Rent the Runway

Slate & Willow

Derek Dress

$50 rental
$370 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Want a dress that can easily go from day to night? Then this dress by Slate & Willow is the answer! With a super cool print and sexy open back this dress screams fun! Pair with equally colorful accessories like Kenneth Jay Lane’s Play Dress Up Cocktail Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs small. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes - fitted at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - dress fitted throughout midsection
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini - THIS DRESS RUNS VERY SHORT (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a nubra or no bra.
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Printed crepe (100% polyester). Cap sleeves. Crew neck. Open back. Pencil skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined. 33.5” from shoulder to hem. Made in USA.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

881 reviews

Fit
Small 290
True to Size 522
Large 27
Photos 607
Lexi
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Jul 24, 2013

Gorgeous, fun, and comfy!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress was super soft and stretchy which made it really comfortable. The zero was a good fit. The only problem was that because the material was so stretchy, the sleeves were a little puffier than I would like because of being on the hanger, but that was an easy fix! Just remember you need either sticky/backless bra or no bra at all because of the open back
Brandy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Mar 15, 2015

This dress is another headturner from RTR!!!!

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to an NFL player party at the St. Regis Monarch Beach. This dress is amazing! The back is absolutely awesome (it's backless without being all the way backless). It's super colorful so it's great for a spring/summer party. Just like another dress I rented from RTR a couple weeks ago, this dress is a #headturner and stood out in a sea of black dresses.
patricia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136 lbs
Mar 17, 2015

Bright colors and really sexy

Size worn: 8
Rented for: Party
Runs true to size, I wore the size 8, the size 10 was a little loose, it is pretty short, ok for parties, clubbing, I saw reviews saying it would fall from the shoulders, I did not have that issue, it fit prefect, I liked it a lot
Kristina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Mar 17, 2015

Definitely Made A Statement at Senior Breakfast

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress was beautiful, but my first impression of it was a little confusing. I had been eye balling for months and thought I had an idea or how it would feel. I knew it would run a little big at the top, but I think the opening in the back is so wide that the sleeves don't really have anything to hold on to. I thought the material was thicker or more stiff, but the material is very light which gave the sleeves even more reason to slip. The material is almost comparable to a pillow case, but it's not like it really shows your imperfections. The day of the event I put it on and felt better about it. That was the only thing that bothered me, the top falling off. If I pulled on the skirt it would keep the top in place, but obviously with walking around and sitting I had to do it a lot. I'm a little torn as to whether I would get the dress again or not. Altogether it made me stand out, which was my main goal :)
Fabiola
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 19, 2015

Fabulous! Be ready to be the center of attention.

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Party
Compliments all night! I wore this dress for my 28th Bday. It was Fabulous! Fabric is comfortable, photographs well. The colors are so vivid! Great choice for a last minute decision. I wore size 4, the upper part was a bit loose but the back of the dress is super sexy it takes all the attention! This dress fits well on ladies with wider hips and slim waist.
caroline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 22, 2015

Gorgeous back, but difficult to wear.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
The dress was so pretty, but not very functional. I felt like I was constantly tugging it down and adjusting the shoulders. I am 5'5 and it was really short on me. I used fashion tape to keep the shoulders/back on. I wouldn't recommend it for a wedding if you planned on dancing. It would probably work for an event where you stood or sat the entire time.
gmama
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112 lbs
Mar 22, 2015

Petites! This ones for you!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Size 0 fit like a glove, but I wanted to eat and drink since it was my birthday after all! I wore size 2 and while it gaped just a little bit, and really just a bit, because of the open back, it was PERFECT for a beautiful Spring day! The colors are so easy to work with, pick any color for a shoe and you're good to go. I also rented some perfect earrings and bangles to go with it. I was on trend no doubt! Perfect dress for a perfect day of revelry in the city! Keep in mind that this is a mini dress, so long legged ladies be warned. Since I'm only 5'1" it worked great for me - mid-thigh! Great dress. I highly recommend!!
Alexis
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 24, 2015

Birthday Dinner night out on the town

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
My husband and I took a trip to Chicago for my birthday weekend. I rented this as something different from my everyday dresses. I wore this to a fancy dinner night out. Overall the fit was ok. it was a lot shorter than I realized when I ordered it (and I'm only 5'2"). the fabric was comfortable, but I was a bit self conscious when I sat. It was a beautiful dress and I got compliments on how colorful it was. Next time, I would try and pick something a bit longer.
Tenley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127 lbs
Mar 26, 2015

Size up ladies

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Other
Rented this for my boyfriends basic training graduation. He loved the dress and I think was disappointed it wasn't mine for keeps. I did not have the problem with the back falling that most people did, but I think it's because I wore the smaller size. Note on this, the stomach area looked fine from the front so I wore the smaller size. The print of the dress camouflaged the fact that it was too tight.. So when I saw pictures of me from the side, it was literally the biggest my tummy has looked. So make sure you check all angles. Also, the hem hung a little weird. As others have said, it's a different type of material than you'd expect... Like a pillowcase. Overall, it was a good choice. Photographs very well. You'll love the back.
Lindsay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 25
Mar 29, 2015

Fun splash of color and amazing sexy open back

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Other
This dress is amazing. I wore it for the first night of my bachelorette party. Got lots of compliments. The dress was very light weight and so fun to wear. The colors were beautiful and can be worn with any color shoe. A fun little mini dress
veronica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Mar 30, 2015

Never stopped receiving compliments in this show-stopper!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The dress is really pretty in person, though the colors are slightly darker than pictured. The fit is SNUG, I would recommend going up a size and wearing spanx. The top shoulder/cap sleeve area was a little large on me. I had to fashion tape the shoulder to my body so it wouldn't slip down. I also kept catching myself pulling the dress down. So it does ride up. The open back is just right for the engagement party I wore this to.
taylor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 2, 2015

I wore this during my bachelorette party dinner/drinks, it was the perfect dress

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It fit true to size, I loved the backless detail. All around a very fun and comfortable dress. I was not crazy about the material.
Lynsey
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Apr 3, 2015

Perfect party dress for my 30th birthday!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Such as fun, cute dress! I loved the back and the pattern and felt great in this dress. I did have to pull it down a few times when it rode up. I was able to dance in it though!
Kelli
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Apr 4, 2015

Perfect birthday dress!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Other
Already wrote a GLOWING review with a frontal picture but had to post a pic of the back. Again, LOVE this dress. Fit me beautifully and I got compliments all night long. Wish I could keep it forever. Highly recommend! Worn with a Nubra.
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 5, 2015

Cute spring wedding dress

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Wedding
Very flattering cut, photographs very well and received tons of compliments on the dress all night. Like many renters have states, the dress is short and tends to ride up so had to be very conscious of it while dancing. I also had to use fabric tape on the back to hold the shoulders up. Overall, very cute dress - just needed a few slight adjustments to make it work.
Diane
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Apr 8, 2015

Definitely a stand out dress! One of my all time favorites.

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
As noted in several other reviews the dress is SHORT, and it requires readjusting as you walk. Do not plan to walk up any stairs without having to hold the dress down as you do so. Despite constantly pulling the dress down, I LOVED this dress for the colors and open back. I would absolutely recommend it to anyone for a party or event.
Allie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165 lbs
Apr 9, 2015

Wore this for my rehearsal dinner

Size worn: 12
Rented for: Wedding
Loved this dress! It was a little short, and did run a little small per the stylist notes. Loved it anyways!!
JM
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 113 lbs
Apr 10, 2015

Conservative in the front and completely open in the back. I wore it to a art opening.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
True to size. I wore a sticky bra since the back is completely open. One of my favorite rentals! Got lots of compliments. The dress was very light weight.
Jenna
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 11, 2015

Got SO many compliments - such a unique dress!

Size worn: 4
Rented for: Formal Affair
I LOVED this dress. I wore it for my boyfriend's fraternity formal. Not only was it unique (no one at the event had anything like it) but it was super comfortable. It does ride up a bit but not enough to be an issue, and the midsection was a bit loose on me but I pinned it and it was fine. Most of the reviews of people my size and weight said to go with a 4 or 6, but I ended up wearing the 4 and actually wished I had ordered the 2. Overall, I would definitely recommend it. I got so many compliments, it really made the event special.
Natalie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 12, 2015

Received endless amounts of compliments and everyone wanted this dress!

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Party
This dress was a showstopper. I Received so many compliments all night... I am a true size 4 but wore the 6 for the length. I have a muscular build and the dress fit as tight as a body con dress would. The back was stunning.... Highly recommend this to anyone!!
kayla
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 12, 2015

Great dress. I wore it to a charity party and received many compliments.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The four was too large in the waist area, I ended up wearing the two. The length of the four was better than the two. The dress is perfect for a spring event. I paired blue suede fringe heals to complete the look.
Melody
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 12, 2015

Dressed it down

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I received this as a backup dress and it was okay. I knew the back would be low but even with fashion tape, the top didn't stay put very well and I had to wear a special bra (built into a leotard with low cut back). I wore a cropped cardigan over it, belted it, and threw on jeggings with flats for a more casual look since I wore this to a friend's birthday party. The dress is very short, which is why it practically worked as a long shirt! I liked the colors but the white looked a bit dingy. I think it looked better on the model.
Cat
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Body type: Athletic
Apr 13, 2015

Be ready to stand out!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Great colors, the dress itself is very comfortable. Definitely rides up so be ready to pull it down. Good fit and fun dress!
Anna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 14, 2015

Very pretty.. Not as bright as the picture though

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Vacation
This dress runs small and is tighter than I expected.. but it's beautiful and I love the open back! It is short (especially when sitting down).
Kathleen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 15, 2015

Bachelorette Bash

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this for my bachelorette party. I did it last minute, so the size 6 was not available. I was a little self conscious of the length at first, but happy the night I wore it. I received many compliments and the dress was very comfortable. I loved the back too.
Anna
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112 lbs
Apr 16, 2015

Complimeennnnts!

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Wedding
Loved it! Super bright, form fitting, surprising back. My only complaint is that it was shorter than expected-- would be better for a party or night out than a wedding. Would rent again!
Danielle
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 16, 2015

I wore this for my bachelorette party and it was perfect! I got TONS of compliments!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wore this for my bachelorette party and it was perfect! I got TONS of compliments! Like other people said, it is tighter around the legs and looser around the shoulders, so if you are super curvy around your hips, it might hug tight. It was so comfortable though! The material is a light stretchy material-- not structured like it looks from pictures. I ordered the 6 and 8, although I'm usually a 2-4, and the 6 was perfect!
Nikki
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 17, 2015

I wore this for the opening night of a Broadway show I am working on. I got SO many compliments!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Some other people said the colors are darker in person, which is definitely true. I wore a 6, but would have definitely likes to have tried an 8 (the back up size wasn't ready for my order). I was working the event, so I would say that the one con was that the dress kept riding up on me, which I don't know if it's a testament to the size or the dress. I wore spanks underneath, but every time i took a step the dress would pull up (there were a lot of stairs at the party, so you can imagine how I kept tugging on it). All in all though, I loved the dress. Everyone complimented it and no one else had anything like it at the party. I would definitely wear this again, but to a party I wasn't running around at :)
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105 lbs
Apr 18, 2015

Love this dress!

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Party
This dress was so comfortable
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123 lbs
Apr 19, 2015

Beautiful, comfortable dress that I wore for my birthday!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The material is stretchy, and so it fit very well and was very flattering. Some other reviews stated they had issues keeping the sleeves in the right place, but I didnt have any issue with that. The back looked gorgeous, and the colors were bright and fun. Would definitely wear it again if I owned it!
Ashley
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 19, 2015

Dress was such a hit. I sold rent the runway to at least 3 couples.

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Wedding
Does need some fashion tape in the back. And the hanging straps kept falling out. But overall., I loved this dress!
Inez
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122 lbs
Apr 20, 2015

Such a fun n colorful dress. The fit was great. Short n sassy! The back is the best part. Loved it!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I usually wear a 6 but most RTR dresses I wear a 4. Thats the only reason I put runs large.
Megb
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 21, 2015

Great little dress for a fun night out. Got so many compliments!

Size worn: 2
Rented for: Party
I hated to buy a new dress for a party we were attending so I decided to rent this one. Perfect fit and the print was so much fun. Having something backless made it a little more sexy.
Claire
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 21, 2015

Great Dress! But not as expected.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress fit well. I truly needed the size 6 but it was not available on my dates. The 4 ended up being a little short so I went with the 8 but was pulling on the shoulders all night to hold it up. The colors weren't as bright as I thought they would be but overall a fun dress with the Britney Spears concert in vegas!
Kaylea
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 111 lbs
Apr 26, 2015

Love the colors and design!

Size worn: 12
Rented for: Party
Flattering design and colors-- the softest and most comfortable material. Love the open back! Ended up not wearing it but will rent again for sure!
Chris
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
Apr 27, 2015

Felt flirty in this eye catching colorful dress.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I usually wear a size zero , I am 5'6" 110lbs. I ordered a size 2 because all of the reviews had stated that it runs short and it does. If i raised my arms the dress will raise as well. I wore the dress to an Art Exhibition. I would definitely not wear this anywhere I had to dance. Overall, beautiful stand out piece. Definitely Reccomend.
Liliana
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116 lbs
Apr 27, 2015

Gorgeous stand-out dress!

Size worn: 0
Rented for: Wedding
Fit was great. I have slightly wide shoulders so the sleeves didn't fall off and I didn't need to use any fashion tape. But I didn't like the look of the cap sleeves, they're a little awkward. And from some of the other comments, I tried to iron the bottom of the dress, but it still didn't make it straight. Colors are vibrant. Perfect from afternoon to evening. I did also have to pull my dress down quite a bit, but the length is perfect. Wore a Nubra with it.
Stephanie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 28, 2015

Wore this to an annual horse race/outdoor spring party

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress! I rented it for a local horse race where most people wore fun hats with their dresses. Unfortunately, the weather didn't hold out and I had to add a blazer to keep warm. As the other reviews describe the dress is definitely short. I loved the open back and wish I didn't need to cover it up. I am normally a size 4 and that is the size I wore. The size 6 was longer, but was too loose in the back/bust area and would've required tape to stay flat. One review described the material as a "pillow case" and I would 100% agree. It was thin and sleek, but not sheer or see-through. It didn't need many accessories, and I received tons of compliments throughout the day!
Madalyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Apr 28, 2015

Unexpected in a sea of black

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Really loved this dress, especially the back! I tried the 2 on first and didn't even touch the 4 because the 2 fit like a glove. Other reviewers mentioned having to adjust the shoulders so as not to fall down, I expected this before I received the dress and was prepared with fashion tape. A couple pieces on each shoulder to secure and I never had to touch it again. Survived much movement, dancing and even taking a jacket on and off! Really liked this dress, would rent again!
Stefani
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 29, 2015

Super fun dress for a fun occasion. Got tons of compliments. Runs short so be careful tall girls!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
The first thing that surprised me was actually the fabric. I was expecting something more structured but it was comfortable so I was fine with that. The 6 fit great in the body and bust but was wayyyy too short, so I went with the 8. You can't really wear a bra with this so if you have to size up, make sure you have enough shoulders/chest to hold it up. All in all I loved the dress and got a lot of compliments on it.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×