'm pretty short myself! It rode up a little when I walked around, but I also have a bigger bottom than the average bear so that might have been a contributing factor! The fabric was lightweight and comfortable. The dress was very flattering and I didn't have to wear a bra (I'm a 32DD). I received SO many compliments. I loved this dress and wish I owned it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
May 23, 2016
Perfect birthday celebration dress!
I wore this dress out on the town to celebrate my birthday. It ran true to size (I wore the 2 over the 4). It's definitely body-snug, and it is on the short size, but then again so am I, so it didn't bother me that much. The open back is the best part!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
May 23, 2016
Cute!
I say "runs large" because I think in terms of dress #'s this is more of a 2 or 4 (my wedding dress size), and not a 0. Having said that, I wear a 0 street size for the most part, and this fit well. I wound up not wearing this dress, as I was looking for something a little more risque for Vegas, but this was pretty great - backless and VERY short, I didn't find the shoulders to be too big or the skirt super tight. Overall seemed very comfortable, but did imagine that some tape might be necessary to keep the shoulders up in place if really moving around. The skirt did seem to ride up a bit as I tried it on, but not a price I wasn't unwilling to pay for a fun dress. :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Weight: 140lbs
May 18, 2016
Fun, flirty, different
Dress was easy to get on, a little loose up top (I could slide the dress forward off of my shoulders while it was zipped) but I think that is just the style of the dress. I got compliments all night, the colors really made me stand out. It is a very short dress so it may not be appropriate for a wedding or fancy event. I wore mine to a very casual rehearsal dinner by the pool and it worked out perfectly. The fabric is very light and thin but since there are two layers you can't see through it. Was not form fitting on me which I think made it ride up easier when I walked. I recommend for anyone looking for a (very) short, fun, pop of color, stand-out dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 38
May 16, 2016
LOVED IT
I thought it fit great! It wasn't stark white- kind almost dingy white but it was still fabulous
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
May 16, 2016
heaps of compliments ... I matched the painting behind me!
I wore a 0 since it fit my upper body better and didn't fall off my shoulders as easily, however, I have wider thighs and hips so a 2 would have fit better down there. the only issue with this dress is that you have to keep pulling it down in order to keep the shoulders up, since it has an open back. very beautiful and bright though.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
May 15, 2016
Fun, unique, standout dress!
The 0 was very tight on my belly and legs, but fit perfectly up top. The 2 was loose on top, but fit much better on the bottom half. I opted for the 2 because I felt much more comfortable in it. The open back is so fun! I wore a sticky bra and it worked out perfectly. Wish I owned this cute little dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
OO
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
May 15, 2016
It made me feel like my old self..
Made my feel like my original bday self. I always do something and look amazing for my birthday and this dress got in line with the rest. So it definitely goes down in birthday history for me..
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Other
May 15, 2016
Love It!!
Dress is very comfortable, fitted, a little be on the short side. My favorite was the open back.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
May 14, 2016
So colorful and eye catching!
I'm normally a 0 and I feel this dress was true to size. I got so many compliments the entire day/night and wish I owned this dress. Being a 34DDD, I am always for a dress I can wear without a bra!! The only downside is it will ride up!! I had to keep pulling it down anytime I was moving around. All in all, loved the dress and would definitely recommend to anyone as long as they don't mind pulling it down all the time!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 11, 2016
I wish I could buy this dress- amazing pop of color and cut! Wore it for a Derby party.
I usually wear I a size 6, but it was unavailable so I had to size up and get the 8. I decided to get the 8 because I knew the dress was on the short side (and although I'm only 5'3", I was wearing 4" heels) and I wanted to feel comfortable throughout the day. The top was pretty roomy on me as I'm already small chested, but it felt comfortable and I know the 6 would've fit perfectly. I LOVED this dress and would definitely buy it if I could find it for sale. Great color and still getting compliments. My husband loved it and was even looking online for where I can buy it. Would rent it again. Easy transaction with delivery and return.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127lbs
May 11, 2016
Super Sexy Dress, Beautiful Colors!!!
I read the reviews on this dress and was aware that it is short, but yikes!! It IS short!! It's super sexy, the colors are amazing, and if you are confident and can rock it, its worth it. I got a great reaction from my Husband! The back is completely open, so I wore a sticky bra, which worked 'fine.' The fabric is pretty thin and the hem would not lay flat, it was a little pillow-y on the bottom, and the dress kept riding up. I typically wear a 4-6, but went with the 6, (the 4 was not available-it would in, no-way have fit!!) I could have possibly worn the 8, just to add a little length! I wore it with a navy school boy blazer, and nude strappy heels, a great combo of sophisticated with the blazer on, and flirty-sexy with it off!! Overall a really pretty, eye-catching dress, with LOTS of compliments all night!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Other
Age: 28
May 11, 2016
Wore this dress for the Kentucky Derby. It was so comfortable and I got compliments on it all day!
I ordered a 4, and my normal dress size is a 2/4, but wore the 6 because it runs short for sure. Luckily the 6 was a little longer but not so large it hung or was baggy. It's got some stretch to it, so it was really comfortable all day. Absolutely loved this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
OO
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 104lbs
May 10, 2016
Perfect Kentucky Oaks dress
I wore this dress to the Kentucky Oaks. Press stopped me all day to take pictures and compliments galore. The dress fit like a glove.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
May 10, 2016
Fun dress for a Derby Party!
As always, thanks to the prior reviewers who gave tips on size. My backup wasn't available, so I crossed my fingers that the size 2 would fit, and it did. It's a snug fit with a lot of leg and a lot of back...and did I mention short? It's short. As with all my RTR rentals, I got a lot of compliments. A backless bra is definitely required. The dress did tend to ride up a little and had a weird pucker on the side near the bottom of the zipper. Also, as prior reviewers noted, the hem is not flat, which is just a little strange. But, overall, great dress and the color made it really fun - a standout among solid colored dresses at a party.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 3, 2016
A crowd favorite!
I don't think I've ever gotten more compliments than the night I wore this dress... Fun, loud, and really unique, this dress was a head turner at the summer wedding. The open back added nicely to the dress as well! And yes... it's short. I did tug at it several times throughout the night, but I was so pleased with the dress that it didn't end up bothering me all that much. I wear between a 4 and a 6, but because of a shortage of dresses, I was only able to rent the 6. Luckily, it worked out great, but I can understand why people sized up for length.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Weight: 113lbs
May 2, 2016
I received so many compliments!
I wore it to a wedding that went late into the evening and was so comfortable the entire evening. I wasn't pulling or tugging on it like you do with shorter dresses sometimes and I received so many compliments. Would absolutely rent it again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 2, 2016
Perfect dress for a spring/summer event!
Beautiful dress, but very short- I sized up to try and add length, but still felt like I was constantly pulling the dress down! Also while wearing the larger size, the shoulders would sometimes slip off. Otherwise it was a beautiful dress, and I loved wearing it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 27
May 2, 2016
Fun and flirty!
This dress fit perfectly! The material was thinner than I expected but that turned out to be great for a hot, summer night! It went perfectly with my new blue shoes and I received tons of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 30, 2016
Paint-Splatter Princess!
Rented for a High Tea Bridal Shower. I was SOO happy with this dress. I loved that the material had stretch to it so I didn't feel bound when I sat down. Although I have a small bust I wore this with a NuBra and there was no issue at all. Accessorizing was so easy because you really only need a colorful pair a shoes and maybe a delicate bracelet. My only issue was that it was very short even tho I am petit I thought It would've been a couple inches toward the knee. Overall highly recommended! I was stopped by everyone at the party to talk about my dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
April 30, 2016
I chose another dress to wear
Shoulders fit weird and rides up when you walk. Im short, and this was short on me! Colors and back are awesome, look great...but hard to wear. Size up!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
April 28, 2016
I absolutely loved this dress! The colors were perfect for a spring party event.
The material was extremely comfortable, and fit true to size. The open back was wonderful and added a nice cocktail hint to the dress. Perfect for a party or fun event!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103lbs
April 27, 2016
Great dress for a more casual wedding
I ordered this dress in 00 and 0 as some of the reviews recommended a potential size down if in-between sizes. I agree to an extent. The 00 fit me more securely on the shoulders and bust region, when compared to the 0. The 00, however, was more form fitting around the abdomen and thighs. The 0 was not loose, however, would conceal a large meal a little better. I tried on both dresses, and ultimately decided on the 00. I am a 32C, and didn't feel like I needed to wear a bra. The bottom half was a little more snug than I am used to- the dress is definitely form fitting, but not skin tight (no busted can of biscuits going on). I opted against the 0 sue to the fit in the shoulders only, if I could have had the shoulder fit of the 00 and an in-between fit in the bottom between the 0 and 00 it would have been ideal. At 5'2 the dress is short, as other reviewers have mentioned, but I never felt like it was inappropriately short for an afternoon, outside wedding in the south. I received a lot of compliments, and my boyfriend was sad that I had to return the dress (he LOVED it). In all, I loved this dress, and had a lot of fun wearing it.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Weight: 115lbs
April 25, 2016
The pattern and the back really made the dress stand out. I got several compliments!
I would recommend this dress! However, if you're tall, you may want to think twice. I am 5'4" and felt that the dress was pretty short. I'd also recommend ordering a size up. I usually wear a 0 but went with the 2 because it was tight around the butt.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 96lbs
April 24, 2016
I love this dress, it fit like a glove. I did't want to take it off and would def rent it again!
It fit very well, true to size, just make sure you have fashion tape or pasties for this dress.
Size worn:
OO
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 24, 2016
Was a beautiful trendy dress
This was a beautiful dress and fit perfectly. It was however, a little bit short and it rode up every so often.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 133lbs
April 24, 2016
I had so many compliments!
I usually wear a 6, so this size 8 was a little big up top. The back had to be taped. It was obvious that the dress had been worn several times. The white isn't a true white and there was pull on the bust. Overall the dress was fantastic! It was comfortable and I received so many complements.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 22, 2016
Gorgeous outdoor garden/gazebo wedding in Orlando!
I did not wear this dress because it was too short/slutty for my height, for a wedding (and probably any event, except maybe being super-single in vegas). My measurements are 34" x 28" x 36", and I'm 5'8", and wear 32D. The size 4 fit my top great, and the colors were pretty (though faded when the fabric stretched, kind of like cheap printed yoga pants). Probably wouldn't have Needed to wear a bra (fabric was pretty thickly lined, I don't think nipples would have shown through), but since there'd have been dancing I'd probably have worn a backless sticky bra (as it's all I had packed). BUT my bottom could have probably used a size 6 or 8, and the material felt much cheaper than I expected--- like more of a polyester-type versus the thicker structured fabric that I was expecting from a typical RTR dress. I'm only 5'8", but have a longer torso, so the bottom hem barely hit my gluteal fold. Would look much better on a petite woman as suggested. I just thought I'd try my luck with the dress since the bottom didn't look very tight on the model (who is 5'10", and I'm more average-sized). Dress on the model definitely looked more like a slight A-line dress rather than the body-con it actually turned out to be. Luckily this dress was out of the size 6 back-up size, so I was also able to order a back-up dress per RTR's policy (MSGM Ikat Wait to Dance Dress), so all turned out great! (Thank God!)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
April 20, 2016
Wore for a pink Floyd cover band concert. Fit right in.
A little too short for me
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
April 19, 2016
Loved this dress! Wish I could keep it!
The material of the dress was so soft! I ordered the 4 and 6, expecting to wear the 6, but the top half of the 6 was loose and the back was gapping. Both 4 and 6 were tight on my bottom. The 4 was a little shorter, but I felt the top fit much better. I wore the 4 and felt great in it all night!! I received compliments all night from both girls and guys about the colors on the dress, and my boyfriend loved the fit! I am 5'4" with an athletic build on top and fuller bottom. Bust size: 32B
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 18, 2016
Very fun dress!
Fits on the smaller side, but the 00 was perfect for my 5'3 110 lb frame. It is short and tight, so just be prepared for that!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
April 14, 2016
Loved the compliments from all my friends on the color, and my husband loved the extra sexy fit ;)
I normally wear a 4, but to give me a little extra length I wore the 6. It is a nice stretchy fabric which helped it not ride up to much, but did have to pull it down a few times when I was dancing. All in all beautiful dress! Feels short but doesn't photograph short :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 111lbs
April 14, 2016
So many compliments! Definitely draws in attention but I loved it!
It runs short so I found myself pulling the dress down a bit on the dance floor, but the fit was as described and I was overall really happy with it!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 33
April 13, 2016
LOVED it!
The print on this dress was awesome. It's the best dress I've ever rented.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 11, 2016
great! Sexy, classy and edgy.
I didn't have to wear a bra with this backless dress. No tape or cups either. The fabric worked well enough that I could go braless
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
April 7, 2016
Beautiful, fun dress
Great dress - I have to say if you are going to be moving around/dancing for the night you may want a different dress. I was constantly re-adjusting because it kept twisting and riding up. Beautiful dress and I received so many compliments on it! I had the size 2 and size 4, the 2 fit but was snug. The size 4 was too wide at the shoulders and with the open back I was worried I'd constantly be pulling at my sleeves.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 7, 2016
I was so impressed with this service. It was even easy to return in Sunday!
I loved this dress and received so many complements. I was worried that it would be a little short but it was about finger tip length so It fit perfect! No complaints.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 131lbs
April 5, 2016
Very fun dress
The dress I originally ordered was too large and there were no smaller sizes left so I ended up with this dress. I was much more pleased with it then I thought! I got a ton of complements and it was very flattering on. My only complaint is that it was VERY short (which is rare for me!) for the wedding party I was at. If the six would have been available, I think it would have been more appropriate in length but this one still looked good-just had to pull it down a lot!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 31

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×