Derek Dress

$50 rental
$370 value

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Want a dress that can easily go from day to night? Then this dress by Slate & Willow is the answer! With a super cool print and sexy open back this dress screams fun! Pair with equally colorful accessories like Kenneth Jay Lane’s Play Dress Up Cocktail Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Printed crepe (100% polyester). Cap sleeves. Crew neck. Open back. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 33.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share
1169 reviews
Fit
Large38
True to Size670
Small331
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
February 6, 2016
I loved this dress!! I'm now addicted to RTR.
The dress came right on time and fit perfect. My only complaint- which is minimal and nothing really- was the hemline. It was meant to not be crisp, which seemed slightly odd. I loved it regardless and will be renting it again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98lbs
February 3, 2016
Fun, flirty party dress!
I was a little hesitant about this dress at first but it actually worked out way better than I expected! The fit is great and true to size but it is rather short. You can't wear a bra with it which so you if you want extra support you will have to wear a backless, strapless bra. Overall, it was a very fun, flirty and young dress and I liked it much better than I thought I would!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137lbs
February 3, 2016
Very different from most dresses
Runs short
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
February 2, 2016
Very comfortable dress. I got a lot of compliments on it. Forms well to the body.
I go back and forth between a 2 and a 4. I wore the 4 as the 2 was too tight in the hip area. The 4 fit perfectly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
January 29, 2016
Fun dress for a Carnival themed wedding
This dress has a some stretch to it. I paired it with black strappy sandals. I didn't want to send it back
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
January 26, 2016
Vibrant colors!
Dinner & event
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 28
January 25, 2016
California wine country wedding.
Amazing fit and super comfortable. Tons of compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98lbs
January 18, 2016
Amazing super-fun dress!
Rented this as my b-day dress, and it totally made the night!!! I wore it with the RTR Kate Spade "Mr and Mrs" purse, and turquoise Kendra Scott earrings. The dress doesn't really need to be accessorized, but I thought the earrings were a nice touch. Wearing it put me in such a festive mood, and the back is super fun!! You don't need a bra with it because the material is thick enough, and I didn't feel I needed any fashion tape for the open part in the back, although I'd recommend it if you want to ensure the fabric is laying flat the entire time. The dress fit perfectly, and the material was stretchy and super comfortable. I couldn't recommend this one highly enough.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
January 13, 2016
Unique but strange fit
Like many other reviewers mentioned, this dress has sort of a strange fit. It is not very structured and falls off the shoulders. However, the pattern is beautiful.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126lbs
January 12, 2016
The back of the dress was beautiful and I loved the colors!
The bottom is stretchy but snug. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because of the hem - it didn't lay flat. It was fun to wear, comfortable and I got a lot of compliments on it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 11, 2016
Such a fun and flirty dress with a real modernist design. I got a lot of compliments.
The open back was fantastic. I'm petite up top, so I had to make sure the shoulders weren't slipping, but I didn't have much trouble with that, and I didn't even use fashion tape. Very comfortable. I wore the zero because it hugged like a glove whereas the 2 seemed a bit loose. I really liked the dress. The only thing that caught me off guard is that it's not really white; it seemed a subtle soft gray. Not sure if that's from improper laundering, but it certainly didn't appear dirty in any way.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 28
January 6, 2016
Great dress; fits like a petite
I had so much fun in this dress! The colors are so vibrant and, except for the length, it fit perfectly. While the fabric is soft, it was thick enough that I didn't need to wear pasties or anything. I felt well supported and was able to dance all night with just the support from the dress. The length was the biggest shocker, I had seen the pictures and read the reviews of it riding up when walking, but it was still WAY shorter than I had imagined. I had to go out and buy a nice pair of leggings in order to feel comfortable wearing the dress in public.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Age: 31
January 4, 2016
I rented this dress for a weekend in Miami. I don't have many dresses like this, so decided to rent!
LOVED this dress! It was a nice, light and stretchy material. I have small boobs, so I didn't wear a bra, and felt secure all night even though the back was open. I received so many compliments - even the next day on how I looked the night before.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 28
January 3, 2016
This dress is a showstopper! Great dress to flaunt your legs!
Fits good and is short as described. Pros: vibrant colors and flattering fit. Cons. Dress has to be pulled down often.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
January 1, 2016
So fun to wear!
This dress is on the shorter side. Best for something that's not too formal.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Weight: 130lbs
December 20, 2015
A great dress for a fun night in Vegas!
This was my second RTR dress from Slate & Willow. I loved the fit. Ordered a size 4 and 6, and went with the 4. My favorite part was the open back - sexy & cute! The color and style of the dress was perfect for a night out in Las Vegas!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
December 17, 2015
Easy and comes as it says... Makes me feel safe to rent from them..
I'm smaller on top and thicker on bottom... I still probably could have gone down a size. But it was fine I didn't mind too much especially since it was for my engagement photos... But I absolutely loved this dress!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 14, 2015
great, fun party dress!
Loved the dress and the low back was a fun detail -- because of that you have to wear no bra or a sticky one but I was ok with that. I'm on the hippier side of things and so the dress was definitely FITTED through the hip for me and tended to ride up when walking a little bit but all in all a super fun dress for a party after my college graduation - my only regret is that I don't have a photo of me in it
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 12, 2015
Elegant and unique!
I rented this dress for a formal. I wanted something classy and different from the usual little black dress that everyone wears. I have a small bust so the dress was a little loose in the staying on but nothing drastic or uncomfortable. The only problem I had was the dress not staying down. It kept riding up and definitely posed a bit of a problem. Regardless, I received so many compliments and I felt very confident in this dress. I would definitely rent this again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 11, 2015
Stretchy and comfortably to wear without a bra. I got a ton of compliments on the dress!
This dress runs super short and might not be a great choice for taller girls.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
December 8, 2015
Pretty
Colors are spot on and so pretty, but the dress runs small and is a tight, stretchy fabric.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Age: 32
December 8, 2015
Loved the dress! Wouldn't recommend it for dancing but worked great for a photoshoot
Luckily I only needed to pose in it, which was great bc the fit was very comfortable. It felt like I was wearing a T-shirt...However, that being said, if I tried to do anything in it that required too much movement there would probably be a lot of tugging and pulling down and making sure it didn't ride up in places it shouldn't. I wouldn't recommend it for a night of dancing but it was a great look for what I needed it for.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
December 7, 2015
Love this dress!
This dress is absolutely adorable - the only con is the length. It runs pretty short so if you aren't used to wearing minis be careful!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 21
December 6, 2015
This was such a fun night! I wore this dress for a sorority formal!
This dress fit very well! was a little loose around the stomach region and the back gapes a little on the shoulders but I was able to tie the hanger straps together so that it would not gape open!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 127lbs
November 26, 2015
Too short to wear.
This dress was so short I could wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Bust size: 32B
November 25, 2015
Fun dress for a date
Wore this dress on date, open back was sexy and length was perfect. This probably would fit someone with broader shoulders as it was a little loose on me around the top.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
November 24, 2015
The dress looked great! The fabric is pretty thin but it was perfect for the hot location.
It fit pretty well, its short so keep that in mind. And if you have a butt want to keep that in mind
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
November 24, 2015
I got so many compliments on the dress - the colors and the back especially! Stunning!
The dress is short and can ride up a little bit, but besides that, the 00 fit like a glove!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Weight: 120lbs
November 23, 2015
Beautiful Walking Art!
This dress was a showstopper! I received many compliments on it and it was comfortable enough to wear all day long. It fit my body very well however it was a little big in the back because I have no "upper body". All and all I would definitely rent this dress again!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
November 21, 2015
I wore for my birthday! I loved it.
The fit is amazing. The colors really pop so you can't go wrong with any color shoe. The back is very sexy. Thank you RTR for another amazing rental.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
November 18, 2015
The unique pattern and open back were perfect for a night out.
The fit was a just a little tight across the butt and a little short, so I chose the larger size. The soft stretch fabric made it super comfortable for a long night of dancing.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
November 16, 2015
More compliments than I've ever received!
The dress was so great, everyone at the wedding loved it. It was definitely pretty short so for the wedding I decided to go with the 2 so it wasn't quite as tight. If I had been going for something like a weekend in vegas, than the 0 would have been perfect, but I would definitely get a size bigger if you want to go for a slightly more conservative look. absolutely loved the dress - so comfortable and extremely flattering!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
November 15, 2015
First RTR order. Absolutely amazing. So many compliments! Cant wait for my nye dress
Both dresses fit well. The 4 was a little big on shoulder and back. Felt it may slip so chose the 2
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
November 13, 2015
Love the open back!
I wore this dress for an outdoor summer wedding. It was true to size and fit great! I also got a lot of compliments on this dress! You will definitely need to wear a sticky bra or no bra with this. Also, I remember that I did have to pull down the skirt throughout the night because it would ride up a bit. Overall, I really liked this dress!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
November 12, 2015
REALLY LIKE IT, BUT DIDN'T LOVE IT
Overall I really liked the style of the dress and the colors were so vivid. But I should have known better - it's a tight mini dress so I didn't feel comfortable. I wish I got one size up. Some reviews mentioned the sleeves didn't stay up, but I didn't have any problems. The bottom seam in the front was a little weird, but you can't notice it in photos. I wore black open toe heels - it worked.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 123lbs
November 12, 2015
very cute, but super short
couldn't do much moving around without having to hold it down. its pretty with the back out but not comfortable for dancing
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 32
November 12, 2015
Loved the dress! Got so many compliments!
Typically i wear a size 4, but the 6 fit a bit better. Was very short.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
November 9, 2015
Perfect dress for my Bridal Luncheon. Loved all the colors.
The fit was perfect for me. I ordered the 6 and 8 as backup and stuck with the 6. It was a little short but not bad. The stretchy material was great and the back of the dress was ahhhmazing!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
November 7, 2015
Such fun colors!
Received so many compliments on the colors and style of this dress! Everyone said it looked amazing on and fit like a glove. As you can see, it was very short. I wore it with a backless bra and that was just fine. The shoulders did fall down a little bit through out the night because i didn't fashion tape them, so i would recommend finding a way to secure the sleeves if that will bother you. Other that that, the dress was so much fun to wear and was perfect for a sorority formal.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Full Bust
November 4, 2015
Good concept- very impractical.
Great dress. As long as you are standing. Still. And probably not breathing either. You can't walk or sit in this dress without the skirt bunching way up or the shoulders falling totally off. Looks pretty (it's very tight), but one of my least favorite rentals ever.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 30

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×