Slate & Willow

Derek Dress

$30 – $40 rental
$370 value
Stylist Notes

Want a dress that can easily go from day to night? Then this dress by Slate & Willow is the answer! With a super cool print and sexy open back this dress screams fun!

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Printed crepe (100% Polyester). Cap sleeves. Crew neck. Open back. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 33.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share
1455 reviews
Fit
Large
(47)
True to Size
(768)
Small
(376)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 126lbs
December 9, 2017
Short hem
Dress has nice colors. I ended up not wearing it because i thought the skirt was too short for the office. If i were wearing it for a might out I would have no issue. So I'm keeping in my hearts for a future rental.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Party
Age: 33
November 16, 2017
Perfect dress I wish I owned!!!
Everything about this dress was wonderful. Perfect fit and super unique! I miss it already!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32DD
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 107lbs
November 14, 2017
Everyone complimented the dress.
It was snug around the waist and top for a tailored fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
November 13, 2017
Perfect for photos!
Not the best for flat chested women because the top section felt loose. I went with the size 0 because the size 2 was loose in the stomach area. The only issue is that it was uber short, and I felt slightly trampy in church with the length and my back exposed. However, it was appropriate for the reception hall. The fabric is slightly thin, stretchy and silk like. Great for warmer weather. It was also amazing for photos. It looked better on film than in person.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 33
November 6, 2017
Dress fit well and was beautiful.
This dress is VERY VERY VERY short. Mini dress does not even begin to cover it and sizng up does not help AT ALL . I would not recommend it for my ladies with hips and shapely derrieres. You will also need a backless bra. Note that there is no support sewn into this dress for my ladies with anything above an A/B cup. I loved the dress overall and it fit well, but the length was definitely a problem.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
October 28, 2017
Loved this dress (but it runs a bit short)
I wore this dress out in Denver for my birthday dinner. Abosluetly loved the dress and got a ton of compliments on it. The only thing I would be careful of is it runs a bit short and can ride up a bit when walking.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 28, 2017
LA Trip
I wore this on a night out in LA and it fit me weird. Short but big in the bootie area then tight in the waist. Not a good fit. (I am curvy)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32DD
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
October 24, 2017
Cheerful and easy to wear, with just enough glam.
I wore this for a show and nightclubs in Las Vegas. It was an easy-wearing dress and got lots of compliments -- and didn't wrinkle in my suitcase. It definitely stood out in a sea of black and gold metallics! My only complaint about the fit is that the open back means the sleeves would sometimes slip off over my shoulders -- the way a bra strap does -- and I needed to occasionally tug them back up. I felt comfortable going bra-less in this dress and leaving my back completely bare.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 119lbs
October 23, 2017
Very comfortable and outstanding dress!
The fabric on the dress is stretchy, making it very comfortable to wear and move in. I love the open back and the beautiful print.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Age: 29
October 23, 2017
.
This was a super cute dress. Unfortunately for me someone who rented it before was too big and stretched the material out around the stomach area so it was very lose around my mid section. I'm 5'6 & this dress came down right below my butt. So definitely a mini dress. Would recommend if not for the stretching of material
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Age: 34
October 19, 2017
Great dress for my birthday! Would absolutely wear it again! Sexy and comfy.
Sexy and comfy! Helps that I am small chested so simple modesty petals had me feeling good all night.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Age: 39
October 17, 2017
A little bit short! lol. The pattern is so fun and the back is sexy.
The bottom hem doesn't lie quite flat. Very tight around the hips, but I'm a pear shape. I could have worn smaller in the top but, absolutely, not in the bottom. Had fun in it and would wear it, again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
October 16, 2017
Downtown art district
I felt like a piece of art in this dress, so much fun! As you can tell the dress is very short, I'm 5'2, the 6 might have been a bit longer but besides the length the 4 fit fine.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
October 15, 2017
Very flattering!!
Wore this dress for a dinner party and it was a hit!!The colors on the dress are so flattering, my only complaint is it was a little short and tight. Order a size up and it's perfect for any event!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
October 15, 2017
Complicated fit but looks great in pictures
I wanted to love this dress more but if you have hips, it will fit weird and ride up. It also is not forgiving if you have a tummy. The dress is backless so bras are complicated unless you have a bra for something like this. The material was thinner and less structured than I expected. All that being said, I just loved the shape and pattern of this dress, so much so that I did a photoshoot in it. I would have loved to wear it out but I wouldn't have been comfortable going out in this. If I sized up, the top would have been wayyy too loose. Best for straight and narrow body type with a little bit more chest on top.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
October 11, 2017
so fun for a spring wedding!
Ordered sizes 0 and 2. I'm a pretty petite person and was kind of in between the 2 sizes. The 0 was too tight on the booty so I went with the 2 and felt great all night. The backless part made it sexy!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 18
Bust size: 28A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
October 5, 2017
I was around all of my friends and had a great time and felt confident in my amazing dress I chose.
The dress was a little looser on me, but that could be because of the open back. I ate a lot of food so by the end of the night I didn't mind the extra belly room. I had to keep pulling it down because it would shimmy up a little but I didn't mind. I got plenty of compliments on it and the colors were great for the season and I would think they could work for any season!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
September 30, 2017
I loved that the dress was backless; it made the hot day much more bearable.
Love the stretchy fabric. The dress is pretty short, but I felt really sexy all day, despite the hot temperatures.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
September 26, 2017
Amazing color
I wore this dress to a wedding and really loved it! I had to do some work in finding a sticky bra with enough support that was backless since I'm bigger in the chest area but it worked out and this dress needed up being a huge hit. The color on the front is amazing and the dress is super light and comfortable. Would definitely rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Everyday
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
September 25, 2017
This dress is cute however it is a bit large on top if you're petite on top and curvy on the bottom.
Pros: lightweight fabric, standout design, shorter mini Cons: could be seen as inappropriate if you order a tighter size for your body with the already sexy lo back, so order true to size or up a size, you know your body! I am an athletic 120 lbs and 5'2 so ordered the 2 though I often wear 0 depending on the brand. I used fashion tape on the back to hold the dress to me so it wouldn't gape at the sides as I was too narrow for it. Spring/summer event dress is what I would call this one!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
September 20, 2017
Couldn't wear it
This dress just didn't fit my body type. I have a bigger bottom half and thick thighs but also a smaller bust. This dress was way too tight around the bottom and then felt a bit big on top. Especially with the open back, it was just too big around the shoulders and bust area.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 19, 2017
Fun date night outfit - runs small and short
This dress is fantastic. It is the perfect little party dress. The "backless" nature of the back is not as scandalous as it seemed in the pictures. Also, I am a 36C and didn't wear a bra (slightly scandalous), but it was ok and the girls didn't feel too wild. This dress is SHORT. I am 5'5" and it felt short on me. It would feel REALLY short on taller women.
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
September 17, 2017
Super fun!
Great fit and really popped. Got so many compliments on this rental. It's a little short if you're on the taller side. Material is high quality, able to go braless! I rented this for my bachelorette weekend and wasn't disappointed!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 17, 2017
Compliments on how unique this dress was
Pro: the colors are amazing. You really only need earrings to complete the look. The back is sexy, but with the front being conservative it's not too over the top. Cons: it is short. I'm only 5'3 and it was short on me. If you are tall this will need to be worn with leggings to prevent a wardrobe malfunction. Also the fabric did not breathe well. The church we were in was not air conditioned so I was quite warm. Overall a great piece that I was super excited to wear and nothing like what others had on.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
September 12, 2017
My husband loved the pattern!
I did not wear this since I had a replacement sent- but I tried the 0 that came. Despite finding reviewers who had my exact measurements- i'm glad I had a back up. The cap sleeves fit awkwardly, and the back didn't lay flat. It also kept creeping up my butt as I walked- it was very tight on my butt and I don't consider myself as having large hips. Lastly, every time I moved my arms up the dress moved up. Basically there was a lot readjusting when I walked, moved, breathed. It would not have worked.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Bust size: 34D
September 12, 2017
This dress was so fun! My first time with an open back:)
Love love loved it! So comfortable and the fit was perfect. I'm petite with a large chest so I never thought I could wear something with an open back. I only used Hollywood sticky bra tape and I looked perfectly supported. Definitely would rent this gem again!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
September 11, 2017
X
The reviews suggested sizing up, which I did, and both sizes (4 and 6) ended up being way too big for me. I was unable to wear the dress and had to find something else to bring to the wedding.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Weight: 140lbs
September 11, 2017
I do not wear the dress. Both sizes did not work.
Dress did not fit appropriately. Small at the bottom and too big at the top.
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 149lbs
September 10, 2017
Short & Sassy
I'm typically a size 6 in dresses & the 6 in this dress fit my body but was insanely short. It literally didn't cover my whole butt! I had to size up to 8 which was still short (especially when walking) but I got a ton of compliments and had fun in it at my husband's 40th bday party!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
September 6, 2017
Overall, really liked the dress and received quite a few compliments!
The fabric is thinner than you'd imagine, and the bottom hem is poorly done; in many photos you can see that the fabric looks folded. The dress also had a strange odor when it arrived (I'm guessing from the bag it was delivered in), but after I aired it out for a couple days, it was fine.
Size worn:
OO
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32A
Weight: 108lbs
September 5, 2017
Different and colorful dress that is super comfortable!
I rented this for my cousin's wedding Labor Day weekend and it was perfect! It was comfortable and great for dancing. I got a ton of compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32DD
Weight: 135lbs
September 4, 2017
Love the dress! I would buy it if I could!
Totally great - Love everything about it! Would recommend!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Age: 39
September 3, 2017
Colors were great
Shorter than it looked
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 30, 2017
Classy!
It was a nice dress that is unique. You CANNOT wear any ok d of bra. I tried the sticky kind and really, it all depends on your posture. You just stand very straight for the dress to sit well. Prob best for girls with smaller bust.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
August 29, 2017
Splashy, casual dress
I am very petite so I loved the length of this dress but it is short. I didn't love the fabric-it's stretchy but loose so I felt it hugged a little too tight in some places. I did love the pattern and colors. Top was loose. Overall pretty good.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
August 23, 2017
Perfect for bachelorette party!
Wore this dress out and about for my bachelorette party! I felt fun, bridal, and sexy with the pop of color and open back! Would absolutely rent again for a night out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
August 23, 2017
Many compliments on this hot number!
Fit was perfect. Short dress, however, It worked out perfectly for the party I attended!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 22, 2017
Fun, splashy, sexy dress
I wore the 2 and while the waist and length were great for me, it was hard keeping the shoulders up and looking good without the back inside area showing/loosening. Felt like I had to always have an inhale to keep it on right :) Other than that the dress was fun and I got tons of compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 21, 2017
Made a great vacation dress
This dress was so HOTT! I love the open back and the color on the front of the dress. The sleeves are kindof funky. They are like a bell capped sleeve, but trust me no one will pay attention to the detail of the sleeve in this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
August 20, 2017
Fun, eye catching, and comfortable!!!
I could not have loved this dress more! The colors are amazing, the fabric is great for warm weather, and it fit like a glove!! Super comfortable and of course a million compliments all night! Many of the previous reviews discussed not having to wear a bra but I was skeptical about that. As someone who always (literally always) wears a bra, I actually did not have to with this dress. The fabric is thick enough and tight enough to the body that I had no problem at all, even dancing around all night. I would definitely recommend this dress to anyone who likes to stand out in the crowd. It's fun to accessorize too because of all the colors! I believe it was true to size and as a shorter girl I appreciated the shorter length. I would wear this dress a million times if I could!! RTR you have done it again!!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 37

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×