Slate & Willow

Derek Dress

$30 – $50 rental ?
$370 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Want a dress that can easily go from day to night? Then this dress by Slate & Willow is the answer! With a super cool print and sexy open back this dress screams fun! Pair with equally colorful accessories like Kenneth Jay Lane’s Play Dress Up Cocktail Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Printed crepe (100% polyester). Cap sleeves. Crew neck. Open back. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 33.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

829 reviews

Fit
Small 282
True to Size 497
Large 25
Photos 573
Danielle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 22, 2014

Perfect!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Great dress, short but the higher neck line makes it appropriate! Amazing material that is soft/silky, stretchy, and thick enough to make everyone look like a rockstar! I wore it to a Vegas Bachelorette party and was very comfortable all night. I wore it with a spanx style similar to "boy shorts" bc it does ride up slightly when dancing, so wanted to fully cover my booty underneath lol. The back drops down to about just above your natural waist line, so make sure your undergarments account for this! :) Rent this dress, it is amazing!
Tiffany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170 lbs
Sep 29, 2014

So beautiful

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Stretchy and comfortable! A little short
Danielle
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 1, 2014

Loved the open back!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The sleeves made the top a little awkward so had to wear the smaller size . It does fit tight at hips and I am not a fan of the hemline. You have to keep adjusting it. Overall the dress was pretty. If I had more time I think I would have returned for something else. But everyone else seemed to love it.
CJ
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 2, 2014

I wore this to a Hawaiian themed engagement party for one of my best friends.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I ordered this dress in a size 4 and 6 and both fit since the material is very stretchy. I ended up wearing the size 6 and flat sandals with it because the dress was very short for this occasion. It would be a fun wear for a cocktail night on the town!
Alison
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Oct 5, 2014

Sexy Bachelorette Dress

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore this dress for my bachelorette party and felt super sexy in it! Received many compliments in it and would absolutely recommend this dress.
Allison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 129 lbs
Oct 5, 2014

Beautiful dress for a wedding on the bay!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was beautiful, I got so many compliments! It is definitely on the shorter side, but still appropriate for a fun evening wedding.
Sandra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Oct 6, 2014

Girls night, celebrating my Mom's birthday! :)

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
The 10 fit great everywhere except that it was too short. So short that I wore the larger size for the added length, which was still a tad too short because the dress rides up when you walk. Other than that the dress was great. Love the style and the color. Got tons of compliments and a few WOWs. :)
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Oct 10, 2014

Bunched up constantly

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
It was a pretty dress - lots of compliments, but I felt like I spent the whole night pulling it down. No fun. Maybe would work better on a stick skinny lady.
Samantha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 10, 2014

Pretty in pictures, tough to feel comfortable

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was really nervous about getting this dress. I wanted to rent it for a long time but the other renters' pics and reviews gave me some mixed feelings. I am relatively short and thin, so I was hoping to not have the same frustration with length that others had, but I didn't dance or walk around much at this wedding because the dress was just too short and tight around my legs. The fabric was also a lot stretchier and cheap-feeling/looking than I expected. I said this dress fits "True to size," but in reality the bottom was too small and the top was too large. I loved the back but was too cold all night to take my sweater off. I did get lots of compliments though!
Smilova
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 180 lbs
Oct 11, 2014

Very quick shipping! Great quality and presentation.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit was amazing. Very flattering but was short. Go a size up if you can. But besides that loved it and got so many compliments.
Kelsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117 lbs
Oct 12, 2014

Great dress for outdoor wedding!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Ordered dress for outdoor wedding in October (in Florida) - so it felt like a summer wedding. Good material as it doesn't show sweat and is very stretchy. Tended to ride up a little when walking. I really needed a size 1, as the 2 gaped in the back and shoulders wouldn't stay up and the 0 was a bit right thru the hips. Ended up going with the 0 to keep the shoulders up. If it was any shorter, I'd say not appropriate length for the wedding. All in all, another great rent from RTR!
Kayla
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Oct 12, 2014

This dress stood out in the best way. Different but still classy

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Overall loved it would definitely wear it again, had other girls asking to borrow it. It was pretty short, I really had to pull it down when I was sitting. Although when walking and dancing it didn't ride up any more than most dresses do
Elisa
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155 lbs
Oct 13, 2014

Got great compliments! Showed off my legs and hid my tummy :)

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress has great color, has stretch so it gives a little, but it's short. I originally rented it for a gala but the length wasn't appropriate for the occasion. However it was perfect for a night out in Vegas! I would rent this again!
Morgan
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 13, 2014

I LOVE this dress! Would rent again in a heartbeat!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
There are a few drawbacks. As others have noted, it runs small. I got my usual size, 6 and an 8 and even the 8 was a bit on the snug side, I would've loved to try the 10 as well. It is SHORT! I don't mind showing off my legs, but it did ride up some while walking and I'd have to tug it down. The fabric is very light and breezy feeling, don't expect the dress to do any work holding in your belly (I have 5 kids, this is definitely a thing for me) if you want tummy control, go for spanx, but they need to be really short in the leg as well because of the length. Overall, I loved the dress and it was perfect for the cocktail party/reception that we attended. I loved the bright colors and the fit around the torso and shoulder area. The low back is sexy but not so low that your undies or spanx show. I'd buy this dress if I had more places to wear it to!
larke
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 13, 2014

Fabulous and fun!! In love with this dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I wanted to keep this dress because I loved it that much! I wore this dress to a fancy post-wedding brunch on a fall afternoon. The dress was comfortable and beautiful. I paired bright blue pumps and a cropped blazer with it making it appropriate for this event. I received many compliments and overall couldn't be happier with this RTR experience. The only con is that because it is a short dress, it rides up a bit and needs to be pulled back down frequently.
Meg
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Oct 15, 2014

I love the colors, the pop and open back to this dress!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
It definitely is short. I almost would have preferred a size 6 for potential extra length.
RFT
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132 lbs
Oct 16, 2014

We had a really great gig and the dress received lots of compliments!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
i've been a fan of rent the runway for a few months now and had several successful rentals for all my pre-wedding and wedding festivities. So when it came time to select outfits to wear for my gigs with my all-female 80s cover band, I thought why not try some new outfits? I don't like repeating outfits for gigs and I also prefer not to wear my own street clothes. You have got to give them a show! I thought this dress was super cute with all the different colors which would make it fun for an 80s theme party even though the cut and shape are pretty modern. The back is very sexy and I was able to wear it with a Victoria's Secret stick on bra with no problem. just like everyone else, the dress rode up on me. The only difference is, I had a guitar in my hands all night and I couldn't free up my hands while I had a whole room watching me as the skirt started to ride up throughout the night… otherwise I would post an action shot on stage but I will save that for later and just post a candid with my band after I was successfully able to pull the skirt down. :-)
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Oct 19, 2014

Such a fun dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved how bright and colorful it is! Definitely a #yowza kind of dress. My husband loved it! I'm 5'3" so it was an ok length on me. But if I were any taller, this dress would be too short for a wedding. It had a body con fit from the waist down, so definitely form fitting. Either way, a super fun and unique look!
Daraicohen
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 122 lbs
Oct 19, 2014

It was perfect- great fit, flattering, well made and comfortable. Received compliments all night!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
A little on the short side but you can work it with the right confidence! Body-fitting but so flattering and comfortable. Did not have issue with my D size boobs- used a strapless bra that allowed me to wrap the straps below the back opening. RECOMMEND!
Emily
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 23, 2014

coaching some roller derby in a classy dress: priceless.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
the 2 and the 4 really didn't have too much of a difference except in the shoulders. mine are relatively narrow, so i went with the 2. it was short, yes, but not horribly so. i also opted for one of those stick on bra things, because i'm not the kind of girl who can pull off not wearing one. everyone told me i looked amazing! i definitely recommend this dress.
Heidi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Oct 24, 2014

Loved the pop of color and open back!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was right in between rye 4 and 6 and ended up wearing to size 4. The open back was super cute and the pop of color was perfect for this summer wedding!
jessica
Age: 29
Oct 24, 2014

This dress not only fit great, but I felt amazing in it

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Great looking and fitting dress, but it is quite short. I didn't have much of an issue of it riding up though. Incredibly comfortable too.
Hannah
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 26, 2014

Perfectly unique!!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
This dress was amazing! I rented it for my senior homecoming and it was perfect for the occasion. It was fun and unique and it fit like a glove. The material was soft and stretchy so I didn't feel like I couldn't eat all night. The back is much more rectangular than it looks in the photo, which made for a modern style. Also, the colors are very vibrant. I chose cobalt blue shoes to pair with the dress and it made for the perfectly fun spin on the dress (I also had red shoes as an option but the blue shoes complimented the dress better). Being 5'9", the dress was a bit short and tended to ride up, but that is completely normal for a tighter mini dress. I usually wear a size 0-2 but was able to go with the 0 because the open back gave it a bit more room to be flexible. Overall, if I could buy this dress I most definitely would...I got compliments on it all night. LOVED it! :)
Mady Soul
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 129 lbs
Oct 27, 2014

Such a fun dress!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
I ordered this dress at the last minute for a girls trip to Chicago. It wasn't even my first choice but my firs choice wasn't available for the weekend. So I "settled" for this one. Oh my goodness, I LOVE this dress. It was such a fun dress to wear, got loads of compliments and fits so well. I was truly sad to send it back and spent the rest of the weekend googling where I could buy it!
Shalay
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Oct 30, 2014

Celebrities complimented me!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a Hollywood party and it was PERFECT. I knew I wanted something that was a little edgy but sophisticated, that would make a statement. I achieved exactly what I was going for in this dress. When I first received it, I was a little underwhelmed. The fabric is kinda stretchy and tight around the waste, but it's nothing that a pair of Spanx couldn't help. The shoulders were big on me. I had to have perfect posture all night because if I bent my shoulders forward, the whole top of the dress felt like it might fall off. But I completely forgot all about my concerns the moment I arrived at my event. I received so many compliments! And coming from people in the entertainment industry (and even some famous celebrities), that meant a LOT! One actress even asked me where I got it, and then said she was going to check out RTR too. Crazy!
Tracy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117 lbs
Nov 3, 2014

I received so many compliments and I felt amazing in this dress!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was gorgeous!! I was a little nervous about it being too short on me, but it worked well...when I wasn't walking around. Had to keep pulling the dress down when I was dancing, it was annoying but manageable. Loved the open back and the splashes of color! Perfect for my dads evening, outdoor Northern California wedding.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 190 lbs
Nov 5, 2014

Just had a baby 10 months ago!!!!!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress is perfect for hiding the tummy!!!! the reviews are right, i spent all night pulling it down, but received lots of compliments b/c i normally wear black. Get a size bigger.
Lauren
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128 lbs
Nov 7, 2014

Gorgeous Back

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this for my rehearsal dinner and loved it! It's bright, flirty, and the back is amazing. The dress is very short and does ride up but overall the whole look makes it worth a few adjustments.
mandie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133 lbs
Nov 12, 2014

Love it!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
The fit was kind of snug. So I had to go up a size. Went to a Katy perry concert so I thought I was a perfect dress for it. I loved the open back. But had to constantly pull the dress down all night. But I liked it for the occasion.
Kaitlin
Age: 20
Nov 13, 2014

Everyone loved my dress

Size worn: OO
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered a 0 and a 00 the 00 fit perfect and the 0 was very large on the top. It fit perfectly and I loved it!! I wish I owned this dress. I got so many compliments throughout the night. The top is tight so I didn't even need a bra.
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98 lbs
Nov 16, 2014

Received several compliments!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
Loved the colors of this dress! The shoulders ran a little wide, but the back is super cute. The length is good for petite girls like me!
Marie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117 lbs
Nov 21, 2014

Short. Sexy. Colorful. Fun.

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Party
I went for the size 2 because the sleeves kept falling off my shoulders. The dress is super short (I'm 5'3") so I recommend tights. I used the braza and it worked like a charm. It's not as fitting around the waist so it puffed out a bit. I posted this pic because the back was just so darn cute.
Peryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Nov 26, 2014

Fun Dress!! Lots of compliments!!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress for my dance companies annual fundraiser. The paint splatter print was perfect for the event and I got tons of compliments. The size 2 fit me well but it was a little short and tight in the hip area. If I had gone up a size it would have been too big. I loved the back of the dress!!
Cali
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 29, 2014

The dress is unforgettable!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress fit perfectly! I got endless compliments on it! I wore it to an event in Vegas and two nights later people were still asking me where I got this dress!
lmeehan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 30, 2014

As always, RTR delivered!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Party
Fun dress that I wore for a rehearsal dinner. Happy that I didn't have to dance in it, but it was stretchy and comfortable. Lots of compliments!
Jackie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 18
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175 lbs
Dec 1, 2014

Got so many compliments on this dress wearing it to my senior homecoming dance!

Size worn: 10
Rented for: Party
I absolutely loved this dress and I'm sad I didn't get more picture in it! I very well might rent it again! Made my butt look great and I love the back! It did ride up a bit like the other reviewers said but that's expected with the type of dress. Admittedly it was annoying having to pay a special bra for it but I think it was worth it!
Angela
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155 lbs
Dec 1, 2014

The eye-catching design and open back made this a showstopper!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I was between a 6 and an 8 on this dress, which I wore to a wedding. I fit both, but the 8 was a bit more comfortable in the hip region, but the shoulders were a bit large. The hanger loops for this dress kept coming out all night and didn't make this a 5-star. Otherwise, I really love this dress and got a lot of positive comments on it. I'd go up a size if you're between a couple sizes just to make yourself more comfortable and would tape down the hanger loops.
Jessica
Usually wears: 4
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 2, 2014

I wore this for my birthday this year and really loved it.

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Other
The size 4 fit, but I went for the 6 because it felt better in the bust (I'm a 34 DDD).
kia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 3, 2014

#thatbacktho

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Party
Wore to an afternoon tea party. Wonderful slim fit which shows off the curves.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 8, 2014

Perfect party dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wore this to a charity event with a theme of bight colors. I dress fit the theme perfectly and the low back was a great touch. I order a 4 and a 6. The 4 fit but I noticed when I would walk in it it would ride up making a short dress even shorter. I ended up going with the larger size It wasn't as tight around my legs and it stayed in place for the most part, be careful dancing though! I paired it with a pair of royal blue heels and earrings.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×